Mass Effect 3: Citadel PC

Mass Effect 3: Citadel Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 361 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When a sinister conspiracy targets Commander Shepard, you and your team must uncover the truth, through battles and intrigue that range from the glamour of the Citadel's Wards to the top-secret Council Archives. Uncover the truth and fight alongside your squad - as well as the cast from theWhen a sinister conspiracy targets Commander Shepard, you and your team must uncover the truth, through battles and intrigue that range from the glamour of the Citadel's Wards to the top-secret Council Archives. Uncover the truth and fight alongside your squad - as well as the cast from the original Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, including Urdnot Wrex! Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    91
    There are more laughs in this DLC that many entire comedy games, made stronger by being undercut with a real poignancy.
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    90
    Funny, touching and full of action and smart in-jokes, Citadel is Mass Effect’s heartwarming last hurrah to its fans.
  3. CD-Action
    May 13, 2013
    90
    Conversations with your comrades are more meaningful and have a stronger emotional charge than combat or solving problems. Citadel is a great way to bid Commander Shepard good-bye. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.58]
  4. Mar 15, 2013
    81
    Even though Citadel, like other Mass Effect 3 expansions, plugs into the final third of the campaign, this is probably the closest thing to a happy end that Shepard & Co. will ever have. And if you think that there is no place for fan service and inside jokes in the gloomy universe of Mass Effect, you’d better stay away from this DLC.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    80
    An excellent DLC, intended for the Mass Effect fans, that is full of references it's not even possible. An interesting story, great dialogues and perfectly entertaining action, bringing nontraditional variegation into the game, are awaiting you. If you love ME, you must have this DLC.
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    80
    Citadel delivers. The last story-driven DLC for Mass Effect 3 allows the players to say goodbye to Shepard and his friends in a grand style. The content is light, fun and humorous, and the new main mission is great. What is more, the quests are more diverse than the ones in Omega or Leviathan. I'm a fan and I see Citadel in a very good way, but you have to remember, that it's aimed at a specific audience. People that didn't like Shepard's previous adventures have nothing to see here.
  7. Pelit (Finland)
    Apr 15, 2013
    72
    A strange mix of a decent side quest and a Mass Effect sketch comedy show. It's nice having the whole crew together for the last time, but the jokes are really not that funny or entertaining. Fan service meets fan fiction meets cheesy writing. [Apr 2013]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 54
  2. Negative: 14 out of 54
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    The only con of this game is that it is not infinite, it ends! The story is very involving, the gameplay is awesome, the same goes to graphicsThe only con of this game is that it is not infinite, it ends! The story is very involving, the gameplay is awesome, the same goes to graphics and soundtrack. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    A fantastic DLC. it so sad that its the last DLC. I loved Citadel. I never laughed so much here. The humor was fantastic, the comments of myA fantastic DLC. it so sad that its the last DLC. I loved Citadel. I never laughed so much here. The humor was fantastic, the comments of my team on the missions was fantastic. The party was totally funny. One of the best parts was the story twist of my arch nemesis and Wrex and Grunt on my party. :D Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I don't know how anyone can say this is "2 hours". The DLC is split into two parts. First part plays out as a combat mission similar to Omega,I don't know how anyone can say this is "2 hours". The DLC is split into two parts. First part plays out as a combat mission similar to Omega, though much better for a variety of reasons. The story of that part is rather odd (but I certainly wouldn't call it predictable), but I like it because the moral its telling is very fitting. However, after finishing the well done mission section, you have a secondary, more relaxed "party" element which can take just as long (if not longer), which allows you to spend meaningful time with all surviving members of your squad (and even some of those who haven't survived). This part is surprisingly fleshed out and a helluva lot of fun, especially given it takes place in a single apartment. What made ME2 so great was its focus on your squad, and this DLC delivers what ME3 was sorely lacking. You come away from this DLC feeling melancholy, but satisfied. The last line in particular was very moving, because it really folds up the entire trilogy as a whole.
    I was one of those who was sorely disappointed with ME3's ending and not entirely satisfied with the Extended Cut, but for a final DLC, this doesn't disappointed. This is easy ME3's best DLC and worth every penny to a Mass Effect fan. Even if you feel like you want to boycott EA, I would consider this. Unlike Omega or Leviathan, you really can't get everything out of this DLC without playing as your own Shepard.

    Enjoy.
    Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    9
    Citadel is the best expansion for Mass Effect 3 yet. Adds your own personal apartment, combat arena, casino, arcade and a good story-lineCitadel is the best expansion for Mass Effect 3 yet. Adds your own personal apartment, combat arena, casino, arcade and a good story-line filled with new enemy types. Considerably harder than any previous game content aside from maybe the final battle(at least on insanity mode), these new enemies gave me a decent go of it while adding a quality story to follow. The downsides to some might be some shallow subplots and attempts at humor but they are minimal and to be expected in almost every game.

    This DLC pack is worth your money and time.
    Expand
  5. May 11, 2017
    7
    Mass Effect 3 Citadel.

    Rev-Nok coming to you here 2017! What I have to say. Story The story arc in mass effect citadel is quite out
    Mass Effect 3 Citadel.

    Rev-Nok coming to you here 2017!
    What I have to say.

    Story
    The story arc in mass effect citadel is quite out there, to say the least. However that doesn’t make it not enjoyable, it simply creates an atmosphere that gives your more than what you expected. As the story arc begins you are given an email on shore leave. All good, however not everything appears as it seems as you are invited to a restaurant for some good ol’ yum yum time. However something happens and once again its Commander Shepard to take solve it.

    Apart from that, the story is in itself rather hollow in some parts while becoming puddle deep in others. You can’t help but to feel slightly disconnected from the game's, atmosphere for a moment while playing the DLC. Getting no sense at all that you’re in fact at war.

    Features.
    So to be absolutely blunt here, we get “housing customization” that frankly is as hollow as it can be, no doubt this was done simply because they had spare time on their hands at the time or rather couldn’t decide what the apartment was ideally supposed to look like. Making more to be wished, but an appetizer for what could become.

    What I enjoy feature wise of this DLC was in fact that we got a few interesting fun side games. From Casino games, to more arcade ones, while you can’t help to say “hell yeah!” to the arena games which in all honestly are simple but fun. As well as a great way to test out new equipment and possible builds if you're into that sort of thing.

    Impact
    The impact this dlc gives you is that of companion comradery, everything leads to a good ol’ party with drinking and possible dancing. Where you play as host, it's a fun little way of showing a more human side of each companion as they relax in a group like setting.

    So the strengths are simple, companion sided dlc worth it if you’re into getting to enjoy more time with your fellow mates. If you’re however into the more shoot shoot bang bang side of things, this one might be a miss, unless you’re into the equipment testing as I mentioned before.

    Overall rating of this DLC would be a generous 7.
    Above average dlc, giving you fun enough features and a story to go with it. A good dlc.
    Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    5
    While I can't overlook all the hard work that obviously went into making this DLC, I cannot help thinking that its premise is very contrivedWhile I can't overlook all the hard work that obviously went into making this DLC, I cannot help thinking that its premise is very contrived and doesn't fit with the rest of the game. Most of the time I felt like playing through interactive fanfiction of some sort. Far too many gags. I think it would take both a certain degree of obliviousness AND callousness to really have fun with this DLC, i.e. party with your buddies (who have nothing better to do despite a galactic-scale war going on) in a huge luxurious apartment, while your homeworlds are burning and refugees are cramming in the station's docks. Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    0
    This DLC is plain bad. It's full of horribly bad humor and forced puns and destroys all the atmosphere of the game. All the charactersThis DLC is plain bad. It's full of horribly bad humor and forced puns and destroys all the atmosphere of the game. All the characters suddenly trade their personality for lame one liners. And the story of the whole thing is far-fetched as well. But worst is, there is no escape. I wished for a quick exit the whole time, but if you want to continue the real game, you have to play through the complete DLC. What a waste of time I seriously regret I bought this crap. If you haven't yet, don't. Just don't. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings