User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 548 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 548

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    Old school gamers will find themselves very happy with this title. I would start with its fun, but it is way more than fun, it is challenging. It is in fact often frustrating as you start out but the pay off comes every time you finish a level. Remember back when you got excited that you passed an area and saved your game. Well you will breath that same satisfied sigh of relief withOld school gamers will find themselves very happy with this title. I would start with its fun, but it is way more than fun, it is challenging. It is in fact often frustrating as you start out but the pay off comes every time you finish a level. Remember back when you got excited that you passed an area and saved your game. Well you will breath that same satisfied sigh of relief with Magicka. Then you will most likely start the next level even though you told yourself you wouldn't. Is it buggy, yes, does it have an engaging storyline? Not at all, in fact it is humorous to see what lengths they went to to make the story line a parody of all the most unimaginative journeys you have ever mashed your way through in the last 12 years. This is also the very first time I am waiting until I go into the pvp on this game. I need to work on my moves ;) Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2011
    6
    Great idea, the magic mechanic is awesome, but overall an incredibly flawed game. You'll find yourself getting physically pinned with no hope of exit numerous times. Having a health bar that is indistinguishable from the health bar of an enemy is inexcusable. The lack of an inventory means you just pick up new things all the time, and removes any interest you would have in customizing theGreat idea, the magic mechanic is awesome, but overall an incredibly flawed game. You'll find yourself getting physically pinned with no hope of exit numerous times. Having a health bar that is indistinguishable from the health bar of an enemy is inexcusable. The lack of an inventory means you just pick up new things all the time, and removes any interest you would have in customizing the character.

    Dying takes 10 seconds every time, as you wait for the slow faded word "defeated" to fade up on the screen, which is unskippable. The best part? Being frozen makes this process take LONGER. You have to wait longer to respawn if you died while frozen, as the whole game slows down.

    Overall, mixing spells is an incredibly cool idea, but wait until Diablo III comes out, where you'll get that on top of an actually playable game.
    Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    9
    Great deal on sale. I've already had many many hours of enjoyment for the low price of $5. The magic system is groundbreaking and brilliant, completely changing how magic casting will be done in future games no doubt. Having to use some of your own personal skill in creating the combos means it's less button spam and more personal skill and coordination. The spells are creative,Great deal on sale. I've already had many many hours of enjoyment for the low price of $5. The magic system is groundbreaking and brilliant, completely changing how magic casting will be done in future games no doubt. Having to use some of your own personal skill in creating the combos means it's less button spam and more personal skill and coordination. The spells are creative, entertaining, and quite powerful. You really do feel like a magic-slinging bad-a$$. There are some flaws, unfortunately: No save! You have to use the awful checkpoint system! An archaic throwback reminiscent of console ports. Also the way the enemies can stunlock you at time, making it impossible to cast any spells as you keep getting knocked down over and over. But one of the best things: No silly "mana" to keep track of! If I want to blast a spell, I can blast the darn spell! And keep blasting it as much as I like. This is the way it should be, no mana management or being able to not cast a spell cause you're out of mana. MAna is a horrible idea that wormed its way into games 10+ years ago and never went away. Its time has come, and Magicka has shown us the joy of being an uber-powerful wizard without mana deficiencies. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    This game is simply great for 10 bucks!

    Pros: You can get a few remotes (I use 360s) and sit down like a console game with friends Great spells and gameplay I havnt enjoyed a game like (sorta like a hack and slash, but with spells :P) this since maybe Diablo in the 90s Funny story CONS: I admit there were a few bugs here and there, like freezing and drops online, ie get to a boss level
    This game is simply great for 10 bucks!

    Pros:
    You can get a few remotes (I use 360s) and sit down like a console game with friends
    Great spells and gameplay
    I havnt enjoyed a game like (sorta like a hack and slash, but with spells :P) this since maybe Diablo in the 90s
    Funny story

    CONS:
    I admit there were a few bugs here and there, like freezing and drops online, ie get to a boss level and the other guys drop when you all die to redo the part from save point
    Patches are fixing some of the earlier problems

    Overall for 10 bucks Im giving this a 10, I gave the same to Amnesia:The Dark Descent (but dont play that alone)
    Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    Although I have not finished the game yet, I feel that I have seen enough to come up with a well-considered review. Magicka 2 is brilliant in its simplicity and humour. The endless combination of spells can create so many fun situations, both beneficial as well as harmful. However, there are bugs in the game. Sometimes, the game crashes in multiplayer sessions, which means that the levelAlthough I have not finished the game yet, I feel that I have seen enough to come up with a well-considered review. Magicka 2 is brilliant in its simplicity and humour. The endless combination of spells can create so many fun situations, both beneficial as well as harmful. However, there are bugs in the game. Sometimes, the game crashes in multiplayer sessions, which means that the level will need to be played from scratch. This can be very annoying. There are also some other inconveniences that you will likely run into. Here's hoping that a decent patch will be released soon. Expand
  6. May 27, 2011
    7
    Magicka is only $10. It might lack polish, but there is plenty of content and unexpected enjoyment in this title to justify that price and more. Itâ
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    There is a solid reason why this game has scores all over the place: When it worked it was one of the most dumb, enjoyable experiences I've ever had in gaming, but when it didn't I wanted to tear my hair out because I couldn't wait to get to the fun part when it worked again. It is quite sad considering that the game was so amazing that it fell on faults that have nothing to do withThere is a solid reason why this game has scores all over the place: When it worked it was one of the most dumb, enjoyable experiences I've ever had in gaming, but when it didn't I wanted to tear my hair out because I couldn't wait to get to the fun part when it worked again. It is quite sad considering that the game was so amazing that it fell on faults that have nothing to do with gameplay or story, but the bugs. OH THE BUGS. These are bugs of "Alien"-proportions, huge, gamebreaking, annoying, all of it at once. If the game was released later it would have been even more of a smash hit than it was, and hopefully Arrowhead and Paradox both learns their lesson to not push promising projects out the door.

    It is a clear 10/10 when it works, and a 0/10 when it doesn't. These days it's however patched up and working, the game it was supposed to be, which earns it an 8/10 from me. The fun to be had can simply not be ignored, especially now when it is fixed up. If you are looking for some cheap, stupid fun with preferably 3 friends over the christmas holidays I can warmly recommend this game.
    Expand
  8. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    I can't reccomend this game enough, it's a must for all gamers and don't listen to all the people who say it's unplayable because of bugs because there's been so many updates that it's one of the smoothest and enjoyable experiences I've ever had in a game, if you're interested in pulp fiction this will become even more enjoyable with all the quips at things like Star Wars, Legend of ZeldaI can't reccomend this game enough, it's a must for all gamers and don't listen to all the people who say it's unplayable because of bugs because there's been so many updates that it's one of the smoothest and enjoyable experiences I've ever had in a game, if you're interested in pulp fiction this will become even more enjoyable with all the quips at things like Star Wars, Legend of Zelda and even Twilight! The controls and combat are slow at first to ease you into it then by the 3rd chapter the difficulty gets notably more difficult without making it frustrating because it usually makes you blame yourself for dying and not the game. (Although I became quite annoyed in the volcano section of chapter 11.) I've almost finished the game and I love most of the characters like Vlad (who is so not a vampire) and the giant dragon Fafnir and Ygg and finally Jormungdar the giant acid spitting snake. I got this while it was on special for $2.50 but would of been happy now to spend the original price of $20 on this small practically indie game that I've spent more time on than Portal 1 and 2! I'm hitting my 20 hour mark now and am still going! Plus it's amazing fun exploring each level trying to find all the secret areas (and all the dead moose, yes you heard right dead moose) and especially finding probably the best secret of the game the Sword of Masters which fires a sword beam at full health and of course the reviver for single player a fairy that says hey list'n. This is a must have game for anyone who is into pop culture or fantasy or creativity or even games in general! Expand
  9. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    This game has the potential to be extremely entertaining, varied, and pretty to look at.

    Unfortunately, it is also pretty broken- the developers didn't fix the bugs before they started shipping out downloadable content, resulting in a game that bugs out far too often for even the most patient person, meaning you have to re play sequences that take really rather a long time; die in
    This game has the potential to be extremely entertaining, varied, and pretty to look at.

    Unfortunately, it is also pretty broken- the developers didn't fix the bugs before they started shipping out downloadable content, resulting in a game that bugs out far too often for even the most patient person, meaning you have to re play sequences that take really rather a long time; die in stupid ways that you didn't intend, and someties be unable to move on from a combat scene due to glitches. By all means, try out the free demo version available on steam- be warned though, if you're on a laptop it probably won't work. I spent an hour and a half just on getting my computer to make it run, and ended up with poor performance with fps of around 5. So make sure you have the stats you need first (Nvidia Geforce 8800 or later is recommended). I don't know how the multiplayer plays out, since the demo version doesn't have online play. I assume that's just as buggy as single player!!!
    Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    Interesting concept, quite funny, enjoyable multiplayer. But this game is broken, very broken. I experience bugs (no, it isn't because of my PC) about every 15 min of online play. Either my screen turns black or i disconnect... Since yesterday I even can't join a game no more... Almost 2 years after release this game still is just one big bug with some fun parts in between it...
  11. Jan 18, 2013
    5
    It's fun and logical rpg game. But it has many critical errors. For example, I open the box door to get new items, then my character fall to the out of sight. And then it is dead...
  12. May 24, 2013
    2
    UI for movement seemed really clunky to me. It looks and plays like an arcade game from the 70's. I like the concept of so many spell combinations but I only seemed to use a few of the combos to get the bosses down. The fighting is rather boring and repetitive and I do not recommend this game even at a low price.
  13. Nov 28, 2014
    10
    A brilliant game with the most innovative spell casting systems I've seen to date. Why can't more games be this creative? On the surface it seems simple, you get 8 elements and combine them into spells. This turns into hundreds of combinations though each with their own uses.

    It's fun to play and the challenge of using the proper elements for a situation is great. It also has a ton
    A brilliant game with the most innovative spell casting systems I've seen to date. Why can't more games be this creative? On the surface it seems simple, you get 8 elements and combine them into spells. This turns into hundreds of combinations though each with their own uses.

    It's fun to play and the challenge of using the proper elements for a situation is great. It also has a ton of references that had me chuckling :D.
    Expand
  14. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    Nice game. Developers have released nine patches up to date science game release (less than a two weeks ago). I must say that the game is pretty stable now.
  15. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    This game lost it's 10 on the numerous bugs/crashes. But since the developers are really trying to fix this and the game becomes better with every update I will put this aside for now.

    The game sports a good multiplayer function which ensues in hilarious chaos when played with enough friends, it is simply impossible to stay alive. This may seem like a nuisance but it causes a lot of
    This game lost it's 10 on the numerous bugs/crashes. But since the developers are really trying to fix this and the game becomes better with every update I will put this aside for now.

    The game sports a good multiplayer function which ensues in hilarious chaos when played with enough friends, it is simply impossible to stay alive. This may seem like a nuisance but it causes a lot of laughter when one of your friends accidentally blows you away and is forced to once again revive you.

    The controls start out to be quite clumsy, but every mildly experienced gamer will pick them up within 1 hour of play at most.

    Lastly, the many references to all our favorite geek movies, games, series gave me an extra impulse to keep playing.

    All in all a very enjoyable game that is definitely worth the 10$ they are asking for it.
    Expand
  16. Feb 17, 2011
    2
    With its bad control to its bad graphics, this game should have been canceled, it also tries to be funny, only a simple mind would find this dry game funny, its casting system that people brag about will make you want to break your keyboard, in the end this game is bad, if you got a old computer from the 90s, then grab this junk, but at the $10 asking price i would pass, there are greatWith its bad control to its bad graphics, this game should have been canceled, it also tries to be funny, only a simple mind would find this dry game funny, its casting system that people brag about will make you want to break your keyboard, in the end this game is bad, if you got a old computer from the 90s, then grab this junk, but at the $10 asking price i would pass, there are great Indie game out there, and this is not it Expand
  17. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    Incredible. If only AAA studios put as much work into considering game design. It's the most fresh thing I've played since minecraft.

    It takes a while to get used to the control system. And the multi-player experience is... different because of the minor issue that death really causes during the multi-player. But everyone should play it anyways. There is no one that has taken my
    Incredible. If only AAA studios put as much work into considering game design. It's the most fresh thing I've played since minecraft.

    It takes a while to get used to the control system. And the multi-player experience is... different because of the minor issue that death really causes during the multi-player. But everyone should play it anyways. There is no one that has taken my advice on buying it who has regretted it in my personal life.
    Expand
  18. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    THIS REVIEWS TAKES INTO CONSIDERATION POST-RELEASE CHANGES TO THE GAME. I think an important thing to keep in mind is that many of the reviews here, both critic and user, were written when the game was released with glaring launch bugs and issues. And while that's hardly something they can be blamed for judging the game by, these issues have long since been ironed out at this point inTHIS REVIEWS TAKES INTO CONSIDERATION POST-RELEASE CHANGES TO THE GAME. I think an important thing to keep in mind is that many of the reviews here, both critic and user, were written when the game was released with glaring launch bugs and issues. And while that's hardly something they can be blamed for judging the game by, these issues have long since been ironed out at this point in time. What does this leave us with? It leaves us with an indie game whose main gameplay feature of combining various spell elements is highly innovative and whose multiplayer is absolutely hilarious. However, let it be noted that it is very much a multiplayer-centric title; while singleplayer is available, you quickly learn that death comes easily in this game, and you soon find yourself spamming the same 2-3 spell combinations throughout the vast majority of the game in order to simply survive. In a recent patch they have attempted to alleviate this problem somewhat with the introduction of the Fairy, which will revive you once, should you fall, and is recharged at every checkpoint, however the core of the issue still remains; the game is balanced for multiplayer. The campaign itself is somewhat short and linear, but compensates for it with plenty of humour and numerous easter eggs to be discovered. If you have 1-3 friends with an interest in a game like this, it's a blast and easily worth the full price. If you're going for the singleplayer experience, you might want to wait for a sale before purchasing it. Expand
  19. Mar 16, 2011
    6
    Magicka has a totally new concept for game play. Never seen anything like it, and it is fun. That said i give this game still rather low rating because it is hard, very hard. I have only played it single player and it appears as the game is made for co-op. A difficulty setting that would make single player easier, specially that bosses cant one shot the player and i would give this game a 9.
  20. Jul 6, 2011
    8
    Magicka has managed to produce the single best on-the-fly spell-casting/wizard dueling gameplay system ever featured in a video game. There is simply no other system like it, nor one that comes close to being as much fun to watch. This simple fact alone makes Magicka one of the most worthy games out there for the price -- and when you throw in great multiplayer, zany and sometimesMagicka has managed to produce the single best on-the-fly spell-casting/wizard dueling gameplay system ever featured in a video game. There is simply no other system like it, nor one that comes close to being as much fun to watch. This simple fact alone makes Magicka one of the most worthy games out there for the price -- and when you throw in great multiplayer, zany and sometimes hilarious references and story elements, good DLC/support, and a rich variety of gameplay modes, the overall package simply becomes that much sweeter. Expand
  21. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Crazy fun-filled spectaular game has me mesmerised from start to finish. I dont think I've ever panicked so much whilst playing a game, nor had as much fun. And the opportunities for friendly fire in co-op are pretty much unbeatable I reckon. Love it. And it's cheap as chips! Great value for money.
  22. Nov 14, 2011
    3
    One of the most abjectly horrible games I've played in a very long time. To play Magicka is to undergo a case study in great concepts ruined by thoughtless game design. An overly-complicated, cumbersome, and clunky control system compounds the fact that the singleplayer campaign is literally impossible to complete on one's own. Bugs and slowdown are plentiful, even after assurances thatOne of the most abjectly horrible games I've played in a very long time. To play Magicka is to undergo a case study in great concepts ruined by thoughtless game design. An overly-complicated, cumbersome, and clunky control system compounds the fact that the singleplayer campaign is literally impossible to complete on one's own. Bugs and slowdown are plentiful, even after assurances that the game has been "fixed." A little more time and effort in development could have brought about bug fixes and enemy scaling by number of players. That small amount of additional effort could have made this a fun, if not particularly memorable little game. As it stands now, though, Magicka is not worth a second of your time or one cent of your money unless you have someone to play it with. Expand
  23. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    Magicka is a funny and awesome game. For ten dollars you can have lots of fun, and more than 10 hours of gameplay. Its very rare to find bugs because the game is getting more and more updates with new maps and robes. I recommend it (and, if you have money, but the complete pack, DLC´s are awesome).
  24. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    Magicka is a fun game with an innovative magic system and hectic action. It can get *too* hectic with several players in co-op, to the point where you're killed inadvertently by your friends more often that you're killed by enemies, but that's half the fun, and frequent use of the revive spell is needed. The game has almost Monty Python-esque humor that works well with the style of fun inMagicka is a fun game with an innovative magic system and hectic action. It can get *too* hectic with several players in co-op, to the point where you're killed inadvertently by your friends more often that you're killed by enemies, but that's half the fun, and frequent use of the revive spell is needed. The game has almost Monty Python-esque humor that works well with the style of fun in the gameplay.

    In the magic system, various elements can be added to a charge and then used in one of various ways, meaning you can make hundreds of custom spells on the fly. On top of this there are unique spells that require specific sequences to activate with special effects that must be found in books before they can be used. Using beam attacks feels amazing, and the mines send enemies flying in a very satisfying way.

    This game is not for people that get frustrated by exploding in inexplicable, almost cartoonish ways, but rather for high-energy low-seriousness fun, alone or with one or two friends.
    Expand
  25. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    I must admit, playing this alone is a waste of time, but if you get together with some friends, this game is a mass of fun and chaos, with unknown spells flying everywhere, and a nice long campaign to keep you entertained for quite a while.
  26. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    The most fun I have had playing with friends in a long, long time. Would recommend if you are able to play with mates. It's a fun and creative game, with many clever references and a good sense of humour overall, and it is good to find a game that doesn't take itself too seriously.
  27. May 25, 2013
    9
    Most complaints about this game's controls or the bugs and glitches. The bugs were ironed out a short while after release, and although problems do exist, it's worth fighting through those to play the games (especially with friends).

    The controls seem clunky at first, but that's mainly due to the fact that no other game has a similar control scheme. Yes, there are other dungeon
    Most complaints about this game's controls or the bugs and glitches. The bugs were ironed out a short while after release, and although problems do exist, it's worth fighting through those to play the games (especially with friends).

    The controls seem clunky at first, but that's mainly due to the fact that no other game has a similar control scheme. Yes, there are other dungeon scrollers that have spells, but no game revolves entirely about the interaction of those spells (and the lack of a mana bar); and once these are mastered, the game becomes incredibly fun to play.

    It's worth buying at full price, but sales are often enough for it on steam that you can pick it up for $5 or $2.50. I'd recommend picking up the addon campaigns too, as they're cheap, but add large portions to the base game.

    In the end, if the gameplay doesn't convince you, it's fun to play to guess all the references. From the wizards who say "ni" to the sword AND the stone (an amazing sword/hammer thing), you'll be able to nod to something.

    And if you're not having fun playing single player, just play with friends. I've found it impossible to play a game with friends on skype, without bursting into laughter at our own stupidity.
    Expand
  28. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    The only game with magic that I liked SO much.
    Phenomenal mechanics and more than a thousand combinations of spells.
    But game fully reveals its potential only in co-op. In the company of three friends enemies' genocide becomes maximum chaotic.
    And don't look on bugs, they are not so critical, many of them may be avoided. Developers works hard and release updates every week.
  29. Apr 17, 2011
    6
    Not bad. The game itself is built on excellent premises and manages to create something that that refreshes an old formula. It is also priced very handsomely. In saying that, it still feels far from complete. Multiplayer is laggy and buggy to the point where it becomes almost non-playable which seriously dents its potential. I'm going to wait until a few more patches come out before I giveNot bad. The game itself is built on excellent premises and manages to create something that that refreshes an old formula. It is also priced very handsomely. In saying that, it still feels far from complete. Multiplayer is laggy and buggy to the point where it becomes almost non-playable which seriously dents its potential. I'm going to wait until a few more patches come out before I give this game the serious run it deserves. Expand
  30. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    It is very unstable game but i love it! !. . . ........................................................................................................................................................................ .
  31. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    The best 10 euros i spent EVER.
    Even though it has its share of bugs,
    the game is tons of fun especially co-op.
    and is very replayable :)
    Download the demo and see for yourself.
  32. Feb 17, 2011
    3
    This game has a great concept, and it's generally pretty well executed. However, the sheer number of bugs, glitches, and hair-pullingly annoying problems drive it to the point of near-total unplayability. IF the developers fix the many, many issues with the game, it will receive my hearty recommendation. For now, do not buy under any circumstances.
  33. Jun 9, 2012
    2
    The game is fun, once you get the control scheme down but it is amazing that this game is still a buggy piece of sh*t! Very disappointing, although it was cheap on Steam, the random crashes and lock-ups caused me more irritation than my $7 was worth. Avoid.
  34. Mar 14, 2011
    8
    A great game. Though you can't lie and say there are no bugs, you can however say that they work to fix it. Magicka is a game about teamwork and hilarious jokes. I bought this game with one of my friends and as of now have beat it twice. I recommend this game for any 2-4 people with microphones to chat with.
  35. May 13, 2011
    9
    This is one funny and fun game! The humour is great, with lots of nerdy pop culture references. The jibberish the characters speak is especially funny if you speak a Norse language, because then you can really notice how stupid it all sounds. As for the gameplay, it works really well. The combining of elements to create magic is an innovative system, which makes mana obsolete. The onlyThis is one funny and fun game! The humour is great, with lots of nerdy pop culture references. The jibberish the characters speak is especially funny if you speak a Norse language, because then you can really notice how stupid it all sounds. As for the gameplay, it works really well. The combining of elements to create magic is an innovative system, which makes mana obsolete. The only limit you have is how fast you can press the keys, and also some spells need to be unlocked. I've only played this game singelplayer so far, and have yet to beat it. It would probably be easier with a friend... If he was a good player who doesn't friendly fire at you, that is. Because there are LOTS of opportunities and possibilities to get enemies, allies and yourself killed. Often in hilarious ways. Oh, and I got the game at 50% of on Steam, so that's pretty much a steal. AS FOR BUGS, the team has obviously been working really hard to fix them, because I've experienced none. Oh, and they added a spell called "Crash to desktop" together with the bug fixes... Genius. Expand
  36. Jun 1, 2011
    5
    Would be a good game if it is playable. Even in windowed mode this game runs like I'm on Dial-up. (No, it is not my computer or connection that is doing it). The inability to map keys is another, inexplicable fail. But hey, it's only $10...
  37. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome and way fun. It is a little buggy at times but if you have a great computer with a great processor and video card it prevents a lot of problems. Gameplay is a top down. The coolest thing about the game is mixing spell types to create powerful combinations to devastate enemies... or yourself and friends if you happen to hit friendlies. The game has a helpfulThis game is awesome and way fun. It is a little buggy at times but if you have a great computer with a great processor and video card it prevents a lot of problems. Gameplay is a top down. The coolest thing about the game is mixing spell types to create powerful combinations to devastate enemies... or yourself and friends if you happen to hit friendlies. The game has a helpful tutorial in the beginning that leaves you learning more and more spells throughout the entire game. It is also incredibly funny with lots of references to Star Wars in the text of dialogue. I believe my first hard laugh came when playing the tutorial and my friend who had chosen a strange army character (not very wizardly at all) accidently tossed a grenade at my feet and killed me. I thought I was out forever until we learned a revive spell to bring me back. This game should be played co-op for the most fun as long as you cooperate with team members otherwise it could get frustrating. So, if you've got an awesome computer and ten bucks I'd recommend this game for some exciting and funny entertainment. Expand
  38. Nov 18, 2011
    4
    The game itself is actually well done, at least, up until the Jormungardr fight. It was difficult to finish that fight, and all fights beforehand, due to the extremely low framerate I was having. After starting the game the first time, the start of the tutorial had a graphical failure so terrible I needed to reset the game. Due to buying this game on Steam due to their -75% off sale, IThe game itself is actually well done, at least, up until the Jormungardr fight. It was difficult to finish that fight, and all fights beforehand, due to the extremely low framerate I was having. After starting the game the first time, the start of the tutorial had a graphical failure so terrible I needed to reset the game. Due to buying this game on Steam due to their -75% off sale, I ended up checking the Steam forums directly after that first major malfunction, but before starting the game again. After I started it again, I was having fun except for said framerate issue. From what I could gather from the game's creator company's posting about the graphical issues MANY others were having, they opted to add features into the game instead of optimizing it for a great number of systems. Considering the low staff level they have, I can't say that I blame them for making that choice, but I still believe that their staff needs to work on fixing those graphical issues before I believe most people should buy this game. With what that same post said about the bugs getting fixed, that'll be VERY soon. Expand
  39. Dec 17, 2011
    4
    Magica is a fun combo based hack-and-slash game. Because you can't save your progression through the game you rely on the system saving the game for you when you manage to beat the level. On some levels I've spend 3 hours trying to beat them. Because bugs make the game crash randomly or on zoning moments, you have to start all over again. After 21 hours of magica i made it about halfwayMagica is a fun combo based hack-and-slash game. Because you can't save your progression through the game you rely on the system saving the game for you when you manage to beat the level. On some levels I've spend 3 hours trying to beat them. Because bugs make the game crash randomly or on zoning moments, you have to start all over again. After 21 hours of magica i made it about halfway the game. Basically bugs make it unplayable. Expand
  40. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    The very battle of the elements, the bathrobe wizards control absolutely anything, no one is safe and easy to fall into the trap. The game feels like an old school game from Snes,but for PC.Its a hardcore game,you have to be on your toes, but it feels casual the way you can control the enemies and how you solve the situation. Recommend mouse+keyboard.
  41. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    Magicka is Castle Crashers' slightly slower-paced but all too endearing cousin. It's a somewhat simple premise to hand a player elemental magicks and say "go nuts," but I found myself addicted to just finding new permutations of spells I kept using and mixing. Mostly forgetting those permutations in my experimentations, but rediscovery is just as fun as the initial go.
    Multiplayer
    Magicka is Castle Crashers' slightly slower-paced but all too endearing cousin. It's a somewhat simple premise to hand a player elemental magicks and say "go nuts," but I found myself addicted to just finding new permutations of spells I kept using and mixing. Mostly forgetting those permutations in my experimentations, but rediscovery is just as fun as the initial go.
    Multiplayer produces hilarious spectacle when you're trying to rez a buddy, but end up blowing up your 3rd friend instead. Permanent friendly-fire was perhaps the best design choice by far. Just don't take yourself too seriously. And be prepared for a lot of nerd media references. Shameless references. Face-reddening puns. You'll see them coming, you'll laugh, you'll feel bad for laughing-- all in the best possible way.
    In for a laugh? Talked a buddy into it? There are FAR worse things you could drop $10 on. GG Paradox.
    Expand
  42. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    Bought it for $10 USD on Steam - played about an hour so far and have never laughed so hard at a hack and slash RPG in my life. Well worth the money - any bugs that might have been present during the launch have not plagued me at all.
  43. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Magicka is really a very entertaining game, iam having lots of fun and i would certainly recommended it to everyone. If you love casting spells and doing spell mixes then this game is certainly for you, it is also quite challenging and the developers are releasing patches with fixes and new features every few days. The game was buggy upon release but it has now been improved a lot with allMagicka is really a very entertaining game, iam having lots of fun and i would certainly recommended it to everyone. If you love casting spells and doing spell mixes then this game is certainly for you, it is also quite challenging and the developers are releasing patches with fixes and new features every few days. The game was buggy upon release but it has now been improved a lot with all the crash issues resolved for me. For only $10 this is a great deal! Expand
  44. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Awesome game on 4 player coop, though I imagine it would be relatively boring and extremely difficult if you're going solo. It's still riddled with bugs and they really need to implement the possibility to join the game anywhere, not just at the start of a new level. Has great re-play value. It's supposed to be humorous (especially if you're a Swede - there's a lot of voice acting in someAwesome game on 4 player coop, though I imagine it would be relatively boring and extremely difficult if you're going solo. It's still riddled with bugs and they really need to implement the possibility to join the game anywhere, not just at the start of a new level. Has great re-play value. It's supposed to be humorous (especially if you're a Swede - there's a lot of voice acting in some make-believe-Swedish-type-language, which is really funny) - but - I didn't even notice most of the story, but this is not a negative. Super-fun in coop! Expand
  45. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    I'm not going to explain why I gave this game a 10. Go watch the trailer. Then go download the demo on steam. If you're super excited to buy the game at this point, you're not alone.

    Best $10 ever.
  46. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    This game, although some what glitchy at times, is all in all fun. The game has a fun and fulfilling storyline filled with pop-culture references, videogame easter eggs and all around silliness. It's not so much the gameplay or characters that makes me like this game (although they DO have some pretty sweet robes) it's the fact that they take themselves with a grain of salt and can makeThis game, although some what glitchy at times, is all in all fun. The game has a fun and fulfilling storyline filled with pop-culture references, videogame easter eggs and all around silliness. It's not so much the gameplay or characters that makes me like this game (although they DO have some pretty sweet robes) it's the fact that they take themselves with a grain of salt and can make fun of that fact too. Some patches have been released to fix all the previous bugs, I can play with my friends online easily and it is one of the few games that has made me laugh out loud more than once. Definitely a must buy, and definitely in my top ten games of all time. Expand
  47. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    I believe this game would be great if IT WOULD LAUNCH... I have problems launching the game and i cannot get past it. when i click the magicka icon and try to launch a black screen pops up for 2 seconds and then closes... there are a lot of bugs with the game maybe a bit too many would not recommend to players that get angry easily because if u cant get past this bug you will probablyI believe this game would be great if IT WOULD LAUNCH... I have problems launching the game and i cannot get past it. when i click the magicka icon and try to launch a black screen pops up for 2 seconds and then closes... there are a lot of bugs with the game maybe a bit too many would not recommend to players that get angry easily because if u cant get past this bug you will probably break your computer/laptop in half and chuck it out your window. Expand
  48. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    It's a very good game so far.. though I hope I can play multiplayer when buying the 10 euro version. though perhaps the 4 player version is just for 4 players and u can play 3 player before that..

    Speaking of the humor and for a swede (or possibly a norweigan) it's funny as they use a fake swedish language mixed with english like the swedish chef sounds but with reals swedes actually
    It's a very good game so far.. though I hope I can play multiplayer when buying the 10 euro version. though perhaps the 4 player version is just for 4 players and u can play 3 player before that..


    Speaking of the humor and for a swede (or possibly a norweigan) it's funny as they use a fake swedish language mixed with english like the swedish chef sounds but with reals swedes actually making it so you can make out that the mumbo jumbo actually means something else in Swedish.. it's great I love it..
    Expand
  49. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    Magicka is a game where you can play by yourself or with up to 4 players. You can use the traditional keyboard or gamepads. You can play 2 on the same computer and with your friends over the internet.
    What I like the most about this game is that you need to use your head and this game is hard. You will get used to die, a lot. But everyone also have a revive spell that you can use at all
    Magicka is a game where you can play by yourself or with up to 4 players. You can use the traditional keyboard or gamepads. You can play 2 on the same computer and with your friends over the internet.
    What I like the most about this game is that you need to use your head and this game is hard. You will get used to die, a lot. But everyone also have a revive spell that you can use at all times. The spell casting system is new and innovative since you don't have any mana like almost all other games where you wield spells. You also got 8 elements and you can combine up to 5 elements at once. Almost every spell have it's own effect and will change the dynamic of the spells you cast. The only problem with this game was at the start of launch where you had a lot of crashes and bugs. But most of the problems are fixed since the game has had several updates since release. I have had a great time playing this game and it is well worth 10 euros. Playing this game solo is a little bit more difficult but you can do it if you use your head. I still don't understand how some people review this game as a bad game because it is hard. Personally I love that Magicka is a very unforgiving game where the game doesn't hold your freaking hand all the time like in Call of Duty and other games. Magicka doesn't follow the so called defaults that you have in other games, for example you can use all elements at the start but you can find spell books scattered around the world of Magicka, you can also pick up cool weapons and staffs that are either hidden or from fallen enemies. You can remap all the keys in the game but you have to be in the main menu which is a little bad I know. But still Magicka is well worth the money and the spell system is a great and the only thing that stops you is the imagination. I give this game a 10 because the people who made this game took a bit of a risk and did something that is new and innovative with a lot of fun video game humour and references inside that made you laugh like a little girl and it brought back some sweet memories.
    Expand
  50. Mar 27, 2011
    8
    I read a lot of the reviews on this game and most of them like to point out how glitches and bugs kill this game.. I agree there are some bugs but dont let it stop you from giving this game a chance. This game is very enjoyable because it adds new elements that we havent seen in another game.. i just wish multiplayer wasnt just coop and would have liked to seen more with it
  51. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    OMG Magicka is teh best gayme evar. Thiz gayme is asome, u and 3 frendz can play at ons and that macs it so mutch moar fun!! U can blo eatch oter up wit fiarbawlz & stuphph. Eye reelie liek the fakt that eye can mac mi frendz h8 me avary fiv sekundz bi macin lan-minds uf fiar thean pooshin dem on too dem. Magicka iz teh bestist game uf all tiem & if u dun bi it u r mizzin ut on a gret game :D
  52. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    super adictivo , inovador, es muy divertido en red con los amigos, tiene algun bug y por eso le doy un 9 , poco a poco los han ido arreglando . lo recomiendo totalmente
  53. May 5, 2011
    2
    I quit playing this game after level 5 because it was repetitive, not funny at all and far to easy. If you are older than 12, don't play this game. There is no AI in this game. Playing this game feels like squishing ants.
  54. May 25, 2011
    9
    Magicka is definatly a fun game. Normally, when I try out a new game, it takes some time for me to really enjoy it, but I was overcome with joy from the first moment of playing Magicka.

    In this game, you combine spells from 8 different elements. Some elements empower others, for instance lightning becomes more powerful if you already cast steam or water on your opponent. You can do both
    Magicka is definatly a fun game. Normally, when I try out a new game, it takes some time for me to really enjoy it, but I was overcome with joy from the first moment of playing Magicka.

    In this game, you combine spells from 8 different elements. Some elements empower others, for instance lightning becomes more powerful if you already cast steam or water on your opponent. You can do both aoe, single target and selftarget with the same spell, changing how it works. There are also premade spells that you can learn from books, like thunderstorm or teleport, and they works in the same way as all other spells; by combining the elements in a specific order.

    The campaign is hillarious. You get to hear references from tons of movies and games in a very fun tone while bashing monsters with all the tricks you have picked up from killing your teammates by accident.

    Another fun gamemode is the arena. This is different from the campaign, as the only objective here is to survive waves of incoming attacks from monsters. This is very hard to complete alone, as you will need teamwork for some of the waves. Everything in this game is more fun if you play it with up to three friends.

    The downside of this game is lack of content. I played the game for about 4 hours, and then the campaign was complete, then another 1-2 hours for both arenas to be complete. And then there were nothing left to do, and I haven't played the game since.

    In short, the game is brilliant and alot of fun, but it lacks content, and you don't get many hours of fun before you have to do the same content over again.
    Expand
  55. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun killing your friends and healing your enemy as you laugh behind your screen and take their loot, the jokes and references are so funny if you don't live under a rock you should get even more laughs then the game offers. Awesome graphics style, and great story line. The game is broken some people/critics might say? One it was by an indie game which if im right theyThis game is so much fun killing your friends and healing your enemy as you laugh behind your screen and take their loot, the jokes and references are so funny if you don't live under a rock you should get even more laughs then the game offers. Awesome graphics style, and great story line. The game is broken some people/critics might say? One it was by an indie game which if im right they haven't made a game before! Two I laughed so much it wouldn't matter how many problems I had with the game. Its a must buy! Great job to the developers! KHAAAAAAAAN! Expand
  56. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    $10 well spent most of my life!
    Its a fantastic experience that no other game in existence until today, will provide.
    The combinations of magic in this game is really fantastic, this game is an excellent investment, I recommend to anyone and everyone! Enjoy this game!!!
  57. Jul 3, 2011
    6
    This game seems decent but it is hampered with perhaps the worst controls of any game I've played in my entire life. You have to hold down shift to do any kind of attack other than basic magic so it makes my hand hurt to play this game for a long period of time. You have to repeatedly tap the ASDFQWER keys with your left hand to cast your magic spells with up to 8 keypresses andThis game seems decent but it is hampered with perhaps the worst controls of any game I've played in my entire life. You have to hold down shift to do any kind of attack other than basic magic so it makes my hand hurt to play this game for a long period of time. You have to repeatedly tap the ASDFQWER keys with your left hand to cast your magic spells with up to 8 keypresses and possibly a shift key hold needed to be pressed to cast one spell. It requires at least three times as many button presses to play this game as any other game.

    If you try to play with joystick it is much easier to do basic attacks, blocking, and so on but all except the most simple magic is ridiculous to cast with the stick. You sometimes have to move the right stick to 20 consecutive positions (no joke!) to cast a single spell. There is no way to customize the controls so that you can use both joystick and keyboard at the same time so that you could tap out on the keyboard to do the more complex spells.

    Much of the difficulty of the game is a result of the ridiculous control structure. You will end up killing yourself and your party members plenty of times because of accidental attacks caused by trying to navigate the controls. That's not all though, there is also a tendency to have things that can just instantly kill you that can be quite frustrating if you are playing solo. You'll be fighting a guy and he launches you off a cliff killing you or you'll have to run up a narrow stairway in midair and if you make a joystick error you fall off and die. You will get trapped in a corner and be unable to move resulting in you dying. If you play multiplayer online this is not a problem since your teammate will just revive you, but solo you may have to repeat a long battle many times to survive and you'll need to reach the end of the level not just the next checkpoint to save your progress between sessions. If you have difficulty a level may take over an hour as you repeat a battle over and over.

    Oh and one more thing... all the text is in English making this appear as an English game but the voice work in the game appears to be in a foreign language (German or Swedish maybe?) or something like that with English subtitles.

    The game is buggy. When I hosted multiplayer a few times when I started the game the music started but the screen stayed totally black and I had to shut down the game. When I tried to modify the joystick controls the game crashed at least 7 times before I finally got it to work. Ultimately I was able to play though and it was enjoyable though clunky to control. There is a good deal of humor in the game. Some is related to references to games, movies, etc that younger audiences might not recognize, but it does add charm to the game.

    I bought the game on sale for $3 and its certainly worth that for a few hours of unique entertainment, but don't expect the greatest game you have ever played. Its not here. I'd recommend other games action RPGs like Titan's Quest, Diablo II, Torchlight, or Dungeon Siege before this one, but this one can still be enjoyable for awhile.
    Expand
  58. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Mofoso 10 Remarkable example of a remarkable game. Unique and successful game play and controls that blow you away. Humorous story line with my. this game is mint
  59. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    A great game that has kept me captivated for hours. Yet to invest in the DLC but plan to in the future to add to the already amazing longevity the game has.
  60. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    Magicka is a worthwhile game for adults to play with their kids. Casting spells in this game is both inventive and entertaining, you will want to test all the combinations. The game is both nostalgic and fresh.
  61. Mar 10, 2012
    2
    Even for the price, this game is not worth the time and frustration. I spent the majority of the 10, meaningless hours I sunk into this game yelling at the computer and being furious at the cheap, one hit deaths. Most boss fights required no strategy and only required you to exploit a certain loophole. Moreover, don't expect the controls to save you. Your character is sluggish and theEven for the price, this game is not worth the time and frustration. I spent the majority of the 10, meaningless hours I sunk into this game yelling at the computer and being furious at the cheap, one hit deaths. Most boss fights required no strategy and only required you to exploit a certain loophole. Moreover, don't expect the controls to save you. Your character is sluggish and the spell combos are buggy. This game is broken in so many ways. It should have never been shipped. Arrowhead studios should be ashamed of itself. Expand
  62. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    It has a nice theme and style. Although it is cheap, you can still play up to 4 players coop on-line.But it has quite a lot of bugs, at the very beginning. The graphics and effects are nice, but you may need a controller instead of a mouse to play the game, the messy control is a problem. A moderate-quality game.
  63. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    Magicka, the way Magicka played out for me was a amusing surprise. You know that feeling you got when you found games by checking the covers in the store and deciding to buy them because of the look of it, and then the game turn out to be a gem. This was sort of the case with magicka and me. I hadn
  64. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥It's a great game u must buy it ^^ I am downloading the game now ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
  65. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    Magicka is a brilliant game! i think it's important to say that its is a very difficult one too, however they should have made an option for the difficulty. In my opinion the game starts with a great and also funny story in which everything makes a more parody impression than a serious story normally does. Along the game you have to create strategies to get along a lot of enemies or strongMagicka is a brilliant game! i think it's important to say that its is a very difficult one too, however they should have made an option for the difficulty. In my opinion the game starts with a great and also funny story in which everything makes a more parody impression than a serious story normally does. Along the game you have to create strategies to get along a lot of enemies or strong ones, that's also in the coop mode great. Playing the storyline togheter is also working better than expected but the friends often get accidentaly killed. Expand
  66. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    O jogo mágicka é um excelente jogo indie. Você pode curti-lo de várias formas. A mais prazeroza, sem dúvidas, é jogar com os amigos. O que não impede de jogar sozinho, onde o desafio é bem maior.
    Após ver este video www.youtube.com/watch?v=28XoBMviIPk , comprei-o e me juntei com amigos para gastar horas aprendendo novas
    O jogo mágicka é um excelente jogo indie. Você pode curti-lo de várias formas. A mais prazeroza, sem dúvidas, é jogar com os amigos. O que não impede de jogar sozinho, onde o desafio é bem maior.
    Após ver este video www.youtube.com/watch?v=28XoBMviIPk , comprei-o e me juntei com amigos para gastar horas aprendendo novas combinações de elementos, e formulando estratégias (que na maioria das vezes falharam rs).
    O unico defeito, é consumir muito recurso do seu computador, o que não vejo motivos.
    Expand
  67. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    The game's concept and play are actually quite awesome. I really enjoyed the demo, which motivated me to purchase the game. Unfortunately, the demo is a very pruned down version of the full game. This meaning that I immediately noticed choppy game play once upgrading to the full version. I am playing on a brand new bootcamped mac mini, so sure, its not a haus of a machine, but it runsThe game's concept and play are actually quite awesome. I really enjoyed the demo, which motivated me to purchase the game. Unfortunately, the demo is a very pruned down version of the full game. This meaning that I immediately noticed choppy game play once upgrading to the full version. I am playing on a brand new bootcamped mac mini, so sure, its not a haus of a machine, but it runs diablo 3 just fine. Not Magicka? On top of this, the game is rife with bugs. Bugs, bugs, bugs everywhere. I didn't go a full stage without having to consciously avoid a bug. Now passive bugs, I don't mind, but bugs that get your character stuck constantly are quite the annoyance. I got stuck in a plethora of places and had to restart the levels. Not to mention, I got stuck in a casting bug at least a handful of times and had to completely reboot the game. The coders for this game were likely freshmen comp sci majors with no expertise in game coding at all. If the game wasn't wonderfully cheap, I would be complaining to get my money back. Having paid just around 3 bucks, its not a problem. I had fun whilst playing through the first time, but going back experiencing bug after bug, there is no going back. Expand
  68. Jun 6, 2013
    6
    nice game, but it seems like developers abandoned the game. it still has too many bugs and sometimes it gets extremely hard to pass some places in the game.
  69. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    Magicka um jogo ao mesmo tempo dramático e engraçado. muito divertido! A variedade de magias e o sistema de conjuração delas faz do jogo um item essencial para quem adora jogar entre amigos. O único porém o seu limite de jogadores online: 4 magos.
  70. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    absolutely great game, it has a pleasing art style, unique magic system, it also has its moments when it comes to humor, I am wondering why its metascore is not higher to be quite honest.
  71. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    This is still the best PC game to come out in this decade.

    It's not your average dumbed down handholding power fantasy, but you must be very incompetent at playing games and learning things for it not to click.

    We need more games that don't treat the players as if they're all mentally challenged kids.
  72. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    The game is great! it have a very cool and funny history, the combos and magicks are fun to use and make a lot of sence too the only thing in this game that someone can complain about is the mechanic wich tis kinda of hard to learn at first
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. May 6, 2011
    90
    The rich, luscious colors somehow make the world a lot more believable than games like Crysis 2 could ever be.
  2. May 6, 2011
    80
    Magicka is a game that works especially well in cooperation. Single player experience is a good one but this game shows its true potential only when you play with friends, allowing for some great fun. A patched-up Magicka is most certainly worth getting to know. Even more, because it is a solid candidate for 2011's best game in its category.
  3. Apr 23, 2011
    90
    A game that glorifies the use of fireballs and land mines. #WIN.