Lineage II: The Chaotic Chronicle PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Lineage II: The Chaotic Chronicle Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NCsoft brings a whole new experience to the fantasy role playing game genre with Lineage II: The Chaotic Chronicle. This all-new game, developed and published by NCsoft, is a prequel to their blockbuster hit, Lineage. Set 150 years before Lineage, as the kingdom of Aden becomes a unifiedNCsoft brings a whole new experience to the fantasy role playing game genre with Lineage II: The Chaotic Chronicle. This all-new game, developed and published by NCsoft, is a prequel to their blockbuster hit, Lineage. Set 150 years before Lineage, as the kingdom of Aden becomes a unified state, Lineage II: The Chaotic Chronicle is designed to show the struggles that take place during a time where several provinces come under one rule. Old loyalties must change, new structure must be established and national sovereignty and pride must be formed. However, a group of lands coming under single rule doesn't equate to immediate peace... In this world, many players fight for control over any and every piece of the new kingdom. [NCsoft] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: NCSOFT
  • Genre(s): Role-Playing, Massively Multiplayer Online, Massively Multiplayer, Fantasy
  • # of players: Massively Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Lineage II will be as revolutionary as "EverQuest" was for its time, and we are looking at the benchmark that all other MMORPGs (retail and free) will have to hold a candle against.
  2. If Lineage II has one main problem, it is that it is a treadmill supported by an economic system that is inane.
  3. One part that really sparkles however is the graphics; the Lineage world is one with a stunning backdrop, large, sparkling cities will surely take your breath away.
  4. Despite the fact that the whole purpose of the game is to sock it to your fellow players, Lineage II is accomplishing something that other MMOGs have been trying to do for years, it gets the players to actually work together. To me, that fact is pretty huge.
  5. Depending on how you look at it, Lineage II offers either a repetitive grind or a stiff challenge. In any case, the game isn't suited for more casual players who may only have time to play for 30 minutes to an hour.
  6. If you’re a casual MMO gamer and like the nice quiet solo life then look elsewhere – co-operation is vital in the later stages for increasing wealth and your characters power, it’s just too bad the chat and group system makes that too, a chore.
  7. There isn't much variety in character appearance, which is disappointing, since other games are offering an incredible amount of customizability. [Aug 2004, p.74]

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 10 out of 30
  1. RahulB.
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    I beta'd this game and decided to stop playing a week before its release so I wouldn't cry. Although it didn't seem like a I beta'd this game and decided to stop playing a week before its release so I wouldn't cry. Although it didn't seem like a promising game in the beginning, with the exception of its graphics, it left me dumbfounded of my initial judgement in the end; the game is spectacular. The game has everything a mmorpg addict would want: excellent graphics, a mass number of gear, quests, clans, challenging monsters, pets, castle sieges, and etc... In short, I love this game. If it weren't for my schoolwork, this would definitely be the game i'd be playing 24/7. THANK YOU for lineage NCsoft. I recommend this game to everyone!! Expand
  2. AndrewH.
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    To anyone reading these older comments above this post, just disregard them and jump in. As a player who has played since just after the game To anyone reading these older comments above this post, just disregard them and jump in. As a player who has played since just after the game going live, all I can say is that it has just gotten better and better, to the point to where the only FUTURE MMO that will be able to compare to it is, of course, Lineage III, which doesn't come out until Q4 2008... All I can say is that this game is worth it, completely and totally worth it. Expand
  3. [anonymous]
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    ive been playing for 6 years,but besides that there have been big improvements,fun,creative... one of the problems are people arent willing ive been playing for 6 years,but besides that there have been big improvements,fun,creative... one of the problems are people arent willing to grind and instead use a walker program or third party to level which means "bots" or "botting",and thats the best way to lose an account or get "banned" Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2017
    7
    I define Lineage-2 to be only The Chaotic Chronicle. Everything that happened after Kamael was released is a totally different game.

    For
    I define Lineage-2 to be only The Chaotic Chronicle. Everything that happened after Kamael was released is a totally different game.

    For both PvP and PvE oriented players, out of the Chaotic Chronicle - C5 (Chronicle 5: Oath of Blood) was arguably the most balanced version, where there was no clearly overpowered class, therefore most classes were useful.
    However, it seems out of all the servers still running Chaotic Chronicle now in 2016 - there are only ones running C6: Interlude.

    Why play such an old game in 2016? I have tried/tested many: Rift, Black Gold, Aion, Blade & Soul, ArcheAge, Black Desert, The Secret World, Bless...
    And I'm a developer actually working on Neverwinter and Star Trek online, so I play those too, if only for work.

    And guess what? Graphics aside - games are not getting any better than they were in 2004. And even the graphics are reaching a point where improving them further hardly changes the overall impression.

    So comparing Lineage-2 to tens of MMOs released since about 2003 to this day, here are the pros and cons:
    Pros:
    + Freedom. The game is NOT railroading you, nor holding your hand in any way. Wanna go kill lvl 40 monsters at lvl 24 - good luck, you are free to do so and it is possible and somewhat rewarding, although questionable for the profit/time.
    + Free PvP outside of towns. Killing players who don't fight back increases your Player Killer counter, which gradually increases penalties upon death yet it is possible to thrive with high PK counters - you just gotta be good enough to avoid getting killed :-)
    + A lot of _distinct_ classes. The Chaotic Chronicle/Throne has 33 different paths after level 40, each has an advanced version available at lvl 76 - which is really a better version of the same. Most other games give you less than 10.
    + Big, open world. Esp. in C5 and C6. Yes you can find the invisible walls here and there but you have to put in some effort to reach them.
    + Teamwork. It's really encouraged. Grinding is not as tedious and MUCH more effective in a group.
    + A live, player-driven economy (except for the x10'000 servers mentioned above). Some games created 12+ years later fail to even come close (I'm looking at you, Black Desert!)
    + Castle sieges, and hardcore raid bosses. They are massive, they are fun. They are somewhat unpredictable because other parties can and often do interfere.
    + Mob AI is a bit diverse and has some freedom i.e. the monsters can chase you for miles. Most later MMOs have dumbed down monsters / put them on VERY short leashes.

    + A lot of community-driven, yet popular (3000+ players per shard) servers, with different approaches to running the shard. Pick one that fits your taste. Some are true hardcore x1 with the bare-bones vanilla content, some are x10'000 with NPCs selling S-grade (BIS items) for 5 coins in every starter NPC shop. And everything in between as well.

    Cons:
    - Dated graphics - I'll put it here just to get it out of the way, and - because it's wrong to deny.
    - Swimming - still not fixed and buggy. There's a way to exploit it though.

    Controversial:
    +- The grind. Now, this is HUGELY addressed by the plethora of shards with various rate settings - pick one that suits you best. But, assuming you want to experience the entire game without just skipping to the endgame, and play on x1...x10 rates - the grind is really your best option to level up.
    +- Your lvl determines your power more than anything else, including your gear. The game makes it pretty much impossible to deal any damage to someone more than 10-12 lvls above you. Once at lvl-73 I could grab some crappy grade-D gear and take out many players of levels 25-50 without much effort. This discourages anything other than grinding until you reach lvl 78-80.
    +- Only dwarves can craft gear, OR collect resources with about 5 times better yield than any other race. Took me a while to realize how funny and kinda dumb that is. Love it or hate it, but while the other 4 races can compete with each other in various forms of PvP, the dwarves are sitting on the side collecting resources and crafting and selling ALL the gear for ALL of the other races. Now, a good player with a well-equipped dwarf (and dwarves often get BIS for themselves before crafting and selling it to others) - can still kick some ass, but it's still gonna be more like a freighter ship with some guns mounted on it - vs. a purpose-built warship that was designed as such from the start.

    Overall - while The Chaotic Chronicle is by no means perfect, but - as sad as it may sound - the vast majority of games created since then have their own flaws and too often their flaws are much greater. Most common ones are: lack of player freedom and lack of endgame content.

    The fact that there are still a lot of Chaotic Chronicle/Chaotic servers around and people are still playing it - only proves the point that it has long-term potential, while younger games with fancier graphics rise and fa
    Expand
  5. Eon
    Oct 22, 2005
    6
    There is one way to get fun from this game - DO NOT PLAY IT ON THE GLOBAL.. rates are just too low, you'll get bored out of your ground, There is one way to get fun from this game - DO NOT PLAY IT ON THE GLOBAL.. rates are just too low, you'll get bored out of your ground, by leveling up and getting enough adena to buy a decent equipment.. Since i play it on private server with exp an sp rates x6, adena x8 and drop rates x15 , IT DOES MAKE SENSE to kill a lot of monsters.. :) And don't do any quests other than those you need to do, like profession change quests.. Quest system sucks, just as the reward system.. And they're really boring.. Expand
  6. KelR.
    May 15, 2004
    4
    At first I was blown away at how beautiful the graphics of this game were. I jumped in and was entertained for about a week. After level 10 At first I was blown away at how beautiful the graphics of this game were. I jumped in and was entertained for about a week. After level 10 the "grind" wore in, it just stopped being very much fun. There just isn't very much to do besides kill thousands of monsters in hopes of leveling up just one more time, then you realize what you're doing and say "to hell with it." Surely, I hope that a company will someday come out with more original MMORPG ideas than games like this. Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2013
    0
    There are tons of excellent games to try, a thousand time betters than this crap to waste your time, is a plain MMORPG that takes too long inThere are tons of excellent games to try, a thousand time betters than this crap to waste your time, is a plain MMORPG that takes too long in the repeated formula of "kill things to get equipment, the kill tougher things" and access good content, doesn't worth the risk. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews