User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3487 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2015
    10
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  2. Apr 24, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why mojang made this game? I don't know. Why I think they made this game?
    Here:
    Be careful what you wish for, Because you might get it.Luv luv luv luv luv!
    Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2015
    10
    Where can I begin with Minecraft. Minecraft is definitely one of the best games of all time. You can do almost anything you want to do with what the world has supplied for you. You are going to have a wild adventure playing singleplayer or multiplayer. This game is seriously addictive. If you haven't heard of this game, you must be living under a rock, like seriously. This game isWhere can I begin with Minecraft. Minecraft is definitely one of the best games of all time. You can do almost anything you want to do with what the world has supplied for you. You are going to have a wild adventure playing singleplayer or multiplayer. This game is seriously addictive. If you haven't heard of this game, you must be living under a rock, like seriously. This game is essential to buy. Expand
  4. jse
    Apr 18, 2015
    10
    MineCraft is so fun i'm getting it for my brithday i have it for the xbox 360 so thats how i know how fun it is. mooncreeft is what me and my friend call it jffjwaejfjwgwjebguwehbuiewb
  5. Apr 14, 2015
    9
    Minecraft is a game were you mine and craft. You can do anything you want in this game. Wanna make giant tower? Do it. Want to play mini-games on servers with friends? Play it. WANNA FIGHT A GIANT DRAGON?!?! YOU CAN DO THAT!!! The only problem is the early learn curve when it comes to crafting.
  6. Apr 8, 2015
    9
    O jogo proporciona um mundo quase completo para o jogador, que ainda pode ser incrementado com Mods, um mundo onde não se tem um verdadeiro limite, um jogo muito manipulável, onde o objetivo principal que talvez possa ser matar um "dragão", não seja realmente um objetivo para o jogador, pois o mesmo determina o que irá fazer em um mundo onde as características são extremamente divertidas!
  7. Apr 2, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really love Minecraft, and think it's really cool the way servers and mods are all fan- made, so you could have a parody of any other game in a server or an endless open world because of the world generating feature, but there's one problem: very often when I try to join a server, the game freezes and goes "Not Responding." Please fix this in your next update. Expand
  8. Mar 30, 2015
    9
    A perfect game, you can build your own world with an almost absolute freedom. You can play the game with mods to make it more fitting to your tastes. One of the few interesting games I advise to play
  9. Mar 18, 2015
    10
    This is the perfect mix of more is less and endless possibilities. The graphics are obviously not very good, but that's on purpose, you only have so much stuff, but you can still build whatever you want, keep playing and gaining, experiment with red stone (most fun), etc. This was a fresh, new, innovative idea which has hooked millions for a reason.
  10. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    This is my favourite game of all time. The open-world means that you can do whatever you want, you can find Diamonds in survival, or build a castle in creative, or play hunger games on multiplayer. The graphics look good, and there is always something new to discover.
  11. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I dont why the people hate the graphics or the no-logic in the game. Im not a fanboy or a rat-kid.

    If Minecraft was realistic the game such whorse. Some games dont have too logics and still being a goodness game's .
    Expand
  12. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    I would have given it 10/10 but Microsoft bought it end of. The reason why is the game-play of it is good and nothing is wrong (Except for it being a bit easier) and Microsoft buys all the good games and turn them bad. I would give it a 9.5/10. The it doesn't get the extra .5 is because of the lag and dread of getting banned for no reason from servers. Survival mode is limited and it isI would have given it 10/10 but Microsoft bought it end of. The reason why is the game-play of it is good and nothing is wrong (Except for it being a bit easier) and Microsoft buys all the good games and turn them bad. I would give it a 9.5/10. The it doesn't get the extra .5 is because of the lag and dread of getting banned for no reason from servers. Survival mode is limited and it is great to play modded servers with friends. Expand
  13. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This game is just another complete rip-off of angry birds. The game itself is exactly the same except the graphics quality is much lower and the gameplay is significantly less user friendly.
  14. Feb 13, 2015
    10
    Minecraft is a game for all ages. This game is a game of creativity, the only limit is your imagination. Besides the sky. The game can represent multiple thing such as creativity and twisted physics, If nobody has told you to buy it, do it. This game is fun online or offline, online you can play with people from around the world. This game could simply be mind bending puzzles to someMinecraft is a game for all ages. This game is a game of creativity, the only limit is your imagination. Besides the sky. The game can represent multiple thing such as creativity and twisted physics, If nobody has told you to buy it, do it. This game is fun online or offline, online you can play with people from around the world. This game could simply be mind bending puzzles to some extremely complex dirt houses. This game has bosses and some concept of reality and not so much money unless it comes to trading with villagers. Minecraft can teach a concept of money and dynamics. Its a basic game to teach 3D concept. Expand
  15. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    Easily the best open world game ever made with its massive world sizes (60,000,000 meters wide and long!) and its variety of bosses and mobs. The lack of story only adds to the immersion because you can role play very easily as the entire world is your oyster. Every map is generated randomly, so no map will be the same and is open to your imagination. You could build a mansion, a city, orEasily the best open world game ever made with its massive world sizes (60,000,000 meters wide and long!) and its variety of bosses and mobs. The lack of story only adds to the immersion because you can role play very easily as the entire world is your oyster. Every map is generated randomly, so no map will be the same and is open to your imagination. You could build a mansion, a city, or even a crude phallic object! Minecraft literally has no limits. The only limit is your imagination. 10/10 (Masterpiece) Expand
  16. Jan 22, 2015
    10
    One of the most legendary games that will hold for many years to come !! it's simple yet elegant! creativity at maximum level ! infinite landscape to walk on !! not the best but a decent fair multiplayer gameplay !! it's a game that will never be forgotten by its simplicity and huge fandome backing it up.
  17. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    better than the xbox version has more stuff doesnt lag during multi player alot of stuff that is better than this and everyone kows it i am sure of it
  18. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    Brilliant! The best open world game ever! Minecraft is a unique game. On Creative mode Minecraft is virtual space for building what you want with the big amount of blocks. You can do that and in Survival, but you gonna need to get the needed materials. On Survival mode the game turns horror game, non unless you play on Peaceful. Minecraft proves that and the indie games are games whichBrilliant! The best open world game ever! Minecraft is a unique game. On Creative mode Minecraft is virtual space for building what you want with the big amount of blocks. You can do that and in Survival, but you gonna need to get the needed materials. On Survival mode the game turns horror game, non unless you play on Peaceful. Minecraft proves that and the indie games are games which deserve to be played and it is also big improvement for the PC gaming. With also periodical updates I give Minecraft A+ or 6+ with the Bulgarian school marks system where 6 is the best mark and 2 is the worst. Expand
  19. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    I can't understand why people do not like this game. Minecraft is a forum of creativity that anyone can join in on even if you're not creative. If you are creative, then you can build and have fun in normal Minecraft. If you aren't, there are thousands of custom maps, mini-game servers, and mods as a result of Minecraft's popularity. This game is more than just "digital legos". In regularI can't understand why people do not like this game. Minecraft is a forum of creativity that anyone can join in on even if you're not creative. If you are creative, then you can build and have fun in normal Minecraft. If you aren't, there are thousands of custom maps, mini-game servers, and mods as a result of Minecraft's popularity. This game is more than just "digital legos". In regular survival you have to work towards building up resources for each build that you do and sometimes you need to make sacrifices on design for protection against mobs or because you don't have access to that material yet. Expand
  20. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    The Reason Why I give Minecraft a solid 10 is because i love creating or making houses and other stuff.Minecraft gets better whenever you go to multiplayer mode playing with you friends making dumb stuff and playing other Mod.Minecraft is certainly great for those people who love making or creating stuff.This shows of how creative you are! But In night time go to sleep don't go out causeThe Reason Why I give Minecraft a solid 10 is because i love creating or making houses and other stuff.Minecraft gets better whenever you go to multiplayer mode playing with you friends making dumb stuff and playing other Mod.Minecraft is certainly great for those people who love making or creating stuff.This shows of how creative you are! But In night time go to sleep don't go out cause you surely need some armor and a sword or any weapons cause night time brings out unrealistic versions of different monsters!! Expand
  21. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    Amazing ! This game has everything. I know what you must be thinking ..... There is no story mode and it's just breaking and building blocks. Well no, it's more than that, mojang (the company who made this game) has made sure that this game helps other people modify it by modding or just playing with the in game added features to make something awesome. With the ability to do whatever youAmazing ! This game has everything. I know what you must be thinking ..... There is no story mode and it's just breaking and building blocks. Well no, it's more than that, mojang (the company who made this game) has made sure that this game helps other people modify it by modding or just playing with the in game added features to make something awesome. With the ability to do whatever you want the only limit is you imagination . This game adds a lot to the gaming community and has shaped youtube a lot . I personally feel this game requires a lot of attention and I do accept, the graphics are crap but you can't expect awesome graphics on a game that started out as indie right ? Expand
  22. Req
    Dec 8, 2014
    9
    A look at Minecraft in 2014. Still an immense achievement/innovation in video-games. Some pros and cons:

    Pros: >addictive >the minimalistic graphics/design compliments the mechanics of the game >soundtrack also goes well with game >memorable >large, dedicated fan-base >great potential >multiplayer is fun Cons: >can be buggy/glitchy >Not for everyone >can get boring and
    A look at Minecraft in 2014. Still an immense achievement/innovation in video-games. Some pros and cons:

    Pros:
    >addictive
    >the minimalistic graphics/design compliments the mechanics of the game
    >soundtrack also goes well with game
    >memorable
    >large, dedicated fan-base
    >great potential
    >multiplayer is fun

    Cons:

    >can be buggy/glitchy
    >Not for everyone
    >can get boring and repetitive
    >community on Multiplayer servers can be toxic

    Overall, I think it's a game that's worth a play
    Expand
  23. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    This is the game that defines sandbox. In games like GTA or Saints Row you are limited by the core gameplay that is shooting. In Minecraft the only thing limiting you is your creativity. You want to build? You can do it. You want to fight? You can do it. You want to have fun with friends? You can do it. Minecraft is that game which is not going to get forgoten like the classics, becauseThis is the game that defines sandbox. In games like GTA or Saints Row you are limited by the core gameplay that is shooting. In Minecraft the only thing limiting you is your creativity. You want to build? You can do it. You want to fight? You can do it. You want to have fun with friends? You can do it. Minecraft is that game which is not going to get forgoten like the classics, because creativity is always actual. Expand
  24. Dec 4, 2014
    10
    I don't get why so many people hate this game. They say that it gets boring, but there truly are infinite things to do, especially when it comes to multiplayer. There are so many servers that create game modes that are basically their owns games. Building and redstone are perfect when you are bored. If you want, there are hundreds of mods to use. I've seen people say they hate it for notI don't get why so many people hate this game. They say that it gets boring, but there truly are infinite things to do, especially when it comes to multiplayer. There are so many servers that create game modes that are basically their owns games. Building and redstone are perfect when you are bored. If you want, there are hundreds of mods to use. I've seen people say they hate it for not explaining itself, but when I started, I never even thought about searching the internet for help, at least until I got into redstone. The developers do add things at random it seems, but that just makes it better. You can choose what parts you want to use. This was one of the first computer games I played, and I haven't found a game yet that matches this one. It haven't lost its touch, and there is something for everyone, no matter what your age. Expand
  25. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    MInecraft is a sandbox game created as a hobby by a man named Markus “Notch” Person, although recently sold to Microsoft for $2.5 billion. After developing it for many months, Markus decided he couldn’t handle the game on his own, and founded the company Mojang which still works on the game today.

    The main goal of Minecraft is to do what you want. There is no set goal, no save the
    MInecraft is a sandbox game created as a hobby by a man named Markus “Notch” Person, although recently sold to Microsoft for $2.5 billion. After developing it for many months, Markus decided he couldn’t handle the game on his own, and founded the company Mojang which still works on the game today.

    The main goal of Minecraft is to do what you want. There is no set goal, no save the princess, no destroy the bad guys plot. There are two game types. Laid back, relaxed creative mode, where you can get anything out of your inventory, and the challenging survival mode, with monsters, starvation, damage, and resources must be gathered.

    Creative mode, the most popular among the two with the younger gamers, or just people with low-end pc’s that can’t handle the game too well, is very good for testing things so that you don’t build something in your survival world, only to find out it doesn’t work. Most people have a “test world” a world in which they put all of their builds, mainly using redstone, in to make sure they were reliable and worked for survival mode.

    Survival mode, the more fun game mode (in my opinion) is very challenging, as you start with nothing and have to work your way up. Some times living off of rotten flesh as a food source, you must find a way to survive once night hits, allowing the monsters to spawn.

    One of the best parts of the game however, is that it’s open-sourced. You can go into the game code and change whatever you like, which allows for any type of mod you’re looking for, whether it makes the game easier, or makes it much more hostile, or just increases performance of the game on your computer.
    Expand
  26. Dec 1, 2014
    10
    Eye looove ettttt69, i love to ride pigs and eat pufferfish whilst exploring minecraft wiki. fam you will loooove et too if you get it, make everything even P3N1Ses
  27. Nov 24, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is the most creative game I ever played. In the game you can build anything anywhere and can chose creative or survive mode, and the game my look a little block but it makes it a charm. I hope Microsoft takes good care of our beloved game. It's my favourite game of all time.
  28. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    This game is brilliant. There is something for everyone, from peaceful building servers to hardcore PvP, which makes your heart race. It's an amazing game.

    If you ever get bored, you can add a mod to your game that changes everything.
  29. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    The good:
    + The game is VERY moddable. You want to make a factory? An army of minions? Be a force others would fear? Make a nuclear missile? Do advanced alchemy? How about a forcefield? Want to level up progressively and improve your skills? Tame animals? How about a fusion reactor? Or maybe you like shapeshifting. Like PvP? Find a server with rules and gamemodes of your liking. Choose
    The good:
    + The game is VERY moddable. You want to make a factory? An army of minions? Be a force others would fear? Make a nuclear missile? Do advanced alchemy? How about a forcefield? Want to level up progressively and improve your skills? Tame animals? How about a fusion reactor? Or maybe you like shapeshifting. Like PvP? Find a server with rules and gamemodes of your liking. Choose the modpack that doesn't have the things you hate and have your perfect version of Minecraft. :P

    The bad:
    - The game is written in Java - you can't have performance and a great texture pack or host a server on a low-end PC. If you want smooth gameplay on a low-end PC, you'll have to Google it and learn how to make it possible.
    Expand
  30. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    The game is just a masterpiece, creating your own building or structur, explore every dimension, battle zombies, skeleton, enderman, and many more! the thing i like the most about minecraft is the community is just creative! they build something amazing, even one of them build a full scale of denmark, A FULL SCALE!!! THE ENTIRE PLACE HAS BEEN REBUILD ON MINECRAFT!!! The only thing i hopeThe game is just a masterpiece, creating your own building or structur, explore every dimension, battle zombies, skeleton, enderman, and many more! the thing i like the most about minecraft is the community is just creative! they build something amazing, even one of them build a full scale of denmark, A FULL SCALE!!! THE ENTIRE PLACE HAS BEEN REBUILD ON MINECRAFT!!! The only thing i hope on this game is that i wish microsoft dont destroy minecraft, i give it 10 out of 10. (have played this game for 3 years and still now) Expand
  31. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    I can't understand all these Minecraft haters... Hey asswads! No game is perfect! Get that through your thick skulls already! Anyway, Minecraft is one of the best, if not THE best, 3D sandbox game ever made. And before you call me a mindless fanboy, i'm not. I just like the game. If you don't like it, fine. Just don't keep pushing more and more crap talk out of your ass if you don't likeI can't understand all these Minecraft haters... Hey asswads! No game is perfect! Get that through your thick skulls already! Anyway, Minecraft is one of the best, if not THE best, 3D sandbox game ever made. And before you call me a mindless fanboy, i'm not. I just like the game. If you don't like it, fine. Just don't keep pushing more and more crap talk out of your ass if you don't like the game. Sheesh. Expand
  32. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    A truly wonderful game where you are the creator and you can build anything you want this game has been around for 5 years and its till only getting bigger. People are making YouTube Channels about his Twitch accounts. People are making mods, toys, phone cases, clothing, and its only getting bigger. They even have they're own convention. Over all this game is going down in video game history.
  33. Oct 20, 2014
    10
    This game is simply awesome and the most unique. I've been playing minecraft pc for 3 years and i bought the ps3 edition last year. This game requires a good brain. You have to dig your way to diamonds, fight the ender dragon...enchant ur diamond stuff then fight the wither. Even multiplayer server are awesome. I donated to 2 of them. It's simply awesome. All i want is to makeThis game is simply awesome and the most unique. I've been playing minecraft pc for 3 years and i bought the ps3 edition last year. This game requires a good brain. You have to dig your way to diamonds, fight the ender dragon...enchant ur diamond stuff then fight the wither. Even multiplayer server are awesome. I donated to 2 of them. It's simply awesome. All i want is to make minecraft reals for free. Enjoy the unique Minecraft Expand
  34. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    This is definitely high on my favorites list, this game is great not only because of the game itself, which is an 8 out of 10 on its own, but the mods for this game. This game has so many mods, it's only beaten by Garry's mod itself.

    The main game works like this, You have three game modes: Survival, Creative and Hardcore. The ones you need to know are Survival and Creative. In
    This is definitely high on my favorites list, this game is great not only because of the game itself, which is an 8 out of 10 on its own, but the mods for this game. This game has so many mods, it's only beaten by Garry's mod itself.

    The main game works like this, You have three game modes: Survival, Creative and Hardcore. The ones you need to know are Survival and Creative.
    In Survival mode, the main goal is to collect resources during the day to be able to defend yourself at night against the enemies or "Mobs" that spawn in the middle of the night, whether that involves building a shelter, creating weapons, or just running away from them through the forest as I did my first time playing. After awhile, you can collect enough resources to learn the more advanced mechanics of the game. Like farming, potions, alternate dimension travel, and more advanced mobs.
    In Creative mode, you have every available block or item available in survival mode plus more. With the ability to create anything you want.
    In Hardcore mode, the mechanics are the exact same as in survival mode, but with exceptions. The difficulty of the game is raised to even harder than hard. If you die once, be prepared to say bye to your world, because that's all you get, one life.

    the game has glitches, which everyone forgets that every game has. but I have never had anything that I couldn't fix by reloading the world.

    The overall game itself is 8 out of 10, but with the mods that come out,varying to adding a new item to the game to complete overhaul of the game mechanics themselves, I'll give it a 9 out of 10.
    Expand
  35. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    Very simple. One of the greatest games ever made. Simple, unique and one of the few games out there where anyone can find something to love about it. No matter what else comes out that may have had higher production value or better graphics, minecraft is a constant that will someday. if not already, be known as the single greatest open world and survival game to ever be made.
  36. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    This game has so-called terrible, blocky graphics that creates its unique atmosphere and feeling, no clear instructions of what to do because there's only your way to play it. You say it's just all about placing and breaking blocks and after few hours of play, there's nothing more. But that's not true. Minecraft is like mathematics. You dig more about it, and you'll discover more about it.This game has so-called terrible, blocky graphics that creates its unique atmosphere and feeling, no clear instructions of what to do because there's only your way to play it. You say it's just all about placing and breaking blocks and after few hours of play, there's nothing more. But that's not true. Minecraft is like mathematics. You dig more about it, and you'll discover more about it. There's endless beautiful possibilities. Even if you don't like survival, you can go creative. Redstone, complex buildings, and clever contraptions or trickeries... Literally endless. Expand
  37. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    Best Sand Box Game ever :) you can create your own world, your own imagination, nothing stops you, no quest to take. no one can tell you what you cannot cannot do. beat the ender dragon, make shelters, Breed cows,chickens,pigs.. , survive the night. and don't go near the creepers .
  38. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed this game.................................................................................................................................alot.. Expand
  39. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    As much as I hate what Minecraft has done for the gaming industry,there is no reason why you shouldn't play it.Ive spent more hours then I can count on this game,and every time I think I'm free of its clutches,I feel the need to mine one more block
  40. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    It has infinite options for gameplay, expansion with mods for every more variety, and a social aspect via server play. What more can you want from a game? This game will define a generation.
  41. Sep 7, 2014
    9
    [RUS]Игра нормальная, графика пиксельная, если шейдеры установить , то будет нормально. Поддержка 3D-анаглифа это заставляет почуять другую реальность. Игра была бы отличной в России, но школота захватила и её. Особенно это Mr.Lololoshka и Frost окончательно сделали её мусором. И моды на неё тоже сделали эффект мусора( по крайней мере в России).
    [ENG]The normal game, the graphics pixel,
    [RUS]Игра нормальная, графика пиксельная, если шейдеры установить , то будет нормально. Поддержка 3D-анаглифа это заставляет почуять другую реальность. Игра была бы отличной в России, но школота захватила и её. Особенно это Mr.Lololoshka и Frost окончательно сделали её мусором. И моды на неё тоже сделали эффект мусора( по крайней мере в России).
    [ENG]The normal game, the graphics pixel, if the shaders are set , you will be fine. Supports 3D anaglyph it makes you smell different reality. The game would be great in Russia, but almost captured it. This is especially Mr.Lololoshka and Frost finally made it garbage. And fashion, it also made the effect of garbage( at least in Russia).
    Expand
  42. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spawning in a world, punching wood, surviving the night... too destroying the ender dragon! This game is arguably the best game ever (so far) the fact that you don't just explore a world, you explore... And edit the world amazes me, and many others, that is why I give this a ten! Expand
  43. Sep 3, 2014
    9
    Minecraft seems hard to get used to in the first place since there's no tutorial, but when you know what to do to survive in the wild, the game becomes an unforgettable experience which encourage you to do whatever you like, especially when your imagination's big!
  44. Sep 1, 2014
    9
    according to me is minecraft the most fun and best game ever made! it's no means perfect but i have played it for more than 2000 hours and for more than 99% of the time i have had a fun time. this may not be a "game" to some regards but i have been playing this with most of my friends. the best part of the game according to me is the creative mode and me and a couple of my friends had aaccording to me is minecraft the most fun and best game ever made! it's no means perfect but i have played it for more than 2000 hours and for more than 99% of the time i have had a fun time. this may not be a "game" to some regards but i have been playing this with most of my friends. the best part of the game according to me is the creative mode and me and a couple of my friends had a server dedicated to just building.

    this is a good game if you like to be creative but it's not good for someone that want the game to tell you what to do.
    Expand
  45. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    Does a game have to be perfect, to be rated '10'?
    Because as innovative, creative and original Minecraft is, it's certainly not without it's flaws. A lot of flaws. I will not go over them all, because most reviews allready do this quite openly.
    But does the game really deserves to be critiziced because of it? I honestly don't think so... Minecraft is whatever you want it to be. It
    Does a game have to be perfect, to be rated '10'?
    Because as innovative, creative and original Minecraft is, it's certainly not without it's flaws. A lot of flaws. I will not go over them all, because most reviews allready do this quite openly.
    But does the game really deserves to be critiziced because of it? I honestly don't think so...
    Minecraft is whatever you want it to be. It provides you with a feeling of freedom that a lot of other games want to make you believe you have. It's not as simple as 'just a building game', it encourages you to reflect upon yourself and see how far you can take it.
    And that's where I believe the true magic of Minecraft shines. It's not about the game anymore, it's about showing yourself and the community how creative, artistic and smart you are just by using the same blocks everyone has and placing them in a way no one has thought of yet.
    It's a social platform.
    So yes, the game has it's flaws. It can feel 'choppy', chunks can ben slow when loaded and pigs seem to be spinning all over the place and climbing trees. Also, the developers make promises that sometimes can take a long time to actually fulfill. But none of this is actually 'gamebreaking'. Simply put, none of this matters..
    It doesn't matter, because what the game does is providing you with a sense of accomplishment, all on your own. Not your ordinary 'If you complete this challenge, you will be rewarded with this' accomplishment, but the same proud you felt when you we're a kid, playing with lego's and wanting to share your creation with your parents.
    If it's a full sized replica of the Enterprise. If it's a functional working HDD. If it's an underground city where the entire community is being provided with food, shelter, safety and entertainment. You created this, you are a part of this.
    People who don't play this game will think you're wasting your time. People who do play this game will understand.
    Expand
  46. Aug 18, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I say this is the best game ever.

    The Aim Of The Game is to survive or to create masterpieces with infinite blocks and flying.
    The Survival Is Amazing. No Comment.
    The Creative Mode Is Amazing.
    I haven't tried the HARDCORE mode but I watched videos of HARDCORE mode Survival.

    I say MOJANG has made the Best Game Ever, No 1 in my BEST game list.
    Expand
  47. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    Es muy bueno ya que puedes hacer casi todo!, es malo jugar solo... pero si juegas con amigos es lo mejor muy entretenido y divertido 100% recomendado :D xD :,3
  48. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    First of all it's very lonely game. I am talking about single-player, of course. You can't get this sense of loneliness in any other game. And for me it's very enjoyable.
    Secondly, it's beautiful game. Not talking about graphics, but style. Rain, snow, night - everything is really well-made.
    And thirdly, feel of discovery is awesome.
    Its a great game and you should at least try it.
  49. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is the only game that truly has created an immersive atmosphere, and really can familiarize the character with true freedom. Minecraft is a playground, a very large playground that is waiting for you, arms wide open. And, trust me, you will NOT want to leave this playground for a long time.

    Blocky, though memorable graphics will make it hard for the user to not be able to spot
    Minecraft is the only game that truly has created an immersive atmosphere, and really can familiarize the character with true freedom. Minecraft is a playground, a very large playground that is waiting for you, arms wide open. And, trust me, you will NOT want to leave this playground for a long time.

    Blocky, though memorable graphics will make it hard for the user to not be able to spot the sight of a dirt block or a diamond sword. And the sounds of breaking blocks, and the beautifully nostalgic, yet for some reason melancholy soundtrack will be stuck in your head for hours.

    Minecraft is that game that comes out once in a decade. That game that truly separates itself from all others, despite how many clones may attempt to mimic it. It is a game that isn't going anywhere anytime soon, and that just makes it that much better.

    10/10
    Expand
  50. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    When I first heard about minecraft I was then playing Total Miner: Forge and thought to myself- This is the coolest creation game I have ever seen. After browsing for a while trying to determine whether or not I wanted another Total Miner lookalike I bought the beta copy of Minecraft and started playing. Within the first ten or fifteen minutes I was blown away by the size and capacity thatWhen I first heard about minecraft I was then playing Total Miner: Forge and thought to myself- This is the coolest creation game I have ever seen. After browsing for a while trying to determine whether or not I wanted another Total Miner lookalike I bought the beta copy of Minecraft and started playing. Within the first ten or fifteen minutes I was blown away by the size and capacity that Minecraft delivers, and awe-struck when presented with all of the builds and creatures that killed me the first night. It was amazing. Now that the complete version has been around for some time, and after quite a few add-ons and updates, its no problem for me to say that as an arcade game Minecraft will stay number one for as long as it pleases, and as for a PC game, well, it sets the bar for all open world creator genres, and has easily distinguished itself to me as being one of the top ten best video games of all time. Expand
  51. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    If the ratio between money paid and time spent ingame was a standard for deciding if a game is good... Minecraft would unequivalently be the best. I've easily spent over 1500 hours in the MC world. The rather easy access to modding tools, MC is java based, has made the minecraft modding community a real big place. The creativity of the modders is endless. Thus making Minecraft my number 1If the ratio between money paid and time spent ingame was a standard for deciding if a game is good... Minecraft would unequivalently be the best. I've easily spent over 1500 hours in the MC world. The rather easy access to modding tools, MC is java based, has made the minecraft modding community a real big place. The creativity of the modders is endless. Thus making Minecraft my number 1 game for at least another year to come. Expand
  52. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    Why does this only have a user score of 7.4??? This is a very fun game with loads of replay value. As for the graphics, they are unique and memorable (AND SUPPOSED TO RESEMBLE 16-BIT YOU IDIOTS THAT IS THE POINT). The combat is very basic but that is not what this game is about. It is about creativity. End of story.
  53. Jul 27, 2014
    9
    Holy god, I haven't played a game this good in quite a few years. I first played the game in March, and got hooked in June this year. I must say, this is a truly remarkable game, and I say it replaces New. Super Mario Bros WII. for the spot of 2nd best game of 2009, with Plants vs Zombies at 1st. Within the game, you can gather resources, slay animals/monsters, mine, craft, and mostHoly god, I haven't played a game this good in quite a few years. I first played the game in March, and got hooked in June this year. I must say, this is a truly remarkable game, and I say it replaces New. Super Mario Bros WII. for the spot of 2nd best game of 2009, with Plants vs Zombies at 1st. Within the game, you can gather resources, slay animals/monsters, mine, craft, and most importantly: BUILD. Also, if you find the game too easy or hard, just lower/raise the difficulty level, as there are many to choose from. Great game, and people who don't like it due to lack of SHREK are truly dumb. Expand
  54. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is a great sandbox survival game in single player mode and one of the best multiplayer experiences ever which can be modded to enhance its greatness enough said, buy it now
  55. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    Arguably, Minecraft is the best video game of all time. The idea is so simple yet so brilliant. A 3D block-based game. in which you can survive, and build anything you could possibly imagine. I find it brilliant because it gives you a sense of accomplishment when you perform the most mundane of tasks, like when you smelt your first iron bar, all the way to defeating the Ender Dragon.Arguably, Minecraft is the best video game of all time. The idea is so simple yet so brilliant. A 3D block-based game. in which you can survive, and build anything you could possibly imagine. I find it brilliant because it gives you a sense of accomplishment when you perform the most mundane of tasks, like when you smelt your first iron bar, all the way to defeating the Ender Dragon. Obviously, the game is always better with friends, which gives you the option of making combat and adventure maps for you and your friends to enjoy. A lot of people say the game has gotten worse as updates have occurred, but I believe it has just increased the game's depth. Minecraft truly holds a place in my heart, simply for how undeniably spectacular it is. Expand
  56. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    Innovative, educattional and original, Minecraft is seen by many as one of the best PC games in existence. As I am relatively new to Minecraft, - having joined the community just after the 1.3 update - I have noticed how it has grown and, because it is constantly in development, how it has improved since my starting moments. Being a nerdy type of person, I enjoy playing with the game'sInnovative, educattional and original, Minecraft is seen by many as one of the best PC games in existence. As I am relatively new to Minecraft, - having joined the community just after the 1.3 update - I have noticed how it has grown and, because it is constantly in development, how it has improved since my starting moments. Being a nerdy type of person, I enjoy playing with the game's coding, as it is extremely educational. However, for the less computer knowledgeable people it is very user-friendly and easy to use but hard to master. In conclusion, Minecraft is a great game and I strongly recommend that you buy it. Expand
  57. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    A great survival game, although the graphics are not high quality, graphic is not everything in a game is an infinite game, you have to make some achievements, but you be creative, and you can even create a goal to win.
  58. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    How could you call Mine craft not fun? When I first tried it out, I never knew that using your imagination and putting it into a game could be so much fun. From there, I wanted to learn more: how red stone works, how to build a TNT cannon, etc. Basically what I'm trying to say is if you know what you're doing, Mine craft is extremely addicting. Also to add on to the fun are mods and serverHow could you call Mine craft not fun? When I first tried it out, I never knew that using your imagination and putting it into a game could be so much fun. From there, I wanted to learn more: how red stone works, how to build a TNT cannon, etc. Basically what I'm trying to say is if you know what you're doing, Mine craft is extremely addicting. Also to add on to the fun are mods and server plugins. They make Mine craft just very addicting, like a chewy cookie. This game is underrated by so many people, don't listen to them: they don't know what a good game is like. Expand
  59. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    If I could only play 3 games for the rest of my life. Minecraft would be 1st. It is without a doubt a top of the world game! You have endless possibilities. Endless. I've been playing Minecraft for 2 years, And I'm still not done. When I showed my brother Minecraft he was convinced he would hate it. Now he plays 24/7 (Just like me.) My 3 sisters, 1 brother, Uncle, And ALL my friends haveIf I could only play 3 games for the rest of my life. Minecraft would be 1st. It is without a doubt a top of the world game! You have endless possibilities. Endless. I've been playing Minecraft for 2 years, And I'm still not done. When I showed my brother Minecraft he was convinced he would hate it. Now he plays 24/7 (Just like me.) My 3 sisters, 1 brother, Uncle, And ALL my friends have been introduced to Minecraft by me. And LOVED it. This is THE game. Expand
  60. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is pure enjoyment packed in a pixelated world. The fact that you can explore an endless world, and build almost anything, out of anything, is a wonderful thing.
  61. May 31, 2014
    9
    Good things: insane modability provides a great amount of content, multiplayer on MMO-scale on some servers, total creative freedom, entire worlds to explore and conquer with friends/enemies
    Bad things: It does get stale after a long time of playing it, the combat system sucks
    If you buy it check out multiplayer, this is what pumps up the score, survival is only a small part of this
    Good things: insane modability provides a great amount of content, multiplayer on MMO-scale on some servers, total creative freedom, entire worlds to explore and conquer with friends/enemies
    Bad things: It does get stale after a long time of playing it, the combat system sucks

    If you buy it check out multiplayer, this is what pumps up the score, survival is only a small part of this delicious cake.
    Expand
  62. May 27, 2014
    9
    Minecraft is a combination of a game and a basic 3D modeling tool. The possibilities are literally endless here, and that's what makes this such a success.

    I'll talk about the "Game" part of it first. Some people on Metacritic have criticized the game's Survival mode for being "forgettable". Those people definitely didn't play multiplayer. Minecraft, in any mode, is way more fun with
    Minecraft is a combination of a game and a basic 3D modeling tool. The possibilities are literally endless here, and that's what makes this such a success.

    I'll talk about the "Game" part of it first. Some people on Metacritic have criticized the game's Survival mode for being "forgettable". Those people definitely didn't play multiplayer. Minecraft, in any mode, is way more fun with friends. Either host your own game server, which you can download from the game's website, or join one of the many public community servers. Most of these servers are multi-world and offer a little bit of everything Minecraft has to offer. Setting up a server takes a bit of tech knowledge, but it only gets confusing if you're trying to run the server with mods or plugins.

    The combat in Minecraft is very basic. This part definitely could have been better. No matter what the enemy's preferred method of attack is, the combat of the player in Minecraft is nothing but "hit it with a sword until it dies", which can still be surprisingly intense when you're defending your home from the infamous creepers- silent, stealthy enemies that approach the player and explode, damaging the surrounding environment.

    And of course, that's the entire point of Minecraft- the editable environment. You craft tools and use them to dig or mine blocks, which can be blocks of dirt, stone, and even man-made or crafted materials like wooden planks and glass. The survival mode requires you to use tools to break blocks, while the game also features a creative mode, where players don't have to worry about enemies, and can access infinite amounts of any block and break them instantly, using this mode to create massive intricate building designs. Some even create pixel art using the various colors of wool block.

    The game's controls and mechanics- the inventory system and hotbar- are easy to learn on-the-fly. You'll be mining and crafting within minutes of creating your first world. Crafting in Survival is lacking something very important, however, and this is something that's bugged me about Minecraft since day one- there is no crafting tutorial! Games that use crafting systems usually tell you what items you need, but in Minecraft, not only do you have to know what items you need to craft, but you also need to know how to arrange them- a fact that's completely ignored by the game. Someone who's picking this up for the first time either experiments and screws around until he/she finally learns how to make a crafting table, or looks on the wiki for crafting recipes.

    The game is still constantly being updated and new content is being added. Bugs are still present, though they fix loads of them in every update and none of them are game-breaking. All in all, if you've got a creative mind and haven't picked up this game yet, you really should. It'll suck away hours of your time, but it's totally worth it.
    Expand
  63. May 16, 2014
    10
    Best game ever! This game is amazing! I love that you can play on servers, yet play alone. You really need to play Minecraft. It is an amazing game that I love, along with my friends. I play it on PC & PS3. GET MINECRAFT! You won't regret it!
  64. May 15, 2014
    10
    its 10/10 because of this:
    i know many games have the same, but if you think Minecraft tried to copy, NO!
    they copied minecraft. Imagination, a thing all human needs to learn. in here you can do MAAANY **** for example: so much **** i don't know how many but its amazing, you have to play a few weeks until finding something amazing, some reviews says: nothing useful for now. the
    its 10/10 because of this:
    i know many games have the same, but if you think Minecraft tried to copy, NO!
    they copied minecraft.
    Imagination, a thing all human needs to learn.
    in here you can do MAAANY ****
    for example:
    so much **** i don't know how many
    but its amazing, you have to play a few weeks until finding something amazing, some reviews says: nothing useful for now.
    the game has a story, but its not the point, the "un-useful" is what you need to set your imagination free. more fun playing at Multiplayer, servers:
    Hide N Seek (Prop Hunt without Shooting)
    Hot Potato (RUN FROM THE GUY THAT HAS A EXPLODING POTATO!!! he will hit you, and it stays with you, you cannot drop it, if it explodes in someone, well **** if you exploded, YOU LOSE!)
    Parkour (THE MOST RAGING THING and one of the most fun ones of Minecraft.)
    and many others.
    Mods are made for....
    Additional Things, so you can set your imagination even more free.
    Garry's Mod will set your imagination free at maximum, but Minecraft is Imagination for Childs, and Garry's Mod for Adults. i recommend it, and hey "MINECRAFT HATERS HO ONLY PLAYED 10 **** MINUTES" well, play it more and you will enjoy it, i hope you will.
    Expand
  65. May 12, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. for 2 years this game has been in development. For years i have been waiting to play this game and just last year i finally got the chance to do so. When i first played it i found it to be very addictive and very fun. The ability to get past the limit is amazing. In DBZ you cant leave your fighting area but in this game you can. In Sonic you cant build a house but here it is the opposite. The free roaming and how you have to find things is really fun and i recommend this game to anyone who is looking forward to play a game that takes place in a forest. That is why my final verdict for this game is a 99 out of 100. Expand
  66. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Had this game since Alpha, and it truly is a masterpiece. I've sunk many hours into this game, as each time you play it, it's a different experience. The amount of things you can create and explore are uncountable. A true work of art. Simple yet efficient.
  67. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    This game is good, because its unique.

    Its good because of its creativity, it goes on forever, you can build whatever you want, or even build multiple things, making this game fairly time-consuming and a hell-of fun. It never ends, so you can do whatever you want, whenever you want. Also, Multiplayer is also fun, as people make great and fascinating games to play with plug-ins,
    This game is good, because its unique.

    Its good because of its creativity, it goes on forever, you can build whatever you want, or even build multiple things, making this game fairly time-consuming and a hell-of fun. It never ends, so you can do whatever you want, whenever you want.

    Also, Multiplayer is also fun, as people make great and fascinating games to play with plug-ins, commands, and more. making MineCraft endless fun.

    The only bad part about it is the community, which isn't even the game's fault, but kids are rude all around in the MineCraft community, making the game have a semi-turnoff.

    Besides that I have fun with the game. It is addicting and time and is a joy to play!
    Expand
  68. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    Minecraft is a great game which brings back memories from the 70's-80's. This game has revolutionized gaming. This game started off with noone playing it but now nearly everyone plays it. Players have modified it with Mini Games which is great. It has also given many Youtubers lot's of money including BajanCanadian etc. The multiplayer is really fun with 1000's of people owning serversMinecraft is a great game which brings back memories from the 70's-80's. This game has revolutionized gaming. This game started off with noone playing it but now nearly everyone plays it. Players have modified it with Mini Games which is great. It has also given many Youtubers lot's of money including BajanCanadian etc. The multiplayer is really fun with 1000's of people owning servers there's shortage no choose from. Also the singleplayer is pretty fun too! I would recommend this game to anyone who is imaginative. Overall I give this game a 9/10 for a load of fun mini games and for being very addictive! Expand
  69. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am ANGRY at all you negative reviewers out there, you overlook the influence on culture these days of Minecraft, comparing it to other games (BTW I am looking for the perfect game which you will find my Qualifications in the Profile) This has by far been the Crown Jewel of My PC games, It is near my perfect game standard and it is the closest one there. Also about it's influence on culture, this game has truly defined the true basic principle of open-ended games, I believe it even has created it's own genre. And other than that I believe you negative reviewers never even tried to venture within the game itself, you didn't even bother to look at the wiki, it may be buggy however it 's Success overshadows it's flaws. And by the way did you even care to look at modding this game? This game for me, has an almost infinite number of mods out there, so the game is extremely flexible. And by the way have you seen Terraria? If you like the game and you review this negatively, then you know what? Terraria was inspired By MINECRAFT. So in my view this game belongs with the great historic games, which have forever changed the world, and if you ask me, Minecraft has begun it's own gaming generation CONVERSATION OVER, PERIOD. Expand
  70. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    This game can be very fun at 90% of times but when it is not it gets kind of boring, but like I said It is a very great game with all the new mini games and other things. I will say this I miss minecraft back then by back then I mean 1.2 after 1.2 it kinda went down by minecraft will always be a special game to me and it was 1 of the first pc games I bought and played even to this day IThis game can be very fun at 90% of times but when it is not it gets kind of boring, but like I said It is a very great game with all the new mini games and other things. I will say this I miss minecraft back then by back then I mean 1.2 after 1.2 it kinda went down by minecraft will always be a special game to me and it was 1 of the first pc games I bought and played even to this day I still play it and there graphics are pretty decent, so this game deserves a good rating! :) Expand
  71. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is a great game that never ends. You can be building houses in creative mode or trying to slay in ender dragon in survival. The possibilities are endless. My favourite part has to be making houses in creative mode though.
  72. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is by far one of the greatest indie game ever invented. And I sure gives the inventor (Markus "Notch" Persson) a hell of a point. This voxel based sandbox game that is really fun to play. It increased people's creativity to create, explore, and other things you can imagine surviving with a more intense world. From the ALPHA phase, Minecraft was still nothing. But in the BETAMinecraft is by far one of the greatest indie game ever invented. And I sure gives the inventor (Markus "Notch" Persson) a hell of a point. This voxel based sandbox game that is really fun to play. It increased people's creativity to create, explore, and other things you can imagine surviving with a more intense world. From the ALPHA phase, Minecraft was still nothing. But in the BETA phase, it already broke some records. First record, it was awarded the most popular game in BETA. The next record, shows that this game is the best sandbox game yet. Exploring the unlimited possibilities in the endless world of cubes. Crafting, Surviving, and Thriving. Making huge creations and make differences in this world. They also update the game eventually sometimes in 2 months time. And by my very critic, this game deserves a wonderful score of 10. Some people may say that this game is a waste of time. Well, it's actually a very great game to KILL some time. Some of the users/players of this game says that it lacked of gaming and it's made out of pixel. Some say it's the worst. The game is actually pixelated, but it's actually pixelated using cubes and blocks. That's why it seems so 3D. You can create endless creations and everything you want. But my surprise of this game it the multiplayer feature. It is really fun and enjoyable playing beyond the community and have fun by playing minigames. Or just doing a survival together with your friends. A 3D sandbox with a multiplayer feature? That's really fun for players that doesn't like being alone. I picked the three best servers so far, and the three of them keep amaze me anytime I go there. The best server so far is Mineplex by my opinion. The second is the Hypixel Network. And the third is The Hive. I really don't judge these servers because they are all good-to-play servers and all that, but in those critic, I'll judge them because this IS a critic. Apart from all of that, this is a wonderful game. I honored the creators of this game, which is TeamMojang, and I appreciate this kind of games. Indulging and exciting. Expand
  73. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    The ones who say the graphics are bad, well, its your own fault for buying it. Always look at reviews and videos first. The game is meant to be full of pixels like that, its how Mojang intended it to be.
    Anways, this game is great, hours of play. You can say its a sandbox game, but it is not a sandbox, its a toybox! Lots of fun with it!
  74. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    The open world, and the idea on this game is fresh.
    The simulation is great.
    But dont hope for a great graphics.
    Play for the gameplay.

    This game contains tons of hours of play.
    And its a very very good game for your children creativity.
    Even adults build a working old flip flop computer simulator on this game.
  75. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is an amazing game. I remember hearing about it online and looking at what you can do in this game and when I finally got the game I was not disappointed a bit! I love the gameplay in this game both in survival and creative mode. I love survival because it gives me that feeling of exploration of going to build and craft things, fight monsters, go mining and when you complete hardMinecraft is an amazing game. I remember hearing about it online and looking at what you can do in this game and when I finally got the game I was not disappointed a bit! I love the gameplay in this game both in survival and creative mode. I love survival because it gives me that feeling of exploration of going to build and craft things, fight monsters, go mining and when you complete hard tasks it can feel very rewarding. I also love creative mode because it's the opportunity to go around a create things that are huge and beautiful with almost no limitations; some things in creative do take a long time to make but when I am done they are very rewarding as well. I also love the music in this game and some of the atmospheres; however I will warn you that there are some really creepy things in this game. Overall, Minecraft is a masterpiece! I really wish people wouldn't bash this game just because they may call it too "mainstream" or something like that. The game is great, It also great to come back to this game after not playing it for a while. Trust me, I started playing this game back in 2012 and I am still playing it a lot today in 2014. Expand
  76. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    After a while it grows on you a bit, plus everyone was telling me how great the building aspect of it is when I'm more into the adventure and mining of it. Although it still seems like the fans are the ones that carried this game...
  77. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    Minecraft is a very good game because undergo frequent updates even with the final version. Is also a sandbox ie is INFINITE! Only flaws of the game is its weight and its price is $ 26.95.
  78. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    Was my favorite game for a long time when I was younger. I played 500+ hours.
    Its so much better with mod pack. if you have played it a fair bit get a mod pack. The best ones are from Technic or FTB.
  79. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is a flawless game, though I do have a few suggestions for future updates.

    1: Like most people on the MC forum, WE WANT FLOATING ISLANDS! 2:In a past update, "The Biome Update" many new "biomes" are added to the massive sandbox. Some examples are, Savanah, Canyon and a Roofed Forest. I believe, there should be certain "mobs" (Creatures existing in the world) for each biome.
    Minecraft is a flawless game, though I do have a few suggestions for future updates.

    1: Like most people on the MC forum, WE WANT FLOATING ISLANDS!
    2:In a past update, "The Biome Update" many new "biomes" are added to the massive sandbox. Some examples are, Savanah, Canyon and a Roofed Forest. I believe, there should be certain "mobs" (Creatures existing in the world) for each biome. Some examples are, Lions, Elephants,Heiynas etc. for the Savanah. I also have some suggestions for the Jungle biome, some being, Jaguars,Tigers,Monkeys,Snakes etc. Thank you for reading!

    Herbertlives
    Expand
  80. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    This game is a really great game, but is a tad overrated. The features are excellent and gameplay is fun, but can get boring when in survival mode. While it's a great game, people glorify it too much like it's the Messiah of not just sandbox games and indie games, but as the video game industry as a whole. Fun for the whole family.
  81. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Everyone saying this game is terrible is completely missing the point of the game! Most of the negative reviews here either mention the "bad graphics", or how the game seems to be "un-finished" or "lacking features". The game is meant to be blocky with simple graphics, that is a major part of what makes the game special and unique! If you still feel the need for great graphics, go onlineEveryone saying this game is terrible is completely missing the point of the game! Most of the negative reviews here either mention the "bad graphics", or how the game seems to be "un-finished" or "lacking features". The game is meant to be blocky with simple graphics, that is a major part of what makes the game special and unique! If you still feel the need for great graphics, go online and download one of many, many, many free user-created HD resource packs! And the game seems unfinished because it is!! The game will NEVER be totally finished, as the game developers have said many times in the past.
    If you're looking for more features or more interesting gameplay, there are hundreds, if not thousands, of 100% free player-made modifications (mods) and custom-made worlds creating various challenges, puzzles, and adventures. The awesome Minecraft community is what really makes the game - without all the custom-made user material, it would not be nearly as popular!
    Expand
  82. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    An amazingly addictive building game! The graphics almost made me ignore this game but a friend let me try it. Sometimes simple is the perfect formula. With the mountain of mods and texture packs out there you're sure to be able to customize the game any way you like!
  83. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is truly a revolutionary game, its simple, yet you can do anything in it, people have taken it so far. The way they add new things all the time, for free of charge. Is so generous of the Swedish company. Its a very creative game. Anyone who would play Minecraft would know that its a game of a 1000 games. Anyone can play it young or old. There are plenty of servers. ManyMinecraft is truly a revolutionary game, its simple, yet you can do anything in it, people have taken it so far. The way they add new things all the time, for free of charge. Is so generous of the Swedish company. Its a very creative game. Anyone who would play Minecraft would know that its a game of a 1000 games. Anyone can play it young or old. There are plenty of servers. Many blocks and mods to keep you building. Also Minecraft has survival to survive the night and defeat the wither and the EnderDragon. It has to be the indie game that changed the gaming industry for a long time. The mechanics arent much, but its easy to learn. If you don't like the small blocky graphics there are resource packs that change the sounds and textures. It can go from around 3x3 per block/item, to 5012x5012! Its a great game to keep your kids away from shooting and violent games. Its very cheap and you dont need much to play the game. It runs on Mac, Windows, Linux. You need at least 2gbs of RAM and around a few MegaBytes of space. I highly recomend the game, its fun to bring friends and family closer. :) Expand
  84. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    Este juego es la prueba de que un buen juego no necesita los super graficos realistas, circulos o esferas ni mucha complicacion solo un par de pixeles, cubos, redstone, minas y CREEPERS!
  85. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the game its multi player is endless and the creations never stop it just keeps going I see so much more of this game in the Future and the mods just make so sophisticated and in single player you can experiment and find new strategy's to do some specific thing and conquer the game in a year its awesome and I love it Expand
  86. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is one of my favorite games of all time and i can explain why, first the graphics. Though the graphics are blocky they have a certain charm to them that can not be explained. The gameplay is a lot of fun taking different twist to sandbox games unlike games like GTA and Saints Row instead of running around killing people you create buildings which can take up a lot of my time.Minecraft is one of my favorite games of all time and i can explain why, first the graphics. Though the graphics are blocky they have a certain charm to them that can not be explained. The gameplay is a lot of fun taking different twist to sandbox games unlike games like GTA and Saints Row instead of running around killing people you create buildings which can take up a lot of my time. The music is great especially the piano pieces. and the multiplayer is my favourite part of this game with the community creating several games modes which is fun for all. Overall, Minecraft is a wonderful game that every PC gamer should experience once in their lives 10.1/10 Expand
  87. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. +Nice Gameplay+
    +Great Graphics+
    +Magnificent Open World+
    +Great Visuals And Design+
    +Fun Multiplayer Mode+

    Minecraft is not only nice, it's marvelous game and perfect to build and create with your own freedom. Minecraft is pleased for people to play with.
    Expand
  88. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    A great educational and creative game that allows the players to do and build whatever they want in a virtual infinite space. But be warned: if you are not a creative person, you'll get bored really fast.
  89. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    This game is one of the best games of all time. It provides so much variety that constantly people are coming out with mods and texture packs to make this game great. And they update it occasionally too to keep the gamers playing the game and to have new people start playing.
  90. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    Having played this game since it's alpha stages, I can tell you they have done a good job of updating and keeping the game a little different. The possibilities are pretty much endless; you can play any genre you want on this. Of course, unless you download a texture pack, it all looks the same. But for being able to play any genre there has got to be some disadvantage right? Yes, ofHaving played this game since it's alpha stages, I can tell you they have done a good job of updating and keeping the game a little different. The possibilities are pretty much endless; you can play any genre you want on this. Of course, unless you download a texture pack, it all looks the same. But for being able to play any genre there has got to be some disadvantage right? Yes, of course there is. If in survival, you must collect and build, but in creative you just have to build. So if you want a puzzle game, you have to make. And if you want a fighting arena you have to make it. Luckily there are multiplayer servers that you can play on that build all these things for you to play at. Another cool thing about minecraft is it's ability to mod it so easily. The game was designed to provide ample entertainment without mods, but with them you can get anything you want out of this game. As some have said, you don't really have a goal, as you are stranded in the middle of no where. But at first, there are goals. Build a house, collect materials, craft cool items, etc. Also, achievements get you something to work for. Also, the Ender Dragon is most peoples ultimate goal, and it takes a very long time to get to have a chance against it. Afterwards though, they leave it up to you to decide what happens next. Luckily with rather frequent updates you can explore new areas and meet new creatures. So if you like a very very unrestricted game, Minecraft is the way to go.And for only around 30 dollars, you can't really go wrong. For a sandbox game, Minecraft is the top choice. Expand
  91. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    I know, I know, I am incredibly late on this one. I've played Minecraft for years now, and it is not only a game that revolutionized the Gaming Industry and especially the Indie industry. It is one of the most addictive, rewarding experiences you will ever play.
    If you haven't play Minecraft, what the hell are you waiting for? And trust me, the PC version is the one you want. First,
    I know, I know, I am incredibly late on this one. I've played Minecraft for years now, and it is not only a game that revolutionized the Gaming Industry and especially the Indie industry. It is one of the most addictive, rewarding experiences you will ever play.
    If you haven't play Minecraft, what the hell are you waiting for? And trust me, the PC version is the one you want. First, almost every computer in the world runs it, you don't need a megalodon with high-tech specs to run the game. Second, don't **** about graphics. Minecraft is a beautiful game. It's blocky art stile is charming, and seeing a sunset for the first time with the eclectic piano music behind is just mesmerizingly beautiful.
    The objective in Minecraft is to survive. Or at least it is in "Survival" mode. As you progress through the game, you will progress in things like building a house, hunting monsters or going to hell. Everything can be for nothing in a blink of an eye (When you are dead, YOU ARE dead). You must orientate yourself in the random generated world, find shelter and food, and protect yourself from the creatures of the night. At moments it is thrilling, at moments scary, at moments funny. You never know what is going to happen in a typical Minecraft day.
    Then you have "Creative" mode. In this mode, you can do whatever you want with the blocks you want. Build a giant diamond mansion, and why not shape it like a yatch? How about farming zombies? The limit is literally your imagination.
    Minecraft also offers a multiplayer service. You can either play with friends or join a server to play something with the community. Want to play Hunger Games, Block Hunt and many other games with people from all around the world? Then the multiplayer experience is perfect for you. The variety of things to do and see is amazing.
    Minecraft is easily one of the jewels of this generation and of gaming history. It isn't ambitious and still, it feels like the biggest-scaled game ever made. It is always updating, expanding to keep things fresh, and it truly is the Indie Game that revolutionized the industry.
    Expand
  92. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    Now these are my words coming from my mouth. This is my opinion review. I gave Minecraft a 9/10 because Jeb was put in charge. Minecraft was better when Marcus "Notch" Pearson was in charge. Jeb turned Minecraft over to it's "darkest zone". The only good thing about all of this is that Jeb put a down grader in the launcher. I love Minecraft, but am disappointing in what Jeb has done withNow these are my words coming from my mouth. This is my opinion review. I gave Minecraft a 9/10 because Jeb was put in charge. Minecraft was better when Marcus "Notch" Pearson was in charge. Jeb turned Minecraft over to it's "darkest zone". The only good thing about all of this is that Jeb put a down grader in the launcher. I love Minecraft, but am disappointing in what Jeb has done with Minecraft. I wish that Notch would come back and Jeb would be co assistant. Notch, please come back and fix Jeb's "new game". Expand
  93. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is often criticised for not containing guns, unless modded. this is no reason to let your opinion go sour. The game itself is very versatile; it is playable on Pc, Xbox, Apple, Android, Ps3, Ps4, and has many spin-offs. whichever version you choose to play, minecraft has the same drift; you have a character, usually customisable, who spawns into a seemingly endless world ofMinecraft is often criticised for not containing guns, unless modded. this is no reason to let your opinion go sour. The game itself is very versatile; it is playable on Pc, Xbox, Apple, Android, Ps3, Ps4, and has many spin-offs. whichever version you choose to play, minecraft has the same drift; you have a character, usually customisable, who spawns into a seemingly endless world of cubes, with only your imagination as the limit. It is a great game for people of all ages, from children to elderly, as it stimulates different parts of the mind, especially creativity.

    It's really quite remarkable.
    Expand
  94. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    if you know all the things you can do in this awesome game... its the most free world game in history and also includes the possibility of make your own mechanism whit redstone, in creative or in survival.
  95. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    This is my favourite game! I think I've been playing this since 2012 and I have enjoyed every single second of it. Games don't need fancy graphics to be fun. THANKS MOJANG!

    -James
  96. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    I can't even begin to describe how enjoyable this indie game is. I will always know Minecraft to be the game that invented infinite worlds. No matter what you do in Minecraft you'll never get bored. Because, as previously mentioned it has infinite worlds! Multiplayer is extremely fun, and you can also have LAN worlds so you can play with you're friends who are on the same network.
  97. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played, period. It is true that plain vanilla may get boring after a while, but this is where the amazing community, mods, and servers come in! There is truly infinite possibility in this game, and I would definitely recommend it for anyone willing to give it a go.
  98. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Ahhh, Minecraft... you know... all those gamemodes, all those epic constructions, the amazing comunity out there. All that stuff is really awesome. And you can just play with one or two friends on a server made by YOU. Minecraft is an amazing game for 10 years old guys or even for 30 years old men (and woman). It's obviously worth the 19,90$. The only reason I give 9 as score for this gameAhhh, Minecraft... you know... all those gamemodes, all those epic constructions, the amazing comunity out there. All that stuff is really awesome. And you can just play with one or two friends on a server made by YOU. Minecraft is an amazing game for 10 years old guys or even for 30 years old men (and woman). It's obviously worth the 19,90$. The only reason I give 9 as score for this game is because of the development. The game has lots of bugs that the developers know about (their all around minecraft forums). And they just update the game when the discovered bugs reach a critical state. Expand
  99. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This is an entertaining, very casual game. There are few limits on what you can do with this game and an Internet connection. Even without the on-line parts of the game, the game can keep you occupied for a long time. The controls are easy to learn, and the game is easy to understand. You are only limited by your imagination.
  100. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This game is the best game of all time in my opinion, from the Alpha which was back in the day a fantastic game alone, it just kept on getting better through Beta and now in full release it is still being updated and content being added which is just one of the reasons this is the only 10/10 I have ever given. All the mod packs and mods which have been made from this game such as TechnicThis game is the best game of all time in my opinion, from the Alpha which was back in the day a fantastic game alone, it just kept on getting better through Beta and now in full release it is still being updated and content being added which is just one of the reasons this is the only 10/10 I have ever given. All the mod packs and mods which have been made from this game such as Technic and Feed the Beast have just added so much more replayability. The moving soundtrack fits absolutely perfectly with the game and is still being added to. The soundtrack is slow, calm and has a fantasy element to it like no other. That was just the singleplayer the multiplayer servers add even more, with custom plugins and game modes such as survival games or just mining and building with friends the multilplayer greatly increases the playtime. There is much more to add such as the enormous amount if mobs neutral and hostile and the immersive day to night cycle which really fits in with the game. The only problem with this it was quite hard and still is to set up a server for your friends to play on but that has gotten allot easier. This is the only game Xbox 360 & PC combined I have spent 1000+ hours on playing. Expand
  101. Apr 29, 2012
    0
    Minecraft is an unhealthy game to play, and it's sad to see people who are addicted to a game that has no point at all. The game steals all the creative ideas planned to do outside. Then it brings them to a neverending spiral of misery. Minecraft has bugs and mediocre graphics with a price tag of $30. The best way to save money is to not purchase Minecraft since there obviously wasn'tMinecraft is an unhealthy game to play, and it's sad to see people who are addicted to a game that has no point at all. The game steals all the creative ideas planned to do outside. Then it brings them to a neverending spiral of misery. Minecraft has bugs and mediocre graphics with a price tag of $30. The best way to save money is to not purchase Minecraft since there obviously wasn't enough effort developing the game. If you are planning to buy video games, don't buy Minecraft. There are so many other options to spend free time such as hiking, investing, learning something new, or socializing with friends. It's possible to be happy without Minecraft. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]