Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Although the animation isn't what you expect, Larry's return makes you laugh. It proves that adventure games aren't relics, and that something we considered funny as we were kids is still funny. The game relies on nostalgia, but adds its own flavor to the mix. [Aug 2013]
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    80
    It doesn’t last long and its humour certainly won’t be for everyone, but Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is an almost perfect remake that is short, sweet and loads of fun.
  3. Jun 27, 2013
    80
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is just like the original, but bigger, longer, harder and the perfect vehicle for Larry’s second coming.
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    78
    Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of Lounge Lizard Reloaded is pervaded by a sense of homesick and passion for the game that we struggle to find in many recent adventure games.
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    78
    In the end, Leisure Suit Larry Reloaded is a fun adult game that not only pays homage to the original but gives the modern gaming community something a little different. Sure it's dated here and there and some of the gags fall a little flat but the writing, characters and some of the puzzles are well crafted that will make you laugh, cry in shock and have a truly enjoyable time from start to finish.
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    77
    Nice adventure remake with the trusted Al Lowe humor. The technical improvements are what you could expect so it would have benefitted from additional content as well.
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    76
    For the most part, Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded works pretty well. Some of the new humor falls flat, like a sequence in the casino buffet where 90% of the comments aren’t funny, but otherwise Reloaded is a fine remake of a fine game.
  8. Aug 2, 2013
    75
    A genuinely funny game with the spirit of the original all over it. [CD-Action 09/2013, p.62]
  9. Jul 16, 2013
    75
    It may not look fantastic and certain mechanics shouldn't have been resurrected along with the rest of the game, but Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded succeeds at being a brief bit of naughty fun—and since it never aimed any higher, that definitely counts as a win.
  10. Jul 12, 2013
    75
    Leisure Suit Larry Reloaded is what the graphic adventure genre was in the eighties. Al Lowe has done it for the true fans and only for them. Try it if you are in search of a difficult game with complex puzzles.
  11. Jul 20, 2013
    70
    In the end, however, the price of admission is a pretty cheap trip down memory lane. For less than $20 bucks you can relive a bit of naughty fun.
  12. Jul 15, 2013
    70
    As an updated remake, Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is a good example of improved graphics and the new game section is not bad. This revival operation works less well considering the modest longevity, low difficulty of the puzzles and scaffolding narrative that, despite all the good will, has no longer the sexy and funny appeal of 26 years ago.
  13. Jul 10, 2013
    70
    On one hand, you can't deny, that Larry is a very important character in the history of gaming that has finally received a worthy overhaul. On the other hand, the new game is just a pleasant curiosity, something that allows gamers to find about the genre's past. Al Lowe & co. did a great job in reviving Larry's adventures, but this game won't become a hit. Older gamers will take a Chance to have a nostalgic trip to the past, but younger ones probably will find this game strange and hermetic.
  14. Jul 2, 2013
    70
    It's not a bad way to pass some time but it's really more of a curiosity than a must-play game, a relic from a time when the thought of a video game character dropping an f-bomb was simply beyond consideration.
  15. Jul 2, 2013
    70
    A Kickstarter project must look first at the people who backed it and Reloaded honors this with a faithful and clever remake of the first Larry game, full of details that the veterans will appreciate and love. However, it has problems like a lack of visual consistency between characters, poor animations and some questionable decisions that makes this a hard buy for newcomers.
  16. 70
    Saucy dialogue with a dash of sarcasm – even 20 years on this mix manages to entertain to a degree you'll forgive the game's relatively short story and the pretty pedestrian puzzle design.
  17. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    All in all, Leisure Suit Larry Reloaded was an exceptional game to play and is definitely worth the $20 for those who played the originals, the remake, or just want to see why this franchise was so revered back in the day.
  18. Jul 30, 2013
    68
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is pretty much the same game as the original with improved graphics, sound and speech. The kickstarter project still provides you with the typical humor of the Larry Laffer-series and nearly the same puzzles, but also comes with some very uncomfortable game mechanics and lack of usability like its original version.
  19. Jul 19, 2013
    65
    A revamping of a game notorious only for its infantile humor back in a time when such a thing was considered cutting-edge may seem like folly, but that is only because, well... it is.
  20. Jul 11, 2013
    65
    You can see the effort that went into bringing this game to the modern standard. The dialogues are really well done and the graphics look nice, but sadly nothing has changed to make it more appealing for the modern day audience. It's just something that you had to grow up.
  21. Jul 2, 2013
    65
    It's hard to deny there are some issues, but still we feel there's a lot of effort put into it, and we would be happy to see new episodes following this path.
  22. Jun 27, 2013
    65
    And that’s the reason the first Leisure Suit Larry is beloved enough to get a crowd-funded remake – it’s still very funny to play. Yes some of the mechanics are painful, irritating, or just obtrusive (even by 1987 standards, yet alone 2013), but lose them and you lose the experience.
  23. Jul 12, 2013
    63
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is still very funny to play, but some of the mechanics are painful.
  24. 60
    A technologically excellent and humorous remake of the original Larry game is an enjoyable little game. Especially for those contemporaries of the once famous series, who are now overgrown by moss. [Issue#232]
  25. Jul 12, 2013
    60
    Leisure Suit Larry is a franchise that most have forgotten, and others never really cared about. I loved the idea of his return, and after playing it was certainly a nice trip down memory lane. That is about all it is though. Those that have never played the series will find little here, and people like me who have fond memories of the franchise will chuckle at the return, but likely run out of steam before it concludes. Still, the ride is certainly worth checking out if you recall the name Larry Laffer.
  26. Jun 27, 2013
    60
    The reboot is close enough to the original – warts and all – to entertain the faithful. If you don’t have any nostalgia surrounding Larry and his plight, however, you may be left wondering why anyone bothered digging him up again.
  27. Jul 23, 2013
    58
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is a shameless game, but, alas, not in the sense that you’ve been expecting.
  28. Jul 4, 2013
    58
    Quotation forthcoming.
  29. Jun 27, 2013
    56
    I'm not saying that the game is a lost cause; it does have a few enjoyable moments, and N-Fusion did an amazing job bringing Leisure Suit Larry into the modern era. But the original title was definitely a product of its time, and that was 25 years ago.
  30. Jul 12, 2013
    55
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded does well what it has done over all these years and is filled to the brim with humor. Despite the new lick of paint, the outdated gameplay elements and the puzzle design kept Larry trapped in the eighties.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 67
  2. Negative: 4 out of 67
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Leisure Suit Larry returns in a remake of the original classic that started it all. And it's not just a 1:1 rehash, either. The story has been extended, the puzzles changed, and the graphics updated to a new generation of adventure game fans. But, it still retains the charm that Al Lowe brought back in 1987. If you're a fan of point-and-click games, you won't be disappointed. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Cried I laughed so much replaying the game after so many years! A must buy. The new graphics are gorgeous and the music is spot on. Well worth the 20$ on steam. Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    A trip down memory lane with some new twists!
    I've played all the Larry games in my youth starting with a second-hand copy of Larry 3 as a
    kid, then went and and got the collector's edition and Larry 7 when it released. The controls have definitely improved and have been simplified and the interface in Reloaded is a treat to work with!
    Everything is so fluid and responsive and the backgrounds and sprites really pop on a 1080p screen. Why the loader doesn't remember which video mode you'd set prior though is puzzling. Considering gambling is a key element to the game I'm surprised also that there is no automatic way to "bet max" and instead have to left-click the 'increase bet' button multiple times as holding down the mouse button results in an 'ability wheel' style overlay which I probably didn't use as much as I should have.

    All the above aside, I had a blast sinking a solid few hours into this game last night and with no walkthroughs or Google auto-suggestions, I was on my own with the puzzles which have been freshened up and a whole new section had me stumbling around lost for a while. When I finally discovered my missing link it all seemed "so obvious" in hindsight :)

    A relatively short game for $20, though if I had never played the series before it definitely would've taken longer. 8 out of 10 (after a beer or two from me!
    Full Review »