Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Might & Magic Duel of Champions is an online free-to-play card game in the M&M universe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 3, 2014
    90
    Ubisoft's card game demands lots of thinking, detailed planning and constant changes in tactics. The developer is strongly supporting the game (new decks, add-ons and balance fixes), what makes it a great tournament game. Perhaps it's not the best product for gamers avoiding long time engagement, but even they should consider it. Duel of Champions is a great game for a thinking player.
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    84
    Accessible, challenging and endlessly strategic with a great community. [March 2013, p.89]
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    80
    Might & Magic: Duel of Champions is the natural evolution of the trading card game in the revolutionary era of digital entertaining, a perfect free-to-play game that combines fun with collecting.
  4. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    Ubisoft are to be applauded for grasping, as Hi-Rez Studios did with Tribes Ascend, that the secret to a successful free-to-play title is building a healthy player base first and foremost and watching the income flow from that, rather than nickel and diming gamers for even basic content. It also helps if your core game is any good to begin with, and Might & Magic Duel of Champions is most certainly that. In fact, I'd heartily recommend it to fans of the Might & Magic series or online trading card games in general even if it had a price tag attached.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 29
  2. Negative: 11 out of 29
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    I love cards games, and this 1 is the best suited to me. Lots of variety of cards and we can try lots of combos... PvP is amazing..... ThisI love cards games, and this 1 is the best suited to me. Lots of variety of cards and we can try lots of combos... PvP is amazing..... This game also host lots of tournament in paris. We have to gather new cards to make a best deck and also its fun playing tournament and all Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The game design is well constructed and the depth of the strategy is very deep. Compared to other Online cardThis game is simply amazing. The game design is well constructed and the depth of the strategy is very deep. Compared to other Online card game, this game is sure one of the best. The only little problem is the UI and lack of animations but that doesn't make a bad game. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    What a great sleeper hit! When I first say this, I thought "Oh great, some company got the rights to use the M&M name, and most likely made aWhat a great sleeper hit! When I first say this, I thought "Oh great, some company got the rights to use the M&M name, and most likely made a cheap awful game on it". Well I was sure wrong. I have played this till 5am (something I've not done in many years). It great; the art is just amazing; and to top it all off, the game is totally free!

    If I paid $39 for this, I'd give it an 8, so the fact you never need to pay one red cent for this game (and if you do pay real money, you still can't get anything us cheapskates can get), and you have more fun than most $59 games, gives the game a rating a 9 from me. Just try it, you have nothing to lose! I
    Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    6
    The game itself is fun! It has really nice strategy and gives plenty of options to make card combos.
    But I will list some major problems:
    The game itself is fun! It has really nice strategy and gives plenty of options to make card combos.
    But I will list some major problems:

    1. Problem is the money system: if you don't play 4-6 hours a day (which is boring) you will never be able to compete with people who invested money.

    2. Problem: the "wildcard" currency. With this special currency you can buy specific cards that you need, which is good. The problem is, that you can barely get this currency, unless you invest some real money. When you "burn" cards, that you don't need you will just get the basic "gold" currency and not a "wildcard" currency.

    3. You can only buy specific cards of an expansion with wildcards if you already have 200 cards of that expansion.

    4. You can not use a card that you own in two different decks! Oh no, if you want to use your epic spell in two decks, you better own the spell twice! This is super ridiculous. Yes in real life you would need to manually take the card from one deck and put it in your other deck. But this is a digital game, with tons of drawbacks already, it could at least give us this benefit...

    Basically the whole game is screaming at you: INVEST REAL MONEY! (or you need to play for a year until you have enough cards to make different deck combos)
    Expand
  5. May 16, 2013
    3
    When i saw, i was sure this gonnabe an awesome game, and it is! WOULD BE. The speed of the game, IF YOU DONT PAY, a lot SLOWER then a crippledWhen i saw, i was sure this gonnabe an awesome game, and it is! WOULD BE. The speed of the game, IF YOU DONT PAY, a lot SLOWER then a crippled turtle, and the cost... I'd say, its not expensive, but when i realize, it's an copy of 'XY the GATHERING' and they release new packs, around 2-6 months, for ~15Euro (as instant buy), it's cost a lot, because if you want play good, and efficient, you NEED TO HAVE the MOST of cards, to build good decks. Or you play 2-4 hours day to have ENOUGH money... and get tons of the same RANDOM cards, you dont need.
    So you wont have free GOLD, when the expansion comes, OR NOT ENOUGH, and you played A LOT, and bougth tons of packs, contains 12 RANDOM cards!
    The result, if you wanna play enjoyable, even on MEDIUM level ~400-1000 rate, you will/must PAY for the game, or you need to sacrafice your life to get the good cards. So this game, if i suppose, get frequent updates, and content, then INSANE EXPENSIVE.

    So overall:

    Gameplay 8/10 (If you like card games, and this "random card draw" stuff)
    Music/Graphics 6/10 (Would be a lot better)
    GameMech 8/10 (The logic of fight/buffs/spells)
    Pay/Cost 1/10 (Insane expensive, for a constant "UP TO DATE" deck)

    Like this, i cant give more then 3, because of the money system.

    The best bet: Dont play/Dont buy.

    Could be an epic awesome game... to sad
    Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2015
    2
    Sorry to say they have imho destroyed the game. You must have the newest card because their is no balance att all between old and new cards.Sorry to say they have imho destroyed the game. You must have the newest card because their is no balance att all between old and new cards. Newest cards you must use real money for but you can buy the old for ingame gold but as said nowdays that cards are just worse copies of the new ones.

    They release new cards and heros without any thought of balance so my deck is completly dead vs new heroes.

    Have been fun to play but now its just a waste of time as long as the balance are so off that it is now.

    Gave it a much higher score before. Still if you dont want to compete or you have a lot of money I think its pretty nice graphic and such but balance sucks.
    Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2014
    0
    Last update just killed thisLast update just killed this game........................................................................................................................... Expand

See all 29 User Reviews