User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndyK.
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    This game is great. I believe this game has the potential to be one of the greatest ever in the rts genre. Aside from the obvious ability to customize your own units, teh multiplayer games are very fast paced with the forst battles happening at around teh 3-5 minute mark. On top of all this relic is making a FREE expansion for the game set to be available for download any day now. It will This game is great. I believe this game has the potential to be one of the greatest ever in the rts genre. Aside from the obvious ability to customize your own units, teh multiplayer games are very fast paced with the forst battles happening at around teh 3-5 minute mark. On top of all this relic is making a FREE expansion for the game set to be available for download any day now. It will contain 15 new animals and 9 new abilities, talk about the generosity of relic. P.S. Take it from me, i've actually played the game. Expand
  2. GaryS.
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    With the Insect Invasion MOD, even more creatures and abilities become available. And this expansion is available as a free download. Honestly, this game has saved me a lot of money because every time I think of buying another PC or console game, I think to myself: "Yeah, it looks good. But is it worth taking time away from playing Impossible Creatures?" Different maps and terrains call With the Insect Invasion MOD, even more creatures and abilities become available. And this expansion is available as a free download. Honestly, this game has saved me a lot of money because every time I think of buying another PC or console game, I think to myself: "Yeah, it looks good. But is it worth taking time away from playing Impossible Creatures?" Different maps and terrains call for different types of units, so you'll find yourself creating multiple armies and spending hours testing the abilities of your creatures. Most if not all of the magazine ratings were based on the original release. The expansion software adds so much in the way of strategy that it doubles the enjoyability and longevity of the game. As a schoolteacher, I have recommeded this game to my students and all who have purchased it seem to be enjoying it as much as I do. Expand
  3. AndrewC.
    Feb 18, 2003
    9
    It's pretty fun. Great for rts fans. Unless you want to focus on strategy. I haven't tried the multiplayer mode yet but I think it'll be great. Combining two animals in an rts game is clever though.
  4. RexC.
    Aug 3, 2003
    9
    Not much new here in regards to RTS mechanics but the addition of army building (creature combining) really revitalizes this genre. Actually, I find that I spend more time combining creatures than playing the game - its such a fun gimicy mini-game. As for strategy, I find that if you play this enough, just like any game, there is a definite strategy - less on the tactics, more on the Not much new here in regards to RTS mechanics but the addition of army building (creature combining) really revitalizes this genre. Actually, I find that I spend more time combining creatures than playing the game - its such a fun gimicy mini-game. As for strategy, I find that if you play this enough, just like any game, there is a definite strategy - less on the tactics, more on the building the proper counters. Definite fun, I highly recommend trying it out. Expand
  5. jackbowcher
    Jul 3, 2009
    9
    while this game has a few issuses, its just so fun i cant take more than 1 point off a 10/10 score, i loved collecting new animals to combine in the campain. the multiplayer is extreamly fun as you can try your creatures out against other people, the insect invasion and the 15 extra creatures improve the replayability by ages, to put it simply this game is brilliant and needs a sequel NOW
  6. StevenK.
    Feb 10, 2003
    4
    I've seen enough of these games. Build base, create peasants or whatever. Make them collect resources. Build barracks or whatever. Create soldiers with your barrack. Battle with your soldiers. Blah blah. Soo dull. The only innovative in this game is the "combine 2 animals" mode. Or what the heck they call it. You select two animals, combine em. Thats it. Seriously, this game sucks.
  7. Jok`RdeMo
    Feb 28, 2003
    4
    Game sucks, take warcraft 2+ 3d graphics + hmm yeah nothing more. Ah yeah combine 2 animals - is that genetic game??? crap why can't I combine 3 animals? why I cant combine 2 species that I have created? CRAP CRAP CRAP...
  8. asdasdadasdasdasd
    Nov 15, 2003
    0

    What the fuck the makers of this fuckin game were insane or drunk probly when they put on website cuz this game is dumb i played the fuckin demo and liked it more then real version oh and when i through in my cat food box he bit it and pissed on the fuckin thang
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Though the actual battles in Impossible Creatures aren't all that great, the game's offbeat premise, good looks, enjoyable campaign, and open-ended design make it both distinctive and recommendable.
  2. Though it struggles a bit as a real-time strategy game, Impossible Creatures makes great strides in unit building and should be commended for its lofty goals.
  3. The concept of combining animals together to create units is innovative enough to overcome other stagnant RTS aspects.