Lost Planet 3 PC

Lost Planet 3 Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lost Planet 3 is the third entry in the Lost Planet series. With a variety of multiplayer modes and a cinematic single player experience, Lost Planet 3 dives deeper into the Lost Planet universe, uncovering hidden truths within the unique environment of E.D.N. III.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    88
    Even if you haven't played any of the other Lost Planet games, Lost Planet 3 is a great game with a lot of action and a good story.
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    76
    The plot is gripping, the characters more sympathetic.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    65
    In the end, Lost Planet 3 isn't all that bad. The gameplay is solid enough as long as you're on foot, and the story is well acted even if it doesn't end up being very interesting.
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    60
    As weird and ironic it sounds, given the score, this is the finest game in the Lost Planet trilogy, and the most successful title ever made by Spark Unlimited. Because compared to the abysmal Lost Planet 2, this mediocrity is a huge step forward.
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    55
    Just as how The Bureau: XCOM Declassified was a watered down focused tested version of Mass Effect, Lost Planet 3 feels like a watered down Dead Space. Any redeeming qualities of the Lost Planet franchise are dead and gone, leaving a husk of its former self.
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    50
    While it does what any shooter does, it doesn’t really do anything especially good or bad, putting the gamer in an awkward spot. You can’t really love it, and you can’t really point out anything to hate either. It just… is. Ugh.
  7. Sep 9, 2013
    40
    Only its relatively decent narrative along with its fine soundtrack buoys the Lost Planet 3 title up. Otherwise, it's just a shooter full of frustrating bugs. A game you've played innumerable times before.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 47
  2. Negative: 13 out of 47
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. Those are based on expectations. This is a more story driven mature game than the first 2. If itDon't pay attention to the negative reviews. Those are based on expectations. This is a more story driven mature game than the first 2. If it was released with a new franchise name without the expectations, it would have been voted much higher for the excellent character and story development, with a little less frenetic action. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    I got this on steam and even tried to cancel my pre order and I'm glad I didn't its a great game despite what reviews say I hated lost planetI got this on steam and even tried to cancel my pre order and I'm glad I didn't its a great game despite what reviews say I hated lost planet 2 because it had no story the story in this is great and set on the same ice planet from the first it also has great game play I can't recommend this enough Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    The characters and story make a great gaming experience. I loved the facial technology. The gameplay is really fun at times and all togetherThe characters and story make a great gaming experience. I loved the facial technology. The gameplay is really fun at times and all together it makes a cool game in such an interesting setting! Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2014
    8
    I went into this game with low expectations but I'm finding that I'm really enjoying this game quite a bit. The atmosphere is top notch inI went into this game with low expectations but I'm finding that I'm really enjoying this game quite a bit. The atmosphere is top notch in Lost Planet 3. Some fun combat and a decent story. Id recommend to anyone looking for a new game to check it out. Expand
  5. May 11, 2014
    7
    I'd read all the previews. I knew it wasn't going to be like it's predecessor. But something was still off.
    To start with, the story telling
    I'd read all the previews. I knew it wasn't going to be like it's predecessor. But something was still off.
    To start with, the story telling is very good. You control Jim Peyton, an every day guy who travels to E.D.N III. You know, simple, everyday stuff. From the start, you notice he is not one dimensional. He is driven by other things than just money.
    Scenes with his wife, Grace, are perhaps the best part, as you start to care for Jim even more.
    The map, unfortunately, is small, but it seems rather large in comparison to the slow mech you drive. You trundle around in it for a large portion of the game, and engage in fights with giant Akrid, the denizens of E.D.N III. The fights mainly consist of QTE like button presses, but the swipes from the enemy must be blocked and countered before the QTE starts.
    The on foot section is fine, it's not great, it's not bad. In honesty, the only weapon you really need is the shotgun, accompanied by the frag grenade. You fight Akrid still, on foot, and have to shoot them in their convenient orange glowing areas. Some of the fights are genuinely challenging for a start, but then they just get annoying when you fire an explosive round at an Akrid, you kill it, but the explosion kills you and you have to start over again. It's standard third person shooting, and the cover system works fine too.
    It's a good game, but it's nowhere near great, and I just feel it could have been a lot better.
    Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    5
    I wasn't expecting much from this game and didn't get much either. The main story is interesting enough but the side stuff is boring andI wasn't expecting much from this game and didn't get much either. The main story is interesting enough but the side stuff is boring and annoying. you have your mech and can go on missions and stuff, there are upgrades for your mech ass well as weapons. I just wish they had put more effort in side missions, made it more open world. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    I was a fan of the first game and i even liked the second part, but this game is just terrible. It has nothing in common with the previousI was a fan of the first game and i even liked the second part, but this game is just terrible. It has nothing in common with the previous games. It's just terrible. Seems like they wanted to make it look like Dead Space, but they failed, the gameplay is boring, like the plot. A great step back in the franchise. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews