User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 3871 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    First of all, This game has terrible design, horrible sounds/soundtrack, and many bugs (EX: Some rocks sound like metal when you walk on them, you randomly start levitating etc.). But I won't lie it is extremely fun. This game brings out the best of the teamwork aspect and communication skills are ESSENTIAL. I like how they made it when you buy GC you can't get ranged weapons. Some people may complain about that but think about it, anyone that spends money is just immortal. Also, the fact that guns need to be used wisely I think is a realistic factor added. And after reading the critic reviews, one critic thought buying ammo for your gun in the store is dumb. I like it just because guns are so rare to find that using one clip means your gun is useless if you couldn't buy ammo. If only they would spend some actual time into developing this game... Overall, this game is fun (even more so if you play with friends) and definitely worth a measly $15. I give this a buy! ***NOTE I have not played Day-Z so I can't give a personal comparison of it to War Z. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    Este juego puede crecer a mejor si los jugadores ayudamos a los creadores a mejorarlo. Un juego de este estilo nunca lo había visto: cruel, lleno de zombis y jugadores un tanto "malvados". Un juego que puede darle a un grupo de amigos unas semanas de risas y de auténtico miedo. Crea tu clan, coge vuestros coches y sobrevive, una experiencia muy cercana a "The Walking Dead". Hagamos que esos "jugadores" que usan Cheats acaben expulsados y baneados, pidamos mejoras al juego (más gráficos, más añadidos, quizás una traducción de textos, etc...." y este juego se podria convertir en un clásico. Paciencia y disfrutemos! Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Amazing gameplay, its like cod but pay to win, and i am rich. Very fun and easy to get used to fun to wreak people. It's like skyrim with guns. It has amazing graphics on a next generation engine, the ai are very intellegent and it surpasses alot of games, like very bad half life 2.
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i think this game is great sure it may have some dificult things wrong but it isnt so complicated like day z i bought that game and downloded the mod and still i could not join even 1 server on it so insted of nagging like piriot crazy teens calm your titts put your tampongs in and go out and get a life gaming is what you do when your bored not all day and night like some lonley Wow nerd! so stop being like small suckers and stop complaining its a game not a life stop thinking you are some game expert your not your just some peice of with a keyboard it makes me sad just watching how pathetic you are! Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    1) First of all people are bashing the game for changing its name to get more sales. THIS IS NOT TRUE, the Dev's were forced to do this because the name was to similar to 'The world war Z' and that name was trademarked

    2) people are saying the lack of tutorial makes the game bad. Get over yourself, that's exactly the point of the game and you suck.

    3) People are saying 'Meh I played
    20 minutes and then I decided to un install because this it the worst game ever'. You haven't even started playing if 20 minutes is all you played. You wouldn't have found your first decent weapon in 20 minutes.

    4) Yes WarZ isn't the 'realistic' game DayZ is, and that is totally fine because they are doing something different by making it a bit more casual and wanting to appeal to the people who aren't as hardcore and people that just want to shoot other people for fun.

    5) People saying this is a DayZ clone, read point 4. Yes without a doubt they made the game because of Day Z's succes but that's what you do in the industry. Something is popular and you follow the trend.

    On the game itself:
    It's not a bad game and I thorougly enjoyed myself playing it. I always found DayZ to be a bit too hardcore for me. I liked the scavenging and surviving element but holy did it take long. Infestation: survivor stories brings a game that is more casual and accessible for players who enjoy a more arcadey (as I like to call it) experience.

    Most fun part of the game is joining up in a group and trying to find and fight other groups of players. It's fun because the death statement really means something in this game (contrary to modern FPS).
    Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Great game! love the PVP and PVE combat. The fact that you can swim and bleed to death is also just... just great. Hopefully retards will stop hating the game because they don't understand the mechanics and are trying to play it like DayZ.
  7. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    bon jeu de survie en espérant que les développeur prendront soin de ce petit mmo pour les fan de the walking dead. un peu hardcore c est pour sa que certain noob l on descendu.
  8. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    I just can't understand why are there so many bad comments. I bought the game for 3,50 and I consider it a good deal. It is giving me a lot of entertainment, though i have to admit that the only way to play this game is with friends; it's really really hard, and if you play alone can be quite frustrating, but when you team up with your friends it's really fun. IMAO those who gave bad ratings just need to play with friends and get a little more skill. It's not an easy game but it has a lot of potential;

    There are some annoying bugs but in my opinion they don't affect the gameplay.
    Considering that I paid it 3,50 i'm absolutely satisfied.

    I would give it a 7,5 but i give 10 in order to raise the ratings.
    Expand
  9. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    Seriously this game is great! i used to think oh this game has a bad reputation so i am not going to buy it but i was like i may as well try it out and i thought it was a good game especially when you play it with your friends. the devs are slowly getting better and making faster progress this games has great potential yes its gonna lose players when dayz standalone comes out but it will still be a great game they are also releasing a new map for it soon so that should be good! but if i was you buy it give it a go i would say its worth the money! Expand
  10. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    It's amazing zombie survival game! You must buy it, if you like zombie survival games. Game has got updates every month, and becomes better everyday! Such an amazing job
  11. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    The best game ever. I dont know why the people talking bad about it. Its just for pros not for noobs. And everyone who said its bad just get killed one time and quit the game.
  12. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I recommend this game to every one the Pvp Is amazing and the zombies get you when they can.
    And I love the reputation feature of the game is amazing.10/10
    Expand
  13. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    the best zombie game i have ever played love it 2 survife GOOD JOB GUYS verry nice gameplay with friends verry good hahaha and im playing this game from the beginning and its getting beter and beter every week updates cool stuff and bug fixes goed job guys
  14. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    It is true that the game has a worse past behind. but appear since (much too early) of game has changed a lot. most of the bugs have been removed, the graphics has been improved, it runs generally more stable than a half a year ago. also been made ​​by an end punkbuster the cheaters. and there are regularly published the patches the game continue to improve. clear, there are still a few minor bugs, is a little rough for sure, but it has its charming. And for the beginner, a great power is behind this game as shown.

    Incidentally, I apologize for my lousy english.
    greetings from Germany ^ ^
    Expand
  15. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    I really like the game, the mix mixture between sumulation and arcade is good for me. I really like that you must be on your guard because there's players and zombies.

    Its hard to explain, you really need to give it a go. (With some friends is a plus) and for only 15$ it's great value.
  16. Sep 4, 2013
    7
    this game had many updates and its alright. i would recommend dayz but you have to have a good pc to run dayz.. warz is worth buying but only with friends
  17. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    DayZ fanboys have obviously been here writing negative crap about this game and down-voting user reviews, shame on you people for ruining this game's reputation.
    The game as it is today (September 2013) it works pretty well. The graphics isn't _that_ bad as someone said in one of the other reviews.
    * There are 100 people servers.
    * There are different kind of servers.
    * Zombies do get
    bugged (spawning inside stairs or rocks for example) but I rarely see that.
    * You can't swim which is a bit annoying.
    * I don't know about hit boxes but they seem to work pretty well for me.

    Honestly, I don't see what all the fuzz is about but all the bad reviews are from 2012 so maybe the game was horrible back then or it is what I wrote in the beginning of my review which is more likely.
    Also: All the features on the Steam store page is in the game.
    Expand
  18. Apr 14, 2014
    0
    Don't fall for this money grabbing trap. Don't even waste time reading the reviews! Leave while you still can! You've gone far enough already! Don't play this game! Or even think about it! The developers of this game should all be fired and sentenced to life imprisonment and their forums shut down! All they want you to do is to buy the game and then spend money in the market or buying private server. This game is absolute garbage! It stinks! Expand
  19. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Un jeu qui reflète la personnalité des hommes et plus particulièrement leurs "crevardise".
    En effet, ce jeu est GÉNIAL, les gens qui y joue eux laisse désiré.
    +300h de jeu pour 13€... What Else
  20. Sep 29, 2013
    7
    I got the game a long time after its initial release so I'm going to pass all of the bugs and developer issues. The game is quite entertaining and fun with certain criteria being met. You have friends that will play the game with you. Playing this game solo seems a bit boring and pointless in the long run. You don't mind dying. Losing everything you have gathered in the long hours after just a few gunshots is something you will face often.
    You don't mind that there's a huge shop that gives the players advantage if they are willing to pay real mone.
    You enjoy games that require you to spend a lot of time to collect items and achieve small victories.

    Personally I meet all the above so it's a 7 from me. I spent a lot of time having fun with a few friends, scavenging and fooling around. Keep in mind my opinion doesn't include all the shady things the dev did along with the initial hacker/bug issues.
    Expand
  21. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Infestation:survivors stories is just a game that is being improved once or twice a month... game still (BETA) and have big amount of errors and things to fix or repair...I really like this game and I know it is going to be better than DayZ...the moves of zombies atacks, actions, weapons and map quality....Dont throw this game to the bin before it's finish and improvements ok?
    Regards
  22. Oct 11, 2013
    7
    Okay, so this game has seen bad reviews, most of them due to judgement of others, but some have some facts. I enjoy this game very much. I have found a few bugs. Some can ruin your character, yes, but it has some great features as well. One is (according to your opinions) the safe zones. This encourages trading which is a great aspect. It was possible in Dayz, but it was very risky. And on the note of Infestation copying Dayz, I couldn't disagree more. Dayz is part of (and, arguably made a) genre of zombie survival. The developers of Infestation also made a game in this genre. And the zombie A.I. is ALOT better than Dayz. They don't zigzag and run in the wrong direction. I love Dayz, but I hate how much of a shadow it throws on Infestation. and Dayz was made before Infestation, so it does have more features. And the developers have made alot of mistakes, as not including everything they promised, but this game is still in development, right? Expand
  23. Oct 12, 2013
    5
    The game is not that bad when playing on the Trial Servers were people work together and few snipers are in play but still the map is bland and the game has very little to interest you playing with friends is very fun but the devs are very bad I am a community Dev myself and I'm am better then them a new map is on the way but not a big change. The game has less hackers now but it still feels like a COD with a few zombies added in not worth the $15 but do try the free account but trust no one people will kill you on sight mainly because zombies are such a bore and the shooting is really fun this means more PVP tho and renting a server cost a minimum of 50 USD so playing by yourself is out of the question

    NPC missions are coming out soon they are very fun I made them so people have something to look forward to.

    JUST PLAY THE TRIAL and tell me what you think
    Expand
  24. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Perfect game! I have dumped thousands of hours in to DayZ and this had all of the features I wish dayz had. Unlike DayZ this game is highly pvp oriented and zombies are very unforgiving, This makes most of the reviewers hate on this game. When it first came out it was still in beta but they didn't label it publicly causing meta critic to give it one of the lowest scores in history. If this was reviewed to today's game play it would be an 8 or 9. Expand
  25. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This game is ****
    BUT i give it 10 Points just for fun!
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
  26. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    I am playing this game for a while now and when the game was launched it was one of the worst games.
    But in 2013 some new developers bought the game and make it better there are now coming every week update of this game. i dont know wh you guys are complaining like this but if you play it more then 5 minutes and than logout you should know you can find every item in the game. They are
    creating new maps bigger and better there are private servers now and you can buy your own server now. Expand
  27. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    El juego a mejorado mucho desde su salida, la mayoria que critican al juego son hackers que han sido banneados, o gente que le cuesta mucho perder objetos cuando los matan, el juego se sale, y con el nuevo mapa esta muy bien. MUY RECOMENDADO!
  28. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    Looks like the game has changed quite a bit since the time it used to be called The War Z. I heard it was terrible back then, never played it. But played this version, it's quite fun to me comparing it to Day Z. I feel it's easier to find people and more like a game than a simulator like Day Z feels. I would give it an 8 or 9 if it wasn't for Punkbuster messing up so often. I think I found a work around, but it seems like the best way not to have problems is to just play on the least populated server. But overall, it's been a while since I've been interested in a Zombie game that didn't feel boring or just a beat'm up with zombies in it. Expand
  29. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Este juego a cambiado mucho, y cada vez esta mejorando, sé que antes habían la de fallos! pero VOTAR nuevamente a este lugar de criticas para apoyarles por la mejora que ha hecho infestation survivor stories. Expand
  30. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    So let me start off with I had to make a review for this because all you DayZ fanboys are giving this game a bad name before even playing it based on "top critic" reviews. People need to understand that this game is supposed to be difficult it's not supposed to be a chocolate factory, walk in a park, or a girl scout jamberee it's survival game. Do you honestly think in a zombie apocolypse you would find a gun everywhere you look? Or better yet ammo I mean this game gives you like a 3-5 chance of finding guns and 2-5 chance of finding ammo when in real life you would probably have like a 1-5 chance of finding both of them. It's supposed to be difficult players are aggressive on this game because it's difficult to find guns this is why the constant killing of players they need other peoples equipment to survive. You have to play this game for a while and develop a taste for it like i did I got interested in it once I found out how great it is to loot a highly populated place with a buddy always having your finger on the trigger waiting to kill that one unlucky player who gets in your line of fire. The game is a complete thrill, it has a trading system, a group system, a skill system. This game does have a lot of things compared to DayZ. The hatred towards Infestation due to your liking of DayZ just to bash another game is not cool I suggest getting a large number of friends and just chill hangout it's a good game once you get some equipment and it never ends because once you die you can just restack. Yes the waiting times are devasting but thats the point they did however lower it to 18 mins which is a good wait time. Infestation isn't a bad game it has lots of potential and I feel that it will be a great game one day seeing constant updates make me happy. So yeah if you'd like to try it get a trial account then decide if you want to pay for it. Thank you have a nice day... Expand
  31. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    I think that it's better than DayZ (mod and standalone) in nearly every way. Much better value at least. There are still alot of things left to do so I won't give higher than 8 for now. Please ignore alot of the negative reviews because this was mainly when the game was first released and it wasn't well tested along with problems that the devs caused to try and get on top of the competition. Also alot of people don't like games with in game purchases which is another reason for the bad reviews. Expand
  32. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    I am sorry for those who feel scorned that bought into the game when it was new... BUT... i just paid $3 for this game and have been co-oping with mates for the last 2 days and having a hell of a fun time. Sure its a bit buggy and stodgy in places but I am ranking this game based on its $3 price and for that it is bargain and amazing and have given me more entertainment than some AAA titles. At its $15 price I would still give it an 8 or 7.5 as long as you have mates to play with. Expand
  33. mou
    Nov 4, 2013
    10
    I actually don't understand why people hate it, I got it for 3$ and I think even for 15$ it worth the shot.
    realistic, good quality, awesome environment, sometimes it can be boring when you walk and players are dangerous in game that might be one reason why people dont like it (you can lose all your stuff in seconds but you can save it in settlements too don't worry)
    plus they are adding
    vehicules it will be even better, I can't wait to see that

    and people saying stuff like:
    'invisible walls' yes, we call it border map
    cheaters are banned (i can see it of course there is a lot)
    its not that buggy, and when it is you can blame stupid haters that are ddosing servers
    clans are free
    there are private servers
    Expand
  34. Feb 21, 2014
    2
    I bought this game when it first came out to gain access to the early alpha. Since then many things... happened. I experienced that there were no remarkable changes for the better compared to what got worse or stayed the same. + zombie apocalypse + realistic thirst/hunger system - paying for a game shouldn't include "real money items" - forged ad pictures (still!) - endless development without significant changes
    - almost everytime fails at atmosphere and depth in gaming
    - still many hackers
    - frustrating loot system

    And the list is ongoing. I am not sure if it even deserves 2/10 :
    Expand
  35. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    buen juego la verdad solo les falta arreglar los bugs y poner mas updates y seria uno de los mejores del estilo supervivencia nada mas qe dacir recomendado
  36. Nov 24, 2013
    5
    To be honest, this game is very fun with the right friends. Also, the game is very money driven. Players with more money to spend should not be able to have an advantage over others in a survival game. Hopefully Hammerpoint takes that money to make a new game. The only other issue is the bugs. It is hard to run on entry level computers and has very choppy animations. Textures are very detailed but do not make up for the bugs, and animation flaws. Expand
  37. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The better game ever made.
    The problem is the Developper team, they are so much bad.
    If they sell the propriets of Infestation to EA, or Microsoft, or another, the game will respawn.
    Expand
  38. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I think this game is amazing, and just too underrated, it's a good game to play before DayZ standalone is released. it has good graphics, good gameplay, and a big map got released (california), if you want fun, play this game.
  39. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    After the release of colorado v2 map,it change from bad to good..not every game perfect,right?.
    this game are in good direction now.there is no game like this 1st/3rd person mmo survival zombie apocalypse.
  40. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    The game has come a long way since War Z, and all the haters that panned this game so much will eat their words now i'm sure. Sure it's not perfect, far from it. But if you like huge open world exploration, finding loot and killing zombies people, then you'll enjoy this.
  41. Dec 9, 2013
    7
    So I'm german, please be patient.

    This game has a lot of problems, that's true. But otherwise it is just so much fun and has a lot of potential. Play this game with friends or in a clan and you'll love it.
  42. Dec 10, 2013
    1
    This game is just terrible. I played this game for awhile and then they started changing stuff like loot spawns. They changed it to where you could almost not find back packs...but they were on sale for real money in their shops. The game is poorly designed and optimized for any PC. DO NOT SUPPORT THIS COMPANY! HP's other games are also terrible just look at their track record including Sergey Titov's (owns HP) track record. Expand
  43. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    the game is a bigg and you ppl complaing r little babys congradutalations u all lick a bick bufalo D!*K if u play oon steam add me if ur not a cry baby tylermc905 :P
  44. Dec 12, 2013
    1
    je donne la note de 1 car ce jeu es coder avec les pied les dev's font n'importe quoi .
    le jeu banni les compte de maniere aleatoire un de mes compte a etai banni pour avoir un overlay sur mon teamspeak donc 15 de fichu pour rien apres une semaine de jeu je deconseil ce jeu
  45. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    Bon jeux dans l'ensemble, et les développer essayent vraiment d’améliorer le jeux de jour en jour.
    Beaucoup de médisance sur ce jeux, mais les derniers mis a jours et celle a venir améliore considérablement le jeux
  46. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Do not purchase this game. Many features listed on Steam are completely missing. The price was reduced to less than $15 in order to squeeze as much money from the game before it dies. I repeat: do not purchase this game, you will not get what you think you are getting. Just look at the War Z forums to see the problems.
  47. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    That's very sad to treat this game like that In one year, Hammerpoint makes some huge progress in this game. I'm just gonna make a list of the ameliorations:
    New staff, new community, new system anti-cheat, new graphism, new types of zombies, new map, craftfing, vehicules, stuff in the market can be buy with some money game. So yes this game is not perfect but stop saying that this game
    is crap..Compare to Day Z, the team started with nothing and they deserve some respect for that.

    Sorry for my english, i'm not bilingual..
    Expand
  48. Jan 9, 2014
    7
    TL;DR version down below!!
    ________________________________________________
    This game had a rough start and i understand people are angry about that but about the time they changed the name to: infestation survivor stories, the game improved. ALLOT i didn't play long before that update.
    a lot of dayz fanboy's are hating on the game even tough i personally think it's just as good if not
    better (talking about the mod i haven't played the standalone.) Let's address the title it received so much hate because it was almost the same as Dayz but if you haven't figured it out, it's by the makers of war inc. they never intended to rip off dayz with it's name they just decided to stick with the name war, and added the z for zombie, you might argue that's a lie but this is based on true information. i personally enjoyed this game allot, especially playing it at night with a friend the tension of getting killed is really good,
    but there is a problem it was never the zombie's that got us but always the other players. but it's said that the biggest problem was that killing zombies was to easy and required no skill. That's is true for 1 zombie because when they are hit by a melee weapon their next attack will have a 100% miss rate. making it just mindlessly stabbing it in the face for a few times. and against 2-3 zombies it's walking back hoping you won't walk into another zombie, and with more then that you are better of running.
    but that isn't what you are supposed to do you should avoid them or try to fight them 1 at the time or get your friend to kill one and you another. and what about other player's well they will shoot you at sight doesn't matter if you are armed or not a big problem with it being is that gun's are extremely easy to find
    and you can just take some from your global inventory (the place you put stuff you found.)
    pvp is usually a sniper bullet to the brains while you can't see it coming. but other time's it's a epic gunfight where every bullet counts and that's what stands out. just as well the tension you have while walking about. i highly suggest you try out the trial account and then if you enjoyed it buy the full game.
    it has quite a few problem's but they are still working on it full on.
    as of the time of making this review, they are working on a new map: California which also includes vehicles and new weapons. they keep on adding new content.

    Summary down below!.
    ________________________________________________
    TL;DR great game still some issue's pvp can be overpowered the original release was crap
    but this is way better and i think it should have been released just now. it's only 15 dollars. if you are not sure play the free trial. also they are adding a new map and loads of content.
    Expand
  49. Apr 9, 2014
    0
    I think it is real funny how every positive review is a 9 or a 10, seems like score fixing, this game is a failure, yeah, play it for a few hours, then just like you had the need to find a new game and are thinking about this you will be looking for a new game again, just get a successful Zombie game, this copied DayZ by using WarZ then they had to change it do to legal action by you know who DayZ, it came off Steam at score 33 now it is back on with score of 20 and declining further as more people waste there $5, yes it was $15 now it is $5, see how desperate they are? The servers are either empty or with a small group of friends, and hackers are there still this game does not use VAC or PB nothing, also you have micro transactions, yeah buy some extra bullets, **** stupid. Expand
  50. Mar 15, 2014
    2
    Infestation is a good game, but it's a copy off dayz and there are so much hackers and bugs. If this game had any differential of dayz I even recommend ...
  51. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    This is the worst game to be ever created.
    u will get perma baned, for no reason.
    u will get hacked.
    u will lose money u spend.
    They will make u rebuy it if u get baned.
    liers.
    cheaters.
    should be sued and taken off steam.
    thanks.
  52. Feb 14, 2014
    8
    Spanish

    en realidad no se a que se debe tanta critica a este juego, si bien lo compre hace poco ( hace 1 mes y un par de días mas) encuentro que el juego cumple con las expectativas que puede brindar un juego como este, una Jugabilidad bastante buena ( no es perfecta pero es mas buena que mala), tiene una ambientación que te mete bastante el juego, los efectos de sonido están bastante
    bien pasando por las armas hasta el sonido del ambiente (pisadas, animales, etc), aunque no me gusta hacer comparaciones, en muchos aspectos infestation es mejor que dayz, la "inteligencia artificial" de los zombis, el combate, las armas y uno que otros detalles como el cansancio que sufre nuestro personaje al correr por un tiempo prolongado (los que hallan jugado dayz sabrán que el personaje no se cansa de correr, quizás todas las criticas malas son basadas en las promesas que dieron los desarrolladores del juego como los vehículos, pero hey ya los estan añadiendo, de apoco el juego esta siendo lo que prometia ser mas vale tarde que nunca, tambien eh visto que muchos tienen problemas con los hackers, yo personalmente nunca me eh topado uno y debo decir que lo juego muchísimo.

    en conclusión, es un buen juego que cumplió las expectativas con las que lo compre, puede que mi comentario sea un poco chupa bolas, pero nadie resalta las cosas buenas del juego.

    English

    not really it should be so critical of this game , although I bought recently (1 month and a day or more ago) I find that the game meets expectations that can provide a game like this , one Gameplay enough good (not perfect but it's more good than bad ) , has an atmosphere that gets you quite the game, the sound effects are pretty good passing weapons to ambient noise ( footsteps , animals, etc) , but not me like comparisons in many ways is better than dayz infestation , "artificial intelligence " zombies , combat , weapons and one other details like our character suffered exhaustion while running for a long time ( which are played dayz know that the character does not get tired of running, maybe all the bad reviews are based on promises that gave the game developers as the vehicles, but hey and are adding by little the game is still what promised to be more okay late than never, eh also seen that many have problems with hackers , I personally never met one eh me and I must say that I play a lot.

    In conclusion , it is a good game that met expectations with which to buy it, maybe my comment was a little lame balls, but no one highlight the good things of the game.
    Expand
  53. Feb 24, 2014
    1
    Graphics are great, game-play is smooth, but gold coins are required to re-spawn from dieing. The only way to get gold coins is to get some when killing zombies that I've never seen on the game only other online players or purchasing gold coins. The gold coins purchase part sucks I shouldn't have to spend more money on a game after I've already paid for it. I paid $7.99 for the game when it was on sale. If they got rid of the gold coin part of the game I would play all the time. Expand
  54. Feb 18, 2014
    1
    This game has only 1 fun thing about it and that's killing zombies. The zombies are a bit of a challenge too. Other then that it seems to be a HUGE rip off. There are lots of hackers, and to get around the hackers you can rent a private server. Once you rent the server which comes to $33 a month, you find out you have very few admin rights, in fact kicking players is about all you can do. You also rent the servers from the very company that makes the game. In order to use guns in the game you need ammo. That is not a bad thing right? Well in this game you have to buy the ammo from the cash shop, you can buy the ammo in small amounts using the ingame money but you soon realize that it costs a ton of ingame money to buy the ammo and the amount you buy is very small and really small and rather useless. The only way to get any real supply of ammo is using Gold credits purchased with real money. There is crafting in this game, but once again you need to use real money to purchase recipes. You cannot even build your own base. Overall DO NOT PURCHASE THIS GAME!!! Expand
  55. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    Lets start with this, I bought this game for 25$ in alpha to play. There were a lot of parts missing in the beginning but in the last year and a half they have consistently updated on a regular basis with 90% positive execution. If you don't like hard core, high risk PvP don't play. everyone says its pay to win, that's just not true, I have never spent a penny in that game and I have more gear and kills then most people who payed money to get stuff from the store, everything in the store can be found and traded. It is not as buggy as people say. I maybe get one bug a week that I come across. Over all the best updates have been in the last month, after a rough start this game has a ways to get back to where it should be but they are working in the right direction. The game costs 3.75$ on sale, if that's a rip off for a game that has some very redeeming qualities then you probably shouldn't be reviewing the game. I do believe there are even trial servers for the game. The game is fun, its hard, its frustrating, and its rewarding. This is a challenging game not a walk in the park, I recommend at least checking it out on sale. Expand
  56. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    Please guys Dont buy this game or you will regret about!
    This game is a complete ****
    The devs are taotally corupted
    BANS ARE RANDOMLY!
    ITS FULL OF HACKERS!
  57. Mar 17, 2014
    0
    WOOOOOW ich habe 15 Euro für diese §$%§$% gezahlt ich schäme mich das ich es einen freund empfolen habe und er es sich gekauft hat ! es tut mir leide so ein Spiel würde ich nicht mal meinen schlimmsten feind Empfehlen. zur zeit kostet es 1.50€ bei Steam und es ist es echt nicht wert ! Jetzt haben sie es sogar noch schlimmer gemacht als es schon war du kannst jetzt mit F10 egal wo du bist einfach einkaufen....................das ist ein SURVIVAL GAME !!! wo mann sich egal wo einfach was kaufen kann .........Posapocaliptischer Pizza Service !!!!!!!!!!
    Leute geht zum Flohmarkt und kauft gebrauchte Oma Schlüpfer da habt ihr 1000x mehr von.

    oder kauft euch ein Buch !
    egal was nur nicht dieses hingekotzte counterstrike / dayz rip off

    KAUFT ES NICHT ES VERBREITET KREBS !
    Expand
  58. Apr 5, 2014
    4
    This game is all pvp. You need a harvesting tool to get wood and stone. You need to get recipes to craft anything. A server costs about 20 dollars a week. I still cant find food and water. The game servers you have very little customization. You can get in infected with all types of parasites and the zombie virus. The good The nights re very dark. the zombies are great the terrain is great very good graphics. Expand
  59. Apr 3, 2014
    0
    A ripoff and a scam. Do not purchase this product. If you feel like "Eh, the meta critic reviews aren't everything, maybe it's a troll" Just, don't listen to your inner self and don't even give them even the 5$ sale price. If you want a game that's more fast paced than DayZ with the same general feel, grab Nether. But in the end, Day Z is the game to get for this genre.
  60. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    I bought this game because I thought it would be really good due to it's plot, I guess I was COMPLETELY wrong. It doesn't ever work and the game is that bad that I've only played at least 2 hours of it before it started braking with error reports. Awful game, never buy it, never waste your money on this rubbish.
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Its mechanical foundation - like this Foundation Release - crumbles at the lightest touch. [March 2013, p.94]
  2. Feb 22, 2013
    17
    The War Z has about as much value as its crappy in-game melee weaponry and that’s not much at all. At least it doesn’t cost anything to play after you buy it, and the cash shop items are fair enough, so you won’t see people running around with machine guns just because they spent money. If you’re going to give your money to a zombie-survival game, grab ArmA II and a copy of the DayZ mod, or wait for the full retail version of DayZ to arrive on digital store shelves and check that out. Do not buy into The War Z.
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    36
    The War Z might use the same elements that make DayZ an enthralling experience. But it puts them together so halfheartedly that you have to turn away in disbelief.