User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 850 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    4
    Mark of the Ninja is a good stealth game, with a great art style and a fresh take on the genre. But I still do not have any idea why people lavish the game with such high praise. While the game has an amazing art style, the game has flaws. The game-play is basically a stealth game in 2D. While I like the fact that you can hide bodies, set traps, upgrade your arsenal, and even terrorizeMark of the Ninja is a good stealth game, with a great art style and a fresh take on the genre. But I still do not have any idea why people lavish the game with such high praise. While the game has an amazing art style, the game has flaws. The game-play is basically a stealth game in 2D. While I like the fact that you can hide bodies, set traps, upgrade your arsenal, and even terrorize your enemies, the level design ranges from good to poor, usually on the bad end of the spectrum. The game constantly you through trial-and-error sections, with the end result of me learning nothing at all and feeling extremely frustrated. Also, the control can be a bit wonky, as sometimes, I'll end up grabbing a body when I meant to pick a lock. And the game loses its appeal once you go through 60% of the game, as you will be frustrated with the fact its basically the same thing over and over but with added traps that are extremely cheap. Also, when you complete the game, you will feel robbed of your efforts. When Mark Of The Ninja does things right, you really will feel like a ninja. However, the sections are few and far between. If you enjoyed Mark Of The Ninja, that's great, you made a good purchase. But for me, Mark Of The Ninja is a clear example of not living up to its potential. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Very fun and well made game. It's a 2D platformer, but it doesn't need to be anything else. Everything is done just right. If you liked the platform games of the 80s and early 90s on the old Atari systems etc, you will probably like it. If your a COD kid you will probably hate it because it doesn't have amazing graphics and a new release every 3 months.
  3. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    It's very refreshing to see such a distinct game every now and then. In a market full of RTS and FPS games, a stealth one is very welcome. And I hadn't seen such a good one ever since Thief came out.

    So I bought it and have been playing for the last few days. It's already in my favorites in Steam. The level design is gracious and the art is wonderful and eye catching. Also loved the
    It's very refreshing to see such a distinct game every now and then. In a market full of RTS and FPS games, a stealth one is very welcome. And I hadn't seen such a good one ever since Thief came out.

    So I bought it and have been playing for the last few days. It's already in my favorites in Steam. The level design is gracious and the art is wonderful and eye catching. Also loved the gameplay. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because of the shallow, hollow story.
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Mark of the Ninja is an awesome game. The one aspect of the game which I dont think is awesome would be the actual storyline. Aside from that I loved everything about it. My favourite thing would have to be the way in which the game gets harder as you go along, and after you finish it there is new game+ which really amps up the difficulty. Not often that you get to feel overpowered andMark of the Ninja is an awesome game. The one aspect of the game which I dont think is awesome would be the actual storyline. Aside from that I loved everything about it. My favourite thing would have to be the way in which the game gets harder as you go along, and after you finish it there is new game+ which really amps up the difficulty. Not often that you get to feel overpowered and challenged at the same time. There is also a lot of freedom in how you choose to go about doing the levels, be it super sneaky of super stabby. As a side note its total BS that the game is boring at the 50% mark. Most of the more challenging obstacles and traps are only towards the end of the game and there is a new game plus really adds to the re-playability imo. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    First of all, I really never liked platform games. Being an older gamer, I am a K/M kinda guy. I was a big fan of the Thief series some years back. After so many great reviews, I finally downloaded this and I must say am really nicely impressed. All the stealth tools are there...and its a platform game! The checkpoint system is good. I think the devs at Klei have come up with a really goodFirst of all, I really never liked platform games. Being an older gamer, I am a K/M kinda guy. I was a big fan of the Thief series some years back. After so many great reviews, I finally downloaded this and I must say am really nicely impressed. All the stealth tools are there...and its a platform game! The checkpoint system is good. I think the devs at Klei have come up with a really good solid game in a time when they are few and far between. Is it perfect? No. Is it enjoyable? Yes it really is! Once I was through my "platform" block, this little gem came shining through. The price is awesome and this one really rocks!! Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Here is a great stealth game that places a bar on all other stealth games in the future. The game sports a 2D platform type of gameplay with a focus on stealth and tactical maneuvering rather than a full action combat. The game has fluid animation, beautifully created atmosphere, challenging (yet not frustrating) puzzles and encouragement of user creativity during missions, but of courseHere is a great stealth game that places a bar on all other stealth games in the future. The game sports a 2D platform type of gameplay with a focus on stealth and tactical maneuvering rather than a full action combat. The game has fluid animation, beautifully created atmosphere, challenging (yet not frustrating) puzzles and encouragement of user creativity during missions, but of course like with all things, it has it's flaws. It's 2D perspective sometimes make item interactivity a bit annoying (trying to interact with object A ends you up interacting with object B). Still, this is just a minor inconvenience and the overwhelming amounts of innovation in gameplay could more than make up for it. This is a game well suited for anyone who likes gaming for their gameplay and mechanics over superior graphics. Mark of the Ninja is a simple and easy to learn game yet stands above some of the more popular games this past few years. Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Solid platform action with excellently executed stealth elements. The story is told through the masterful art direction at every level. A breath of fresh air in an era of video game decadence.

    Controls are intuitive. A smart level design and good hit detection make for an enjoyable ride. The in-game achievements and level system keep level progression interesting.

    Highly recommended.
  8. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I bought this game because it was on sale for Steam and was about stealth. 12 hours later, I am still trying to finish the achievements and looking for new ways to kill those guards. The game is somewhat linear but there are a couple options on how to take down guards and/or sneak past them. If you want a real challenge, try to sneak by the level without killing a guard or being seen. ThisI bought this game because it was on sale for Steam and was about stealth. 12 hours later, I am still trying to finish the achievements and looking for new ways to kill those guards. The game is somewhat linear but there are a couple options on how to take down guards and/or sneak past them. If you want a real challenge, try to sneak by the level without killing a guard or being seen. This game has a lot of replay for me. Expand
  9. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    This game is an incredible contribution to the stealth genre. Its controls are tight, its art style is amazing, Its system on how it rewards different play styles is well done, and the story can actually be good at times. If it wasn't for the lackluster ending, I would've probably gave Mark of the Ninja 10/10, but aside from that, this game is definitely a must buy for anyone who enjoysThis game is an incredible contribution to the stealth genre. Its controls are tight, its art style is amazing, Its system on how it rewards different play styles is well done, and the story can actually be good at times. If it wasn't for the lackluster ending, I would've probably gave Mark of the Ninja 10/10, but aside from that, this game is definitely a must buy for anyone who enjoys the stealth or action genre. Expand
  10. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    Mark Of The Ninja is a great indie stealth platformer. I played it with xbox 360 controller and it works very good. The enemies have mostly a good KI and the gameplay is cool.
  11. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An absolutely amazing game. It was hard to stop once I'd start playing, wasting hours of my day. Very frustrating sometimes, but it never really feels like it's impossible. Chose the "dishonorable" death at the end- the girl might be a lie, but not the tattooist. Expand
  12. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Fantastically designed and animated. The implementation of the stealth mechanism is sublime, and there's nothing more satisfying than terrorising an opponent to make them run into their own trap.

    I found the game addictive with great replay value. More than once I caught myself thinking "Damn, if I'd done that differently, I wouldn't have wasted that item". It forces you to think
    Fantastically designed and animated. The implementation of the stealth mechanism is sublime, and there's nothing more satisfying than terrorising an opponent to make them run into their own trap.

    I found the game addictive with great replay value. More than once I caught myself thinking "Damn, if I'd done that differently, I wouldn't have wasted that item". It forces you to think tactically which is almost unheard of with other stealth games.

    About my only complaint is that while the controls are largely intuitive and simple, you have a tendency to grab onto things even when you didn't mean to (eg when trying to climb down off a box in a narrow shaft you often end up clinging either to the wall or the side of the box).

    The ending was suitably ambiguous that it really made me stop and think before proceeding.

    All in all, thoroughly enjoyable (so much so, I bought it for friends in the Steam sale) and I can't wait to replay it with everything I've learnt form the first play through.
    Expand
  13. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    An unexpectedly good game. I'm not a big fan of the Shank games, but this one is very addictive with tons of replayability.
    The first playthrough was fun, story kept me interested until the end (which was kind of mind blowing). However, the real fun stared after unlocking additional costumes and features, which enabled me to play the game again in a completely different way. You can play
    An unexpectedly good game. I'm not a big fan of the Shank games, but this one is very addictive with tons of replayability.
    The first playthrough was fun, story kept me interested until the end (which was kind of mind blowing). However, the real fun stared after unlocking additional costumes and features, which enabled me to play the game again in a completely different way. You can play as a merciless assassin, a true unseen ninja or a trickster that likes to mess with enemy's mind.
    The controls need a while to get used to. It might happen to you that you will fall off a ledge, even though you only wanted to take a peek. Once you get used to the controls, you will be able to maneuver quickly and do fancy ninja techniques without any problems.
    The overall gameplay experience is absolutely amazing also thanks to the clean graphics. You always know what is happening around you and what you can do about it.
    The game is available on Steam, so you can wait for a discount to grab it, but it's definitely worth it, if you're into stealthy action games.
    Expand
  14. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    One of the best 2D stealth games I have ever played. Grabbed it for $10 during a Steam sale and I'm loving. The art style is amazing, the gameplay is fluid and the ending... Well, just play it for yourself to see.
  15. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    A new take on the stealth genre, I believe that Mark of the Ninja does its job in showing that not all good stealth games need to be in 3D. It is interesting and fun play. Overall the game does do what a game should set out to do...mainly entertain. It has a nice story line that can get most anyone involved with the mission. The missions get longer and harder as one progress making oneA new take on the stealth genre, I believe that Mark of the Ninja does its job in showing that not all good stealth games need to be in 3D. It is interesting and fun play. Overall the game does do what a game should set out to do...mainly entertain. It has a nice story line that can get most anyone involved with the mission. The missions get longer and harder as one progress making one have to constantly view the surroundings in order to avoid almost instant death. The most interesting part is that you cannot go guns blazing ever because as it turns out your fists and kunai don't kill people, only your sword does. While the concept is there, Mark does fail in a few categories, namely the visibility and movement. I would prefer that the entire outer point of the screen not be all foggy, but this is quickly fixed by a check box in the settings. My real problem with the game is frankly the lack of color unless the room is lighted in which case your probably dead by getting shot and the movement because I doubt a ninja hasn't been trained to run silently, so for most of the game one is moving at a slow pace. Repetition is very obvious as the game progress so don't think that you can beat the game in one sitting, you'll probably get bored before you finish. Don't be chased away however because of these relatively small problems. The leaderboards for every level give a huge incentive to replay some of your best moments and the killing scenes are frankly done just right, but not too many variety to kill someone unless you start getting the power ups which start a bit too late for my taste. Great game to play, frankly one that should be taken time with not just sped through. Would recommend to those who have their tablets in which case its perfect and some core gamers looking for an indie game that steps outside lines and still delivers. Expand
  16. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. The best ninja game I've ever played! This game provides so much variety on how to play the game. From stabbing everyone in the back, to using traps and environments to kill, to even completely avoiding every enemy and remaining unseen. The puzzles/challenges are also brilliant. Solving them gives me the same feeling as solving a Portal puzzle, very satisfying. IThis game is amazing. The best ninja game I've ever played! This game provides so much variety on how to play the game. From stabbing everyone in the back, to using traps and environments to kill, to even completely avoiding every enemy and remaining unseen. The puzzles/challenges are also brilliant. Solving them gives me the same feeling as solving a Portal puzzle, very satisfying. I HIGHLY recommend this game. I had fun the entire time, and the ending was crazy! Don't wait until steam sales, get it NOW! Expand
  17. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best stealth games I've played, probably the best 2D one. The visual style is perfect, gameplay is smooth and everything you do feels incredibly terrifying. Even though the controls are a bit confusing sometimes, it still deserves a spot in my top 10 games of this year.
  18. Oct 20, 2012
    9
    It is simply fun. Challenging yet doesn't hamper fluidity. In most cases you could choose to kill or evade without the use of any consumables, both in a variety of different ways. It's among the very few games that I would actually like to replay.
  19. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    It is a rare thing indeed to rate games a full '10' (it's more like a 9.5 really). There are so many average and below/above average games nowadays that some people have become jaded. I was one one of those jaded folks until I came across "Mark of the Ninja". It takes a lot - and I mean a lot - of time, patience, talent and testing to create such a magnificent accomplishment in gamingIt is a rare thing indeed to rate games a full '10' (it's more like a 9.5 really). There are so many average and below/above average games nowadays that some people have become jaded. I was one one of those jaded folks until I came across "Mark of the Ninja". It takes a lot - and I mean a lot - of time, patience, talent and testing to create such a magnificent accomplishment in gaming (and just about anything really) with all the competition and hype that comes with newer titles. MotN is an epic game with amazing gameplay, spectacular art and design and mechanics that work all the way through to its end. Platformers are becoming more popular again as well as stealth games and this game does both impeccably. There are NO issues here - none. Not one fault. OK, maybe the fact that the guards aren't bright at times and are easy to take advantage of - until you play the highest difficulty (after the game is completed) then you wish it wasn't this hard. The artwork is similar to old school Disney and Genndy Tartoksky's "Samurai Jack" with tons of blood and violence. The backgrounds move and fluctuate and are brilliantly rendered. It's almost like a piece of art hanging at the MoMA. The movements, attacks and tactics are versatile and unique and the player can choose between which best suits them or even which not to use at all with the option to choose some or none. The upgrade system is simple and fluid with no complications or annoyances. Enemies are sharp,adaptive and deadly. Level designs are articulate and challenging with hidden items through. The foley work is excellent as well as the music. The writing is sharp and the plot is engaging. Even the hailkus in the game are brilliantly written. How many games can you say that about?! It's worth more than it's going for and has great replay value. It gets my vote for best game of 2012. Expand
  20. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Okay, first of all let me ask a question: what is pop up in your mind when some one ask you about stealth game?? Most of the peoples answer is splinter cell series or hitman series. Most of the stealth game was 3D. But Mark of The Ninja kind of rewrite the history. This is the first pc game which bring stealthy game play in 2D platform. Basically it is a fusion of action, stealth andOkay, first of all let me ask a question: what is pop up in your mind when some one ask you about stealth game?? Most of the peoples answer is splinter cell series or hitman series. Most of the stealth game was 3D. But Mark of The Ninja kind of rewrite the history. This is the first pc game which bring stealthy game play in 2D platform. Basically it is a fusion of action, stealth and platform game. Game story is perfect and the game physics and game dynamics is really cool. If you still hesitate I can give you word that after playing this game you will not regret. Expand
  21. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    Mark of the Ninja is a 2-D sidescrolling, stealth-action, platformer. It is first and foremost a stealth game, from sneaking through the shadows and having to hide bodies. Mark of the Ninja brings a fresh take on the genre with is unique visuals and gameplay mechanics.
  22. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. Game of the Year for me. It totally reminded me of my old times platying Metal Gear Solid, trying to stay away from the guards and killing them when they weren't looking. If you enjoy stealth games, you'll have a lot of fun with this. It doesn't become repetitive at all and the art is beautiful to look at. And what's even better, it's only 15$!
  23. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    A great stealth game, that captures the spirit of old Shinobi games while adapting it to a new generation of gaming. Great graphics, perfect animations, very inspired level design and a upgrade system that gives more option without mindlessly increasing power combine to make this an outstanding game. It's also a great PC port: it works perfectly well with the keyboard, controls are veryA great stealth game, that captures the spirit of old Shinobi games while adapting it to a new generation of gaming. Great graphics, perfect animations, very inspired level design and a upgrade system that gives more option without mindlessly increasing power combine to make this an outstanding game. It's also a great PC port: it works perfectly well with the keyboard, controls are very responsive, menus work very well with keyboard and mouse. This is a very good example of how to make a ninja game, a stealth game and a PC port. Expand
  24. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    This game is a gem! Not a raw gem, but a sculpted one, polished with care and attention to detail. An incredibly enjoyable experience, definitely worth the 15$ price of admission. You feel in control of your character at all times and the wonderful aesthetics cement that feeling. Feedback is instantaneous and clear: there's no confusion as to what's happening on screen. You can play thisThis game is a gem! Not a raw gem, but a sculpted one, polished with care and attention to detail. An incredibly enjoyable experience, definitely worth the 15$ price of admission. You feel in control of your character at all times and the wonderful aesthetics cement that feeling. Feedback is instantaneous and clear: there's no confusion as to what's happening on screen. You can play this game slow-paced, taking your sweet time avoiding every guard, or you can try and play at a somewhat more frantic and chaotic pace, using your quick reflexes to jump over guards while avoiding their cone of sight and flashlights, distracting them when need be and killing them when necessary. The controls lend themselves excellently to both play styles! The world needs more games as brilliantly executed as this one. Expand
  25. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    I felt compelled to write a review; this game is quite simply, amazing. I was a huge fan of the first Tenchu: Stealth Assassin game on the PlayStation and this tweaks my nostalgia-nub hard. Agent 47 and Shank had a beautiful, kick-ass, baby and you're invited to his party for $15.
  26. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Honestly, for a 15$ game this game is totally worth it. How often would you find a an amazing high action stealth game in 2D. Haven't had this much fun for a while, try it!
  27. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a fan of fast-paced dodging and killing games (Mirror's Edge, for instance), I got into his game instantly. It does not matter how you like to play. If you like to be sneaky, fast, cruel, or unmerciful, then this 2D side-scroller is for you. You play as a ninja who accepts the First Mark, a tattoo with strange powers, to avenge your clan who was recently attacked by a security and arms enterprise. However, accepting the mark also means sacrificing yourself, as the ink in the tattoo has been said to drive people into stark madness and blind defiance. In my opinion, this was the best 1200 Microsoft Points (Xbox 360) I've spent, and I am more than willing to pay another 15-20$ just to play it on the computer. A great game with flawless animation and an overall amazing gaming experience. 10/10! Expand
  28. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    If there is a game out there that can convince someone to enjoy super-invisible, deep stealth (like Thief and the first Splinter Cells), as much as Batman-style action stealth, this is that game. The mechanics of this 2D game are surprisingly and amazingly deep. Enemies will respond to sounds, investigate where they think they saw you, and even be terrorized by your actions. There are aIf there is a game out there that can convince someone to enjoy super-invisible, deep stealth (like Thief and the first Splinter Cells), as much as Batman-style action stealth, this is that game. The mechanics of this 2D game are surprisingly and amazingly deep. Enemies will respond to sounds, investigate where they think they saw you, and even be terrorized by your actions. There are a whole assortment of gadgets that you can use in many ways to turn the tables on your foes. You can perform all sorts of tricks, such as climbing up almost every wall, scurry around in the air ducts, throw a dead body to terrorize some hapless guard. There are even multiple solutions to your problems: do you shank that guard at the first opportunity? Or do you use your gadgets to distract him while you slip past? Or do you even get them to kill each other by accident? The choice is yours. Even months later, I still cannot find anything wrong with this game. It's length is bolstered by the presence of New Game+, its animation is beautiful and well crafted, its sound and music creates perfect ambiance, and even its story, despite being small and short, has a surprising amount of twist and turns to it. Buy this game. This is stealth done PERFECTLY. Expand
  29. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    I have no idea why this game didn't sell well on Xbox, this is hands down one of the best pure-stealth games, It's so perfect! The Art style is simply beautiful, And this game allows a lot of different approaches, which adds a huge amount of replay value, And for 15 bucks, It's a must have title! Klei made a smart move by putting ít's best game by far on steam, I really hope thisI have no idea why this game didn't sell well on Xbox, this is hands down one of the best pure-stealth games, It's so perfect! The Art style is simply beautiful, And this game allows a lot of different approaches, which adds a huge amount of replay value, And for 15 bucks, It's a must have title! Klei made a smart move by putting ít's best game by far on steam, I really hope this game sells well because it deserves it! Collapse
  30. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    Heard about this game back when it came out for the Xbox LIVE Arcade and how disappointed was I that I did not own an XBox 360. When it was announced for the PC via Steam I was thrilled. I feel that Mark of the Ninja is well worth the price. Quite an enjoyable stealth game and it looks great. I'm not usually one for the cartoony art style but it works well in and is gorgeous, reminds me aHeard about this game back when it came out for the Xbox LIVE Arcade and how disappointed was I that I did not own an XBox 360. When it was announced for the PC via Steam I was thrilled. I feel that Mark of the Ninja is well worth the price. Quite an enjoyable stealth game and it looks great. I'm not usually one for the cartoony art style but it works well in and is gorgeous, reminds me a bit of Samurai jack at times. The animations are not overdone and fluid. The stealth mechanics are great and provide a good variety of sneaking, hiding, stealth kills, sabotage and evasive platforming. The gameplay emphasizes the shadowy, stealthy nature of the ninja to an excellent degree. The AI feels sharp enough, enemies react accordingly to the level of stealth you employ (or lack thereof). I just wish Steam had advertised this game AT ALL leading up it's release; Mark of the Ninja is worthy of a lot of recognition and recommendation. Expand
  31. Oct 17, 2012
    0
    I have no idea why this game didn't sell well on Xbox, this is hands down one of the best pure-stealth games, It's so perfect! The Art style is simply beautiful, And this game allows a lot of different approaches, which adds a huge amount of replay value, And for 15 bucks, It's a must have title! Klei made a smart move by putting ít's best game by far on steam, I really hope thisI have no idea why this game didn't sell well on Xbox, this is hands down one of the best pure-stealth games, It's so perfect! The Art style is simply beautiful, And this game allows a lot of different approaches, which adds a huge amount of replay value, And for 15 bucks, It's a must have title! Klei made a smart move by putting ít's best game by far on steam, I really hope this game sells well because it deserves it! Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 84
    A dreamy amalgamation of Shinoby, Deus Ex and Thief. It’s not only the best downloadable game of the year, but a welcome gift for fans of pure stealth gameplay. [November 2012]
  2. 80
    Splendid stealth platformer offers high levels of addictiveness. Surely aspiring to the title of "Independent title of the year". [Dec 2012]
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    88
    Corvo Attano and Agent 47 couldn't possibly have expected that a platformer from the creators of Shank would stab them in the backs and claim the title of this year's best stealth game.