Majesty 2: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the world of Majesty, you are the ruler of the kingdom of Ardania. At your service are your loyal and somewhat obnoxious subordinates, who have their own minds about how things should be done. Majesty is the only game where your heroes decide on their own what should be done and when,In the world of Majesty, you are the ruler of the kingdom of Ardania. At your service are your loyal and somewhat obnoxious subordinates, who have their own minds about how things should be done. Majesty is the only game where your heroes decide on their own what should be done and when, leaving you to try to control them through monetary incentives. [Paradox Interactive] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. In the end this game truly did stand up to its predecessors standards. It is fun and entertaining with plenty of replay value. It keeps your attention the whole time you are playing. Whether it uses comedy, drama, adventure or battle you just can't get enough.
  2. Majesty 2 brings some fresh updates and spruces up the overall gameplay to make up for almost an entire decade of technological advances in between the games. It isn't cutting edge by any means, but the modern touch will no doubt bring many new players into the fold. They won't be disappointed.
  3. A refreshing strategy experience.
  4. 75
    If you’re a fantasy fan or a strategy fan that’s looking for a challenge, you should check out Majesty 2. Otherwise, you may want something where you have more impact on the game world.
  5. By copying the original game, 1C: Ino-Co preserved its charm, but exposed its flaws. In 2000, they were excusable; in 2009, they are depressing.
  6. AceGamez
    70
    Majesty 2 is definitely a game you should play as it changes the way you approach a real time strategy game.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    50
    Majesty 2 is quite a mad game with chaotic controls and exaggerated difficulty. It is more an action RPG with unpredictable outcomes then classic RPG or even “Kingdom Sim”. [Oct 2009]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 40
  2. Negative: 7 out of 40
  1. TonyR
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    Majesty 2 is not a blockbuster game. It was a quiet, nice, and cheap diversion. The improvement from the first game is immense, and the first Majesty 2 is not a blockbuster game. It was a quiet, nice, and cheap diversion. The improvement from the first game is immense, and the first game and it's expansion were brilliant. The patch that they've released addresses most all of the issues that people had with it. Is the game perfect? No, but it doesn't have to be at a mere $30. Well worth the buy. Collapse
  2. May 1, 2011
    9
    I picked the Majesty 2 bundle pack on steam for like 12$, and was very impressed with the content. I liked Majesty 1, yet it was a bit tooI picked the Majesty 2 bundle pack on steam for like 12$, and was very impressed with the content. I liked Majesty 1, yet it was a bit too difficult for me. The new game is more fun. The advisor voice is awesome and really brings life to the game. I'm glad majesty 2 really polished the economy system and explained the game concepts much better, resulting in a pleasant experience. It is well worth its current price! Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2011
    8
    This game was a pleasant surprise. I expected another Spellforce-type rpg/rts, but this was something different... but in a good way! +This game was a pleasant surprise. I expected another Spellforce-type rpg/rts, but this was something different... but in a good way! + Controlling your heroes through monetary incentives = revise your usual rts strategies :)
    + Heroes level up, buy inventory, find artifacts, but become pickier about jobs with time
    + You can save the best heroes and rehire them later in the campaign = time not wasted
    + Not short at all: campaign+single maps = almost 40 hours i have on record + It was fairly challenging for single maps too, i had to restart/rethink some a few times
    Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    Majesty 2 is very similar to the original, with some graphical improvements and AI tweaks. One slightly annoying tweak is that your heroesMajesty 2 is very similar to the original, with some graphical improvements and AI tweaks. One slightly annoying tweak is that your heroes seem much stupider, and refuse to do much of anything if you don't throw down reward flags. The difficulty curve is also a bit strange, and some missions are trivial, with others being extremely hard. This issue continues in the expansions (Kingmaker, Battles of Ardania, Monster Kingdom), where the missions are punishingly hard, and not in a "fun challenge" kind of way. The challenge, in most of these maps, comes from not knowing what or where the lairs / objectives are, and getting demolished if you build your early base in the wrong order or wrong direction. Still, this game is a fun time sink, and I mostly enjoyed plowing my way through the campaigns. Expand
  5. May 23, 2011
    7
    I gave the game a pass back in 2009 being scared off with its demo (waves of incredibly strong monsters, no build-research-expand etc).I gave the game a pass back in 2009 being scared off with its demo (waves of incredibly strong monsters, no build-research-expand etc). However, I've bought a copy on Steam this month, it's just $10 now. And how wrong my first impressions were! The game actually is the good old Majesty where you can spend hours and hours building up the kingdom just for the fun of it. In my opinion, the developers didn't succeed in adding new elements to the gameplay, which is probably too much to ask anyway, but they didn't ruin it either. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    5
    Majesty 2 is a real-time strategy game, despite the game's pleas that it's a "fantasy kingdom sim". I found it to be very similar to WarcraftMajesty 2 is a real-time strategy game, despite the game's pleas that it's a "fantasy kingdom sim". I found it to be very similar to Warcraft 2 in play style.

    I'm a big fan of RTS games, but this game just isn't worth your money. The game is based on a proven formula, but Majesty 2 is poorly executed. Most single player games end up the same way: you frantically fight for your life before you get your first buildings built, hope nothing major is destroyed, try to get up a few key buildings as monsters swarm your town, then all of a sudden, your heroes are mopping the floor with the enemy. It swings from frustrating to boring in seconds, never hitting the right balance.

    The tutorial is okay but doesn't quite teach enough. Controls need a little work. Music is boring. The game does have some decent dry humor.

    This game just isn't worth getting. RTS fans should boot up a Blizzard game instead.
    Expand
  7. [ANONYMOUS]
    Oct 13, 2009
    0
    The entire game is pretty bad. It plays badly, fall short in multiple aspects of the original and yet, it could have been somewhat better if The entire game is pretty bad. It plays badly, fall short in multiple aspects of the original and yet, it could have been somewhat better if they didn't yank out (!) the editor in the very first patch. Now all steam users are screwed. Most other people keep the 1.0 with bugs to still have access to the modding scene, but we can't even have that. Terrible, give it a skip, especially if the price hasn't fallen yet. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews