User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 241 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 241

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    1
    Not a very good game. For under £5 it's not a big loss, but the controls are terrible and the cameplay mechnics are very weak. It's also completely linear - which is about the opposite of what I want in a survival game.
  2. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    Excellent! Game to come closest yet to The Road, really nails the survival element. And no it is not purely linear, you have a lot of freedom within places and particularly in the centre of town (using the overhead railways as a starting point). Personally I liked the dust/fog that makes you not exactly sure of what is in the distance and forces you to climb up every so often. It couldExcellent! Game to come closest yet to The Road, really nails the survival element. And no it is not purely linear, you have a lot of freedom within places and particularly in the centre of town (using the overhead railways as a starting point). Personally I liked the dust/fog that makes you not exactly sure of what is in the distance and forces you to climb up every so often. It could have been made a bit easier and a few more checkpoints, but that's the only fault I can think of. The way it presents the horror and grimness of immediate post apocalyptic life where someone's life is worth a couple of bullets is quite unique. Expand
  3. Sep 8, 2012
    1
    One of the biggest turds I've ever seen. The game attempts to pride itself on being a "Survival/Explorer" as it has the most linear maps of all time. Granted, survival and exploring is an illusion by itself, but the game literally prides itself of being an illusion of an illusion while having their biggest feature be a stamina bar and "Replays". Literally a few minutes in I get owned byOne of the biggest turds I've ever seen. The game attempts to pride itself on being a "Survival/Explorer" as it has the most linear maps of all time. Granted, survival and exploring is an illusion by itself, but the game literally prides itself of being an illusion of an illusion while having their biggest feature be a stamina bar and "Replays". Literally a few minutes in I get owned by enemy A with a gun around corner and after I died, i automatically use a replay to surprise said enemy with an instant melee attack around the corner just to freeze in-place and wait until the enemy shoots me down. LAZY, LAZY programming, obnoxious grain & bloom art and many situations of frustration if you do not know the exact patterns of which the developers wanted you to take. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2013
    2
    I´m **** would be right title of this ! If you get it for less than 2, 50 just have a try. But it´s absolutely idiotic scripted, and after the climbing over the bridge i try for plenty times to brake the gate lock chain, but its only hurts my finger and my conscious is gone... Somehow it reminds me of that ugly atmosphere of Alan Wake, even the woody figure movings. So thereI´m **** would be right title of this ! If you get it for less than 2, 50 just have a try. But it´s absolutely idiotic scripted, and after the climbing over the bridge i try for plenty times to brake the gate lock chain, but its only hurts my finger and my conscious is gone... Somehow it reminds me of that ugly atmosphere of Alan Wake, even the woody figure movings. So there are lot much better gems to play, dudes Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    I love what they did in the game. The storyline is great and the paths/map is well designed. Controls are O.K., but the graphics are pretty poor. Good for $15, better on sale. Just a little work on the graphics and controls and this game would have been just about perfect!
  6. Sep 11, 2012
    5
    Quote: "PC users should be more than happy to enjoy this peculiar survival game"

    No thanks, we not happy with this peculiar but not good game. Ruined city is beautiful, but gameplay is terrible.
  7. Sep 9, 2012
    0
    No support for gtx680 and that prevents me from playing the game entirely... thanks a lot.... complete waste of money if you have a 680 because chances are you cant play it...
  8. Jun 14, 2013
    5
    This could have been so much better, but it feels very dull, boring and repetitive. Most of the time you spend climbing buildings and stuff. The black and white and the fog effect is terrible and killed the experience for me.
    The story is meh.
  9. Raz
    Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Love it! There are a few things I would improve on like the linear story is a little not so good, the fact that you cannot just jump wherever you want or have to obey the level designers directions. This game engine put in an open world would be the perfect game!
  10. Dec 22, 2012
    6
    I am alive is above all else a great opportunity missed. The biggest complaint would be the length - *taking your time* you will complete this in 4-5 hrs. I also have an issue with the general gameplay, you pretty much cannot fall off anything. So even walking a narrow bit of track many stories high with certain death if you fell, you dont feel anything as you just walk/run forward withoutI am alive is above all else a great opportunity missed. The biggest complaint would be the length - *taking your time* you will complete this in 4-5 hrs. I also have an issue with the general gameplay, you pretty much cannot fall off anything. So even walking a narrow bit of track many stories high with certain death if you fell, you dont feel anything as you just walk/run forward without a care. My last main complaint would be that your weapons and gadgets expand far too late, the game is short enough, why give you some neat items to let you get around and add some gameplay only half way thru AND under use it :s Those are the negatives, it does have its share of upsides too! The atmosphere is great, the stamina gauge adds something to what would otherwise be a boring affair scaling building etc and altho the combat does get repetitive, its a decent change from the norm (could be better, but its nice to see something a lil different from time to time). Its pretty linear, which could be seen as a negative, but tbh, with little to gain apart from achivs, I dont really want a huge world to explore (unless they tweaked the gameplay and gave u more to do). In summary - this is a once-play title (no online/coop/other modes/not many achivs and only a few people would be bothered playing it again to collect them all), with good atmosphere and detailed environments (when you can make them out!). An uninspiring engine, unoriginal story and extremely short campaign will disappoint. Get it on the cheap if your interested. Expand
  11. Jan 9, 2013
    5
    Sheesh. It really grates my cheese when a good game misses. "I Am Alive" (terrible title) is a dystopian adventure in the likes of the Assassin's Creed and Just Cause series. The biggest difference is that they actually took the time to test it. IAA is a complete mess in terms of the game mechanics. It has - quite possibly - the worst controls I've ever played. Even worse than TombSheesh. It really grates my cheese when a good game misses. "I Am Alive" (terrible title) is a dystopian adventure in the likes of the Assassin's Creed and Just Cause series. The biggest difference is that they actually took the time to test it. IAA is a complete mess in terms of the game mechanics. It has - quite possibly - the worst controls I've ever played. Even worse than Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness. Well, OK, it's not that horrid. It's glitchy, sloppy and only works correctly when you're walking. It is absolutely infuriating and it almost had me throwing my PC out the window. That rant aside, the game does have it pros: It looks very dire. Gray, dusty and grainy. Maybe a bit too grainy. The foley work is great: Nice ambient sound and vocals are clear and well performed. The story is simple but interesting given the main character is compelling and honest and worth taking to the end. I like the stamina concept when climbing but didn't make much sense when jogging. The use of items to increase stamina and health is great and sensible. Now back to the cons. The biggest con (as described before) are the controls. The attack engine is atrocious. It is unforgivably bad. In order to use your default weapon you must hit the USE function when the game says you can. You can't just attack early or late or to the left or right or wherever - only to meet your enemy, wrestle with machetes for whatever reason and then you attack. It's simple asinine. The other weapons can be used at your discretion and they function adequately. The controls fail again when climbing. It doesn't always turn left or right when you need it and if you don't have the stamina you die. Grrr. You can't pick up/climb/fall/slide,etc. to the elements in the environment - it is very limited in terms of interaction. The game just has so many failings that there really isn't much incentive to play it at all. I paid $5 for it and I was more insulted by the time I wasted than the $ I spent. It's such a dame shame - this could've been epic but instead it drove me up the wall. Literally. ;-) Expand
  12. Sep 10, 2012
    6
    Just bought it off Steam (also came with something called 'Bloody Good Time', which looks a bit lame). Right off the bat it's not really worth 17 bucks. $10 flat. Here's why. 1) the graphics are okay, and run reasonably smoothly, but the difference between the landscape and your character is very distinct, and it draws you right out of the immersive experience. The landscape is all softJust bought it off Steam (also came with something called 'Bloody Good Time', which looks a bit lame). Right off the bat it's not really worth 17 bucks. $10 flat. Here's why. 1) the graphics are okay, and run reasonably smoothly, but the difference between the landscape and your character is very distinct, and it draws you right out of the immersive experience. The landscape is all soft and grainy, and your character is high contrast and sharp lines. Looks terrible. Very amateurish. 2) the movement controls suck. You have to press space to start to climb, and then when you're climbing you press 'w' to go up, but then to pull yourself up, you have to press space again. Why not just let me keep pressing 'w' for up? The movement is also a little clunky, but not too bad. 3) everything appears to be static. That shopping trolley in the middle of the street? Stuck to the ground. Super-glued there, in fact. Yes, it's only a 2GB game, but that is pretty lame. 4) Very linear map, which isn't too bad, but, again, it draws you out of the game. The idea of exploring this strange world is less fun when your route is boxed in and confined. Again, only a 2GB game, but even a few extra routes to add to the illusion would help. 5) mouse-button-mashing combat system. For some reason, whenever I play a game that requires regular button mashing (especially mouse buttons), I think "low quality", and lo and behold, here we have that very thing. It screams console-kiddie games, and is an insult to PC gamers in my opinion. I have an entire frigging keyboard - just let me press the space bar or something, you dipsticks. I've only played it for about an hour, and it looks okay so far, but there are some very simple things the developer should have done. Yes, I know it's cheap and small in size, but things like these are very important for the gaming experience. I hope there's a significant amount of content to make up for the above shortcomings, but only time will tell. I'm giving it a 6 out of 10, but only because I haven't finished it yet. We'll see how it ends up. Get it when the price has been discounted. Expand
  13. Jan 18, 2013
    3
    I tried liking this game! But the graphics are bad, black and white with a cheesy fog effect. the game is very linear for a game with these graphics I was expecting it to be more open. and worst of all is the gameplay. The climbing is "ok" but the combat is just awful.
  14. Jan 29, 2013
    2
    the combat in this game is utterly FRUSTRATING because the interface of the game is very bad and most of the time, user input lags or is not accepted by the game. same goes for the climbing. very unpolished and unnecessarily hard because of bad programming and/or design. on top of that, the bad gameplay mechanics are scarcely ever explained or outright do not work the way they arethe combat in this game is utterly FRUSTRATING because the interface of the game is very bad and most of the time, user input lags or is not accepted by the game. same goes for the climbing. very unpolished and unnecessarily hard because of bad programming and/or design. on top of that, the bad gameplay mechanics are scarcely ever explained or outright do not work the way they are explained... its infuriating. If you decide to play do get ready to do the same fight over and over and over again... its just that bad. also, the camera spins in stutters, no free looking. very consoly feel. nice story and setting though. Expand
  15. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    As a big fan of Cold Fear, also developed by Darkworks, I was really looking forward to this game. I was not disappointed. Reminds me of Legendary, another great game in the modern apocalyptic setting. For those who rate it low, they must want COD. It's not COD, it's great in it's own right.
  16. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    This game has an interesting, if unoriginal story, and a very nice sound track. However, it falls short in most other departments. The graphics are mediocre at best. The faded color palette can be forgiven as part of the style and mood of the game, but the grainy and coarse definition can't. It would be charitable to call this game "linear". It's almost a rail shooter. You are literallyThis game has an interesting, if unoriginal story, and a very nice sound track. However, it falls short in most other departments. The graphics are mediocre at best. The faded color palette can be forgiven as part of the style and mood of the game, but the grainy and coarse definition can't. It would be charitable to call this game "linear". It's almost a rail shooter. You are literally herded through a narrow pipeline and, to add insult to injury, when you go off in a slightly different direction, even if it's a dead end, the game prods you back in the right direction, as if there were any other option. The few NPCs you encounter are scripted and beyond their extremely brief scripted behaviour, you can't interact with them. Even the main character is practically scripted. You can jump and climb, but only in very specific places at very specific times. As a result, short as it is, the game quickly becomes predictable. The combat is shallow and almost as linear as the rest of the game. It's only barely more flexible than a fight in "The Walking Dead" game, and that's a point-and-click adventure where the fights are almost just a cut scene with mouse clicks! The climbing mechanics are decent, but repetitive, and it won't be long before you start signing and rolling your eyes at yet another thing to climb. Oh, and the main character, who is evidently a trained climber and is climbing for most of his days has the stamina of am asthmatic chipmunk. You'll be out of breath, fainting, and falling to your death just by hanging of a vertical pipe for a few seconds. The environment is dead. And I don't mean "post-apocalyptic dead", I mean that you can't interact with anything. You can't move objects, lift them, kick them, open doors, break glass, nothing. You're just walking through a painting. You can't even swing your machete in empty air to pass the time. The only time you can use it is when there's a target in front of you. The only things that hold this game together are a story that you want to see through and an ambiance that's due almost entirely to the soundtrack and the faded colors. Oh, I do have to give props to the voice acting, what little of it there is. It's no Oscar performance, but it's better than many big-budget games. For all its flaws, it's not a completely terrible way to pass a few hours. You decide how much that's worth to you and pay accordingly. Expand
  17. Sep 12, 2012
    1
    Another game where player feels more like being a puppet. You can only do things what developers want you to do. No freedom what so ever. Mixed with terrible combat, washed out graphics and forgettable story.
  18. Jan 26, 2013
    1
    Terrible, monotonous and boring experience. Game has potential but its completely unused and there's nothing amusing in this game. Story is crappy and doesn't bring any excitement . Thanks God i have played it at my friends place because it would be such a waste of money.
  19. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Truly one of the best games I've ever seen. The game is a sweet Survival game with well thought out linear maps. The cool replay feature is fun, giving you time to think of other options to replay a scene - cool!. Graphix are decent, and the price was right .
  20. Dec 25, 2012
    1
    Truly one of the worst Ubisoft games I have ever played. Every aspect of the game play is ruined by just plain cumbersome features. Combat is ruined by the limited ammo(I know its a survival game but seriously :P, stupid QTE for melee kills which make fights unwinnable unless its 1v1 or you have bullets, and a piss poor health system with no noticable regeneration overtime and hardlyTruly one of the worst Ubisoft games I have ever played. Every aspect of the game play is ruined by just plain cumbersome features. Combat is ruined by the limited ammo(I know its a survival game but seriously :P, stupid QTE for melee kills which make fights unwinnable unless its 1v1 or you have bullets, and a piss poor health system with no noticable regeneration overtime and hardly enough health items to keep you from playing in the gray blurry screen mode 24/7 . Also the platforming element of this game which should be it's key feature is ruined by a poorly implemented stamina system. Because of the stamina system every climb become a puzzle and not the fun kind :P. Finally the story and setting just seem bland. Don't get me wrong i love apocalyptic games, but this one just falls flat the lack of color and film grain while cool ideas look pretty horrid in this game.

    Overall i would recommend passing up this game.
    Expand
  21. Sep 12, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hate linear-like-a-corridor games. I hate checkpoint games. I hate games that don't let you save your progress whenever you want. I hate games that despite offering me graphic detail and effects adjustments, it still looks rubbish with everything on maximum, on a high-end machine. I hate games that don't let you have freedom and total control over your character, and only let you perform certain actions in designated areas. Most of all, I hate console ports to PC with a passion. Despite all that, I still wanted to give this game a try, and I have to say I was enjoying it for the first two hours. I had already left the apartment and was chasing the little girl, then my character died while fighting the three thugs. It's fine, I don't mind that, really don't. Just load the last save, right? Wrong. The last save was done at the sewage entrance, something like 90 minutes worth of playtime for me, since I was 'exploring' the map (while pretending it was an 'open world' kind of a game), searching for supplies, and getting used to the game controls. The character is almost always outnumbered and under-equipped, so it will die a lot along the way. Not that I mind that, as I said, but with such rubbish save system, there is absolutely no way I am going to keep playing this game. Shame I paid 15 bucks for that. Still, I'll give it a score of 3, based on the first two hours. But my advice? If you are thinking of buying it, save your money. Go to the cinema instead, if you feel like spending it. *** UPDATE: Having only one bullet in your pistol and a machete, how can you possibly defeat a gang of four thugs, two of them armed with pistols that seem to have infinite ammo? Well, you can surprise kill one of them magic pistol guys, but before you finish, your character is already dead meat. Anyway, I tried it again, and went as far as finding the medicine for the little girl. I was trying really hard to enjoy it, thinking "hey, just do it for the challenge, man!", but the character ended up dying so many times that I got really frustrated and angry, and this is no good. I just deleted the game, and I am not going back to it. Expand
  22. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    Watch out for that old lady she is a nut case and oh man there just happens to be a med kit on the ground in the middle of the street. How did anyone miss that??
  23. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    Tight focused levels no real exploration but limited resources and straight up survival creates a brooding sense of tension and apprehension. Not one for hard games as a casual gamer but this I did enjoy the experience.
  24. Sep 8, 2012
    2
    Well intended and potentially interesting but so poorly executed that it is boring as hell. The colour palette is bland and feels flat and the checkpoint and reset system is broken and unwieldy and simply unfair even on normal. Seriously a bad game that I want to forget.
  25. Feb 5, 2013
    4
    Okay, this game has it's merits, but as I'm rating below the mid-point, I'll talk about it's bad points. First of all, the 'open-world' part of the game is a lie, all maps are split into even arcade-like segments with a particular path. A full city? Yeah, but you can't go down that street, that other street has a massive hole in it and that street in the distance has a car pileup. So youOkay, this game has it's merits, but as I'm rating below the mid-point, I'll talk about it's bad points. First of all, the 'open-world' part of the game is a lie, all maps are split into even arcade-like segments with a particular path. A full city? Yeah, but you can't go down that street, that other street has a massive hole in it and that street in the distance has a car pileup. So you end up snaking your way through a city in a predefined path. Another of it's bad points is inconsistency: There was a blocked road, with an ambulance in the foreground, so I was able to climb the ambulance and climb over the blocked path, great! Then I was doing a mission where I had to chase a little girl and I saw a path that would have cost me some valuable time, or another ambulance model, so I figured I'd hop the ambulance as before and cut her off but no... the ambulance was just an ambulance coloured invisible wall. I can climb some things but not others, and this was really irritating. Okay, here's the big one, the one that made this game a no-deal for me: You're climbing a rickety structure that looks as if it's going to fall over, you're feeling equal parts of vertigo and tenseness caused by the height and the environment; suddenly, you take a wrong step, and you fall to your death... but you don't, because every single ledge has an invisible wall stopping you from falling, so all the vertigo and tenseness disappear and you actually just don't care about climbing any more because it lacks danger. Expand
  26. Sep 13, 2012
    2
    Playing the game feels like you are playing it through thick gloves. The controls are very clunky, every action is simple button-smashing (why do I need to ruin my mouse just to open a simple door?) and the combat is very repetitive. There are way too much useless game flow interruptions. For example these hint boxes that stop the game just to tell you something that is obvious or thePlaying the game feels like you are playing it through thick gloves. The controls are very clunky, every action is simple button-smashing (why do I need to ruin my mouse just to open a simple door?) and the combat is very repetitive. There are way too much useless game flow interruptions. For example these hint boxes that stop the game just to tell you something that is obvious or the game already told you at least 10 times before. And it takes ages until the game gives you back control of your character.
    The level design is ultra linear, no choices to make. And after climbing up to locations that can only be reached by professional free climbers you will find a gang of people who are waiting for you. And thanks to the stamina system climbing makes no fun at all.
    Expand
  27. Jul 7, 2014
    3
    General Overview: While the game has a great concept and provides some unique game play it is SO buggy as to be unplayable. The background flickering and disappearing is only the beginning. This game could have been great but the execution is horrible and broken

    TL;DNR: 3: Great ideas with HORRIBLE execution. Avoid even on sale. There may be a mod out there to solve the MANY issues,
    General Overview: While the game has a great concept and provides some unique game play it is SO buggy as to be unplayable. The background flickering and disappearing is only the beginning. This game could have been great but the execution is horrible and broken

    TL;DNR: 3: Great ideas with HORRIBLE execution. Avoid even on sale. There may be a mod out there to solve the MANY issues, but frankly that is not worth the effort - there are many more functional survival games that work and are enjoyable.

    Technology/engine: 0: Simply horrible.

    AI: 0: Not a lot of variety and simply not fun or responsive.

    Graphics: 0: While the game has an interesting but very bland palette, the backgrounds flicker in and out, complete loss of ambiance and the textures are muddy at best. When you don't move it looks great but take a step into flicker land and its horrible.

    Sound: 5: Serviceable

    Soundtrack: 4: Mediocre

    Voice acting: 6: Decent but stilted delivery.

    Crafting: N/A

    Customization: 4: Marginal

    Game play systems: 7: Great ideas with the intimidation concept and the stamina system and climbing is unique but the execution is simply not fun.

    Controls: 5: Serviceable, nothing unique

    Story: 7: What I could tolerate seems okay but it does very little to immerse you due to the overwhelmingly HORRIBLE execution of the foundation of the game.

    Multiplayer: N/A
    Expand
  28. Sep 8, 2012
    4
    Just now purchased this game. I Thought this would be a good single player expierence. However I must say that i was severly dissapointed. After seeing the option screen wich only excists out of only a few graphic options, my hopes dropped. The game runs terrible even on a high end pc and it just looks bad. The game is riddled with unnecesairy effects and a really hard to controll mainJust now purchased this game. I Thought this would be a good single player expierence. However I must say that i was severly dissapointed. After seeing the option screen wich only excists out of only a few graphic options, my hopes dropped. The game runs terrible even on a high end pc and it just looks bad. The game is riddled with unnecesairy effects and a really hard to controll main character. Now you're probably wondering if the story is any good. Well it isn't. The story is near non excistent and to top it off, the voice acting is really bad. I Would avoid it at for the time being. The problems I have with the game, might just be personal, but if you're thinking about picking this game up. Do it on a 360 or ps3. Expand
  29. Sep 9, 2012
    2
    This game is a perfect example on how not to make a game difficult - most of my deaths in this game where the result of enemy encounters. They attempt to make the "combat" hard by limiting ammo for your weapons... ok. that might be interesting for one, maybe two encounters. after that it's just a repeat of the same thing over and over. Shoot the guy with the gun and if you already ran outThis game is a perfect example on how not to make a game difficult - most of my deaths in this game where the result of enemy encounters. They attempt to make the "combat" hard by limiting ammo for your weapons... ok. that might be interesting for one, maybe two encounters. after that it's just a repeat of the same thing over and over. Shoot the guy with the gun and if you already ran out of bullets try to fool them. Oh now they have body armor - use the clunky free aim mechanics to shoot the one guy in the head... The rest of the game consists of running around in dust and climbing buildings - no challenge in that at all.
    The whole stamina mechanic is yet another attempt to make a boring game harder - you have a limited amount of stamina that gets depleted by running, walking in dust and climbing. This forces you to look for ledges while climbing or higher ground while walking around the city. saving other survivors may see to be rewarding but you don't actually gain anything from it - it feels more like an attempt to make the game longer.

    The PC version is a bad port (1.0). The game is stable but in my case tends to forget it's settings, i gave up and just played in 720p windowed mode because it never saved the screen res. Xbox Controller support for this game is broken, KB + Mouse works but derps at some points if you try to climb down.
    The camera controls are probably better on controller - i had a hard time looking around in some hallways with KB+M.

    In conclusion ... for me this was a 5h game - i spend at least an hour in total wandering around the dust totally lost because i always had to climb up for air, i spend at least 30 minutes with deaths due to the totally unnecessary combat (28 deaths, i believe 3 of them by actually failing at something other than combat) and the rest of the time with the actual game. The story was ... well a story - if you are actually playing this for the story you are going to be disappointed by the end.
    Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. 79
    Bold and fresh, despite its shortcomings. Moreover, if the original vision of the developers had been fully fleshed out, this would have been one of the best games of the year. [November 2012]
  2. 70
    Original survival horror is perfect in setting up a grim atmosphere. You can find many flaws in the game but there are very strong moments which make the game worth trying. [Nov 2012]
  3. Oct 28, 2012
    40
    I may be alive, but I am completely dead inside. [Nov 2012, p.82]