Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Dark Eye: Memoria tells the tale of princess Sadja of the faraway-land of Fasar, who once ventured into war to fight demons in the Gorian Desert. Her goal - to become the greatest hero of all time - was foiled under mysterious circumstances. Something had occurred, the girl disappeared and her tale was eventually forgotten.

    Five centuries pass, until one day Geron, a young bird catcher, meets a traveling merchant named Fahi in his native forest. This merchant promises to turn Gerons girlfriend Nuri, who has been transformed into a Raven, back into human form. But this favor comes at a price: Geron has to finally solve the mystery of Sadja's fate. He agrees without hesitation - knowing that this will trigger a chain of events that will soon cast a shadow on his homeland and turn his present into a dark image of its long forgotten past...
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    This is what Daedalic was striving for all these years: A fantastical, but at the same time mature, Adventure, well thought-out and a personal experience through and through. It's quite emotional while not being devoid of humor, funny without resorting to the usual genre hijinks – and not least a journey to beautiful locales that are entirely in tune with their puzzles. They don't turn out like this all too often anymore.
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    88
    Memoria is a beautiful and fantastic game that ranks among the best Daedalic has produced in the recent past. A thoughtful narrative combined with perfectly balanced puzzles makes this adventure a must play.
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    85
    The atmospherically dense Adventure impresses with its beautifully drawn and lovingly detailed game world.
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    80
    If you're the kind of gamer who is looking forward to Tim Schafer's Broken Age on Kickstarter, then this beautiful adventure should be right up your alley.
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    80
    It takes over the foundations of their previous game and evolves them, creating a narrative that will take the player deep in the story.
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    78
    An adventure from the old school, but an absorbing example of one, and worth a look. [Dec 2013, p.89]
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    40
    The puzzles don’t always make sense in Memoria to the point that it repeatedly made me quit in frustration. Had it not been for this review, I probably would have uninstalled it within a week. Fans of high fantasy might enjoy The Dark Eye: Memoria more than others; the average gamer will most likely give The Dark Eye the stank eye.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    I've played almost all of Daedelic's lovely adventure games and this is the first that didn't feel at all like a homage to the genre. Instead, it is a work of gaming fiction and design that stands alone on its own merits, weaving a beautiful, haunting tale (with several lovely twists) with fairly seamless, reasonably logical puzzles. While the art is beautiful, the voice acting (in English) could do with some polish, but these are trivial points when considering the breadth and depth of this game.

    I would generally agree with others that the characters could have been built up more in order to truly reinforce the narrative and its twists, but given the number of key characters (three, effectively), it was always going to be a big ask. Still, overall, excellently done, and here's hoping for another entry in the series in the near future.
    Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Daedalic is awesome.. now my favourite game company!!! Following in Sierra's footsteps! Memoria is an excellent game with a great story.. Puzzles aren't too difficult and fairly logical most of the time. Memorable characters, great artwork, etc... loved it!!! Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Awesome quest. Great sequel. I cried at the end Recommend playing after the first part, which is called "The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav". As for the gameplay the developers used a very good solution to simplify puzzles. Graphics awesome. Characters too (especially Nouri and Saja). Thanks Deadeliс for your magical quests Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    The story in the game was extremely immersive and well designed, I devoured it whole during three very long gaming sessions where I simply could not just stop. Another shining star of this game was beautiful hand drawn graphics and interesting characters. That is the strong part of the game and I will definitely reccommend it to everyone.
    However it is also important to mention some of the drawbacks I encountered. Puzzles were okay, but I found them too obvious or plain ridiculous, only a few were somewhere in between that left me with a warm feeling of accomplishment. The game also glitched a lot on my few months old high-end PC. And for the last thing, I don't understand in general achievements in a point-and-click adventure game. Seriously, why ? Such games don't have a replay value ... or at least not right after I finished it. Okay, I can forgive that, but at least after finishing the game I would like to go and get those achievements. Unfortunately, no. I can only start all over or use only my own saves (which I dont have many since it is an adventure game). And yeah no jumping to chapters. Nevermind, the negatives of this game are more or less insignificant, so do yourself a favor and go dive into the Memoria story !
    Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2013
    8
    I've enjoyed it quite a bit. The story is good, the visuals acceptable. The puzzles are more logical than in the Night of the Rabbit, but still I had to check a guide from time to time. Collapse
  6. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    The princess' story is engaging and mysterious. Graphic quality varies but is mostly high. I didn't have any trouble getting stuck due to illogical puzzles (and button that will show you all the "hotspots" on a screen where you can interact with something is very useful). And whenever you got a chance to use a magic spell it was fun. Sometimes I questioned whether one could actually physically accomplish the task the characters did with the tools they use, but that's a silly quibble I guess. It's also odd/interesting that the fantasy story mentions Mogul sorcerors and Caliphs. Voice acting wasn't bad. The ending is at the same time surprising, satisfying and also confusing (did we ever get an answer to the riddle?). Good fun all in all. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    4
    Well, not sure what to think on this one, wasn't able to complete the game because I could not deal with the sub-par voice acting. Overall, 4/10 would not recommend... Expand

See all 13 User Reviews