Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. May 3, 2013
    53
    While only the combat stands out as a true high-point, Mars: War Logs is at least an ambitious attempt at a budget RPG, in a much less overused setting than most.
  2. May 30, 2013
    68
    Ambitious, but weak writing, repetitive combat and difficulty spikes hold it back. [July 2013, p.81]
  3. May 6, 2013
    72
    Mars: War Logs is an interesting take on sci fi RPG, bestowed with a fascinating background and robust hack'n'slashing. On the other hand, it lacks depth and optimization in many of its features, ultimately resulting in a mixed bag.
  4. May 9, 2013
    65
    I had been hoping (and kind of expecting from the trailer) for a sort of Arkham City combat structure in the form of a more classical RPG. This is not that game. The melee combat engine, while interesting, doesn’t actually balance well, and it results in combat that feels ridiculous and clunky where Arkham was fluid and dynamic.
  5. May 8, 2013
    69
    We feel it's limited by time and money, but as a game is a good experience, with some good ideas actually well implemented. If you like sci-fi ARPG, and you've already played the big games in the genre, this could be an option worth trying.
  6. May 8, 2013
    60
    Mars: War Logs has flashes of brilliance, mostly stemming from its combat system. I really wanted to love the game more than I did, but it continuously disappointed me with simple flaws.
  7. May 9, 2013
    61
    Mars: Wars Logs is a decent action RPG with a fascinating background and a cheap price.
  8. Jul 16, 2013
    66
    Kudos for the ambition and price, but Mars: War Logs needs more work. A game that succeeds almost in spite of itself.
  9. May 3, 2013
    60
    With a higher budget Mars: War Logs might have become a completely different action-RPG, but even so, despite the many limitations and considering the budget price, the final result is more than satisfactory.
  10. May 10, 2013
    40
    With better pacing and a lot more balancing, Mars: War Logs could have been a fresh, satisfying take on BioWare’s proven formula. Its intriguing premise and characters eventually succumb to its broken systems, creating a fiction you’ll hope sooner to finish than completely understand.
  11. May 6, 2013
    50
    Mars: War Logs is the kind of experience one can only call serviceable. It exists, it does what it does, and it performs its job suitably. It doesn't do anything terrible, but it never once goes above a basic standard of acceptability.
  12. May 31, 2013
    50
    Mars: War Logs is an overly ambitious project that Spiders Studios couldn’t bring on par with its original vision. Despite not fully delivering in this particular venture, the team shows promise and deserves praise for aiming high and not settling for the usual stereotypes.
  13. May 12, 2013
    60
    The annoying thing about Mars: WL is that Spiders have tried to do everything at once instead of delivering a smaller, more polished game. Everything feels half done.
  14. Jun 14, 2013
    55
    In a way, that latter ending fits Mars: War Logs best. It's a competently executed brawler-style RPG, with a political story at its core that actually has some potential. Irrelevant mechanics and sidequests get in the way of the game's best aspects, however, and Mars: War Logs never manages to focus on what's important.
  15. 55
    Mars is a fairly interesting action RPG with a cheap price on its side, but in all honesty it could do with being even cheaper.
  16. Apr 29, 2013
    70
    Mars War Logs isn't free of shortcomings, and not all of them can be explained by the low budget of the studio. Some are design mistakes, or skewed ideas. But its basics are pretty solid, and this RPG, as well as its universe, are ambitious and realistic. Its shortcomings should really be overlooked, for a sequel with more means would probably be even more enjoyable.
  17. 60
    As a whole, Mars: War Logs is a game well worth checking out for RPG fans and, at only twenty dollars, there’s no reason not to. Although frustrating at times, the developers’ ambition puts it above other indie RPGs which seem happy to settle for less considering their price.
  18. May 10, 2013
    61
    It starts as an ambitious roleplaying game drawing me in with its’ opening sequence and fresh scenario. The battle system works well, so does the crafting. But too soon the plot loses its grip, the characters get stale and overall the visuals seem outdated.
  19. May 13, 2013
    45
    Mars: War Logs has big ambitions, but it feels like it was rushed out the door – perhaps due to budgetary constraints. The makings of an impressive game are here, unfortunately it just doesn't hold together particularly well.
  20. Aug 6, 2013
    59
    What remains is a fatal vortex of wasted opportunities.
  21. Apr 30, 2013
    70
    Mars: War Logs is derivative, underdeveloped, and features one of the briefest, most rushed final chapters I've seen, but it's also completely playable and even charming in a B-movie kind of way.
  22. Jul 14, 2013
    65
    Mars: War Logs is worth a go as long as you understand out of the gate it’s not a triple -A -title. But as a gamer, a true gamer, you may just find yourself some entertainment here.
  23. May 9, 2013
    50
    Inexperience and too much ambition have left their marks on a bland RPG. It contains incomplete game elements, and its combat is the only challenge and entertainment of the game.
  24. May 14, 2013
    50
    My review in one word: 'meh'! You see a lot of good intentions, but in the end, the team somehow lacked the courage or the resources to execute on them.
  25. Jul 4, 2013
    50
    Not a good game, but it tries so hard to please it's kind of adorable. [Aug 2013, p.74]
  26. Jun 24, 2013
    50
    With a dearth of decent western RPGs as of late, players desperate for something new might find that Mars War Logs scratches that itch, but don't expect anything amazing.
  27. Jul 23, 2013
    44
    Amongst the many sins of Mars: War Logs, the total lack of originality is the worst one.
  28. May 7, 2013
    65
    Mars: War Logs is really a low cost game. Sold for 20 euros, it delivers a complete adventure with a decent lifetime in spite of many faults. Even knowing that the game was developed on a tight budget, some points are rally hard to accept and the limited budget does not forgive everything. But we have to admit that for this price, we can't ask too much from a recent studio. Mars: War Logs is a small budget game which will entertain you and it's not a bad start, knowing that everything that was advertised is in the game. The promises are kept. We hope a new episode will come out and correct the many flaws of this game in order to provide a more satisfying game experience.
  29. May 9, 2013
    55
    As a follow-up to Of Orcs and Men, War Logs is a let down. If you only have $20, however, supporting a studio as intrepid as Spiders is worthy endeavor and there is fun to be had here. Still, caution is advised.
  30. Mars: War Logs is an ambitious game with a lot of good ideas, and the execution is decent even if the story is a little contrived. For all the time I spent with the game, I felt like it was a good diversion away from the other typical Mars-based games like Red Faction: Guerilla.
  31. 85
    This small studio has done remarkably well, despite limited funds and has presented a sci-fi RPG with a slight cyberpunk mood, that has gathered all the good elements from various genre blockbusters. [June 2013]
  32. Aug 5, 2013
    62
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 226 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 86
  2. Negative: 7 out of 86
  1. Apr 27, 2013
    7
    For the price its not a bad game. Combat is harsh and unforgiving but not without its charm, character interaction is amusing and often your choices in such have an obvious effect in game. The ingame crafting allows you to alter the effects and appearance of the armour and weapons your character uses. The graphics given the games pricing can be forgiven. The voice acting is laughable at times, but the games indie background seems to have allowed the developers to go for a more adult tone in language and events which makes a change to most RPGs on the market.The only major fault is the often, tedious nature of some the quests you receive, go here, double back, route through numerous piles of garbage hidden about the level. Full Review »
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    I just heard about this game yesterday when it's released. I do a bit of research afterwards on how the game is developed and it looks interesting. I bought the game afterwards for $20 and I have to say, for an indie game, this is an excellent game. It's an action rpg where your decisions in game will affect the game later. I'm 6 hours into the game and I'm not even halfway finished. Graphic looks good, the people's lips are kind of stiff but overall the animation is great, voice acting is pretty good, combat is actually fun and challenging, kind of like the Witcher 2 only with clubs and guns, and best of all it's only 2.5 GB in size. Wow, 2.5 GB and the game is this long and content filled. That's a big surprise. It's definitely worth the money. Full Review »
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    Only played about 2 hours so far, but initial impressions are very good. Don't expect AAA presentation (graphics animations), but mechanically combat is solid and works well, being a decent challenge (once out of the tutorial fights) on hard; items are also quite useful. Character customisation is good with a range of feats (passive boosts to XP, crafting, looting and rep) and skills (three loose trees of combat, stealth items and magic). Crafting involves upgrades to armour and weapons, which have slots, and each slot can be given a variety of bonuses (and visuals) if you have the materials. The story is quite well told so far, with good voice acting and in-engine cutscenes; will be interesting to see where it leads. PC wise it feels a little like a port (mostly the mouse is a little floaty), but has enough options to please most people and it runs well on my laptop (alienware m14x) with high settings. I didn't need to customise the keyboard mouse controls (thumbs up) and there are default keys for most things (inventory, map, skills, characters, etc.) as well as 0-9 for easy to use item ability hotkeys. Like I said, and for $20, don't expect AAA, but in some ways that's a good thing (especially in an RPG) as it feels like the Devs have focused on mechanics over flash, and assuming the rest of the game is as good or better than the first few hours this is definitely a game sci-fi and or RPG fans should check out. Full Review »