Left 4 Dead PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3762 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Best game of 2008, kinda short, but thanks to the AI Director every game just doesn't feels like the other, even when you play the same map over and over again... Looks like everybody who bought it is way too busy to comment about it here by now, kinda underrated by critics... it deserves a better score than 89.
  2. MichaelK.
    Apr 20, 2009
    10
    I dislike Zombie games. But Left 4 Dead is a really BIG exception. Its really a special gameplay. It has a fast gameplay with long-time gaming-fun. The Director is one of the best features in the game. He forces the Team-Mates to work together. Non-Team play will be punished immediatelly. And thats it what makes the game to a perfect MP-Game!
  3. AlexB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Overall, this game did everything it set out to do, and well. You have a game that forces you to think ahead, and act as a team. Or act reflexivly, and be devoured alone. There is no doubt that this game, is perhaps the beginning of a new brand of zombie game. Hopefully valve will give updates, such as more campaigns or tools and that will lock me in for an 11 out of 10.
  4. SamRoark
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    A great game, worth every penny i paid, versus is great campain is awsome, and all the other great things, i have already replayed all 4 campains 3 times each and i still love the game just as much as when i got it, the only way i can think you would hate it is if you dont have that many friends who play L4D, I highly highly recomend reading owners manual so you better understand how toA great game, worth every penny i paid, versus is great campain is awsome, and all the other great things, i have already replayed all 4 campains 3 times each and i still love the game just as much as when i got it, the only way i can think you would hate it is if you dont have that many friends who play L4D, I highly highly recomend reading owners manual so you better understand how to play the game Expand
  5. JamesBlackwell
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    For me, few things could be more fun than attempting to survive the zombie apocalypse. I have spent over 100 hours in this game in the first month that I have owned it. I love this game for a few simple reasons; Firstly, the game has been excellently designed to make cooperative play a pivotal part of the game. Teams that work together well do well. Players that strike it out on their ownFor me, few things could be more fun than attempting to survive the zombie apocalypse. I have spent over 100 hours in this game in the first month that I have owned it. I love this game for a few simple reasons; Firstly, the game has been excellently designed to make cooperative play a pivotal part of the game. Teams that work together well do well. Players that strike it out on their own are inevitably punished for abandoning their teammates. In the unusual, but not rare, event that you end up with an obnoxious teammate, you can enjoy watching them die a slow painful death as punishment for not playing nice. The only downside to this game is that the game servers, especially during holidays, are unreliable. Expand
  6. DreadMuffin
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    I've played each movie countless times over, and it never gets boring. The AI director does a great job making the game difficult and never the same. The sound effects and music cues create a suspenseful environment that fits the zombie genre very well. Even the bots, although not replacement for humanoids, make decent company (I like how they heal actual players before NPCs). II've played each movie countless times over, and it never gets boring. The AI director does a great job making the game difficult and never the same. The sound effects and music cues create a suspenseful environment that fits the zombie genre very well. Even the bots, although not replacement for humanoids, make decent company (I like how they heal actual players before NPCs). I really hope to see some form of the AI director in other Valve games. I've always been happy with Valve, they've got some talented people who must work very hard to create multiplayer masterpieces like Left 4 Dead and Team Fortress 2.
    Steele X -- Why would you rate it as a 0 to "balance" it out? If they're good, and you think they are, vote it what YOU think it is, regardless of other peoples' votes.
    Expand
  7. Kookoocachoo
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    To Steele X, your rating system is completely illogical so therefore your entire post is worthless and should be removed. "But the game worked differently than what I thought it would be..." so you gave it a ZERO?!!! One of the best CO-OP games around, no wonder no one wants to play with you steele X, you're a whiny *&^%&!
  8. AdamC.
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    This game is simply amazing. Never before have I seen a game so co-op orientated and yet being so much fun. It's thrilling as the zombies will charge at you full pelt, a nice difference to the whole "slow braindead" zombies. Not to mention the infected bosses, the witch is just amazingly creepy, yet really fun to annoy at the same time. Unless she isn't much of a sport and This game is simply amazing. Never before have I seen a game so co-op orientated and yet being so much fun. It's thrilling as the zombies will charge at you full pelt, a nice difference to the whole "slow braindead" zombies. Not to mention the infected bosses, the witch is just amazingly creepy, yet really fun to annoy at the same time. Unless she isn't much of a sport and decides to shred you to peices...... The only down side to this game is that SOMETIMES you may get an annoying team, where for instance last night I was playing infected, all ways top of the team. Got vote kicked for no reason at all, completely out of the blue votes like that suck. Expand
  9. mmaas
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    DAVID N you have any idea what you are talking about?? metacritics please remove his comment this is a AWESOME GAME and its no mods
  10. RomanO
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    Video killed the radio star. Very sad but what had to be an expansion for L4D, but became L4D2 killed this game. Why Valve? :(
  11. GerwimF.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Love the AI Director which randomly places zombies and items.. I love the teamwork (co-op) aswell.!!
  12. JamieH.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I really like the originality to this game. There are very few games out there with challenging horror scenes, most zombies or "infected" people move slow, and the game tends to be running backward and shooting. On this, if you run backwards, chances are they're gonna catch up and something WILL get you from behind. The AI is superb, the only problems i did find was that the I really like the originality to this game. There are very few games out there with challenging horror scenes, most zombies or "infected" people move slow, and the game tends to be running backward and shooting. On this, if you run backwards, chances are they're gonna catch up and something WILL get you from behind. The AI is superb, the only problems i did find was that the animations, although they are amazingly fluent and smooth, they do not hit the world: When an infected jumps up at you, their hands won't be hanging on the ledge, they will be either below, or infront of it. There are some infected that are just stood on tables, and seem to be floating. The boss and AI direction system is amazing, the way the zombies react, attack and act is fabulous. This game is amazing - and i have only done one chapter so far! 10/10 regardless of the ai things, this game still deserves a 10/10. Expand
  13. CraigF.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Everything you would expect after playing HL2 and its follow up episodes. This game will not disappoint and the AI is unreal. The computer controlled characters play better than some online controlled players. Lots of fun, constantly changing and very fast paced.
  14. DanielHan
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    Unfortunately, i am one of those idiots who give this game 10.
    Just to balance yours out.
    And this game is great. Those people who give this game crappy reviews, haven't actually played this game the way it was meant to be played. It was meant to be played with friends, not by yourself, lonely in singleplayer. It's supposed to be fun! And those people who claim it's easy,
    Unfortunately, i am one of those idiots who give this game 10.
    Just to balance yours out.
    And this game is great. Those people who give this game crappy reviews, haven't actually played this game the way it was meant to be played. It was meant to be played with friends, not by yourself, lonely in singleplayer. It's supposed to be fun! And those people who claim it's easy, should get out of easy mode and try expert.
    Expand
  15. MaartenvanHees
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    id say this is by far the best co-op game ive seen in a bit. Yes the levels are lineair, but this AI Director thing puts in enough replayabilty for me to keep on playing. Its especially fun when playing with 4 people on LAN or with Ventrilo/Teamspeak. The graphics are absolutely stunning, and it runs very good. m8 of mine has this nvidia 7300 laptop card and runs it fine with low settingsid say this is by far the best co-op game ive seen in a bit. Yes the levels are lineair, but this AI Director thing puts in enough replayabilty for me to keep on playing. Its especially fun when playing with 4 people on LAN or with Ventrilo/Teamspeak. The graphics are absolutely stunning, and it runs very good. m8 of mine has this nvidia 7300 laptop card and runs it fine with low settings and high screen resolution. One drawback is the relative short campaigns, but then again theres this versus mode wich is a complete laugh every time i play it. so yeh, id give this a 10 for the way the co-op element has been implemented. Expand
  16. Simon
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    I think this game is amazingly good.

    Many people voted very low, based on their experience with the demo. The difference between the real game / demo is huge. You have not fully experienced the game until you've owned a versus game. Talking, laughing in the microphone, the feel of kjumping a left-behind player. Killing him and being congratulated. The feel of that is rare in a
    I think this game is amazingly good.

    Many people voted very low, based on their experience with the demo.
    The difference between the real game / demo is huge.
    You have not fully experienced the game until you've owned a versus game. Talking, laughing in the microphone, the feel of kjumping a left-behind player. Killing him and being congratulated. The feel of that is rare in a game and L4D definately has it.

    Also, the graphics / sounds is really good. So it the layout of the game.

    10 / 10.
    PS. A bit repetative but still beyond all my expectations.
    Expand
  17. MattMcMinn
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. Picked it up at 5pm and couldn't put it down until 2am. It has exciting game play and when you play with friends it gets even better. I was skeptical of versus mode but its a lot of fun to be the zombies. My only complaint in reference to that is that is the spawn system is picky but you get used to it after about 5 mins.
  18. AlanG.
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    Despite several drawbacks this game presents a cooperative multiplayer experience the likes of which have never been seen before. While many games include multiplayer team combat, this game stresses teamwork and tactics beyond beyond what games like TF2 and CS:S are able to deliver on a consistent basis. The four player team creates a dynamic where cooperation is an absolute necessity for Despite several drawbacks this game presents a cooperative multiplayer experience the likes of which have never been seen before. While many games include multiplayer team combat, this game stresses teamwork and tactics beyond beyond what games like TF2 and CS:S are able to deliver on a consistent basis. The four player team creates a dynamic where cooperation is an absolute necessity for success, especially so on the harder difficulties. Gameplay revolves between periods of relative calm and times of extreme duress. The most fitting word to describe the latter is intense! No matter the skill of you and your comrades, there will be moments when the survival of your group is far from a certainty, especially given the random nature of the director. The intensity of the game tends to only increase as the level progresses, as wounded survivors are often met with an uncomfortable lack of medkits when they are most needed. The sound and graphics are thoroughly polished, and despite the age of the source engine its upgrades ensure that the game looks great and has plenty of eye candy. Once again, Valve's trademark attention to detail has made for a vibrant and immersing atmosphere. The ability to blow holes in or destroy doors is a fun new addition that also significantly alters the gameplay mechanic. While the story is underdeveloped, in game chatter between the characters reveals a great deal about their personalities, and makes them seem very real. There are some drawbacks, however. The game is relatively short, especially if played on the lower difficulties, and the weapon selection is somewhat minimal. These should not be a major issue, the game is meant to be played on expert in order to prepare a player for the even more difficult versus mode (which is an absolute blast), and the guns that are present are finely crafted and simply feel right. The replayability of this game is excellent, and is only compounded by the director and versus mode. As is, this game is very exciting and will keep many players hooked for an indefinite amount of hours. Given Valve's devotion to updates and the enthusiastic mod community, I only expect this game to improve as time goes on. I give this game a 9.3 out of 10. Expand
  19. MichaelD
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    Just what I expected from Valve: a polished, balanced and addictive game with an almost perfect gameplay formula that doesn't get old. With constant support and additional content down the road, you cannot go wrong at buying this game.

    Invite your friends, put on the headset and start blasting some zombies!
  20. SeanG
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I love this game I just wish it had more boards and maybe even more characters on both sides to make it even harder,
  21. RJ
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    Finily Someone remembered how to make a Mutiplayer Shooter game thats not just Deathmatch or Team Deathmatch! It is a nice return to the Co-op days of Doom2. Many of the other shooter with a story arc should remember not everyone in to Deathmatch some of us just like sitting down with a few friends and take on the bad guys and not each other.
  22. [ANONYMOUS]
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    totally amazing game, despite the few variations in weapons and maps u never get tired of it... its just so much fun even a year after i bought it
  23. TomGraham
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    Valve have done it again! Left 4 Dead is another ground breaking games that shows the way for all other games to follow. A balance of teamwork and good old shoot 'em up creates one of the most addictive games I have ever played. Just remember that working as a team is they key to playing this game, as alone a player would last about a minute before ending up the main course at theValve have done it again! Left 4 Dead is another ground breaking games that shows the way for all other games to follow. A balance of teamwork and good old shoot 'em up creates one of the most addictive games I have ever played. Just remember that working as a team is they key to playing this game, as alone a player would last about a minute before ending up the main course at the infected dinner party. Expand
  24. BillH
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    The best COOP shooter available hands down. It's not just about shooting zombies, its about teamwork. The campaigns may be a bit easy for some players if you are playing on anything other than expert mode, but versus is what really brings a different dynamic to the table when compared to other multiplayer FPS games. The downside for some people may be the fact that you do really need The best COOP shooter available hands down. It's not just about shooting zombies, its about teamwork. The campaigns may be a bit easy for some players if you are playing on anything other than expert mode, but versus is what really brings a different dynamic to the table when compared to other multiplayer FPS games. The downside for some people may be the fact that you do really need a mic, communication is very important in a game that requires actual teamwork. Ramboers will fail in versus or expert campaigns miserably, that play style will just not work here. If you want to play a game that requires teamwork and brings a different dimension to team based shooters, grab this one up now. If you want to run around like a wild man hitting your macroed insults then you should probably stick to CoD. Expand
  25. Em_JW
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    I haven't read the reviews here, but its rated 9.5 / 10 at the moment.
    I'm not going to elaborate too much, but... I love this game.
    I'll just hit the high points (and boy are they significant) -it runs great on almost all hardware -it looks gorgeous -massively replayable -incredibly entertaining -challenging, but not frustrating -entertaining and fun
    I haven't read the reviews here, but its rated 9.5 / 10 at the moment.
    I'm not going to elaborate too much, but... I love this game.
    I'll just hit the high points (and boy are they significant)

    -it runs great on almost all hardware
    -it looks gorgeous
    -massively replayable
    -incredibly entertaining
    -challenging, but not frustrating
    -entertaining and fun
    -stylized and creative

    Did I mention that I really love this game? What an awesome piece of code. Massive respect for valve.
    Expand
  26. RayongG
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Very good game, but slow update. Anyway 10/10 because i enjoy it really much, can't stop playing it. And at least, the best game I ever see. Must be played to be judge.
  27. spongebobsquarepants
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    This is a epic game, this is far more intense you get in no big intro no long speeches just zombie killing all way through, thats why i gave it 10 cause its an great game and one of the best works made by Valve, i have also played hl2, hl1, tf2 but this is far more fun when you have friends to play with. Singleplayer can be a little boring thats why you can complete the game with friends This is a epic game, this is far more intense you get in no big intro no long speeches just zombie killing all way through, thats why i gave it 10 cause its an great game and one of the best works made by Valve, i have also played hl2, hl1, tf2 but this is far more fun when you have friends to play with. Singleplayer can be a little boring thats why you can complete the game with friends or random players, also the versus mode is also quite impressing and fun, without a mic or fast typing skills it can be a little hard tho, but its no biggy. Expand
  28. RoyW
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    I have been playing this game for 2 weeks and clocked around 52hours of game play, this game has the perfect team work. You cannot solo play this game, You have 5 awesome campaigns to go through with a team online, or single player with your team as bots. SDK has not yet been released but already maps and new skins are in the making by users. If you can get it under $50 say $40 it's I have been playing this game for 2 weeks and clocked around 52hours of game play, this game has the perfect team work. You cannot solo play this game, You have 5 awesome campaigns to go through with a team online, or single player with your team as bots. SDK has not yet been released but already maps and new skins are in the making by users. If you can get it under $50 say $40 it's very worth it. Pros: The game is set as-if you were in a movie, Team work, Voice chat, Voice commands, controls, controller support, unlimited pistol bullets. Easy to join games, the community is very good, not to harsh on new comers to the game. Easy vote kick options for griefers. When you die you get locked in a room, your team can rescue you. Cons: No SDK yet, limited 5 campaigns, versus has limited 2 campaigns (which will increase in the future), limited 4 weapons 3 primary and one secondary pistol. Overall: Great game! must have for zombie lovers. Expand
  29. 2mer2Lacrapul3
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    Vraiment un tres bon jeux, dommage toute foix que des gamins n'ayant pas l'age requis, ce retrouve sur la partie online, ou coordination et esprit d'equipe devrais reigner, et au lieu de ca c'est le cahot et le desordre sur 75% des parties, tk, gars qui ce croivent indestructible et parte solo, troullard qui ce planque a la moindre occase et laisse les autres ce battre Vraiment un tres bon jeux, dommage toute foix que des gamins n'ayant pas l'age requis, ce retrouve sur la partie online, ou coordination et esprit d'equipe devrais reigner, et au lieu de ca c'est le cahot et le desordre sur 75% des parties, tk, gars qui ce croivent indestructible et parte solo, troullard qui ce planque a la moindre occase et laisse les autres ce battre seul, non vraiment merci les parents stupide, qui prenne les ordinateurs comme babysiter, ou moyen de ce debarasser de leurs progenitures, sans regarder l'age necessaire et casi obligatoir, grace a vous ce jeux vas devenir une m......, et seras bientot injouable. Expand
  30. CodyG.
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    All you idiots that vote 0 need to actually get to know the game. this is a fast paced shooter game not for the weak. this game will literally work against you with the ai director at its disposal with out team work in this game the ai director will pick you all off 1 by one until the games over. but yeah this is probably one of the best buys for pc or xbox if you are looking for some great fun
  31. MichaelT
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    I consider myself a hardcore Online FPSer starting from Doom, Quake, CS, DOD and TF2. NO online game has Ever been as fun as this. Aging engine, i couldn't even tell. Physics are superb, character are Excellent. And the Coop is far beyond that of any coop game out there. The VS mode is the most fun i have ever had on a single game. I have caught myself screaming into the mike like my I consider myself a hardcore Online FPSer starting from Doom, Quake, CS, DOD and TF2. NO online game has Ever been as fun as this. Aging engine, i couldn't even tell. Physics are superb, character are Excellent. And the Coop is far beyond that of any coop game out there. The VS mode is the most fun i have ever had on a single game. I have caught myself screaming into the mike like my team mates, "Get in here!! Close the D**m Door!" IMO No Online coop game is nearly as satisfying as this one. Massively underrated by the critics. A must have!!!! Expand
  32. AnonoumusPerson
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    A very intense game, but could been better. It maybe could have more weapons. But overall, I think its great. The double pistol strategy was a great idea. one pistol, is better than one! The M4 could have been a M4A1, and...there should have been more explosives. But like I said, overall, its great.
  33. NicholasFeatherby
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    Wow, this game is just the epitome of gaming, I can't find anything wrong with it! And one of the funnest bits is telling your frinds of the epic finale that happened last night. It is just the game for friends to have pure unadulterated fun with no worries, that is, if you ignore the threat of being bitten!
  34. AnonymousMC
    Feb 1, 2009
    10
    This game is so much fun. It is one of the few games that even months after i bought it keeps me coming back for more. It also makes people think and work together unlike other shooters where its run in, shoot, die, respawn. This game is totally worth the 50$ for pc or 60$ for xbox.
  35. RichardC
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    I played this game both on the Xbox 360 and on the PC, and I must say it's a great zombie game. Incredibly suspenseful all the way till the end. You never stop wondering if the horde will show up, or what's around the next corner. The random spawns of the special zombies is great for keeping the excitement and unpredictability. All around this game delivers.
  36. JohannesSA.
    Mar 25, 2009
    10
    A very nice game from Turtle Rock and Valve, has the valve polish game play and just 'smoothness' (graphics, animation sound etc.) It's easy to jump into when bored to go and have fun :P. The best thing i like about this is the playable special infected (and hope they add more :P) cause how often have you had the thought when playing a game and see some cool enemy and A very nice game from Turtle Rock and Valve, has the valve polish game play and just 'smoothness' (graphics, animation sound etc.) It's easy to jump into when bored to go and have fun :P. The best thing i like about this is the playable special infected (and hope they add more :P) cause how often have you had the thought when playing a game and see some cool enemy and 'wouldn't it be cool if we could play that' Though very few maps (specially in versus since pretty much only play that, except on LANs) this game would only be better if added more maps, weapons and maybe infected(could add survivors with new infected i guess to have it kinda even). Expand
  37. AlexReichert
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    Although arguably lacking in content Left 4 Dead is by far one of the greatest zombie games of our time. The intensity and bonds between your team make for some incredible moments in gaming. Plus you can play in a versus scenario as the super zombies you will come to loathe in the campaign. all that with more content already on the way and in the works, well done Valve.
  38. ChrisK
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    To anyone who complains about L4D only being four campaigns right now, I have this to say:

    Please look at all of the new content being released for TF2 (the official content, mind you, I'm sure there's many times that volume in unofficial). In all likelihood, this is a good indicator of what's to come for L4D.
  39. JoPixel
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    This game is a lot of fun! If you want it for SP, get something else but if you have a decent internet connection, prepair to mow down zombies with your friends while trying to survive or try to stop the survivors from reching the end controlling the speccial infected... This game doesn't lack replayability. There's a director that changes the experience based on skill level. This game is a lot of fun! If you want it for SP, get something else but if you have a decent internet connection, prepair to mow down zombies with your friends while trying to survive or try to stop the survivors from reching the end controlling the speccial infected... This game doesn't lack replayability. There's a director that changes the experience based on skill level. There's the console (you can adjust tons of stuff with that like amount of damage dealt by zombies, adjust the Tank spawn rate or whatever... You can even take over as director! The other source game maps are compatible with L4D so you have lots of CS maps to play in (the director will spawn the zombies for you!). There's even a DLC coming up with a new gamemode and a lot of new stuff... But DON'T GET THAT GAME ON THE XBOX 360 unless you don't have a PC that's good enough to play it because the 360 version sucks compared to PC. Buy this game to have fun! 10/10. Expand
  40. KjetilO
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead is our time greatest zombie apocalypse! Your mission is to escape, and it's one way and one way only to do that. kill zombies!! Great Game!
  41. MichaelS
    May 2, 2009
    10
    I have become a gamer at the hands of Valve's excellent commitment to the consumer. I have not found any other game that offers the same kind of dedication that Valve has to their products. It began with Team Fortress 2 for me, and was finalized in Left 4 Dead. I will play this game for many years to come. Any gamer worth a grain of salt would have this game in his collection.
  42. JamesP
    May 26, 2009
    10
    Get a good team of survivors togeather, practice, get good, play against others...Addiction ensues. Finally a game where you MUST rely on the people around you to succeed. Excellent Valve, a round of applause. This game is phenomenal. Valve release regular updates and map extensions AND new campaigns to be created soon! Plus TONNES of new gear and stuff! This is anything but a stagnent Get a good team of survivors togeather, practice, get good, play against others...Addiction ensues. Finally a game where you MUST rely on the people around you to succeed. Excellent Valve, a round of applause. This game is phenomenal. Valve release regular updates and map extensions AND new campaigns to be created soon! Plus TONNES of new gear and stuff! This is anything but a stagnent game. Do not judge from the box. P.s. NOT SINGLEPLAYER. Expand
  43. FarskeH
    May 27, 2009
    10
    A truly polished game. You have the casual coop style version where you and your mates can plod along in easy mode, or scream in intense expert/hard mode. Then you move onto the survival, the cresendo events where you hold out for as long as you can, earning awards. Then the cream of the game. The Versus mode, how this is fun! Whilst newbs have commented on it stating its unbalanced, its A truly polished game. You have the casual coop style version where you and your mates can plod along in easy mode, or scream in intense expert/hard mode. Then you move onto the survival, the cresendo events where you hold out for as long as you can, earning awards. Then the cream of the game. The Versus mode, how this is fun! Whilst newbs have commented on it stating its unbalanced, its fair. You play it in halves, you swap sides after. The developers said the aim of the game and the design was that the survivors have a slim chance of reaching the end. It shows skill if you do (or a complete lack of skill on the infected side). After the annihilation you swap over. They KEY to the game is friends, play with friends or skill full people and you WILL love it, You can see the people who have rated this game low are clearly kids or n00bs. Its a shame this game has a low score because of that. Its a gem. Expand
  44. mattm
    May 31, 2009
    10
    L4D is and always will be a great game. Shure the campain gets old after 10 or so runs on expert, but the coop is some of the best iv ever seen. Most people who rate it low complain about not having RL buddies to own with. This isnt very logical because if you enjoy the coop but just dont have RL friends, there are other options. Such as clans, steam friends with the game (almost all of L4D is and always will be a great game. Shure the campain gets old after 10 or so runs on expert, but the coop is some of the best iv ever seen. Most people who rate it low complain about not having RL buddies to own with. This isnt very logical because if you enjoy the coop but just dont have RL friends, there are other options. Such as clans, steam friends with the game (almost all of my friends on steam now own this game), or even people you see at school (IDK if this counts as RL buddies cause u might not like em). Not having friends does not give any reason to give it a score of 1 and no reason to dislike the game. I have 3 RL buddies that live about a mile from me that have the game and about 100 clan members, all of which can play L4D and stomp the average pub. Then going into content wise, some people who can actually use their pc will mod L4D with different maps that are used by many and play with buddies, and Valve has already givin us lighthouse and there might be more maps in the future, (my L4D has all custom skins, witch and tank sounds, and about 30 custom campains/survival/versus maps on it that I use on a server that I have admin on. So just because you cant make buddies online or off to play with you please dont rate L4D low on those weak standards. Iv had tons of fun playin it and am hopein that PDXLAN will give us an L4D tourny so our |-DNB-| clan can win some nice GTX 295 graphics cards. So please dont spam hate messages cause u cant get buddies, so far I have found the gameplay nothing less then enjoyable, and hopefully you will get a good experince playing sometime in the future. (Also if people kick you without exlaining why, its probably because that if they tell you that they are kicking for a buddy, most people start shooting them or jump off an edge resulting in player death and a handicap to their team. Im speaking from experience, its happened to me many times so please dont judge the game based on those standards eaither, because the above is most likly the case and they are just trying to play with their buddies. Expand
  45. JeffW.
    May 4, 2009
    10
    Great game!
  46. AnonymousMC
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is quite possibly one of the best first-person-shooters I've ever played. The action is constantly thrilling, the idea itself is absolutely brilliant, and the recent addition of Last Stand makes 4 player co-op a must. All in all, this is one of the greatest things Valve Software has ever put forth. This stands alongside with some of the best PC games created since the original Half-Life.
  47. JonathanS
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead is the greatest co-op game I've ever tried! It is making it even better, when it's online! The good thing about the game is that it's a rare kind of game and that kind is not made often!
  48. KayleeC
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead is the most co-op themed game you can find, In Left 4 Dead you have to rely on teamates to help you and you have to help them.There are 4 options: Survival,Versus,Campaign,And Single Player. L4d Comes with 4 pre-made maps called:No Mercy,Death Toll,Dead Air,And Blood Harvest. Graphics are amazing and you can tell they worked hard to make this one amazing game.
  49. LouisS
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    I am a kid. I like this game because I can shoot lots of monsters. Sometimes I do a funny thing, I open the door and shoot the zombies.
  50. NathanS
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Game is well balanced. Team play is very well though out, you don't have to rely on 5 million people but its not just you either. Updates are continuous and address the current concerns of the gaming community.
  51. ZayneAnthony
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    I'm not usually a big fan of Zombies, Horror or First Person Shooter, I usually stick to RPG's exclusively but played this with a friend on 360 and got hooked enough I bought it on PC (had $40 in-store credit at game stop, got this for $30 and put $10 down on L4D2 Preorder.). Over all a great game, I'm very happy with it, can't wait for the new DLC.
  52. TimKeller
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    Not many campaigns but the most addictive game out there. If you can only choose one game to play for a few months straight pick this. The only con is the free addons promised by Valve are coming in the form of part 2 for another $59 November 2009
  53. mikenatsuhae
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    this has to be one of the best zombie games... its first person shooter.... and if u get the chance to play the game no the demo u can play as the infected that has special abilities... will be a favorite for a long time... the lay out of maps are super well laid out... and the zombies run at u!
  54. LuisG.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    This game is great, for me it's the game of the year, the feeling of being into a horror film it's outstanding I give it 10/10. Once again Valve do it... creating a nice game, excellent graphics and new techs, that help us to get more realistic games. I had been waiting for this game for long time, and I can tell everybody, this game worth every single penny. And.. who This game is great, for me it's the game of the year, the feeling of being into a horror film it's outstanding I give it 10/10. Once again Valve do it... creating a nice game, excellent graphics and new techs, that help us to get more realistic games. I had been waiting for this game for long time, and I can tell everybody, this game worth every single penny. And.. who can't resist to be into a zombie apocalypse... ohhh I really enjoy this game. Expand
  55. ChrisB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is an impressive title, im sure we have all been waiting years for something as fast paced as this and they certainly made one of the best zombie shooters ever! I hope this inspires more developers to start making more games using this type of zombie apocalyptic universe for future titles of all genre.
  56. AndrewF.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Superb, I don't know how anybody could consider giving it less than 10 since a friendly approach to modders and constant updates mean that there will be many more than 4 campaigns.
  57. JakeC.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I was actuially pretty disappointed with Gears 2. It felt to me like Halo 2 all over again. Not that it's similar to halo 2, but i mean in its relationship to Gears 1. I think the critics are giving it much more hype than it deserves, as the game is less a new game than it is the original game revamped. Which some people might find great, but i was disappointed.
  58. GroovyMonster
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Spectacularly phenomenal co-op gaming experience! And the AI Director keeps every single playthrough different and fresh! Crazy how well it works. A whole new game every time you play it!

    Quite simply, L4D is one of the most intense, scary, adrenaline-pumping games I've EVER played in my life!!!! It's especially sweet if you're also a big zombie/horror movie fan! Just
    Spectacularly phenomenal co-op gaming experience! And the AI Director keeps every single playthrough different and fresh! Crazy how well it works. A whole new game every time you play it!

    Quite simply, L4D is one of the most intense, scary, adrenaline-pumping games I've EVER played in my life!!!! It's especially sweet if you're also a big zombie/horror movie fan! Just pure action-horror gaming bliss.

    Game of the Year worthy? Heck yes it is!!!
    Expand
  59. DavidC
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    How can you give this game anything other than a 10. How long has it been since we've had a coop game with this kind of depth. The game is quick, creepy, and more fun to play than anything I've experienced in a while. WTG Valve!
  60. DanteH.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Iv'e played Fallout 3, Farcry 2, and many of the other hit titles this Fall and so far, this is my favorite game yet. I love every single thing about this game. The graphics are great, but the death animations are the best iv'e seen. The game's dificulty ranges from possible to insane, and i cannot believe people actually wanted another dificulty level. I see myself playingIv'e played Fallout 3, Farcry 2, and many of the other hit titles this Fall and so far, this is my favorite game yet. I love every single thing about this game. The graphics are great, but the death animations are the best iv'e seen. The game's dificulty ranges from possible to insane, and i cannot believe people actually wanted another dificulty level. I see myself playing this game quite possibly until the end of the year, and likely beyond. I can't wait to do this at a LAN game tommorow with all my friends! Expand
  61. ChrisZ.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Definitely an amazing game; I would say it is the first person shooter of the year. Never played any better zombie survival game, and the fact that it highly leans toward co-op makes it even better. The game is definitely not easy unless you're on easy or normal difficulty, thus there's always a lot of teamwork involved. It also has a great amount of replayability, since the wayDefinitely an amazing game; I would say it is the first person shooter of the year. Never played any better zombie survival game, and the fact that it highly leans toward co-op makes it even better. The game is definitely not easy unless you're on easy or normal difficulty, thus there's always a lot of teamwork involved. It also has a great amount of replayability, since the way everything is laid out in each game is different from the other.
    10/10

    P.S. Sean McPartlin, there's a reason why this game is called Left4Dead, because it's Four survivors. If it was more than that then it defeats the purpose of the title.
    Expand
  62. Devin
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I love this game not only because it's included the fast zombies in the zombie apocolypse, but because it's constantly a new experience. The Director does a fantastic job in creating new gameplay each time you play a level, never being predictable to the point of boring. Valve never disspoints me and this game is no exception.
  63. Gorm
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    great game . but it's just for multiplayer though. not a big deal for me but maybe for others. it's just that i always have some type of story to tell friends about this game .

    example: "man last night we took on a tank and than got vomitted on by a boomer and had to fight an entire horde and still we made it on expert"
    that sort of stuff i meant :)
  64. JohnRose
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    Whoa. Blown away by the demo, comepletely blown away by the game! Since VALVe (by what I know), have never made a zombir shooter before. Zombie survival games don't need to have a story/plot, all the player needs to know is that a Zombie Infection or Outbreak has happened and only four players survived. Plus, VALVe have made something into a game which is generally hard to put into aWhoa. Blown away by the demo, comepletely blown away by the game! Since VALVe (by what I know), have never made a zombir shooter before. Zombie survival games don't need to have a story/plot, all the player needs to know is that a Zombie Infection or Outbreak has happened and only four players survived. Plus, VALVe have made something into a game which is generally hard to put into a game. Teamwork. If you go off alone with a shotgun, chances are that a Hunter will punce on you and you will get zombiefied. And if you stay together and use teamwork, you will have a much larger chance of surviving. Expand
  65. DannyShipione
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best game's in years. It's like a combination of all of Valve's games, put in one, plus zombies. This game is so fun, and its more fun the second time you play levels. The other thing is that you dont need a really good computer to play it. I don't, and I had like 60 FPS on medium graphics. I defiinetely I reccommend it to all gamers, new and old.
  66. FrAgged
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    this is the kind of game that will last forever, the gameplay is typical valve source engine top notch.. easy to move and play and it smooth the graphics are everything you need with no flaws and nice movie like effects, and being a horror fan i like how the game is presented just like a zombie horror film ! :). And honestly everybody's gripes about the amount of content you justthis is the kind of game that will last forever, the gameplay is typical valve source engine top notch.. easy to move and play and it smooth the graphics are everything you need with no flaws and nice movie like effects, and being a horror fan i like how the game is presented just like a zombie horror film ! :). And honestly everybody's gripes about the amount of content you just can't mark it down for because this is a game that has an almost unlimited amount of potential not just from patches and official expansions but especially from the mod scene, from new maps and campaigns(there is already a dawn of the dead campaign in the making!!), new gamemodes and theres been talk about new types of zombies and player chatacters so even though the game right now is almost perfect we still have ALOT to look forward to. WELL WORTH THE MONEY. Expand
  67. l4d
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Voting the worst number is just silly if you think it's worth more; you aren't supposed to decide what number it gets, the page calculates it from the OPINIONS of other people. They're all opinions, not facts, therefore voting 0 even if you think it's 6-7 is just childish. Been a good game, maybe a bit too short but still extremely fun to play with a 4 player co-op.
  68. JohnY.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Great game for online play. VS mode is a blast! I just hope it has a high re-playability to it... as long as valve continues to pump out new maps and other goodies like they do for TF2, that won't be a worry.
  69. RichardFund
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best zombie shooters out there. Though it could use more weapons. Every level is huge, just when you think you reached a final point, nope, not the final point! The sound is eerie, perfect. The graphics are disgustingly smooth, very frightening. The hordes are incredibly scary and it really does make you want to run.
  70. ChristianCiampi
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    an absolutely amazing game, it completely redefines what zombie shooters are. it perfectly takes the old zombie thriller idea and throws the source engine into it, which i think is absolutely perfect as an fps fanatic. ENDLESS entertainment and replay value with versus mode and even campaign mode doesnt get old easily. definitely an amazing buy and yet another great success from valve.
  71. XanderJones
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    I would have given this game a 9 due to lack of content (would far exceed a 10 if only there were some more campaigns) but since some idiot that plays on easy and still doesn't know how to play with others gave it a 0, I had to try to give it a more accurate score. There is NO zombie game, mod or level that can compare to L4D. The best game of 2008
  72. JamesTaylor
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    I would have given it a 9 but gave it a 10 to cheese off those guys that gave it a 0 for no good reason.

    Amazing coop. Heard some stories about people having bad experiences with online players but this all came from xbox and 'nuff. I've played this on PC and loving the twitch skills and working with the good old Aussie steam community. Fast zombies, good weapons,
    I would have given it a 9 but gave it a 10 to cheese off those guys that gave it a 0 for no good reason.

    Amazing coop. Heard some stories about people having bad experiences with online players but this all came from xbox and 'nuff. I've played this on PC and loving the twitch skills and working with the good old Aussie steam community.

    Fast zombies, good weapons, simplistic gameplay with lots of replay ability. Deaal
    Expand
  73. PiloTheVoter
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    This game sucks... NOT!!!
    this is maybe the best zombie game ever made. The AI is incredible. The way the zombies act is incredible and the AI director makes the game worth to play again and again and again and thats in singleplayer, in multiplayer it's even better and i dont know how valve chould do that. and if you gets sick of killing the zombies then start killing the humans.
  74. Blake
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    Valve has done it again. They have created another epic game. I have been only waiting for this game for 5 months, but the first time I saw it, i freaked out, so then i pre-purchased it. When it came out, I just played it non-stop. It is so much, its just so unbelievable. The only problem to me is that the maps after a while get quite boring, and there should be a server list instead ofValve has done it again. They have created another epic game. I have been only waiting for this game for 5 months, but the first time I saw it, i freaked out, so then i pre-purchased it. When it came out, I just played it non-stop. It is so much, its just so unbelievable. The only problem to me is that the maps after a while get quite boring, and there should be a server list instead of those stupid host rooms you find randomly. But I know those map makers will be making brand new campaigns and such, so i can't wait for those. There is also versus mode, which is my favorite. I just love to play as the zombies! I just don't like the respawn counter. Other than multiplayer, there is single player, which if you play you just get to play with bots (yet the bots are pretty stupid). So after thinking it over, this game gave me more than I thought it would. I give it a 10/10, NICE JOB VALVE! Expand
  75. AnonymousMC
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    Despite some issues with the machtmaking system (not being able to select custom or "vanilla" servers) wich Valve stated that were being looked into, the game is excelent.
    From a technicall standpoint, the game has good graphics, incredible performance, ground breaking AI and pathfinding (and NPC animation) technology.
    It also has an excelent artistic desing and an impresive, loud yet
    Despite some issues with the machtmaking system (not being able to select custom or "vanilla" servers) wich Valve stated that were being looked into, the game is excelent.
    From a technicall standpoint, the game has good graphics, incredible performance, ground breaking AI and pathfinding (and NPC animation) technology.
    It also has an excelent artistic desing and an impresive, loud yet satisfying sound direction (both with gunshots, and character voices).
    Co-op is pure fun, and encourage (if not obligate) players to work together or die separately.
    Versus, is a whole different thing, it gives you the chance to relax and enjoy while you hunt for some survivor flesh, or you tech the infected who´s the boss.
    The story in the game might not be as evident as it may be, but it encourages players to imagine by providing rich and detailed background escenarios filled with proof that others have been there before, and in some cases even left messages to let others know how they are.
    If you like zombies, guns, or just some fun an innovative co-op play, you can´t go wrong with Left 4 Dead.
    Expand
  76. BenjieVassallo
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    an amazing game. I thought id get bored playing the same level over and over again but in fact it makes the game fun as it all depends on your team mates decisions (and ur enemies of course haha). besides that i love blowing things apart and this game provides plenty of that ^^
  77. JohnS.L
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Amazing game! Steele X, what is up with you, maybe no-one likes you, when i go on, voice is commonly used, and everyone is typing, if someone is lagging behind, we all go back and wait for him. What do you mean theres no story? An infectious disease being tested in a laborotory got out, and infected millions of people, however, about 5% of the population were immune to this disease, youAmazing game! Steele X, what is up with you, maybe no-one likes you, when i go on, voice is commonly used, and everyone is typing, if someone is lagging behind, we all go back and wait for him. What do you mean theres no story? An infectious disease being tested in a laborotory got out, and infected millions of people, however, about 5% of the population were immune to this disease, you are one of them. And you have to escape in every 'movie'. Want to know why its the same thing, having to escape in every level? THEY ARE NOT ONE BIG CAMPAIGN, each is a different 'movie' as named in L4D. You state that you know where the bosses are going to jump out, and where the med kits are... um , no you dont. The AI Director, a new feature in Valve games. Changes everything according to your progress and skill in the game. Not overall skill, your skill in the current game. John S, you say that L4D is a 'zombie survival horror' erm... no its not, in many reviews, publishings, articles, it cleary says, its not a 'SURVIVAL'. Zombie Survival, is where you are pinned down in one single location for the entire game, with waves/onslaught of zombies, left 4 dead is not that. Left 4 Dead requires you to be constantly moving and getting from point A to B, if you decide to slow down, or stand your ground, the ai director will take note, and send in hordes of zombies to get you runnin! :)
    I hope this review will make you change your minds, you have both said what L4D is not...
    Expand
  78. TomR
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    Hey Steele X, your gripes are with other players, not with the game itself. What you have done is the equivalent of joining a game of CS:Sourse (which has a metascore very similar to L4D) and then giving it a '0' review because you keep getting smashed by a '1337' awper. L4D is a strongly community-based game, so either play with your friends or find some seriousHey Steele X, your gripes are with other players, not with the game itself. What you have done is the equivalent of joining a game of CS:Sourse (which has a metascore very similar to L4D) and then giving it a '0' review because you keep getting smashed by a '1337' awper. L4D is a strongly community-based game, so either play with your friends or find some serious players and start enjoying it as it is meant to be played. Expand
  79. MichaelLouden
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    I gave it a ten to compensate for some of the lower scores it's been given.

    In my opinion, this games absolutely accomplishes in every way what it set out to do. 1 - Four-player Co-op has NEVER been BETTER in any game to date. 2 - Execution of game play elements intended are FLAWLESS 3 - Intriguing and original characters. And FUN. 4 - Great sound design. 5 - Graphics
    I gave it a ten to compensate for some of the lower scores it's been given.

    In my opinion, this games absolutely accomplishes in every way what it set out to do.

    1 - Four-player Co-op has NEVER been BETTER in any game to date.
    2 - Execution of game play elements intended are FLAWLESS
    3 - Intriguing and original characters. And FUN.
    4 - Great sound design.
    5 - Graphics aren't as eye-popping as some next-gen games, but Valve's animation team is better than any of it's competitors, therefore both emotion and character come across crystal clear. A MUST BUY.
    6 - Fun for absolutely any one willing to sit down and play it, even beginners.

    Valve wins again.
    Expand
  80. KevinLauryssen
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    Brilliant graphics, nice cinematic feel to it, does honor to the horror/zombie genre. Romero would be proud.
  81. Ninjaassassin
    Dec 27, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing, simply amazing. I have played so many games that have great story lines, but Left 4 Dead doesn't. That's what i like about this game! I have rented, borrowed, and played GREAT games. Except after beating it once i didn't even bother trying it on a harder level... i knew what was going to happen and what to do. Left 4 Dead has the most repeatability This game is amazing, simply amazing. I have played so many games that have great story lines, but Left 4 Dead doesn't. That's what i like about this game! I have rented, borrowed, and played GREAT games. Except after beating it once i didn't even bother trying it on a harder level... i knew what was going to happen and what to do. Left 4 Dead has the most repeatability game i have ever seen. Then, i love the run and gun style, either you run and shoot or you stay and die. V.S. mode makes the game that much more insane, you and your friends can play as the zombies, attacking as Hunters, ambushing as Smokers, or exploding as Boomers. After all of this i know that this is one game I'll get my money out of, by playing for countless hours, having a new experiance every time. Expand
  82. Rattler
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    I look forward to updates to this game. have only seen a few bugs, but overall smooth an I love the TEAM work that has to be played in order to win. Sure you can have 1 john rambo in the mix but even he/she still needs the other 3 folks. I personaly love this game.. granted I'm a horror nut as well so the whole zombie thing did the trick for Me.
  83. LoganM
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    Excellent game, it combines the fright of zombies with a DOOM feel with the flashlight. Not to mention the amazing graphics, and the source engine. All connected together to make a great multi-player or single player game. You can campaign with friends online or with lan, or do it by your self with teammates from the AI. AI are smart and violent. And the movie haze/fuzz effect during theExcellent game, it combines the fright of zombies with a DOOM feel with the flashlight. Not to mention the amazing graphics, and the source engine. All connected together to make a great multi-player or single player game. You can campaign with friends online or with lan, or do it by your self with teammates from the AI. AI are smart and violent. And the movie haze/fuzz effect during the game makes it feel realistic. It is a team based game, you help your teammates in need and they return the favor. Definatly a game I will be playing for a long time. Be sure to turn off your room light to get a scary feel. Expand
  84. JeremyWallace
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    Despite the rotting bodies, L4D is a breath of fresh air in fps gaming. Heavy emphasis on co-op play has been long overdue and the concept has been taken to the next level in this game. The graphics are beautifully done but the game play combined with replayability will keep me playing for a long time to come.
  85. ChrisMilewski
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    Excellent. Best zombie gameplay I have ever experienced and the fact that you can play infected makes it a step up from almost any other recent zombie FPS. If your machine can handle it, it is worth every dollar. Every aspect of the game can be played online, and the emphasis on teamwork is ever-present. Buy this game!
  86. SamP.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    I figured Neversoft would at least try to make an improvement from the gigantic train wreck of a game called Guitar Hero 3. Looks like it was too much to hope for. The graphics are still just as laughably bad, the drum set that boasted being so much better than rock band's is only as good or worse, the setlist has a few jewels but overall is just as disappointing as GH3's. Put I figured Neversoft would at least try to make an improvement from the gigantic train wreck of a game called Guitar Hero 3. Looks like it was too much to hope for. The graphics are still just as laughably bad, the drum set that boasted being so much better than rock band's is only as good or worse, the setlist has a few jewels but overall is just as disappointing as GH3's. Put in this game and you'll want to go back to Guitar Hero 2 to remember why these games were even fun. Bottom line, Neversoft totally destroyed the guitar hero franchise, everything in this game is just a sad shadow of the things found in Rock Band 2, don't waste your time or money. Expand
  87. PhilipDyer
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    Steele X: 'Oh I voted it 0 because I want to mess up the rating scheme which bases itself as the mean mark. I think it should show MY view, so I'm going to manipulate it to that end by voting 0!!!'

    Come on. That's selfish, childish and completely wrong. The game itself is fantastic. Very good animations, original, fun concept. The game is amazing. I'll just
    Steele X: 'Oh I voted it 0 because I want to mess up the rating scheme which bases itself as the mean mark. I think it should show MY view, so I'm going to manipulate it to that end by voting 0!!!'

    Come on. That's selfish, childish and completely wrong.

    The game itself is fantastic. Very good animations, original, fun concept. The game is amazing. I'll just focus on some of the points that annoy me.

    I hear people moaning about how zombies shouldn't run quickly and that players should become infected and turn into zombies when they're bitten. These people are obviously trying to pick a fight. If this game included slow, infectious zombies it would suck and they'd moan about that too.

    'My team runs off and leaves me! BAD GAME!'

    No, bad PLAYERS. The game's fine. That's like voting CSS 0 because you were blocked in a vent by a player.

    'It's the same each time! I know where the medic packs are and where all the monsters are!'

    ...Seeing as they are completely wrong, it's clear that they haven't even played the game.

    In conclusion, the game's fantastic, but there are plenty of idiots out there who want to spoil it for everybody else. And not just on the game. Look down these comments, pick out every review voting it 0. They'll either be talking about something other than the game itself, or they'll be wrong. This game is great, enjoy it and ignore the nay sayers.
    Expand
  88. RanK
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    In relation to many many other shooters L4D manages to keep the player interested for a pretty long time. Even though the single player mode could actually get quite boring after some time the option to play on maps created by fellow players and the multiplayer mode definitely make up for that and help to avoid the occuring of behavior patterns players tend to use as soon as they're In relation to many many other shooters L4D manages to keep the player interested for a pretty long time. Even though the single player mode could actually get quite boring after some time the option to play on maps created by fellow players and the multiplayer mode definitely make up for that and help to avoid the occuring of behavior patterns players tend to use as soon as they're used to some maps. Overall it's a really nice game that tempts the user to play it over and over as soon as he has some time at his hands. Expand
  89. kaiyan
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    I love this game. I will admit after playing the levels a few times you do feel that it becomes a little mundane. I think that if you were able to increase the flow of zombies not just the damage they do(the difference between difficulties besides the fact that you 1 shot your team mates on accident on expert) it would make the game more fun as well. Hoping for more maps to come.
  90. RolandP
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    the best game ever. never gets boring. even when the second comes out i'll still play the classic one from time to time. thanks valve
  91. AlexGreenberg
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    This game is one of Valve's best offerings to date! The game's atmosphere, complimented with the excellent music to create tension, achieve a kind of game experience rivaled by Half Life 2, in terms of story. You being dropped immidialy into a zombie apocalypse is a great choice, and plays extremly well. This almost feels like training for the real zombie apoclypse. HopefullyThis game is one of Valve's best offerings to date! The game's atmosphere, complimented with the excellent music to create tension, achieve a kind of game experience rivaled by Half Life 2, in terms of story. You being dropped immidialy into a zombie apocalypse is a great choice, and plays extremly well. This almost feels like training for the real zombie apoclypse. Hopefully this is as close as we'll get. Great job Valve! Can't wait for the DLC! Expand
  92. JosephW
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing for the first week or 2 you get it but it bores easily with no new maps being released due to the fact that the SDK is no where near release, but if you leave it alone for a week or 2 then come back you will realise what fun you have missed, if you have a good computer then be sure to crank up those graphics for a scary and brill time if you have a bad computer just This game is amazing for the first week or 2 you get it but it bores easily with no new maps being released due to the fact that the SDK is no where near release, but if you leave it alone for a week or 2 then come back you will realise what fun you have missed, if you have a good computer then be sure to crank up those graphics for a scary and brill time if you have a bad computer just crank em down and have fun. Expand
  93. EmilK
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    That is the best game ever! Now the 2. L4D have arrived so i hope i get it in christmas present! L4D is just AWESOME!
  94. BrendanY
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    This gets a 10 because it's the best multiplayer fps experience out there today.
  95. AnthonPH
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Gee...this game is best of I play in my life, abundance in zombies, good guns, and inspirade in the movie of George Romero, not can be better!!!!
  96. emilynothing
    Jan 31, 2009
    10
    this is exactly what i expect out of a zombie game: extremely fast action and severe punishment for hesitation. unpredictable events and essentially infinite replay value. the lack of sophisticated weaponry and backstory involving the origin of the infection provides an atmosphere that i believe accurately depicts what it might be like to find yourself surrounded by infectious zombies.this is exactly what i expect out of a zombie game: extremely fast action and severe punishment for hesitation. unpredictable events and essentially infinite replay value. the lack of sophisticated weaponry and backstory involving the origin of the infection provides an atmosphere that i believe accurately depicts what it might be like to find yourself surrounded by infectious zombies.

    in general, i hate video games. but i can't help loving this one.
    Expand
  97. JasonY
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    How can you NOT like this game? It's one of the most incredible and addictive gaming experiences I've ever had! The four campaigns may seen limited at first, but once you start playing for a period of time, you will start to appreciate the genius and replayability of it. Of the four modes, Campaign (work with four other human players to complete a campaign), Versus (play as the How can you NOT like this game? It's one of the most incredible and addictive gaming experiences I've ever had! The four campaigns may seen limited at first, but once you start playing for a period of time, you will start to appreciate the genius and replayability of it. Of the four modes, Campaign (work with four other human players to complete a campaign), Versus (play as the survivors and the boss infected to gain points), and Single-Player (play a campaign with computer players). Of those three, versus as the most replayability, and I found myself playing this mode for hours without noticing. Even if you played for a whole week stopping only to eat, you wouldn't feel like you've played enough, and you'll be dreaming about it in your sleep. It's THAT good. There are plenty of achievements to obtain, and that'll definitely keep you going for many happy months, maybe even years, and if there are expansion packs, it'll keep you going for longer. So those of you who rated this game 0 just can't appreciate excellent co-op gaming. Don't just get the demo, get the GAME. Absorb the gameplay, and you'll end up loving every moment of it. you'll even be laughing your ass off when you get knocked off the roof by the tank, I know I was. Expand
  98. EricC.
    Feb 13, 2009
    10
    Ce jeu a vraiment tout pour plaire à tous et à toutes. Très facile à jouer et à comprendre. Jamais pareille d'une fois à l'autre et toujours autant d'action. Intence et violance sont au rendez-vous, coeur sensible s'aptenir.

    Je vous le recommende fortement, pour ceux qui adore la coop vous allez être comblé...
    Ce jeu a vraiment tout pour plaire à tous et à toutes. Très facile à jouer et à comprendre. Jamais pareille d'une fois à l'autre et toujours autant d'action. Intence et violance sont au rendez-vous, coeur sensible s'aptenir.

    Je vous le recommende fortement, pour ceux qui adore la coop vous allez être comblé... sans coop, oubliez ça aucune chance de survie!! ;)
    Expand
  99. Evan
    Feb 15, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead is unlike any other first person shooter I played. Despite its few bugs and lack of extensive content or source developer kit (standard to games using this engine,) it is a remarkable game. I love mowing down hoards of zombies, fighting of hunters a smokers, bashing boomers, crowning witches, and trying to get away from - while shooting - that bloody tank. The only major issue Left 4 Dead is unlike any other first person shooter I played. Despite its few bugs and lack of extensive content or source developer kit (standard to games using this engine,) it is a remarkable game. I love mowing down hoards of zombies, fighting of hunters a smokers, bashing boomers, crowning witches, and trying to get away from - while shooting - that bloody tank. The only major issue I have with this game is the server system: problems with getting a lobby going and finding servers/lobbies with room for a friend or two. I really think this game is a bang for your bucks, but I do believe it would not be an inconvenience for them to sell it for a bit less. (I want my friends to play it too!) Expand
  100. JohnO.
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    A true FPS. Destroy the Zombie hordes while trying to stay alive is a classic. This game put a twist in, by allowing multiple players to work together. One or more players, it does not matter the hours will disappear. Say "Goodbye" to your wife or girlfriend because this is a divorce game with the all time spent playing. You may wish to repeat the levels on a harder skill. It never gets A true FPS. Destroy the Zombie hordes while trying to stay alive is a classic. This game put a twist in, by allowing multiple players to work together. One or more players, it does not matter the hours will disappear. Say "Goodbye" to your wife or girlfriend because this is a divorce game with the all time spent playing. You may wish to repeat the levels on a harder skill. It never gets old. Graphics are good. Controls are typical of Valve. This is not your little kids shooter, some gore. I could go on about health, pain pills and weapons but if you know Valves games, then you will be right at home playing L4D. livewire120v Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  2. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.
  3. 92
    One of the finest zombie games ever made, and one of the finest co-op games ever made. The potential for everything to go so, so wrong without warning, or conversely to pull off the most spectacular escapes against all odds, means this is an online shooter you can tell your finest anecdotes about without boring everyone else to tears.