Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light is the first ever downloadable, co-op action/adventure game featuring Lara Croft. This brand extension incorporates the hallmarks of the Tomb Raider franchise including exploration, discovery, platforming, and puzzle solving. Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light allows players to experience Lara Croft from an isometric viewpoint, and combines new gameplay features such as character progression, fun fast-paced combat, and elements of cooperation and competition. Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light will be available to download this summer. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    If you don't have a friend within driving distance, you may want to wait until Guardian of Light's online multiplayer is switched on; the game's single-player mode is competent but incomparable to the sheer joy of raiding tombs with a friend.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Cooperative play done right!
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    The level design is as epic as ever, with puzzles spanning entire vistas littered with tunnels, tombs, torturous traps, and more.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    86
    Combat, puzzle solving and exploration. Guardian of Light is an excellent gaming experience.
  5. 86
    The experience of the Crystal Dynamics designers and their investment to start this spin-off series on the right foot are certainly visible in every aspect of the game, and I can't help but be thrilled by the new way in which we'll be able to hunt ancient relics with lady Croft.
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light is a great adventure, especially if you're playing co-op. Despite the silly story and dialogue, I had more fun with it than any Tomb Raider in recent memory.
  7. Oct 20, 2010
    60
    As the more intimate title suggests, this may be as much about Croft's brand awareness in the face of unprecedented (and Uncharted) competition. [Oct 2010, p.96]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    I thought this game it would be ok. But nooo!! This game was awesome. Super fun, super fast, super puzzled, excellent platform. Well, loved it. You should try, 5 minutes in demo and you will buy the game and all expansions, packs, etc Great Graphics too. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    This game, is simply amazing. I thought it was going to be boring at first, judging by the screenshots, but I got it at the cheap STEAM sale. Played it with a friend for 4 hours straight, and we're not too far away from the end. But that doesn't make it bad. The only flaw I found annoying is when you sometimes alt-tab, or press the windows key to go out of game. It drops the player and shuts down the game you're playing. But it automatically saves as well. So you can quit whenever you want MOST OF THE TIME. It normally saves before a battle or entering a room.

    Achievements are also fun.
    Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    This game is so awesome, the more i play it the more i love it. I recommend using a controller as it makes the game play a lot smoother though i didn't really try to get the hang of it with the mouse and keyboard. It's got the feel of Tomb Raider mixed with Diablo 2 so if you like those games at all you'll probably enjoy this gem. I'm comparing but it really is unique with a sort of old school arcade feel. This game is smooth and fun fun fun. Two thumbs up! Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    Fresh new gamestyle in the Tombraider series. And it's got something for everyone, the thrill seekers, the completionists, the speedrunners, the casual gamers and the puzzlers. It's great, and it's got multiplayer as well. Only thing I didn't like was not being able to do keybindings yourself. Collapse
  5. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    I've seen the rave reviews about this game for months now but it was only when i tried the demo yesterday that i've experience myself how throughly wonderful and breathtaking this game is. At first i was a little intrigue as this game is played on a top-down third-person perspective a la Crusader No Remorse (one of my favorite classic), but i must truly say that i wouldn't want it any other way. From this perspective you're able to fully appreciate the game surrounding and my favorite is how the developer is able to give the player the sense of height when you're heading up through some of the levels. You will be amaze at the beautiful vista and landscape.
    Don't be fool by the miniature avatars that you or your friend will be controlling throughout the game as i was literally holding my breath through some of the devilish puzzle action sequence. You'll run, jump, swing, scale, dodge and using your reflexes quite a bit. On some of the more difficult puzzle, you will definitely die a few times but you will feel a sense of accomplishment when you do get it right.
    The only problem i had with this game, al-beight a very minor one is you'll be fighting the same minion throughout the levels. More enemy variety would be greatly appreciated.
    If you're still not sure about coughing up the fifteen dollars for the full games, just download the demo through Steam and give it a try, I'm sure after the demo you'll be grabbing for your credit card. I know i did. =)
    Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    Bought this game with fond memories of the original Tomb Raider oh so many years ago and it didn't disapoint. Very different to the rest of the franchise and a very welcome diversion. I was hooked after a few minutes and ended up completing the game in a couple of sittings. Excellent graphics and top down action with puzzles that don't punish the player. That being said, there is still a great sense of achievement with an upgrade often earned. Character and weapon improvements are great and the whole package works well. Highly recommended Expand
  7. AWG
    Aug 13, 2013
    7
    I didn't have the chance to play the co-op mode so my review only applies to the single player one. Great keyboard controls, awesome graphics, interesting concept, well-designed levels and puzzles... I'm really enjoying this game and I'd recommend it to my friends. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews