User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 164

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2014
    7
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is yet another remake of Sierra's infamous 1987 classic, Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards and it does a good job of bringing the audio and music to the 21st century, thanks to top quality voice acting and a fitting soundtrack by master composer, Austin Wintory. It's just a pity that some of the animations could've been better not to mentionLeisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is yet another remake of Sierra's infamous 1987 classic, Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards and it does a good job of bringing the audio and music to the 21st century, thanks to top quality voice acting and a fitting soundtrack by master composer, Austin Wintory. It's just a pity that some of the animations could've been better not to mention gameplay is a bit of a mixed bag: the game does contain some fresh new puzzles (to keep the fans on their toes) but it also has some old-fashioned grind you'll have to overcome too. If you're a fan of Leisure Suit Larry, you probably already have this game and nothing more needs to be said. If you're an adventure game fan that never really played the 1987 or 1991 versions of Leisure Suit Larry, but curious as to what they're about, I'd recommend you give this one a shot. Otherwise, you may want to reconsider checking it out as there's some worthy competition in the adventure gaming sphere nowadays. If only Al Lowe could work on a new story altogether... Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    7
    A cool and impressive remake to the classic point-and-click adventure game, Leisure Suit Larry. This game is a lot of fun, especially thanks to the great work done and time spent on this quality remake.

    The only drawback, in my opinion, is the exagerated use of the narrator in the game. Wherever you go, whatever you do, everytime you click the left button of the mouse, you get a long
    A cool and impressive remake to the classic point-and-click adventure game, Leisure Suit Larry. This game is a lot of fun, especially thanks to the great work done and time spent on this quality remake.

    The only drawback, in my opinion, is the exagerated use of the narrator in the game. Wherever you go, whatever you do, everytime you click the left button of the mouse, you get a long and well-acted presentation from the narrator. Why is this bad, you ask? Because the long speeches get boring and tedious and kind of hurt the gameplay. At a certain point I started cutting the narrator mid-sentence, since I wanted to move on, thus missing some important information.

    All in all, despite the tedious narrator, I had fun. Definitely worth buying if you like point-and-click adventures, and especially if you've played one of the previous versions (the original from the late 80s, I think, and the point-and-click remake from the early 90s).
    Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    6
    Whilst the artwork and voice work is well done, LSLR really just shows how far that the point-and-click adventures have moved on since the original and what used to be risqué humour just comes across as rather sad and unfunny. That's not Replay's fault, it's just the world moving on few changes were promised and few changes were given.

    It does fail a little with the animation, it's
    Whilst the artwork and voice work is well done, LSLR really just shows how far that the point-and-click adventures have moved on since the original and what used to be risqué humour just comes across as rather sad and unfunny. That's not Replay's fault, it's just the world moving on few changes were promised and few changes were given.

    It does fail a little with the animation, it's quite clunky at times and bugs (such as with save games and achievements) have not been addressed, which is disappointing. The interface also feels rather unwieldy and slow compared to newer titles.

    As a nostalgia trip, it's fine. As a new point-and-click, it's lagging somewhat.
    Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2013
    7
    I'm not old enough to have played the original, but I did play Love for Sail when it came out, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Compared to it, this remake of the original feels quite limited. It looks beautiful however and does bring back some fond memories. I recognize that Lowe had an extremely tough job, LSL is a series of games that were designed with a very different kind of SundayI'm not old enough to have played the original, but I did play Love for Sail when it came out, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Compared to it, this remake of the original feels quite limited. It looks beautiful however and does bring back some fond memories. I recognize that Lowe had an extremely tough job, LSL is a series of games that were designed with a very different kind of Sunday afternoon in mind, one that existed somewhere in the early and mid 90's and then promptly disappeared, along with much of the world's innocence. He chose to play it safe and aim mainly at the people who have played the original and wanted an updated version without much else, and that's fine. I hope he remakes the rest of the early titles as well and makes some money for his retirement, I'd gladly contribute to that without second thought. I would love to see a brand new LSL game from him, but I'm not sure you can do that anymore and make a game that is as saucy as the original games were for their time, when you are dealing either with people who will instantly rush for a guide when they are stuck at a puzzle, or a horde of hypocritical douchebags who spend half their day watching porn and the other half screaming "MISOGYNY" at the slightest sexual innuendo. Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2013
    7
    When I saw the kickstarter I was a little apprehensive. The graphics did not look the best but the right people were in place to get it done right. Mostly I felt bad about acquiring the original game through other means so I donated money to help it get made.

    Years later and it is the first kickstarter video game to be released. The graphics... are still nothing to write home about. In
    When I saw the kickstarter I was a little apprehensive. The graphics did not look the best but the right people were in place to get it done right. Mostly I felt bad about acquiring the original game through other means so I donated money to help it get made.

    Years later and it is the first kickstarter video game to be released. The graphics... are still nothing to write home about. In fact, some of the graphics are down right bad. However, the audio, the music, the humor, is spectacular. Every click with every type of mouse pointer gives a different result for every location. What happens when you look at a girl's arm? or lick the sidewalk or type and pick up a building? The narrator will have a unique and sometime hilarious response to your every action. That is what this game is really all about. Some unique Al Lowe humor that everyone has come to know and love. This humor is what was sorely missing in the 3D versions of this game and I missed it so much. Just wished the fixed up the sprite animations more.
    Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2013
    7
    I'm a big fan of Larry and looked forward to this reloaded version. In honesty, I think they 'reloaded' the wrong game I think the best of the series was Love For Sail. My biggest disappointment was the fact that beyond the graphical update, there was nothing new bars some puzzle tweaks. I think the kickstarter funds would have been better placed creating an entirely new Larry, based onI'm a big fan of Larry and looked forward to this reloaded version. In honesty, I think they 'reloaded' the wrong game I think the best of the series was Love For Sail. My biggest disappointment was the fact that beyond the graphical update, there was nothing new bars some puzzle tweaks. I think the kickstarter funds would have been better placed creating an entirely new Larry, based on what worked with the old ones as many of the 'modern' Larrys are utter crap. I'd have liked a continuation from Love For Sail, which was going to be called Lust In Space. This is a novelty and quickly wore thin for me and can't believe it took $600,000+ to achieve. Good game if you're nostalgic, but I think random gamers with no experience of Larry "won't get it" etc. Very funny, sarcastic humour, all amusing, but still short of that in Love For Sail. If any of the team involved happen to read this, consider Lust In Space next, continuing from the abduction scene at the end of Love For Sail Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed this game, however it became clear as I played that sometimes things are a bit better in retrospect. I loved the whole LSL series and I was a kickstarter supporter of the campaign because of it. I played many of the games multiple times, but perhaps I have aged a little too much, matured, or perhaps I just see a wee bit too much of the old Laffer in myself these days. The humorI enjoyed this game, however it became clear as I played that sometimes things are a bit better in retrospect. I loved the whole LSL series and I was a kickstarter supporter of the campaign because of it. I played many of the games multiple times, but perhaps I have aged a little too much, matured, or perhaps I just see a wee bit too much of the old Laffer in myself these days. The humor was good for the most part, I found the re-mix of a few puzzles confusing, and while the visuals were nice I found the animation a bit too choppy for my tastes. Nit picking I know, still bothered me a bit in this day of fantastically powerful devices. I do give kudos for the excellent cross platform support and it runs quite nicely on my Linux system which alone buys a few points from me. Overall I am happy with the experience, but I would like to have seen a bit more polish, and I really hope instead of going though the series again we will see LSL8 sooner rather than later. Expand
  8. Jul 2, 2013
    0
    I played the original EGA version of this game as well as the VGA remake and I don't remember laughing as hard as I did with this remake. The graphics are amazing and they put a lot of time into the soundtrack this time. Overall it was enjoyable and brought back good memories of my childhood. The only reason I don't give a 10 is because I thought there would be much more new content thanI played the original EGA version of this game as well as the VGA remake and I don't remember laughing as hard as I did with this remake. The graphics are amazing and they put a lot of time into the soundtrack this time. Overall it was enjoyable and brought back good memories of my childhood. The only reason I don't give a 10 is because I thought there would be much more new content than was added to this game. I was disappointed that some of the doors in the backgrounds that couldn't be entered and some of the items that couldn't be used. I can't understand why they were put there. I guess I just can't wait for a brand new Larry game to be released. Collapse
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Although the animation isn't what you expect, Larry's return makes you laugh. It proves that adventure games aren't relics, and that something we considered funny as we were kids is still funny. The game relies on nostalgia, but adds its own flavor to the mix. [Aug 2013]
  2. 60
    A technologically excellent and humorous remake of the original Larry game is an enjoyable little game. Especially for those contemporaries of the once famous series, who are now overgrown by moss. [Issue#232]
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    40
    I just sat there and gambled until I finally felt so angry with the game that I wanted to stab my screen. [Nov 2013, p.78]