Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Sep 4, 2015
    84
    A very good Mad Max game, with some excellent bits but also some issues. The setting is great, car combat is incredibly fun - there's a good sense of freedom and the main missions are pretty good, but the story is quite flat (even though the ending is great), the fighting system is nothing more than decent and the optional stuff becomes pretty repetitive.
  2. CD-Action
    Nov 14, 2015
    80
    Mad Max is this year’s equivalent of Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor – a really decent open world game that will not disappoint the fans of the franchise and will win over some undecided gamers, but will not be inducted into the industry’s hall of fame alongside Skyrim, GTA, Black Flag or The Witcher 3. [11/2015, p.28]
  3. Oct 29, 2015
    80
    In the end, Mad Max’s ability to create a good time far outweighs any problems it has.
  4. Sep 14, 2015
    80
    A game that should become a cult/sleeper hit of 2015. Not perfect by any means, but great fun for the most part.
  5. Sep 7, 2015
    80
    Mad Max successfully blends well-known and popular elements from other games. Post-apocalyptic world is very well presented and driving behind the Magnus Opus' wheel is so engrossing that the latest work from Avalanche is definitely worth your time, even if one needs to turn a blind eye to few shortcomings.
  6. Sep 2, 2015
    80
    When it comes to gameplay, Mad Max feels pretty average, but when you're playing it's very, very fun. If you like the movies, you'll love driving and fighting around the beautiful landscapes Avalanche has created.
  7. Sep 30, 2015
    78
    The world, the cars, the action is perfect, but the dull game design makes the post-apocalypse a boring place.
  8. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Sep 25, 2015
    78
    The adrenaline-fueled action of Mad Max is marred with grind for scrap, all-too-similar side activities and flaws in game logic. [Issue#201, p.52]
  9. Sep 9, 2015
    78
    While the gameplay is solid and Avalanche Studios did a great job digitally creating the Wasteland, Mad Max starts off slow in the story department and may turn off potential players. However, if you stick with it, you'll finally get the Mad Max you were expecting.
  10. Sep 8, 2015
    77
    Satisfying car combat and a beautiful wasteland mostly make up for repetitive melee combat and lackluster story.
  11. Sep 10, 2015
    76
    If you’re a fan of games like Shadow of Mordor and Assassin’s Creed, you’re going to find a lot to like here but I doubt the game will invoke the same sort of adoration as those two titles. Mad Max is a serviceable and enjoyable beginning to what I hope will become a series of games set in this world. Every legend needs to start somewhere, and the basics of greatness are here. Max and his Magnum Opus just need a bit more tuning and the helping hand of a good Blackfinger to get into true fighting shape.
  12. Sep 3, 2015
    76
    It captures the charm of the outstanding original, and should satisfy fans of the original. However, it is also monotonous, tough and a little unimaginative.
  13. Sep 9, 2015
    73
    Superior graphics power as well great performance and customizing options elevate the PC version over its console brethren. Yet Mad Max still suffers severely from a lack of variety. It sports a giant, atmospheric world – but doesn’t give players enough meaningful tasks to complete in it.
  14. Jan 19, 2016
    70
    Is it a bad game? Absolutely not. On the contrary, Ubisoft's open-world template is perfect for churning out market-friendly games that tick all the boxes of "What People Want." Or, perhaps, "What You Want."...And honestly, Mad Max's formula is still to some extent "What I Want." Just not as much as a few years ago.
  15. Oct 31, 2015
    70
    Mad Max is a missed opportunity. The exceptional depiction of the Wasteland, the chaotic nature of the post-apocalyptic society, the excellent technical qualities and thrilling vehicle fights are held back by the mundane melee combat mechanics, the loose story, the repetitive nature of secondary objectives and the overall low-level challenge.
  16. Oct 7, 2015
    70
    The formula wears off quickly but the fans of the movie will have their Mad Max fix.
  17. Sep 14, 2015
    70
    Funny post-apocalyptic action game suffers by a too-much recycling. The game throws in the wild chases, awesome fights and eye-catching visuals.
  18. Sep 9, 2015
    70
    A chaotic dust bowl of an open world, rendered and recorded with Avalanche's usual technical excellence on PC. Like Max's car some parts are a little ramshackle, but if you stick to causing bedlam there's plenty of fun to be had.
  19. Oct 8, 2015
    65
    Orcs have been redressed as punks, and the rest is just another rehash of what we’ve seen in Batman: Arkham City and the Assassin’s Creed series. Every time I ascended in a hot air balloon to survey a new area and open it up on the map, I wanted to laugh and cry at the same time.
  20. Sep 8, 2015
    60
    Mad Max is a decent if, uninspiring time waster.
  21. Sep 4, 2015
    60
    For this particular game to have truly shined, we would have needed to see a much better narrative and a more varied set of missions. Unfortunately for gamers far and wide, Mad Max is far more likely to frustrate than entertain.
  22. The type which does not present a novelty for open world Mad Max. Repetitive missions. Is it fun to collect scrap metal?
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. It’s seven out of ten epitomised. Pretty decent.
  2. Dec 8, 2015
    More than the carefully constructed language or the fidelity to a story that doesn’t need to be told, Mad Max is at its best when it offers some of that silence its hero swears to seek. It’s when Chumbucket shuts up, when no deals need to be bartered, when you can just drive—just you belching out fire and black smoke across the highways, shiny and chrome.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 843 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 156
  1. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    I bought MGS V and Mad Max last night, I figured I would try Mad Max for an hour before i would start Metal Gear. I still have not playedI bought MGS V and Mad Max last night, I figured I would try Mad Max for an hour before i would start Metal Gear. I still have not played metal gear a day later. This mad max game besides being beautufl graphically is so much fun, there is so much stuff to do in the game. My one little grip is that you cannot collect scrap metal by driving over it Full Review »
  2. Sep 1, 2015
    9
    This game on PC is amazing, its run like heaven. I have played the game on consoles and PC, and i can say that there is a lot of differences,This game on PC is amazing, its run like heaven. I have played the game on consoles and PC, and i can say that there is a lot of differences, with my 970gtx its give me a performance of 100fps constantly at 1080p. About the game itself, its like shadows of mordor but in the Mad Max universe. If you like action games, open world madness and mad max, this is a dream come true.
    Congratulations to Avalanche for a great game that runs perfect on pc from day 1.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2015
    0
    im sick of so called open world games like this or farcry where every little piece is shown on the map, whats with exploring ? FALLOT PLS COMEim sick of so called open world games like this or farcry where every little piece is shown on the map, whats with exploring ? FALLOT PLS COME im sick of brainless games Full Review »