Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Larry’s original creator, the infamous game designer Al Lowe, has teamed up with Sierra Veteran Josh Mandel, to bring this game back to life – updated and expanded in a myriad of ways. All they kept from the original game is the plot.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Although the animation isn't what you expect, Larry's return makes you laugh. It proves that adventure games aren't relics, and that something we considered funny as we were kids is still funny. The game relies on nostalgia, but adds its own flavor to the mix. [Aug 2013]
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    77
    Nice adventure remake with the trusted Al Lowe humor. The technical improvements are what you could expect so it would have benefitted from additional content as well.
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    70
    In the end, however, the price of admission is a pretty cheap trip down memory lane. For less than $20 bucks you can relive a bit of naughty fun.
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    63
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is still very funny to play, but some of the mechanics are painful.
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    58
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    50
    With its creaky, ancient-feeling game mechanics and ultimate lack of replayability, Reloaded feels like it would be much more at home on mobile platforms at a much smaller cost than its $20 release price tag.
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    20
    The world did not need this Leisure Suit Larry game, and it does not need any more.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 65
  2. Negative: 4 out of 65
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Leisure Suit Larry returns in a remake of the original classic that started it all. And it's not just a 1:1 rehash, either. The story has been extended, the puzzles changed, and the graphics updated to a new generation of adventure game fans. But, it still retains the charm that Al Lowe brought back in 1987. If you're a fan of point-and-click games, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you haven't played this game, why not! It is full of things the PC Police does not like (sexual innuendos, censored nudity and puzzles that you can figure out if you just write down what the skin mag says in the convenience store). Oh, and you will do better at 21 in the casino if you "save often and restore when you mess up!" I know, there are a lot of puzzles for you youngsters but if you get stumped go to Al Lowe's web site and click on "Email Me!" Warning: This game is not for anyone under 21! You will be booted out of the game. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In a part of my mind where the years run together, I remember firing up our 386 computer and playing the VGA remake of Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards with my older brother. I think about those days often. Perhaps it is because video games were better back then, or perhaps it is because I simply enjoyed them more. Either way, the magic in video games is gone. When I backed Larry Reloaded, it was entirely for nostalgic reasons. Remake or not, I wanted to see a new Al Lowe game.
    Playing the game, I found a familiar friend—the old icon bar. One of the greatest things about Larry games were the detailed sensory descriptions. As graphics have improved, this has gone away to the detriment of the gaming experience. A picture may say 1,000 words, but not necessarily the right words. In adventures games, narrators felt like characters in their own right. The narrator interacts with the player, compliments him when he solves a puzzle and mocks him when he is stuck.
    When entering Larry Reloaded, the veteran play will find himself in a familiar place, Lefty’s Bar. He’s been here before and knows what to do. The player walks up to the bar and orders a shot of whiskey. Then he walks to the bathroom and gives that shot to a drunk. However, instead of a TV remote, the drunk gives the player a coaster. Suddenly the player—who was content with a quick jog down memory lane—realizes that Al Lowe and Josh Mandel are going to put him to work a bit. The tweaked puzzles add some life to this game without taking away from the original purpose.
    Any fan of the series should be please with this update. It is exactly what we were promised and then some. I look forward to a remake of LSL2, which was always my favorite. And I’ll be the first in line to back that Kickstarter.
    Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    A really good remake! They reloaded the graphics, but the most important thing, they reloaded the puzzles. That offers the possibility that who played the old versions (like me) can totally enjoy the game again. One more thing, the voices are great! And the laughs are guaranteed! I do recommend it. Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    A nice remake with enhanced puzzles great graphics and sound even new parts, if you like adventure games don't miss this game, for me It's worth every penny Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    I played the original EGA version of this game as well as the VGA remake and I don't remember laughing as hard as I did with this remake. The graphics are amazing and they put a lot of time into the soundtrack this time. Overall it was enjoyable and brought back good memories of my childhood. The only reason I don't give a 10 is because I thought there would be much more new content than was added to this game. I was disappointed that some of the doors in the backgrounds that couldn't be entered and some of the items that couldn't be used. I can't understand why they were put there. I guess I just can't wait for a brand new Larry game to be released. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    1
    I adored the old Larry games which I played through multiple times as a kid, and recently just to revisit the franchise. This remake plays worse that the old games, with frustrating controls, an annoying voice over, dull and inconsistent graphics etc.
    This game is a thorough disappointment.
    Expand

See all 65 User Reviews