Metro: Last Light PC

Metro: Last Light Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2638 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2034. Beneath the rubble of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, the remnants of our species are besieged by deadly threats. Mutants stalk the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt amidst the poisoned skies above. But rather than stand united, theThe year is 2034. Beneath the rubble of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, the remnants of our species are besieged by deadly threats. Mutants stalk the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt amidst the poisoned skies above. But rather than stand united, the station-cities of the Metro are engaged in a struggle for the ultimate power, a doomsday device from the military vaults of D6. A civil war is stirring that could wipe humanity from the face of the earth forever. As Artyom, burdened by guilt but driven by hope, you hold the key to our survival – the last light in our darkest hour. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. May 13, 2013
    100
    If you were to take someone who’s played his share of shooters, someone who cares about the story between and around the shooting, someone who can appreciate games that offer new takes on familiar experiences, Crysis [3] will feel like a soulless blockbuster to the auteur’s art film of Metro: Last Light.
  2. May 13, 2013
    90
    Metro: Last Light does belong in the company of Half-Life, though. It's an unusual, meticulously detailed shooter inextricable from its environment – making its refuge in the railways of Moscow all the more apt. The survival and shooting aspects engage with what is considered valuable in the world, and both leave ample room for moments of solace, exploration and concise violence.
  3. May 13, 2013
    88
    This sequel plays more like a shooter than its predecessor, but doesn't sacrifice its intricate narrative or creative vision in the process. Masochistic fans will appreciate the harder difficulties that recreate the grueling experience of the original, but no matter how you approach it, exploring Last Light's absorbing world is wholly entertaining.
  4. May 13, 2013
    80
    Despite being a little rough around the edges, Metro: Last Light as a whole package is way better than the sum of its parts and highly recommended for anyone looking for a grown up video game.
  5. 80
    Metro: Last Light is not a bad game, but does not reach the level of excellence.
  6. May 15, 2013
    80
    Metro: Last Light is, at the end of it all, a solid game.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    The numerous aesthetic accomplishments and mechanical improvements in Metro: Last Light are undone by uneven attention to detail and a lack of player agency.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 468
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    Ok, so here's how you play it. Have a good rest, eat well, buy the game and shut yourself in a dark room with your gaming rig and some extraOk, so here's how you play it. Have a good rest, eat well, buy the game and shut yourself in a dark room with your gaming rig and some extra food. You can easily lose yourself there playing Metro, and you might as well lose your friends and relatives for that period of time... And thats okay it is the experience we've been waiting for since 2033 and the sequel is definitely worth it. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Spectacular sequel to one of the best games I played in a while.
    Compelling story, amazing visuals never seen before, excellent soundtrack
    Spectacular sequel to one of the best games I played in a while.
    Compelling story, amazing visuals never seen before, excellent soundtrack and gameplay
    If there is something I liked about Metro 2033, was the incredible atmosphere achieved. In this new release they have once again achieved and reached a new level of epicness that will make your jaw drop.
    Hopefully maybe have another sequel or a prequel.

    Definitely another great candidate for GOTY 2013. The amount of love and dedication that the developers put in this game it's admirable.
    A god tier game right here
    Expand
  3. May 23, 2013
    10
    Best game i have ever seen! Thanks Dmitry Gluhovsky and Andrey Prohorov and all developers 4A Games! YOU are the best. Waiting new game fromBest game i have ever seen! Thanks Dmitry Gluhovsky and Andrey Prohorov and all developers 4A Games! YOU are the best. Waiting new game from you Good Luck! Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Improved gunplay, epic scenery, great graphics and the need of weaing gas mask on surface make it a great atmospheric game. Story is great,Improved gunplay, epic scenery, great graphics and the need of weaing gas mask on surface make it a great atmospheric game. Story is great, you travel in underground as well as on surface to change the fate of humanity. There is not such an epic level as library in Metro 2033 but when the game starts building scaryness in some parts you will want to pass theese places as fast as you can just to get away from it. A very well made sequel. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Great game, great sequel to Metro 2033, although it does not quite live up to it's predecessor, still better then Bioshock Infinite.

    If you
    Great game, great sequel to Metro 2033, although it does not quite live up to it's predecessor, still better then Bioshock Infinite.

    If you are into story heavy FPS, get it BUT 1st play Metro 2033 or it will get confusing with references to the past game.
    Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    If this game ironed out a few flaws, it would be the best game of the year so far. I had my doubts, the first few levels have some stupidIf this game ironed out a few flaws, it would be the best game of the year so far. I had my doubts, the first few levels have some stupid parts where they take every weapon from you but holy hell does it pick up. Never played a game that paces itself so well.

    Please please please fix it so you can see inventory on ranger mode though. Its no a realistic touch, its just stupid. Make it so you just look down and see how many mags you have if you want, I don't care. I just didn't like not knowing how much ammo I had left especially since counting it is worthless since you can't see how much you pick up off of dead bodies.

    The number one complaint is the AI but in hindsight, it probably is more realistic that there would be mass confusion if people started dropping so I can let that go. Bugs are being ironed out very quickly, it only took two days for the devs to release a fix for the AMD graphics glitch.

    It was slightly disapointing that the specialized suits didn't make a return but it really wasn't that big of a deal. A much bigger drawback is the fact that the setup is based around controllers for consoles so secondaries (grenades, throwing knives, etc.) are more annoying to use for PC users (plus grenades can no longer be cooked).
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2014
    0
    I randomly picked up and played the first game and instantly found interest. I then read the book Metro 2033 by Dmitry G - even better thanI randomly picked up and played the first game and instantly found interest. I then read the book Metro 2033 by Dmitry G - even better than the game. Then, I picked up last light....

    Disgusting.

    It's almost as if someone WANTED to ruin this game.

    The stealth is broken. The sound effects are corny and loop every 30 seconds (this is an exaggeration, but not a lie). There is no horror element. There is no survivalist element.

    The Metro itself is now overpopulated with Reds and Nazis- which literally kills the idea of this being "post-apocalyptic."

    Go read the book itself, or better yet, go play S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - no joke. You will not be disappointed. This game, is a waste of your time.

    Awful game.

    RIP Metro :(
    Expand

See all 468 User Reviews