Left 4 Dead PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3723 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Best game of 2008, kinda short, but thanks to the AI Director every game just doesn't feels like the other, even when you play the same map over and over again... Looks like everybody who bought it is way too busy to comment about it here by now, kinda underrated by critics... it deserves a better score than 89.
  2. MichaelK.
    Apr 20, 2009
    10
    I dislike Zombie games. But Left 4 Dead is a really BIG exception. Its really a special gameplay. It has a fast gameplay with long-time gaming-fun. The Director is one of the best features in the game. He forces the Team-Mates to work together. Non-Team play will be punished immediatelly. And thats it what makes the game to a perfect MP-Game!
  3. JoséOuellet
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Très beau graphisme, très bon gameplay mais la durée de vie de ce jeu se limite à son nombre de scénario disponible, ici je parle de maps. Le joueur fera très rapidement le tour des scénarios disponible et pourra donc affecter légèrement le gameplay. Les concepteurs de Left 4 Dead vont tout simplement parier sur le fait que lesTrès beau graphisme, très bon gameplay mais la durée de vie de ce jeu se limite à son nombre de scénario disponible, ici je parle de maps. Le joueur fera très rapidement le tour des scénarios disponible et pourra donc affecter légèrement le gameplay. Les concepteurs de Left 4 Dead vont tout simplement parier sur le fait que les fans rajouteront des maps de leur touche personnelle comme dans les autres titres de Valve (ex: Counter-Strike), pour augmenter la durée de vie du jeu. Pas une location, mais un achat. Sachez que Valve publie toujours des jeux non complets. Donc Left 4 Dead ne sera méconnaissable dans 2 ans, lorsque toutes les patchs et addons seront faits. Expand
  4. AlexB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Overall, this game did everything it set out to do, and well. You have a game that forces you to think ahead, and act as a team. Or act reflexivly, and be devoured alone. There is no doubt that this game, is perhaps the beginning of a new brand of zombie game. Hopefully valve will give updates, such as more campaigns or tools and that will lock me in for an 11 out of 10.
  5. SamRoark
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    A great game, worth every penny i paid, versus is great campain is awsome, and all the other great things, i have already replayed all 4 campains 3 times each and i still love the game just as much as when i got it, the only way i can think you would hate it is if you dont have that many friends who play L4D, I highly highly recomend reading owners manual so you better understand how toA great game, worth every penny i paid, versus is great campain is awsome, and all the other great things, i have already replayed all 4 campains 3 times each and i still love the game just as much as when i got it, the only way i can think you would hate it is if you dont have that many friends who play L4D, I highly highly recomend reading owners manual so you better understand how to play the game Expand
  6. JamesBlackwell
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    For me, few things could be more fun than attempting to survive the zombie apocalypse. I have spent over 100 hours in this game in the first month that I have owned it. I love this game for a few simple reasons; Firstly, the game has been excellently designed to make cooperative play a pivotal part of the game. Teams that work together well do well. Players that strike it out on their ownFor me, few things could be more fun than attempting to survive the zombie apocalypse. I have spent over 100 hours in this game in the first month that I have owned it. I love this game for a few simple reasons; Firstly, the game has been excellently designed to make cooperative play a pivotal part of the game. Teams that work together well do well. Players that strike it out on their own are inevitably punished for abandoning their teammates. In the unusual, but not rare, event that you end up with an obnoxious teammate, you can enjoy watching them die a slow painful death as punishment for not playing nice. The only downside to this game is that the game servers, especially during holidays, are unreliable. Expand
  7. DreadMuffin
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    I've played each movie countless times over, and it never gets boring. The AI director does a great job making the game difficult and never the same. The sound effects and music cues create a suspenseful environment that fits the zombie genre very well. Even the bots, although not replacement for humanoids, make decent company (I like how they heal actual players before NPCs). II've played each movie countless times over, and it never gets boring. The AI director does a great job making the game difficult and never the same. The sound effects and music cues create a suspenseful environment that fits the zombie genre very well. Even the bots, although not replacement for humanoids, make decent company (I like how they heal actual players before NPCs). I really hope to see some form of the AI director in other Valve games. I've always been happy with Valve, they've got some talented people who must work very hard to create multiplayer masterpieces like Left 4 Dead and Team Fortress 2.
    Steele X -- Why would you rate it as a 0 to "balance" it out? If they're good, and you think they are, vote it what YOU think it is, regardless of other peoples' votes.
    Expand
  8. Boo
    Dec 9, 2008
    8
    if you say that in this game tactics is not important you probably never finished a campaign to advanced level ...
    cooperation is facilitated by playing with people who you know. The system to create server is not perfect. For a perfect gaming experience is better to use the command "openbrowserserver" to find a low ping room because the game often lag.
    Btw i give a 8 and update and
    if you say that in this game tactics is not important you probably never finished a campaign to advanced level ...
    cooperation is facilitated by playing with people who you know. The system to create server is not perfect. For a perfect gaming experience is better to use the command "openbrowserserver" to find a low ping room because the game often lag.
    Btw i give a 8 and update and user mod will increase valutation
    Expand
  9. Josh
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    Okay. Everyone says this game is boring. Wtf?! I have played pretty much every zombie game out there and RE4 and Left 4 Dead are the two best ones. The only problem is that Easy, Regular, and Advanced are cake and Expert requires intense and well used team work.

    This game is so much fun online and I plan to play it for more months to come.
  10. Kookoocachoo
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    To Steele X, your rating system is completely illogical so therefore your entire post is worthless and should be removed. "But the game worked differently than what I thought it would be..." so you gave it a ZERO?!!! One of the best CO-OP games around, no wonder no one wants to play with you steele X, you're a whiny *&^%&!
  11. AdamC.
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    This game is simply amazing. Never before have I seen a game so co-op orientated and yet being so much fun. It's thrilling as the zombies will charge at you full pelt, a nice difference to the whole "slow braindead" zombies. Not to mention the infected bosses, the witch is just amazingly creepy, yet really fun to annoy at the same time. Unless she isn't much of a sport and This game is simply amazing. Never before have I seen a game so co-op orientated and yet being so much fun. It's thrilling as the zombies will charge at you full pelt, a nice difference to the whole "slow braindead" zombies. Not to mention the infected bosses, the witch is just amazingly creepy, yet really fun to annoy at the same time. Unless she isn't much of a sport and decides to shred you to peices...... The only down side to this game is that SOMETIMES you may get an annoying team, where for instance last night I was playing infected, all ways top of the team. Got vote kicked for no reason at all, completely out of the blue votes like that suck. Expand
  12. S.T.A.R.S.
    May 30, 2009
    8
    Some good words to describe the game are awesome, fun, addicting, intense. It's biggest drawback however is the lack of content. Only four campaigns? This is coming from someone who, litterally, has beat the game inside and out, then played it more, and still plays it to this day. I've played co-op, campaign, even the newly released survivor modes. I have every achievement Some good words to describe the game are awesome, fun, addicting, intense. It's biggest drawback however is the lack of content. Only four campaigns? This is coming from someone who, litterally, has beat the game inside and out, then played it more, and still plays it to this day. I've played co-op, campaign, even the newly released survivor modes. I have every achievement possible, done all there is to do. But... only four campaigns? I was hoping for more campaigns, not a single level you can't escape with a light house. Sure, the developer kit will probably be released soon and people can make their own maps... but if there aren't some more official maps released as well Im going to be let down again. There's only so much we as a community can do, honestly. What makes a big part of the game fun is the survivors, their quirks, the dialogue they say to one another. From Francis's frequent reminders of everything he hates to Bills constant complaint about walking up and down stairs and so on, there is absolutely nothing new we as a community can do to make that ourselves. There's just so much more Valve could have added to the game by now and they haven't. I know plenty of my friends I've played with stop to "take a break" from the game because they feel the same, whether they actively say it or not. For how much it cost, there should have been more content. Sure, the replayability is awesome. I've spent over a hundred hours, probably closer to two, playing about 4or 5 hours worth of content. So think how much better the game would be with another 4 or 5 hours of content. That's right... I want at least another 4 campaigns... and no, I don't want a left for dead 2, I want more for this one. I've already heard about it... really what's stopping that from being more new content? New characters to play as, new levels to choose from? I think Valve would be doing everyone like me a diservice if they did anything less, especially considering games like half life and the super fantastic orange box. Seriously, look at all your fans cheering you on here, giving you the benefit of the doubt. Don't let us down. I'm not even saying give us our money's worth... live up to your already stellar reputation... give us what you already know your loyal community deserves. Once again, prove you can go above and beyond all our expectations, it's what put you where you are now after all. Until then, I don't think I can give the game anything better than an 8. Expand
  13. scotd
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    what do you get when you mix: -four friends -five campagnes -4 game modes -8 weapons -an ai that actualy populates the level as you progres -and a whole buttload of zombies? you get the most replayble game ever made, you can easily spend 20-40 hours on this game just play the base four campagne, and that not includeing the dlc and user created content for pc!
