User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3487 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    Very good game, Indeed it was.Very good game, Indeed it was. Its is one of the best games I've ever played. Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    This is my favourite game! I think I've been playing this since 2012 and I have enjoyed every single second of it. Games don't need fancy graphics to be fun. THANKS MOJANG!

    -James
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    if you know all the things you can do in this awesome game... its the most free world game in history and also includes the possibility of make your own mechanism whit redstone, in creative or in survival.
  4. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is often criticised for not containing guns, unless modded. this is no reason to let your opinion go sour. The game itself is very versatile; it is playable on Pc, Xbox, Apple, Android, Ps3, Ps4, and has many spin-offs. whichever version you choose to play, minecraft has the same drift; you have a character, usually customisable, who spawns into a seemingly endless world ofMinecraft is often criticised for not containing guns, unless modded. this is no reason to let your opinion go sour. The game itself is very versatile; it is playable on Pc, Xbox, Apple, Android, Ps3, Ps4, and has many spin-offs. whichever version you choose to play, minecraft has the same drift; you have a character, usually customisable, who spawns into a seemingly endless world of cubes, with only your imagination as the limit. It is a great game for people of all ages, from children to elderly, as it stimulates different parts of the mind, especially creativity.

    It's really quite remarkable.
    Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Everyone saying this game is terrible is completely missing the point of the game! Most of the negative reviews here either mention the "bad graphics", or how the game seems to be "un-finished" or "lacking features". The game is meant to be blocky with simple graphics, that is a major part of what makes the game special and unique! If you still feel the need for great graphics, go onlineEveryone saying this game is terrible is completely missing the point of the game! Most of the negative reviews here either mention the "bad graphics", or how the game seems to be "un-finished" or "lacking features". The game is meant to be blocky with simple graphics, that is a major part of what makes the game special and unique! If you still feel the need for great graphics, go online and download one of many, many, many free user-created HD resource packs! And the game seems unfinished because it is!! The game will NEVER be totally finished, as the game developers have said many times in the past.
    If you're looking for more features or more interesting gameplay, there are hundreds, if not thousands, of 100% free player-made modifications (mods) and custom-made worlds creating various challenges, puzzles, and adventures. The awesome Minecraft community is what really makes the game - without all the custom-made user material, it would not be nearly as popular!
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    Minecraft is a very good game because undergo frequent updates even with the final version. Is also a sandbox ie is INFINITE! Only flaws of the game is its weight and its price is $ 26.95.
  7. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    The open world, and the idea on this game is fresh.
    The simulation is great.
    But dont hope for a great graphics.
    Play for the gameplay.

    This game contains tons of hours of play.
    And its a very very good game for your children creativity.
    Even adults build a working old flip flop computer simulator on this game.
  8. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is by far one of the greatest indie game ever invented. And I sure gives the inventor (Markus "Notch" Persson) a hell of a point. This voxel based sandbox game that is really fun to play. It increased people's creativity to create, explore, and other things you can imagine surviving with a more intense world. From the ALPHA phase, Minecraft was still nothing. But in the BETAMinecraft is by far one of the greatest indie game ever invented. And I sure gives the inventor (Markus "Notch" Persson) a hell of a point. This voxel based sandbox game that is really fun to play. It increased people's creativity to create, explore, and other things you can imagine surviving with a more intense world. From the ALPHA phase, Minecraft was still nothing. But in the BETA phase, it already broke some records. First record, it was awarded the most popular game in BETA. The next record, shows that this game is the best sandbox game yet. Exploring the unlimited possibilities in the endless world of cubes. Crafting, Surviving, and Thriving. Making huge creations and make differences in this world. They also update the game eventually sometimes in 2 months time. And by my very critic, this game deserves a wonderful score of 10. Some people may say that this game is a waste of time. Well, it's actually a very great game to KILL some time. Some of the users/players of this game says that it lacked of gaming and it's made out of pixel. Some say it's the worst. The game is actually pixelated, but it's actually pixelated using cubes and blocks. That's why it seems so 3D. You can create endless creations and everything you want. But my surprise of this game it the multiplayer feature. It is really fun and enjoyable playing beyond the community and have fun by playing minigames. Or just doing a survival together with your friends. A 3D sandbox with a multiplayer feature? That's really fun for players that doesn't like being alone. I picked the three best servers so far, and the three of them keep amaze me anytime I go there. The best server so far is Mineplex by my opinion. The second is the Hypixel Network. And the third is The Hive. I really don't judge these servers because they are all good-to-play servers and all that, but in those critic, I'll judge them because this IS a critic. Apart from all of that, this is a wonderful game. I honored the creators of this game, which is TeamMojang, and I appreciate this kind of games. Indulging and exciting. Expand
  9. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am ANGRY at all you negative reviewers out there, you overlook the influence on culture these days of Minecraft, comparing it to other games (BTW I am looking for the perfect game which you will find my Qualifications in the Profile) This has by far been the Crown Jewel of My PC games, It is near my perfect game standard and it is the closest one there. Also about it's influence on culture, this game has truly defined the true basic principle of open-ended games, I believe it even has created it's own genre. And other than that I believe you negative reviewers never even tried to venture within the game itself, you didn't even bother to look at the wiki, it may be buggy however it 's Success overshadows it's flaws. And by the way did you even care to look at modding this game? This game for me, has an almost infinite number of mods out there, so the game is extremely flexible. And by the way have you seen Terraria? If you like the game and you review this negatively, then you know what? Terraria was inspired By MINECRAFT. So in my view this game belongs with the great historic games, which have forever changed the world, and if you ask me, Minecraft has begun it's own gaming generation CONVERSATION OVER, PERIOD. Expand
  10. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    As much as I hate what Minecraft has done for the gaming industry,there is no reason why you shouldn't play it.Ive spent more hours then I can count on this game,and every time I think I'm free of its clutches,I feel the need to mine one more block
  11. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    This game is good, because its unique.

    Its good because of its creativity, it goes on forever, you can build whatever you want, or even build multiple things, making this game fairly time-consuming and a hell-of fun. It never ends, so you can do whatever you want, whenever you want. Also, Multiplayer is also fun, as people make great and fascinating games to play with plug-ins,
    This game is good, because its unique.

    Its good because of its creativity, it goes on forever, you can build whatever you want, or even build multiple things, making this game fairly time-consuming and a hell-of fun. It never ends, so you can do whatever you want, whenever you want.

    Also, Multiplayer is also fun, as people make great and fascinating games to play with plug-ins, commands, and more. making MineCraft endless fun.

    The only bad part about it is the community, which isn't even the game's fault, but kids are rude all around in the MineCraft community, making the game have a semi-turnoff.

    Besides that I have fun with the game. It is addicting and time and is a joy to play!
    Expand
  12. May 15, 2014
    10
    its 10/10 because of this:
    i know many games have the same, but if you think Minecraft tried to copy, NO!
    they copied minecraft. Imagination, a thing all human needs to learn. in here you can do MAAANY **** for example: so much **** i don't know how many but its amazing, you have to play a few weeks until finding something amazing, some reviews says: nothing useful for now. the
    its 10/10 because of this:
    i know many games have the same, but if you think Minecraft tried to copy, NO!
    they copied minecraft.
    Imagination, a thing all human needs to learn.
    in here you can do MAAANY ****
    for example:
    so much **** i don't know how many
    but its amazing, you have to play a few weeks until finding something amazing, some reviews says: nothing useful for now.
    the game has a story, but its not the point, the "un-useful" is what you need to set your imagination free. more fun playing at Multiplayer, servers:
    Hide N Seek (Prop Hunt without Shooting)
    Hot Potato (RUN FROM THE GUY THAT HAS A EXPLODING POTATO!!! he will hit you, and it stays with you, you cannot drop it, if it explodes in someone, well **** if you exploded, YOU LOSE!)
    Parkour (THE MOST RAGING THING and one of the most fun ones of Minecraft.)
    and many others.
    Mods are made for....
    Additional Things, so you can set your imagination even more free.
    Garry's Mod will set your imagination free at maximum, but Minecraft is Imagination for Childs, and Garry's Mod for Adults. i recommend it, and hey "MINECRAFT HATERS HO ONLY PLAYED 10 **** MINUTES" well, play it more and you will enjoy it, i hope you will.
    Expand
  13. May 12, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. for 2 years this game has been in development. For years i have been waiting to play this game and just last year i finally got the chance to do so. When i first played it i found it to be very addictive and very fun. The ability to get past the limit is amazing. In DBZ you cant leave your fighting area but in this game you can. In Sonic you cant build a house but here it is the opposite. The free roaming and how you have to find things is really fun and i recommend this game to anyone who is looking forward to play a game that takes place in a forest. That is why my final verdict for this game is a 99 out of 100. Expand
  14. May 16, 2014
    10
    Best game ever! This game is amazing! I love that you can play on servers, yet play alone. You really need to play Minecraft. It is an amazing game that I love, along with my friends. I play it on PC & PS3. GET MINECRAFT! You won't regret it!
  15. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    Arguably, Minecraft is the best video game of all time. The idea is so simple yet so brilliant. A 3D block-based game. in which you can survive, and build anything you could possibly imagine. I find it brilliant because it gives you a sense of accomplishment when you perform the most mundane of tasks, like when you smelt your first iron bar, all the way to defeating the Ender Dragon.Arguably, Minecraft is the best video game of all time. The idea is so simple yet so brilliant. A 3D block-based game. in which you can survive, and build anything you could possibly imagine. I find it brilliant because it gives you a sense of accomplishment when you perform the most mundane of tasks, like when you smelt your first iron bar, all the way to defeating the Ender Dragon. Obviously, the game is always better with friends, which gives you the option of making combat and adventure maps for you and your friends to enjoy. A lot of people say the game has gotten worse as updates have occurred, but I believe it has just increased the game's depth. Minecraft truly holds a place in my heart, simply for how undeniably spectacular it is. Expand
  16. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    It has infinite options for gameplay, expansion with mods for every more variety, and a social aspect via server play. What more can you want from a game? This game will define a generation.
  17. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    I picked up Minecraft well into the beta about nine months ago. Overall, I have been pleased overall with my gameplay experience. Minecraft has an insanely huge game world that lets you do whatever the heck you want. With a plethora of gamemodes and solid multiplayer, it is a great all around offering. Unfortunately this game is VERY demanding in terms of hardware, especially RAM.I picked up Minecraft well into the beta about nine months ago. Overall, I have been pleased overall with my gameplay experience. Minecraft has an insanely huge game world that lets you do whatever the heck you want. With a plethora of gamemodes and solid multiplayer, it is a great all around offering. Unfortunately this game is VERY demanding in terms of hardware, especially RAM. Don't even think about running this game with less than 4GB as it will be very laggy even at tiniest render distances, While there are various Java fixes that can be used to help you get the most out of the game, the steep RAM requirement keeps it from being as accessable and fun as it should be. However, if your computer has the minerals to run it, Minecraft is an innovative, top-notch experience that shouldn't be missed. Expand
  18. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is a very fun game that you can easily sink hours into. The game won't appeal to some people though, it, at its heart, is a game where all you do is build stuff. The "graphics" (textures in actuality) are low quality 16X16 pixels, but its the style of the game. I mean ponder, if you will, how a game like this will work with the number of polygons found in Battlefield 3, simpleMinecraft is a very fun game that you can easily sink hours into. The game won't appeal to some people though, it, at its heart, is a game where all you do is build stuff. The "graphics" (textures in actuality) are low quality 16X16 pixels, but its the style of the game. I mean ponder, if you will, how a game like this will work with the number of polygons found in Battlefield 3, simple answer, IT WON'T. And, yes, at times the combat feels broken, but that is a minor point considering if you don't like it, then plat on creative mode. But the game is a game easy to fall in love with, for me whenever i'm done with my homework, i find myself to tired to pop Skyrim into the Xbox, and not able to concentrate on a game of DOTA 2 (yes, i have a beta key) I load up Minecraft, and "wake up," as it where, a couple hours later, not really knowing what just happened. Single player is a great place to build giant machines, filled with tons of redstone (the "wires" of Minecraft) But multiplayer is where it's at hop on a good server with a nice community and have memorable experiences exploring a cave with a friend. Minecraft is a very fun and light game, not forcing anything of you 9/10. Expand
  19. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    This game is incredibly fantastic. It's a game of creation and imagination. You can build anything you want, so long as you have the resources for it. That true to life scale of the arc de triumphe feels much more amazing, knowing you carved out every block for the resources, and built it yourself. Although, if you're shy of the work, there is a creative mode; like a much more fun andThis game is incredibly fantastic. It's a game of creation and imagination. You can build anything you want, so long as you have the resources for it. That true to life scale of the arc de triumphe feels much more amazing, knowing you carved out every block for the resources, and built it yourself. Although, if you're shy of the work, there is a creative mode; like a much more fun and interesting game of virtual legos. All in all, this game is as awesome as you are. It gives you the tools, and removes the barrier to entry to create whatever is in your imagination. I love this game. And the replay value is limitless. Expand
  20. May 9, 2013
    9
    I don't understand the negativity towards this game. This may be the most inclusive game I have ever seen. There is something for everyone. If you like surviving in the wild, there is the survival game mode. If you like building, there is creative mode. If you like building complicated machines and working with wiring, there are modpacks such as Tekkit and Voltz. If you like PvP, there areI don't understand the negativity towards this game. This may be the most inclusive game I have ever seen. There is something for everyone. If you like surviving in the wild, there is the survival game mode. If you like building, there is creative mode. If you like building complicated machines and working with wiring, there are modpacks such as Tekkit and Voltz. If you like PvP, there are hundreds of Hunger Games servers, Search and Destroy servers, etc. If you like playing Call of Duty or Battlefield, there are servers for that as well. There are maps made for RPG play too. Anything you want to do in Minecraft, you can, so go buy this game as it is much less expensive than most other games. Expand
  21. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    Although not high on graphics, this game offers a pleasing aesthetics that contributes to the theme of simplicity and tranquility of the game. Although it is a rather old genre, this title breathes new life into the sandbox genre, adding the element of adventure. Furthermore, the ability to apply mods and texture packs are a delight to any gamer. Utilizing the two main elements ofAlthough not high on graphics, this game offers a pleasing aesthetics that contributes to the theme of simplicity and tranquility of the game. Although it is a rather old genre, this title breathes new life into the sandbox genre, adding the element of adventure. Furthermore, the ability to apply mods and texture packs are a delight to any gamer. Utilizing the two main elements of "mining" and "crafting", Minecraft is a unique and suits all types of players: builders, explorers, or even a hybrid of the two. Expand
  22. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, it don't matters the graphics because that's the idea. A game which has no limits except your imagination. This awesome game deserves an awesome score. 10/10
  23. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is a great sandbox survival game in single player mode and one of the best multiplayer experiences ever which can be modded to enhance its greatness enough said, buy it now
  24. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    I bought the game a few months back and really got into it. I was playing single player and the wide range of things you can do in the game is only limited to your imagination. Granted, the graphics are not that good, but with MODS, you can really visually play the game the way you like. After days of playing, I started to get bored, maybe that's just me. I tried a server, which you canI bought the game a few months back and really got into it. I was playing single player and the wide range of things you can do in the game is only limited to your imagination. Granted, the graphics are not that good, but with MODS, you can really visually play the game the way you like. After days of playing, I started to get bored, maybe that's just me. I tried a server, which you can play with other people, but it still was pretty much void of players. I think if you had a friend to play with, the game would be more interesting.

    It is a great game for the creative mind type people, but lacks the social aspect of some other games out there.
    Overall, I would highly recommend this game to anyone who likes to create and has an artistic mind. It is allot of fun and should be a game to have in your library.
    Expand
  25. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    This game is for those that enjoy creating. If you do not like creating, you will instantly be turned away. Now, this game, as many have already pointed out, the graphics are not that great, but what you must understand is that the game was not built to host amazing graphics, and that it is an indie game. The game isn't an AAA game, and if you can't rap your head around the fact it doesn'tThis game is for those that enjoy creating. If you do not like creating, you will instantly be turned away. Now, this game, as many have already pointed out, the graphics are not that great, but what you must understand is that the game was not built to host amazing graphics, and that it is an indie game. The game isn't an AAA game, and if you can't rap your head around the fact it doesn't have good graphics, and you can't play it because of that, then so be it. You get used to the games graphics, and then eventually love it, and its uniqueness. This game is hands-down amazing. I started playing when it was Alpha, and it didn't even have multiplayer at the time. Back then, it was so much fun to play Single Player, because you had an entire world to explore and make a house impervious to enemies, find out all the tricks to the game and the like. I have played many games, and I must say, this game compels you strongly to build bigger houses, get better gear, find better ways of producing your resources, and the like. Then Multiplayer came out-- the game became wonderful! Sure, it had a few kinks here and there, but having friends to explore that world with, makes you feel like you were a little kid again exploring the world as a free soul trying to find cool things to do. The only problem was, after Multiplayer came out, Single Player was not worth playing to me anymore, because my friends couldn't use the things I made, therefore Single Player felt worthless.But, the game is wonderful: music that fits the atmosphere, gripping gameplay that makes you thirst for more, and graphics that gives it, its own style and spot inside your heart. As a side note, forget all those people that keep complaining about Notch and his choices; everyone makes mistakes and he has made a few, but he has still tried to make the game great, even more so great than it already is. Expand
  26. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    A great example to use in the "Graphics don't make a game good" argument with its unhealthily addictive gameplay. Single player will last only as long as your imagination will let you and multiplayer is fantastic. A lot of multiplayer servers have their own little community that are friendly enough to welcome you in and help build if you don't have your own friends to play with and feelA great example to use in the "Graphics don't make a game good" argument with its unhealthily addictive gameplay. Single player will last only as long as your imagination will let you and multiplayer is fantastic. A lot of multiplayer servers have their own little community that are friendly enough to welcome you in and help build if you don't have your own friends to play with and feel that way inclined. To counter the low scores given by people, I'd have to say "Did you get your moneys worth?". Sure there is no multiplayer server browser (You need to use Google to find servers), the achievements are tacked on, the NPC A.I is barely there and Notch may have promised more than he delivered but £12 for what can easily turn into 50+ or even 100+ hours of truly enjoyable and fun gameplay makes it unimportant to me.

    Did I get my moneys worth? Definitely.
    Expand
  27. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    Minecraft proved to be the great game independent of year 2011, Minecraft is a game that explores the infinite creativity and puts the games back at the top of survival.
  28. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    I cannot stop playing this game it is so much fun. The possibilities are endless, you can do and build whatever you can think of. I agree the graphics are not the best, but Notch has even said he supports texture packs. Notch has said he's not an artist. Me and my kids play it all the time. What other game can you make your own adventures up? Build whatever you want? I don't think theirI cannot stop playing this game it is so much fun. The possibilities are endless, you can do and build whatever you can think of. I agree the graphics are not the best, but Notch has even said he supports texture packs. Notch has said he's not an artist. Me and my kids play it all the time. What other game can you make your own adventures up? Build whatever you want? I don't think their are that many other games. When I first saw this game, I thought it was the worst game ever because of the graphics. Then i played 20 minutes of it and didn't want to stop it was so much fun. It is worth the $20. I can't see any reason to not like this game. Listen to the critics and play the game longer than 5 minutes so you can see how good the game actually is. Expand
  29. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    It really is hard to review Minecraft. Some people review it by how it is made. Some people review it by the concept of the game. I am going to review it by both. I am going to say it's a bad game if you think by how it was made. Many things aren't done yet, and there are still thousand of bugs. But it was made by 5 people, and they were being rushed by thousands. But I think that theIt really is hard to review Minecraft. Some people review it by how it is made. Some people review it by the concept of the game. I am going to review it by both. I am going to say it's a bad game if you think by how it was made. Many things aren't done yet, and there are still thousand of bugs. But it was made by 5 people, and they were being rushed by thousands. But I think that the concept of the game kind of weighs up that is was badly made. I have been playing it for about a year and a half, and I still enjoy it. The limitation really is your imagination. Most games give you the content. Minecraft gives you the tools. So people who wants to be served content shouldn't play this game. People who can give them their own content should play it. I'm gonna give Minecraft 9 in score, because I know how to play it. Expand
  30. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    I was going to give this game a 10 but the block for 10 got blown up by a Creeper so it'll have to do with a 9+ A very fun game that is great for relaxing and planning vs the frantic intensity of an FPS or hack and slash of a dungeon crawl in Skyrim. This game is great for relaxing, and building something cool but also with the planning so your creation doesn't get destroyed. MinecraftI was going to give this game a 10 but the block for 10 got blown up by a Creeper so it'll have to do with a 9+ A very fun game that is great for relaxing and planning vs the frantic intensity of an FPS or hack and slash of a dungeon crawl in Skyrim. This game is great for relaxing, and building something cool but also with the planning so your creation doesn't get destroyed. Minecraft appeals to both the old school gamer and the new gamer, it's more of a thinking person's game but is also friendly to the casual gamer if you don't want to risk having your creations destroyed. All in all a fun and enjoyable game to play. Expand
  31. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is game witch is some what hard to try to compare to any other and that is one of its greatest strong points. There have been games in the past that were some what based around the idea that Minecraft is built on, but where they failed Minecraft has managed to do it brilliantly. The massive and open world is a blank canvas for the gamer to build or destroy what ever they feel.Minecraft is game witch is some what hard to try to compare to any other and that is one of its greatest strong points. There have been games in the past that were some what based around the idea that Minecraft is built on, but where they failed Minecraft has managed to do it brilliantly. The massive and open world is a blank canvas for the gamer to build or destroy what ever they feel. Which give a feeling of great feedback towards the player. And has a re-playability way beyond anything that has been released to this date. It is a gaming landmark and an eye opener for other gaming developers around the world. Expand
  32. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is a very good game where you can do a lot of things just with block... You can have a lot of fun... Notch is a pretty cool guy the game is really awesome.......................
  33. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    A wonderfully balanced game. With all of the different mods and texture packs, you can never get bored. Multiplayer is awesome and I've sunk hundreds of hours. Definitely a 10.
  34. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    It's a fairly good game. The graphics don't bother me at all. I actually think that they give the game a unique quality. It's fun to roam around and just explore whatever you want. To build whatever you want to is also a very fun thing to do. Overall, pretty good game. Not the best sandbox game I've ever played, but certainly not the worst.
  35. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    This game isn't perfect, but it's very fun. While Minecraft's main goal (defeat the Enderdragon) won't take that much time to complete, it's not necessarily the goal to focus on. The best part, I think, is the sandbox element. Take blocks that represent iron, water, sand, snow, etc. and make whatever you want. There are many devices to help you build just about anything imaginable. AThis game isn't perfect, but it's very fun. While Minecraft's main goal (defeat the Enderdragon) won't take that much time to complete, it's not necessarily the goal to focus on. The best part, I think, is the sandbox element. Take blocks that represent iron, water, sand, snow, etc. and make whatever you want. There are many devices to help you build just about anything imaginable. A great game for people who like to build things. Expand
  36. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Pros:
    -Most fun you can have online with your friends
    -Innovative gameplay -Redstone circuit stuffs -Building gives you a sense of accomplishment because u had to find the materials -Mods if you want to (lots of em) -Texture packs galore -Systems and things (mob systems, etc. are fun to build) -Quirks (weird bugs that make certain devices possible, adds complexity) -Good Graphics (they
    Pros:
    -Most fun you can have online with your friends
    -Innovative gameplay
    -Redstone circuit stuffs
    -Building gives you a sense of accomplishment because u had to find the materials
    -Mods if you want to (lots of em)
    -Texture packs galore
    -Systems and things (mob systems, etc. are fun to build)
    -Quirks (weird bugs that make certain devices possible, adds complexity)
    -Good Graphics (they chose a style and did it well)
    -No tutorial (tutorials piss me off)

    Cons:
    -Glitchy (also a pro, see above)
    -Laggy
    -No tutorial (for me this wasn't a problem, minecraftwiki.net is an excellent resource)
    -Final Release is rushed (give them a break guys, people begged them to release the full game, and so they set up MineCon and then rushed to complete the game on time - since when does a game developer ever release a game on time????)
    -Unfinished features (this will be fixed though eventually)
    -Weak AI (this is not that bad, the AI actually allows you to do certain things like mob system, but new AI is coming soon and would be appreciated)
    Expand
  37. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    When I read the negative reviews, I mostly see people complaining about how much fun the game was a year or 2 ago. They say it is boring and doesn't get updated anymore. BAH! I challenge these people to name 1 game they played for multiple years that wasn't a time sink, soul devouring MMO that they didn't get bored with after playing the heck out of it. I can't, they can't, you can't.When I read the negative reviews, I mostly see people complaining about how much fun the game was a year or 2 ago. They say it is boring and doesn't get updated anymore. BAH! I challenge these people to name 1 game they played for multiple years that wasn't a time sink, soul devouring MMO that they didn't get bored with after playing the heck out of it. I can't, they can't, you can't. The fact is, this game is fun. It takes you back to the days when creativity and imagination were enough to keep you entertained. So many of these kids nowadays are so cracked out on Mountain Dew and Call of Duty, that they forgot what using their own creativity feels like.

    Minecraft is a game that you will buy and enjoy. A LOT. The world is your oyster in Minecraft. Want to build something magnificent? CHECK. Want to explore a new, random world every time you load? CHECK. Want to create weapons, machines, farm, raise livestock, fish, build your own world? CHECK. Want to explore caverns, search for rare gems/rocks, fight zombies & skeletons? CHECK. The point is, there is a lot to do, a lot to keep you entertained and it is worth every penny you will spend. What more do you want in a game? Truly, the only potential turnoff is the graphics. Some people will hate having a PC with a GTX 580 and playing a game that looks so archaic. I challenge those people to go DL a texture pack or just give it a shot. If you have any shred of imagination you will like this game.
    Expand
  38. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    First off, if you think this game sucks, you are one of the MOST stupidest people on the face of the Earth. I mean, there is nothing bad about Minecraft. When you first play the game, you generate a open world with trees, grass, sand, water, etc. Once you get some wood, that's when the REALLY starts to to get exiting. You build your own house, fight some monsters to get some resources andFirst off, if you think this game sucks, you are one of the MOST stupidest people on the face of the Earth. I mean, there is nothing bad about Minecraft. When you first play the game, you generate a open world with trees, grass, sand, water, etc. Once you get some wood, that's when the REALLY starts to to get exiting. You build your own house, fight some monsters to get some resources and many more. My only complaint about this game is the ending. The ending is just a 10 minute long story of text then its the credits. So I think that can be improved. Plus, the game updates every so often so you will never get bored. Definitely worth your both your time and money. Expand
  39. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is a creative and fun game. Unlimited world space. and you can build whatever you want in this game. Ive spend over 100 hours playing this game. Great job Notch!
  40. May 31, 2014
    9
    Good things: insane modability provides a great amount of content, multiplayer on MMO-scale on some servers, total creative freedom, entire worlds to explore and conquer with friends/enemies
    Bad things: It does get stale after a long time of playing it, the combat system sucks
    If you buy it check out multiplayer, this is what pumps up the score, survival is only a small part of this
    Good things: insane modability provides a great amount of content, multiplayer on MMO-scale on some servers, total creative freedom, entire worlds to explore and conquer with friends/enemies
    Bad things: It does get stale after a long time of playing it, the combat system sucks

    If you buy it check out multiplayer, this is what pumps up the score, survival is only a small part of this delicious cake.
    Expand
  41. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing, Its just so strange that about 1 out of 3 people say the game is rubbish and boring. But beg to differ, Its in a genre of its own. This genre is what I call building-sandbox. It is the only game that actually saved creativity in gaming. Many of my friends say there is nothing special about the game, It aways annoys me, It is one of the most editable games in history.This game is amazing, Its just so strange that about 1 out of 3 people say the game is rubbish and boring. But beg to differ, Its in a genre of its own. This genre is what I call building-sandbox. It is the only game that actually saved creativity in gaming. Many of my friends say there is nothing special about the game, It aways annoys me, It is one of the most editable games in history. Plus, along with the amazing amount of content that games like COD and BF3 lack, Theres a whole nice community supporting it. It has a HUGE selection of Mods to choose from, Even a computer mod!!!! If you dont like the "rubbish and dull" Graphics that the game possesses, You can choose from a variety of texture packs! Even make your own! That is the one thing most reviews are missing When my friends say "ohh theres a New minecraft like game that has zombies in it!!!" all I say is "theres a modification for that!" Im surprized that they just ignore me.They also said, "theres a new game thats way better than minecraft that takes place on the moon!" Again they never knew this but heres one thing again, "theres a mod for that!" Yup, The mod community is basically endless, You can even Play adventure maps on it! No more need To buy New map packs that cost nearly as much as Minecraft itself,So minecraft is a money saver,However, every game has its flaws, just like every human has their flaws. The two bad things about the game is The game needs a STRONG computer,To run like the big games like COD and BF3. another flaw is the many bugs the game has, the good thing is, if you are a good JAVA programmer, You prob can fix the bug yourself! But many people that are reading this are not good programmers. A Unique Thing about the game is that some of the previous bugs had a personality Like the score bug where when Instead of showing a number, It showed a score of &e0 which I just ignored at first but Now I noticed that was a unique bug that was not nessisary to fix, That was a thing I am dissapointed about with minecraft, So overall, The game rates a 9 out of 10 But I want to soo badly Rate a 10. Expand
  42. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    I think I know why Minecraft is getting so many negative ratings. A large portion of these people are Hardcore FPSers. Playing MW3, and such. I feel sorry for them. They have completly missed the great thing that Minecraft is built around. Minecraft has no goals for a reason. It has no "Go to the checkpoint.", "Kill X ememies.", or "Press the button.".

    *It Does Not Tell You To Do
    I think I know why Minecraft is getting so many negative ratings. A large portion of these people are Hardcore FPSers. Playing MW3, and such. I feel sorry for them. They have completly missed the great thing that Minecraft is built around. Minecraft has no goals for a reason. It has no "Go to the checkpoint.", "Kill X ememies.", or "Press the button.".

    *It Does Not Tell You To Do Anything! The Only Goals Are Those You Create!*

    This is the secret to why people love Minecraft. There is nothing you have to do, you can do whatever you want.
    Expand
  43. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Create your own world in this simple and fun game. Although its clearly lacking in the graphics department, which is not of concern, this game lets you expand on any creativity you have to let you build your own world. I've wasted hours exploring, making houses, and surviving. You would be crazy not to buy this game.
  44. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    At first, my interpretation of Minecraft was... wait what? What am I doing? Then, as we went through Beta, I eventually got the hang of it. The lack of guides is there to intall a sense of community in the game and it's surely worked. The amount of things that you can do in the game are quite incredible and playing online (either via lan or on a server) is incredibly fun. It get's its highAt first, my interpretation of Minecraft was... wait what? What am I doing? Then, as we went through Beta, I eventually got the hang of it. The lack of guides is there to intall a sense of community in the game and it's surely worked. The amount of things that you can do in the game are quite incredible and playing online (either via lan or on a server) is incredibly fun. It get's its high score not for the gameplay, not for the aesthetics, but for the amount of things anyone can actually do. A game that gives you this much freedom is very much unseen in this day and age. Expand
  45. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is a great game. It's a game where people can pretty much do whatever you want. Not only is the original version fun and will keep you busy for days, if you ever somehow get bored there are hundreds of mods and texture packs you can use, to always keep you entertained.
    Also, the game is always being updated with new content and has a lot of potential.
    Minecraft receives a 10 out
    Minecraft is a great game. It's a game where people can pretty much do whatever you want. Not only is the original version fun and will keep you busy for days, if you ever somehow get bored there are hundreds of mods and texture packs you can use, to always keep you entertained.
    Also, the game is always being updated with new content and has a lot of potential.

    Minecraft receives a 10 out of 10 from me for all these reasons.
    Expand
  46. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    The PC version of "Minecraft" is fantastic. It's a brilliantly designed 3-D game. You can play by yourself and construct houses, explore caves and fight mobs. You can also play online and build together with your friends, PVP with other online players, or just explore the beauty of Minecraft together with friends. Definitely a recommended game for young and old.
  47. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Minecraft proves that modern games don't need fancy graphics or in-depth story to be truly amazing. Highly recommended, and one of the most innovative games I have ever played.
  48. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    For the amount of games I own in my steam library, and on the xbox the game that I still have put more hours in, and continue to put many hours in is Minecraft. I don't know why this game is so incredibly addicting but it keeps me coming back day after day.
  49. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    It is truly the worlds only true "open-world" game, having unlimited possibilities, unlimited stories, and an unlimited world. Minecraft has plenty of flaws, but it adds to the game somehow, making it more interesting, and, occasionally, frustrating. The only limit Minecraft has is the limit of the players own mind, and that is what makes it special.
  50. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a 10 simply because if you want it to be simple, it's simple, but if you want it to be complex, it's complex. And the fact that you can literally make anything you want in the game, as long as you have the imagination. You even have electricity which is called Red Stone. With this you can make lamps with a switch (just to make an easy example). You could also do pixel art,Minecraft is a 10 simply because if you want it to be simple, it's simple, but if you want it to be complex, it's complex. And the fact that you can literally make anything you want in the game, as long as you have the imagination. You even have electricity which is called Red Stone. With this you can make lamps with a switch (just to make an easy example). You could also do pixel art, which is art with the pixels (duh). A friend of mine had a friend that is a girl that created a picture of Albert Einstein. Yeah I'm serious.

    Make your own server, get mods, get it known all overthe world and have FUN! Worth every penny.
    Expand
  51. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    I know, I know, I am incredibly late on this one. I've played Minecraft for years now, and it is not only a game that revolutionized the Gaming Industry and especially the Indie industry. It is one of the most addictive, rewarding experiences you will ever play.
    If you haven't play Minecraft, what the hell are you waiting for? And trust me, the PC version is the one you want. First,
    I know, I know, I am incredibly late on this one. I've played Minecraft for years now, and it is not only a game that revolutionized the Gaming Industry and especially the Indie industry. It is one of the most addictive, rewarding experiences you will ever play.
    If you haven't play Minecraft, what the hell are you waiting for? And trust me, the PC version is the one you want. First, almost every computer in the world runs it, you don't need a megalodon with high-tech specs to run the game. Second, don't **** about graphics. Minecraft is a beautiful game. It's blocky art stile is charming, and seeing a sunset for the first time with the eclectic piano music behind is just mesmerizingly beautiful.
    The objective in Minecraft is to survive. Or at least it is in "Survival" mode. As you progress through the game, you will progress in things like building a house, hunting monsters or going to hell. Everything can be for nothing in a blink of an eye (When you are dead, YOU ARE dead). You must orientate yourself in the random generated world, find shelter and food, and protect yourself from the creatures of the night. At moments it is thrilling, at moments scary, at moments funny. You never know what is going to happen in a typical Minecraft day.
    Then you have "Creative" mode. In this mode, you can do whatever you want with the blocks you want. Build a giant diamond mansion, and why not shape it like a yatch? How about farming zombies? The limit is literally your imagination.
    Minecraft also offers a multiplayer service. You can either play with friends or join a server to play something with the community. Want to play Hunger Games, Block Hunt and many other games with people from all around the world? Then the multiplayer experience is perfect for you. The variety of things to do and see is amazing.
    Minecraft is easily one of the jewels of this generation and of gaming history. It isn't ambitious and still, it feels like the biggest-scaled game ever made. It is always updating, expanding to keep things fresh, and it truly is the Indie Game that revolutionized the industry.
    Expand
  52. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    I first read about Minecraft on IgnorantGamingNews.com, and I was intrigued so I had a go on the basic free version. Though it was completely simplistic, I could see the potential of a full working game built around the principle. I went ahead and bought the full game, and I think it is one of the best value-for-money games out there.

    Before I talk about the gameplay, I want to talk
    I first read about Minecraft on IgnorantGamingNews.com, and I was intrigued so I had a go on the basic free version. Though it was completely simplistic, I could see the potential of a full working game built around the principle. I went ahead and bought the full game, and I think it is one of the best value-for-money games out there.

    Before I talk about the gameplay, I want to talk about the way it is handled by its designer(s). First up, they constantly update the game for free - you make one payment for the game, and then you own it, and you can download subsequent updates without paying! Not just fixing errors and glitches, but adding entirely new things to do in the game. There is no subscription cost, so they appear to be doing it out of love for the game, more than anything else. Second, they listen to feedback from fans, and even incorporate elements that have been created by fans, if they realise they are good enough to be added to the official version. On top of this, the director has said that if you don't feel that Minecraft is worth the money, just pirate it, and if you decide later that it's worth the money, then you can choose to pay if you want. You don't hear that very often these days. So I love the attitude. Of course, you can have a nice bunch of guys make a game, but who gives a **** if the game plays like a bag of balls? Luckily that is not the case.

    You start the game up and you can choose either Survival Mode (which is the kind of "standard" mode), or you can choose Creative Mode, which gives you access to everything in the game, like a God Mode, and you can also fly around and do whatever you want. In Survival Mode, you begin with nothing at all, and you spawn on a land mass in the wilderness. First thing you notice is that the game generates the landscape as you move through it (though once it is generated, it is permanent). This means that your game experience will be unique to everyone else's - and if you start a new game, it will be different to your first game. You can choose to play Minecraft however you want to. But I advise going to http://www.minecraftwiki.net/wiki/Recipes to get an understand of how to make things to help you.

    Once you've checked out that list, you will want to dive in and start making things. Most likely you will begin with a wooden pick axe, so that you can mine a bit of stone, so you can make stone tools. Stronger material makes better tools, which mine quicker, and last longer before breaking, as well as being able to give you access to more kinds of materials that you can't mine with an inferior tool. So once you have a stone axe, trees are easy to take down, and you can mine through stone to find coal and iron ore with your stone pick axe. You can also make a stone sword to fend off baddies - such as zombies, giant spiders and exploding monsters.

    Finding coal is important to start with, to make torches, because it will get dark pretty quick, and as well as not being able to see what you're doing, baddies will spawn in dark places and kill you fairly swiftly (especially early in the game when you don't have much to defend yourself with). You should also make yourself a shelter, to hide up and make a treasure chest to save all the goodies you've found. It is satisfying to make your first little hideout, whether it's a wooden hut, a cave you happen to come across, or a hole in the ground leading to a little tunnel. There is a feeling of safety and personality that is not present in other games. You feel like it's "yours", and as you start to furnish it and dig out new rooms, or put flooring down, you turn a hostile world into a pleasant environment. You can make a door or a trapdoor on the entrance to stop enemies just walking in. Also important is making a bed - they act as checkpoints or spawn points, so when you are killed, you will respawn at the last bed you slept in, rather than always having to respawn at the place you spawned at the very beginning of the game.

    From this point on, your imagination is really your limit. Do you want to explore and see what the land is like, and find all kinds of terrain ranging from snowy mountains, to deserts and swamps? Do you want to go mining and dig into some caves and look for gold, diamonds, ruins, dungeons and treasure? Do you want to hunt enemies, and loot them for their unique items? Do you want to build a castle, or a tree house? Do you want to build traps to catch enemies automatically? Do you want to build a water slide, or a roller coaster? Do you want to make a safe area by making it light up with torches, then build a village or even a city? Do you want to build an underground tunnel system? Do you want to build a railway system? Do you want to build a farm and raise animals? Do you want to grow plants and fruits? Do you want to see how high you can build, or how deep you can dig? It's basically like a giant playground, a giant wilderness where you can build whatever you want.
    Expand
  53. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    I don't understand that why people think Minecraft is a low-graphic game? Are you serious? This game does not about GRAPHIC. This is about your creativity. You can do whatever you want! Like castles,houses... Example, someone made a Battlefield 3 map in Minecraft (Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=be3CyvUptEc) This game will broad your mind. Just build something. Or play with your friends.
  54. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is a great game. Ia would recommend this game whether you are a hardcore gamer or just someone who is looking for a game just to kick back and relax. Some people may think that this game gets a bit boring but that is why there are tons of mods to experiment with.
  55. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Opening the door for creativity and absolute sandbox give this game a perfect score in my book. Gamers understand that sometimes the modding community can make the game so much more than its original developers... for for that This game will be forever entered into the hall of firsts. some times good graphics do not matter, as long as mechanics and fun exist. HINT HINT AAA developers.
  56. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Amazing game! Unending fun, addicting multiplayer, and the ability to be extremely creative make this one of the most memorable and maybe one of the best games of all time. You can put hundreds of hours into Minecraft and still have fun.
  57. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing its endless fun and hard to stop playing. If you don't like the main game that's fine just check out some mods. If you don't like the graphics get a texture pack. Over all this is an amazing game.
  58. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    I don't really know what to write in here. Minecraft is just awesome. If you are creative, you'll never get out of work and fun! To describe it very short: Minecraft is THE game, I would take to a lonely island!
  59. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Honestly, Minecraft is the best game I have ever played. There's something in it for everyone. Yeah, singleplayer vanilla may get boring after a while, but there's a practically endless assortment of awesome mods to choose from. And multiplayer, in my opinion, is really the great part of this game. For me, if I can find myself a relatively small server with a good community, I'm in heaven.Honestly, Minecraft is the best game I have ever played. There's something in it for everyone. Yeah, singleplayer vanilla may get boring after a while, but there's a practically endless assortment of awesome mods to choose from. And multiplayer, in my opinion, is really the great part of this game. For me, if I can find myself a relatively small server with a good community, I'm in heaven. Although many would disagree with me, I think the graphics work perfectly for the game, and even if you're unhappy with them there are plenty of great texture packs (one I would recommend is John Smith). The price point may look a little high, but when you compare it to a generic FPS that may be 20 dollars more with a 6 hour campaign and unimaginative gameplay, its a steal. Expand
  60. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    You Absolutely would not guess how many hour i have sunk into this game, and it is simply the most innovating game and one of the best games i have ever played, a well earned 10 is what this games gets. it has flaws of course, but every game does. for example, there should be more purpose to exploring places like the nether and the end( but it is also satisfyingly rewarding) like netherYou Absolutely would not guess how many hour i have sunk into this game, and it is simply the most innovating game and one of the best games i have ever played, a well earned 10 is what this games gets. it has flaws of course, but every game does. for example, there should be more purpose to exploring places like the nether and the end( but it is also satisfyingly rewarding) like nether chest. i would complain that there should be level for mining but they have fixed that. a harder game mode would be nice, hardcore is scary but mobs can be killed very easily. and finally, just add herobrine. it would give a little bit of fear into the game. if they did this, i would try to convince metacritic to make and 11 out of 10 option Expand
  61. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is one of these very controversial and heavy opinionated games. I my personal opinion it's one of these games that have a huge impact in the gaming world Never have I seen a voxel based game improve over time as this game If you really look at it for what it's done as a game done to it's players it has brought back the creativity in all of us reviving people's imagination andMinecraft is one of these very controversial and heavy opinionated games. I my personal opinion it's one of these games that have a huge impact in the gaming world Never have I seen a voxel based game improve over time as this game If you really look at it for what it's done as a game done to it's players it has brought back the creativity in all of us reviving people's imagination and If you look at it as the game it self well that's your own opinion but it is easy one of those game the I will mention of years to come. It well deserves this praise and if you tell me if this game is unfinished well that's the best thing about it because it your imagination the finishes it. Expand
  62. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Minecraft, what can I say? It probably has more freedom than any other PC game, and can keep you addicted for hours on end. Singleplayer is good enough to be a game by itself, but there's also multiplayer, which is even better when it isn't lagging. Minecraft lets you do whatever you like, with an optional final boss. However, Minecraft doesn't add a whole lot new to PC gaming, besideMinecraft, what can I say? It probably has more freedom than any other PC game, and can keep you addicted for hours on end. Singleplayer is good enough to be a game by itself, but there's also multiplayer, which is even better when it isn't lagging. Minecraft lets you do whatever you like, with an optional final boss. However, Minecraft doesn't add a whole lot new to PC gaming, beside block-based everything. The more you play Minecraft, the more you realize it's just the same thing over and over. Mods can help to add more to the game, but vanilla is the same thing repeated many times. Overall, very, very good, but not enough variety. Expand
  63. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    I've been with the game since a few days before the update to BETA 1.2, back when "Wow beds that set your spawn!" Was a huge game changer. The game has taken a big place in my heart, and even though I grew bored of single player after a few weeks and made myself create a new world which I got bored of a little quicker again I did drift from the game. As it's popularity increased thoughI've been with the game since a few days before the update to BETA 1.2, back when "Wow beds that set your spawn!" Was a huge game changer. The game has taken a big place in my heart, and even though I grew bored of single player after a few weeks and made myself create a new world which I got bored of a little quicker again I did drift from the game. As it's popularity increased though more servers became available and more people and friends got the game and a community was born, possibly the greatest game community of all if you pretend Little Big Planet doesn't exist (That's a compliment to both games)

    The multiplayer is a lot of fun and although building a village, town or city with friends eventually you run out of things to do, UNLESS you challenge yourselves, think of something and don't stop until you've achieved it. After that, install some mods, play some adventure maps and join some game servers like survival games and spleef arenas and parkour. The game has unlimited possibilities all thanks to it's players.

    The only thing I dislike about the game is with each coming update it looses some of the original charm that it had in the beginning. Even though it makes a better game with more things to do, I find myself upset to remember that the days of being impressed by beds is behind us. That may just be me however.

    Check this game out, play it at a friends house or try our the demo and watch a few videos. I promise you will want to be throwing your money right at it because I would have happily payed triple the price for this game that has given countless hours of entertainment to me, and counting.
    Expand
  64. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    I've bean around since alpha and have sill bean playing it so about 1 year of me Sitting at my computer playing, That's allot of game-play and its a very small file No pay DLC the updates are free! with new things and That's what i love about it
  65. May 7, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a GREAT game. I can't for the life of me figure out why some people give minecraft 1 or 0 or whatever. When i first saw it i thought what kind of graphics are these? Then i realized they were actually really good (on my opinion though,) and the game play never ever gets old. NEVER. There is always something to do like redstone contraptions,building humongous buildings andMinecraft is a GREAT game. I can't for the life of me figure out why some people give minecraft 1 or 0 or whatever. When i first saw it i thought what kind of graphics are these? Then i realized they were actually really good (on my opinion though,) and the game play never ever gets old. NEVER. There is always something to do like redstone contraptions,building humongous buildings and playing it with honest, fun people. It actually really lightens it up. I do have to say it needs some more updates. (lazy staff.) Expand
  66. May 15, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is brilliant! The game is about placing blocks and surviving. Although it might sound weird, it is really worth a try. I've put hundreds of hours in this game, and it never gets boring!

    The game is regularly updated and there's always new things to play around with. The only limit in Minecraft, is you. Just imagine how much you can achieve with an unlimited world and tons of
    Minecraft is brilliant! The game is about placing blocks and surviving. Although it might sound weird, it is really worth a try. I've put hundreds of hours in this game, and it never gets boring!

    The game is regularly updated and there's always new things to play around with. The only limit in Minecraft, is you. Just imagine how much you can achieve with an unlimited world and tons of blocks to build with. If that's not enough, there's a lot of mods and modpacks for the game. Many people are against the new updates that added features like enchanting or leveling but I personally don't have anything against these. These are survival elements that makes the game more fun. Minecraft will mainly always be about creativity and building so it doesn't really matter.
    Expand
  67. May 15, 2013
    10
    This game is a Masterpiece in all ways. You can play Singleplayer which is really enjoyable if you play it with mods, but without it still nice to play, and you can play Multiplayer which is really the most awesome thing ever. The graphics are good to a game that has infinite possibilities in an infinite world (anyways, you can install LOTS of texture and graphic mods). The sound is niceThis game is a Masterpiece in all ways. You can play Singleplayer which is really enjoyable if you play it with mods, but without it still nice to play, and you can play Multiplayer which is really the most awesome thing ever. The graphics are good to a game that has infinite possibilities in an infinite world (anyways, you can install LOTS of texture and graphic mods). The sound is nice too. You can do everything in this game! it's probably one of the best RPGs ever, it's very simple to play but you can do in this game the most complicated things ever and you can develop and test your creativity. It's like a LEGO infinite world and infinite odds, hell I think this game is infinite in all ways. There are a lot of free updates and improvements every month, that make the game bigger and bigger.

    I have to say that the best way to play this game is installing mods or/and playing multiplayer with friends, if you play singleplayer without an idea you could get little bit disappointed, because it's simple to play, but difficult to learn (this game has a lot of things). But if you give to this game an opportunity, and you play with friends/mods, it's a Masterpiece.

    Sorry for my english. Download this game, and if you like it you can buy the game, but it's not 100% necessary (I bought it because I wanted to contribute the developers).
    Expand
  68. May 22, 2013
    10
    Mine craft is just the best experience you can get on pc at this moment, it is what ever you want it to be, the game offers a lot of mods with can be very easily installed via launcher, which adds a whole wide of possibilities it will always stay fresh and if the graphics get old to you, you can simply change them with a texture pack, this game is truly something special and anyone whoMine craft is just the best experience you can get on pc at this moment, it is what ever you want it to be, the game offers a lot of mods with can be very easily installed via launcher, which adds a whole wide of possibilities it will always stay fresh and if the graphics get old to you, you can simply change them with a texture pack, this game is truly something special and anyone who has a creative mind with just indulge them self in this game Expand
  69. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    Minecraft, to me, is an amazing game. But I'm not going to make this statement without backing it up. I first started playing minecraft after a friend showed it to me. Back then, it's freedom, pixelated beauty, and atmosphere of mystery and exploration drew me like a magnet. It was a beacon a lighthouse illuminating the horrid state of the games I was playing. I bought the game almostMinecraft, to me, is an amazing game. But I'm not going to make this statement without backing it up. I first started playing minecraft after a friend showed it to me. Back then, it's freedom, pixelated beauty, and atmosphere of mystery and exploration drew me like a magnet. It was a beacon a lighthouse illuminating the horrid state of the games I was playing. I bought the game almost immediately after and right away fell in love. As I was then a newcomer, the community welcomed me. More so than any mainstream multiplier-capable game I've ever played. Instead of rejecting me, treating me like something to be laughed at, I was assisted by other players. Minecraft drew my attention to other great indie games. Far better that the mainstream shooters could ever hope to be. I looked back on the games I had once played with scorn and (mainly) regret. I've found games in the Indie community that can out match any game run by a large company. Some of these games include Kerbal Space Program, Ace Of Spades Classic, Terraria, and much more. I see minecraft as not only a game, but the prominent and most well-known game among the indie game community. I'm sick and tired of on-rail games. They're a thing of the past. Steam has the greenlight service for a reason. I'm among the group of gamers who are tired of games in which the only people that have freedom are the creators, and in which the players are penalized for not adhering to the game's brutal story line of the game. And what if I don't want to fight in an endless and arbitrary war? On-rail games often depict an extraordinary world, yet confine the players to a battlefield often no bigger than that of an airport- and those are the biggest maps I've seen. They offer no degree of freedom, individuality, or creativeness. Minecraft and some other games I've seen in the indie community can often, in my opinion, be classified as art. That is much much more than could be said about some shooters. And when you hate and just can't stand minecraft's pixelated textures, get or make a texture pack. If you get bored of the game play, install a mod or make your own. Minecraft, after all, is only limited by your imagination. Expand
  70. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    No matter what gaming mood I'm in, Minecraft is playable everyday. I love this game. It's so fun by myself and with friends. It takes a creative mind to build spectacular things. You literally can't go wrong with Minecraft people.
  71. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    An amazing game, but multiplayer sometimes fails. I've been trying to play multiplayer with my friend and its keeps shutting down when we attempt. I started to play back in Beta and have been havin fun collecting diamonds and killing squids and sheep n' stuff. This game is great way to express imagination through building.
  72. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a very special game like no other. It is revolutionary and inspired game developers to create more sandbox like games. Its very great to play the game while constantly being updated with new things.
  73. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    Honestly this is the game I've played and enjoyed more.
    It has a myriad of game options, not only to build, is to survive, have fun with friends, play the Hunger Games, counter strike, play adventure maps (my favorite part), in order to shorten it's great.
    The most people think they have bad graphics but is that the secret of this game, blocks make it unique and the first in a series of
    Honestly this is the game I've played and enjoyed more.
    It has a myriad of game options, not only to build, is to survive, have fun with friends, play the Hunger Games, counter strike, play adventure maps (my favorite part), in order to shorten it's great.
    The most people think they have bad graphics but is that the secret of this game, blocks make it unique and the first in a series of prints like minecraft cheap because no are two. Perfect.
    Expand
  74. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    One of the most open-ended & fun games I've ever played. I'm a very loyal fan to this constantly evolving and extremely addictive masterpiece. Minecraft is worth every minute of my time and has paid for itself 100 times over (and counting).

    The "big companies" need to pay attention to this game: I challenge any one of them to come up with a title this successful. Good luck!
  75. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    First of all it's very lonely game. I am talking about single-player, of course. You can't get this sense of loneliness in any other game. And for me it's very enjoyable.
    Secondly, it's beautiful game. Not talking about graphics, but style. Rain, snow, night - everything is really well-made.
    And thirdly, feel of discovery is awesome.
    Its a great game and you should at least try it.
  76. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is one of the most revolutionary games out there. The open worlds are AMAZING. There is so much to do now with 1.7 just came out. It is so worth the cash. Go get it now.
  77. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    minecraft SUCKS! no just kidding its a really well made game with the need to make whatever you whant but this really good but i need to start on the battleblock review so 10-10
  78. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a fun sandbox game. This game has no purpose except to build in creative and to survive in survival mode. There are 2 bosses one called the Enderdragon, the other called the Wither Boss. the only thing you have to get over is the bad graphics. this game is very fun and I recommend you get it every update is free after you have bought the game. the gameg current price is 27.95$
  79. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    First of all I am a very harsh critic on almost everything and personally I think that minecraft goes down as one of the best games of all time and it is a sandbox its just amazing that Mojang came out with a sandbox that most people like based on 60% of gamers playing games like call of duty or battlefield
  80. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is my favorite game of all time. Haters gonna hate because they are too retarded to think that callofduty is the best game known to man. minecraft is awesome.
  81. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a beautiful game. The whole idea of your imagination being the limit is extraordinary! The game deserves a 10 out of 10 because of everything to do with it. Definitely buy this.
  82. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games ever. And the reason it has low score is because of all the haters that don't like minecraft who either haven't played it but think it's stupid, or have no imagination. So all I can say is, haters gonna hate! Thanks for listening!
  83. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    You guys seriously HAVE to play this, this is the most addicting and fun game ever, who cares about graphics? more options come soon and you should know that! Jeb and Dinnerbone are working their but's off to give the perfect game to you, act like a champion.
  84. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is simply the biggest thing in game design that has happened during the last 10 years. In a time were most games were just plain stupid, unimaginative and uncreative there came minecraft and saved the market. This is not only an absolutely genius game with a wonderful concept, great atmosphere and beautiful music, this is a revolution for the game market.
  85. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    Now these are my words coming from my mouth. This is my opinion review. I gave Minecraft a 9/10 because Jeb was put in charge. Minecraft was better when Marcus "Notch" Pearson was in charge. Jeb turned Minecraft over to it's "darkest zone". The only good thing about all of this is that Jeb put a down grader in the launcher. I love Minecraft, but am disappointing in what Jeb has done withNow these are my words coming from my mouth. This is my opinion review. I gave Minecraft a 9/10 because Jeb was put in charge. Minecraft was better when Marcus "Notch" Pearson was in charge. Jeb turned Minecraft over to it's "darkest zone". The only good thing about all of this is that Jeb put a down grader in the launcher. I love Minecraft, but am disappointing in what Jeb has done with Minecraft. I wish that Notch would come back and Jeb would be co assistant. Notch, please come back and fix Jeb's "new game". Expand
  86. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    This game is just insane. I started playing this at the Alpha stage, just after Multiplayer was added. Before i bought the game i played the free version (A friend of mine had a server and made me OP). We made some nice stuffs n' that, but it got quite boring quite fast, and i decided to give the full game a shot. I just really loved the unlimited possibilities in the game, and today it'sThis game is just insane. I started playing this at the Alpha stage, just after Multiplayer was added. Before i bought the game i played the free version (A friend of mine had a server and made me OP). We made some nice stuffs n' that, but it got quite boring quite fast, and i decided to give the full game a shot. I just really loved the unlimited possibilities in the game, and today it's probably my most played game with approximately 1.000 hours played, if not more.
    Another thing i really love is that when im out of ideas and the game starts to get boring, then i've most likely been able to take a break from Minecraft (a few months) to get new ideas and so on. When i get new ideas it's like playing a whole new game every time because of all these possibilities.
    Some people also complain about the graphics considering it's a game from 2011, but to me it just makes the game truly unique, and i also think that was what Notch wanted to obtain with this kind of graphics.
    All in all i really love this game, and after so many hours of fun, i feel like the least i can do is to give this game a 10 of 10!
    PS: I would not recommend to judge this game, if you've only played the free version, go buy the full game and try it instead. It's so much better!
    Expand
  87. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    One of the best video games you can play right now. There's so much you can do with this game. You can create, you can build, you can survive the possibilities are immense.
  88. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This is an excellent game. You will never run out of stuff to do. If you get bored with the default vanilla, try a mod or a custom map.
    There are tons of really awesome mods and custom maps out there. There are custom servers too, with games like Bow spleef, Survival games, The Walls, Super Craft Brothers and a LOT of others.
    Some claim Minecraft is a bad game, because there is not a lot
    This is an excellent game. You will never run out of stuff to do. If you get bored with the default vanilla, try a mod or a custom map.
    There are tons of really awesome mods and custom maps out there. There are custom servers too, with games like Bow spleef, Survival games, The Walls, Super Craft Brothers and a LOT of others.
    Some claim Minecraft is a bad game, because there is not a lot to do in vanilla survival. I do admit, that it does get boring. But the point of Minecraft is not just to play vanilla survival. The point of Minecraft is to try mods, custom maps and servers.
    The speciality about Minecraft is that more stuff gets added every few months. Of course you might claim that a lot of games add new purchasable content every month, but Minecraft gives every update for free.
    Those, who claimed that Minecraft is bad in 1.0 (the official "Release"), should try again. Minecraft is never going to be actually "Ready", as more bug fixes and features keep getting added all the time!
    Some claim the ending sucks. The ending of Minecraft is not the main point. It's just a tiny little part of the game.
    Expand
  89. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is one of the indie games, that were ever made. In contrast to other games, Minecraft contains no story, that means you can invent one. It haves no interesting environment, that means you can build one. This game let you invent your game and with the periodical updates it will never be boring and you can always achieve something.
  90. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. There is nothing you can't do, and if you get bored with whatever you are doing. Go and look at the bazillion mods that are out there for it. The will never be 'finished' as it is constantly getting updated with new blocks and features. Like in the latest snapshot, there is a cell shader that is basically if your character was to take LSD, who doesn't want that. AllThis game is amazing. There is nothing you can't do, and if you get bored with whatever you are doing. Go and look at the bazillion mods that are out there for it. The will never be 'finished' as it is constantly getting updated with new blocks and features. Like in the latest snapshot, there is a cell shader that is basically if your character was to take LSD, who doesn't want that. All the bastards who give this game a score. Clearly haven't played the game, and if they did then they didn't play it properly.
    - LachoHunta
    Expand
  91. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a good game. Go play it now and be creative. Create your own world and do whatever you want with your blocks and items. It's just... awesome.
  92. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Well I am simply going to say this, Minecraft is the most outstanding game ever, it has created a whole new world of gaming, in multiple sences, you are free to do what ever you want, construct an enormous kingdom, model anything you wish, create your own mods and texture packs, even uphold your very own server for other people world wide to join you. By far worth your money, I almost feelWell I am simply going to say this, Minecraft is the most outstanding game ever, it has created a whole new world of gaming, in multiple sences, you are free to do what ever you want, construct an enormous kingdom, model anything you wish, create your own mods and texture packs, even uphold your very own server for other people world wide to join you. By far worth your money, I almost feel as if i'm stealing from them because it is so cheap, especially to new games coming out, this is by far the best choice! Expand
  93. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Truly awesome, epic and wonderful, Minecraft is like the boredom buster on my life and I will not stop from playing this first-person sandbox creative game! Minecraft is certainly the best game I've downloaded from my computer, has cute mobs like ocelots and cats, evil mobs like blazes and ghast, bosses like Wither and Ender Dragon and has awesome texture design!
  94. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a great game, where you could really build anything (with some creativity, of course). The game is always expanding, with more and more things being added. You can do anything you want. And for those who want to expand it, modifications are free and legal to download and use. I, personally, don't use very many mods, but I've seen them and tried a lot. Minecraft is fun when youMinecraft is a great game, where you could really build anything (with some creativity, of course). The game is always expanding, with more and more things being added. You can do anything you want. And for those who want to expand it, modifications are free and legal to download and use. I, personally, don't use very many mods, but I've seen them and tried a lot. Minecraft is fun when you are bored, or even if you aren't. Expand
  95. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    This is going to be the most non-biased and detailed review you are going to read. I will talk about Minecraft, a pixelated, blocky, survival themed sandbox RPG that consists of creation and destruction.

    I am going to start of with the graphics. I know it may look dated and pixelated, though the sheer idea is in a way, genius. No one ever thinks to make a pixelated 3D game, for one.
    This is going to be the most non-biased and detailed review you are going to read. I will talk about Minecraft, a pixelated, blocky, survival themed sandbox RPG that consists of creation and destruction.

    I am going to start of with the graphics. I know it may look dated and pixelated, though the sheer idea is in a way, genius. No one ever thinks to make a pixelated 3D game, for one. There is like a line of separation between pixelated 2D and polygonal 3D. This makes it memorable. Secondly, it reduces lag. You claim it's a buggy mess. I tell you it's really not that bad. The bugs that are there are minor and being fixed by constant updates. You may think it was because they were indie developers and so they couldn't, or they were too lazy, but I tell you it wouldn't of been too hard to make it super polished. Still, you can choose whether you want to love it or ate it. You can add texture packs if you really dislike it, though you'd need a super computer for some of the better high-res ones.

    Now, about the world. It's fully destructible. It's made of cubes. The former is the cause of the latter, because these were indie developers. I'm not saying they couldn't of, but they didn't. It definitely works, and makes exploration workable. They don't have Assassin's Creed type character movement, but the destructibility makes it workable. It means there is a type of strategy to what you do, and let's you get creative. The creation is good for the most part, but since it's made out of cubes, and they all have to exist on this 3D grid, it definitely creates spatial problems. For example, making a car like object is impossible, even though you can use minecarts, which needs to have rails placed before hand. In the end, it's still brilliant. You can create and destroy in Minecraft, as well as create functional things with redstone, Minecraft's electronics equivalent. This makes Minecraft the most creative game ever made, while letting you use strategy.

    Minecraft has no story. You make your own goals, but there are challenging areas and enemies that have been implemented to help you make them. Singleplayer is fun and will keep you hooked, but multiplayer is just great. You will have some trouble setting a server up if you want to play with friends, but after the setting up, it's fairly easy to start it again. You can create traps in Minecraft, and it's good in singleplayer to fight enemies (that need better AI, although being worked on), but it's best when you use it in multiplayer.
    Expand
  96. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    A great educational and creative game that allows the players to do and build whatever they want in a virtual infinite space. But be warned: if you are not a creative person, you'll get bored really fast.
  97. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing and revolutionary. It changed the world. there has never been any game like this one before so I am giving it a 10. this is one of those games that you can play forever and never get sick of.
    highly recommending
  98. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    This game gives to you total freedom: Play as you like, do the "job" finishing the game, or simply explore the world building big and strange houses! You'll love it, if you loved Lego years ago. It's an enormous and very fun sandbox game, that represents the top of Indie Games. VIRTUALINN.IT
  99. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    A fast and fluent endless world to build and create. Cheap price with no membership (as of this date), where you rightfully get what you paid for. An aspect of the game that was difficult to grasp was the multiplayer, which I feel is a big essential for "not getting bored" during a never ending game play experience. Of course, servers and what not have been well understood by manyA fast and fluent endless world to build and create. Cheap price with no membership (as of this date), where you rightfully get what you paid for. An aspect of the game that was difficult to grasp was the multiplayer, which I feel is a big essential for "not getting bored" during a never ending game play experience. Of course, servers and what not have been well understood by many long-term players, but newer players (i.e. Me, when I first played) don't understand the server concept well enough to actually know how to connect themselves in other worlds. Mojang is aware of this, and rumors of implementing a new, easier to understand multiplayer system is in play. I think people of all ages should give this game a go, as it might be worth your while. Collapse
  100. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    A really great game! I have had this game purchased in 2012 Spring, and I still play it! The graphics are the style of the game! Plus you can change the textures of the graphics by getting texture packs/ resource packs, if you would like a more realistic theme.
  101. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    A fast and fluent endless world to build and create. Cheap price with no membership (as of this date), where you rightfully get what you paid for. An aspect of the game that was difficult to grasp was the multiplayer, which I feel is a big essential for "not getting bored" during a never ending game play experience. Of course, servers and what not have been well understood by manyA fast and fluent endless world to build and create. Cheap price with no membership (as of this date), where you rightfully get what you paid for. An aspect of the game that was difficult to grasp was the multiplayer, which I feel is a big essential for "not getting bored" during a never ending game play experience. Of course, servers and what not have been well understood by many long-term players, but newer players (i.e. Me, when I first played) don't understand the server concept well enough to actually know how to connect themselves in other worlds. Mojang is aware of this, and rumors of implementing a new, easier to understand multiplayer system is in play. I think people of all ages should give this game a go, as it might be worth your while. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]