Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    71
    Very personal and with a fantastic fusion of genres between role playing and strategy, King Arthur II is a great title that should improve with optimization.
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    71
    Compared to masterful strategy like Total War the medieval realtime battles lack detail, challenge and tactical depth. But King Arthur is saved by its atmospheric roleplaying part that reflects the darkness, insecurity and quest for meaning in the post-roman era.
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    By switching their attention to the story and the overall atmosphere, the developers lost sight of what had made the first King Arthur so fun. Technically, the sequel has everything a good strategy "sandbox" should have: dozens of units, a huge map, and the diplomacy system. The only thing missing is the sandbox itself.
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    RPG elements, coherent story with twists, exciting battles spiced up with magic and great visuals make King Arthur II a game that's hard to put aside. [March 2012, p.70]
  5. 66
    The best strategy titles cause players to become obsessed with their various systems, and to lose sleep playing late into the night. To the contrary, in King Arthur II, I found myself skipping battles whenever I could, and I stayed up late playing only because I had to write this review. That doesn't mean there's nothing to enjoy about this title, and, as they say, your mileage may vary. Only one thing is for certain: If you buy this game, you will spend a lot of time being read to.
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    70
    The streamlined campaign may raise many an eyebrow while the text adventure quests will elicit more smiles than frowns, and any fan of this genre of strategy will still spend countless hours both on and off the battlefield. It's not quite the diamond in the rough that many have hoped for, perhaps, but you'll be hard pressed to keep yourself from playing just one more turn.
  7. Feb 9, 2012
    50
    Glossy rather than glorious, decidedly wobbly and very limited.
  8. 60
    If you go through a few fantasy books every week, love long texts or maybe even text-adventures and feel the urge to be the master of the battlefield for a day, then this might be the one for you.
  9. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    King Arthur II is the most credible opponent to the Total War series: thanks to its RPG elements, it's able to create an original gameplay and an interesting dark version of of the legends based on King Arthur. Only some technical flaws prevent this game from touching the excellence.
  10. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    King Arthur II is an honest title, not trying to be what is not, and makes a huge effort to distinguish himself, running the risk of not appeal to fans of classic strategy anda huge slice of the "PC gamers". Still, if you like the genre of pen and paper, it could be a nice surprise.
  11. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    King Arthur 2 is a great game with many improvements. It's a good mixture of RPG elements and Total War tactical elements. A must-buy for every fan of the strategy games.
  12. Feb 2, 2012
    70
    If and when Neocore patches the AI into respectability, even if that's in conjunction with letting it cheat with damage/HP numbers under the hood, I'll be the first one to jump in and dump a hundred hours into King Arthur II. For now, I'll play something that's at least half a step beyond shooting fish in a barrel.
  13. Feb 22, 2012
    65
    It's sad that I've come away from King Arthur 2 with such a negative impression. Almost universally, I crave more and better storytelling in my games. Here we have a game that's oozing with story, but that's about it. I wish the writing was enough to carry it into positive territory, but truth be told, the gameplay bored me to tears and I couldn't wait to put it down after even a half-hour session. Maybe King Arthur 3, if it's made, will find the right balance.
  14. Feb 4, 2012
    40
    The most interesting part of King Arthur II the RPG remains the dark universe and interactive storytelling. The blend of RPG-diplomacy-strategy-management is nice, but a little confusing and not really help by the poor interface. Overall, it could be satisfying, if only it wasn't so full of bugs shattering the game. Crashes back to the desktop are frequent, and it really needs to be patched as soon as possible. Until then, stay away.
  15. Mar 18, 2012
    55
    It's not great, in fact there are many elements I wouldn't even classify as good, but there aren't any massive, game destroying, deficiencies either.
  16. Feb 6, 2012
    72
    Quotation forthcoming.
  17. Mar 4, 2012
    50
    This mix of a strategy, role-playing and text-adventure game has its strong story moments with its quite often entertaining battles. On the grounds of these facts it's a pity the game is being struck down by pointless linearity and a noticeable game elements imbalance.
  18. Feb 9, 2012
    50
    All I wanted from King Arthur II was more of the great lore mixed with a degree of difficulty that was challenging but not sadistic and better tactical battles. I got the great lore.
  19. Feb 16, 2012
    55
    King Arthur II captures the spirit of the legend, but it's weighed down by an inferior wargame.
  20. Feb 10, 2012
    40
    It's easy to see the potential for King Arthur 2 to have been a good game rather than "not bad." But it never gets there, mostly because it's doing a half-dozen unrelated things at once, and none of them very well.
  21. Feb 6, 2012
    70
    The gameplay is a great mix of genres, and the world is fresh, exciting, and full of intrigue. The problem is execution. Both King Arthur games have shared the same unique concept, but Neocore Games may not have the manpower or the budget to fully extract the potential of both sides of this complex dual-genre game.
  22. Feb 5, 2012
    69
    I was so looking forward to the sequel of the surprise hit King Arthur, because the conditions were all present: a predecessor with awesome expandable ideas, a thought-out mix of RPG and strategy, nice-looking presentation, a fresh, well-formulated scenario and airworthy units, which are yet not overpowering. But what happens? Like so many other titles, King Arthur 2 releases in the market in a completely immature state. Persistent fans can take delight in playing it, but only with a stubborn will. But I'm tired of struggling through crashes, plot-stoppers and judder-performance. Actually, I appreciate Paradox as sympathetic niche publisher of games offside the mainstream. But nothing is squandered as fast as sympathy and confidence. So please, Paradox: from now on no more hasty reactions.
  23. Feb 13, 2012
    50
    Oddly enough, King Arthur II is stuck in the same dilemma full-motion video games were: it is hard to both tell a story and give the player meaningful choices to make. In the end, the strategic and tactical elements feel like a sideshow to the railroad that is the main quest. There is fun and creativity in here, but interspersed with long stretches of tedium and frustration.
  24. Feb 14, 2012
    60
    Because the gameplay is so straightforward, newbies to the genre who are nevertheless fans of the setting may find a friendly sort of Frankenstein monster to play with here.
  25. Feb 8, 2012
    70
    King Arthur II is less ambitious but more refined than the glorious, sprawling reach of the original. Where that game threw everything into development and didn't seem to care what stuck, King Arthur II has opted to remove (rather than improve) the parts which didn't quite function correctly.
  26. 70
    A nice mix of strategy and RPG starts slowly and suffers from linearity but it has its charm and lasts for hours. [March 2012]
  27. Feb 4, 2012
    70
    If you liked King Arthur: The Role-playing Wargame for its gameplay and concept, you'll love this sequel. It will give you the same features plus new enhancements. But you will not find many reasons to enjoy this game if your passion was based in the charm produced by the idea of experiencing stories of chivalry, hosted under the banner of King Arthur. King Arthur II is a decent game, but it lies somewhere between the shadow of what it was and what it could have been.
  28. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    King Arthur II improves many aspects of the formula that made the first chapter a valuable title. Even if it's still far from RTS like Total War this game is a great and deep dark fantasy tale full of big monsters, powerful fireballs and great heroes.
  29. Mar 21, 2012
    77
    It's light on the strategy, but an intriguing dark fantasy tale and RPG elements lift King Arthur II above the average. [May 2012, p.76]
  30. 89
    It's really a "diamond". The infinite options within the strategic map, the unique soundtrack brimming with symphonic choirs and the sheer "epicness" that accompanies your every move, all mark a game that will conquer the hearts of fantasy culture fans. [March 2012]
  31. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    An intriguing idea that the franchise is yet to live up to. [Apr 2012, p.64]
  32. Mar 13, 2012
    80
    King Arthur makes a worthwhile comeback. Real-time strategy at heart, Arthur crosses genre lines effortlessly. Be it role-playing elements, text-based adventure or Total-War-esque battles, King Arthur delivers on all fronts. The end result is an addictive and surprisingly well-balanced hybrid. [March 2012]
  33. Feb 15, 2012
    80
    King Arthur II is a good strategy game aiming at the same quality of the Total War series even if a little bit on the easy side. Sadly it suffered a launch full of bugs that made it almost unenjoyable.
  34. 70
    There's something naturally intriguing about King Arthur II – perhaps it's the setting. With so many Tolkien RPGs, historical strategy titles and tiresome modern shooters, a game that genuinely captures a new era and source material is stirring. It's by no means perfect, especially in the technical department, but let the developers work out the kinks and you'll be rewarded with a genuinely decent game.
  35. Feb 14, 2012
    62
    The biggest problem with King Arthur II is that is tries to do too much, and as a result, just doesn't do any of it truly well.
  36. Feb 13, 2012
    60
    There are some features to love in King Arthur II. The story is interesting and there are a handful of solid, entertaining gameplay mechanics, but be prepared to fight through a few of the game's weaker elements.
  37. Feb 13, 2012
    75
    A good strategy game which fans of the first game will like, despite not evolving too much the formula of the original. Those who didn't like the first game won't like this sequel either, but it offers a much more polished gameplay, great management and strategy options, and it makes us feels inside the legend.
  38. Feb 9, 2012
    65
    This second installment in the King Arthur franchise can be great fun, but doesn't offer enough depth. The AI is just stupid at times, making the experience less enjoyable. Still, the vibe is pretty good and it really feels like you're part of King Arthur's magical world.
  39. Feb 22, 2012
    71
    King Arthur 2 surprised me with its approach to the RTS genre by adding such an in-depth story mechanic. Although this may become a bit boring for some players, it certainly adds to the story. I'm not sure if it is for everyone, but fans of the previous game, and of the genre in general, will find this an enjoyable romp, with plenty to keep them occupied for many, many hours.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28
  1. Jan 31, 2012
    5
    KA1 was very much a diamond in the rough. Its game mechanics were rough but beneath those was a great concept which, at times, really managed to shine through. KA2 is less of the same. The concept is the same. You play a character who builds up an army and recruits more characters. The game mixes RPG and RTS to create a hybrid. Unfortunately the 2nd iteration does not do as good a job as the first. KA2 doesnt really need a player, it would be far better as a graphic novel such is its linearity. Although you can still do research, assign skill points and build buildings the whole lot from top to bottom has been stripped bare leaving very little of interest for the player to do. The units upgrade automatically at certain points in the game. They still level up giving you the choice of a single stat upgrade (and ocasionally a skill) but you dont really notice these in the battles. Like wise you level up your heroes. They come in three flavours, a leader, a warrior and a mage (differently named) and if you have two of the same, then regardless of upgrades, they will perform similarly making the upgrades almost obselete. The research is just a bunch of stat upgrades with a few nice things thrown in and the building is incredibly dumbed down. One nice touch is the morality meter which luckily hasnt changed. Infact its almost identical in every way to the first game. The battles, similarly to the first, are ok, but do not compare to those of Rome or medieval 2 Total war which is their natural comparison. The graphics are truly stunning from the interface and map to the battles. But with the battles you wont notice them because you will be looking from so high up they will appear as splodges on the screen with no easy way (apart from tiny banners) to tell your units (or enemy units) apart. The text adventure parts of the game are fun but its often hard to know if the option you chose is actually what you intended to do. All in all this game is incredibly average. Its fun, for short periods at a time, but the story its trying to tell (which is not bad) deserves a far better game to tell it. And this does not do the first game justice at all. Given that this is quite a year for tactical and strategy games, i think i would advise avoiding this and waiting to see if the future games offer a deeper and more enjoyable experience. Full Review »
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    5
    A nice mix between a RPG and RTS. Just like the first King Arthur game.
    Interesting setting, rich lore and deep gameplay.


    But then there is
    the technical state of King Arthur II. Crashes, bugs and game breaking glitches will accompany you you throughout the entire time you spend with this RTS.
    These are only topped by the performance issues. Unless you have an absolute high end machine (possibly even then), King Arthur 2 will deliver FPS way below the acceptable 30 frame limit. Dropping down to less than 20 frames regularly during the larger battles, making said skirmishes unplayable at times.

    Just like its predecessor this promising game is held back by a desolate technical state.
    King Arthur II is an unfinished product, a work in progress (that may or may not get fixed with upcoming patches), but ultimately not recommendable to anyone in its current state.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Great game with many improvements. I love the quests, they are well-written and fun, now there's a voice over on every single quest which is really helpful as I don't really like reading that much and I really like how the guys expanded the diplomacy options since the first game. Now you can choose from many different alternatives and it definitely adds to the game. The battles feel a lot more balanced and you are not forced anymore to take those locations on the maps, it is still worth it though because they can give you really cool spells like Lightning Bolt or Crystal Shards or they can boost your shield and protect you. I especially like the flying beasts and the new magic shield and that I can break enemy spells. My biggest issue with the first game was that the enemy hero could kill my strongest unit in no time with a good spell, but now I can boost my shield and it does not happen again if I pay attention. So I really like the game and I think it is fun. It still has a couple of bugs though, so I can't give it a 10 yet, but nothing that can't be patched in the next few weeks and it is still fun even with those around. Full Review »