  14. StuartR
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    Fun, realistic zombie movie experience... way too hard when using single player though - the bots are just not smart enough....
  15. J.Midnight
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    Zombies, Guns and Online Co-Op. That's all this game really is. Though it may be a very, very simple premise; Left 4 Dead is an outstandingly enjoyable game. Not a true 10 only for one reason. NO STORY. Simply put: THIS IS NO SINGLE PLAYER GAME. To truly enjoy this you need an active Internet connection. While many will see this as a fault, this is an inspired move. As Left 4 Dead Zombies, Guns and Online Co-Op. That's all this game really is. Though it may be a very, very simple premise; Left 4 Dead is an outstandingly enjoyable game. Not a true 10 only for one reason. NO STORY. Simply put: THIS IS NO SINGLE PLAYER GAME. To truly enjoy this you need an active Internet connection. While many will see this as a fault, this is an inspired move. As Left 4 Dead has only one goal in mind and that is replayability. Thus, the total lack of ending helps create and bring that one fact home: every time you play, every time you pick up your pistol, every night you will spend playing this game over and over and over is a new and horrifying experience. No Way Around it: Fun Fun Fun. Expand
  16. mmaas
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    DAVID N you have any idea what you are talking about?? metacritics please remove his comment this is a AWESOME GAME and its no mods
  17. RomanO
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    Video killed the radio star. Very sad but what had to be an expansion for L4D, but became L4D2 killed this game. Why Valve? :(
  18. GerwimF.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Love the AI Director which randomly places zombies and items.. I love the teamwork (co-op) aswell.!!
  19. JamieH.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I really like the originality to this game. There are very few games out there with challenging horror scenes, most zombies or "infected" people move slow, and the game tends to be running backward and shooting. On this, if you run backwards, chances are they're gonna catch up and something WILL get you from behind. The AI is superb, the only problems i did find was that the I really like the originality to this game. There are very few games out there with challenging horror scenes, most zombies or "infected" people move slow, and the game tends to be running backward and shooting. On this, if you run backwards, chances are they're gonna catch up and something WILL get you from behind. The AI is superb, the only problems i did find was that the animations, although they are amazingly fluent and smooth, they do not hit the world: When an infected jumps up at you, their hands won't be hanging on the ledge, they will be either below, or infront of it. There are some infected that are just stood on tables, and seem to be floating. The boss and AI direction system is amazing, the way the zombies react, attack and act is fabulous. This game is amazing - and i have only done one chapter so far! 10/10 regardless of the ai things, this game still deserves a 10/10. Expand
  20. J.S.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    L4D is the best zombie game of all time. Coop is addictive and the AI director changes things up on you each time you play leaving the potential for a huge amount of replayability. Versus is excellent as well. 4 zombies try to stop 4 humans from reaching safety and the teams switch to see which human side can get the farthest with the most survivors still standing. It is so satisfying toL4D is the best zombie game of all time. Coop is addictive and the AI director changes things up on you each time you play leaving the potential for a huge amount of replayability. Versus is excellent as well. 4 zombies try to stop 4 humans from reaching safety and the teams switch to see which human side can get the farthest with the most survivors still standing. It is so satisfying to just barely pull things together as a survivor and make it to the saferoom with a mob at your heels, or as a zombie to yank a survivor away from the group and watch your team rip him to shreds. One of the most impressive aspects of the game is how polished it is, particularly with regards to the animations. The sense of momentum that the zombie horde has when it charges you is just amazing, and it really feels like your weapon is connecting when you smash a zombie with the end of a gun and it goes reeling back. The only critique I have is directed at the matchmaking system. There's no way to select where the server you want to play in is located, or whether it is modified or not, so if you're unlucky, you might end up in a server with cheats enabled or one that's just horribly laggy. Expand
  21. CraigF.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Everything you would expect after playing HL2 and its follow up episodes. This game will not disappoint and the AI is unreal. The computer controlled characters play better than some online controlled players. Lots of fun, constantly changing and very fast paced.
