Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jamestown is a neo-classical top-down shooter for up to four players set on 17th-century British Colonial Mars.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jul 17, 2011
    100
    It just does its style of controlled chaos really well.
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    95
    Overall, even without online play, Jamestown is a great title that's worthy of any shmup fan's time. The mechanics are solid, the presentation is great, and the price is right – I can't wait to see what Final Form does next.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    85
    The level of polish found in the graphics and gameplay alike is outstanding for an indie title. Peculiar ideas and inventive mechanics make this quirky bullet-hell shooter a frenzied, fun affair.
  4. Jun 23, 2011
    80
    But Jamestown doesn't get bogged down in its devotion to the classics of the genre, nor does it try to attract a certain crowd with its art style (yes, I'm talking about Deathsmiles and its ilk). It instead focuses on giving you as many ways to grit your teeth as possible, and doing so with a solid shooting base. It's easy to fuss about the missed potential of playing the game online (a genuine problem), but what you get here is plenty. It's also a decent excuse to get that group together, provided your friends are as crazy as you are.
  5. Jul 7, 2011
    80
    Jamestown is that old classic shooter that you want to play today remembering your young coin-op escapades.
  6. Jul 2, 2011
    80
    Its wild premise is surprisingly well-realized, and its shooting is top-notch. Put simply, it is a game that stacks up as well, if not better than many of the classics it's so clearly inspired by.
  7. Jul 18, 2011
    70
    In short, Jamestown is a fun old school game that, for the price, shows excellent play time, replay value, and variety.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    It seems to me while a lot of people here enjoy the game, they still often lack the insight of having played shmups for years. Because as somebody who has played dozens of them extensively, I can tell you that Jamestown is not only great but a damn steal!
    In harsh contrast to almost any shmup out there, Jamestown offers numerous bonus features at a price that is also well below almost any shmup out there.
    So lacking online multiplayer or not, considering the huge amount of content (while also not looking amateurish) one gets for that ridiculous price, it deserves no less than a perfect rating!
    And for uneducated gamers who complain about it only having a couple of levels: take a look at games like DoDonPachi Dai Ou Jou that were released as full price games for consoles or newer arcade PCBs that cost multiple hundreds of dollars!! If you're not into the genre in general and don't see a point in score hunting on the same couple of levels over and over again, that's fine - but don't act like this is expensive when nothing could be farther from the truth.
    Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    When I first noticed Jamestown I assumed it was developed by Cave or Treasure. Two of the best "Bullet Hell" scrolling shooter developers ever. This isn't the case however. Here we have a pixel perfect shoot em up not created in japan. This game offers four play co-op, blistering difficulty and challenge modes. Four ship types that all bring a unique spin to the game play. You will sink hours trying to perfect each ships play style through multiple difficulties. Great graphics, amazing sound tight game play with controller, keyboard or mouse. Buy this if you love bullet hell shooters! Now! Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    A great old school style shoot-em-up from developers who clearly understand what it is that makes the genre great. A very cool art style along with incredible music give us the setting for five stages of breakneck, intense action. The boss battles are as epic as you would hope for in a great shoot-em-up. On top of the five stages (with five difficulty levels), there are many bonus 'challenge levels' which test your skills in various ways. The difficulty of the game is dialed up throughout, but it's done impressively; it never seems unfair. Some have put this game into the 'bullet hell' sub-genre, but I don't agree with that designation at all. Jamesotwn is just a good, honest, difficult, shoot-em-up! Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    8
    A Good , but not great game. I got it on sale for 5 bucks so I'm not too disappointed. The game play is solid, the level are fun, colorful and hectic, the story has a sort of bizarre charm to it, but there are a couple of key components that really turn me off. The game requires you replay missions on higher difficulties just to unlock missions 4 and 5 (which are the last two levels). And even though I made it to the end, the last mission is so difficult, it isn't very fun. That would be completely forgivable if the store feature was actually worth the trouble. Basically you earn money that is used to pay for things like extra ships and bonus challenges. A great idea in concept, but the last two ships you unlock are pure crap! I don't mind the short length of the game and I actually enjoyed the challenge (the final mission excluded) so it makes me want to hit my fist against my desk when a game with so much potential falls short. With a few minor fixes this game is a 9/10. None the less, the ship I did use was great fun and the levels are hard core, so if you don't think the above mentioned negatives will bother you, buy this game. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    Pure awesomeness! Hats off before these Final Form guys. They mixed steampunk sci-fi theme, retro graphics and game-play that moved me in the time to titles such as Raptor and Tyrian. And everything is compounded by two. Looking forward for their next title. Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2011
    7
    Jamestown is a fairly fun retro-shooter that keeps you interested for the one or two hours it takes to finish, in no small part due to its very intriguing story cut scenes and incredibly amazing music. Sadly, the game is just way too short with not much replay value. Once you beat the game, there are some challenge levels and modes, but honestly these become very frustrating more than challenging. Warning: the mouse is horrible for this game; only use a gamepad! Regardless, for a couple bucks Jamestown is a good experience. You'll remember your time with it, half because of the crazy setting (that totally works!) and half because of the crazy frustration at the mandatory higher difficulty levels. Did I mention the music is phenomenal? The world-class soundtrack alone makes the game worth buying. Overall a solid 7.5. Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2011
    2
    What a waist of $10, you get a little more then 5 levels and 4 players types where 3 out of the 4 completely suck. the controls suck, the graphics are... well its pixelated. the story is complete gibberish. Collapse

See all 37 User Reviews