Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mars: War Logs takes you to the red planet over a century after the catastrophe that threw the planet and its colonists into chaos. Water has become the most precious resource on the arid planet with a few companies fighting a perpetual war for its control. In the middle of this struggle, players take on the role of Roy Temperance, a renegade with multiple talents, and plunge into a thrilling cyberpunk RPG on the Red Planet! Players develop Roy and his combat style by choosing among dozens of skills and perks, and fight for his life in dynamic real-time combat against the fearsome creatures of Mars. The crafting system lets players create and modify equipment to maintain an edge over enemies. Dialogue choices as well as actions and decisions made will influence the destiny of the people Roy crosses paths with...and perhaps the fate of all colonies on Mars. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. 85
    This small studio has done remarkably well, despite limited funds and has presented a sci-fi RPG with a slight cyberpunk mood, that has gathered all the good elements from various genre blockbusters. [June 2013]
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    70
    Mars War Logs isn't free of shortcomings, and not all of them can be explained by the low budget of the studio. Some are design mistakes, or skewed ideas. But its basics are pretty solid, and this RPG, as well as its universe, are ambitious and realistic. Its shortcomings should really be overlooked, for a sequel with more means would probably be even more enjoyable.
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    65
    Mars: War Logs is worth a go as long as you understand out of the gate it’s not a triple -A -title. But as a gamer, a true gamer, you may just find yourself some entertainment here.
  4. May 3, 2013
    60
    With a higher budget Mars: War Logs might have become a completely different action-RPG, but even so, despite the many limitations and considering the budget price, the final result is more than satisfactory.
  5. May 9, 2013
    55
    As a follow-up to Of Orcs and Men, War Logs is a let down. If you only have $20, however, supporting a studio as intrepid as Spiders is worthy endeavor and there is fun to be had here. Still, caution is advised.
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    50
    With a dearth of decent western RPGs as of late, players desperate for something new might find that Mars War Logs scratches that itch, but don't expect anything amazing.
  7. May 10, 2013
    40
    With better pacing and a lot more balancing, Mars: War Logs could have been a fresh, satisfying take on BioWare’s proven formula. Its intriguing premise and characters eventually succumb to its broken systems, creating a fiction you’ll hope sooner to finish than completely understand.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 83
  2. Negative: 7 out of 83
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Very well done game for the price of $20. They've done a lot of things right.

    The combat is fairly good, at first it may seem weird but it
    works well.
    The quest are somewhat interesting, some are fetch this, bring it back, but other feel well placed for the setting.
    For the lip sync you end up not realising that it's out of time and done fairly bad. Voice acting isn't the best but the main characters voice acting is done very well!
    The setting is great, the graphics are not top notch, but they don't have to be. I fell it adds character the the Mars setting and the fits the game very well.
    Has good character progression. Things you do can reflect on comments made by other characters. Skill tree isn't as vast as say Skyrim, but you wouldn't need anything more than what it gives.

    Overall, It's a really fun game. The characters are done well, dialogue is all there(character background etc. combat works great, story is interesting. Well worth the buy!

    10/10! May seem high to some but this little title that came from no where is great
    Expand
  2. May 8, 2013
    9
    The best RPG I have played in recent years. It has all what I look for in this genre: good argument, exciting atmosphere, charismatic characters and a deep combat system. Highly recommended, believe me! Collapse
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    If you're looking for a game that's worth it's price this is it; however it isn't worth more than $20. The game's graphics were surprisingly as good as many console games from about 2-3 years ago. I experienced no frame hiccups except one in the slums after a quest. If you're thinking you can counter like you would in Batman Arkahm series you're gonna have a bad time and will spend half the time on your back getting raped. I was also expecting more weapon variety but all you get are iron clubs/tubes that you turn into axes etc. as far as I have played there are no guns other than the one you receive in the first level so if you wanna go John woo style and blast the baddies with a minigun you're out of luck. The technomancy tree is probably the most reliable tree hands down as I just beat the game on hard the only thing you have to do is grab overload in the master side, activate it and then spam the living crap out of lightning and watch your enemies turn into fried turkeys. The sneaking part of this game is absolutely useless do not and I mean do not invest into sneaking even with the %50 more silent instant take downs your enemies will magically hear you from across the way much like Metro last light. The voices of Mary and Innocence are emotionless however Mary passes cause her character is meant to be that way but innocence crying over losing "something very important" sounded like evil cackling rather than crying. The upgrades are also universal for all armors and clubs nothing too special. The lack of armors irritated me as i wanted to trick out some guard armor but found I could only customize civilian clothing. With that being said THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO BUY the best weapons/armor are usually found in quests and the parts needed to upgrade are easily found on the bodies of your enemies leaving the merchants absolutely useless except for buying ammo leaving you wondering WTF am I gonna do with all this cash?! The AI is a solid C that doesn't mean bad but that also doesn't mean good the majority of your companions will just be good for distractions as they all have unbearably long charge times for their attacks which means if they're facing 2 enemies at once hitting in succession consider them KO'D. The NPC AI is a bit dumb as they have no reaction to fights breaking out right in front of them think of a street fighter game where they just sit in the background just doing sit ups or eating casually while you're kicking the crap out of the police. The shield men are also a bit ridiculous because even when knocked down and you try to shoot them they magically fly back up and block your nails. The unique character traits are also a nice touch but I suggest not investing in crafting it "unlocks" new crafting recipes but in reality it does jack s**t and the only useful traits is gaining more exp from kills/ scrounging. There are glitches in quests such as on the first chapter the mechanic asks for help finding things I saw a youtube video where it says 5/5 quest done and the guy cheered. I'm here looking at 5/6 parts found and looked everywhere in frustration and me being a completionist I was absolutely livid. What really got me were the companion quests such as "get to know Mary more" I exhausted all voice options in all different ways took her with me through the entire story and even talked to her every location on the map to look for change to no avail. It also said talk to her at the resistant/honour camp in private and I found it impossible to do it. The creators also followed the cliche of putting unlockable chests or crates behind a bunch of other crates I found it humorous walking over to a bunch of crates knowing that if I look behind it i'll find a box to open. It is not as choice reliant as it says since no matter what you do you will lose a certain companion however it does change the ending and people do react to what you say or do on occasion. It is much like Bioshock infinite in terms of sides the only difference between the resistance leader Marco and General Honour is the way you spell their names. They both are negative in some aspects but positive in others. The vanilla path of good is probably Judy's path but I won't ruin it since you have to kill a certain leader to get her. But it still is slightly negative as you have to see your character kneel in reminiscence of a dead companion. Mars war logs is a decent game there are a small amount of glitches but the ones that are there are usually side quest breaking. The game as far as I have seen does not utilize good character development the only thing I knew about the main character was that A. he's a renegade technomancer and B. he's a renegade technomancer. I have no idea who he is other than he ran away from the source and magically went into the prison camp but i do admit I went brain dead in some cutscenes. With all of that said for it's price of $20 this game is better than most games with the same price on release. Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    I've watched game play videos of this, I watched the developer videos. I decided, despite the negative comments about this game, I'd give it a shot. I'm glad I did. This game, while the controls aren't perfect, has a nice atmosphere. I loev the art, the music, and the voice overs have their own style. The voice acting is humorous, and enjoyable. The combat, skill, and crafting systems are nicely made.

    War logs is worth the time.
    Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    7
    Apart from the truly appalling voice acting, terrible lip syncing, vacant NPC stares and average visuals, I am finding myself really enjoying this game. Really. The combat is satisfying and offers some RPG progression and weapon/armour crafting which I am finding very intriguing. Let's face it, who doesn't want to be a Technomancer? Cool. What an effort from a low budget team. Oh, and any game that can incorporate an 'arrow to the knee' quote gets my vote. Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good things first: as a science fiction RPG, per se, is already good news (great news even, given the rarity of RPGs which do not delve in fantasy). Visually - and although the graphics are not it's strongest point - the game is well done. The color palette helps to accentuate the idea that we are locked in a prison institution on Mars. The soil is red and there is dust everywhere -it can even be used to distract enemies in combat - the buildings are gray, dimly lit and prisoners wear dirty and deteriorated garments. Besides the environment, the characters are well defined and have their own agendas; some intersect with the interests of Temperance, the protagonist of the game, others have their own burdens. During the preparation process, Temperance will find some allies, like Innocence Smith, a young man newly arrived in prison. The names are not a coincidence or just bad taste: according to the history of Mars: War Logs, Aurora guild members always receive a name or nickname that corresponds to a virtue - presumably not just the seven Catholic virtues. Worth checking out. Expand
  7. May 15, 2013
    0
    I'd love to tell you how the game plays, but I can't the cursor keys don't work for moving forward back left right, and you can't remap ANY controls whatsoever! The controls menu simply shows what keys do what it doesn't actually allow changes. The PC version even has a picture of a console controller in the options that's how bad the PC port is.

    I know this isn't a AAA game by a major studio, but even so, there is a reasonable user interface baseline which quite frankly, this game doesn't even meet 1990's "shareware" games standard (even "Doom" in 1993 had standard cursor key controls). WASD vs cursor keys flexibility is for left vs right handers and variable mouse position to the left vs right of the keyboard (and even then many right handers prefer cursor keys some right handers also use the mouse with their left hand). This is not exactly a "new thing" and has been known to PC game designers for what 20 years now? Not being a major studio is no excuse This is by the far the worst game interface on any game in years.
    Expand

See all 83 User Reviews