Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance PC

Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Solid Snake returns in Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance, the expanded edition of Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty with all-new game modes, hidden characters and storylines. Top-secret weapons technology is being mysteriously transported under cover of an oil tanker to an unknown destination.Solid Snake returns in Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance, the expanded edition of Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty with all-new game modes, hidden characters and storylines. Top-secret weapons technology is being mysteriously transported under cover of an oil tanker to an unknown destination. It's up to Snake to infiltrate the transport and keep this deadly weapon of mass destruction from falling into the wrong hands! Featuers 350+ VR Missions and 150+ Alternate Missions, as well as 5 all-new "Snake Tales" side stories. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 89
    This is definitely a console style game with the fixed camera and funky controls, but it certainly packs a punch. The gameplay is still superb, although outmatched by "Splinter Cell" in some cases.
  2. Were it not for the rocky translation and major bugs, I would’ve rated MGS: Substance a whole point higher. Unfortunately, these problems couldn’t be overlooked and cost the game some footing.
  3. 84
    For console owners, it's simply not worth the bucks to upgrade your PC to play this game -- Enjoy it on your console. On the other hand, if you've got the hardware for it (including a gamepad) and don't own a console, I'd recommend getting your hands on this game in an instant.
  4. A great "console" game, but I'm not convinced the PC is the proper system to be playing it on.
  5. Could have been ported over a lot more gracefully. Yet this is such an unusual, intriguing, and shocking game that despite the rough translation, it still makes for a one-of-a-kind experience on the PC.
  6. Technically, this porting job sucks, and it's the biggest problem I've had with this game, but that would hardly stop me from buying it anyway.
  7. Computer Gaming World
    50
    The problem here isn't so much with the game's content, which remains as ambitious and poignant as ever, but rather with Konami's sloppy porting efforts to the PC. [Aug 2003, p.78]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 41
  2. Negative: 14 out of 41
  1. LAWHOCK
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    GOOD !!!
  2. BradleyE.
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    This game has been the best game i have ever played because it is action packed and full with adventures.
  3. StefanP.
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    I just finished it 10 minutes ago . And I'm still shaked by the experience ! Extremely deep and strong story . And it leaves you with I just finished it 10 minutes ago . And I'm still shaked by the experience ! Extremely deep and strong story . And it leaves you with something to think of . Greate existential ideas to put in a new modern way of thinking. The story is close to Deus Ex . The controls however were a little bit tricky but once you rearrange them to your taste everything is OK ! Expand
  4. Justhadtorate
    Jul 27, 2003
    8
    The game is great!! :) But since u almowst hav to hav a gamepad thats 100% like the PS2 gamepad its kinduva cheap. :'( i am bying a new The game is great!! :) But since u almowst hav to hav a gamepad thats 100% like the PS2 gamepad its kinduva cheap. :'( i am bying a new one coz of that, the one i have now dosent have all the knobs and lacks the r2 l2 buttons thats almowst a must!!! and u cant change the gamepad controls either and thats one more reason i need a new gamepad!!! i had some problems with the sound first time i completed the game, but i know how to fix it now so the game works just great :)))) I love it!! the graphics and the story is great!!! i am gona buy *Metal gear:solid* for PC to :D just gotta have it!!! its a great game but it is a slappy port afterall :'( BTW soon i have the new gameapd :D cant wait!! Expand
  5. DerekL.
    Apr 23, 2003
    5
    Graphics is good, game play is good. Sadly, There are two things that I have a problem with: 1) the controls are wierd (2) I've come Graphics is good, game play is good. Sadly, There are two things that I have a problem with: 1) the controls are wierd (2) I've come across what seems to be a script hang when you meet Olga on the tanker. Other then that, the game is cool. Expand
  6. Apr 5, 2015
    1
    Most boring game MGS What ever seen the graphics are terrible horrible gameplay and complicated to use and good until the story but that doesMost boring game MGS What ever seen the graphics are terrible horrible gameplay and complicated to use and good until the story but that does not save the game prefer MGS 4 Expand
  7. Anotheratiuser
    Apr 19, 2003
    0
    I've heard lots of stories about this game, i suppose thats what drove me to buy it, how ever when i got home and sat throught the 7GB+I've heard lots of stories about this game, i suppose thats what drove me to buy it, how ever when i got home and sat throught the 7GB+ install only for it to not work, i was kind of disapointed. aparently Konami are working on a patch for it so i guess i'll have to wait for the action :( Collapse

See all 41 User Reviews