Indigo Prophecy PC

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 365 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 365
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    0
    Insultingly stupid. The game has a difficult-enough time trying to make the lousy dialogue interesting by adding quick time events to conversations, but then it has one of the worst stories I've ever heard in a video game! I wish I could be exaggerating, but just look it up on Wikipedia if you don't believe me. QTE is no way to play a game, especially a linear one.
  2. Oct 26, 2013
    0
    What is wrong with you people? The writing is horrible in this game, everything is uninspired. The plot has massive glaring faults in it, and David Cage just throws whatever he feels like into the plot.
    David Cage is a failure of the game design.
  3. JanisY.
    Dec 7, 2005
    0
    I cant afford to pay 50 bucks for someone elses experiment game. Grafix from 5 years ago 'n worse controls i ever seen on a game. Storie seems ok, but can't be bothered to play silly parlour games to progress. Who has to play kerplunk, buckaroo or simon sez with bad design control system to avoid arrest in reel life?, no one thats who! Dunno how plot finishes - can't be I cant afford to pay 50 bucks for someone elses experiment game. Grafix from 5 years ago 'n worse controls i ever seen on a game. Storie seems ok, but can't be bothered to play silly parlour games to progress. Who has to play kerplunk, buckaroo or simon sez with bad design control system to avoid arrest in reel life?, no one thats who! Dunno how plot finishes - can't be bothered to play it. either get 20 bucks back now from shop for "new" poor game...or i wait and suffer trying to play bad game , I don't they give me anything for "old" poor game. Back to shop it goes. Expand
  4. John
    Nov 22, 2005
    3
    Quite "SIMPLEly" a 9 out of 10 story/game with a "SAYzer" of your wrists with the so stupid SIMON SAYS button mashibng parts. I cannot even get anywhere with this game because of this mashing method of gameplay. I play adventures and this is suppose to be an adventure, vut not with that button mashing!. Why it could not have been set at just 4 buttons on easy and medium and 8 buttons on Quite "SIMPLEly" a 9 out of 10 story/game with a "SAYzer" of your wrists with the so stupid SIMON SAYS button mashibng parts. I cannot even get anywhere with this game because of this mashing method of gameplay. I play adventures and this is suppose to be an adventure, vut not with that button mashing!. Why it could not have been set at just 4 buttons on easy and medium and 8 buttons on hard I am so sad to say this game is only worth a 3 to me now. The button mashing makes this game just a third of what it could have been. I just know I will never finish this story because of the button mashing, so I will hang on for a couple weeks to see if a cheat of somesort comes out and if one does not I will re-sell this game to some other shmuck. "A flawed gem?" my a*se! A gem that has been turned into a piece of coal I think. SIMON SAYS "don't bother! Expand
  5. PaulC.
    Dec 2, 2005
    2
    Control system for consoles only - rubbish control methods (mouse control is a hash as well - seems like an idea bolted on as a concession to us poor PC users) Graphics ok, but mini games (hide the evidence / guess the right reaction) are basically a lottery. Fail / redo (lather rinse repeat) Not a terrible game, but certainly don't understand the hype. Yes it's a third person Control system for consoles only - rubbish control methods (mouse control is a hash as well - seems like an idea bolted on as a concession to us poor PC users) Graphics ok, but mini games (hide the evidence / guess the right reaction) are basically a lottery. Fail / redo (lather rinse repeat) Not a terrible game, but certainly don't understand the hype. Yes it's a third person adventure, and there aint been many. Felt myself re-installing Max Payne 2 (very different game - but far more rewarding and controllable and somehow similar to Farehhait all the same). Expand
  6. Sh1tface41
    Feb 18, 2008
    2
    It's funny how very different people's opinions on things can be. I've often seen games/movies that i LOVE being trashed by people and vice versa, and I'm never able to understand the other's point of view, no matter how hard I try. This is one of the latter. I think it's AWFUL. I played the PC version of this and a few comments point out the terrible control It's funny how very different people's opinions on things can be. I've often seen games/movies that i LOVE being trashed by people and vice versa, and I'm never able to understand the other's point of view, no matter how hard I try. This is one of the latter. I think it's AWFUL. I played the PC version of this and a few comments point out the terrible control method. Apparantly this is better with a dual analogue control pad which, if you use one, might make this game enjoyable. From my experience though, of using mouse and keyboard, it's unplayable. The game starts off very well with an intriguing premise and a very absorbing logical puzzle to solve that immersed me immediately and i thought i was in for an excellent game, but after this first scene the game goes VERY rapidly downhill. It's seems to think it's so bloody clever and there's an air of this pomposity throughout. This really grates as the game is in fact very poor. It has very limited interaction of the worst kind (controlling a character from one point in a maze of paths to another in order to trigger another cut-scene, with no reward or danger along the way is not in my book 'interaction', but rather a waste of time and poor game design.) and subgames ranging from boring, pointless and illogical if you're lucky (the simon says games), to absolutely infuriatingly badly designed ones (the army base section) which is made 'challenging' by a stupid control method, unclear rules and having to repeat the ENTIRE annoying thing from the start when you mess up. Again in my opinion this is poor game design that i thought ended some 10-15 years ago. This sums up the game for me. A collection of extremely poor games that would have been considered below average 15 years ago, being used to forward an intriguing, but poorly told plot, all held together with nice 3d graphics and cinematic effects pretentiously stolen from tv shows of the time. For a good story driven game there are many others much better than this: Omikron the nomad soul by the same company as this is flawed but much better. Grim Fandango, Psychonauts, Max Payne all tell better stories in a better way and with an actual game driving it along as well. This game i imagine would appeal to people who like games like Myst and Riven. This isn't meant as a put down of any of these games but just as a guide to who would enjoy this game. Asta la vista I gave this 2 for the excellent first scene as zero seems a bit harsh but it also definately doesn't deserve a 10! 10? A perfect game? Give me a break. Collapse
  7. Mar 6, 2011
    0
    Simply thinking of this game makes me shiver.
    You see, QTE's are only good when not Under/Overused, other wise they either get annoying (Under) and unexpected, and repetetive (Over) and dull.
    The controls make me wanna punch baby's. Terrible tnak-controls and redundant QTE's = Farenheit. The plot is just completley retarted, and the action is just nerve-wrackingly-Awful. I'm suprised I
    Simply thinking of this game makes me shiver.
    You see, QTE's are only good when not Under/Overused, other wise they either get annoying (Under) and unexpected, and repetetive (Over) and dull.

    The controls make me wanna punch baby's.

    Terrible tnak-controls and redundant QTE's = Farenheit.

    The plot is just completley retarted, and the action is just nerve-wrackingly-Awful.

    I'm suprised I hasted 8 hours of my life on this peice of ****

    F*ck you steam for making me interested in buying it!
    Expand
  8. randomguy
    Feb 20, 2006
    0
    The story of the game is good, full of clichees but still good enough to keep me pounding through the simonsez sequences. The only thing I can't forgive is the fact that even though I don't have the slowest of the boxes out there and I can play for instance HL2 with plenty of eye candy, sometimes in the middle of the game the frame rate drops dramatically for a couple ofThe story of the game is good, full of clichees but still good enough to keep me pounding through the simonsez sequences. The only thing I can't forgive is the fact that even though I don't have the slowest of the boxes out there and I can play for instance HL2 with plenty of eye candy, sometimes in the middle of the game the frame rate drops dramatically for a couple of secconds. Now normally this wouldn't be a *huge* problem, but when I'm dodging cars while fleing from cops chasing me with guns blazing and I grab that ledge of the copter with only two lifes left and the game gets sluggish and I KEEP DYING OVER AND OVER AGAIN NO MATTER HOW HARD I KEEP POUNDING ON MY KEYBOARD - NOW THAT'S WHERE I DRAW THE LINE!!!! Expand
  9. WhiteMage
    Dec 9, 2007
    0
    The Simon-Says-Controls and the time restraints make this a game for trigger-happy console kids. It is not an adventure.
  10. GrahamG.
    Jan 19, 2008
    4
    Why bother to write a review for a three year old game? Because it
  11. E
    Sep 5, 2008
    3
    The gameplay isn't exactly spectacular (ie simon says, button mashing), so this game hinges entirely on its plot. The plot is mildly interesting until the last half where it becomes total garbage. Some things are totally left unexplained (I didn't realize the protagonist was actually Neo in disguise) and logical plot lines become taboo. Seriously, there are B-movies with more The gameplay isn't exactly spectacular (ie simon says, button mashing), so this game hinges entirely on its plot. The plot is mildly interesting until the last half where it becomes total garbage. Some things are totally left unexplained (I didn't realize the protagonist was actually Neo in disguise) and logical plot lines become taboo. Seriously, there are B-movies with more logical stories than this game. Expand
  12. JG
    Jan 4, 2009
    4
    I definitely had high hopes going into this game. I was told it was a good game with a great plot. Unfortunately this game did not come anywhere near those hopes. The main problem I have with this game is the Simon says circles. It fealt akin to playing DDR without the music. Or worse, playing DDR where the music is out of sync with the button pressing. The background action scenes were I definitely had high hopes going into this game. I was told it was a good game with a great plot. Unfortunately this game did not come anywhere near those hopes. The main problem I have with this game is the Simon says circles. It fealt akin to playing DDR without the music. Or worse, playing DDR where the music is out of sync with the button pressing. The background action scenes were epic in their own rights and would have made good cut scenes but the Simon says gameplay distracts the player from enjoying them. The mash left and right gameplay mechanic seemed pretty inane too. As for the plot, I fealt it had way too many moments of deus ex machina for me to handle. I was okay with the first half of the story but not the second half. The Oracle randomly chose the only person in the world who posseses the chroma? There is a purple clan? The purple clan is artificial intelligences? Artificial intelligence can reanimate people? I would have been okay if it had only been a crime drama but the super natural killed it for me. Shifting between the detective and the suspect prevented me from rooting for any side of the struggle. I was merely playing a role, doing what was expected. This game feels like it wants to be a movie, but I don't think the plot would allow it to succeed as one. Expand
  13. WowieZ
    Dec 25, 2009
    4
    It is a decent experience until you make it halfway the game. I got stuck on a scene where i had to climb a drainpipe and walk over a roof ledge. After failing a thousand times, i left the game and never looked back. I'm the first to admit that i sucked at the game, but since this should not be just a game but an experience, sucking at it should not be an issue. All in all: wibbly It is a decent experience until you make it halfway the game. I got stuck on a scene where i had to climb a drainpipe and walk over a roof ledge. After failing a thousand times, i left the game and never looked back. I'm the first to admit that i sucked at the game, but since this should not be just a game but an experience, sucking at it should not be an issue. All in all: wibbly wobbly controls and dito story make Fahrenheit a game that dissapoints in the end. Expand
  14. Jan 2, 2011
    2
    In short, this game is a steaming pile of crap. Don't buy it. It relies on the (theoretically) interesting concept of making you perform every mundane in-game action either by doing a combination of button-presses, or by playing a game of "simon." This unfortunately gets sour very quickly, becoming at best monotonous, and at worst downright punishing as you'll be forced to replay the sameIn short, this game is a steaming pile of crap. Don't buy it. It relies on the (theoretically) interesting concept of making you perform every mundane in-game action either by doing a combination of button-presses, or by playing a game of "simon." This unfortunately gets sour very quickly, becoming at best monotonous, and at worst downright punishing as you'll be forced to replay the same segments of the game over and over again, without any way to skip through the (occasionally lengthy) in-game cutscenes. As other reviewers have mentioned, using a gamepad is absolutely necessary to properly control this game, however even with the correct control device, it's still an awful game. Additionally, the story takes a dump during the last 1/3 of the game and finishes in such an anticlimactic and absurd way that it effectively makes the previous 2/3 of the game a complete waste. Avoid if you enjoy having fun. Expand
  15. CletusB.Skeetingtons
    Nov 25, 2005
    0
    This game is a horrible excuse for a dynamic game. It is not dynamic in any way shape or form. No matter what you do the exact same thing happens. This game had so much potential. Basically all it is, is a movie that you have to win a mini game in order to see the next part. Imagine if you were in a theater and they made you play mini games at various parts of the movie and kicked you out This game is a horrible excuse for a dynamic game. It is not dynamic in any way shape or form. No matter what you do the exact same thing happens. This game had so much potential. Basically all it is, is a movie that you have to win a mini game in order to see the next part. Imagine if you were in a theater and they made you play mini games at various parts of the movie and kicked you out if you didn't win the mini game. There were only 3 endings and it is completely decided at the end which ending you get no matter what you've done the entire game. LAME... Expand
  16. Sep 6, 2014
    0
    The worst piece of **** in the world. Do not play it, do not buy it, do not even look at it. If you look at it, you better gouge your eyeballs out, otherwise the **** SPACE ALIEN A.I. MONSTERS WILL COME FOR YOU.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. PC Gamer
    85
    A classic adventure pumped up with massive doses of adrenaline. [Nov 2005, p.82]
  2. Fahrenheit features a fascinating, ever evolving storyline that really does change in real time depending on your actions.
  3. It's about halfway through Fahrenheit that the wheels start to wobble. The game begins to veer away from its complex murder-mystery beginnings into the realm of pure fantasy, with a final chapter that can be hard to stomach.