User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 90
  2. Negative: 27 out of 90

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 7, 2012
    4
    The game looks like it has promise, it really does, but the first time I played it, the game froze right away. The devs released a 2 GB patch for it, so I tried it again. Froze during the basic training. Also, there are WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY too many buttons to manage while playing. I have no idea why the devs made the prone button make you go down, but not go back up again. But they had some good mechanics, like being able to roll while proned. The graphics on it looked fairly decent, but still a little dated. If you can get passed the bugs and the insane controls, then enjoy. If not, you'll run out of patience with it fast. If this review doesn't tell you how bad the launch was, it had a price drop within the first week... Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    1
    This is a game that is better in "concept" than most FPS games. It has a firm interest in realism which is highly commendable, and not just in the story but in all it's concept. Unfortunately this is a shipped Alpha product. With patches and disorganization behind the obvious problems.

    I love supporting the new inventor, but this is just plain old supporting bad development teams.

    It
    sits unfixed still in my Valve list, and there it will probably stay. I hope they enjoy some cheap vodka with the money they swindled me out of. Expand
  3. May 29, 2012
    4
    I always had a desire to play a first person shooter game, the first one I ever bought was Modern Warfare 3. I never really cared about all the hate, I just wanted to see it was fun, and it was, sort of .... But anyway, that kind of killed that desire after the firs two hours of gameplay, it was completely mediocre, and the community kept getting worse and worse around me. I killed a guy that was shooting me and someone called me a kill stealing **** Fine, that one failed to fill my wants.

    After several months, I see this release, and I thought that it would be great, maybe not have a bad community, even if it was a small one. The first two hours were filled with bugs, I was on highest graphics and I had to be two feet away for textures to actually load, my brand new gaming laptop could barely keep it at 30 frames. There was a lack of animations, the voice acting was bad, unnecessary cut scenes that dragged it on... I saved before doing something so I can act stupid and shoot somebody because I was a bit bored, and I got sent to an execution cut scene that lasted about 3 minutes. When I went to reload the save, it was gone, only much later (about an hour and a half) did I find out that saves were deleted upon aborting he mission or leaving the game, so you need to find the time to sit down and play an entire mission. The tutorial alone took me about 30 minutes to complete before I reached the paratrooper part, and ten it auto saved, twenty minutes later after dealing with some bugged out people and a cut scene and walking around for a while, the game crashed for no reason at all. When I went back into the game, the auto save the game put me through was gone. I am assuming that the saves are loaded upon death, but since I never died (other than the execution that put me back to the main menu) I was never able to figure that out. I really do not feel like playing for another two hours to deal with all of that. I don't even know how long the first mission is, it could be three hours for all I know. A couple of minor issues: In the tutorial, I was given a rocket launcher, the metal shielding took up about 75% of my screen, when I tried zooming into the little sight hole on it, it only zoomed further into the shield blocking all of my vision. It seems like there was no thought put into that, the player gets the zoom function, and the weapons have little to no actual influence on the zoom function. There is no immersion to be found, not when I am standing three feet away staring at this utterly blank, and fuzzy radio, dealing with a complete lack of animations, bad voice acting, scarily emotionless AI, 2-D trees surrounding me.... Even when some of the textures load, they are really fuzzy. I would hate to see the game in low graphics settings. I usually would not hate something based off of the first 3% of it, but there is just no excuse to release something like this for $30. The multiplayer not withstanding, it may as well not have any, I keep seeing servers with 2500 ping, is that even possible? I couldn't even stand multiplayer at all, it may be fun, but the singleplayer just turned me off from it.
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2012
    1
    Its a good game. Great idea for a game just made by the wrong ppl. I mean i run CoD WaW (requires the same graphics card) on the lowest settings and i cant even run this on lowest just too much of a hardware request. and i cant even play multiplayer for it. its a waste of money but i like the idea and the way it works just too much of a hardware request
  5. May 25, 2012
    4
    This is ARMA2 with ww2 guns, same bugs and high system requirements. It gives you too little for the cost and it feels like a unfinished mod. I would recommend you to avoid this game unless you liked ARMA2.
  6. May 27, 2012
    0
    Game had so much potential, but the bugs and glitches throughout campaign and multilayer make this unplayable. There needs to be stricter watch dogs because customers are being arse raped too often because companies that are releasing unfinished games and then patching them. I have sent 7 unanswered emails to Deep Silver about the game with no response. I don't think they intend to patch or acknowledge any problems in the near future, the game is a complete disaster. Such a shame though, it had potential, but thanks to lazy sly devs, this is just another broken game that will be forgotten within the next week. I personally feel robbed of my 29.99. Expand
  7. May 30, 2012
    0
    Usually I am quite fair when rating games but this one I am going to have an exception for. It is the worst game I have every played in my whole life, the graphics are bad, the physics are terrible, the controls are fiddly, the sensitivity is weird and I actually felt upset after spending £20.00 on it. Contacted steam and negotiated how I could get my money back it was that bad. Seriously DO NOT spend your money on this game people it's worth about £0.20 at most. Expand
  8. Aug 24, 2013
    0
    Oh god was this game one of the worst decisions of my life, it is buggy choppy and everything seems done half fast. Its already the end of august and I don't see any improvements on the game at all. It appears to be abandoned. If you like slamming your keyboard and rethinking your life buy this game, if not do not buy. Big waste of money, I could think of about 50 different games I could of bought besides this one for $29.99. Do not get, the most time I put into it is like 6 hours and that's like on 2 levels cause there so bad. Voice acting was just terrible... the cut scenes are just atrocious and this game was a big waste of time do not buy from any source no matter the sale even if on steam or any other vendor. Good luck Expand
  9. Jun 8, 2012
    1
    As others have pointed out, the game is flawed with bugs galore, similar to those found in Arma 2. Particularly single player mission triggers often fail to work, and I had crashes and odd interactivity problems again and again. One mission had me sitting there waiting for a Red Army attack that never came. I decided to scout around a bit and found a Russian mortar team just standing there. Walked right up to them and shot them one by one point blank. I uninstalled it right after that. If they fix this stuff, it could be pretty good. I liked Arma 2 okay in the instances when it worked, and I very much like the looks of this game, which are pretty stunning - wide open outdoor spaces, great looking vehicle models, accurate detailing. I'll be waiting another few months to see, but I don't hold much hope and absolutely cannot recommend this game for purchase. I'm frankly shocked that there are people out there saying they had no problems. I don't mind a little glitch here and there - I expect it - but this title is full of them from minute 1, in my experience. Collapse
  10. May 27, 2013
    0
    This game has been long since abandoned by the developer.

    Just so people know, all the reviews submitted since the 27th of May 2013 are FAKE
    users like ProfTournesol and Jedra work for the developer, a quick check of their forum
    will confirm this.
  11. Aug 14, 2012
    3
    The game is unfinished and sloppy. Control schemes are awful and the flow of the game is atrocious. The German single player has some guy with a high pitched voice screaming at you all the time and to make it worse the actor does the voice of several characters. Tutorials are worthless. It teaches you to do basic obvious things but not the trickier aspects of the game like moving Anti-tank guns, equipping things, or the more strategic aspects of the game. Newbies have to seek net forums just to learn how to do simple tasks. Combat is weak too. Lots of bugs and many sights are more restrictive than helpful. I managed to get through a lot of the single player but with a lot of frustration. Not fun and not worth the 20 bucks I paid during Summer Sale. Expand
  12. Jan 24, 2013
    0
    This game has a huge potential, but its so buggy it is no fun to play it!
    It looks great and you maybe think about checking it out but you will regret it! The Westernfront DLC is not improved its also as buggy as the original game! The fanboys here that talk about small bugs are either idiots or they dont know what a bug is! This game is like playing a alpha! For example the DayZ Alpha
    isnt half as bugged as this!
    Stay away from this friends!
    Expand
  13. Jan 5, 2013
    0
    I have been an avid arma/ flashpoint fan since the beginning, it is superior for realistic combat and the ability to create your own missions adds infinite replay value to the game. It might feel clunky at first but once you get used to the engine/ mechanics you realize that its all other shooters that are flawed ,in the sense that they dont take into account how a soldier would move with 100lbs of gear, or how he would react under fire, and if you get shot in the arm, you cant shoot straight etc. So what im trying to get at here is that if youre looking for an arcade shooter, this games not for you at all, hell its not for anyone. now if your are an arma fan, heres where my review actually begins. This game cost me $26 with the expansion, and that was on steam sale too, for a conversion mod for arma 2, not much different from Vietnam, the experience or the balkan war mod, EXCEPT THOSE WERE F R E E ! Now i didnt mind the idea of paying for arma 2 converted to ww2 because in my experience total conversion mods come with a whole plethora of bugs and usually the ambient combat doesnt work too well. I figured id buy this game to hopefully avoid all those problems. And what do I find? not only does the ambient combat not work but the troops themselves are broken. Russian troops show up as enemies for some reason so when i try to place allies and soviets on the map they shoot each other. What really pissed me off though was that when i went to make my own d-day in the editor on omaha beach, the germans and allies are FRIENDLY!!!!! WTF? But wait, theres more. I dont even think there are 25 guns total in this game, loadout is basic, and to top off poor weapon selection half of the audio files for the guns sound like they were recorded on someones phone, in a big empty room, off a **** low fi youtube video of the intended weapon sound. so to recap, editor sucks, weapons are lame, AI is terrible, and the maps are average looking. all in all i got a so-so conversion mod for arma 2 that doesnt work half as well, or even come close to the amount of content found in most conversion mods on armaholic. By comparison, Vietnam the experience comes with about 25 maps to play with. some are small but most are pretty huge. It adds close to 100 small arms weapons to the game and a whole army of aircraft and tanks. The soldiers all look great as well as the maps themselves, and the editor works just as well as it does for arma2 vanilla. All in all, its not a terrible game, and if it were a mod id give it a 7. But because its nothing more than a $26 mod for a game i own, and failed to live up to any of the other conversion mods out there that are all free mind you, i give it an F- 0% total failure and a waste of money Expand
  14. Feb 28, 2013
    0
    an unfinished game with glitches bugs and whatsoever.Looked good in the eye but gameplay is a piece of sh#£t .if u already bought the game, i hope u already disappointed..
  15. Jul 2, 2013
    0
    very disappointing!!! hate hate hate this game!!,unfinished, the AI sucks, and the only thing is good is multi-player. don't be a sucker!!! DO NOT BUY
  16. Jun 8, 2012
    0
    As others have pointed out, the game is flawed with bugs galore, similar to those found in Arma 2. Particularly single player mission triggers often fail to work, and I had crashes and odd interactivity problems again and again. One mission had me sitting there waiting for a Red Army attack that never came. I decided to scout around a bit and found a Russian mortar team just standing there. Walked right up to them and shot them one by one point blank. I uninstalled it right after that. If they fix this stuff, it could be pretty good. I liked Arma 2 okay in the instances when it worked, and I very much like the looks of this game, which are pretty stunning - wide open outdoor spaces, great looking vehicle models, accurate detailing. I'll be waiting another few months to see, but I don't hold much hope and absolutely cannot recommend this game for purchase. I'm frankly shocked that there are people out there saying they had no problems. I don't mind a little glitch here and there - I expect it - but this title is full of them from minute 1, in my experience. Collapse
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    54
    At its release Iron Front: Liberation 1944 is plagued by a number of bugs. Mission triggers don't work, the AI leaves a lot to desire and so does the story. The game works well in multiplayer though, where the scale of huge battlefields plays to the strengths of the complex military simulation at its heart.
  2. 40
    It is not finished! The state this game was release in cannot be called anything other than beta. [July 2012]
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    38
    It's nowhere near the finished article. [Sept 2012, p.108]