  22. Ryan
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    Although the survival horror + zombies thing has been done to death, Valve still manages to make L4D interesting and fun. The Director system insures that each time you play through a level, it will be a different experience. It loses one point, however, because in order to fully enjoy the game, you've gotta play with 3 other people. The game was definitely made to be played with 4Although the survival horror + zombies thing has been done to death, Valve still manages to make L4D interesting and fun. The Director system insures that each time you play through a level, it will be a different experience. It loses one point, however, because in order to fully enjoy the game, you've gotta play with 3 other people. The game was definitely made to be played with 4 survivors on expert mode. Expand
  23. NickNguyen
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    I've been playing this game since when it was released until now. IMO, it's a fun game and is insanely challenging. After 4 days of playing, I was able to beat one of the four campaigns on expert. There're also achievements to make the game more fun, maybe unlocking them will release something like valve did with TF2. Also, I heard valve would be updating L4D just like TF2I've been playing this game since when it was released until now. IMO, it's a fun game and is insanely challenging. After 4 days of playing, I was able to beat one of the four campaigns on expert. There're also achievements to make the game more fun, maybe unlocking them will release something like valve did with TF2. Also, I heard valve would be updating L4D just like TF2 so there'd be more options Expand
  24. DanielHan
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    Unfortunately, i am one of those idiots who give this game 10.
    Just to balance yours out.
    And this game is great. Those people who give this game crappy reviews, haven't actually played this game the way it was meant to be played. It was meant to be played with friends, not by yourself, lonely in singleplayer. It's supposed to be fun! And those people who claim it's easy,
    Unfortunately, i am one of those idiots who give this game 10.
    Just to balance yours out.
    And this game is great. Those people who give this game crappy reviews, haven't actually played this game the way it was meant to be played. It was meant to be played with friends, not by yourself, lonely in singleplayer. It's supposed to be fun! And those people who claim it's easy, should get out of easy mode and try expert.
    Expand
  25. MaartenvanHees
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    id say this is by far the best co-op game ive seen in a bit. Yes the levels are lineair, but this AI Director thing puts in enough replayabilty for me to keep on playing. Its especially fun when playing with 4 people on LAN or with Ventrilo/Teamspeak. The graphics are absolutely stunning, and it runs very good. m8 of mine has this nvidia 7300 laptop card and runs it fine with low settingsid say this is by far the best co-op game ive seen in a bit. Yes the levels are lineair, but this AI Director thing puts in enough replayabilty for me to keep on playing. Its especially fun when playing with 4 people on LAN or with Ventrilo/Teamspeak. The graphics are absolutely stunning, and it runs very good. m8 of mine has this nvidia 7300 laptop card and runs it fine with low settings and high screen resolution. One drawback is the relative short campaigns, but then again theres this versus mode wich is a complete laugh every time i play it. so yeh, id give this a 10 for the way the co-op element has been implemented. Expand
  26. ChrisTaylor
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    Frantic! I love it! Get "Boomered" and you know about it man- time to run, shoot and shoot while running-! Everything a zombie game ever wanted to be and more. And i've only played the first three acts of Pt 1!! Heard the witches crying but not seen one yet-. Glad of it too. I love it.
