Joint Task Force Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Joint Task Force portrays a future that could easily become reality: In 2007, neither the US, UN nor NATO have the power to pacify the numerous combat hot spots blazing around the globe. To quell the global rise of terrorism, dictators and insurgents, Western Leaders create the Joint TaskJoint Task Force portrays a future that could easily become reality: In 2007, neither the US, UN nor NATO have the power to pacify the numerous combat hot spots blazing around the globe. To quell the global rise of terrorism, dictators and insurgents, Western Leaders create the Joint Task Force – an ultramodern and highly elite military squad. The player takes control of the JTF to combat various oppressive regimes around the world. [HD Publishing] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Military actions will no longer be made from the other side of the ocean, but where it really matters. Responsibility will be put into the hands of the men who represent our great country.
  2. The ability to drive everything and anything combined with the detailed levels and highly flexible units makes it a very realistic experience for an RTS and it's not far off being the modern-warfare version of "Company of Heroes."
  3. It’s rare that a strategy game should possess so many levels of complexity and that they should all be so rewarding...Variety is JTF’s strength and it flows to every corner of the game. [Nov 2006, p.122]
  4. It’s just a shame that the resource model aspect didn’t pan out quite as I’m sure the developer envisioned, while the handful of other little annoyances ensure that the gameplay never lives up to the excellent visuals.
  5. Joint Task Force delivers a distinctive and modern interpretation of real-time strategy, enjoyable in its own quirky way. It ain't perfect, but it proves fulfilling once you've taken a few learning curve lumps.
  6. 65
    Playing through the missions is an experience filled with spectacular highs stunted by lows which unstoppably avert your attention from a title that, by rights, deserves to have turned out better than it has.
  7. Joint Task Force isn't as bad as "Faces of War," but it's nowhere near the quality of "Company of Heroes."

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. RonR.
    Sep 15, 2006
    9
    Finally a great modern combat RTS game. What a rush!
  2. MattH.
    Sep 24, 2006
    9
    I think the reviewers are crazy, lazy, or bad at RTS games. I cannot believe the nonsense I am reading. It's at least as good as Act of I think the reviewers are crazy, lazy, or bad at RTS games. I cannot believe the nonsense I am reading. It's at least as good as Act of War, and certainly as good as Generals. Also, no review mentions you can play the single player campaign co-op with a friend. Expand
  3. Bob
    Sep 17, 2006
    8
    This game is good fun, but nothing special. I was slightly put off by the demo, but bought the full game because I like the way your soldiers This game is good fun, but nothing special. I was slightly put off by the demo, but bought the full game because I like the way your soldiers can rank up if they make it thru the missions. Graphics are good, and I am certainly enjoying this game, but I think it will get overlooked as people rush to buy CoH. Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2015
    8
    Ever since its release, I haven't seen any modern-combat strategy game that got close to Joint Task Force (I didn't like the modern mod forEver since its release, I haven't seen any modern-combat strategy game that got close to Joint Task Force (I didn't like the modern mod for Company of Heroes). The game looks surprisingly detailed after all these years and run always fine. The campaign is mostly bug-free, although the music goes away if I fail a mission and I have to restart the game.

    The other thing, which might be an exploit or a deliberate design choice are the civilian cars: usually there are plenty of them to block off paths so the AI gets stuck behind them and I can effortlessly win the map. This is most apparent on the final map where the enemy vehicles are so numerous that I don't know how to win without this strategy.

    The music tracks are aming my all-time favorite game music tracks, I like the music of the main menu and the credits.
    Expand
  5. Zzzz
    Oct 6, 2006
    6
    6.5 would be my more accurate impression. Multiplayer is a ripoff of DoW, too much micromanagement. CoH have raised the bar. My tanks in JTF 6.5 would be my more accurate impression. Multiplayer is a ripoff of DoW, too much micromanagement. CoH have raised the bar. My tanks in JTF drive around chain link fences. After playing CoH the new expectation is that they should have driven over the fences. Same thing happens in real life. Car in the way? Should be crushed. Instead, they try to drive around it. Unit ranges are a good touch Gameplay is very old school, like generals and eve classic C&C, basically tank rushing or artillery bombarment. Not much strategy per se. Whereas in CoH, I really enjoyed the mini tactical battles that often play out, like taking tanks down with infantry, and sniper vs sniper showdowns. Collapse
  6. Mar 31, 2013
    6
    Wonderful game, wonderful game world. High PC requirements. You better play on desktop. I recommend it so much if you have good PC. AttentionWonderful game, wonderful game world. High PC requirements. You better play on desktop. I recommend it so much if you have good PC. Attention war is coming Expand
  7. Roger
    Oct 9, 2007
    1
    This game needs an overhaul it its full of bugs in multiplayer mode. if the game worked it would be fun to play but the bugs keep you form This game needs an overhaul it its full of bugs in multiplayer mode. if the game worked it would be fun to play but the bugs keep you form enjoying the game. come on people fix your games or don't even release them to the public for sale. your wasting our money. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews