Magic: Duels of the Planeswalkers 2014 Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Available on the Android platform for the first time ever in addition to iPad, Xbox LIVE Arcade, Steam and PlayStation Network, Magic 2014 - Duels of the Planeswalkers will offer players exciting new features as they partner with Planeswalker Chandra Nalaar to track down a manipulative and dangerous Planeswalker foe. An immersive storyline and strong integration with the Magic 2014 - Core Set ties the experience together for players, culminating in an end-of-summer Magic Celebration that brings all Magic fans together in stores across the world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    90
    Duels 2014 has everything you've ever wanted from a Duels game. The Sealed Play option takes this version to a whole new level, and will make it exceedingly difficult for Stainless to one-up itself again.
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    80
    Fans will like the new modes and the inclusion of Silver creatures, and newcomers shouldn’t feel scared of joining the fun, as Magic 2014 is once again another successful attempt at digitally recreating the intricate card game and breaking it down to easy, understandable fun.
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    80
    The addition of Sealed Deck mode makes this the best Duels yet, but the requirement of microtransactions for deck slots leaves a rather sour taste. [Sept 2013, p.78]
  4. Jul 2, 2013
    79
    Magic 2014 is still well worth its modest ten dollar price tag, but players looking to jump into a duel for the first time would be better served by the better-rounded 2012 and 2013 versions of the series, even if their art doesn’t move.
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    75
    Another incremental upgrade, Magic 2014 is still just the bastard child of Magic Online and the physical card game.
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    75
    Stainless Games creates another solid adaptation of Magic: The Gathering, but plays it safe by delivering a product that does little to improve on last year's game. It's the FIFA of collectible card games.
  7. Half excellent adaptation of a classic game, half hamfisted promotional product, Magic 2014 is as notable as much for what it purposefully leaves on the table versus what it achieves.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 18 out of 35
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    I have played all of the Duels of the Planeswalkers games and put 100's of hours into them (I enjoy Magic but don't have the money to play the real game!). That being said, I think this one is the best yet. It's nicely polished, the decks are interesting, the presentation has been improved, and the introduction of sealed play is a welcome addition to the series. Unlike others I don't have ridiculously high expectations, I don't expect there to be a full deck editor and I was aware of the limitations of sealed play before I bought the game. Seriously people, it's a $10 game! When you compare what you get here with what you'd get in physical Magic for $10 this game is an amazing deal. If you have enjoyed the other games in this series, or just want to give Magic a try in a casual way, you can't go wrong with this game. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    A lot of the people who play 'real' Magic with cards were disappointed with this game.

    Fair enough. The game lacks several key dimensions
    of the card game, especially building your own decks.

    Others complain about the DLC. Also fair. It is far easier to pay to win than actually grind the card unlocks. So yes, the DLC is bad.

    However this is still a good magic game, and it is an excellent product as an introduction to the game for beginners or the curious. If you are a veteran magic player you may wish to avoid it. But if you are an outsider who wants to see how this famous game functions this is a good place to start. And of course the way around the high price of DLC is PATIENCE. Wait for the inevitable Steam sale.

    9/10 as a great demo for magic.

    Orctowngrot.
    Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    GREAT PRICE-GREAT GAME.

    A amazing game for 9$ This game compares to other titles priced at 29-59$ All the dlc,s are optional and only
    unlock the items you get for playing? Do people really buy a game unlocked and not play it? Unlocking the decks, and cards is the best part. There is a new game mode, that is separate from the game itself, and you have a option to buy extra deck slots.. This game is 9$ and is a better value then most games at 59$ price point. But that goes to show you that trolls and morons and fanbois, Still wright negative reviews that have no TRUTH.

    PS. I never thought I would be into Magic, but im hooked. It also teaches you the ropes well for us beginners.
    Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2013
    4
    Here comes new Duels of the Planeswalkers 2014. Should we be in awe and say "yay!"? I think not. The only new thing that came this year is draft play called sealed campaign. Other mods includes include classic campaign through planes, two-headed giant and custom game. If you compare this with MtG: DotP 2013, you find missing planechase mode. In the multiplayer there is high number cheating players thanks to open deck creation that came thanks to sealed campaign.

    In short MtG DotP 2014 brings on plus side this years card editions, draft play and deck building and is better optimized for mouse and keyboard.
    On cons side it´s missing planechase mode, has some unwelcome UI changes, and there is cheating in multiplayer.
    If that´s enough for you to buy the game is up to you.
    Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2013
    3
    Holy god this game sucks! No custom decks! Evil greedy psuedo-sealed play (you have to pay $1 to play it after 2 times)! All the while feeling like this is just a marketing gimmick to get you buy magic cards (the game feels like just a long tutorial/advertisement for MTG). Seriously appalling. Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2013
    2
    It's honestly disappointing to me how they made this promotional product. Oops, I mean "game," in every sense that Candy Crush Saga is a game (hint: pay2win much?) and the only thing more disappointing is there's absolutely no way possible you can get different cards in the sealed decks because they're generated based on your username (which means if you use Steam, it's tied to your Steam account name).

    It's just sad to see MtG utterly ruined in such an awesome, flashy piece of coding that really could have excelled, but it's only for promoting one new line. The only way to truly excel at the deck puzzles is to actually pay for the decks. I'm sadly not joking. They allow you to pay for virtual cards that have no bearing on anything other than "I can finally beat this one guy" and they expect you to shell out the cash, especially if you want to beat everyone for the shiny achievements.

    It's just a re-skinned, re-worked, re-marketed clone of everything that is wrong with MMOs, and it's not even an MMO. I'd rather buy the actual physical cards. At least then I can play with those with more than one person and not something that is obviously rigged from the start.
    Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    Waste of time slow ass game with boring mechanic blank board, there are better games like Spectromancer for me has better music and strategy combat. Also seem to be bad optimized for PC . Expand

See all 35 User Reviews