Kentucky Route Zero - Act I Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kentucky Route Zero is a magical realistic adventure game about a secret highway in the caves beneath Kentucky, and the mysterious folks who travel it.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Kentucky Route Zero - IGF Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    95
    Evokes the feeling of old ghost stories told around a campfire. There's the familiarity of friends and family around a warm, man-made fire, but with it comes the unnerving tale of the strange and unusual. Kentucky Route Zero is beautifully bizarre and perfectly poignant, and most of all, deserves your attention.
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    90
    Kentucky Route Zero is a beautiful and artistic piece of of work and I haven’t felt so strongly about a game since Silent Hill 2. After The Walking Dead made a case for powerful episodic narratives I found myself wanting something similar. I’m incredibly excited to see what the next four episodes will do.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    May 13, 2013
    87
    Kentucky Route Zero is basically a simple adventure game, but it's so achingly well put-together that it really becomes an experience like no other. Can't wait for the rest of the episodes! [May 2013]
  4. Jan 11, 2013
    80
    If you find yourself sometimes wondering if videogames are art, you should try Kentucky Route Zero. This adventure game gives you the reigns of the storytelling of an intriguing fantastical story.
  5. Jan 30, 2013
    80
    Kentucky Route Zero Act I is a marvelous travel between the future and the past of a strange man, with stunning visuals and an inspired OST. Many AAA developers could learn something about storytelling, playing this modern tale.
  6. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    A fascinating experiment in alternative storytelling, filled with bold new ideas and some stunning visuals and music.
  7. Jan 12, 2013
    70
    Kentucky Route Zero is a pleasure to look at and interact with, brimming with anxious memories and begging you to peer into the distance. And yet it also comes across as a bit underdeveloped.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 9 out of 24
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    For those who fell in love with Dear Esther and Another World, this is one of those masterpieces that come up only once in decade. A mustFor those who fell in love with Dear Esther and Another World, this is one of those masterpieces that come up only once in decade. A must have. Stunning visual style and the sense of mystery drives you the whole time. Amazing. Simply outstanding! Expand
  2. May 29, 2013
    9
    I am not much of one for retro art... but that's not what this lofi adventure game offers. It is abstract only to give your imagination roomI am not much of one for retro art... but that's not what this lofi adventure game offers. It is abstract only to give your imagination room to breathe, to fill in the visual details to match the lovely ambient sound, to wonder what might lay between the points on the darkened map... it has the feel of a trusted friend motioning you over and with hushed breath saying "Want to see something really special..." Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Short, good and not pretentious. This adventure is made of very good writing and some interesting literary mechanics. Also a great comebackShort, good and not pretentious. This adventure is made of very good writing and some interesting literary mechanics. Also a great comeback for the "movement on a map" style which was very popular in early RPGs and simulated a certain kind of freedom with limited means. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2015
    6
    This feels like a cross between an animated visual novel and an adventure game, interesting story telling if you can get into the storyline, aThis feels like a cross between an animated visual novel and an adventure game, interesting story telling if you can get into the storyline, a bit on the fence myself. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    4
    A big capital M *Meh*.

    Sure it's an indie game so it has a small budget, but can't you at least give it some voice over? The Stanley
    A big capital M *Meh*.

    Sure it's an indie game so it has a small budget, but can't you at least give it some voice over? The Stanley Parable showed us just how good voice over can be in a low budget game.

    Sure it's dark an gloomy.... so what, what game isn't these days? Don't just make your game dark and gloomy and expect it to be an instant success.... that's just insulting.

    So we explore some settings, we discover some new locations with our truck.... Oh Whoopie Doo....

    I honestly don't see what's so special about this game and why people like it so much. The Stanley Parable or The Swapper are infinitely more deserving of our praise.
    Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2014
    2
    Arty farty nonsense masquerading as a game. This is the third time where I have been conned into buying a rubbish game by review sites (theArty farty nonsense masquerading as a game. This is the third time where I have been conned into buying a rubbish game by review sites (the first two being "Dear Esther" and "Gone Home"). Arthouse games should be clearly labelled and come with a warning that they are terrible. This situation reminds me very much of the "Emperor's new clothes" - pretentious reviewers are so hyped up proving how sophisticated and arty they are, yet they fail to realise that they are reviewing an insubstantial turd.

    I WANT MY MONEY BACK.
    Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2017
    0
    Simply awful! This is a non-game and not a good one at that. Bad visual novel more like it.

    I was attracted to the art style and the
    Simply awful! This is a non-game and not a good one at that. Bad visual novel more like it.

    I was attracted to the art style and the trailers, which were not a good representation at all!

    While playing I found no point, felt that my interactions were themselves pointless...This is very much like water boil, but less interesting.

    I only wanted it to end and it just drags on!

    I wanted to smash my computer during Act IV Scene VI...At this point, I simply clicked my mouse, not reading anything further, just so I could see the slow boring scenes and get to the end of this torturous experience!
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers