User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    This is the best Monkey Island tribute adventure game I've played - I enjoyed it even more than the Tales of Monkey Island series. The adventure interface is pretty slick (read: simple) and there's a nice hint system (parrot) that lets you determine how much you do or do not want to spoil yourself if you're stuck on a puzzle that seems just too counter-intuitive for you. If I had to pickThis is the best Monkey Island tribute adventure game I've played - I enjoyed it even more than the Tales of Monkey Island series. The adventure interface is pretty slick (read: simple) and there's a nice hint system (parrot) that lets you determine how much you do or do not want to spoil yourself if you're stuck on a puzzle that seems just too counter-intuitive for you. If I had to pick one thing that bugged me it would be that I had to turn voices off because the main character's voice irked me. That minor, rather subjective criticism aside, the writing and plot were far more than expected for a budget title. It kept me entertained from start to finish and you could do far worse for far more dollars! Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Jolly Rover has been the first adventure game i've enjoyed in a long time, the humour agrees with me and the difficulty curve is quite gently when compared to hardcore titles like the Sam and Max games from TellTale. The parrot hint system has slight hints and obvious hint that are blatant solutions for the desperate. This game has been a real joy to play.
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    7
    Jolly Rover is a well-presented adventure game that sticks to the tried and true framework set out by Monkey Island all those year ago, and that is its biggest downfall. It has good voice-acting and graphics and good puzzle design. However, it is nothing adventure fans have not seen before. Its a shame that the gameplay is so uninspiring as the narrative is really humorous and entertainingJolly Rover is a well-presented adventure game that sticks to the tried and true framework set out by Monkey Island all those year ago, and that is its biggest downfall. It has good voice-acting and graphics and good puzzle design. However, it is nothing adventure fans have not seen before. Its a shame that the gameplay is so uninspiring as the narrative is really humorous and entertaining and could have made it a stand-out. It is also very short lived (steam says that I completed it 97 minutes). As it stands, Jolly Rover is an enjoyable but easily forgettable adventure. Expand
  4. Feb 29, 2012
    6
    Although 'Jolly 'Rover' was intended to be released as a tribute title to the commanding 'Monkey Island' series of video games it hasn't lived up to the sheer originality of It's spiritual successor. However having said that, this isn't an extremely bad game but it failed to be memorable and doesn't offer much replay value after you've finished it once. The music scores are nice but soundAlthough 'Jolly 'Rover' was intended to be released as a tribute title to the commanding 'Monkey Island' series of video games it hasn't lived up to the sheer originality of It's spiritual successor. However having said that, this isn't an extremely bad game but it failed to be memorable and doesn't offer much replay value after you've finished it once. The music scores are nice but sound far too basic for a full-length feature but the comedy gets an A+ from me. It's as good as ANY I've seen in a point-and-click adventure including the aforementioned M.E. classics. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Tales of Monkey Island set me off on a bender of playing through a bunch of adventure games, this one included. At first it smelled like a goofy MI knockoff....but before long, the character were enjoyable (with good voice acting -- always important), the story was sufficiently engaging and the puzzles were downright fun. (Plus, it's hard not to appreciate a hint systems that pretty muchTales of Monkey Island set me off on a bender of playing through a bunch of adventure games, this one included. At first it smelled like a goofy MI knockoff....but before long, the character were enjoyable (with good voice acting -- always important), the story was sufficiently engaging and the puzzles were downright fun. (Plus, it's hard not to appreciate a hint systems that pretty much guarantees that you'll never get completely stuck). By the time it was over, I wanted a sequel! Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    I got this game in one of those indie bundles, and was the only one in which I was willingly able to make it to the end. Obviously, it's not a serious game, it's just a quick one to tide you over for a few hours, but it was still really enjoyable and worth those few hours (6, according to Steam).
  7. May 15, 2012
    8
    This is a fun throwback to older adventure games. Not as complex or charming as some of the old greats, but a lot of fun nevertheless. For any fans of Monkey Island, Day of the Tentacle, etc, I'd definitely recommend it.
  8. May 31, 2013
    8
    Excellent game, along the line of Discworld. Great humor and good item puzzles. The only problems are 1. the protagonist is the stuffiest and perhaps lamest character in the entire game, 2. the game is rather short, and most importantly, 3. there are no decent resolutions you can either play in a SMALL window, or play very stretched with heavily pixelated graphics, ruining the nice art.Excellent game, along the line of Discworld. Great humor and good item puzzles. The only problems are 1. the protagonist is the stuffiest and perhaps lamest character in the entire game, 2. the game is rather short, and most importantly, 3. there are no decent resolutions you can either play in a SMALL window, or play very stretched with heavily pixelated graphics, ruining the nice art. Still, this is a gem of a title. Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Apr 28, 2011
    46
    Too little, too thin, too derivative.
  2. Apr 10, 2011
    73
    Graphics and sound are okay, the gameplay and the controls are nothing new and the story is not the best of all time. Jolly Rover is a solid point & click-adventure in a 2D comic world.
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    60
    A good pirates adventure, Jolly Rover suffers in originality, trying to imitate too much Monkey Island.