• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Inquisitor Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    78
    An old school rpg only for hardcore fan of the genre.
  2. 78
    It’s pretty obvious, Inquisitor is not a game for everybody. The hardcore mechanics, the increased difficulty curve, the old-school aesthetics, will undoubtedly irritate those accustomed to playing only polished and streamlined action-RPGs like Skyrim. [November 2012]
  3. 74
    The translation is very good, which is beyond impressive with the quantity of text on display. It is not a game that will appeal to everyone, not by a long shot, but for those who think they would enjoy a title that harkens back to an earlier, less cinematic, far less forgiving era of gaming, Inquisitor has plenty of meat to sink your teeth into. Cheat Code Central (http://s.tt/1mGOh)
  4. Oct 28, 2012
    60
    Difficult, ucompromising and obtuse, Inquisition will appeal to fans of the hardest of hardcore old-school RPGs. [Nov 2012, p.84]
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    25
    The main character of Inquisitor is quite creative when it comes to torturing heretics. You can rack people, make them drink boiling water, or put them into the iron maiden… But the game itself is an even worse torture – not everyone can suffer through 100 hours being bored and annoyed at the same time. Inquisitor is not a hardcore RPG; it just hates the player.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    This is purely, truly, awesome. And I might add, aggravatingly difficult and 'lostness' inducing... But that's what it's supposed to be. Honestly, even with reading other reviews, I had no idea what kind of dialogue trees I would parachute into. It's definitely not a game for the dyslexic, or the 'lore-lite' inclined. That said, this is the holy grail, nay, the Unicorn of old-school type potion-hauling, 'Oh look I can see that I equipped that!' type gaming.

    I will say, you'll personally give this game a minus ten if you can't sit through literal (clocked, four hours of dialogue in the tutorial village) hours of reading... But... The caveat to that statement is that it's incredibly well-written. I don't know these sprites/NPCs. I haven't been able to finish their initial quests... yet... I think I know who they are; what they're like. The game has given me my own tools to think about, much like a great mystery novel. No diablo hack and slash grind here; this is more of a patient, vodka-sipping 'choose-your-own-adventure' book, dressed up in old-school PC gaming nostalgia.

    And not part of the review, but just my personal take... I can't wait to unravel it. I'm one of those silly 'play it on maximum difficulty people'. This game does not hold your hand. Everything is a discovery; four hours in, this piece of media is an exercise in 'do it yourself type pain.' My applause to the dev/devs. I love this. In most old-school adventure games (diablo-type), you'll go out, kill some stuff, and return richer than when you started... This... This... is the antithesis.

    Also, the lore.. Now, in new franchises, especially fantasy ones, when you hear... new lore... you're like... blah blah... Sword of this and that... Wheel of... The Rings... Yes, Diablo, Mephisto, Ba'al, right... But here... They've done something different. They created a fictional world, much the same as ours was in 1223 AD... But they actually said it... They use real crosses in the cathedrals, and the antagonist of the game is Satan. This adds something special, real, and bold to the presentation. It actually brings the question to the table of, 'why haven't we seen this before?'... There's enough lore-distortion here, with it's own mythology, to make the game in such away that someone didn't copy the book of revelation in a cheap way to make a buck, but somehow, the game is still able to encompass modern day religious thought in a way that you can plausibly identify with it. Gravity, evil, goodness... They didn't duck any social convention here... And this world seems more real, and... well... seriously more funnerer, and gooderer with it. And you can be very, very good, or, at this point, I'm assuming, very, very evil. The steam description made mention of running an inquisition, complete with racking, flaying, burning, and the drinking of boiling water, for heretics. As of yet, I've seen none of that. When I find a guilty heretic, I might actually look forward to some righteous justice.

    One last thing; I'm sure this can develop in many different ways. This title is in no way 'on the rails'. You have the freedom to interact with NPCs as you see fit. I've already totally closed off avenues with certain NPCs, while opening up new paths with others. In the age we live in, we've become accustomed to exploring every dialogue option you can have with NPCs (Skyrim though I absolutely love it.. it's a completionist affair don't lie, you have a treasure room in your house too.) That's not the case here; you get one chance. You say what you're going to say, and it stands. You simply cannot speak to the same character again and gloss it over.

    Finally, they've given us a game where you can make unique decisions, and burn bridges to the ground. Can't wait to get deeper into this. My four-hour review 19 out of ten, for independent, thoughtful, nerd-dream fulfilling awesomeness.
    Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    I doubt people who are used to newer games will like this title, because Inquisitor really sticks to the old-school design rules. No hand holding, a lot of reading, you actually have to think and plan ahead, combat is difficult basically if you are like me and have grown on games like Arcanum, Planescape Torment, Baldur's Gate then this game is a must have. On the other hand if your idea of a great RPG is a compass that will hand-hold you to your next quest, simplistic dialogs and loads of flashy cinematics, then this game is not for you go play Oblivion or Skyrim instead.

    I give this game a pure 10/10.
    Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Inquisitor is a painfully old-school RPG with a ton of text to read (that's a good thing) and no hand holding whatsoever (again it's a good thing).
    Inquisitor's only flaw is the combat which relies too much on stamina (the Priest might have an easier time), aside from that the story is interesting and well written, the graphics are well done and fit the game perfectly and the soundtrack is amazing.
    If you're a fan of old-school RPGs and have a lot of time on your hands then Inquisitor is definitely worth a try.
    Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2013
    8
    This is definitely the old school type of RPG that probably isn't for everyone. Lots of running around talking to people and reading text, but I love that sort of thing. I don't think the learning curve is that steep, it's the basic character system (assigning points to skills, specializing in either paladin, priest or thief, etc.) every RPG has... You're outgunned at the beginning, it if you play smart and safe combat's not too uneven. That's my only complaint, combat is a little too simple but otherwise I feel this is a pretty amazing game so far and I'm only at level 20. If you enjoyed the old Ultimas, Baldur's Gate, Icewind Dale you'll probably like this one. Yeah graphics are old school but you quickly forget about that once you get immersed in the game proving once again for some of us it's all about the STORY and not point click bam bam bam. Collapse
  5. Aug 7, 2013
    8
    From what I've gathered so far, Inquisitor reminds me a lot of my first experience with Lionheart If you don't know what you're doing, the game will stomp you into the ground and then take a dump on what's left of you.
    For people like me who will go out of their way to experience every tiny bit of lore, the fact that you have to talk to everybody multiple times until you stumble across the person who advances your quest is far less annoying than for most but it can still be irritating and makes it clear that the game was designed to be experienced in relatively short sessions of intense concentration, sort of like the Tolkien's Silmarillion: If you aren't completely focused, you will quickly lose track.
    The combat (more in pacing than anything else) and art style also remind me of Lionheart, which is a good thing if you're into that sort of thing but will annoy you to no end if even Diablo 2 was "too slow" and/or "too ugly" for your taste. Don't get me wrong, the combat can be quick and intense, but it's very different from how newer games handle it.
    For people who like hard RPGs, long campaigns and lore-heavy games, but wouldn't want to talk to the entire population of the earth, I would strongly recommend waiting for a detailed walkthrough to avoid frustration on that end. But once that's here, I wholeheartedly recommend that you pick it up.
    If you don't like hard games, older-school RPGs, long games or too much lore, you better hide under your bed, cause this game is your worst nightmare.
    Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    7
    Text heavy and old school to the point of being clunky Inquisitor is a welcome return to the ARPG's of yore. The graphics date from around the D2 era if not slightly worse and there are no options whatsoever to rebind keys. There is a good story lurking if you're able to read between the lines and get over the very poorly done English translations (the game was originally released in czech). Easily 50+ hours of gameplay if you really engage with it. Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2013
    0
    I would write a constructive review of this game, but it does not deserve this. Inquisitor is the worst game I have ever played. The first combat with giant bats is all you need to see to realize just how terrible this game is. There is no strategy; there is no skill involved. Furthermore, you cannot really see if your character is even attempting to hit the bats.

    I do not understand how something this poor can get published on Steam. Shame on me for buying a game without watching a gameplay video on YouTube first. 9 bucks down the drain...
    Expand

See all 22 User Reviews