Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 464 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: EALA is crafting this single-player component of this modern-day, Afghanistan-set reboot of the classic shooter series; DICE is working on the multiplayer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Medal of Honor is more than just a reboot of a storied franchise. It takes the FPS genre to a whole new level.
  2. Medal of Honor is a great title, a realistic and epic take on the war in Aghanistan, but is too short, just 5 hours for an incredible experience, that will push you in a breathtaking journey in most dangerous valleys of A-Stan. It also has an interesting hardcore single player mode, and a well made multiplayer, but it's not as good as the ones in Bad Company and Modern Warfare.
  3. Paying tribute to our brave men and women in uniform-who often go through situations that are unimaginable to all of us sitting at home with controllers in our hands-is a great thing. The step that EA has taken towards establishing a precedent for exploring topical subject matter in a video game may be a small one, but it's still important. But almost everything else about Medal of Honor, while enjoyable, makes it hard to shake the feeling of playing just another military shooter.
  4. The short length of the single player is a little disappointing, as it is a good time.
  5. 70
    Good news: This is not Call of Duty. Bad news: This is not Call of Duty. Interesting environs and fast paced action can't hide more than a few story holes and the overall stupidity of opponents. [Issue#197]
  6. The single player campaign is a lot of fun with some great moments sprinkled in. It's really short though and some bugs crept into the product that made it a little annoying. MP Summary: Multiplayer looks good from what we've seen and could challenge Modern Warfare 2's throne if supported by EA and DICE over the long haul.
  7. Dec 25, 2010
    40
    Medal of Honor is just following the crowd, with no true identity to call its own. [Issue#185, p.70]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 156
  2. Negative: 54 out of 156
  1. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    Not a CoD beater but definitely close. This game is about realism, not arcade shooting. The SP is action-packed but short, with only 5 hrs ofNot a CoD beater but definitely close. This game is about realism, not arcade shooting. The SP is action-packed but short, with only 5 hrs of gameplay. You are in the War in Afghanistan, fighting the Taliban forces in actual operations that took place in 2001-2005. You are a Tier 1 Operator, a unique brand of soldiers who are sent into the most intense action. You'll go from stealthy sniping missions, to full out warfare and cave raids. The game delivers its best in its multiplayer. In this MP, you actually require a bit of skill to do well. You can't just run in and start shooting everything like in CoD. You'll be dead soon and will hate the game for it. The MP runs of an exp-based system where earning points awards you with new upgrades to your weapon such as sights and barrels and types of ammunition. There are a few maps out right now, but more will be out soon. Graphics and visuals can go from dull and average to absolutely stunning and attractive, depending on the mission. Audio is amazing. Voice acting is spot on, and music delivers a punch. Overall, this is a successful solid reboot of the series. If you need a break from the arcade style of recent first-person shooters, then go out and get yourself a copy of Medal of Honor (2010) for a more realistic take on gaming. Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    The game is anything but CoD in the singleplayer. That's probably it's biggest issue. Nothing too over-the-top is happening, but the attentionThe game is anything but CoD in the singleplayer. That's probably it's biggest issue. Nothing too over-the-top is happening, but the attention to detail is mind-boggling once you look into it. The story took me a good 8 hours to complete, on Hard difficulty (anything lower is just for content tourists, if you ask me), and it was indeed impressive.

    Graphics-wise it certainly doesn't shine, but neither does it fail. Pretty decent looking, still, considering it's using th ancient Unreal 3.

    The sounds are by far the best I've heard in a game's singleplayer (Bad Company 2's multiplayer is superior, especially with the almighty War Tapes option turned on)

    Multiplayer might be the bigger let-down, given that balance is a bit squeaky in some places, but DICE is already on the job, providing patches. This new auto-updater used in BFBC2 and MoH really is good.

    Lag isn't such a big problem as in Bad Company 2, despite running on the same Frostbite 1.5 game engine. Maybe it's the lack of massive destruction, maybe it's having only 24 players instead of 32, or maybe the netcode really did improve, but we can't say for sure.

    Anyway, the controls are pretty straight forward, and the gameplay, while at a first glance may look similar to Bad Company 2, is not a copy of BFBC2. I learned that the hard way.

    The story-driven game mode "Combat mission", while very similar to Bad Company 2's "Rush" is a real neat time-waster. Though if you prefer something less team-oriented and more action packed you might want to try "Team Assault" - straight forward TDM.

    There's a lot to say, but to keep it short : many reviews are either biased anti-EA or biased pro-CoD, otherwise, I couldn't see how this would get such low scores. It's an incredibly addictive game despite looking shallow at first glance.

    If you're looking for the flash of CoD, this might not be for you, but I strongly recommend this to people looking for a slightly different experience, both in the singleplayer component, as online.

    With 1.7 million units sold in the first week, and the ongoing support, I can't see how this is a failed game.
    Expand
  3. May 12, 2011
    8
    While the single-player isn't very good, the multiplayer is competitive and fast paced. Overall however, I have trouble recommending this gameWhile the single-player isn't very good, the multiplayer is competitive and fast paced. Overall however, I have trouble recommending this game when the Call of Duty series has much better single player campaigns and Battlefield has a far superior multiplayer. Medal of Honor is just a compromise in both respects, with a largely uninteresting single-player campaign and a repetitive multiplayer. Hopefully the second game will improve upon the single-player, because it definitely has potential. Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    7
    As a gaming Vet if you say Medal of Honor i think Awesome single player war game this is a mix match of good single and multiplayer warfareAs a gaming Vet if you say Medal of Honor i think Awesome single player war game this is a mix match of good single and multiplayer warfare and i enjoy it but think they are losing the plot when it comes to MoH games. Expand
  5. May 17, 2014
    5
    A good FPS of course, but that does not absolutely out of its competitors. As in all the FPS world, you must take a class, and go kill theA good FPS of course, but that does not absolutely out of its competitors. As in all the FPS world, you must take a class, and go kill the enemy without any originality compared to other FPS. Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    4
    First lets do a simple comparison, Call of Duty has a good campaign and fast multiplayer environment kinda like speed ball if you will BF3 hasFirst lets do a simple comparison, Call of Duty has a good campaign and fast multiplayer environment kinda like speed ball if you will BF3 has a great campaign and a vast multiplayer instead of calling in a bomb strike like on call of duty you need to get in a plane and drop some loads. Now with that being said Medal Of Honor failed in multiple areas here, The campaign was boring and multiplayer is like call of duty but worse way worse it makes COD look polished. the Graphics are pretty bad the mechanics are crap especially running you get that tunnel vision when you run and cant turn quick. Overall i got the game for $10 steam holiday sale so there are no regrets but i feel MOH has had its last chance with my wallet especially with all of the advertisement which had more thought put in than that of the game. Expand
  7. Aug 19, 2013
    0
    Horrible multiplayer. Bad maps, bad guns, bad graphics, bad animations, bad hit registration, bad everything. Absolute junk. Bad, bad, bad,Horrible multiplayer. Bad maps, bad guns, bad graphics, bad animations, bad hit registration, bad everything. Absolute junk. Bad, bad, bad, bad, 150 char. Expand

See all 156 User Reviews