Left 4 Dead PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3689 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Okay gentlemen, what you see here is a FPS zombie killing game that is actually addictive and entertaining (and funny) at the same time. "Left 4 Dead" made me play the single player and the multi player for hours and hours non-stop. The single player, inspired by movie scenarios, is very innovative and fun. The multiplayer is also a big hit for the game. With 3 other partners, you can goOkay gentlemen, what you see here is a FPS zombie killing game that is actually addictive and entertaining (and funny) at the same time. "Left 4 Dead" made me play the single player and the multi player for hours and hours non-stop. The single player, inspired by movie scenarios, is very innovative and fun. The multiplayer is also a big hit for the game. With 3 other partners, you can go out and whoop those **** zombies anytime!! A great must-play!! Hurray for Valve!!!!



    Note: The game gets boring after a few months.
    Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    6
    The main problem is finding reliable teammates. Hunters and smokers (special zombies) can render one character completely useless, so if you're playing a 4v4 online and they have 3 hunters and 1 smoker, they can orchestrate their attack well enough that it will disable everyone on your team. It is very frustrating to sit there and watch your character go from 100 health to dead whileThe main problem is finding reliable teammates. Hunters and smokers (special zombies) can render one character completely useless, so if you're playing a 4v4 online and they have 3 hunters and 1 smoker, they can orchestrate their attack well enough that it will disable everyone on your team. It is very frustrating to sit there and watch your character go from 100 health to dead while your teammates run around like chickens with their heads cutoff. Otherwise it is exciting, scary, and fun. Expand
  3. MeN.
    Feb 18, 2009
    5
    The game is not bad... It's just so limited. I'm really suprised that so many people like this game. It is fun for 20 mins, but then gets old quickly. Imagine paying 50+ dollars for this game - well I bought it for 30 cents (in China), so I can't complain too much. It's great that they released a game that has zombies in it... it just needs a strong offline mode, and The game is not bad... It's just so limited. I'm really suprised that so many people like this game. It is fun for 20 mins, but then gets old quickly. Imagine paying 50+ dollars for this game - well I bought it for 30 cents (in China), so I can't complain too much. It's great that they released a game that has zombies in it... it just needs a strong offline mode, and of course a longer game length. Valve are starting to lose the plot. 50 bucks! it should be a free download. Expand
  4. LukeM.
    Nov 19, 2008
    5
    point gun, shoot sums up the game pretty well, there are 7 guns, the pump shot gun, the uzi the pistol, the dual pistol the hunting rifle, the assault rifle, and the shotgun. if you've played any game with all these weapons then you've played this game before, the zombies can withstand about 2 hits from any gun and in versus mode you can't choose what to play as a zombie, point gun, shoot sums up the game pretty well, there are 7 guns, the pump shot gun, the uzi the pistol, the dual pistol the hunting rifle, the assault rifle, and the shotgun. if you've played any game with all these weapons then you've played this game before, the zombies can withstand about 2 hits from any gun and in versus mode you can't choose what to play as a zombie, another generic shooter for counterstrike kiddies to love forever Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2011
    7
    L4D is a "Co-Op" Game. Not like those other Co-Op titles where your team is a bunch of galooting **** making no difference when you leave the group and finish the level on yourown.

    This gmae says "NO! I'm going to have boss-battles that prevent you from splitting up because they stun-lock you into poistions stopping you from moving and getting your **** chopped off and you need your team
    L4D is a "Co-Op" Game. Not like those other Co-Op titles where your team is a bunch of galooting **** making no difference when you leave the group and finish the level on yourown.

    This gmae says "NO! I'm going to have boss-battles that prevent you from splitting up because they stun-lock you into poistions stopping you from moving and getting your **** chopped off and you need your team to help!" What's weird is that if this was tried in any other FPS/Co-Op game, it would fail, Recklessley, but here it runs smoothly and perfectly.

    You have hord attracting zombies, leaving you to the mercy of your team.
    You have the hit and runners, causing your team to quickly get it off you and kill it before it strikes again, ECT ECT.

    Half of the time you'll be walking back and forth, and occasionally sitting down on a box in a locked cupboard because you died. Whenever you die you're sent to a small cupboard where you must wait....and wait... and wait...Weaponless and itemless waiting for your team to help.

    True survival horror Crowd Based madness.
    However it gets a bit repetetive though, but maps are often updates/added, so they're basically spoon-feeding you the same thing but with a different flavour.

    Worth the $12 dollars on steam.
    Expand
  6. MattF
    Dec 13, 2009
    6
    The game is very good, the graphics are awesome. But there is only a problem: you play Left 4 Dead for a month or two and then you'll not play it anymore.
  7. AnonymousMC
    Jan 4, 2009
    6
    A great game overall.
    Pretty good AI and good graphics.
    You get tired of the regular co-op pretty quickly. For the rest of your time you will be playing versus which is basically the same thing except that you play as Infected as well. As for the storyline there is none. I was originally going to give it an 8. But right now there's about 7 exploits for this game which can
    A great game overall.
    Pretty good AI and good graphics.

    You get tired of the regular co-op pretty quickly.
    For the rest of your time you will be playing versus which is basically the same thing except that you play as Infected as well.
    As for the storyline there is none.

    I was originally going to give it an 8.
    But right now there's about 7 exploits for this game which can easily be used and is constantly used. But still no patch even though it's been 2-3 weeks since these exploits started.

    Also i didn't like that Valve falsely advertised in their demo with "10 New weapons"
    There's only 5 weapons in the game.
    I don't see how grenades, props and the mounted gun are counted as actual weapons rather than being fire support. That's why i gave it a 6.

    It's a good game but it just feels like Valve could have done better.
    Expand
  8. johnhickton-burnett
    May 6, 2009
    7
    i love the graphics and when you hit an infected it shows but im thinking a mutated strain of rabbies usually rabbies would shutdown alot of your organs other than that it was an amazing thrill ride of blood and gore i got it for christmas and still cannot stop playing it.
  9. DavidP
    Jul 21, 2009
    5
    This is a fun game, no doubt about it. What's most of the reviews fail to mention is that this game has very little content. $50 or $40 is just too much for the amount of content; this game is closer in length to Portal or TF2 than it is to Half Life 2. Of course, it has terrific replay value online, but there are four campaigns, each of which you can finish in about an hour. All This is a fun game, no doubt about it. What's most of the reviews fail to mention is that this game has very little content. $50 or $40 is just too much for the amount of content; this game is closer in length to Portal or TF2 than it is to Half Life 2. Of course, it has terrific replay value online, but there are four campaigns, each of which you can finish in about an hour. All four campaigns contain the same AI, music, enemies, characters and weapons, and they all have the same atmosphere: dark, gray, foggy. While this is perfectly appropriate for a zombie apocalypse, it's not appropriate for $50. I'd give this game an 8 or 9 if it were $25 instead. Expand
  10. AlexC
    Jul 2, 2009
    7
    I give this game a 7 for many reasons 1st love the team work in the new surrival mode its wonderful very good graphics play it 20 hours in two weeks the only reason i didnt give it a 10 is some tweaks they need to put on 1st everytime i click quit it doesnt quit it crashes so i have to control+Alt+Del evertime 2nd when your playing with people theres no cancel button enough of the bad I give this game a 7 for many reasons 1st love the team work in the new surrival mode its wonderful very good graphics play it 20 hours in two weeks the only reason i didnt give it a 10 is some tweaks they need to put on 1st everytime i click quit it doesnt quit it crashes so i have to control+Alt+Del evertime 2nd when your playing with people theres no cancel button enough of the bad stough good game love it big fan and still play it but,,,,,single player dont know why they have it cause its boring im actually not excited for the new one cause its going to be the same stuff with different levels very good game not worth 49.99 more like worth 29.99 Expand
  11. tysonw
    Aug 6, 2009
    7
    Well lets start of saying i got this game for 20 dollars back in june. its fun for many hours i was addicted to it for several weeks. good graphics, fun multiplayer, i actually feel like im in a zombie apocalypse. sounds great right. the problem is when u get to the lows of the game. lucky i pick it up for 20 online, cause if i paid any more i would be greatly disappointed. the lack of Well lets start of saying i got this game for 20 dollars back in june. its fun for many hours i was addicted to it for several weeks. good graphics, fun multiplayer, i actually feel like im in a zombie apocalypse. sounds great right. the problem is when u get to the lows of the game. lucky i pick it up for 20 online, cause if i paid any more i would be greatly disappointed. the lack of content makes this game one a 1 month thing for me. single player is terriable .ai does not react at all to the fact there are zombies everywhere. well with honestly at all. . i didn't i would ever see such bad in award winning game . the next worst has to be cod world at war. the new one is coming out in a couple of months and im very disappointed it will probably have a 40+ dollar price tag on content that has been promised but will not be delievered for the first one =(. i frown upon making promises and breaking them. which means i probably will wait a couple months to get lfd 2 in the bargain bin for 20 dollars. give it a couple weeks after release. i don't blame people for not supporting lfd2. anyways sorry about venting. but overall this game is fun, enjoyable mulitplayer. but is ruined by ai and lack of content. Expand
  12. sevologyK.
    Jan 25, 2009
    7
    I am someone who has played this game for hours upon hours, and I have to say that it is a semi - disappointment. I cannot give this game anything above 8 even though I'm not saying it's a bad game. The content is just extremely limited and if you were to run through all the levels without zombies you'd get a sense of how small the levels actually are. Quite the opposite of I am someone who has played this game for hours upon hours, and I have to say that it is a semi - disappointment. I cannot give this game anything above 8 even though I'm not saying it's a bad game. The content is just extremely limited and if you were to run through all the levels without zombies you'd get a sense of how small the levels actually are. Quite the opposite of what valve had written in their game description, boasting about the huge levels. Finding a decent server to play on takes a while due to the general lack of players, unstable dedicated servers, and getting connected to lag-infested servers across the world. They tried to get rid of repetitive play by supposedly introducing an AI director, which spawns zombies and guns at different locations every time you play, but it really doesn't help out. Repetition tends to be alright for most multi-player gaming (like counterstrike), but it's unacceptable for a game like l4d since it's a freaking co-op game. The biggest problem I have with this game is the price that it was sold for. Valve really took advantage of the community by charging $50, releasing a game that can be completed in the same hour range as portal. The biggest disappointment would probably be the versus gameplay. I have never played anything more stupid in my life. Survivors generally have a huge advantage over special infected, and you'll find yourself dying often until you get a tank. If you can't kill them with the tank, chances are they'll win the level. They really should have focused on making the maps larger and introducing vehicles for this game, instead of making the special infected playable. It's fun puking on the survivors as a boomer for the first 5 minutes, then it's just monotony and boredom. By writing this review I am not saying this is a bad game, but it is without a doubt, a VERY INCOMPLETE game. Expand
  13. BrandonR
    Oct 3, 2009
    6
    Good game for a while. Replay value is surprisingly low, unlike Valve's other online masterpieces (TF2 and CS, namely). Lack of content and lack of variety of maps (especially after being spoiled by TF2) make the game dry up real fast. Additionally, because it's limited to 4 player or 8 player games, the frustration of losing far outweighs gratification of winning. Online Good game for a while. Replay value is surprisingly low, unlike Valve's other online masterpieces (TF2 and CS, namely). Lack of content and lack of variety of maps (especially after being spoiled by TF2) make the game dry up real fast. Additionally, because it's limited to 4 player or 8 player games, the frustration of losing far outweighs gratification of winning. Online players take this to heart, and consequently there are far more gamers in L4D ready to kick someone out of the server because they are new to the game and not a veteran player. This isn't Valve's fault, but a shortcoming of small team online FPS, which could be remedied by (read: MORE CONTENT) larger servers and more than 8-player gametypes. Expand
  14. RyanJ.
    Jan 5, 2009
    6