  27. FroDo
    Dec 21, 2008
    8
    When i preordered this game and played the demo, i bit my ass cause the demo was a bad joke... i cried that i payed 50$ for this game. But after playing the full version i changed my mind. This game is so much fun, even if there are just 4 campaigns in Co-Op and 2 in Versus, every experience is different in some way. Personally i prefer the expert mode. You die very often, but the When i preordered this game and played the demo, i bit my ass cause the demo was a bad joke... i cried that i payed 50$ for this game. But after playing the full version i changed my mind. This game is so much fun, even if there are just 4 campaigns in Co-Op and 2 in Versus, every experience is different in some way. Personally i prefer the expert mode. You die very often, but the survival factor is the biggest... if you dont play perfectly in a team you won't survive a single part of the campaign. The games pros are obvious, so i stop here but here come the cons: -some servers are badly lagging and even if you are in the same country sometimes you get completely differnet pings with your friends -sometimes the servers just crash when they are loading the next level -the graphics are ok, but nothing special. I think the source engine is just too old now, they should have licenced something like Cry oder Unreal Engine. -Easy Normal and hard are just TOO easy and the expert mode makes a big jump to nearly impossible, here valve should do something sorry for my bad english, i hop you understand what i would like to say. Expand
  28. Simon
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    I think this game is amazingly good.

    Many people voted very low, based on their experience with the demo. The difference between the real game / demo is huge. You have not fully experienced the game until you've owned a versus game. Talking, laughing in the microphone, the feel of kjumping a left-behind player. Killing him and being congratulated. The feel of that is rare in a
    I think this game is amazingly good.

    Many people voted very low, based on their experience with the demo.
    The difference between the real game / demo is huge.
    You have not fully experienced the game until you've owned a versus game. Talking, laughing in the microphone, the feel of kjumping a left-behind player. Killing him and being congratulated. The feel of that is rare in a game and L4D definately has it.

    Also, the graphics / sounds is really good. So it the layout of the game.

    10 / 10.
    PS. A bit repetative but still beyond all my expectations.
    Expand
  29. MattMcMinn
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. Picked it up at 5pm and couldn't put it down until 2am. It has exciting game play and when you play with friends it gets even better. I was skeptical of versus mode but its a lot of fun to be the zombies. My only complaint in reference to that is that is the spawn system is picky but you get used to it after about 5 mins.
  30. AlanG.
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    Despite several drawbacks this game presents a cooperative multiplayer experience the likes of which have never been seen before. While many games include multiplayer team combat, this game stresses teamwork and tactics beyond beyond what games like TF2 and CS:S are able to deliver on a consistent basis. The four player team creates a dynamic where cooperation is an absolute necessity for Despite several drawbacks this game presents a cooperative multiplayer experience the likes of which have never been seen before. While many games include multiplayer team combat, this game stresses teamwork and tactics beyond beyond what games like TF2 and CS:S are able to deliver on a consistent basis. The four player team creates a dynamic where cooperation is an absolute necessity for success, especially so on the harder difficulties. Gameplay revolves between periods of relative calm and times of extreme duress. The most fitting word to describe the latter is intense! No matter the skill of you and your comrades, there will be moments when the survival of your group is far from a certainty, especially given the random nature of the director. The intensity of the game tends to only increase as the level progresses, as wounded survivors are often met with an uncomfortable lack of medkits when they are most needed. The sound and graphics are thoroughly polished, and despite the age of the source engine its upgrades ensure that the game looks great and has plenty of eye candy. Once again, Valve's trademark attention to detail has made for a vibrant and immersing atmosphere. The ability to blow holes in or destroy doors is a fun new addition that also significantly alters the gameplay mechanic. While the story is underdeveloped, in game chatter between the characters reveals a great deal about their personalities, and makes them seem very real. There are some drawbacks, however. The game is relatively short, especially if played on the lower difficulties, and the weapon selection is somewhat minimal. These should not be a major issue, the game is meant to be played on expert in order to prepare a player for the even more difficult versus mode (which is an absolute blast), and the guns that are present are finely crafted and simply feel right. The replayability of this game is excellent, and is only compounded by the director and versus mode. As is, this game is very exciting and will keep many players hooked for an indefinite amount of hours. Given Valve's devotion to updates and the enthusiastic mod community, I only expect this game to improve as time goes on. I give this game a 9.3 out of 10. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  2. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.
  3. 92
    One of the finest zombie games ever made, and one of the finest co-op games ever made. The potential for everything to go so, so wrong without warning, or conversely to pull off the most spectacular escapes against all odds, means this is an online shooter you can tell your finest anecdotes about without boring everyone else to tears.