User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4017 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    MInecraft is one of the best sandbox games since Garrysmod and seems even more entertaining because of the shear experiences in Minecraft.But after a long time it does feel boring but its play-ability comes back when you get mods
  2. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, had it since alpha and I still cannot get enough, best of its kind. Notch has done a great job with this game I hope him and Mojang keep bringing out the updates :)
  3. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    MineCraft is really awesome game . You can sit all the day and play it . After few maps on singleplayer you will move to Multiplayer and after around few months you will get bored again . Then you will download some mod and you will be addicted again . minecraft is ultra fun game
  4. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    how could you hate a game that lets you do whatever you want there is no downside if you dont like something mods are easy as pie and ill bet most haters dont play on a server with friends cause thats where the real fun is
  5. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Bugs, content which could have been made in a different way, lower FPS as the game has developed and no real change between BETA and official release, but why care? Spending a first night stuck in a cave in the dark, wondering what that green depressing creature is outside is probably one the best experiences you can get from any game. After a mad dash to find shelter in the first day,Bugs, content which could have been made in a different way, lower FPS as the game has developed and no real change between BETA and official release, but why care? Spending a first night stuck in a cave in the dark, wondering what that green depressing creature is outside is probably one the best experiences you can get from any game. After a mad dash to find shelter in the first day, ignoring everything, you come out into the daylight and well, it's beautiful. The landscapes are randomly generated and sometimes very odd, but look as if they have been hand crafted, the animals just tempt killing sprees and who doesn't like punching a tree?
    Minecraft may not be perfect for everyone, but it has potential and ongoing development is sure to give us a few hidden suprises.
    Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the best game ever.The Grafik is nice and if you don't like it,insall a texture pack.You want to play even more and more.Buy it,20 â
  7. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Honestly, the user reviewers can be some of the most annoying people I've ever seen. Half of them are members of a fanbase who are angry because of one trivial thing the developers did. The only reason why this game doesn't bear the 10.0 user score it so rightfully deserves is because a bunch of fans got upset with some decision Notch made or something and so they spammed negative scores.Honestly, the user reviewers can be some of the most annoying people I've ever seen. Half of them are members of a fanbase who are angry because of one trivial thing the developers did. The only reason why this game doesn't bear the 10.0 user score it so rightfully deserves is because a bunch of fans got upset with some decision Notch made or something and so they spammed negative scores. It's bad enough that Spore, a great game, has a 4.6 user rating because people were upset that they didn't get the 2005 Spore. That being said, Minecraft is probably one of the most intuitive ideas for a game that I've seen in a long while. It's a good example of how a huge idea can derive from a simple concept. This is true art at its very finest. Expand
  8. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    I have played Minecraft since close to the end of Alpha, In the time between there and now it has changed quite a lot. For the good or for the worse is completely for you to decide. I'm fine with the way it wen't, From a building game of awesome to adding adventure elements to spice the game up it. A great Developer team who chat with the community all the time to some of the greatestI have played Minecraft since close to the end of Alpha, In the time between there and now it has changed quite a lot. For the good or for the worse is completely for you to decide. I'm fine with the way it wen't, From a building game of awesome to adding adventure elements to spice the game up it. A great Developer team who chat with the community all the time to some of the greatest support from the gaming community in a long time. I suggest that instead of reading these reviews you go over to YouTube and see what this game has to offer. As for myself, I will be playing Minecraft for a long, long time after this. Expand
  9. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    why the hell is everyone complaining?whoever paid for it is still receiving updates all the time,i love the game,and everytime an update comes out i go try it,to me?a solid 10,an excellent idea growing each day more and more,wait for the final version,most games you buy,you end them in 8 hours and they fall into oblivion because there is no new content on them and the ones which have newwhy the hell is everyone complaining?whoever paid for it is still receiving updates all the time,i love the game,and everytime an update comes out i go try it,to me?a solid 10,an excellent idea growing each day more and more,wait for the final version,most games you buy,you end them in 8 hours and they fall into oblivion because there is no new content on them and the ones which have new content are PAYED after you already BOUGHT the freakin game. this one?payed for it and still looks like a new one Expand
  10. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    I have had this game for about 6 months now and probably 2 of those months have been consumed by minecraft. i bought this in the early stages of 1.7 and when i first played it i was a bit confused on what to do, after many hours of looking on youtube for guides and tutorials i finally had a grasp on what to do, and i started to create my own kingdom. this game appeals to everyone as theI have had this game for about 6 months now and probably 2 of those months have been consumed by minecraft. i bought this in the early stages of 1.7 and when i first played it i was a bit confused on what to do, after many hours of looking on youtube for guides and tutorials i finally had a grasp on what to do, and i started to create my own kingdom. this game appeals to everyone as the creating and building appeals to a younger audience whilst survival and mining appeals to an older audience.But the game is nit without it's faults firstly it is difficult to some people to make a server to play with their friends as you need to port forward or download different pieces of software.Also every update comes with more bugs which can be annoying.
    Overall its a really fun game that keeps giving if your willing to put in the effort.
    Expand
  11. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    I've played a lot of different types of games, but in the end, Minecraft probably brings home the best game award. It's incredibly fun and addicting, and it's got the whole sandbox idea down. I can agree with people that it can get boring after awhile, but that's where the forums come in. The amazing community provides thousands of different mods and adventure maps to play with whenI've played a lot of different types of games, but in the end, Minecraft probably brings home the best game award. It's incredibly fun and addicting, and it's got the whole sandbox idea down. I can agree with people that it can get boring after awhile, but that's where the forums come in. The amazing community provides thousands of different mods and adventure maps to play with when vanilla survival just isn't enough. I've played Minecraft for about 1-2 years now, but I'm still as in love with it as I was when I started playing it. There's been a few times where I've gotten completely bored with it, but then I just wait about a month and I'm hooked again. The replay value is amazing, the lack of story line is excused because of the style of the game and surprisingly enough, the graphics are amazing. Before you jump to conclusions, I do realize that the graphics are all "blocky and square". But that's what makes it so amazing, it recreates the pixel feeling from old video games, looks great, and accept it or not, it's a big part of the game it self. It wouldn't really be Minecraft without the "blockness", would it? Expand
  12. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    If you have anything bad to say about this game you are stupid. This game is fun because f the building and digging and playing with your friends. Some of these reviews are complaining about money shut up about money why did u buy the game then. If you like creating things and enjoy games that you can play with friends this game is for you.
  13. May 1, 2012
    8
    To be quite honest it's difficult to review a game like Minecraft. Core gameplay is all that resides here so there isn't much to review aside the initial fun factor. It's a game that, even with bad graphics, people whom complain about graphics shrug such a criticism aside for what the game is. It seems the only way for this game to exist is to have bad graphics, so in all retrospect it'sTo be quite honest it's difficult to review a game like Minecraft. Core gameplay is all that resides here so there isn't much to review aside the initial fun factor. It's a game that, even with bad graphics, people whom complain about graphics shrug such a criticism aside for what the game is. It seems the only way for this game to exist is to have bad graphics, so in all retrospect it's not much of a criticism because if you complain about the graphics, you're complaining about the game. There's nothing much this game comes to. You either like to explore and find materials to survive and create a "scratch" life for yourself, or you do not. There's nothing much like minecraft. It's a game that never ends. There's only black and white, no gray. Personally I love the game. If you can call it a game. There are no real rules or boundaries that make it a game, and that's why it's so great. If you like to play something in which you can build whatever you want with virtual lego blocks, then you'll have a blast, because that's all you really do here. I mean you eat and survive and mine the materials in which you build. Though it comes down to you and you're creations, as well as playing online with others to build with and explore new areas with to get resources. Personally I like playing with a friend or community, otherwise it becomes quite boring playing on your own single player game. I would recommend this game to anyone that is into building virtual structures, and to nobody that isn't. Minecraft is for a very select. Playing such a game it's quite astonishing to find that select is so large. Expand
  14. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    i dont see why people hate this game. they bash the graphics, they say it's boring, when the clearly know that it isn't. the graphics are bad? these guys are indie devs, i'd like to see you make better graphics by yourself by just using java. actually, the graphics are very beautiful in it's own sense. just look out at the sun setting behind the trees, and you will see it's real beautyi dont see why people hate this game. they bash the graphics, they say it's boring, when the clearly know that it isn't. the graphics are bad? these guys are indie devs, i'd like to see you make better graphics by yourself by just using java. actually, the graphics are very beautiful in it's own sense. just look out at the sun setting behind the trees, and you will see it's real beauty within. it's boring? how about challenge yourself in the survival and hardcore modes, or what about do whatever YOU WANT in creative mode. want to build houses your friends, or blow up your friends house? you can, thanks to minecraft's multiplayer. the game is incredible, and has nearly UNLIMITED replay value, thanks to the fact that each land is randomly generated in an infinite world. and lastly, this game is not overrated. CoD is the definition of overrated. minecraft most certainly isn't. it's hard to believe that this game started with one man, and that one man changed the world. Expand
  15. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    This game Is absolutely revolutionary. However I cant give it a 10 because of the new pointless NPC villages and the new world generation. Still a great game though
  16. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    Minecraft ist meiner Meinung Nach eines der besten Indiespiele aller Zeiten! Wie das Spiel funktioniert ist schnell verstanden. Blöcke abbauen, einsammeln und Items craften. Ein simples, aber geniales Prinzip. AnschlieÃ
  17. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    The most amazingly addicting game I have ever played. The price may seem a bit high, but it is totally worth it. Your world is literally YOURS. Build it the way YOU want (or destroy it the way you want). Although the graphics are less than modern, the simple game mechanics easily compensate. And the texture pack option allows for different graphics for different consumers (with differentThe most amazingly addicting game I have ever played. The price may seem a bit high, but it is totally worth it. Your world is literally YOURS. Build it the way YOU want (or destroy it the way you want). Although the graphics are less than modern, the simple game mechanics easily compensate. And the texture pack option allows for different graphics for different consumers (with different interests). It is, above all, a great game to have Expand
  18. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    I avoided this game for the longest time because it was not available on Steam. After some reviews and seeing others talk and play it, I had to try it out. I was not disappointed. The building, exploring, solving problems, and making neat/weird contraptions is a lot of fun. I spend countless hours running around, getting killed by mobs and frustratingly searching for resources to make coolI avoided this game for the longest time because it was not available on Steam. After some reviews and seeing others talk and play it, I had to try it out. I was not disappointed. The building, exploring, solving problems, and making neat/weird contraptions is a lot of fun. I spend countless hours running around, getting killed by mobs and frustratingly searching for resources to make cool stuff such as diamond and gold. The community is huge, and seems there is almost a cult of personality around the developer. I have not interacted much with this community, but may at some point. Putting all of that aside, one gets to the downsides. Graphics are not the best (perhaps that is intentional), the music is horrific, and I encounter bugs such as re-spawning in a weird place. If you are into explosive action, sex, neat cutscenes, and all the rest of it, do not bother with this game - it will bore you to tears. Otherwise, if you want something different, laid back and fun, give this a go. Expand
  19. Mar 14, 2012
    8
    I fail to see what all the fuss is about, but I concede to the fact that Minecraft is very unique and enjoyable title that has made the market a more interesting place with its arrival. Should it be continued, expanded and promoted? Of course. Should it receive unworthy plaudits? No.
  20. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    Very hard to talk about as a game, which may be the 9/10. But I have put tons of hours into this and watched it evolve from alpha, to beta, to release and get better and better. A lot of fun if you like building stuff, if you are a MW3 fan, then you might want to stay away.
  21. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Excellent game that can be played in a variety of ways. While I find the survival aspects wear themselves out fairly quickly, the building aspect of the game is extremely fun, and is literally limited only by your own creativity and patience. The game is literally what you make of it.
  22. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    This is a game you can spend entire days working on one project, and repeating the same action over and over again. The game becomes much more entertaining when played online with friends, especially when you are capable of using your imagination to find new ways to screw people with the limited tool set you are given. This game has provided me days upon days of entertainment for theThis is a game you can spend entire days working on one project, and repeating the same action over and over again. The game becomes much more entertaining when played online with friends, especially when you are capable of using your imagination to find new ways to screw people with the limited tool set you are given. This game has provided me days upon days of entertainment for the small price asked. However, it loses points for never reaching the potential promised to us during the early stages of development, although the game is starting to pick up pace towards that goal now that Jeb has taken over. Expand
  23. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    Before Minecraft, there was always hand-holding in games; at least to some degree or another. Not so here. whether you like that sort of thing or not, I have never played a game that gave me a sensation that this game has, the first time I logged onto our Survival server, and slowly but surely found my own plot of land and began to dig with my hands, than make wood tools, then stone, thenBefore Minecraft, there was always hand-holding in games; at least to some degree or another. Not so here. whether you like that sort of thing or not, I have never played a game that gave me a sensation that this game has, the first time I logged onto our Survival server, and slowly but surely found my own plot of land and began to dig with my hands, than make wood tools, then stone, then iron and so forth. its not the destination with this game, its definitely the journey. Aside from Minecraft's brilliance, I am docking 2 points for being coded in Java... I can understand if the game was only meant for cellphones, but for a full blown pc game, Java is torture. If Mojang ever decides to make minecraft 2, and maybe uses D3D and really makes the game a thing to behold visually, as well as performance wise, Then and only then will it deserve a 10/10 Expand
  24. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is a revolution. Its concept is simple yet so addictive. It was copied by Terrarria which is also pretty good. The 3D is pretty bad whn you look closely but from a distance it can create true masterpieces. Google them and you'll see. A really innovative game that is deserving of the success it got.
  25. Sep 10, 2012
    8
    Minecraft offers a blend of creativeness, action and now RPG-like elements such as enchantments, experience points in a package game well worth the price. The additional modding community increases the content of the game tenfold. My only gripe is with how poorly this game runs due to it being written in java.
  26. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Digital lego's. Combined with mods, it provides endless hours of gameplay. One thing you really need though is a project. Picture what you want to build and start gathering the materials and build away. If you have friends who play this game too you should look into setting up a server which can boost the fun factor by several times. Those who give this game negative reviews because ofDigital lego's. Combined with mods, it provides endless hours of gameplay. One thing you really need though is a project. Picture what you want to build and start gathering the materials and build away. If you have friends who play this game too you should look into setting up a server which can boost the fun factor by several times. Those who give this game negative reviews because of graphics need to seriously get their heads out of their arses and realize that gameplay is where it's at. Expand
  27. May 18, 2012
    10
    Epic. Best game ever so far. Beautiful graphics, terrain. And "turing complete" redstone logic. Yeah, the game isnt really finished yet, but it's nearly open source (thanks java) so everybody can extend and modify what he wants. I bought it for 10â
  28. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is a game on survivalism. It teaches you the basics to survive in a world you spawn in.

    What's great about this game: There's always something to accomplish every time you play!

    What's not so great about this game: I can't sing "I'm on a Boat" when I'm actually on a boat correctly...

    Would I recommend this game to a friend? Definitely.
  29. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    Only recently started playing after noticing all the hype. Really addictive, rather clever and unique!
    So much creativity among the player base, i'm really enjoying it.
  30. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This game is not the best game ever created (obviously), but I think this indie blockbuster deserves most of the hype it is getting right now. Lackluster graphics, truckloads of bugs (even though the game is after full release, but still getting updated about every month), and virtually no storyline lowers my rating of this game, but once you hear the possibilities with this game, youThis game is not the best game ever created (obviously), but I think this indie blockbuster deserves most of the hype it is getting right now. Lackluster graphics, truckloads of bugs (even though the game is after full release, but still getting updated about every month), and virtually no storyline lowers my rating of this game, but once you hear the possibilities with this game, you will like this game very much. Guaranteed. Plus, the new updates usually have a lot of new features and bugfixes. Expand
  31. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is best game for creative people. You Have there Creative mod And Survival. I hope there will be Adventure too. In every update there are new things. Its something like Life Simulation Because you must survive, and you have Hunger, Breath under water, On servers you can build with your friends or Fight them in PVP. I thinks that 304 dislikes of this game are people who envious ofMinecraft is best game for creative people. You Have there Creative mod And Survival. I hope there will be Adventure too. In every update there are new things. Its something like Life Simulation Because you must survive, and you have Hunger, Breath under water, On servers you can build with your friends or Fight them in PVP. I thinks that 304 dislikes of this game are people who envious of the success of the game.
    And earnings of Mojang
    Expand
  32. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    People who are writing about the games "horrid" graphics are not very observant in the slightest. The POINT of the style of graphics is that it's supposed to be blocky. It gives the user the literal "building blocks" style for the game. And the reviewers who point to the games "repetitiousness" clearly haven't explored the entire world. It's a sandbox game...you do what you want in thePeople who are writing about the games "horrid" graphics are not very observant in the slightest. The POINT of the style of graphics is that it's supposed to be blocky. It gives the user the literal "building blocks" style for the game. And the reviewers who point to the games "repetitiousness" clearly haven't explored the entire world. It's a sandbox game...you do what you want in the game. That's like saying Gary's Mod is repetitious (you just fool around in the game). This game is very well done. For people who DON'T know *cough zero rating reviewers cough*, there is actually an avenue for those wishing to go beyond the sandbox aspect. You can level up and equip and enchant your equipment in preparation for taking on the Ender Dragon. It is a very difficult monster that you have to kill. However, if you didn't take the time to actually explore the game and simply paid the money to buy the single player because of the hype and then dropped the game, you wouldn't know that would you? I highly recommend this game. The sandbox aspect allows you to build amazing creations that you could only see in your imagination (and thanks to the somewhat quirky engineering physics, you can really do some amazing things). The survival aspect gives you something to do from the start and makes the game more interesting from the second you are dropped into the middle of your randomized world. The end game dragon gives you something to work towards (and if you die, you lose your equipment, making taking on the Ender Dragon something you really have to prepare for). All in all, a very well rounded and strong game. Expand
  33. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    Many people miss the point of what Minecraft truly is. Sure, Minecraft in of itself is a fun game that allows people to explore their imagination and build whatever comes to mind, but what has truly given Minecraft its significance over the years is it's fantastic community. No other community has been able to offer as much extra user-made content as this game. That's what really makesMany people miss the point of what Minecraft truly is. Sure, Minecraft in of itself is a fun game that allows people to explore their imagination and build whatever comes to mind, but what has truly given Minecraft its significance over the years is it's fantastic community. No other community has been able to offer as much extra user-made content as this game. That's what really makes Minecraft shine over other games. The game's simplicity allows you to do what you want with it. Expand
  34. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    I started to think that Minecraft was just a 7, but after joining a Multiplayer server and now running my own Minecraft server, I find the real draw to this game. Playing single player will only bring so much satisfaction. Building massive projects with gaming friends does. With the additional mods available for both single player and multiplayer, Minecraft gets a 10 in my book. Some ofI started to think that Minecraft was just a 7, but after joining a Multiplayer server and now running my own Minecraft server, I find the real draw to this game. Playing single player will only bring so much satisfaction. Building massive projects with gaming friends does. With the additional mods available for both single player and multiplayer, Minecraft gets a 10 in my book. Some of those who have given poor reviews here have not experienced the full game obviously. Expand
  35. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is a great game but i dont play it mush because then minecraft gets boring but the only thing i miss is the old minecraft there are too much new stuff in the game but if youre new its a great great game
  36. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    Minecraft does have its flaws but it has come a long way from the game I initially invested in and really that's how I viewed the game. It was a risk, I bought in just the other side of sight unseen and have been pleasantly surprised ever since. It has moved in a few directions I don't personally care for but most of those are easily avoided and forgiven. I have found myself somewhat boredMinecraft does have its flaws but it has come a long way from the game I initially invested in and really that's how I viewed the game. It was a risk, I bought in just the other side of sight unseen and have been pleasantly surprised ever since. It has moved in a few directions I don't personally care for but most of those are easily avoided and forgiven. I have found myself somewhat bored with the game at times but the redstone always draws me back. Expand
  37. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    Minecraft offers a somewhat simple experience in designing what you want with some adventure elements placed in. While there are some bugs, Minecraft excels in exactly what it advertised, the power for us to build to our heart's content. Despite this Minecraft feels somewhat incomplete though every block of it is still worth what you paid for.
  38. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    This is a great game. I never get bored of it. I started playing Minecraft in Beta 1.3, and i still play it now, when its 1.2.5.
    There is so much content in this game, you can literally use over 300 hours on this game, not only playing. Also other Minecraft things.
    It still get updated which is good. The thing I don't like is, that the game can end. I don't like that. By the way this is a
    This is a great game. I never get bored of it. I started playing Minecraft in Beta 1.3, and i still play it now, when its 1.2.5.
    There is so much content in this game, you can literally use over 300 hours on this game, not only playing. Also other Minecraft things.
    It still get updated which is good. The thing I don't like is, that the game can end. I don't like that.
    By the way this is a sandbox game, as you might know. Its very blocky, 16X16 pixels, so you don't need a good graphic card, but you'll need a good RAM. Because Minecraft use alot of RAM, it have to load chunk all the time, so it will lag.
    he start of the game is the best, you don't know what to do and all that. But later when you have played the game alot, you now what to do. And you will never get that feeling you had, when you first played it, for the first time.
    I can recommend this game to everyone, young or elder. Maybe not a 90 year old man, but grown-ups can also play this.
    PLEASE don't hear what other people say about this game, even though they say this game is great. It is YOUR opinion, so if you like it, buy it.
    This is one of my favourite games.
    Expand
  39. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    I can get totally addicted to this game. The price for premium is too high, in my opinion. It really isn't worth $26... I should have stayed at $10. Anyway, I still love this game because I enjoy building things out of my imagination and role playing on certain servers with random miners and my friends. The battle system is kind of sad. Overall, I give this a 10 because I enjoy it all theI can get totally addicted to this game. The price for premium is too high, in my opinion. It really isn't worth $26... I should have stayed at $10. Anyway, I still love this game because I enjoy building things out of my imagination and role playing on certain servers with random miners and my friends. The battle system is kind of sad. Overall, I give this a 10 because I enjoy it all the way. It has bugs and questionable features, but It's still really really fun. Expand
  40. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is an unhealthy game to play, and it's sad to see people who are addicted to a game that has no point at all. The game steals all the creative ideas planned to do outside. Then it brings them to a neverending spiral of misery. Minecraft has bugs and mediocre graphics with a price tag of $30. The best way to save money is to not purchase Minecraft since there obviously wasn'tMinecraft is an unhealthy game to play, and it's sad to see people who are addicted to a game that has no point at all. The game steals all the creative ideas planned to do outside. Then it brings them to a neverending spiral of misery. Minecraft has bugs and mediocre graphics with a price tag of $30. The best way to save money is to not purchase Minecraft since there obviously wasn't enough effort developing the game. If you are planning to buy video games, don't buy Minecraft. There are so many other options to spend free time such as hiking, investing, learning something new, or socializing with friends. It's possible to be happy without Minecraft. Expand
  41. May 9, 2012
    8
    Before I review I just want to say that I've played Minecraft since about Beta 1.1, I'm 13 and this is my first review I've made. EVER. I first found out about Minecraft in about late 2010 when my bro saw this youtuber (who used to make ROBLOX videos) play, well, Minecraft. My brother and I loved (And still love) Lego, building blocks and stuff like that. We seemed quite interested inBefore I review I just want to say that I've played Minecraft since about Beta 1.1, I'm 13 and this is my first review I've made. EVER. I first found out about Minecraft in about late 2010 when my bro saw this youtuber (who used to make ROBLOX videos) play, well, Minecraft. My brother and I loved (And still love) Lego, building blocks and stuff like that. We seemed quite interested in Minecraft. My brother and I we loved creating things and building things. So I visited minecraft.net to find out more about this game. I tried Minecraft Classic to see what the game mechanics were like. When the game was in Beta 1.1 (I think) I bought it with my savings. Well let me tell you I simply fell in love with it. Even though at that time there was so little content a 1-year-old's brain is like Middle Earth compared to it (lame metaphor, don't ask.) I just loved the fact that I could build anything I want and do anything I want. It was pretty much MY land. The soundtrack was also really beautiful and it somehow motivated me to build more. Since there was no in-game tutorial I had to refer to the wiki and Youtube videos almost 100% of the time. On my first day I didn't know what to do so I built a nice little dirt hut (Doesn't everyone do that?) and started chopping wood from trees with my fists. When I gathered enough wood I built some tools (Had to refer to the wiki for that) and it was already night. When I ran to my hut some kind of green lizard ran up to me and literally suicide-bombed me. Well, yeah that's my first night. I think Minecraft started off with good intentions. Even with a really buggy multiplayer and almost as buggy singleplayer the game's still just fine for me. Graphics aren't a problem for me either, I can play tetris for hours and still be entertained. I guess the problem (at that time and probably now) was the lack of content. In my opinion I think It must be hard for Notch to add more content without spoiling Minecraft's vanilla (I hope I'm using the right words). Even now, Jeb who if I'm not mistaken is developer for Minecraft now, is technically adding much more content in the risk of probably spoiling the game (No offense Jeb). The addition of RPG-ish content (potions, enchanting, Dragons, NPCs, etc.) seems more like a mod than original vanilla. NPCs not doing anything is no problem, I just blow them up, I just think that most of the game is left really unfinished. Most of the content added by Notch was sadly, done better by modders. The game probably isn't worth it is now, which makes me glad I bought it in Beta. The longer you play Minecraft the novelty and fun of the game will sadly, ware off. Minecraft is a beautiful game which seems to have slightly lazy developers, some unnecessary content, innovative gaming style, nostalgic soundtrack and a game which I think you may need to be creative enough to truly enjoy it. I really recommend you to buy this game, if you're a guy who likes to spend his time on building, exploring, battling monsters, 'derping' around or just exploding stuff. If you're a fan of exciting storyline games, games with good graphics (Not that Minecraft has bad graphics), games which are focused on combat violence or such then I think Minecraft wouldn't really be worth your cash. I f you read this review until the end, then thanks for your time, I hope this review was alright for a first. Sorry if there were any wrong sentences, incorrect usage of words, misspellings or such, I'm only 13 and I wrote this on an Ipad 2 (Don't ask). Expand
  42. May 10, 2012
    8
    I purchased Minecraft when it was in Alpha for about 5-8$. It was an excellent game and is an example of how independent developers, through innovation can make excellent games but I was disappointed with the games actual release. Bugs, Issues, lack of content, Price..etc

    Despite this, this game is revolutionary, showing us that graphics are not that important(imagination ftw) and that
    I purchased Minecraft when it was in Alpha for about 5-8$. It was an excellent game and is an example of how independent developers, through innovation can make excellent games but I was disappointed with the games actual release. Bugs, Issues, lack of content, Price..etc

    Despite this, this game is revolutionary, showing us that graphics are not that important(imagination ftw) and that it's GAMEPLAY that matters. *Play with Friends for best experience
    Expand
  43. May 18, 2012
    8
    Great game. Now it needs some more cool things to do... Maybe new materials or objectives. You also need to play this with you friends. If you don't you get bored within a few hours.
  44. May 16, 2012
    8
    Been in it since the alpha, it has definitely come a long way and still going. You do what you do, make the game yours. There's no other experience like it. The art style is unique considering that there was a period of time when graphics were all that mattered and Notch popped out "16 bit" Minecraft. This game basically defined a genre of it's own. The game still feels incomplete atBeen in it since the alpha, it has definitely come a long way and still going. You do what you do, make the game yours. There's no other experience like it. The art style is unique considering that there was a period of time when graphics were all that mattered and Notch popped out "16 bit" Minecraft. This game basically defined a genre of it's own. The game still feels incomplete at times, but it's still very fun. For the basic user, it could get boring and repetitive... For the more advanced user, the game is expanded so much more with a very active modding community and all types of mods. It's great and simple fun, and a new type of scenic beauty that can be appreciated by almost anyone.

    Add a real story, and the game will have it all.
    Expand
  45. May 17, 2012
    8
    Minecraft very rarely stops surprising, has simple and fun gameplay, great multiplayer features, lots of extra downloadables, and guarantees lots of fun. However, there are a few momnets when you can get bored or don't have anything to do. Minecraft is a game where YOU have to make up your own story or decide what you want to do. It doesn't have any rules and THAT's what makes it so good.
  46. May 17, 2012
    10
    Absolutely gorgeous. This game is incredibly personal and acquires over time it's own sort of personality. It's brilliant, and in multiplayer, can be a beautiful escape. The graphics are, yes, squares, but that takes no beauty from the stunning imagery of Minecraftia. This is a brilliant thing, and though it runs horribly, it's something that almost makes Minecraft more what minecraftAbsolutely gorgeous. This game is incredibly personal and acquires over time it's own sort of personality. It's brilliant, and in multiplayer, can be a beautiful escape. The graphics are, yes, squares, but that takes no beauty from the stunning imagery of Minecraftia. This is a brilliant thing, and though it runs horribly, it's something that almost makes Minecraft more what minecraft really is, a PC game. Incredible game, incredible soundtrack, incredible graphics, Notch really has created something evolutionary here. Expand
  47. May 19, 2012
    9
    This will/would be excellent game if it had just a bit more depth in content. Hope the guys at Mojang will get some decent advancements to get it even more interesting. The digging and building part of the game gets quite tedious after few dosen worlds. Multiplaying makes the world a bit more alive and more fun.

    So.. waiting for updates and ultimately the upcoming awesome mods for this game!
  48. May 22, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is sandbox in its purest form. You can do whatever you want or follow its small story line to defeat the Ender Dragon. You decide. One of the most fun aspects of this game is manipulating the mechanics to create insane creations. Honestly there is nothing that annoys me about this game besides that it has consumed many hours of my life. I'm giving it a 9 instead of 10 onlyMinecraft is sandbox in its purest form. You can do whatever you want or follow its small story line to defeat the Ender Dragon. You decide. One of the most fun aspects of this game is manipulating the mechanics to create insane creations. Honestly there is nothing that annoys me about this game besides that it has consumed many hours of my life. I'm giving it a 9 instead of 10 only because for those that don't have the sandbox mentality it is difficult to understand this game. It is pure sandbox and some gamers would like at least a little direction while playing. Expand
  49. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    One of the most brilliant game ideas ever. The world is infinitely sized, and every small change you make to any small block in this world persists. Every structure you build, everything that is made. Put that on multiplayer and you literally have cities of creation. The underground is huge to explore, digging tunnels and discovering things is sick. The crafting system and incentive toOne of the most brilliant game ideas ever. The world is infinitely sized, and every small change you make to any small block in this world persists. Every structure you build, everything that is made. Put that on multiplayer and you literally have cities of creation. The underground is huge to explore, digging tunnels and discovering things is sick. The crafting system and incentive to find minerals add tons of longevity to the game, and goals. You must have a creative mind to grasp this game, there are no "quests", you are simply but into an infinite world to interact with it as you wish. People not finding entertainment in this just goes to show they have no imagination or creativity whatsoever and they are themselves unable to forge an epic experience from the never seen before sandbox that has been given to them. This game has blown my mind. The point lost is due to the unfortunate lack of quality in character control and mechanics and lack of polish in many areas of the game, had it been taken more seriously or made by a more professional team. Thirdly, the game could have run much faster if better coded. Expand
  50. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I am a Chinese player. But in China, it is not very popular.
    It's a creative game. But Chinese education kills students' creativity.
    So, many students think it's a puerile game.
    -----------------------------------------------------
    MCå
  51. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I have to give the user score a boost here, a lot of hateful trolls are trying to make it look bad.

    Minecraft is what you make of it, and if you suck at making good things, then the game is going to suck for you. But that doesnt make it a bad game. You just suck.
  52. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is amazing! This is a great example to what games should be. Complete freedom and choice. Like you can do almost whatever you want. You can mine, build, farm, and do much, much more. The game may seem difficult and frustrating when first playing survival, but once you know all you need to know, it becomes quite fun and simple. Even though the graphics look like they're from theMinecraft is amazing! This is a great example to what games should be. Complete freedom and choice. Like you can do almost whatever you want. You can mine, build, farm, and do much, much more. The game may seem difficult and frustrating when first playing survival, but once you know all you need to know, it becomes quite fun and simple. Even though the graphics look like they're from the 90's, the game is still a true masterpiece. Expand
  53. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best indie games out there. This one can't be missed. You can make so much stuff, a lot of excitement, just one of the best out there. Don't listen to the bad reviews!
  54. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Some people hate the game. I seriously don't know why. Its a fun game were you can do pretty much anything you want. Anyways its a very good game and mabye play the game for more than 5 minutes before you rate it.
  55. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    Where to begin on this incredible sandbox game? If you can picture Legos in a survival dimension against pixel monsters and the ability to fight them or avoid them in various ways, you'd be grazing the tip of the iceberg that is Minecraft. Literally this game has no specific "goal." Some players would argue otherwise, but really, the point of Minecraft is pure creativity. It doesn'tWhere to begin on this incredible sandbox game? If you can picture Legos in a survival dimension against pixel monsters and the ability to fight them or avoid them in various ways, you'd be grazing the tip of the iceberg that is Minecraft. Literally this game has no specific "goal." Some players would argue otherwise, but really, the point of Minecraft is pure creativity. It doesn't get better than being able to build a house, dig for materials to build said house, and fend off various monsters in the night! Whether you're having a peaceful building game where you construct whatever your mind can fathom or you're surviving by the skin of your teeth in hardcore mode, Minecraft is sure to give a new experience every time you play it. How awesome is this! But how could Mojang (the developers) make it better? Multiplayer? You mean I can now build and/or survive with my best friends? I can either ally myself with them or fight against them as I see fit? This game is incredible. Literally, Minecraft comes to a new level as it employs a wonderful multiplayer experience with other players. Combining creativity and ingenuity together as you build the ultimate creation! What will your mind(s) think of next? My only negative is that the price for the game has consistently increased since the time I bought my copy in Alpha. What was $5 is now almost $30. I wouldn't give a game like this that high of a price, but Mojang has to make money in some way and some respect is deserved there. Definitely loads of fun for any creative gamer and something I will say should be in your gaming library even if you only play it on a rainy day! Expand
  56. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    Minecraft is one of the few decent original games I've played lately. I like the fact that you don't have to play hundreds of hours in order to get something done or have fun. However the game is really only fun with other players to which you can show off your creations. Since the game has no real goal it gets pretty boring pretty fast, but for the price I think think this is a great gameMinecraft is one of the few decent original games I've played lately. I like the fact that you don't have to play hundreds of hours in order to get something done or have fun. However the game is really only fun with other players to which you can show off your creations. Since the game has no real goal it gets pretty boring pretty fast, but for the price I think think this is a great game for at least a few days of entertainment. The graphics are bad, but this is why you should download a texture pack. The story is non existent, but this isn't a story game, it's a creation game. Overall this might be a very fun game for a casual gamer in short doses, but don't plan on spending as many hours on this as you might on a Bethesda game. Expand
  57. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    There is something magic about this game.
    It was developed spontaneously by Notch and his friends in a small apartment in Sweden over a weekend.
    Some of these people later rendered the Mojang team. It is a big auto-generated, completely* wreckable, resource filled, voxel world in 16-bit style. You start out in the wilds with nothing but your clothes, you don't know how you got there and
    There is something magic about this game.
    It was developed spontaneously by Notch and his friends in a small apartment in Sweden over a weekend.
    Some of these people later rendered the Mojang team. It is a big auto-generated, completely* wreckable, resource filled, voxel world in 16-bit style.
    You start out in the wilds with nothing but your clothes, you don't know how you got there and you need to collect resources to sustain in the world of the living. At night you must choose between fighting and hiding surprisingly scary monsters. Build a shelter, and upgrade it to a whole mansion or maybe a whole city?
    The mod section is endless and you can customize Minecraft perpetually.