    An excellent movie intro that falters in real gaming content. While shooting zombies the first few hours is quite fun and a decent change of pace to the typical FPS, the repetition eventually makes the player a zombie. I was not expecting a co-op only game so I docked points for no single player content or poor decision making single player characters (take your pick). While I find the An excellent movie intro that falters in real gaming content. While shooting zombies the first few hours is quite fun and a decent change of pace to the typical FPS, the repetition eventually makes the player a zombie. I was not expecting a co-op only game so I docked points for no single player content or poor decision making single player characters (take your pick). While I find the expert mode the only challenge for my FPS experience level, the lower difficulties help newbies get their feet wet and can make the game both humorous and frustrating. The server interface is non existent. Way too much reliance on dedicated servers that shut down without warning, crash and glitch often and usually match you with the highest ping server possible. Finding a suitable game often becomes a chore, sometimes sitting in a lobby for 5 minutes waiting for a search to finish. I've found hosting local games more reliable, but the players that get placed are usually on the other coast or out of country which gives them poor pings. Historically valve has done a decent job in patching the multiplayer experience and I hope this is not the exception. Like Return to Castle Wolfenstein multiplayer, the game is heavily reliant on a teamwork environment so having just one weak player usually means restarting levels often fueling the frustration to find better gaming partners. Server hopping seems to be normal. This game certainly does not apply to the Gung-Ho, Rambo style players. The $50.00 price tag seems a bit steep for the overall entertainment value. Expand
  15. UchinaI.
    Apr 16, 2009
    6
    While the game brings a new flare to co-op games and is slightly addictive graphically, mechanically the game suffers from lack of content. Basically you are buying $50 worth of maps to play in, thats where most of the 7 gig folder size of this game comes from. There are only 7 weapons opposed to the 10 stated in the review: Dual Pistols, Shotgun, Uzi, Ar, Hunting Rifle, Molotov and Pipe While the game brings a new flare to co-op games and is slightly addictive graphically, mechanically the game suffers from lack of content. Basically you are buying $50 worth of maps to play in, thats where most of the 7 gig folder size of this game comes from. There are only 7 weapons opposed to the 10 stated in the review: Dual Pistols, Shotgun, Uzi, Ar, Hunting Rifle, Molotov and Pipe bombs. There are only 5 "boss" (that is used very loosely because there is only one true boss in my mind and thats the Tank) mutations in this game. Really only the Tank can be considered a boss, the rest are just mutations: Boomer, Smoker, Hunter, Witch, and Tank The rest of the game's enemy list is comprised of zombies. There are only 4 scenarios, each with at most 4 map sections. Each play through it will only take an average player that actually plays the game rather then running through the map around 35 to 45 minutes to beat. This means that there is little actual game play time, only around 5 hours. The multiplayer is supposed to be where its at. But verses mode is severely unbalanced and the Co-Op campaigns can easily be ruin by bad players or idiots the run through the map and leave the rest of the team behind in the dust to fend for themselves. Overall, unless the content update in April brings around 2 nre maps to each scenario and 2 new scenarios or ties the current scenarios together and adds new boss infected and new weapons, this is the first game I think i could say shame on Valve for, its a money grabber that leaves us gamers wanting a hell of a lot more then we got or will ever get from valve. In the commentary, forgot where exactly, there is a node where one of the devs says in summery that they skipped out on making lots of content because they wanted the community to make it for them, and that to me is B.S lol. Expand
  16. CorvinousV
    Jun 14, 2009
    7
    A great game on its own merits, and entertaining the first time through the single player. Obviously however, the multiplayer is where this game really shines. Despite the different game modes, and the ingenious devices that promote a cohesive team, the excitement all wears off pretty quickly. The lack of variety stifles the game. The 16 maps, all grouped into quads of 4 called campaigns, A great game on its own merits, and entertaining the first time through the single player. Obviously however, the multiplayer is where this game really shines. Despite the different game modes, and the ingenious devices that promote a cohesive team, the excitement all wears off pretty quickly. The lack of variety stifles the game. The 16 maps, all grouped into quads of 4 called campaigns, seem small after a few hours of play, and very repetitive. Valve was late releasing a map kit for L4D, and only showed a modding community the love after announcing L4D 2, killing anyone desire to mod the game, and smashing any hope of getting additional content for it. The game is fun however, and is worth getting when it hits the 10 dollar bargain bins. Expand
  17. SvenR
    Jun 4, 2009
    5
    IF the game starts, its a lot of fun to play it. Untill it crashs. Unfortunately, it crashs almost everytime when you play it, so its just worth a 5/10. This game includes more bugs then Gothic 3 and this us quite unbelievable, didnt think that a game can beat the buglvl of G3, but it happened. Congratz to Valve for this. Support? nothing. Bugfixes? Maybe you have to define for Valve what IF the game starts, its a lot of fun to play it. Untill it crashs. Unfortunately, it crashs almost everytime when you play it, so its just worth a 5/10. This game includes more bugs then Gothic 3 and this us quite unbelievable, didnt think that a game can beat the buglvl of G3, but it happened. Congratz to Valve for this. Support? nothing. Bugfixes? Maybe you have to define for Valve what that means. Expand
  18. ChristopherB
    Aug 8, 2009
    7
    L4D. I say its a fun game to play due to the Co-op campaign. But Ill give it minus becouse the little choice of guns. Graphics are good 8/10, sound is good. Storyline 5/10. Whell the storyline is like all the other campaigns on L4D, all you have to to is to get extract from the "hot-zone" and then your done. Wich made me abit borred after a while. But if you love zombies you really shouldL4D. I say its a fun game to play due to the Co-op campaign. But Ill give it minus becouse the little choice of guns. Graphics are good 8/10, sound is good. Storyline 5/10. Whell the storyline is like all the other campaigns on L4D, all you have to to is to get extract from the "hot-zone" and then your done. Wich made me abit borred after a while. But if you love zombies you really should get it for 30 bucks from Steam. Expand
  19. SeanM.
    Nov 20, 2008
    7
    Great game with not enough content. I hope my money helps them add more content for free. More levels.. More weapons... More types of bosses... Would be nice if there were more players allowed per game. How about a vehicle.
  20. Reviewer
    Dec 1, 2008
    6
    Left 4 Dead has the potential to be an 8/10 or even 9/10, but in its current state as of 12-01-2008 - it has been handicapped by a less-than-finished feel & numerous bugs. Luckily, the PC version is maintained through Valve's very own STEAM (http://www.Steampowered.com) - this will undoubtedly provide users with major-updates & content-additions (at no charge) for years to come (JustLeft 4 Dead has the potential to be an 8/10 or even 9/10, but in its current state as of 12-01-2008 - it has been handicapped by a less-than-finished feel & numerous bugs. Luckily, the PC version is maintained through Valve's very own STEAM (http://www.Steampowered.com) - this will undoubtedly provide users with major-updates & content-additions (at no charge) for years to come (Just as Valve has done for many of its other titles). With the additions of these updates (and with the history Valve has with their past titles) it is likely that this game will live up to the 8/9 or even 9/10 score as stated above and by numerous users & reviewers.

    The Flaws:
    ----------------

    A)
    The most noticeable issue for first-time users of the versus mode is simply the lack of content. While there are 4 'Movies' in the Cooperative/Single-Player campaigns - in versus, there are only 2; one of them being the least spectacular of the four (Blood Harvest), the other being that which was previewed in the Demo (No Mercy). While both are entertaining initially - they sometimes become tiring and leave you begging for the other two. Hopefully the addition of the original remaining two ('Death Toll' & 'Dead Air') will be released early 2009
    Expand
  21. AnonymousMC
    Dec 3, 2008
    6
    While the game fails to be original (who hasn't done a Zombie mod?) and is horribly limited in content (4 campaigns?! and 7 weapons?!) it tries really hard to do things not done before. The Director does an excellent job of applying some randomness to each campaign so you have to be constantly thinking tactically. Easy and Normal provide an environment where, unless you are set uponWhile the game fails to be original (who hasn't done a Zombie mod?) and is horribly limited in content (4 campaigns?! and 7 weapons?!) it tries really hard to do things not done before. The Director does an excellent job of applying some randomness to each campaign so you have to be constantly thinking tactically. Easy and Normal provide an environment where, unless you are set upon by Special Infected or a Horde, you can roam the map with impunity, the pinned mechanic works wonderfully and a lot of energy and attention has gone in to the visual and auditory style of the game (on my computer, the game is visually beautiful, in a dark and macbre way.) I don't even mind the fact that we're limited to only 4 skins for the Survivors and 6 skins for the special infected (altho, there are effectively thousands of skins for the horde). The voice acting is excellent also, and there is enough variety that you could probably play for a year and not have heard every line of speech. Where the game really falls down though is in the online multiplayer, which is a crime of epic proportions when you consider that this is a multiplayer game only. Matchmaking is barely functional, matching you to difficulty levels (putting you in an Expert game when you asked for a Normal one) and styles (A Versus game instead of a Campaign) and connection issues (joining you to a full game 4 times in a row) and connection issues (repeatedly timing out even when you've got "4 bars" good latency and matching you to servers on another continent where everyone's latency is "1 bar" bad bad bad.) I play, and will continue to play, and will even look forward to both fan released content and content released by Valve. I won't even hold this title much against Valve, since they purchased the title well in to it's development and had to live with the flaws of it's original developers. But, I am disappointed. 6 our of 10. Expand
  22. Ricox
    Dec 30, 2008
    7
    This game is really good, I got it on christmas... Firstly, I tough it's gonna be perfect game, when I played 2 days.. I changed my mind, it's full of exploits and glitches... Altought the game is intresenting in my opinion, it still needs story and more campaings... I would rate Versus mode with 9, it's great, just it needs more maps, as there are only 2 campaings. ThisThis game is really good, I got it on christmas... Firstly, I tough it's gonna be perfect game, when I played 2 days.. I changed my mind, it's full of exploits and glitches... Altought the game is intresenting in my opinion, it still needs story and more campaings... I would rate Versus mode with 9, it's great, just it needs more maps, as there are only 2 campaings. This game is way too expensive, but it's somehow worth it.. If valve is going to patch it, then this surely will be great game. They're contiously giving little fixes to it, so it's not so bad. Expand
  23. manuels.
    Oct 16, 2009
    7
    The game is not bad, unfortunatly i got bored too quickly, after only a week, I stoped playing and came back to COD4. The reason behind this is probably the fact that I purchased the game almost a year after his release, after a year, most of the players lost their interest and i found actually hard to find a server with 3 players to start a campaign.
  24. ScottC
    Oct 23, 2009
    5
    Id LOVE to be able to rate this game higher, the redeeming factor of L4D 2 coming out on Nov 17th does add some excitement, however, the fact its the same thing over and over and the fact that , besides myself, about 20,000 other people who feel the game was incomplete to begin with WILL NOT be buying. dont be cheap Valve, give moneys worth.... sadly disappointed. Oktobor STORM
  25. GeoffC.
    Jan 6, 2009
    5
    I must be the oldest Bill playing this game... I had lots of fun learning the game but now am tired of the struggle: I see no comments about the shortcomings so maybe no one is using the mouse and keyboard like I have to. The frustration is in the crossover reality shortcomings: the weapons are mismatched and the people are as well. Why can't I run faster than the Tank? I should at I must be the oldest Bill playing this game... I had lots of fun learning the game but now am tired of the struggle: I see no comments about the shortcomings so maybe no one is using the mouse and keyboard like I have to. The frustration is in the crossover reality shortcomings: the weapons are mismatched and the people are as well. Why can't I run faster than the Tank? I should at least be on par so I can dodge the stupid thing. And the best gun is the repeating shotgun and the worst is the pump action shotgun. The best weapon Should be the AR-15(M16) but it is not really here except as a visual. I think the programmers should portray it as a pellet pistol because that's all the damage I can do with the game version! The programmers should go out and try some of the guns at the shooting range or at least talk to people familiar with the weapons. I have a problem with the reality of changing the magazine and clearing a dud round etc, but give me a 300 round can and not the 50 round, or give a realistic hit level for the zombies. 4000 hits to take down a Tank!?Way too much. For Example,with the AR-15, I can kill you with less than the 20 rounds in a small clip in about 5 seconds, break every bone in your body and you'd be dead before the 10th round; so 4000 hits without any visible damage and having to change clips at least 20 times in teamwork or depend on fire or something else to stop the attack, is crazy. I also would like to carry more than one pipebomb, trudging around to get another one takes too much time, I would even give up some ammo for the weight. it's too frustrating mixing reality with fantasy, I guess I hate being at a disadvantage with superior firepower, it doesn't make much sense. Last note on weapons; there is a NATO option to have a mix of AP and tracer bullets for the M16, let's get some! Expand
  26. KC
    Mar 3, 2009
    7
    it's fun for the first two or so times, but it get's repetitive thereafter from the lack of variety in enemies, maps and of course the weapons, which are really basic and plain to say the least. The versus mode online offers some redemption but that's about it, the plot is too thin, and did i mention about the limited weapons?
  27. AegisK
    Apr 29, 2009
    7
    A great game for FPS lovers, Left 4 Dead is a great blend of fast paced action, gripping action sequences and great design. However, the game is let down wi th a lack of content, ridiculously stupid AI, buggy levels and more exploits than your average beta release. The single player modes are quite simply, a pointless feature. It is neigh on impossible to complete any of the "movies" on A great game for FPS lovers, Left 4 Dead is a great blend of fast paced action, gripping action sequences and great design. However, the game is let down wi th a lack of content, ridiculously stupid AI, buggy levels and more exploits than your average beta release. The single player modes are quite simply, a pointless feature. It is neigh on impossible to complete any of the "movies" on the expert campaigns. Whats worse, with the new "survivor mode", world rankings simply haven't been included because of the large number of exploits and bugs in each of the 16 maps, with all but 1 taken from the 4 poorly produced "movies" the game has to offer. Great to play with friends as a team, but its not much different than counterstrike with the same flat appearance. The game also has a lack of strategic weaponry, lack of matchmaking options, and if you want to pay the hefty price of £28 for the game... you'd be better waiting till its at least below £20. Newer players to the FPS genre are also recommended to avoid this game, as the community seems to have adopted a no new player attitude. Expand
  28. FoxJ
    May 12, 2009
    6
    This is more like a mod then a game with only 4 campaigns and a lack of story. You get two multiplayer modes either campaign co-op or versus. The problem in multiplayer is that one person is the director and while this could enhance the game by spawning infected to make the level harder or challenging, some just play around with players by pushing them off buildings or spawning 30 witches This is more like a mod then a game with only 4 campaigns and a lack of story. You get two multiplayer modes either campaign co-op or versus. The problem in multiplayer is that one person is the director and while this could enhance the game by spawning infected to make the level harder or challenging, some just play around with players by pushing them off buildings or spawning 30 witches in front of the safehouse. The game isn't really that scary you hear the special infected while they are 100 yards away so you know they are coming long before you see them. As for opening doors or looking in dark rooms yes there may be an infected behind the door but 9 out of 10 times they are facing away and just stand there after you shine the light on them. A friend talked me into buying this game and I feel like I just wasted $40 on something worth $10. Also don't get this unless you have friends who also have the game as the average player is aged 13-15 and will boot you from the game lobby if you don't have some experience with multiplayer first which one of my friends learned after being booted from the first 5 games he tried to play. Expand
  29. Mo0nBugGy1
    May 2, 2009
    5
    Meh!. not-bad co-op even if it only lasts 3 hours, lame multiplayer, lame graphics, lame gun sounds but great zombie sounds, its just CS:S with zombies. Levels are short and boring, if they bring out some new stuff for it than i may upgrade to a 7/10 but its pretty boring.
  30. NikkiJ
    Jun 17, 2009
    6
    While the game is visually stunning, and the mood makes you sit on the edge of your seat, skin to horror movies of old. The lack of solid variety and content ans the minimal replay value make the game rather luke warm after the second play through. I was hoping for more given the 49.99 price tag
  31. NicholasS
    Jul 18, 2009
    5
    Why are you bothering to read this review to buy L4D? It will be an inferior game in less than 3 months. You will have next to no further content for these next 6 months due to L4D2's attention. Still reading? You sure? Fine. Buy this game and you can kiss the next 10 weeks of free time you thought you had. This game is exponentially addictive, with its Survival, Versus, Campaign, Why are you bothering to read this review to buy L4D? It will be an inferior game in less than 3 months. You will have next to no further content for these next 6 months due to L4D2's attention. Still reading? You sure? Fine. Buy this game and you can kiss the next 10 weeks of free time you thought you had. This game is exponentially addictive, with its Survival, Versus, Campaign, and Single player mode. If you are handy with the DPS's steel, dive right into a Online Campaign game, grab an uzi or a shotgun and start blating away. Be careful, friendly fire hits are actually realistic here, especially in Expert. Accidentally shoot your teammate in the back with an uzi? He is going down.... fast. Cover each other and remember to always move forward. Maybe wanna see how brains taste? Jump into a versus game and cooperate with you teammates to set up ambushes and deadly traps, maybe hit that damage pounce off the building, maybe peek around from a corner and vomit over them..... or just sneakily pull the last one over the side of whatever vertical object makes the biggest SPLAT! Want to play that endless zombie panic, where ammo is tight and you wish you had a baseball bat? Check out survival... grab some propane tanks and gasoline cans, set them out at key choke points, flip the switch and start mowing them down, blowing them up, or making them do the zombie disco inferno. My origonal score for this game would have absolutely been a 10, but the lack of content is a killer. more than a year after release all they could come up with is hijacking the MOD community's ideas. 1 new minimap, not a full campaign. Good news is the mods are making up for Valve's stupidity, creating their own maps, betaing them, fixing them, and releasing them to the public. Even though the game is a year old and change, still expect some bugs, some more annoying than others. Steam's platform is questionable as well, often not allowing you to connect to something as simple as a friends list, not allowing you to one-click-join a friend's game from desktop. It adds up, and quickly at that. Lastly, you have the first promised main update to l4d1, which was to include new guns ("no re-skins whatsoever", valve's own words) and a bazooka, RPG, whatever your name preference..... Still waiting. 9 months. GG True score for this game should be 50/100, because being pathetically late on your promises and cashing out just a year in, is just ridiculous. Hindsight says the only time this game was worth buting was a 1/2 price weekend deal for $20. Even then, its questionable. Expand
  32. AnsatsuR.
    Sep 25, 2009
    6
    This game has fairly addictive game play, problem is they are not updating it as they said they would therefor the new content is not coming out in time to save this game. At this current time (9/25/09), this game has the longevity of around 3-4 weeks. When this game was released the graphics were behind almost two PC generations. The music is OK, it sort-of fits the games theme. It is This game has fairly addictive game play, problem is they are not updating it as they said they would therefor the new content is not coming out in time to save this game. At this current time (9/25/09), this game has the longevity of around 3-4 weeks. When this game was released the graphics were behind almost two PC generations. The music is OK, it sort-of fits the games theme. It is plagued by horrible AI, which seems to do nothing but shoot and run, rarely saves the players from the special infected, lack of updates, graphics that are not up to date, broken levels on versus mode (this is accurate some of the levels are completely unfinished yet valve released them.) My advise, only buy this if you are willing to take a risk on this game even though it is halfway broken you might get some fun out of it. Expand
  33. Hykernotimportant
    Nov 19, 2008
    7
    Its very awesome.I mean its one of the best games ever made.fast-paced action,best graphics,4-player coop where you can play with your friends etc. but theres 2 pullback and thats why I give it a 7 1.the demo was only available for 1 week before the game and if someones thinking of ordering it he cant try it out 2.the game is very expensive.Like,you watched a lots of vids and you liked Its very awesome.I mean its one of the best games ever made.fast-paced action,best graphics,4-player coop where you can play with your friends etc. but theres 2 pullback and thats why I give it a 7 1.the demo was only available for 1 week before the game and if someones thinking of ordering it he cant try it out 2.the game is very expensive.Like,you watched a lots of vids and you liked the game,plus everybody says its so good,so you want to try it out in the demo but you cant and then I say oh,okay,and you buy it but then you dont like it.And valve doesnt takes back the money.so you wasted 50$ on it. it was a huge problem that a game looks good and its expensive,but theres no demo I'll still give it a 7 because I think it may worth 50$ but for someone else it maybe won't be so good I think the 7 is fair enough. Expand
  34. MichaelWheeler
    Nov 24, 2008
    7
    If you've ever imagined yourself in a good, old fashioned zombie film, then now is your chance. L4D is the ultimate tribute to the zombie horror genre that George A Romero is so famously recognized for. The game has everything you need, the characters, the zombie types, even the cheesy script and music are present.
    Gameplay is fast and fun and set in a variety of locations. There
    If you've ever imagined yourself in a good, old fashioned zombie film, then now is your chance. L4D is the ultimate tribute to the zombie horror genre that George A Romero is so famously recognized for. The game has everything you need, the characters, the zombie types, even the cheesy script and music are present.
    Gameplay is fast and fun and set in a variety of locations. There are fantastic finales to each campaign and each one can take you hours to get through. Anyone who says that the game is too short is obviously playing on easy mode... Try expert guys.
    The weapons in the game are good although diversity throughout the different campaigns would have been nice. There just aren't enough weapons here and technically two of the stronger guns are just upgrades of the shotgun and uzi.
    Graphically the game is strong, especially when you have hordes of 30+ zombies charging at you. The steam engine has really been taken to the next level with L4D.

    Although L4D has alot of replay value there definetally isn't enough content. As i've said before there aren't enough weapons (You'll have encountered every one by your second level of play) but there also aren't enough characters. Having just 4 people to a game creates a nice balance and keeps the scenarios tense, but this atmosphere is broken slightly when your character dies and the exact same one is rescued from a side room minutes later. More boss zombies would also have been nice that could have been interchanged at each boss fight, hence allowing the director greater control of what was spawned. At the moment you always know which levels a tank is going to appear in. More boss zombies would keep the players on their toes. The number of user interactions are fairly small aswell. You can't share ammo or all of your equiptment with other players or give them guns. More interaction would have been very nice...

    Overall L4D earns a 7 from me. It's an excellent game but perhaps not good enough to empty the servers of css. Hopefully the modding community will show some great new media for the game in the near future.
    Expand
  35. BLout
    Nov 26, 2008
    7
    I don't know why some of you vote. All you guys need to vote here are a 0 a 1 a 9 and a 10 because those are always your only choices. Extremely awesome or shit.
    Anyway. The game has pros and cons, but like ALL multiplayer games you need a good team that works well together or you end up with n00bs that run away from you and do their own thing. If you have a group of friends that
    I don't know why some of you vote. All you guys need to vote here are a 0 a 1 a 9 and a 10 because those are always your only choices. Extremely awesome or shit.
    Anyway. The game has pros and cons, but like ALL multiplayer games you need a good team that works well together or you end up with n00bs that run away from you and do their own thing. If you have a group of friends that play well together you will have an awesome experience. Don't expect to just play with anybody and expect them to back you up the whoule time.
    Steele X... You gave it a zero to balance it out?? You should stick to some Sesame Street games or something.
    Expand
  36. JohnHoward
    Dec 22, 2008
    7
    OK,OK,OK,OK What happened?? 7 inst a bad score, but i was expecting a perfect 10, the demo i was like AWESOME, shooting zombies, no prob shooting zombies with friends SUPACALAFRICKINAWESOME, but then what happens when your friends cant play with you?? you get a shit whole of a game that's what. But the team co-op managed to get this up to a 1-2 to a 7 that's how great it is. But OK,OK,OK,OK What happened?? 7 inst a bad score, but i was expecting a perfect 10, the demo i was like AWESOME, shooting zombies, no prob shooting zombies with friends SUPACALAFRICKINAWESOME, but then what happens when your friends cant play with you?? you get a shit whole of a game that's what. But the team co-op managed to get this up to a 1-2 to a 7 that's how great it is. But maps needs to be varied, it usually plays like this. Like maybe a map where, you can drive, or meet other survivors that arnt jerks and alert the horse. To sum this game up its like Running into a Brick wall, no matter how much it makes you laugh eventually your gonna get knocked unconscious, SO this game is fun for like 1day Expand
  37. Annette
    Dec 23, 2008
    7
    Overall, this is a pretty good game. Who doesn't want to blow the heads off of countless zombies? One of the cons, however, is the storyline. There is NO plot at all. You see the beginning movie, and thats it. After you are rescued from Mercy Hospital, you end up in Riverview. It gives you no reason to really be there. So, if you are looking for hardcore zombie-fighting action, this Overall, this is a pretty good game. Who doesn't want to blow the heads off of countless zombies? One of the cons, however, is the storyline. There is NO plot at all. You see the beginning movie, and thats it. After you are rescued from Mercy Hospital, you end up in Riverview. It gives you no reason to really be there. So, if you are looking for hardcore zombie-fighting action, this is your game. If you actually want a purpose for fighting them and want a nice storyline to keep you hooked, go somewhere else. Expand
  38. wrestlingprodigy
    Dec 6, 2008
    6
    I'm kinda in between about this game . When I first opened it and started playing I was impressed with how smooth it is but as the next 2 hours roll on I had already played through the 4 levels offered in the game and yeah like everyone has stated there is really nothing random in the game because all the zombies and items are in the same place every single time . Now of course youI'm kinda in between about this game . When I first opened it and started playing I was impressed with how smooth it is but as the next 2 hours roll on I had already played through the 4 levels offered in the game and yeah like everyone has stated there is really nothing random in the game because all the zombies and items are in the same place every single time . Now of course you can always play Versus Mode which is ok for a while too until the server crashes which it almost always ends up doing which is really annoying and I can appreciate them trying to make it more realistic with friendly fire but when you get some one who is trigger happy and can't aim worth a damn you end up getting shot which I understand that's the whole point but that gets a little old too when you get some 12yr old who doesn't know what the hell they're doing. There are definitive pros and cons in the game . Maybe if they created some sort of memory erasing device that you could use before the start of every game because the 1st time playing it i had a lot of fun then after that was downhill. Expand
  39. ChristopherN
    Nov 4, 2009
    6
    II'm not sure but when it first came out I was not excited but after a while of gameplay I decided it was a really good game. But sadly it just got boring after boring. The achievments are great and fun to beat. The problem is that online players just like to fool around. I was disapointed when left 4 dead 2 came out. It made l4d a lot more boring. It was a game you should rent or II'm not sure but when it first came out I was not excited but after a while of gameplay I decided it was a really good game. But sadly it just got boring after boring. The achievments are great and fun to beat. The problem is that online players just like to fool around. I was disapointed when left 4 dead 2 came out. It made l4d a lot more boring. It was a game you should rent or try it out but I would wait until it gets to around $20. (Not to be mean but its a wallop when it first came out around $49.99). It's not recomended on xbox 360 since its even more harder to control and boringer. Yet on the PC is a breeze in the wind. So try it out yet i suggest a price drop since left 4 dead 2 is coming out. Expand
  40. StevenH
    Nov 7, 2009
    6
    A trite mod packaged as a full-price game. I played this about 18 hours or so before becoming bored with it, which is more than I can say for most games these days. Simply another stepping stone in a series of mod-games developed (acquired) by Valve rather than spending time making a real game or expansion such as Episode 3. And the worst part of it all: it actually sells. Welcome to the A trite mod packaged as a full-price game. I played this about 18 hours or so before becoming bored with it, which is more than I can say for most games these days. Simply another stepping stone in a series of mod-games developed (acquired) by Valve rather than spending time making a real game or expansion such as Episode 3. And the worst part of it all: it actually sells. Welcome to the end of PC gaming. Expand
  41. AndrewG.
    Feb 23, 2009
    6
    I echo a lot of comments here - 'good while it lasts'. This was fantastic fun for a short while in Co-op mode.
    ......But then there were no more levels, and after some repetition it became clear that the game stopped being scary, surprising or fun - and downloadable user-made levels are not solving this problem.
    Polished, but repetitive. .......This is a great pity - because
    I echo a lot of comments here - 'good while it lasts'. This was fantastic fun for a short while in Co-op mode.
    ......But then there were no more levels, and after some repetition it became clear that the game stopped being scary, surprising or fun - and downloadable user-made levels are not solving this problem.
    Polished, but repetitive.
    .......This is a great pity - because there are some excellent touches of depth (threads of messages scrawled on the walls by various survivors), and you get the feeling that a really remarkable story-driven campaign could have been gleaned from this game. But no, it's mindless fun for a few hours - and most won't look back.
    Expand
  42. NaytoE
    Feb 25, 2009
    5
    This games seems very much like half a game. Infact it's even less. There's a real lack of content here and it certainly isn't worth the £26.99 it's being sold for atm, I bought it during a promotion for £14.99 and still feel slighty ripped off. There's a lack of weapons, a lack of enemies, a lack of levels (4 campains broken into 5 smaller levels, This games seems very much like half a game. Infact it's even less. There's a real lack of content here and it certainly isn't worth the £26.99 it's being sold for atm, I bought it during a promotion for £14.99 and still feel slighty ripped off. There's a lack of weapons, a lack of enemies, a lack of levels (4 campains broken into 5 smaller levels, takes about 40 minutes to do a campain, 50 minutes max, so that's 4 hour of gameplay, which is very very poor for a full commercial release. You get more length from Pac Man) and a lack of choice within those levels (you run, gun, pick up med kit, heal buddy, recieve snidey remarks from children, hit a scripted trigger, enter zombies, repeat). The way it was advertised and the length it was in development made me expect more from it, especially the price tag and the fact it's a full commercial release. I've seen mods with more content than this, and those guys don't get paid! The user interface needs some serious work, you dont even get to choose what server you join, the computer picks for you and 9 times out of 10 it picks a laggy server in verses mode even though you clearly clicked co-op (and vice versa). If you're like me and remember people names, you'll remember the people from games that were total idiots, or kids and won't want to play with them, unfortunatly you cant see who you're joining till your loading the server up and the joy of that is when it picks the server you've just left 4 times in a row. Not good. Also using quick match takes forever as it starts connecting to full servers and bounces you back to the menu, it did this to me a wopping 17 times before i finally gave up and headed onto some better, ie/ TF2. TheUI can be fixed quite easily, but the length it's been out suggests to me they aren't going to do it. And now the gameplay, fun when you join chaps that actually want YOU to live as well as themselves, but the chances of that happening is very small. I've only joined a few games where team work has actually been used. Most of the time it's just every man for himself and first guy to the med kits heals as many times as possible so the others suffer (there's only 4 at each point, one each). I remember my frst Tank sighting, I was pummeled as everyone ran away from it (me being arrogant thought my shotty would blast his face off, I was greated with a big meaty fist), whilst he beat me to a pulp the others killed him, then refused to help me up and ran away hitting the 'Laugh' key, leaving me to slowly die whilst casting a vote to kick me. I really felt the love in my first ever game. My advice, if your looking for a team game with loads of content and replay value, by TeamFortress 2, it's got more to offer, isn't anywhere near as expensive and doesn't contain as many idiots (usually, it has its moments when teh new class packs are released). However, if you like playing the same strech of scenery with the same monsters popping in the same places enjoy navigating through a crappy, broken menu, love waiting to find servers only to be greated with lag and absolutley must play with ignorent, childish morons that you're supposed to work with and help out even though they've shot you in the face, vomitted abuse at you, used all the med packs, left you for dead (I apologise for that) voted to kick you and set you on fire, you must buy this. The players of this game have killed my willingness to give medpacks to others... They're mine... All mine!... *twitches* I don't hate the game, it can be a laugh with mates (when we all have time), but I hate 90% of the people I've played with. People will say it's not teh games fualt that I get thrust into servers with idiots, but it is. There's no way of avoiding mongtard players, there for it is the games fault. You can mute them, why can't you opt to avoid them? And this seriously isn't worth the money Valve are charging for it. If it was £10 and the interface was sorted, it'd get maybe a 6, and if immature planks were banned from life it'd get a 7. If both applied, it'd get an 8. Expand
  43. danm
    May 21, 2009
    7
    Not at all worth the hype. This game is as shallow as a puddle in the desert. I literally after playing the game for an hour thought "wow, this is seriously it?" Spraying at an endless bunch of idiotic zombies? A monkey could play this game well, and by the looks of things it seems like about 90% of the people who play this game are monkies. All glitz and glam, absolutely not substance Not at all worth the hype. This game is as shallow as a puddle in the desert. I literally after playing the game for an hour thought "wow, this is seriously it?" Spraying at an endless bunch of idiotic zombies? A monkey could play this game well, and by the looks of things it seems like about 90% of the people who play this game are monkies. All glitz and glam, absolutely not substance whatsoever. Expand
  44. VeryDisappointed
    Nov 23, 2008
    5
    The game is great..no question. The only problem I had was with the lack of LAN support. The Xbox version allows split-screen multi-player. On a PC...you have to buy a copy for every computer...and "log-in" to their STEAM service (basically a server lobby). Sorry...I'm not going to pay $100 for 2 copies of a game just to play co-op with my kids for a few weeks until they'reThe game is great..no question. The only problem I had was with the lack of LAN support. The Xbox version allows split-screen multi-player. On a PC...you have to buy a copy for every computer...and "log-in" to their STEAM service (basically a server lobby). Sorry...I'm not going to pay $100 for 2 copies of a game just to play co-op with my kids for a few weeks until they're bored of it.
    And I personally don't like having to register/subscribe to a "service" just to play a game...even single player. Microsoft did this with Gears of War (1). Screwed up a perfectly good game because of it.
    Expand
  45. DerekTarnawa
    Nov 23, 2008
    7
    Left 4 Dead was one of the games I was really looking foreward to upon release; The same cannot be said at this point though. Left 4 Dead is very fun and entertaining for just running around and blowing zombies up, but after playing it for a few hours, I had already finished the storyline. Unfortunate as that may be, it can last for a while with the co-op playability. Still, as cool asLeft 4 Dead was one of the games I was really looking foreward to upon release; The same cannot be said at this point though. Left 4 Dead is very fun and entertaining for just running around and blowing zombies up, but after playing it for a few hours, I had already finished the storyline. Unfortunate as that may be, it can last for a while with the co-op playability. Still, as cool as this game should have been, I just don't think it's worth paying $49.99. If you played the demo and you ended up playing that mission thousands of times, then maybe you should buy it. Anyone else should use that cash to buy Call of Duty 4 or World at War. Expand
  46. RonP
    Nov 29, 2008
    5
    Pro's: Fun to play, Great Coop gameplay.

    Cons: Not enough variety in zombies, Very few weapons to choose from, If you had played the demo you have basically seen the entire game. The game is a bit over priced for a 3 to 4 hours game time and the game is also lacking in variety as well as the graphics not really up to par on current gen hardware. All in all the game was fun but
    Pro's: Fun to play, Great Coop gameplay.

    Cons: Not enough variety in zombies, Very few weapons to choose from, If you had played the demo you have basically seen the entire game. The game is a bit over priced for a 3 to 4 hours game time and the game is also lacking in variety as well as the graphics not really up to par on current gen hardware.

    All in all the game was fun but in the long term (meaning past 3 hours of play time) one can only hope that a flood of custom maps and content come out although since HL2 I have noticed not many mods make it out of the gate to the public. I do not regret buying the game but It would be nice if the game was priced properly with its play time.
    Expand
  47. B.Phried
    Dec 12, 2008
    7
    Version: December 5th 2008.
    This is a very fun game the first time through, mowing zombies is fun, and the finales are fantastic. My biggest problem is that even with the AI director, this game starts to get very "samey".
    The AI director paces the game fantastically, places objects in strategic places so you can't use the same strategy twice, but the problem with a game like this
    Version: December 5th 2008.
    This is a very fun game the first time through, mowing zombies is fun, and the finales are fantastic. My biggest problem is that even with the AI director, this game starts to get very "samey".

    The AI director paces the game fantastically, places objects in strategic places so you can't use the same strategy twice, but the problem with a game like this is that though the levels are just as repetitive in competitive online shooters, a coop shooter doesn't have the same unpredictability as playing against a real player (though versus mode on TWO campaigns are available.)

    When playing on versus mode, you are playing against real people, although there isn't much difference between human players and ai players.

    My main complaints should be solved when map making is supported by default.

    Other complaints include:
    -very small (sometimes useless) arsenal:
    Although five weapons means that you can pick up and play very easily, but a small arsenal means that there isn't very diverse, especially when two of the weapons or simply upgrades of a previous tier and one weapon is almost useless in most situations.

    -No browser:
    How are we supposed to sort through custom maps with no way to choose which server to join (without using console commands). should be fixed soon though.

    on an end note:
    Buy this game, just don't buy it yet. If you can find this game for $-30 then go for it, otherwise wait a few more patches until all the basic problems are fixed.
    Expand
  48. Oct 2, 2011
    6
    I was pretty excited for this game till i played it. Its not bad, it has fun mechanics and multiplayer. id rather play a differnt multiplayer game, i dont see the point in buying this game if u already got day of defeat, counterstrike 2 or team fortress 2. Just like most zombie games its hugley overrated and has nothing memorable about it. But if you like shooting zombies then buy it butI was pretty excited for this game till i played it. Its not bad, it has fun mechanics and multiplayer. id rather play a differnt multiplayer game, i dont see the point in buying this game if u already got day of defeat, counterstrike 2 or team fortress 2. Just like most zombie games its hugley overrated and has nothing memorable about it. But if you like shooting zombies then buy it but you may get bored after the first month or 2 Expand
  49. Sep 20, 2011
    7
    The best bot-massive horror FPS ever made ! Obviously I'm not even comparing it to the second version, but it really is a little something ! Obviously there are some things to be improved like the Aim, the Weapons, The Zombie Inteligence and the way zombies appear.
  50. Mar 29, 2015
    7
    This game is ONLY to play online, single player campaign is a disaster, voice acting is very poor, and the AI IS LAUGHABLE AT BEST. Very mediocre gameplay, but very good graphics, and the plot is just ok.
    This game does not deserve more than 7, the game fails in the single player mode, full of bugs and glitches, the AI is one of the worst i have ever seen along with counter strike, they
    This game is ONLY to play online, single player campaign is a disaster, voice acting is very poor, and the AI IS LAUGHABLE AT BEST. Very mediocre gameplay, but very good graphics, and the plot is just ok.
    This game does not deserve more than 7, the game fails in the single player mode, full of bugs and glitches, the AI is one of the worst i have ever seen along with counter strike, they don't even bothered in make a good friendly and enemy AI.

    Good (+):
    - Storyline
    - Graphics
    - Music
    - Ambientation
    - A good ammount of gore

    Bad (-):

    - Laughable AI, a total disaster.
    - Very Short campaigns.
    - Not a good variety of weapons
    - Poor voice acting
    - Bad gameplay and bad controls.
    - No replay value.

    Play Resident Evil or Killing Floor Instead.
    Expand
  51. May 18, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  52. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    This game is pretty decent.not better than resident evil.the pros.1.gory.2.partners3.variety of wepons.4.lots of running zombies. Cons. 1.unrealistic with unlimited ammo.2.no scenes or other survivors.3.no that good graphics.4.no suspense,because samething happens all the time.other than that it was ok.
  53. Jul 5, 2013
    6
    i bought it yesterday and i didnt had fun with this game,this is the first time i am not enjoying a valve game.
    the graphics are horrible the gameplay isnt fun.but........ if you want to play a good zombie game i bought with this game the sequel(left 4 dead 2)and that is an amazing game.
    both game are 5 dollars on steam so if you want to enjoy from a good zombie game buy the bundle of
    i bought it yesterday and i didnt had fun with this game,this is the first time i am not enjoying a valve game.
    the graphics are horrible the gameplay isnt fun.but........ if you want to play a good zombie game i bought with this game the sequel(left 4 dead 2)and that is an amazing game.
    both game are 5 dollars on steam so if you want to enjoy from a good zombie game buy the bundle of the 2 games on steam it costs 7 dollars.
    Expand
  54. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    An immersive co-op zombie apocalypse with a natural story telling method. Effectively creates tense atmosphere with dense environments & environmental effects, varied & believable environments ranging from an airport to a farm, and a memorable musical cue system for when zombies attack. My major gripe is the lack of post-release support considering the developer. Sadly, the community forAn immersive co-op zombie apocalypse with a natural story telling method. Effectively creates tense atmosphere with dense environments & environmental effects, varied & believable environments ranging from an airport to a farm, and a memorable musical cue system for when zombies attack. My major gripe is the lack of post-release support considering the developer. Sadly, the community for this and it's sequel are really bad and you will need a group of 4 friends if you want to play this. Although relatively short, this is an outstanding co-op experience and is still worth picking up if your friends are playing it. Expand
  55. Jun 11, 2013
    5
    The game is nothing special at all, It is very good, the story its absolutely horrible, and the game play is good, the graphics aren't that great. The game is actually based in multyplayer so lets talk about that, I like it but the only thing you can do its just CREATE or JOIN a server and play... the game, shooting zombies with online players. a thing that i enjoy in this game is the factThe game is nothing special at all, It is very good, the story its absolutely horrible, and the game play is good, the graphics aren't that great. The game is actually based in multyplayer so lets talk about that, I like it but the only thing you can do its just CREATE or JOIN a server and play... the game, shooting zombies with online players. a thing that i enjoy in this game is the fact of it forces you play by teamwork which is really bad at single player but i don't really even care about single player. You have mutation (very original) also enjoyed the mutation then you have Realism... I don't understand what are they getting at with the realism thing, is it for pro players that want to play it at the maximum difficulty? Or just really really hard to pass? for that they have expert, and why would players that want to play high difficult games would play Left 4 Dead 2? I don't know, its very boring to pass the adventure part, and at multyplayer why would you even want to play expert at multyplayer? Actually Multyplayer really bores me in this game that's why i don't give a very good review, However, i don't rate it Very bad just because of the mutation section and, also, a thing that i act really interesting that i think it made this game worth to buy, Versus. The fact that you can be a monster in a zombie game it's cool, and specially playing ONLINE against the real characters of the game and the ONLINE zombies. The fact that you're playing against a zombie that's a online player it really really enjoys me. It's not good not bad, I had really great times with this game but i also had really great time with another games that are so much better then this one... So i don't really think its a ''awesome'' game. Expand
  56. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    Un gran juego de zombis donde cooperar y entenderse forma parte de la victoria, es divertido y entretenido. El juego engancha mucho la verdad pero a lo largo de las misiones éstas se vuelven repetitivas, siempre es hacer lo mismo y los enemigos finales siempre son los mismos, por lo demas, gráficos, doblaje al español y jugabilidad el juego es muy bueno, por ello lo recomiendo sin lugar aUn gran juego de zombis donde cooperar y entenderse forma parte de la victoria, es divertido y entretenido. El juego engancha mucho la verdad pero a lo largo de las misiones éstas se vuelven repetitivas, siempre es hacer lo mismo y los enemigos finales siempre son los mismos, por lo demas, gráficos, doblaje al español y jugabilidad el juego es muy bueno, por ello lo recomiendo sin lugar a dudas. Expand
  57. Jan 10, 2015
    6
    L4D2 mato a este juego... No malgaste tu dinero en este juego, la comunidad esta muerta. Ve con L4D2, es una versión Plus+DLC. Pero si hablamos de lo que tiene es un shooter de zombies, ahí zombies especiales y vas del punto A al B. Es simple, pero muy adictivo. De no ser por que el 2 es una versión con DLC de este lo podría recomendar, consigue L4D2 que no te arrepentirás.
  58. Apr 5, 2016
    7
    Okay, so by the score I've given, you probably want to crucify me, but please hear me out. This game is the first zombie game of this kind to incorporate the hordes of unique zombies and a squad of players against all odd-... oh what, that's Killing Floor. So yeah, while the game is innovative, it didn't start the genre like people thing, sort of like how people credit COD4 for startingOkay, so by the score I've given, you probably want to crucify me, but please hear me out. This game is the first zombie game of this kind to incorporate the hordes of unique zombies and a squad of players against all odd-... oh what, that's Killing Floor. So yeah, while the game is innovative, it didn't start the genre like people thing, sort of like how people credit COD4 for starting off the modern FPS from WW2, when Battlefield 2 did the same thing 3 years earlier, and COD4 just drew inspiration (as a matter of fact, BF2 was inspired by the Desert Combat mod for BF1942, which technically makes most modern military FPS inspirations of inspirations of inspirations). But back to Killing Flo- I mean L4D. The gunplay is really neat and satisfying, though the weapons can sometimes feel really stiff and the lack of any sort of sights or zoom-in option is kind of annoying in my opinion (noticing a trend here Valve; it was fine for Half-Life and TF2, but it can get annoying in a game like this). The animations are also kind of stiff and the outlines on objects now look laughably outdated, but the textures still hold up for the most part.

    But lets tackle the immediate, the games biggest strength and greatest weakness: the core gameplay loop. This loop is as addicting as it is mind-numbing, and it depends on your style. If you get easily bored by repetition in gameplay, then stay as far away from this game as possible. If you LIKE this sort of repetition, then go ahead and get the damn game. You WILL be happy with your purchase. Ultimately, I managed to squeeze out around 50 hours of gameplay before I got bored and took a long break from the game. The reason I couldn't last as long here when compared to other horde-mode survival games like PAYDAY 2 or Killing Floor is due to the lack of permanent progression. The two games I just mentioned have skill trees, which give you something to work towards from match-to-match, and even when you reach the max level (or in the case of KF, the max level of each class), there is still loads of experimenting to be done with skills and the like. L4D lacks that sort of thing; each new round is a fresh start and the only skills that you retain through the hours are those embedded your head, not in code. Another problem I have with this game when compared to its competitors is the lack of weapons. There are but a few weapons in the game, though to be fair they all play pretty differently (L4D2 fixed this somewhat with new guns, and I'll be reviewing the two games like one, because L4D2 is less of a new game and more of a rehaul pack). However, this lack of initial content is somewhat remedied by the same sort of thing that allowed Half-Life to become the greatest FPS of all time and what allowed me to clock over 1000 hours into Minecraft over around 4 years: MODS!!! The modding community for L4D, while not as substantial as for other Valve games like HL2, is still very very large. These mods add at least 10 extra hours, from making the Tank zombies into giant Kool-Aid men, to all-new maps, weapons, and even the occasional character re-skin or new zombie type. Also the characters are awesome.

    Conclusion: A repetitive, but addicting horde game with a lack of initial content and a "sequel" with the same issues, which is partially remedied by mods which can double the gameplay time. 6/10 without mods, 8/10 with mods. Also, don't get it on consoles, though I'm pretty sure that's a given for a Valve game.
    Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  2. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.
  3. 92
    One of the finest zombie games ever made, and one of the finest co-op games ever made. The potential for everything to go so, so wrong without warning, or conversely to pull off the most spectacular escapes against all odds, means this is an online shooter you can tell your finest anecdotes about without boring everyone else to tears.