User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 547 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 547

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    The only game with magic that I liked SO much.
    Phenomenal mechanics and more than a thousand combinations of spells.
    But game fully reveals its potential only in co-op. In the company of three friends enemies' genocide becomes maximum chaotic.
    And don't look on bugs, they are not so critical, many of them may be avoided. Developers works hard and release updates every week.
  2. Feb 7, 2011
    9
    I can't give it a 10, because the bugs are certainly not negligible. However, developers seem to be conscientious about fixing their mistakes, so if bugs are an issue, just wait a few weeks. Once you get over that hump, I think we have a sleeping classic. Single player is wonderful, and is perhaps the only combat game where I feel not just clever, but creative. Exploration of spells is a joy, and every new discovery feels like a game changer, yet it still manages remarkable balance. Multiplayer is a wonderfully chaotic affair chalk full of mistaken explosions, accidental earth-shattering combos, and general mischief and mayhem surround a deceptively deep game. In all the insanity, dying a gruesome death can actually be MORE entertaining then the killing. Getting used to the controls takes a little effort, but once you are, you get a real sense of concocting spells, as opposed to merely pressing a button. Tie this together with a thin story with just enough to keep the action moving, and some light humor elements, and you have one of the best 10 bucks you have ever spent. The only other complaint I could possibly have is that it needs to be longer, but I have yet to jump into the challenge mode. Long and the short of it? Buy this game now so you can say you did before it became a classic, must-have title. Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    Magicka is Castle Crashers' slightly slower-paced but all too endearing cousin. It's a somewhat simple premise to hand a player elemental magicks and say "go nuts," but I found myself addicted to just finding new permutations of spells I kept using and mixing. Mostly forgetting those permutations in my experimentations, but rediscovery is just as fun as the initial go.
    Multiplayer
    produces hilarious spectacle when you're trying to rez a buddy, but end up blowing up your 3rd friend instead. Permanent friendly-fire was perhaps the best design choice by far. Just don't take yourself too seriously. And be prepared for a lot of nerd media references. Shameless references. Face-reddening puns. You'll see them coming, you'll laugh, you'll feel bad for laughing-- all in the best possible way.
    In for a laugh? Talked a buddy into it? There are FAR worse things you could drop $10 on. GG Paradox.
    Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    The best $10 and 10 hours I've spent this year. Awesome gameplay that focuses on combining magic elements in various ways. Humorous plot and characters. CO-OP(omg). This game rules in so many ways.
  5. Zri
    Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Magicka is just plain fantastic. From the derpaderp speech of the characters, to the level and enemy design, to the just brilliant spell system. As soon as you get outside the tutorial, you run into a woman with a big gold exclamation mark over her head in good old RPG fashion, asking you to kill rats in her basement or something like that. You know you're on a winner when she gets attacked by goblins and the quest marker falls off onto the ground and you get down to some good old blowin' stuff up instead.

    Best things about Magicka? No mana. Limited inventory (you can pick up a staff and carry a 'melee' item). No quests apart from killing the next thing in front of you. GREAT spell system, where you have 8 different elementals, each bound to a key, and you can combine them in any way you want to create spells, some of which just combine effects, some of which form unique Magicks.

    Worst thing about Magicka is that the engine doesn't always perform as well as it could. That's all there is. It's a very hard game in places, but people, there's absolute simplicity in the rest of the game so you can focus on STRATEGY. Everything is quite straightforward once you figure out what the enemy's weaknesses are, and that's half the fun. (The other half of the fun is blowing up goblins in new and exciting ways.)

    Summary: buy this game. Now.
    Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Best "gauntlet" type game ever made. Magicka is fun,addictive,innovative and cheap. It cost mere 10 Euros or Dollars. Buy this game! Thats an order!
  7. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    It is very unstable game but i love it! !. . . ........................................................................................................................................................................ .
  8. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Played the game and loved it. There were a couple of bugs present but they were quickly patched and the developers seem to care a lot. I would recommend this game to anyone, after all the price is just $10. If you're not sure whether this game is for you or not just download the demo available for free and try it out.
  9. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    So i bought this game without any high expectations at all. But it has turned out to be one of the most fun games i have ever spent money on. It is WELL worth the $9.99 and i would have paid more if i knew it would be this good. Magicka combines the elements (no pun intended) of humor, action, and teamwork into a masterpiece. I have only had it for a week and i've already played about 30 hours of it. There are a few bugs yes, but the devs are doing a great job of keeping the game up to date and patching it. I absolutely love the music, the scenery, the gameplay, the humor, (which has a lot of... "reference" jokes) and action. This is one of my new favorite games, and i expect others will enjoy it as much as i am. Expand
  10. May 24, 2011
    9
    It was everything I expected and more, the graphics were beautiful, the spell combinations and different weapons make for unique gameplay that is different every time I start my computer, the multiplayer was enjoyable, the game had the perfect amount of comedy and Easter Eggs, but not too much as to dumb down the game. Hands down best $10 I have ever spent.
  11. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    The best 10 euros i spent EVER.
    Even though it has its share of bugs,
    the game is tons of fun especially co-op.
    and is very replayable :)
    Download the demo and see for yourself.
  12. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    Great game lots of fun! haven't played anything quite like it, for such a small developer they sure do work hard to get those patches out within 24 hours... this game has been done very well... and they have left alot of room for expansion! the multilayer option is really what made this game come to life.. all the funny things to do, great fun... !!

