Joint Task Force Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Joint Task Force portrays a future that could easily become reality: In 2007, neither the US, UN nor NATO have the power to pacify the numerous combat hot spots blazing around the globe. To quell the global rise of terrorism, dictators and insurgents, Western Leaders create the Joint TaskJoint Task Force portrays a future that could easily become reality: In 2007, neither the US, UN nor NATO have the power to pacify the numerous combat hot spots blazing around the globe. To quell the global rise of terrorism, dictators and insurgents, Western Leaders create the Joint Task Force – an ultramodern and highly elite military squad. The player takes control of the JTF to combat various oppressive regimes around the world. [HD Publishing] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. It boasts simplistic, pick-up-and-play mechanics that make this one an absolute blast for short or even long gaming spurts. It doesn’t skimp on depth despite its simplicity, either.
  2. Has moments of greatness but is ultimately a disappointment. Most of the problems can be attributed to incompleteness: there are some serious scripting issues, the game crashes regularly and the vehicle AI is laughable. When everything works, the game is quite enjoyable. [Dec 2006]
  3. With graphics almost fit for an FPS and lots of "shiny", plus real military hardware recreated in great detail, it's also a title to get the gaming enthusiasts rig warmed up as it draws them steadily into addiction.
  4. Just watch out for that evil installer. And don’t forget the hefty patch. And try not to lose patience with the micromanagement. Oh, and… did we mention you’d have more fun playing "Company of Heroes"?
  5. It’s just a shame that the resource model aspect didn’t pan out quite as I’m sure the developer envisioned, while the handful of other little annoyances ensure that the gameplay never lives up to the excellent visuals.
  6. They’ve built a good RTS engine with several noteworthy features, and then ruined the single-player game with a lackluster control scheme, pathfinding issues, and a positively moronic enemy AI. But if you go multiplayer, get away from most of that, and find yourself a competent adversary, then I’m pretty happy with JTF.
  7. If Joint Task Force is remembered years from now, it will be because it has a really good theme, with some nice ideas, but overall bad execution. That is, unless people are far more distracted by the bad voice acting.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. MattH.
    Sep 24, 2006
    9
    I think the reviewers are crazy, lazy, or bad at RTS games. I cannot believe the nonsense I am reading. It's at least as good as Act of I think the reviewers are crazy, lazy, or bad at RTS games. I cannot believe the nonsense I am reading. It's at least as good as Act of War, and certainly as good as Generals. Also, no review mentions you can play the single player campaign co-op with a friend. Expand
  2. RonR.
    Sep 15, 2006
    9
    Finally a great modern combat RTS game. What a rush!
  3. EdwardD.
    Jan 31, 2008
    8
    7.5 for me. The game has its good and bad points, but I think the good outweigh the bad. The game has a tendancy to crash which can be quite 7.5 for me. The game has its good and bad points, but I think the good outweigh the bad. The game has a tendancy to crash which can be quite aggrivating when it happens time after time. However, I think the game play is well executed with the exception of the unit navigation. The environments are awesome, and while the units are expensive and poor judgements in purchasing units can cause you to need to restart the level, what is expected in the strategy field? I find it better than some RTS games, and worse than some. Everyone on this site seems to compare the game to Company of Heroes, but that is like oranges to tangerines. Same class, but completely different. I think this game contains many concepts that RTS games should incorporate, such as the fact that you cannot always just go to a barraks and out pops more soldiers! No. That is not always an option in a warzone. You have to make due with what you have, and that game delivers that concept the best of any RTS I have played. Expand
  4. Zzzz
    Oct 6, 2006
    6
    6.5 would be my more accurate impression. Multiplayer is a ripoff of DoW, too much micromanagement. CoH have raised the bar. My tanks in JTF 6.5 would be my more accurate impression. Multiplayer is a ripoff of DoW, too much micromanagement. CoH have raised the bar. My tanks in JTF drive around chain link fences. After playing CoH the new expectation is that they should have driven over the fences. Same thing happens in real life. Car in the way? Should be crushed. Instead, they try to drive around it. Unit ranges are a good touch Gameplay is very old school, like generals and eve classic C&C, basically tank rushing or artillery bombarment. Not much strategy per se. Whereas in CoH, I really enjoyed the mini tactical battles that often play out, like taking tanks down with infantry, and sniper vs sniper showdowns. Collapse
  5. Mar 31, 2013
    6
    Wonderful game, wonderful game world. High PC requirements. You better play on desktop. I recommend it so much if you have good PC. AttentionWonderful game, wonderful game world. High PC requirements. You better play on desktop. I recommend it so much if you have good PC. Attention war is coming Expand
  6. Rose
    Sep 15, 2006
    4
    I couldn't find any 'considerable' strategic point in this game though it professes the next-generation RTS. Nothing special I couldn't find any 'considerable' strategic point in this game though it professes the next-generation RTS. Nothing special but tired user interface, non individual/tactical units.. etc. The self-praising dynamic campaign/cut scen. is also just a testing ground of the physics accel. hardware. It seems that they(AGEIA guys) still don't know direction; how to PROPERLY use their PhsX technology to improve quality of game. Expand
  7. Roger
    Oct 9, 2007
    1
    This game needs an overhaul it its full of bugs in multiplayer mode. if the game worked it would be fun to play but the bugs keep you form This game needs an overhaul it its full of bugs in multiplayer mode. if the game worked it would be fun to play but the bugs keep you form enjoying the game. come on people fix your games or don't even release them to the public for sale. your wasting our money. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews