Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Dec 2, 2012
    30
    Plot holes, broken scripting and offensive self-contradiction makes Warfighter one of the worst games we've played all year. [Dec 2012, p.85]
  2. 60
    Common military shooter with minor technical bugs shows all the elements we have seen before. We've expected much more from the legendary Medal of Honor series. [Dec 2012]
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    50
    Due to unreliable scripts and other technical issues, bland and chaotic storytelling and stupid AI I played Warfighter strictly out of obligation and not for fun. Decent (but unbalanced) multiplayer is not enough to put other label than 'mediocre' on a game that was supposed to be a major hit. [13/2012, p.36]
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    72
    Danger Close's Medal of Honor: Warfighter cannot stand out of the huge amount of military shooters. And that's a shame, because aside from the evil terrorist's story, playing is quite good fun. Even if there is no proper use of the Frostbite 2 engine, Medal of Honor: Warfighter is a solid game that doesn't have too many own ideas.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    74
    I liked the first Medal of Honor, but this is a very average military shooter. The game's feel of authenticity is lost, missions are shooting from a cover with a handful of door breaches, and missions just go on and on and on. And the family aspect... [Nov 2012]
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    63
    Medal of Honor: Warfighter is a slavish imitation of Call of Duty, while its multiplayer doesn't hold a candle to EA's own Battlefield 3.
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    65
    It's not as bad as some folks say, but it's not a game that's going to stand out. EA's second attempt at a Medal of Honor game falls short in many areas. but there are some bright spots here and there.
  8. 50
    Unfortunately, this is another game that cannot reach the quality of its predecessors, especially the first titles in the series.
  9. Nov 1, 2012
    35
    A boring, unoriginal, morally bankrupt, ethically dubious glorification of war, that's not worth your time or money.
  10. Nov 1, 2012
    60
    Warfighter has potential and tries to renew some elements, but mostly gets caught in old concepts. A missed opportunity, because it could have been of added value to the genre given its trust in its own character and content. The game also seems to be rushed out onto the market, which left the window wide open for bugs to crawl in and walk all over the experience as a whole.
  11. Oct 31, 2012
    65
    While I had a better time than expected taking Warfighter online, its singleplayer remains a well-crafted imitator in a year of new ideas.
  12. Oct 31, 2012
    40
    There are a few extremely brief moments of promise in Warfighter – clearing a village from the side of a little bird with a sniper rifle and a high speed chase through Dubai are two areas that almost managed to be exciting. Unfortunately they're surrounded by too many moments of bog-standard room clearing to matter, and the entire package is let down by one of the clunkiest online modes in recent memory.
  13. Oct 31, 2012
    60
    FPS junkies and lovers of multiplayer tactical shooters could give Medal of Honor Warfighter a chance. But they should not forget that Black Ops 2 is going to give a reality check to the EA franchise.
  14. Oct 31, 2012
    40
    It's a cynical release, devoid of entertainment, that should be avoided at all costs.
  15. Oct 30, 2012
    60
    A lost opportunity. We wanted a game that will lift the series out of mediocrity - the advertising campaign promised us a game with a fresh approach to cooperative shooting. Unfortunately Warfighter is average at best. It's a simple shooter that doesn't stand out and will likely die covered in many new war-themed first person shooters. Perhaps it's time for yet another reboot and getting back to the roots, but with a hint of something new?
  16. Oct 30, 2012
    50
    This game is uninteresting, badly-written and maybe even more badly put together. The game code is average in every way, and like it's not enough you'll have your game experience ruined by many many flaws along with many unfinished things on top of that. If you are losing faith in modern FPS actions, do not play this - you will feel much worse about the genre.
  17. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    Clearly not as good as a Call of Duty regarding its main campaign, or a Battlefield regarding the multiplayer modes, Warfighter remains a good game despite not being as innovative as players wanted it to be. Frosbite 2 may propose a pleasant visual experience, especially on PC, but it is not enough to create any form of enthusiasm, especially with its linear storyline. However, players will eventually find some kind of pleasure with its well-balanced and explosive gameplay.
  18. Oct 29, 2012
    50
    A deliberately created test-tube baby that was forced into a premature birth before it had a chance to fully develop. The odd flashes of brilliance in the campaign and the fun multiplayer moments are marred by the myriad of bugs and clichés and the feeling that the game would rather play itself than let the player have any real input.
  19. Oct 29, 2012
    44
    A formulaic experience that feels rushed, ill-thought out and hollow. Its gameplay is rote and its mechanic is derivative. To be frank, I'm tired of this. Shooter fans are not simply teenage consumers of asinine adventure. We deserve better.
  20. Oct 29, 2012
    50
    It wants to be respectful of military veterans and present a realistic, gritty experience with a heart string-tugging story that's layered with a thrilling secret operations plot – but it's so fundamentally jumbled, thrown together, and confusing that I can't begin to recommend it.
  21. Oct 29, 2012
    60
    I feel that Danger Close is a talented, dedicated and well-meaning studio and I do hope they can stay together and make more games, but at this point, I think it's probably a good idea that EA helps them come up with a new IP or new style of game. This current revival of Medal of Honor just isn't working out.
  22. Oct 29, 2012
    75
    Warfighter is a typical "more- of-the-same-game." Developer Danger Close didn't reach the goal, creating a "most authentic" shooter - the 5h-campaign feels like a Hollywood war movie, lots of firefights, some nice pursuit-sequences and a most confusing story-plot. Playing Warfighter online in various modes is kind of fun, though there are still lot of bugs in there.
  23. Oct 27, 2012
    60
    Medal of Honor: Warfighter doesn't merge its cliched parts into a satisfying whole, making it just another middle-of-the-road military shooter.
  24. Oct 26, 2012
    50
    Warfighter was clearly rushed out the door to get the jump on Call of Duty: Black Ops 2, and suffers for it.
  25. Oct 26, 2012
    40
    This isn't just an upsetting sequel or me-too military shooter – Warfighter is disrespectful of your time and unwilling or unable to adapt to what's been done better elsewhere.
  26. Oct 25, 2012
    73
    Warfighter is well-made, has been set elaborately staged and looks good enough to eat in places. However, I constantly feel we have been through the whole spectacle in three dozen other shooters.
  27. Oct 25, 2012
    69
    If you dissect Warfighter, every little aspect is better than in its predecessor, which in the end only means minimal progress. As a whole it is nothing more than an average shooter that has problems in leaving its mark.
  28. Oct 25, 2012
    50
    The biggest disappointment is that the most cohesive and entertaining portion of the campaign isn't experienced until the last three chapters. In a game that spans 13 chapters, the "just wait, it gets better" excuse just doesn't cut it. It's also worth mentioning that an earlier chapter is designed to take less than a minute to beat.
  29. Oct 25, 2012
    60
    And that's really the story of Medal of Honor: Warfighter: It's a title that's merely decent while it attempts to compete with two of the most popular and well-executed shooter franchises in modern gaming.
  30. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    By no means does Warfighter reinvent the wheel, but at the same time it doesn't dent it in any way, either. And while it's certainly not for the war-weary, most shooter fans will find a lot of solid entertainment in the well-paced, good-looking campaign and the all right, if a bit standard multiplayer modes.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 519 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 154
  2. Negative: 60 out of 154
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    5
    Oh look, an explosion! *yawn*
    Oh crap, someone is chasing me with a car! *yawn*
    Jesus, this game is probably the most unoriginal and
    uninspiring thing I've ever played since Infernal. Boring game design, boring map design, boring gameplay design, boring sound design, boring... Everything.
    The amount of satisfaction I gained by playing the first three levels was equals to beating myself senselessly with a hammer. I can't be even bothered with multiplayer. It's a **** and it's going to be a bigger one once the fanbase gets bigger. This game is just a snoozefest.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Let me just start off by saying I'm an avid Battlefield player and I haven't played a Call of Duty since 4.
    I've played 300+ hours of MoH
    2010 and was on the leaderboards. I've got over probably over 2000 hours invested battlefield as a series and have played it at a tournament level multiple times.

    First thing I will address is the class system because it really feels like its one of the beefier more fleshed out aspects that will make it stand out from battlefield. When I first started playing I though that the Spec ops wall hack was so overpowered. But then as I played the other classes I realized that all of the classes have some sort of OP ability.. so it all evens out in the end. Assault has a VERY hard to aim and shoot grenade that is a 1hit kill to the body. Long reload means if you miss you are dead and it has limited ammo that can't be refilled other than a squad resupply defense chain. The heavy gunner has an unlimited ammo deployment that makes his LMG an ACTUAL lmg (unlike in battlefield 3 lol xD) if you get flanked you are screwed though. No hope for you. The sniper has an auto spotting mechanism built into their bipod which is handy (but again if you are flanked you are dead... also it makes you stand still for the easy counter snipe). The demoman has the mask that makes you a walking tank with double the health. It definitely helps you get 1 kill unscathed After taking any sort of damage you can't see and its better to just remove the mask though. Makes you slow as hell though and an easy target for the 1 hit kill headshots. The pointmans ability has a single magazine of ammo that does more damage. The ammo kicks like a mule though so you can't abuse it really. The specops ability to do the really hazy wallhack (with a 2 second delay) doesn't really help you do much other than lay down your point streaks and tell where the enemy is coming as a general direction. No class is seemingly OP - it all boils down to the situation and what you like to play with.

    Next I will address the "wall hack aura" that is cause for much controversy:
    This aura only appears in certain modes. It will be the thing that gets you killed the most. So after killing someone I usually keep tight eyes on corners - sometimes people rush and it enables you to get the drop on them even though they should have had the drop on you. I don't really like it atm - will probably play modes with it turned off most of the time - but it might warm up to me. I can definitely tell there is a lot of psychological warfare that goes hand in hand with it and I am not against any of that at all keeps things tense and keeps you thinking on your feet.

    Comparing it to 2010:
    In 2010 the score chains were 'chained' to stronger score chains... The top players basically learned how the spawns worked and would spawn kill to cruise missile. There was even gentlemens agreements that once someone starts laying down you let them get to cruise missile before entering the spawn and making them flip/ sending down your own strikes. It was how the game worked. In this game though you can't chain your point streaks at all. The smoke nets you almost no points. Meaning you have to do an offensive if you want to chain points towards your next streak other than resupply which only nets you 100 pts - Usually what I end up opting for though because the splash damage on the point streaks are abysmal ^^ you have to REALLY get a good hit on the enemy or they REALLY have to be bunched up to get multi kills. Even the apache is weak. It can be shot down easily with a semi auto sniper. All in all - the point streaks are not what you play the game for like in 2010. They won't help you very much and don't really serve you that well. In fact I would argue the most useful point streaks are the level 1 offensive for each class. So the UAV, radar jammer, a mobile spawn point etc. Also - spawn killing is improved 10x over. I will not lie and say it doesn't exist - but it's MUCH harder to achieve than in battlefield 3 or Moh 2010 ( I can't say i've played cod to know how bad it is for comparison ). When you are being spawn killed the best thing to do is to either sit there and not spawn - or to just quit out. No shame in it imo.

    The melee system is a panic system but the reach on it is impossibly short and there is no homing in or lunge. There is a recharge delay after 2 swipes so if you miss one of your two - you can expect to be dead. Your pistol is still a more viable "OH SHI" moment weapon - the pointman is the one you don't want to make go "OH SHI" though - that shotgun is undeniably the best secondary for CQB. The Fireteams system is better than BF3 squads imho - he is your man for everything and you don't have to chase after him HOPING he will drop ammo. You just take it from him. Great for the "no mic" lone wolf bunch that don't really wan to go around with you as a team. I would type more up - but I've hit max character limit. 9.5/10
    Full Review »
  3. DXR
    Oct 23, 2012
    3
    A refreshing change from bf3 but I gotta say the multiplayer leaves a bit to be desired for me. With the launch day bugs aside...the maps are very small with minimal cover and are very, very linear and bottlenecked. You are rarely able to vault on top of rocks, rubble, vehicles, etc to sneak up on the enemy or find a good hasty ambush spot. Plan on always standing on the ground. There is also no environment destruction whatsoever. Wood or chain link fence in your way? Gotta hoof around it. Sure no one is expecting big open maps but to get from point A to point B you almost always have to decide between one or two tunnels, hallways, or narrow pathways to run down. There isn't much openhandedness. The gameplay feels slow but rounds go by extremely fast. Unless you run into a group of bad guys and happen to blast them away don't count on getting anything more than the UAV before getting killed again as the UAV requires you to be out in the open to even launch a majority of the time. If you enjoy the recon class don't plan on any good sniper nests, mastering bullet drop mechanics (basically absent), or finding any places to see enemies long range. If you play on a normal server everyone may as well have an ESP hack. If you are even remotely in someone's line of site you get a big red dot over your head. The semi-auto rifles are fun and effective once you unlock them. Granted, MoH is more in line with the classic FPS format and Warfighter definitely holds true to the MoH franchise, I didn't see much innovation here. Nothing MW:2 didn't achieve a few years ago. In my opinion...older FPS games were better designed and thought out. Seems like they focused more on the stats, social network, and loadout system than they did map design and gameplay. I understand it is better than MoH 2010 but since it is right on the heels of BF3 and uses the Frostbite 2 engine we know what it is capable of and Warfighter certainly doesn't take advantage of it to its full extent. It sits right next to it on battlelog...so I expected it to be at least at the same level. At the very least maps along the lines of Close Quarters but they are even more limited and confined than those. Fire teams are a great feature. If you are paired up with a buddy or a good player you can do some real damage. If you're with a tard consider yourself solo! I'll keep playing. It is very fun, extremely easy, and very approachable. It just won't replace the depth of strategy, amazing environments, and diversity in gameplay that I find in BF3. Full Review »