    ps thanks again, for releasing a
    playable demo - I played almost 10 minutes of the demo and decided to buy the game. cheers Expand
  13. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    Most people have thus far criticized the game (and rightly so) for the enormous number of bugs it had upon release. Having bought and played the game over a week after release, I myself only experienced a handfull of frustrations.

    While these were annoying, they were completely overshadowed by the sheer volume of fun and hilarity the game offers. Playing co-op with a friend, I don't
    think I've laughed that hard in ages. The innovative game-play, funny dialog and outrageous in-game antics made for a heck of a fun evening.

    As the bugs get patched and forgotten, I highly recommend the game to everyone who can find a friend to play with; I can't fathom some of those battles being handled alone!
    Collapse
  14. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    Bought it for $10 USD on Steam - played about an hour so far and have never laughed so hard at a hack and slash RPG in my life. Well worth the money - any bugs that might have been present during the launch have not plagued me at all.
  15. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Magicka is really a very entertaining game, iam having lots of fun and i would certainly recommended it to everyone. If you love casting spells and doing spell mixes then this game is certainly for you, it is also quite challenging and the developers are releasing patches with fixes and new features every few days. The game was buggy upon release but it has now been improved a lot with all the crash issues resolved for me. For only $10 this is a great deal! Expand
  16. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    Old school gamers will find themselves very happy with this title. I would start with its fun, but it is way more than fun, it is challenging. It is in fact often frustrating as you start out but the pay off comes every time you finish a level. Remember back when you got excited that you passed an area and saved your game. Well you will breath that same satisfied sigh of relief with Magicka. Then you will most likely start the next level even though you told yourself you wouldn't. Is it buggy, yes, does it have an engaging storyline? Not at all, in fact it is humorous to see what lengths they went to to make the story line a parody of all the most unimaginative journeys you have ever mashed your way through in the last 12 years. This is also the very first time I am waiting until I go into the pvp on this game. I need to work on my moves ;) Expand
  17. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    Nice game. Developers have released nine patches up to date science game release (less than a two weeks ago). I must say that the game is pretty stable now.
  18. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Awesome game on 4 player coop, though I imagine it would be relatively boring and extremely difficult if you're going solo. It's still riddled with bugs and they really need to implement the possibility to join the game anywhere, not just at the start of a new level. Has great re-play value. It's supposed to be humorous (especially if you're a Swede - there's a lot of voice acting in some make-believe-Swedish-type-language, which is really funny) - but - I didn't even notice most of the story, but this is not a negative. Super-fun in coop! Expand
  19. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    This game lost it's 10 on the numerous bugs/crashes. But since the developers are really trying to fix this and the game becomes better with every update I will put this aside for now.

    The game sports a good multiplayer function which ensues in hilarious chaos when played with enough friends, it is simply impossible to stay alive. This may seem like a nuisance but it causes a lot of
    laughter when one of your friends accidentally blows you away and is forced to once again revive you.

    The controls start out to be quite clumsy, but every mildly experienced gamer will pick them up within 1 hour of play at most.

    Lastly, the many references to all our favorite geek movies, games, series gave me an extra impulse to keep playing.

    All in all a very enjoyable game that is definitely worth the 10$ they are asking for it.
    Expand
  20. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    I'm not going to explain why I gave this game a 10. Go watch the trailer. Then go download the demo on steam. If you're super excited to buy the game at this point, you're not alone.

    Best $10 ever.
  21. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    After a dozen patches, this game feels like a full-fledged product. The innovative magic-mechanic may not give you "thousands of combinations" bit it gives quite a few to play around with. The gameplay wouldn't be as rewarding if it weren't for the humor attached to a lot of scenes/spells. Also, 13 levels (story chapters) might seem like a low number, but they are quite satisfying. Keep in mind that its a 10$ (or less) game. You wont regret buying it. It has more content than you pay for. Expand
  22. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Easily the best $10 I've ever spent on a game. Despite the early bugs, it was worth every penny. And the announcement of the expansion has me excited!
  23. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    This game, although some what glitchy at times, is all in all fun. The game has a fun and fulfilling storyline filled with pop-culture references, videogame easter eggs and all around silliness. It's not so much the gameplay or characters that makes me like this game (although they DO have some pretty sweet robes) it's the fact that they take themselves with a grain of salt and can make fun of that fact too. Some patches have been released to fix all the previous bugs, I can play with my friends online easily and it is one of the few games that has made me laugh out loud more than once. Definitely a must buy, and definitely in my top ten games of all time. Expand
  24. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    I really don't understand the critic score this game has. It has clever humor and really solid gameplay. It's a very enjoyable game with friends. Do yourself a favor and pick it up.
  25. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    This is an amazing party game to play with 2-3 friends and a mediocre single player experience. If you realize that you're buying a multiplayer game to share with your friends either online or at a LAN party you won't regret this for a second, but if you were misled into believing that this is some kind of single player RPG with in depth statistics and character customization you will be disappointed.

    Taking it for what it is, a hilariously entertaining party game with a unique spell casting system and slapstick deaths as your more aggressive party members frequently kill their own friends, it deserves a 9/10.
    Expand
  26. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    If you have friends, Magicka will be the best 10$ you ever spent. You may think a game where the main objective is "accidentally blow yourself, your friends, and 20 bad guys 3 stories into the air" would be boring, but you'd be wrong. The game originally shipped with tons and tons of bugs and glitches, but those were fixed less than a day after it was available, so I guess no harm done there. The one complaint I can think of for this game is that magic combinations are in no way balanced. A QFQFAAS spell will do infinitely more damage than a rock spell. A rock spell also takes ~5 seconds to charge to full strength, while a beam spell will instantly deal greater damage than a rock spell. To make matters worse, a beam spell continually increases damage output the longer you leave a beam on an enemy. At the end of the day, two fully charged rock spells deal like 1/100 of the damage of a ten second long beam of energy. And that isn't even factoring in the potential for beams to be merged; that's just a single persons beam. Even with this grievous lack of game balance, this game will definitely give you many hours of playtime for a low cost. Expand
  27. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    Incredible. If only AAA studios put as much work into considering game design. It's the most fresh thing I've played since minecraft.

    It takes a while to get used to the control system. And the multi-player experience is... different because of the minor issue that death really causes during the multi-player. But everyone should play it anyways. There is no one that has taken my
    advice on buying it who has regretted it in my personal life. Expand
  28. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    For an inexpensive indy game, this is a home-run. While it may have started out rough around the edges, Paradox, in their usual style, has burnt the midnight oil to whip this great little title into shape. Do yourself a favor and get yourself three friends together and let the mayhem begin.
  29. Apr 18, 2011
    9
    Great deal on sale. I've already had many many hours of enjoyment for the low price of $5. The magic system is groundbreaking and brilliant, completely changing how magic casting will be done in future games no doubt. Having to use some of your own personal skill in creating the combos means it's less button spam and more personal skill and coordination. The spells are creative, entertaining, and quite powerful. You really do feel like a magic-slinging bad-a$$. There are some flaws, unfortunately: No save! You have to use the awful checkpoint system! An archaic throwback reminiscent of console ports. Also the way the enemies can stunlock you at time, making it impossible to cast any spells as you keep getting knocked down over and over. But one of the best things: No silly "mana" to keep track of! If I want to blast a spell, I can blast the darn spell! And keep blasting it as much as I like. This is the way it should be, no mana management or being able to not cast a spell cause you're out of mana. MAna is a horrible idea that wormed its way into games 10+ years ago and never went away. Its time has come, and Magicka has shown us the joy of being an uber-powerful wizard without mana deficiencies. Expand
  30. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, I love it! best indie game of the year, by a mile. I see alot of people complain about technical problems with the game, but i haven't had any issues, game play has been flawless on my end. This is Arrowhead Studios first game and they did a wonderful job, can't wait to see what they bring us next! Magicka is only 10$ and is a phenomenal value for the amount of game play that's packed into it. Almost forgot to mention that the game is very fun and enjoyable. Expand
  31. Aug 10, 2011
    9
    What some call the 'Wizard Suicide Simulator' Magicka is a gem of a game from Paradox Interactive. Hilariously good fun and best played with friends while under the influence. The magic combos will have you in fits as you play through the campaign. Unlimited play if provide through the matchmaking and multiplayer system, there's even a PvP system. Unfortunately what should have been a perfect 10 star outing has been marred by a lacklustre multi-player and matchmaking system that has been mostly fixed since the time of this review. I highly recommend anybody to check out the Steam Sales this Christmas if you've gotten this game yet. Expand
  32. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Very refreshing game, not very polished but has an awesome and innovative magic system that puts endless combination of elemental spells at your disposal. The dialogue and story is very humorous and contains a great deal of internet meme and pop culture references. The co-op mode is extremely buggy, but this did not extract from my experience. The final strong point of this game is the price, at a mere $10 you cannot go wrong. Expand
  33. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    It's a very good game so far.. though I hope I can play multiplayer when buying the 10 euro version. though perhaps the 4 player version is just for 4 players and u can play 3 player before that..


    Speaking of the humor and for a swede (or possibly a norweigan) it's funny as they use a fake swedish language mixed with english like the swedish chef sounds but with reals swedes actually
    making it so you can make out that the mumbo jumbo actually means something else in Swedish.. it's great I love it.. Expand
  34. May 1, 2011
    9
    Awesome value for the price!! I've only played single player so far, but the experience has been one of the most humorous and most challenging games I've played lately. Pop culture references and jokes abound. The magick system is extremely innovative, with thousands of different spell combos at your disposal. I'm guessing 4 player co-op makes this game even more entertaining as you stab your buddies in the back and (hopefully) kill some monsters. Only thing holding it back is the difficulty of single player. This is NOT for the faint of heart! Expand
  35. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    Magicka is a game where you can play by yourself or with up to 4 players. You can use the traditional keyboard or gamepads. You can play 2 on the same computer and with your friends over the internet.
    What I like the most about this game is that you need to use your head and this game is hard. You will get used to die, a lot. But everyone also have a revive spell that you can use at all
    times. The spell casting system is new and innovative since you don't have any mana like almost all other games where you wield spells. You also got 8 elements and you can combine up to 5 elements at once. Almost every spell have it's own effect and will change the dynamic of the spells you cast. The only problem with this game was at the start of launch where you had a lot of crashes and bugs. But most of the problems are fixed since the game has had several updates since release. I have had a great time playing this game and it is well worth 10 euros. Playing this game solo is a little bit more difficult but you can do it if you use your head. I still don't understand how some people review this game as a bad game because it is hard. Personally I love that Magicka is a very unforgiving game where the game doesn't hold your freaking hand all the time like in Call of Duty and other games. Magicka doesn't follow the so called defaults that you have in other games, for example you can use all elements at the start but you can find spell books scattered around the world of Magicka, you can also pick up cool weapons and staffs that are either hidden or from fallen enemies. You can remap all the keys in the game but you have to be in the main menu which is a little bad I know. But still Magicka is well worth the money and the spell system is a great and the only thing that stops you is the imagination. I give this game a 10 because the people who made this game took a bit of a risk and did something that is new and innovative with a lot of fun video game humour and references inside that made you laugh like a little girl and it brought back some sweet memories. Expand
  36. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    OMG Magicka is teh best gayme evar. Thiz gayme is asome, u and 3 frendz can play at ons and that macs it so mutch moar fun!! U can blo eatch oter up wit fiarbawlz & stuphph. Eye reelie liek the fakt that eye can mac mi frendz h8 me avary fiv sekundz bi macin lan-minds uf fiar thean pooshin dem on too dem. Magicka iz teh bestist game uf all tiem & if u dun bi it u r mizzin ut on a gret game :D
  37. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    This game is simply great for 10 bucks! Pros: You can get a few remotes (I use 360s) and sit down like a console game with friends Great spells and gameplay I havnt enjoyed a game like (sorta like a hack and slash, but with spells :P) this since maybe Diablo in the 90s Funny story CONS: I admit there were a few bugs here and there, like freezing and drops online, ie get to a boss level and the other guys drop when you all die to redo the part from save point
    Patches are fixing some of the earlier problems

    Overall for 10 bucks Im giving this a 10, I gave the same to Amnesia:The Dark Descent (but dont play that alone)
    Expand
  38. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    A great game that has improved greatly over time, whether it be bug fixes, the Zelda fairy, the humour, references, gibberish, the lot! A great game that I love spending time in, this game was made from an original and innovative concept, and with some very worthwhile DLC adventures, like "The Stars Are Left", be sure to it up sometime, preferably the complete collection on a common enough Steam sale Expand
  39. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    super adictivo , inovador, es muy divertido en red con los amigos, tiene algun bug y por eso le doy un 9 , poco a poco los han ido arreglando . lo recomiendo totalmente
  40. May 10, 2011
    10
    I think this game is very under rated. I don't know anyone who does not play this game, also it costs £8 when a CoD map pack costs £11 so it is great for price.
  41. May 13, 2011
    9
    This is one funny and fun game! The humour is great, with lots of nerdy pop culture references. The jibberish the characters speak is especially funny if you speak a Norse language, because then you can really notice how stupid it all sounds. As for the gameplay, it works really well. The combining of elements to create magic is an innovative system, which makes mana obsolete. The only limit you have is how fast you can press the keys, and also some spells need to be unlocked. I've only played this game singelplayer so far, and have yet to beat it. It would probably be easier with a friend... If he was a good player who doesn't friendly fire at you, that is. Because there are LOTS of opportunities and possibilities to get enemies, allies and yourself killed. Often in hilarious ways. Oh, and I got the game at 50% of on Steam, so that's pretty much a steal. AS FOR BUGS, the team has obviously been working really hard to fix them, because I've experienced none. Oh, and they added a spell called "Crash to desktop" together with the bug fixes... Genius. Expand
  42. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Should you buy it?
    Definitely, yes. If you're looking for a good game and yet don't want to pay a lot of money, go for Magicka. Even if you're still unsure about the bugs people mention all the time, wait a a month and get it later on - it will improve even further.

    I haven't had that much fun with a game in months, and especially not THIS type of fun.
    Go, try the demo, buy the game,
    support great devoted developers and laugh yourself into oblivion!

    Full Review: http://darkchaplain-anotherstory.blogspot.com/2011/02/magicka-review.html
    Expand
  43. May 17, 2011
    9
    Finally completing the game and unlocking the majority of achievements I can say Magicka is a top-notch multi-player adventure game with a genius hook. Firstly, I ran through the game with three other friends and it was a lot of fun, although a slow start because upon its release the menus were lagging and riddled with CTDs for us. Me and my friends loved figuring out spell combinations, boss strategies and also knocking each other off the map. I found with the four of us it was difficult to coordinate and would more often then not ruin the fun for each other.

    I recommend playing the game co-op, just 2 people, it is easier to co-ordinate and execute strats. One of us would shoot a freezing energy beam and the other a water energy beam blowing enemies up into ice crystal then we would combine electrical attacks to destroy the frozen enemies. It worked wonders and we progressed smoothly through the game. Magicka had a lot of solid mechanics and special spells that it felt there was always new attacks to discover and mess with. For the price, length and multi-player mayhem this game is magical. Sorry, that is bad closer.
    Expand
  44. May 25, 2011
    9
    Magicka is definatly a fun game. Normally, when I try out a new game, it takes some time for me to really enjoy it, but I was overcome with joy from the first moment of playing Magicka.

    In this game, you combine spells from 8 different elements. Some elements empower others, for instance lightning becomes more powerful if you already cast steam or water on your opponent. You can do both
    aoe, single target and selftarget with the same spell, changing how it works. There are also premade spells that you can learn from books, like thunderstorm or teleport, and they works in the same way as all other spells; by combining the elements in a specific order.

    The campaign is hillarious. You get to hear references from tons of movies and games in a very fun tone while bashing monsters with all the tricks you have picked up from killing your teammates by accident.

    Another fun gamemode is the arena. This is different from the campaign, as the only objective here is to survive waves of incoming attacks from monsters. This is very hard to complete alone, as you will need teamwork for some of the waves. Everything in this game is more fun if you play it with up to three friends.

    The downside of this game is lack of content. I played the game for about 4 hours, and then the campaign was complete, then another 1-2 hours for both arenas to be complete. And then there were nothing left to do, and I haven't played the game since.

    In short, the game is brilliant and alot of fun, but it lacks content, and you don't get many hours of fun before you have to do the same content over again.
    Expand
  45. May 30, 2011
    10
    Remarkable example of a remarkable game. Unique and successful game play and controls that blow you away. Humorous story line with numerous easter eggs. Fun and extremely challenging ( but still possible) single player action packed game play, even better when played with up to 4 friends. A virtual "Hack n Slash" but with spells and "Magicks", the combination of 8 different "elements" which all can create different unique spells by certain combinations add to the fun. Expand
  46. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    Great game for single player and multiplayer, brings a lot of fun with many magics and spells you can cast, this game is very fun and very re-playable
  47. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun killing your friends and healing your enemy as you laugh behind your screen and take their loot, the jokes and references are so funny if you don't live under a rock you should get even more laughs then the game offers. Awesome graphics style, and great story line. The game is broken some people/critics might say? One it was by an indie game which if im right they haven't made a game before! Two I laughed so much it wouldn't matter how many problems I had with the game. Its a must buy! Great job to the developers! KHAAAAAAAAN! Expand
  48. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    $10 well spent most of my life!
    Its a fantastic experience that no other game in existence until today, will provide.
    The combinations of magic in this game is really fantastic, this game is an excellent investment, I recommend to anyone and everyone! Enjoy this game!!!
  49. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Phenomenal mechanics and more than a thousand combinations of spells. The only game with magic that I liked SO much. But game fully reveals its potential only in co-op. In the company of three friends enemies' genocide becomes maximum chaotic. And don't look on bugs, they are not so critical, many of them may be avoided. Developers works hard and release updates every week.
  50. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    First off...If you have performance issues on newer hardware, run the game in windowed mode and that solves them completely. It's not a big deal.

    Secondly...Play with friends and use Steam's voice conferencing/chat functions while playing.
    Failing that, I would ask people around here to add you on Steam to play with you rather than try to join random games. Griefing would be a huge issue
    in a game like this.

    Ok. With that out of the way. This game is so much fun!

    The way you create your magic is awesome, the battles are challenging, the humour is great and the amount and quality of spells you have is actually quite impressive.

    Even if you only have a slight interest in this, I would definitely recommend getting the complete pack.
    I was sitting on the fence about it and wondering if I would like the game. I am very glad I went ahead and bought it. It's a breath of fresh air and has a really old-school feel to it in terms of gameplay and challenge.
    Expand
  51. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome and way fun. It is a little buggy at times but if you have a great computer with a great processor and video card it prevents a lot of problems. Gameplay is a top down. The coolest thing about the game is mixing spell types to create powerful combinations to devastate enemies... or yourself and friends if you happen to hit friendlies. The game has a helpful tutorial in the beginning that leaves you learning more and more spells throughout the entire game. It is also incredibly funny with lots of references to Star Wars in the text of dialogue. I believe my first hard laugh came when playing the tutorial and my friend who had chosen a strange army character (not very wizardly at all) accidently tossed a grenade at my feet and killed me. I thought I was out forever until we learned a revive spell to bring me back. This game should be played co-op for the most fun as long as you cooperate with team members otherwise it could get frustrating. So, if you've got an awesome computer and ten bucks I'd recommend this game for some exciting and funny entertainment. Expand
  52. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Mofoso 10 Remarkable example of a remarkable game. Unique and successful game play and controls that blow you away. Humorous story line with my. this game is mint
  53. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Magicka is hilariously frustrating, and i say that in the best way possible. I bought this game at a later date, and therefore i wasn't victim to so many bugs, aside from airships freezing in midair and several crashes. The dialogue and humor in this game give you a lot of motivation to continue with the story, and it is filled with countless references to other games, movies, and even some memes. I love how the wizard characters look, and the varying costumes give different ways of playing the game. Combining spells is hilarious, especially when you use your friends as test subjects. Many of the magicks in the game will result in either your death or your friends death, so be warned. This game is simple entertainment, whether it's creating a vortex to destroy hordes of enemies, or blowing up your friends with a lightning bolt, this unique game will keep you playing. BLEIGH! Expand
  54. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Terribly underrated game. Magicka is very fun to play, and eve funner with friends. The game is fun, challenging and exciting, with many different levels, enemies and elements you can combine in different ways to kill your enemies. Magicka is filled with fun refrences to almost every popular movie and game ever made. I recommend playing this game with your friends, it's a lot more fun than playing it alone Expand
  55. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Crazy fun-filled spectaular game has me mesmerised from start to finish. I dont think I've ever panicked so much whilst playing a game, nor had as much fun. And the opportunities for friendly fire in co-op are pretty much unbeatable I reckon. Love it. And it's cheap as chips! Great value for money.
  56. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Very very cool game, very innovative system of creating your own spells. It felt a bit button-mashy at first, but that soon fades and the appeal of creating your own spells to reflect your play style comes through. Play defensively using the defensive spells, very aggressively with minimal defence, or heck, try to fight your way in hand-to-hand combat if you like (though that's not recommended as you're a wizard). It's amazing and a steal at $10. Just finished the single-player, now picked up the 2nd expansion. Expand
  57. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Cool game! When you are player in this game, you feeling "funny" and some "rage"
    Must buy!
  58. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    A great game that has kept me captivated for hours. Yet to invest in the DLC but plan to in the future to add to the already amazing longevity the game has.
  59. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    Magicka is a worthwhile game for adults to play with their kids. Casting spells in this game is both inventive and entertaining, you will want to test all the combinations. The game is both nostalgic and fresh.
  60. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    I can't reccomend this game enough, it's a must for all gamers and don't listen to all the people who say it's unplayable because of bugs because there's been so many updates that it's one of the smoothest and enjoyable experiences I've ever had in a game, if you're interested in pulp fiction this will become even more enjoyable with all the quips at things like Star Wars, Legend of Zelda and even Twilight! The controls and combat are slow at first to ease you into it then by the 3rd chapter the difficulty gets notably more difficult without making it frustrating because it usually makes you blame yourself for dying and not the game. (Although I became quite annoyed in the volcano section of chapter 11.) I've almost finished the game and I love most of the characters like Vlad (who is so not a vampire) and the giant dragon Fafnir and Ygg and finally Jormungdar the giant acid spitting snake. I got this while it was on special for $2.50 but would of been happy now to spend the original price of $20 on this small practically indie game that I've spent more time on than Portal 1 and 2! I'm hitting my 20 hour mark now and am still going! Plus it's amazing fun exploring each level trying to find all the secret areas (and all the dead moose, yes you heard right dead moose) and especially finding probably the best secret of the game the Sword of Masters which fires a sword beam at full health and of course the reviver for single player a fairy that says hey list'n. This is a must have game for anyone who is into pop culture or fantasy or creativity or even games in general! Expand
  61. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    This game is fantastic, despite technical limitations (the game could run more smooth and have more video options) this game is EPIC, endless fun and very cheap. Just buy it, worth every coin.
  62. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    This game amuses me. It's a fun filled RPG with basic controls but loads of possibilities. Rather than spoil the story, I'm going to tell you to purchase it for the small price they have for it on Steam ($10). The DLC isn't necessary, but it does make your game more enjoyable and fun! The game design in and of itself is brilliant. Complete experimentation allows you to try new ways to play in Adventure, PVP, or Survival scenarios. For the media savvy, this game contains a variety of enjoyable references to some classic TV shows, Movies, and video games. Silly slapstick humor, endless fun with friends, and pure experimentation. A must in your gaming library! Expand
  63. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    Magicka is a funny and awesome game. For ten dollars you can have lots of fun, and more than 10 hours of gameplay. Its very rare to find bugs because the game is getting more and more updates with new maps and robes. I recommend it (and, if you have money, but the complete pack, DLC´s are awesome).
  64. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    This is a really fun game with unique mechanics and a great sense of humor. Its a challenging game that does not take itself too seriously after all dying and being killed by friendly fire are DEFINITELY part of the game. I highly recommend cooperative play but it is still fun in single player mode.

    The graphics are great, the pace is quick and the sound is well done. Grab this when
    its on sale and you won't be sorry. Expand
  65. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥It's a great game u must buy it ^^ I am downloading the game now ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
  66. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    Magicka is a brilliant game! i think it's important to say that its is a very difficult one too, however they should have made an option for the difficulty. In my opinion the game starts with a great and also funny story in which everything makes a more parody impression than a serious story normally does. Along the game you have to create strategies to get along a lot of enemies or strong ones, that's also in the coop mode great. Playing the storyline togheter is also working better than expected but the friends often get accidentaly killed. Expand
  67. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    The game simply does not stand my expectations!The concept and the gameplay are nice but this game is full of bugs!Low FPS bug,crash bug,not connecting with specific people bug and a lot of other bugs.I can connect with my brother and I can't connect with my friend OMG!I reached Chapter 11 and I am stuck there because of the bugs!The developers simply don't do anything about the bugs.They just release DLC for an unplayable game.I am sad that Paradox Interactive released it because I like Paradox Interactive.Stay away from it until they fix the bugs. Expand
  68. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    I must admit, playing this alone is a waste of time, but if you get together with some friends, this game is a mass of fun and chaos, with unknown spells flying everywhere, and a nice long campaign to keep you entertained for quite a while.
  69. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    O jogo mágicka é um excelente jogo indie. Você pode curti-lo de várias formas. A mais prazeroza, sem dúvidas, é jogar com os amigos. O que não impede de jogar sozinho, onde o desafio é bem maior.
    Após ver este video www.youtube.com/watch?v=28XoBMviIPk , comprei-o e me juntei com amigos para gastar horas aprendendo novas
    combinações de elementos, e formulando estratégias (que na maioria das vezes falharam rs).
    O unico defeito, é consumir muito recurso do seu computador, o que não vejo motivos.
    Expand
  70. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    The very battle of the elements, the bathrobe wizards control absolutely anything, no one is safe and easy to fall into the trap. The game feels like an old school game from Snes,but for PC.Its a hardcore game,you have to be on your toes, but it feels casual the way you can control the enemies and how you solve the situation. Recommend mouse+keyboard.
  71. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    The most fun I have had playing with friends in a long, long time. Would recommend if you are able to play with mates. It's a fun and creative game, with many clever references and a good sense of humour overall, and it is good to find a game that doesn't take itself too seriously.
  72. May 25, 2013
    9
    Most complaints about this game's controls or the bugs and glitches. The bugs were ironed out a short while after release, and although problems do exist, it's worth fighting through those to play the games (especially with friends).

    The controls seem clunky at first, but that's mainly due to the fact that no other game has a similar control scheme. Yes, there are other dungeon
    scrollers that have spells, but no game revolves entirely about the interaction of those spells (and the lack of a mana bar); and once these are mastered, the game becomes incredibly fun to play.

    It's worth buying at full price, but sales are often enough for it on steam that you can pick it up for $5 or $2.50. I'd recommend picking up the addon campaigns too, as they're cheap, but add large portions to the base game.

    In the end, if the gameplay doesn't convince you, it's fun to play to guess all the references. From the wizards who say "ni" to the sword AND the stone (an amazing sword/hammer thing), you'll be able to nod to something.

    And if you're not having fun playing single player, just play with friends. I've found it impossible to play a game with friends on skype, without bursting into laughter at our own stupidity.
    Expand
  73. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Holy poptarts in a pizza box, this is how you make a magic system. The controls are kinda wonky, and it's release was glitched to the point of them releasing a free dlc that adds a new spell, crash to desktop, and a bugged staff, broken sword, and patched robe. Get this game and every dlc, it's just too good. I'm a big magic geek, (Look at my name. I'm leet wizard.) and I know for a fact that this is how I'm going to train my kids to use spells when they grow up. Put them infront of this game, tell them how to play, and one week later, work with them to do... Magic evil things. Okay, time for the review.

    Things I like-
    -Four player co op throughout everything.
    -Three great game modes to choose from.
    -Best. Magic. System. Ever.
    -Good music.
    -Good graphics.
    -Hilarious humor!

    Things I don't like-
    -It's still kinda glitchy, but it's tolerable.
    -It's so easy to die!
    -Level 10's boss is too hard singleplayer, but multiplayer, it's easy.

    In the end, Buy. This. Game.
    Now.
    And buy all the dlc's.
    For you and all your friends.
    9/10, if it's less buggy, solid 10.
    Expand
  74. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    Magicka um jogo ao mesmo tempo dramático e engraçado. muito divertido! A variedade de magias e o sistema de conjuração delas faz do jogo um item essencial para quem adora jogar entre amigos. O único porém o seu limite de jogadores online: 4 magos.
  75. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    absolutely great game, it has a pleasing art style, unique magic system, it also has its moments when it comes to humor, I am wondering why its metascore is not higher to be quite honest.
  76. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    This is still the best PC game to come out in this decade.

    It's not your average dumbed down handholding power fantasy, but you must be very incompetent at playing games and learning things for it not to click.

    We need more games that don't treat the players as if they're all mentally challenged kids.
  77. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    The game is great! it have a very cool and funny history, the combos and magicks are fun to use and make a lot of sence too the only thing in this game that someone can complain about is the mechanic wich tis kinda of hard to learn at first
  78. Jul 4, 2014
    9
    It's not perfect, but the gameplay is addictive and smart... it's an hard game, but in the good way, it takes time to master it, and you need to think about what you're doing. Really fun!
  79. Feb 6, 2011
    0
    Most people have thus far criticized the game (and rightly so) for the enormous number of bugs it had upon release. Having bought and played the game over a week after release, I myself only experienced a handfull of frustrations.

    While these were annoying, they were completely overshadowed by the sheer volume of fun and hilarity the game offers. Playing co-op with a friend, I don't
    think I've laughed that hard in ages. The innovative game-play, funny dialog and outrageous in-game antics made for a heck of a fun evening.

    As the bugs get patched and forgotten, I highly recommend the game to everyone who can find a friend to play with; I can't fathom some of those battles being handled alone!
    Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. May 6, 2011
    90
    The rich, luscious colors somehow make the world a lot more believable than games like Crysis 2 could ever be.
  2. May 6, 2011
    80
    Magicka is a game that works especially well in cooperation. Single player experience is a good one but this game shows its true potential only when you play with friends, allowing for some great fun. A patched-up Magicka is most certainly worth getting to know. Even more, because it is a solid candidate for 2011's best game in its category.
  3. Apr 23, 2011
    90
    A game that glorifies the use of fireballs and land mines. #WIN.