Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 598 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Amid the post-war boom of Hollywood's Golden Age, Cole Phelps, an LAPD detective is thrown headfirst into a city drowning in its own success. Corruption is rampant, the drug trade is exploding, and murder rates are at an all-time high. In his fight to climb the ranks and do what's right, Phelps must unravel the truth behind a string of arson attacks, racketeering conspiracies and brutal murders, battling the L.A. underworld and even members of his own department to uncover a secret that could shake the city to its rotten core. Using groundbreaking new animation technology that captures every nuance of an actor's facial performance in astonishing detail, L.A. Noire is a violent crime thriller that blends breathtaking action with true detective work to deliver an unprecedented interactive experience. Search for clues, chase down suspects and interrogate witnesses as you struggle to find the truth in a city where everyone has something to hide. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 12, 2012
    92
    The wannabe detective's definitive version to plump for. [Feb 2012, p.101]
  2. Dec 8, 2011
    90
    L.A. Noire shows us that not every sandbox game has to be about killing prostitutes. This Complete Edition for the PC shows up a bit late to the party but that doesn't make it any less fun. The interrogations are a lot of fun and you'll feel like a true Sherlock Holmes at times. It's just a shame that the replay value is very low.
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    A unique adventure game that borrows many features from mystery and action games, incorporating them seamlessly in the narrative flow, thus creating a truly special game that not everyone will enjoy. And that's because it has its own character, defying contemporary 'fast food' games that are churned out today and because it's reminiscent of endeavors made in another era, where immersion of an ultimate single-player experience was the first and last goal of their creators.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    87
    LA Noire Complete Edition is an adult experience, supported by the excellent motionscan technology and a great narrative for our media. A good title that deserves a chance, despite its oddities probably due to the original development team, swallowed by debt and afflicted by a not edifying work story.
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    85
    The awesome performances and great facial capture make every interrogation and investigation a riveting affair.
  6. Dec 24, 2011
    80
    A wonderfully directed «interactive TV series» about the harsh realities of LA police detective's life. [January 2012, p.59]
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    60
    We can't knock the ambition of LA Noire, and the MotionSense technology certainly makes game characters look much more realistic without the need to install a rendering server in your home, but the game lacks fun. LA Noire aims to makes you feel like a real-life police office, but real-life police-work is actually quite dull.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 139
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    You know what your getting with this package. A fantastic game with all the bells and whistles. Im sure you've seen other reviews of L.A Noire, so il just say what's new in this. It features all of the previously released downloadable content for L.A. Noire, including the â Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    LA Noire is a masterpiece! if you love deduction, the 40's atmosphere and some outstanding actors performance, you really got to play this one! I'm 60% at the time of reviewing, and there is almost no downside to this game! As of today (July2012) , the game is overall good optimized! (Intel Q9550, GTX560Ti, 4GB DDR2...) fast loading, stable 30 fps, all on max, really decent graphics!

    i don't tend review games on metacritic, i made for this one an exception, cause it is really a good one!
    Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Once I picked this game up I haven't put it down! I'm addicted!! What they do well is immersion. The game makes you feel like your in the 1940's. The detective work, which maybe a little easy for some, I found very interesting & exciting. As the levels progress the cases get more detailed and try to keep you guessing. I really didn't expect to like this as much as I did. 9/10. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a game that built up slowly, until I was completely hooked onto the plot and the way the entire story twists and turns: very impressive. The gameplay itself is typical from the publisher of GTA, perhaps a bit more pedestrian than usual (in terms of combat), but it was easily made up by the enjoyable car physics (and various things your partner would say while running into a variety of things...always entertaining) as well as the incredible gumshoe framework. Gathering clues and interviewing people never got boring. The most disappointing part of the game for me, in the end, is actually the finale: yet another gigantic combat scenario with a finish that left a HUGE bitter taste in my mouth. SPOILER: The ending is just awful, imo: everything that Phelps is working toward is completely erased, and his memory is pissed upon at his funeral, with the corruption of the police establishment firmly intact. I suppose that there's hope that the honest ADA who remains could, over time, fight for less corruption, but it would have been nice to have more details about what happened in the future, so that I didn't feel like all the work I put into my character was all for nothing. Not being able to bring the chief of police down is a MAJOR disappointment, and although it might have been "historically accurate" it left the plot completely unsatisfying. Makes me less sad that the developer went out of business after the production of this game: they clearly aren't very good at plot endings. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Adventure games are coming back, I can feel it. L.A. Noire is a good adventure game but the action is LAME-O. Everybody runs from the police, innocent or not, guys are more than likely going to attack you for no good reason. I doubt this satisfied anybody. It just screwed up a good story driven game. L.A. is wonderfully re-created. Too bad driving is pointless and no fun. If you break a headlight your partner scolds you, and it comes out of your paycheck. Phelps kind of reminded me of my manager at work, a real a-hole with a stick up his butt. It gets worse when he cheats on his wife. At that point the character is so flawed you don't mind seeing him die in the end. The back story is told through BORING war flash backs which faithfully occur when you pick up a newspaper. This always presents a problem when you find a newspaper. Do you pick it up and sit through a stupid cutscene? Its like if in Mario 3 the leaf made him sit down and take a nap for 2 minutes. So: Not fully an adventure game, not fully action. Just re-make Grim Fandango already. Expand
  6. May 28, 2012
    6
    This game is rushed, and could had been optimized better. The driving in this game is very unrealistic. Its EXTREMELY linear, there is no freedom in this game what so ever, its just mission after mission and I've played up to detective mode and a few missions after-wards. However the facial expressions in this game are amazing and are really well done and are great for asking questions to see if they're lying or not. However it doesn't really show if they're lying enough to make a clear suggestion right. Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    0
    This game is a diamond in the rough. The graphics look dated, although all the face related things are quite good. The game play is decent but not amazing. The place where this game really shines is the story. The story is fantastic and the characters are all extremely well done. Would recommend this game to anyone who is patient enough to see through it's flaws. Expand

See all 139 User Reviews