User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 86
  2. Negative: 17 out of 86

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    I don't care if the mechanics resemble the Game Gears of War, I have played Gears of War before and I loved it. I had the same feeling with Inversion, and I must say the Idea of Zero Gravity is excellent. The game has a lot to offer and delivers a great Single Campaign and even a better Co-Op experience. The graphics and effects are way better then the ones used in GOW. Actually peopleI don't care if the mechanics resemble the Game Gears of War, I have played Gears of War before and I loved it. I had the same feeling with Inversion, and I must say the Idea of Zero Gravity is excellent. The game has a lot to offer and delivers a great Single Campaign and even a better Co-Op experience. The graphics and effects are way better then the ones used in GOW. Actually people should be happy a game like this hits the PC market as we only got one GOW game ever released for the PC. The genre is awesome and people who say the story is dull and has plot holes have no imagination anymore. Not every little detail has to be served on a silver plate for gamers to consume. I really loved this game. Every game has some flaws but critics have been way to harsh on such a good Sci-Fi shooter, I recommend this title very much. Its a A title game and should be treated with a little more respect. Expand
  2. May 17, 2014
    10
    Very nice Third person game, just like another Third person game, the game features are very good, the combat weapons are also good using gravilink to take down the enemy, I just love it .This is a very fascinating game after all
  3. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    mother of third person :O :O this game is awesome , gameplay is great. I Think quantum break is a copy of this one

    ok;o;k;ko;ko;k;ok;k;k;;k;k;ko;;k;;;
  4. Sep 7, 2014
    9
    Great game ,GOW clone ?? every game has something borrowed from another game, so not a valid reason
    The graphics are very nice ,gameplay is fun ,Cinematics with gameplay blending are well done .
    One of the rarest Cinematics game quality That I saw so far .
    Superior game over many other .GJ! I enjoyed
  5. Dec 22, 2012
    0
    Im going to give this perhaps a slightly generous 8, partly because of how harshly its been slammed by critics, the rest because I feel it deserves much more attention than its been given. Firstly, many remark about the games copy-catting. They are all true! And while it shouldnt be commended for such, if you are going to take "inspiration" from varies titles, it picked some good ones! TheIm going to give this perhaps a slightly generous 8, partly because of how harshly its been slammed by critics, the rest because I feel it deserves much more attention than its been given. Firstly, many remark about the games copy-catting. They are all true! And while it shouldnt be commended for such, if you are going to take "inspiration" from varies titles, it picked some good ones! The enemies would be right at home in gears of war, and the menus do look a lot like Mass effect. BUT, the game is actually a lot of fun! Im a big fan of anything that gives you a full campaign co-op experience and this does just that. The anti-grav gives some areas a nice twist, there is a good level of challenge involved as sections provide enemies that hurt enough without being silly (on normal) and ammo amounts mean you cant quite be reckless but unless your a terrible shot theres enough around to keep you going. The controls arent perfect, particularly hiding and moving from shelter to shelter (which you need to do as standing in open fire for even a short period of time will kill you and many places for holing up will be destroyed during gun fire). There is alos an INSANE amount of cut-scenes >_< Thankfully, all skippable! If there was 1 thing I would change about this is that id dramatically reduce the amount of cut-scenes. I read it was bad before buying it but thought maybe it was exaggerated that you can find cut-scenes spaced just seconds apart - it actually does happen!! 3/4 of which could be dialog that plays as you play, but as I said it is easily skipped. I would definitely say the critics score (averaging 59 atm) is less than it deserves. If you just want a change from the mainstream FPS and have a friend to play with, take a chance on this :) Collapse
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. 60
    The game that wanted to be king but was afraid of making the right decisions – sometimes when you copy successful concepts from others and combine them with your own fresh ideas you just waste the potential. [Sept 2012]
  2. Sep 10, 2012
    52
    Inversion is a heavily linear by-the-numbers cover shooter that fails to make the most of its few high points. [Nov 2012, p.72]
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    70
    The potential for something strong was here- but the mediocre level design and the repetition of the mechanics, hold Inversion back from 'diamond' status. That's not to say that it's a bad game: the 9 or 10 hours of gameplay are fun, but only that… there's not enough thrill and excitement to hold you from other games. [September 2012]