    The game is fun and creative and I recommend it for anyone. The first time I played Minecraft was truly magic, it's the best gaming experience I have. But now the beauty and charisma is gone, I know everything about the game and that game is dead for me. Good going, Mojang

    *Bedrock is static though
    Expand
  58. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    First of all, U780, sure it's full of bugs, he will fix them you fool. The game is still updating, so your review is quite dumb. Npcs will have a use, the graphics do suck, but they have a unique style to it. If you don't like it, go play your Call Of Duty Games. UMad? There are attack animations, and some of your points are very exaggerated. Survival Mode is what it is. Try to look atFirst of all, U780, sure it's full of bugs, he will fix them you fool. The game is still updating, so your review is quite dumb. Npcs will have a use, the graphics do suck, but they have a unique style to it. If you don't like it, go play your Call Of Duty Games. UMad? There are attack animations, and some of your points are very exaggerated. Survival Mode is what it is. Try to look at the good side and also, This is game is totally worth it for $20.00 and also he fixed many bugs. Most of you say "the critics are stupid" BLAH BLAH BLAH *all haters start drooling*. The critics appreciate it but you COD fans don't. If you don't have creativity stay away. IDIOTS Expand
  59. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the best pc game I had ever played.I loved the way you have to create your own house and live there. You can do crafting which is great.
  60. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Notch is thick and it is from Sweden, if you bought Minecraft you are what destroys the games!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  61. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the best game in existence, besides from Doom I and Doom II. It is a 16-bit voxel based creative sandbox game in which you can do WHATEVER you want. The people saying it has very limited customization options obviously haven't played the game or searched around about it at all, you can change texture packs which provide different visual effects, you have mods which change theMinecraft is the best game in existence, besides from Doom I and Doom II. It is a 16-bit voxel based creative sandbox game in which you can do WHATEVER you want. The people saying it has very limited customization options obviously haven't played the game or searched around about it at all, you can change texture packs which provide different visual effects, you have mods which change the game a bunch, then you can change your player skin, to a robot or a man with a mustache. You can build whatever you desire, from a castle to an underground home, or you can use redstone to build an 8-bit computer, or a game of hangman. The worlds are basically infinite, larger than the Earth. This is a game for creative minds and creative people, this game may not look it for some people, but when you begin to play it, you are into it right away until you hit diamonds or any modded ores, items, blocks, etc. I have seen this game in schools to teach people certain things. This game is far more fun than Call of Duty, even though they are in different game genres. I highly recommend this game for everyone that brings gameplay over graphics. Expand
  62. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    4/5 (Good) One thing you've got to understand is that you've got to try Minecraft without expecting anything and just having fun WASTING YOUR TIME TRYING TO BREAK BLOCKS AND BUILD STUPID STRUCTURES. Then the game has gotten its hook into you and you stick to it for a while, having fun along the way. Trying to survive your firsts nights is a stressful but exciting experience that needs NOT4/5 (Good) One thing you've got to understand is that you've got to try Minecraft without expecting anything and just having fun WASTING YOUR TIME TRYING TO BREAK BLOCKS AND BUILD STUPID STRUCTURES. Then the game has gotten its hook into you and you stick to it for a while, having fun along the way. Trying to survive your firsts nights is a stressful but exciting experience that needs NOT to be spoiled. Exploring caverns without knowing anything about how the game works is one of the most amazing fun I have ever had.

    Sadly, that's not the kind of game you "pass on". You fall into it.
    Expand
  63. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    The game is quite fun, but once you finish survival, it gets a bit dull unless you can find new things to do. It's still a great game, and allows you to be creative.
  64. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    This game is truly a wonder of 8-bit gaming, I mean who doesn't like donkey kong or super mario bros? If you want an older 8-bit feel with a touch of 3D than this is the game for you, easy to learn and the mobs are easy to fight, plenty of mods to make the game better. The only problem ive had with it is it gets boring after awhile, but all games do.
  65. May 9, 2013
    8
    The game is fun but the textures are simplistic and blocky but its infinite replayability might get tiresome if you play it for hours and hours, And there are still bugs here and there.
  66. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    This is the game that made indie gaming so popular it is really good while the graphics aren't realistic they are memorable and not dull but interesting the exploration is really encouraging and will keep you engaged the unlimited creativity is what makes this game excel. Then there are all the mods and texture packs.
    The Bad
    The multiplayer is hard to set up
    Java is slow
  67. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is probably the most popular Sandbox indie game in existence, with almost 10,000,000 users! which shows that for many, it's a very fun game! Minecraft obviously has some problems, some of which are just part of the game and are deliberate (i.e the graphics). Minecraft allows you to make or do anything that you wish, which can be very fun if you're a creative person, and if youMinecraft is probably the most popular Sandbox indie game in existence, with almost 10,000,000 users! which shows that for many, it's a very fun game! Minecraft obviously has some problems, some of which are just part of the game and are deliberate (i.e the graphics). Minecraft allows you to make or do anything that you wish, which can be very fun if you're a creative person, and if you find yourself to be a good builder in the game, you can begin to create great things Minecraft has mainly become famous because of it's popularity on Youtube, especially from the Yogscast group.
    As well as this, minecraft's multiplayer option has made the game ever-more addictive, with easy interaction and chat with other players (which also causes some problems). I personally find multiplayer fun because of the competition offered by many servers; which is greatly improved when the server is modded to have extra abilities and features added to the game, like shops and skills. In short, some people will either love the game, or get bored after about 10 minutes; if you're really put off by the graphics, either don't bother getting the game, or get it and improve the graphics with texture packs, which can make the game look quite sophisticated indeed, presuming that your computer can handle it.
    Expand
  68. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    A game that challenges you in one thing, and one thing only: creativity. With straight-forward combat, the only thing threatening is the environmental hazards (lava, long falls), surprise attacks from enemies (which can contribute to environmental hazards) and letting yourself being overwhelmed. The game can grow stale in many cases if you do not set yourself a goal, or if there is nothingA game that challenges you in one thing, and one thing only: creativity. With straight-forward combat, the only thing threatening is the environmental hazards (lava, long falls), surprise attacks from enemies (which can contribute to environmental hazards) and letting yourself being overwhelmed. The game can grow stale in many cases if you do not set yourself a goal, or if there is nothing to set a goal for you. This is where the community comes in.

    Vanilla Pros:
    -Gives you a starter point so you understand the game
    -Tests you to for creativity
    -Marvelous things can be constructed and adventure maps can be made interesting through the use of redstone
    -The lego-style and blocks make building fairly simplistic

    Vanilla cons:
    -No tutorials
    -Rather boring if you cannot set goals for yourself
    -Lonely on single player... and especially annoying with squidward villagers

    Multiplayer + Community pros
    -PvP adds a nice adrenaline rush with traps, stalking and shadowing your prey
    -Mini-game community servers (such as the core server or the hive server) add lots of fun and randomness
    -the modding community allows for interesting mods, whether you want a challenge, something interesting, a slightly easier kind of game play, or simply a different look to the game

    community cons:
    -like all games, idiots exist in the community and trolls are common. (known as griefers)
    -PvP can leave you depressed if you're not part of a community server and start out immediately, as people with plenty of diamonds and enchanted gear can kill you just as you try cooking iron
    -Server finding is rather irritating and LaN (local area network) server finding is unreliable

    General game pros:
    -Still getting updates
    -Creativity is constantly improving
    -allows for useful applications in real life (Minecraft Teacher is an outstanding example)

    General game cons:
    -Without creativity or ambition, the game makes you feel rather mindless and can turn stale
    -major updates (such as new biomes) can force you to abandon everything you've done on a different world to start from scratch on a new world for the content
    -resources can be tedious to obtain, especially diamonds (insanely rare sometimes) and obsidian (takes ages to mine)
    Expand
  69. May 21, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What to say about Minecraft...its...interesting
    While certainly not a technical marvel, or a ground breaking, blockbuster, Minecraft is certainly omnipresent with modern gamers.
    Most like a "sandbox" mode from some games, Minecraft lets you break and place blocks, build a shelter, explore and mine. But not just that, you can build anything you want, nobody telling you what to do, or a block limit, just pure simple creativity.
    With Its 8-Bit graphics and music, Minecraft is like no other game ever created. However, it's whole idea gets boring after you defeat the final boss, the Ender Dragon. You've explore all the caves, mined all the ores, brewed all the potions, and now you just defeated a goddamn dragon. It gets old after that, unless you find a server you like, or install one of the vast majorities of mods.

    Its also overpriced for what it is, $30 dollars seems a litte steep for this, but its still a great buy.
    Be warned about Multiplayer though, greifers and spammers still exist on the plains of Minecraftia.

    Overall, I would buy It if you want a nice, little indie title to play for a while.
    Expand
  70. May 28, 2013
    8
    It would be silly for me to say I don't love this game, given that i have a youtube channel centered around it. But the reason it isn't a 10 is because most of the stuff I love about this game is fan created content. The developers need to get of their asses and actually go somewhere with this game. This is a game that has so much potential, but the devs aren't doing anything with it. IIt would be silly for me to say I don't love this game, given that i have a youtube channel centered around it. But the reason it isn't a 10 is because most of the stuff I love about this game is fan created content. The developers need to get of their asses and actually go somewhere with this game. This is a game that has so much potential, but the devs aren't doing anything with it. I wouldn't be surprised if Mojang spend more time at the office playing games than actually making them. Expand
  71. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    I have played Minecraft for over 2 and a half years now, and I am still no were close to getting bored. Part of that is because of its awesome community and all the mods and adventure maps they have created over the year. You can literally play the whole portal 2 campaign with the right combination of mods and maps!
  72. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is an amazing game. And it is a game. Not a toy. Although the updates added in some annoying features(like maps automatically filling themselves up as soon as you craft them) the updates have improved upon the original game. Minecraft is still a wonderful game.
  73. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a unbelievable game with so much great game play. You can build whatever you want and battle monsters and go play with friends. Not to mention modding and the crazy server mini games like on the shotbow network. There's no end to what you can do! I find it hard to get bored of it!

    With it constantly being updated, also being one of the highest selling pc games of all
    Minecraft is a unbelievable game with so much great game play. You can build whatever you want and battle monsters and go play with friends. Not to mention modding and the crazy server mini games like on the shotbow network. There's no end to what you can do! I find it hard to get bored of it!

    With it constantly being updated, also being one of the highest selling pc games of all time, Minecraft is one hell of a game, and is worth the money!
    Expand
  74. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    I'm telling you now, it doesn't get better than this. This will always be my favorite game for what the developers have given us. Any argument against this game is either "what's the goal" or "the graphics are terrible". The goal is to do whatever you want, because as soon as you generate a new world, that world belongs to YOU. No one can tell you what you are going to do in this fantasticI'm telling you now, it doesn't get better than this. This will always be my favorite game for what the developers have given us. Any argument against this game is either "what's the goal" or "the graphics are terrible". The goal is to do whatever you want, because as soon as you generate a new world, that world belongs to YOU. No one can tell you what you are going to do in this fantastic game. I'm not the type of person that thinks that realistic graphics means good graphics. I love the way Minecraft looks and the blocky feel of it that makes it so easy to get into, yet also easy to be really advanced at. There is absolutely no logical reason to give this game anything less than an 8, because this really is quite possibly the best game to ever exist. Expand
  75. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the greatest things god has ever gave us on the PC period. It just blows my mind with all the blocks you can use to build amazing things! if your reading this I recommend this game hard core get this game right now. Trust me you will not be disappointed.
  76. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    this ma be one of the best games i ever-played mods creativity a key survival feature online mini games however i'm not ratting for this but their are allot of whana bees
  77. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a totally objective free game, do whatever you want, explore, invent. This is a game in development so you are never going to ran out of content. Build huge castles, underwater bases, sky fortresses, an underground mine, almost infinite possibilities. Despite the bug this is a perfect game, very enjoyable with friends. It has a huge mod community. Very recommended game.
  78. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    I have played this AFTER the iOS edition. Worth 20 bucks. The only annoying stuff is whenever I search "Portal", it'll show the portalgun mod for Minecraft. I have owned this game since 1.2.4, and 1.6.2 sucks. The new villager noises stink.

    Pros: Gameplay, sounds, mods, resource packs, and redstone.

    Cons: Villager sounds, ghast sounds, rain (rain is so laggy)
  79. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    When I first time saw game called Minecraft, I didn´t like it, NO, I hated it Blocks WTF But in 2012 I downloaded it, because my friends did not wanted to stfu about it. And it was amazing. It´s super fun, building anything you want, creative is super fun, same as survial mode.
    Only negative HUGE negative is price, 2011 game for 20 euro NO! 10-15 eur OK Not !
    Minecraft alone 7/10
    When I first time saw game called Minecraft, I didn´t like it, NO, I hated it Blocks WTF But in 2012 I downloaded it, because my friends did not wanted to stfu about it. And it was amazing. It´s super fun, building anything you want, creative is super fun, same as survial mode.
    Only negative HUGE negative is price, 2011 game for 20 euro NO! 10-15 eur OK Not !
    Minecraft alone 7/10

    Good game ,but there is TEKKIT, best mode in history, adding more and more sh*t into the game, For this I woould pay 20 euro !!
    Minecraft Tekkit 10/10
    Expand
  80. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome.You can do anything you want build anything you want a big house or a huge castle is just awesome.I know the graphics are lame but just play it.
  81. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    Get your own server, your own mods, collaborate with the community and you get neverending fun. This game is easy to learn and could be hard to master with mods. Its attracting a huge audience and has for everbody the right solution. The graphics are ok but could bet better. So only 8 of 10 points.
  82. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    This game is awesome!!! You can build anything in this game in the creative mode, and the survival mode is quite addicting, and you can play with other players too!!
  83. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    I can't even begin to describe how enjoyable this indie game is. I will always know Minecraft to be the game that invented infinite worlds. No matter what you do in Minecraft you'll never get bored. Because, as previously mentioned it has infinite worlds! Multiplayer is extremely fun, and you can also have LAN worlds so you can play with you're friends who are on the same network.
  84. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    Minecraft is THE open world game! It promotes your creative side. But it gets booring after awhile and the enemies are irritating (fortunately you can switch off all enemies, if you want). Dying is also annoying...
  85. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    I've been playing the game for years, and to this day still find enjoyment in this game. While it has continued to grow over the years, so has Mojang's popularity. The company has continued to hire more people to help out on the game, and to help make it better. Despite there being some slight graphical glitches, the game continues to play very well on my rig. The game play is extremelyI've been playing the game for years, and to this day still find enjoyment in this game. While it has continued to grow over the years, so has Mojang's popularity. The company has continued to hire more people to help out on the game, and to help make it better. Despite there being some slight graphical glitches, the game continues to play very well on my rig. The game play is extremely immersive, and the script is highly malleable, as shown by the thousands of mods created by the fans of the game. I have been playing the game since the Halloween update way back in the late Alpha's, and the game continues to feel like a strong part of my life. It has inspired me to build things with my hands, and be more creative in general with my projects. Despite lacking any real graphics, the game itself is fantastic, as it isn't the graphics that make the game, but more so the game play. It has been the one game that has kept me coming back for more, keeping me saying "just one more block" every time. Expand
  86. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    Minecraft gives you so many options on what you want to do. You can choose the creative side and build your masterpiece, or you can fight with friends and compete in mini games.
  87. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This game is the best game of all time in my opinion, from the Alpha which was back in the day a fantastic game alone, it just kept on getting better through Beta and now in full release it is still being updated and content being added which is just one of the reasons this is the only 10/10 I have ever given. All the mod packs and mods which have been made from this game such as TechnicThis game is the best game of all time in my opinion, from the Alpha which was back in the day a fantastic game alone, it just kept on getting better through Beta and now in full release it is still being updated and content being added which is just one of the reasons this is the only 10/10 I have ever given. All the mod packs and mods which have been made from this game such as Technic and Feed the Beast have just added so much more replayability. The moving soundtrack fits absolutely perfectly with the game and is still being added to. The soundtrack is slow, calm and has a fantasy element to it like no other. That was just the singleplayer the multiplayer servers add even more, with custom plugins and game modes such as survival games or just mining and building with friends the multilplayer greatly increases the playtime. There is much more to add such as the enormous amount if mobs neutral and hostile and the immersive day to night cycle which really fits in with the game. The only problem with this it was quite hard and still is to set up a server for your friends to play on but that has gotten allot easier. This is the only game Xbox 360 & PC combined I have spent 1000+ hours on playing. Expand
  88. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Don't even get me started with Minecraft PC Game Legends loves Minecraft and we are addicted to playing it you'll have to be crazy not to like this game on all platforms mainly PC and Mac. I love every thing about the game the mobs, the imagination and the fact that there are no rules an you can do what ever you want to do with out any one saying you can't. This game gets a perfect tenDon't even get me started with Minecraft PC Game Legends loves Minecraft and we are addicted to playing it you'll have to be crazy not to like this game on all platforms mainly PC and Mac. I love every thing about the game the mobs, the imagination and the fact that there are no rules an you can do what ever you want to do with out any one saying you can't. This game gets a perfect ten without a doubt. Expand
  89. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    This game gives to you total freedom: Play as you like, do the "job" finishing the game, or simply explore the world building big and strange houses! You'll love it, if you loved Lego years ago. It's an enormous and very fun sandbox game, that represents the top of Indie Games. VIRTUALINN.IT
  90. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    I love minecraft good for building having fun and is way better then roblox and in minecraft it is all fun and no stupid ads always poping up and I love playin with my pals is the best game ever
  91. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a great game, it has excellent gameplay and sure, the graphics aren`t top but ever heard the term "gameplay is better than graphics". This game completely describes this...Ill give you an example, would you want to play a 8-bit game like Legend of Zelda or Mario or play a game which is high def but is a game about Justin Bieber. You think about it.
  92. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    Minecraft deserves a good score. It may be made out of blocks, but it's still a good game. Minecraft is a perfect example of gameplay over graphics. There is tons of things to do. There is not limits to what you can build. Some people think that all you do in Minecraft is mine. But really, there is so much more. Hunting, crafting, building, and of course, mining. With over 1,000,000 sales,Minecraft deserves a good score. It may be made out of blocks, but it's still a good game. Minecraft is a perfect example of gameplay over graphics. There is tons of things to do. There is not limits to what you can build. Some people think that all you do in Minecraft is mine. But really, there is so much more. Hunting, crafting, building, and of course, mining. With over 1,000,000 sales, this game really get a high score on lots of people's lists. The only major problem is the multiplayer servers. Big servers tend to have people and even staff that don't follow the rules, and makes it T or M rated instead of 10+, so I do suggest your child that may play this, have caution.

    This game deserves my 9 out of 10 and a place on my top 3 games list. Don't pass this up people. you won't regret it.
    Expand
  93. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    This is a game that I can't even begin to say how amazing it is. While bringing back the good old pixely graphics, if that's a word, you can make whatever your mind thinks of. Castle, Mushroom Kingdom, you name it. This game has infinite possibilities and with a creative mind, this game CAN'T go wrong. Also, the online multiplayer is just flat out AWESOME! You can play with a thousandThis is a game that I can't even begin to say how amazing it is. While bringing back the good old pixely graphics, if that's a word, you can make whatever your mind thinks of. Castle, Mushroom Kingdom, you name it. This game has infinite possibilities and with a creative mind, this game CAN'T go wrong. Also, the online multiplayer is just flat out AWESOME! You can play with a thousand people at a time! If you get this game, it will be extremely hard to not say: Just one more block. Expand
  94. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    This is one of, if not THE best game I've ever bought, i know single player gets really boring unless you have mods, but playing with your friends is what keeps this game going, multiplayer is really good as well but there are some lag issues depending on your connection and this is one of those games where lag can get you to rage quit, a really good sandbox, you can make some greatThis is one of, if not THE best game I've ever bought, i know single player gets really boring unless you have mods, but playing with your friends is what keeps this game going, multiplayer is really good as well but there are some lag issues depending on your connection and this is one of those games where lag can get you to rage quit, a really good sandbox, you can make some great structures on there, i think the only reason why people don't like it is that they look to the negatives, they haven't tried the good servers
    over all, great game, i recommend you try it out, look for mods you may like and some good servers.
    Expand
  95. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    Is one of the best games i ever played. The graphics are pretty nice but the gameplay is the center of the game. IT'S AWESOME. But there is a problem in this game: there are a lot of 5-6 years old kids playing this game bad players. The updates are really heavy
  96. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    This game is a really great game, but is a tad overrated. The features are excellent and gameplay is fun, but can get boring when in survival mode. While it's a great game, people glorify it too much like it's the Messiah of not just sandbox games and indie games, but as the video game industry as a whole. Fun for the whole family.
  97. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    Been playing Minecraft since Alpha and continue to enjoy it. This is a game that will never stop evolving. The developers are constantly adding new things and I have never gotten bored of the build-box gameplay. Are you creative? You can literally build anything. Are you an adventurer? The randomly generated maps are huge and offer tons of things to explore. One minute I'm building myBeen playing Minecraft since Alpha and continue to enjoy it. This is a game that will never stop evolving. The developers are constantly adding new things and I have never gotten bored of the build-box gameplay. Are you creative? You can literally build anything. Are you an adventurer? The randomly generated maps are huge and offer tons of things to explore. One minute I'm building my farm, the next I'm spelunking in a cave system that seems to never end and is rich in ores and materials. The survival element just adds icing to the cake, having to fend of the likes of skeletons and zombies to stay alive at night. Fun for all ages! Expand
  98. May 7, 2012
    0
    The game is unfinished, however, I can't help but love this game. The simple yet fun premise, the large open area given to you, and the fact that there is almost no limit to the things you can create. And as much of a sheep as I may sound, I like a game that updates itself like this, it almost never gets old for me and there is always something new. I like this game, it's really fun, IThe game is unfinished, however, I can't help but love this game. The simple yet fun premise, the large open area given to you, and the fact that there is almost no limit to the things you can create. And as much of a sheep as I may sound, I like a game that updates itself like this, it almost never gets old for me and there is always something new. I like this game, it's really fun, I highly recommend it. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. games(TM)
    Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]