Kane & Lynch: Dead Men PC

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 234 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 234
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. O.J.
    Aug 29, 2008
    3
    The cranky combat gets boosted by the pretty good story-line at first, but when you head towards the end the combat becomes increasingly frustrating, not to mention the worst ending sequence ever. Like said by other users and by the critics the game has the "preview" edition feel.
  2. MatthiasR.
    Jun 3, 2009
    0
    I expected a great co-op mode when buying this. However, there was nothing like that. The single player campaign starts promising but gets boring at the latest when you notice there is always just one way to walk. The levels may optically look appealing but in terms of gameplay the design is boring. The characters are not developed, they are just unpleasant and pseudo cool. The squad I expected a great co-op mode when buying this. However, there was nothing like that. The single player campaign starts promising but gets boring at the latest when you notice there is always just one way to walk. The levels may optically look appealing but in terms of gameplay the design is boring. The characters are not developed, they are just unpleasant and pseudo cool. The squad parts seem to be a mere joke as team mates always just run into fire. Expand
  3. ColbyA.
    Dec 16, 2007
    3
    Terrible game - Feels unfinished, like a generic shooter with stolen, yet poorly applied ideas, from other shooters. Does not even begin to live up to the Hitman fame. Cover system sucks, squad combat system is lame, graphics are the same as everything else on the market, and the storyline is total crap - poorly written, poor character design, poor progression, lacklustre ending. Terrible game - Feels unfinished, like a generic shooter with stolen, yet poorly applied ideas, from other shooters. Does not even begin to live up to the Hitman fame. Cover system sucks, squad combat system is lame, graphics are the same as everything else on the market, and the storyline is total crap - poorly written, poor character design, poor progression, lacklustre ending. Completely stupid - would not recommend. Other games have done it, done it separately, and done it far better. Expand
  4. BenteR.
    Dec 5, 2007
    4
    While the main game is a great deal of fun, I was a bit disappointed with the control in the game. Also I though it should be able to run on my PC system, but it only did when I lowered the resolutiuon and turned off AA. The Co-op that I was hoping to try is NOT possible for me as I don't have an XBOX-360 controller - and I'm NOT going to get one. The main game is a bit short, While the main game is a great deal of fun, I was a bit disappointed with the control in the game. Also I though it should be able to run on my PC system, but it only did when I lowered the resolutiuon and turned off AA. The Co-op that I was hoping to try is NOT possible for me as I don't have an XBOX-360 controller - and I'm NOT going to get one. The main game is a bit short, and since I can't play the coop I wan't to take it back to the store. Expand
  5. DryerLine
    Jan 26, 2008
    3
    Wow, the controls are horrible, the plot and dialogue make you want to get a "social life", and they want you to pay MORE money for online, and then of course there's the whole "Firing Editors" controversy. I also think they 9-10 ratings here were written by people from Eidos, they certainly sound like it.
  6. MaldoM
    Dec 5, 2007
    2
    The guy above me who gave this a 10 is obviously a corporate shill for eidos, this game is a middle of the road junk fest at best, and at its worst it is a mish mash of bad stereotypes, and even worse gameplay.

    Skip this turdbomb, do not buy into the mass marketing machine Eidos is using.
  7. EirikS.
    Aug 1, 2008
    4
    this is impossible. Its hard enough to get live working and when you do there is a problem with playing coop. This game was made for coop, but obviously coop for the 360. On the pc there is no LAN or internet option when you want to play coop. The only option you got is to connect one or more xbox 360 controllers to your pc.. The singleplayer is hardly any fun with all the bugs, I bought this is impossible. Its hard enough to get live working and when you do there is a problem with playing coop. This game was made for coop, but obviously coop for the 360. On the pc there is no LAN or internet option when you want to play coop. The only option you got is to connect one or more xbox 360 controllers to your pc.. The singleplayer is hardly any fun with all the bugs, I bought this game for coop but I cant since I dont have a 40" tv connected to my pc, nor do I have any 360 controllers. Stay clear from this game, its a totally waste of money. Buy it when it costs 10$ if you really want this. Expand
  8. PeterD
    Feb 18, 2008
    1
    I can only assume that some of the people posting good scores for this game are playing on a console or are employed by the publisher. Controls are awkward and unresponsive, bugs aplenty and the horror of having to go through microsoft (and pay them £5 a month) if you want to play a decent online game. The story line is interesting but heck at that point your better off with aI can only assume that some of the people posting good scores for this game are playing on a console or are employed by the publisher. Controls are awkward and unresponsive, bugs aplenty and the horror of having to go through microsoft (and pay them £5 a month) if you want to play a decent online game. The story line is interesting but heck at that point your better off with a movie, save yourself the grief and buy orangebox. Expand
  9. MykC
    Dec 6, 2007
    3
    This game is broken. Some areas on the game are big empty ugly rooms. The main characters look good, but the support characters look like N64 models and textures. The AI blows, the controls are frustrating. I enjoy the story... somewhat but that it.
  10. DillonHertlein
    Dec 15, 2007
    2
    The visuals were disgusting, and look like they belong to low-budget games six years ago. The cover system is bugged, not allowing you to take cover as you would like to (an especially frustrating thing after played Gears of War). The controls, at least on the 360, were poorly plotted to the controller and could not be changed. It was so horrible, in fact, that I returned the gameThe visuals were disgusting, and look like they belong to low-budget games six years ago. The cover system is bugged, not allowing you to take cover as you would like to (an especially frustrating thing after played Gears of War). The controls, at least on the 360, were poorly plotted to the controller and could not be changed. It was so horrible, in fact, that I returned the game before even completing the second level. Expand
  11. AdamW.
    Dec 18, 2007
    3
    Horribly boring, nothing really innovative at all, for the PC side of things. I guess this could be considered a good game under two conditions. You're under 18 and you own a console.
  12. TomE.
    Dec 16, 2007
    2
    I waited so long for this game, and the day was finaly here. I was really lokking forward to the multiplayer, but I was very disapointed. When they asked me for more money to play online, such bullshit. I payed for the game once and are NOT going to pay some Xbox live community for playing on my pc. I acctualy feel a little raped. Not the way to treat costumers who pay hard earnd cash. I waited so long for this game, and the day was finaly here. I was really lokking forward to the multiplayer, but I was very disapointed. When they asked me for more money to play online, such bullshit. I payed for the game once and are NOT going to pay some Xbox live community for playing on my pc. I acctualy feel a little raped. Not the way to treat costumers who pay hard earnd cash. The single player was ok. The story was very good. Expand
  13. Apr 17, 2011
    1
    The characters in the game are interesting, and i feel like compleating the game, only to get the story, but i cant. The gameplay simply suck... It is really really bad. Not what you would expect.
  14. Jul 4, 2012
    0
    How can you give TEN to this? I mean, plot is not so bad, gameplay is passable, but the game time is too short, and it only relies on endless try-retry sessions in almost impossible fights. I'm happy I only spent 2 euros for this, that's the money it is worth.
  15. Apr 18, 2012
    3
    A mediocre game with a few good moments. The poorly implemented "Games For Windows" is forced on you. This feels like a bad console port. If you want some unremarkable violence and can get it for under £3, then its ok.
  16. DavidF.
    Dec 16, 2007
    0
    Terrible game. The plot is horrible, the dialog is a joke and the most entertainment you get out of playing is hitting the exit button.
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Though somewhat let down by its combat, Kane & Lynch is still well worth a play, even if it's just for the cinematic feel of the levels, the refreshingly different characters and the excellent multiplayer. [Christmas 2007, p.66]
  2. The right combination of gameplay elements and design decisions make Kane and Lynch easy to recommend to crime junkies and anyone who enjoys a little therapeutic videogame violence. A well-executed plot really makes the game, while the multiplayer additions add replay value and variety.
  3. Hardcore Gamer
    70
    Kane & Lynch is more "Freedom Fighters" than "Hitman", so it should appeal to action junkies looking for their next fix. [Dec 2007, p.67]