User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4248 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    This game has so many ways to play, explore, build etc. You can play this game so long that you usually forget how long you are playing. Playing this with friends is absolutely iceing on the cake.
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Best game ever created... bad graphics? WHO CARES? the gameplay possibilities are almost infinites! Awesome.... thanks notch ... keep up the good work :)
  3. Oct 18, 2015
    10
    Fantastic game, well okay the vanilla game gets boring once you've done everything but the massive amount of great mods is what makes Minecraft one of the best sandbox games around, I've easily put thousands of hours into Minecraft and still find new stuff to enjoy.
    The community is a rather mixed bag which is in general best avoided, but there are some really good more mature communities
    Fantastic game, well okay the vanilla game gets boring once you've done everything but the massive amount of great mods is what makes Minecraft one of the best sandbox games around, I've easily put thousands of hours into Minecraft and still find new stuff to enjoy.
    The community is a rather mixed bag which is in general best avoided, but there are some really good more mature communities out there.
    Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I found this game a year ago and I'm still playing it. I have my own server with 900 registered players. Playing this game is like playing with LEGO as a child and it's still great game. I hate idiots, who will never play it because it has 8-bit graphics.... MINECRAFT IS BEST GAME EVER!
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    as games go this is up there with the best. simple. addictive , fun, intuitive, clever. you can pl;ay the game in a variety of ways some focus on building, others mining, some exploring the infinite land which is generated. some people slate it and those are mostly the people who haven't played it. give it a go for an hour and you'll be hooked. watch out for the creepers though!
  6. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll haveThe game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Lightning + pig = zombie pigman. Need I say more?? Just an awesome game. So simple. So complex. So addictive. So going to go play it right now..........
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played (as you can see by my username) and I am addicted to it! Minecraft is a very addicting game in which you build things out of blocks of materials. You can build anything you want! This may not be everyone's cup of tea, but I think that this game is a masterpiece that is overlooked because of its graphics (which aren't that bad!). Even thoughThis is one of the best games I have ever played (as you can see by my username) and I am addicted to it! Minecraft is a very addicting game in which you build things out of blocks of materials. You can build anything you want! This may not be everyone's cup of tea, but I think that this game is a masterpiece that is overlooked because of its graphics (which aren't that bad!). Even though it is still in beta versions, I can see this game becoming very successful in the near future. Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It's AMAZING!!! The graphics are horrible. the sound is... well... there isn't much sound at all. I gotta say though this game has made me so obsessed with it's simplicity and addictive gameplay that i cannot believe it! First off, when i tried it, i didn't know what the heck to do, so if you're new then go on you tube and search for "minecraft tutorial". A user named paulsoaresjr did someIt's AMAZING!!! The graphics are horrible. the sound is... well... there isn't much sound at all. I gotta say though this game has made me so obsessed with it's simplicity and addictive gameplay that i cannot believe it! First off, when i tried it, i didn't know what the heck to do, so if you're new then go on you tube and search for "minecraft tutorial". A user named paulsoaresjr did some crazy 30 something video series on the game. Yes, it is that involved that he had to make 30 some odd videos 15 minutes long each! Expand
  10. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is starting a new genre of games. I think its the best pc-game of the 2000 century.it's so mutch to explore and so much materials to find. I like the graphics because its cool that everything is made of cubes. Noch has made a fantastic game witch i hope will be the game of the year 2011
  11. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    A perfect game for the casual player, many interesting functions and many more to come. Fun to play.
    Collect the blocks, build a house, get to the End and much more..........
  12. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Great game, the bad graphics may be a minus, but compared to the stunning gameplay and the huge amount of things you can do for fun. I would say you'll love it!
  13. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    i utterly love this game you explore build fight (play on hard if you want the most fun) the game its self is lacking but its still rather enjoyable needs a little polishing but its still the best game i have ever played a year after buying it i still play it just about every day for a good few hours. I know this might not be everys ones cup of tea you need to be some what creative to likei utterly love this game you explore build fight (play on hard if you want the most fun) the game its self is lacking but its still rather enjoyable needs a little polishing but its still the best game i have ever played a year after buying it i still play it just about every day for a good few hours. I know this might not be everys ones cup of tea you need to be some what creative to like it but after you play this for a good amount of time you will be changed for life i recommend it to every one to at least try using a freinds account, ect) if you like it you will totaly agree it will be worth the $30 and it will be the best dam $30 you ever spent. Expand
  14. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    The games is so incredible, cause it has some of the most primitive graphics, yet they immediately reach into your heart, because of the fantastic game-play. The best indie game there is in my opinion,
  15. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Le jeu est vraiment bien programmer, c'est pas une tuerie en design mais il à son charme. Et niveau programmation ça déchire ! Merci Notch

    Notch expensive, I buy your game Minecraft via the website Paypal, but requires your system to register a credit card that I do not Posed. I have a Paypal account but no credit card. Is it possible to pay with
    Le jeu est vraiment bien programmer, c'est pas une tuerie en design mais il à son charme. Et niveau programmation ça déchire ! Merci Notch

    Notch expensive, I buy your game Minecraft via the website Paypal, but requires your system to register a credit card that I do not Posed. I have a Paypal account but no credit card. Is it possible to pay with Paypal Minecraft?
    Paypal email?
    Thank you kindly answer me because I'm looking forward to playing Minecraft.

    Sincerely,
    Thank you for your Mojang
    Expand
  16. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Even when haters gonna hate, gamers gonna play. Minecraft looks terrible, has no storyline (yet), but its one of the best sandbox lego-simulator ever made. Good job Mojang. I still remember my beloved booster glitch (RIP).
  17. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Being able to create your own experience and adventures make this games one of a kind. Your whole world is built out of blocks and without any storyline or plot. You have to survive in this harsh world by crafting items and building a home for yourself. I was not disappointed by this and likely neither will you as you can jump right in and do what ever. TheThis game is amazing. Being able to create your own experience and adventures make this games one of a kind. Your whole world is built out of blocks and without any storyline or plot. You have to survive in this harsh world by crafting items and building a home for yourself. I was not disappointed by this and likely neither will you as you can jump right in and do what ever. The multiplayer experience allows you to play online with your friends to go on more adventures in this blocky world, or just to create epic structures. The 3 modes that you can play on are survival, creative (unlimited resources, and items), and hardcore (basically survival, but if you die your world is deleted without any recovery). The amount of mods for this game and neat texture packs will have you scouring the internet for the ones you love, making the game even more personal to you without any extra charge. This is a game that does not disappoint. You won't regret your purchase. Expand
  18. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I hate Minecraft. There are more bugs than any other game I have ever played, and I can safely predict that almost all of them will remain un-fixed throughout the entirety of the game. Why did I give it a 10, you ask? Because even in spite of all of these bugs and lack of features, some of which can be game-breaking at times, it's still a *million* times more fun than any game I haveI hate Minecraft. There are more bugs than any other game I have ever played, and I can safely predict that almost all of them will remain un-fixed throughout the entirety of the game. Why did I give it a 10, you ask? Because even in spite of all of these bugs and lack of features, some of which can be game-breaking at times, it's still a *million* times more fun than any game I have played recently. Even Skyrim hasn't been able to keep me coming back as much as Minecraft has.

    And if there's really some feature that I feel it should have, I can always mod it. God I love modding. If modern game creators should learn anything from Minecraft, it should be to make their make their game moddable. If there's anything I don't like about the game, I can change it, so any problems I have with the game would ultimately be a result of my lack of coding ability. :-)

    Also, Notch! Release a proper modding toolkit or I'll do something naughty to your servers!
    Expand
  19. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is just amazing. It has already been played for a long time and is still fresh due to updates and the limitless creativity it offers. It's something that creative people should not pass! The game also has a great and large community. And, really, it doesn't matter how many times a creeper killed me or ruined my structures. I keep addicted to it. If I had something like a top 100This game is just amazing. It has already been played for a long time and is still fresh due to updates and the limitless creativity it offers. It's something that creative people should not pass! The game also has a great and large community. And, really, it doesn't matter how many times a creeper killed me or ruined my structures. I keep addicted to it. If I had something like a top 100 of games, Minecraft would be surely in the top 5, maybe after the epic Nintendo titles like Ocarina of Time and Super Mario Galaxy 1 & 2. Expand
  20. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is a game that caters exclusively to the visionaries and creative audience of the PC gaming world. Of course many would say it is repetitive and otherwise boring, because they have very little vision on what they can do next. While I'm sad to see it suffer in that regard, I'm very glad that for every nay-sayer there are 5 people who could blow me away with their creations andMinecraft is a game that caters exclusively to the visionaries and creative audience of the PC gaming world. Of course many would say it is repetitive and otherwise boring, because they have very little vision on what they can do next. While I'm sad to see it suffer in that regard, I'm very glad that for every nay-sayer there are 5 people who could blow me away with their creations and excellent uses of the ultimate sandbox world. However, I think there is one big flaw in Minecraft, and that is the development team. I do realize it is an indie developer, and can only handle so many bug fixes and content addition, many of them (Notch especially) were planning and talking about moving on from Minecraft to new projects before the game was even released at Minecon. There was so much potential and momentum in this game that I thought was lost in the area of the staffing at Mojang. However, the silver lining is that much of that potential was regained within the excellent modding community. All that aside, Minecraft is a game one would enjoy in a predisposed "creative" mood. Typically I find those who don't enjoy it aren't visual thinkers, and enjoy tight corridor games with point and shoot mechanics. But at the end of the day, Minecraft is, by indie development standards, an excellent and solid game. Bugs are minor and exploitable, and otherwise go unnoticed at times. Content may be lacking in some respect, but it has come a long way from the alpha version. Expand
  21. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    This game is incredibly fantastic. It's a game of creation and imagination. You can build anything you want, so long as you have the resources for it. That true to life scale of the arc de triumphe feels much more amazing, knowing you carved out every block for the resources, and built it yourself. Although, if you're shy of the work, there is a creative mode; like a much more fun andThis game is incredibly fantastic. It's a game of creation and imagination. You can build anything you want, so long as you have the resources for it. That true to life scale of the arc de triumphe feels much more amazing, knowing you carved out every block for the resources, and built it yourself. Although, if you're shy of the work, there is a creative mode; like a much more fun and interesting game of virtual legos. All in all, this game is as awesome as you are. It gives you the tools, and removes the barrier to entry to create whatever is in your imagination. I love this game. And the replay value is limitless. Expand
  22. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    winnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn brahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh winnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn minecraft
  23. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    now minecraft release date is Nov 18, 2011 ï¼
  24. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Great game overall! Even though metacritic got the release date wrong(supposed to be dated to 11/18 for release date). But great game, with all the monster killing, building, sandbox design, can't wait for more updates to the game itself in the future!
  25. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best games out there.You have a giant world in which you can do what ever you wish.You can either explore caves and strongholds,build giant sky scrapers,create big farms of sugar cane,or simply wander.
  26. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    One of the most addicting games I have ever played. The graphics are very simple, and the game won't be loved by everyone, but if you want an extremely open experience with an incredible depth of game play, then Minecraft is a great choice. There is no story or plot, which leaves the entire purpose of the game up to the player, and with the massive number of obtainable items and buildingOne of the most addicting games I have ever played. The graphics are very simple, and the game won't be loved by everyone, but if you want an extremely open experience with an incredible depth of game play, then Minecraft is a great choice. There is no story or plot, which leaves the entire purpose of the game up to the player, and with the massive number of obtainable items and building materials in a practically infinite world, Minecraft is truly a unique game that places virtually limits on creativity. Expand
  27. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Minecraft, built from the ground up and inspiring creative build in a simple and naturalistic way. Minecraft is a game which hours can be spent on, but its what you get out of those hours. With its over expanding modification base, adding new monsters and now spells, add that extra something to the game. With its ability to change to Hi-Def texture packs and run full screen. While singleMinecraft, built from the ground up and inspiring creative build in a simple and naturalistic way. Minecraft is a game which hours can be spent on, but its what you get out of those hours. With its over expanding modification base, adding new monsters and now spells, add that extra something to the game. With its ability to change to Hi-Def texture packs and run full screen. While single player has it advantages its multiplayer packs a punch, with the ability to share you creations with others, and other activities that were based off the original Minecraft, which is now free of course. Being one of the most addictive games out there, you don't want to miss out on this game. Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game was practically a dream for me. As a kid I loved building with Legos, made towns and loved using my imagination to add in stories for things. This is precisely what Minecraft lets you do better than any Lego game out there right now. When you start it can be a little overwhelming, and can seem a bit complicated, but you learn, you master your environment, and you build. InThis game was practically a dream for me. As a kid I loved building with Legos, made towns and loved using my imagination to add in stories for things. This is precisely what Minecraft lets you do better than any Lego game out there right now. When you start it can be a little overwhelming, and can seem a bit complicated, but you learn, you master your environment, and you build. In single player it can get a bit lonesome, but if you find a great group of people to play with online there will always be new things to explore, and occasionally surprises (good and bad) left for you to find at your houses. The charming looks, rather amazing landscapes you can find, and the expandability provided by a supportive fan-base will keep you entertained for a while assuming you don't need to see blood and gore every few minutes to keep your attention.

    I would like to address some of the ridiculous low scores some users gave the game. Reading through some there appear to be 2 major complaints, one being entirely illegitimate to me. Graphics. This really boils down to an argument the art community had some time ago, something that impressionism annihilated. In order to look good things do not need to strive for photo-realism. If you keep your aesthetic consistent which Minecraft does very well, things will look great even when full of blocks. It all just adds to the core mechanic of the game, you are in a world of building blocks, go build!
    There is also the trend of those siting graphics for not liking the game actually admit to not trying it purely because of the looks.

    The second major complaint is that after a while it gets boring. This can be true but is this not true of all games? For me I keep coming back and making new worlds. I do believe you will get your money's worth of playtime out of the game before becoming bored.

    All in all I will say this is a game for those with imagination, those who want to see themselves as the last knights of a kingdom long since overrun by undead and explosive creeper hoards, and gathering the last of their resolve strive to survive and rebuild the kingdom that was lost. Or may be you just wanna run a weird hotel in the middle of the ocean with pig riding out back, whatever floats your boat :-p
    Expand
  29. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the most addicting games EVER. I have not stopped playing this game since it came out in beta. with the new 1.0.0 update this game is better than ever with potion brewing and a new realm with a final dragon boss to fight. I have also bought this game for the Ipod, which works like creative mode. This game is one of the best I have ever played. 10/10 Expand
  30. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This game is brilliant at what it does. If you expect current gen graphics or are overly concerned with how the game looks, this is not for you. If you didn't play with legos or like you games with set goals that tell you what you need to do, this game is not for you. However, if you have a love of creating things and play game that is what you make of it, then minecraft is for you. ThisThis game is brilliant at what it does. If you expect current gen graphics or are overly concerned with how the game looks, this is not for you. If you didn't play with legos or like you games with set goals that tell you what you need to do, this game is not for you. However, if you have a love of creating things and play game that is what you make of it, then minecraft is for you. This is not a traditional game, it is a simplified 3d rendering program done in a game theme. While some may argue your time is better spent actually learning how to use the real programs, minecraft is simpler and cheaper. You literally have the freedom to create whatever your imagination can come up with using 1 meter cubed blocks. The game is simple in appearence, and wonderfully complex at the same time, its simply a matter of how play it. I myself have recreated the Temple of Artemis, a football stadium, an ancient city, Wayne manor....... I've seen people do Enterprises, AT-AT walkers, hell go to youtube and search minecraft, you'll see a near endless list of things people have done. And then there is the modding community that creates some wonderful modes that enhance the gameplay, like the planes mod for example. And while the game is really fun solo, it is even more amazing when playing with a group of friends, the stuff my friends and I have created is amazing and alot of fun to do. Remember the game is what you make of it, so have fun. Expand
  31. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Only word that can describe this game to its fullest. Do you want free world and do-what-you-want style of gameplay? Do you want endless fun? Do you want quality spent time? This game is just what you might be searching for! When I first played it, I was not very impressed in any part. But after youtube-ing some videos and playing it for few hours, I got mildly addicted. Now, 1Amazing. Only word that can describe this game to its fullest. Do you want free world and do-what-you-want style of gameplay? Do you want endless fun? Do you want quality spent time? This game is just what you might be searching for! When I first played it, I was not very impressed in any part. But after youtube-ing some videos and playing it for few hours, I got mildly addicted. Now, 1 year later, I have spent more than 750 hours playing the game, and hell, it was well worth it. Buy it. Only thing that really needs to be said. Magnificent! Expand
  32. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Mojang's "Minecraft" is the Electronic Age's LEGOs, there is simply no other way to state it. It heavily (yet subtly) encourages the less objectively-good things in humanity, such as beauty, creativity, and teamwork, all while maintaining the guise as a "survival adventure" game. In reality, Minecraft is less about crafting and more about creating; a simple 1x2 mud hut can keep you aliveMojang's "Minecraft" is the Electronic Age's LEGOs, there is simply no other way to state it. It heavily (yet subtly) encourages the less objectively-good things in humanity, such as beauty, creativity, and teamwork, all while maintaining the guise as a "survival adventure" game. In reality, Minecraft is less about crafting and more about creating; a simple 1x2 mud hut can keep you alive through the night, but no one builds that (except out of desperation!)...the players of this game build towering monstrosities of castles, Nordic keeps, 1-to-1 scale replicas of Star Trek ships and Hogwarts castle. Not because they MUST, but simply because they CAN. This is the game of our generation. Expand
  33. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I have been playing Minecraft from about the 1.5 Beta stage. At first it was quite boring, but as the game progresses, you uncover a world full of wonderful things. From the first time you find diamonds to finally creating a house made up of all the stuff you can successfully scrape together off the ground, it is an unusually addictive game. But what makes this complete is the community.I have been playing Minecraft from about the 1.5 Beta stage. At first it was quite boring, but as the game progresses, you uncover a world full of wonderful things. From the first time you find diamonds to finally creating a house made up of all the stuff you can successfully scrape together off the ground, it is an unusually addictive game. But what makes this complete is the community. From the amazing mods that improve the game so much, to the fan made maps and community on YouTube, this is one of the greatest games of all time, and with it expanding to the 360 early in the new year, I cannot wait to play it on both my PC and 360 with all of my friends and family, because of course, it is a family game. Expand
  34. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Probably the best game ever made. There is a goal to the game, although it isn't obvious at first. Minecraft's weakest point would have to be the fact that it can get boring after a while. However, starting afresh usually helps.
  35. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I would give this game a solid 10/10 for starters the game itself has a solid gamplay which leans more toward a sandbox/RPG type game but thats good because it gives you freedom within the world to do as you please.Then on to the graphics sure there pixely but thats what defines this game as is and if you don't like the graphics you can just get a texture pack. Now onto its multiplayerI would give this game a solid 10/10 for starters the game itself has a solid gamplay which leans more toward a sandbox/RPG type game but thats good because it gives you freedom within the world to do as you please.Then on to the graphics sure there pixely but thats what defines this game as is and if you don't like the graphics you can just get a texture pack. Now onto its multiplayer mechanics it's multiplayer is well defined and makes a mark for itself just look at the immense servers sprawling with creations requiring tons of people. Lastly Minecraft isn't a game much more its a genre because now you have games popping up like Terraria, FortressCraft, and alot of other games. So it's well worth that $26.95 for admission to such a diverse game with endless possiblty and it has so many mods to content people who are getting bored of the vanilla gameplay. Expand
  36. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is definetly worth a purchase, one of the best game I have played and I have played a fair bunch. Hard to get bored, I bought while it was still in Alpha mode and i still play it all the time.
  37. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I wandered through the woods, killed skeletons, spiders, zombies. I discovered deep canyons and high mountains. I dug deep into the soil to find ores of iron, gold and diamonds. I built a palace made of glass surrounded by waterfalls that keep the creepers away. I built a rollercoaster, a chicken farm, a musical gangway. On our server I can travel by cart to a Cathedral built a friend orI wandered through the woods, killed skeletons, spiders, zombies. I discovered deep canyons and high mountains. I dug deep into the soil to find ores of iron, gold and diamonds. I built a palace made of glass surrounded by waterfalls that keep the creepers away. I built a rollercoaster, a chicken farm, a musical gangway. On our server I can travel by cart to a Cathedral built a friend or to the depths of Moria built by another...

    There are so many adventures, crafting recipies... possibilities!
    The music is so awesome and inspiring, I bought and d/l'd some C418 CDs so I can hear the music while I'm working. Minecraft is a phenomenon that I'm happy to be part of.
    Expand
  38. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    What to say the only game that I play ATM than its awesome. There are bugs but Mojang is fixing them and the bugs aren't like that you can't play the game properly, you can be creative than there are no limits in our creativity only our mind.
  39. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    At its core Minecraft is the ultimate game, simple yet elegant, and infinitely re-playable. From when i started playing while it was in alpha to now the best part is the multi-player being able to create literally whatever you want from things you find while exploring. Its infinite plain and simple like Lego when i was growing up this recreates a part of my life i desperately needed again
  40. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the most addicting game I've ever tried. I have been playing it since alpha, and i will continue to play for the next many years to come.
  41. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Truly an amazing game. You can put in hours upon hours and still have fresh gameplay. I totally recommend you on getting this amazing fantastic family friendly game that has no curse words at all!
  42. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Simply, in my opinion, the best PC game ever. Endless possibilities and all it asks for is your creativity! (And time, lots and ltos of time!) Everytime there is a new patch there is loads lore featues and things to discover! Just an excellent gaming experience!
  43. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    MineCraft is truly a great game, it has something for almost any age group. With the addition of creative mode, MineCraft has opened up to all those players who just want to build (like Garry's Mod). MineCraft can be modified and is a large COMMUNITY game which I think give it a huge thumbs up.
  44. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is an amazing Sandbox-Game. You need to play it and get into it, in order to understand it. If you think this Game is silly, ugly, or old, you probably haven't tried it yet.
  45. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Very fun game, start in a world with nothing and build it into your own.
    Fight, play or build. Learn new skills and improve your red stone circuits to make some awesome things.

    A****
  46. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I bought Minecraft in alpha, and it has been one of the few games i have hatched on like a slug

    I started out in singleplayer, and as a lot of other people say, it gets boring after a while.

    THAT is where Multiplayer comes in. I joined Super-Earth, and ever since, the game has delivered more entertainment than you could get for a 1000$
  47. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. In fact the first one I bought since the 80:s, and the only one I still play after about a year buying it. The possibilites in the game makes every new world unique, and the Hardcore-mode makes dying very less desirable.
  48. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Minecraft have it's flaws.The total lack of a tutorial and a better guidance for the player certainly can put some gamers lost in the vast world before them. However, what we have here is the birth of a new game genre which inspired other game developers to create similar games (the most famous is Terraria). Despite the blocky and pixelated graphics (or better saying: Voxels) Minecraft isMinecraft have it's flaws.The total lack of a tutorial and a better guidance for the player certainly can put some gamers lost in the vast world before them. However, what we have here is the birth of a new game genre which inspired other game developers to create similar games (the most famous is Terraria). Despite the blocky and pixelated graphics (or better saying: Voxels) Minecraft is another proof you don't need a PS3 or DX11 graphics to make a game good and entertaining. Sure, sometimes you get lost and bored when you don't know what to do, but as long you have a goal to do in this game it'll never get boring. Be building (or reforming) a home, crafting new items, spelunking the caves searching for rare minerals, wandering in the vast world or just creating or recreating a mansion or whatever you want to do in the Creative Mode.

    Also despite the blocky graphics, Minecraft CAN scare you. Specially when you're venturing in the mines. Nothing more scaring than digging for minerals in a mine when suddenly you hear a "sssss" right behind you before you're victim of a explosion (and dies) or when you turn around a dark corner just to see a big and furry spider lunging at your face.

    In the end, Minecraft is a game for creative and intelligent gamers who can see what lies behind a world made of blocked and "ugly" grafics. In my most honest opinion, if this game don't deserves a 10. Then no other game deserves it.
    Expand
  49. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is amazing. Too many people are rating Minecraft Alpha version or Beta version. But Minecraft is now in 1.0.0. And now, it's even better. Do what you want. REALLY what you want. Not like other games.
  50. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is an amazing game, for all of you whining about how it barely has anything in it and has bad graphics, shut up and play something that has "good graphics", and for all of you saying how it barely has anything in the final release, it still has upcoming updates, this is just going out of the beta stage. I've been playing since alpha and have never lost interest do to graphics orMinecraft is an amazing game, for all of you whining about how it barely has anything in it and has bad graphics, shut up and play something that has "good graphics", and for all of you saying how it barely has anything in the final release, it still has upcoming updates, this is just going out of the beta stage. I've been playing since alpha and have never lost interest do to graphics or how it doesn't have any of the promised features yet, it takes time to code a game, and if you get bored of the vanilla game, the community has tons of modders and the forums have a mod section full of great mods. Get bored of singleplayer with mods? Try multiplayer, and if that doesn't interest you enough, TRY MULTIPLAYER WITH MODS! I hope this review gets through to all of you. Expand
  51. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This game is a great example of how a game does not have to be complicated and with fancy graphics to be good. The game is very fun in creative, survival and in multiplayer. The only down side about this game would be that, on vanilla, this game can become rather boring. But Minecraft created a great community that started to create wonderful mods, texture packs, custom maps, adventureThis game is a great example of how a game does not have to be complicated and with fancy graphics to be good. The game is very fun in creative, survival and in multiplayer. The only down side about this game would be that, on vanilla, this game can become rather boring. But Minecraft created a great community that started to create wonderful mods, texture packs, custom maps, adventure maps and more. Making Minecraft a game you can play for years. Expand
  52. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I love this game! Its a great block based game that allows the player to build up his world and survive. Or cheat you way threw it. Which is fun to!!!!
  53. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    I really, really love this game. It is without any doubt the best game I ever played. It gives you so much freedom to do whatever you want to do. Do you want to blow up the world? Go ahead!
    Do you want to make a huge castle? No problemo.
    Do you want to fight monsters? Sure thing!
  54. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    MineCraft is my favourite PC game of all time. It out plays elder-scrolls, diablo, fallout and all others. you can play Minecraft forever and never get bored. MineCraft will be one of those games that people will play in the decades to come.
  55. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    OK. I'm going to give this wonderful game a 10 which it truly deserves. The critic reviews are all great, but as usual the user reviews don't exactly know what they are reviewing, so let me get this straight, Minecraft is supposed to have simple graphics and if you don't like them, get a texture pack! Great glad i got that over with. Minecraft is a simple, yet exciting game. You can buildOK. I'm going to give this wonderful game a 10 which it truly deserves. The critic reviews are all great, but as usual the user reviews don't exactly know what they are reviewing, so let me get this straight, Minecraft is supposed to have simple graphics and if you don't like them, get a texture pack! Great glad i got that over with. Minecraft is a simple, yet exciting game. You can build in a unlimited world, you just need your imagination. One thing people forget is that this game is not over with, they will keep updating it every week and add mod support which will be great, so to those people out there giving this game a terrible review just because "game play is repetitive" there are updates so don't give this wonderful unique game a 0 because of that. I respect mojang and people really seem to forget they are indie developers, I'm grateful notch keeps up with the community which most developers don't do. And one of the greatest things about this game is that there really is no goal, yeah now there is the end, but still use your imagination. I love the graphics of this game, funny how people call it 70s like graphics i wouldn't like the game if it had a more real approach to it. This is the most unique game i have ever played, hope you love it like mostly every one does! P.S. this is from someone who actually PLAYED the game. ;D Expand
  56. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    no game has unleashed the creativity of it's players like Minecraft has, the amount of things you could build is endless and when you add multiplayer into the mix building with friends has never been so fun. Top Notch game.
  57. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    I love this game, on its own its not a 10/10 but when you add in the great community and user made content this is about the best game you can get for 30 bucks. My advice, buy it, unless your like 10 yearrs old 30 bucks wont be a huge dent in your wallet and you most likely won't regret it unless your creativity is a bit lacking.
  58. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is a sandbox game. You're the creator of your own amusement. Entering a new world without ambitions will leave you bored in about 5 minutes. You decide what you want to do and you decide how long you want to do it.

    This game is incredible in my opinion. But it would be nothing without the community. Some of the mods you can get for this game is absolutely incredible and with a
    Minecraft is a sandbox game. You're the creator of your own amusement. Entering a new world without ambitions will leave you bored in about 5 minutes. You decide what you want to do and you decide how long you want to do it.

    This game is incredible in my opinion. But it would be nothing without the community. Some of the mods you can get for this game is absolutely incredible and with a combination of let's say 10 mods you can spend hundereds of hours in one world exploring, constructing, building, mining and developing. It's like being ten years again building your Lego. Without inspiration or imagination you won't get far.

    There's still room for huge improvements such as easier installations of mods and genrally implementing alot of stuff from the mods themselves in the vanilla game.

    I am giving this game a rating 10/10 because of it's value with modding. As I said without the mods this game is not half as interesting. So to all the mod developers out there, I aplaud you. And Notch, start buying peoples creations. In my opinion the most valuable mods so far is "Buildcraft" and "Industrial Craft".
    Expand
  59. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the most diverse game I have ever played, it allows you to be creative! People who take Minecraft down are the people who saw the textures and said "no". Even in textures you are free to do anything. From pigs to the hideous creepers and ghasts. And from dirt to obsidian. Minecraft is a game that can not bore you; as soon as you get bored, you just add a new mod or two and youMinecraft is the most diverse game I have ever played, it allows you to be creative! People who take Minecraft down are the people who saw the textures and said "no". Even in textures you are free to do anything. From pigs to the hideous creepers and ghasts. And from dirt to obsidian. Minecraft is a game that can not bore you; as soon as you get bored, you just add a new mod or two and you will see an entirely new side of the game.

    To make a long story short: of all great games out there, Minecraft has the best price-quality ratio. Buy it today!
    Expand
  60. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    2nd On My Top 3 List Awesome Always New Updates Hold Up I Need My Creeper Cap *Puts On Hat* Anyway This Is Such Worth The Money You Can Build Survive Craft Sprint Dragons Potions The End The Nether Creeper Notch Heorbrine And Much More Buy It Now
  61. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is not merely a game, it is a tool for which modern audiences can express their creativity with as little effort as possible. The creator of the game, Notch, has taken a huge idea and compressed it into the limits of Java. There are 2 general ways to play Minecraft; survival, and creative. Survival focuses on building a shelter, crafting tools, killing enemies and mostMinecraft is not merely a game, it is a tool for which modern audiences can express their creativity with as little effort as possible. The creator of the game, Notch, has taken a huge idea and compressed it into the limits of Java. There are 2 general ways to play Minecraft; survival, and creative. Survival focuses on building a shelter, crafting tools, killing enemies and most importantly staying alive. Creative focuses on building, whether it be making a huge castle or an 8 bit computer or giant pixel art, creative Minecraft lets your dreams become reality block by block. Possibilities are endless, I love this game! Expand
  62. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    To everyhone who wants Minecraft, or hating on it:
    Firstly, to all of you reviewers giving Minecraft reds, you do not understand the game and the 'complete' side of things. I have played minecraft since the first release of alpha, and have loved it all the way. The graphics that some people call s*** make the spirit of the game, and actually make it better. Without these graphics,
    To everyhone who wants Minecraft, or hating on it:
    Firstly, to all of you reviewers giving Minecraft reds, you do not understand the game and the 'complete' side of things. I have played minecraft since the first release of alpha, and have loved it all the way. The graphics that some people call s*** make the spirit of the game, and actually make it better. Without these graphics, Minecraft would not have its charm and would not be Minecraft. The building side of MInecraft is amazing, being able to construct everything you dream of. Survival mode pits you against monsters that come out at night, and all in all is REALLY FUN.

    The developers are not lazy, as many have said. They work there butts of every day to make new content and add what fans want, constantly making the game more fun and exciting. Multiplayer is extremely fun, espacially with bukkit and plugins adding factions, npcs, and other great things to MInecraft. The reason why this game is so popular is that you can do anything you want, as the Yogscast have shown us, even make a gigantic sprawling story with twists and turns!

    Graphics - 10/10 (Without them Minecraft would not be Minecraft, and it would not be good)
    Gameplay - 10/10 (Very fun and keeps yoy coming back and thinking about it throughout your day)
    Story - 10/10 (You make your own story, and can do anything you want on your own or with friends)

    Extra:
    Singleplayer - 9/10 (Very very good, but can get boring after 250 hours of play)
    Multiplayer 10+/10 (Best multiplayer experience I have ever player, and I have played A LOT!)
    Expand
  63. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    This game is perfect in every aspect. Awesome gameplay, Nice, clean 8-bit textures and lots of lolz and fun if you have friends to play with. I'm so addicted to Minecraft. It's the perfect game if you want to test your creativity. You can build anything you want in it, from the smallest house to the biggest epic fortress and if you are playing multiplayer, priceless fun.
  64. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Minecraft rocks. it has bad graphics but is still a good , it gives lots of fun and entertains me for a long time. it actually has a point, unlike most games. hopefully the paid version will be even better
  65. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    **** Awesome game and a success for Indie game developers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  66. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is what you make of it. If you enjoy building, exploring and trying creative/interesting things out, then you will fully enjoy this game. Simplistic game play. But it's one of those easy to learn, difficult to master type of games.
  67. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    the best game ever! thats it. i have been playing this for around a year or two, and it is my favorite (currently) game! notch is my awesome idol, i got to meet him at minecon, thus game is amazing. everyone should have this game
  68. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    This game has provided me with hours of fun with my friends and by my self. Its normal game play is fun, and with the use of red stone, one can achieve awesome computers and calculator.
  69. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This game is the best game for computer it is awesome !!!!!! I play it all the time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it is totallty worth playing!!!!!!
  70. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is literally the epitome of video games. This game is in my top 3 favorite games of all time. So simple and yet so elegant in its gameplay that it keeps you hooked for hours on end. With the massive community development of mods for this game, it looks like we will be playing Minecraft for a long time to come.
  71. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    At first, while looking at the screenshots, you may think : "What is this pixelated and blocky piece of crap! How can people POSSIBLY like this game!?". That was my first reaction to this game. But once you do decide to give it a go, you'll find it's much more than a pixelated game.

    Minecraft is a sandbox game. There are no scripted objectives, no "go there and get me this and that".
    At first, while looking at the screenshots, you may think : "What is this pixelated and blocky piece of crap! How can people POSSIBLY like this game!?". That was my first reaction to this game. But once you do decide to give it a go, you'll find it's much more than a pixelated game.

    Minecraft is a sandbox game. There are no scripted objectives, no "go there and get me this and that". There are many RPG elements such as armour, enchanting, and potions, as well as the old hotbar. There's also the survival element (if you choose to play survival mode). But minecraft is more about doing it your way. You can choose any playstyle, not constrained by pesky quests or classes or objectives. There are no restrictions. You can feel free to do whatever you want. Want to make a giant LolCat picture? Sure, go ahead. Even open world games like Skyrim can't give you this amount of freedom. It's even better when playing with friends, building giant structures together. If building isn't your thing, you can go exploring for dungeons or monster hunting.

    And of course, the modding and mapping community is basically what makes Minecraft one of the greatest games of all time. There are countless mods for almost anything you can think of. From advanced machines to cool magic and wizadry mods, mods make Minecraft have a limitless amount of replayability. Not the mention the plethora of custom maps and adventures that are like playing an RPG.
    Expand
  72. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This game is very refreshing. You won't like it if you're just a run and gun, action gamer. You'll probably still like it, hours of gameplay in it. endless possibilities
  73. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Personally, it really annoys me that people rate and hate games due to their graphics, even if a main feature of the game is the aesthetics which are only made possibly by the graphics. One such game is Minecraft, and I'll tell you it's had me addicted from the beginning. The creativity it inspires in me genuinely shocks me sometimes, and I've been known to spend hours at a time making aPersonally, it really annoys me that people rate and hate games due to their graphics, even if a main feature of the game is the aesthetics which are only made possibly by the graphics. One such game is Minecraft, and I'll tell you it's had me addicted from the beginning. The creativity it inspires in me genuinely shocks me sometimes, and I've been known to spend hours at a time making a roller coaster, or a palace, or a city! The game has (as far as I'm concerned) infinite replay-ability, due to the very nature of the game. And I've seen people complaining that 'it has no story'. That's the whole point, everything is left for the player to imagine, including the origins of the world you just created if you so wish. This is not COD, this is not an action filled, heavily scripted, game where you can almost guess that somethings about to explode in your face. This is, along with a few other games, nearly completely unscripted. As for the ending, it is there not to explain the world you made and how it came to be, but to thank the modding community for all the support they have shown for the game. However, i have to say that the final release was almost rushed out, simply because people were growing impatient and wanted it right here, right now. The fact that some people would complain that Notch is ignoring the bugs is ridiculous, he originally wanted to completely iron out all the bugs, but the fanbase said he could do that over the next few updates. And Minecraft is still updating, it can only get, while there are a few things left to be desired, better. Expand
  74. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games made in the history of mankind. You wont see a game with this feeling in atleast ten years. The ability of being able to rule your own way of doing things is magical. Sure the latest updates are pretty bad, but the game for itself is amazing. He did a great job with the game. For a one-man project its really something. The new Mojang team have been helpingThis is one of the greatest games made in the history of mankind. You wont see a game with this feeling in atleast ten years. The ability of being able to rule your own way of doing things is magical. Sure the latest updates are pretty bad, but the game for itself is amazing. He did a great job with the game. For a one-man project its really something. The new Mojang team have been helping Notch with the game yes, but Notch managed the game all for himself for a whole year. I give this game a 10/10. Expand
  75. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, it don't matters the graphics because that's the idea. A game which has no limits except your imagination. This awesome game deserves an awesome score. 10/10
  76. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I made a few hundred dollars with a friend of mine by setting up a server, soliciting donations, and shutting it down a few months later. Minecraft is an A++ title for Ponzi schemes, as thousands of children will whip out their parent's credit cards on PayPal to get Admin privileges on your server, allowing you to rinse and repeat. Now my friend's FTP server has 8 terabytes of hard driveI made a few hundred dollars with a friend of mine by setting up a server, soliciting donations, and shutting it down a few months later. Minecraft is an A++ title for Ponzi schemes, as thousands of children will whip out their parent's credit cards on PayPal to get Admin privileges on your server, allowing you to rinse and repeat. Now my friend's FTP server has 8 terabytes of hard drive space. Thank you, Minecraft users! Expand
  77. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is a great sandbox survival game in single player mode and one of the best multiplayer experiences ever which can be modded to enhance its greatness enough said, buy it now
  78. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, had it since alpha and I still cannot get enough, best of its kind. Notch has done a great job with this game I hope him and Mojang keep bringing out the updates :)
  79. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    MineCraft is really awesome game . You can sit all the day and play it . After few maps on singleplayer you will move to Multiplayer and after around few months you will get bored again . Then you will download some mod and you will be addicted again . minecraft is ultra fun game
  80. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    how could you hate a game that lets you do whatever you want there is no downside if you dont like something mods are easy as pie and ill bet most haters dont play on a server with friends cause thats where the real fun is
  81. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Bugs, content which could have been made in a different way, lower FPS as the game has developed and no real change between BETA and official release, but why care? Spending a first night stuck in a cave in the dark, wondering what that green depressing creature is outside is probably one the best experiences you can get from any game. After a mad dash to find shelter in the first day,Bugs, content which could have been made in a different way, lower FPS as the game has developed and no real change between BETA and official release, but why care? Spending a first night stuck in a cave in the dark, wondering what that green depressing creature is outside is probably one the best experiences you can get from any game. After a mad dash to find shelter in the first day, ignoring everything, you come out into the daylight and well, it's beautiful. The landscapes are randomly generated and sometimes very odd, but look as if they have been hand crafted, the animals just tempt killing sprees and who doesn't like punching a tree?
    Minecraft may not be perfect for everyone, but it has potential and ongoing development is sure to give us a few hidden suprises.
    Expand
  82. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    This game is for those that enjoy creating. If you do not like creating, you will instantly be turned away. Now, this game, as many have already pointed out, the graphics are not that great, but what you must understand is that the game was not built to host amazing graphics, and that it is an indie game. The game isn't an AAA game, and if you can't rap your head around the fact it doesn'tThis game is for those that enjoy creating. If you do not like creating, you will instantly be turned away. Now, this game, as many have already pointed out, the graphics are not that great, but what you must understand is that the game was not built to host amazing graphics, and that it is an indie game. The game isn't an AAA game, and if you can't rap your head around the fact it doesn't have good graphics, and you can't play it because of that, then so be it. You get used to the games graphics, and then eventually love it, and its uniqueness. This game is hands-down amazing. I started playing when it was Alpha, and it didn't even have multiplayer at the time. Back then, it was so much fun to play Single Player, because you had an entire world to explore and make a house impervious to enemies, find out all the tricks to the game and the like. I have played many games, and I must say, this game compels you strongly to build bigger houses, get better gear, find better ways of producing your resources, and the like. Then Multiplayer came out-- the game became wonderful! Sure, it had a few kinks here and there, but having friends to explore that world with, makes you feel like you were a little kid again exploring the world as a free soul trying to find cool things to do. The only problem was, after Multiplayer came out, Single Player was not worth playing to me anymore, because my friends couldn't use the things I made, therefore Single Player felt worthless.But, the game is wonderful: music that fits the atmosphere, gripping gameplay that makes you thirst for more, and graphics that gives it, its own style and spot inside your heart. As a side note, forget all those people that keep complaining about Notch and his choices; everyone makes mistakes and he has made a few, but he has still tried to make the game great, even more so great than it already is. Expand
  83. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    A great example to use in the "Graphics don't make a game good" argument with its unhealthily addictive gameplay. Single player will last only as long as your imagination will let you and multiplayer is fantastic. A lot of multiplayer servers have their own little community that are friendly enough to welcome you in and help build if you don't have your own friends to play with and feelA great example to use in the "Graphics don't make a game good" argument with its unhealthily addictive gameplay. Single player will last only as long as your imagination will let you and multiplayer is fantastic. A lot of multiplayer servers have their own little community that are friendly enough to welcome you in and help build if you don't have your own friends to play with and feel that way inclined. To counter the low scores given by people, I'd have to say "Did you get your moneys worth?". Sure there is no multiplayer server browser (You need to use Google to find servers), the achievements are tacked on, the NPC A.I is barely there and Notch may have promised more than he delivered but £12 for what can easily turn into 50+ or even 100+ hours of truly enjoyable and fun gameplay makes it unimportant to me.

    Did I get my moneys worth? Definitely.
    Expand
  84. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the best game ever.The Grafik is nice and if you don't like it,insall a texture pack.You want to play even more and more.Buy it,20 â
  85. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Honestly, the user reviewers can be some of the most annoying people I've ever seen. Half of them are members of a fanbase who are angry because of one trivial thing the developers did. The only reason why this game doesn't bear the 10.0 user score it so rightfully deserves is because a bunch of fans got upset with some decision Notch made or something and so they spammed negative scores.Honestly, the user reviewers can be some of the most annoying people I've ever seen. Half of them are members of a fanbase who are angry because of one trivial thing the developers did. The only reason why this game doesn't bear the 10.0 user score it so rightfully deserves is because a bunch of fans got upset with some decision Notch made or something and so they spammed negative scores. It's bad enough that Spore, a great game, has a 4.6 user rating because people were upset that they didn't get the 2005 Spore. That being said, Minecraft is probably one of the most intuitive ideas for a game that I've seen in a long while. It's a good example of how a huge idea can derive from a simple concept. This is true art at its very finest. Expand
  86. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    I cannot stop playing this game it is so much fun. The possibilities are endless, you can do and build whatever you can think of. I agree the graphics are not the best, but Notch has even said he supports texture packs. Notch has said he's not an artist. Me and my kids play it all the time. What other game can you make your own adventures up? Build whatever you want? I don't think theirI cannot stop playing this game it is so much fun. The possibilities are endless, you can do and build whatever you can think of. I agree the graphics are not the best, but Notch has even said he supports texture packs. Notch has said he's not an artist. Me and my kids play it all the time. What other game can you make your own adventures up? Build whatever you want? I don't think their are that many other games. When I first saw this game, I thought it was the worst game ever because of the graphics. Then i played 20 minutes of it and didn't want to stop it was so much fun. It is worth the $20. I can't see any reason to not like this game. Listen to the critics and play the game longer than 5 minutes so you can see how good the game actually is. Expand
  87. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Late December 2010 was the first time I played this odd-looking indie-game called Minecraft. I started with an outdated version and even that had me impressed and hooked. A couple of weeks later I got my hands on the beta and a whole new adventure started.

    Minecraft delivers a nearly endless world for you to mess around in. It throws some hostile spiders, skeletons, zombies and some
    Late December 2010 was the first time I played this odd-looking indie-game called Minecraft. I started with an outdated version and even that had me impressed and hooked. A couple of weeks later I got my hands on the beta and a whole new adventure started.

    Minecraft delivers a nearly endless world for you to mess around in. It throws some hostile spiders, skeletons, zombies and some explosive creatures called creepers at you at the same time. You have to survive and keep yourself out of danger, but at the same time you can dig deeper into the world and discover rare minerals and dangerous dungeons, all can be used to upgrade your amor, or obtain some rare blocks for that epic wizard's tower you're building.

    The gameplay is basic; You can walk, sneak, punch, run and jump. To be honest, you don't need much more. It gives you the opportunities you need, and that's what this game is all about.

    I've seen quite an amount of people complain about its graphics. Now, I really do like these fancy, shiny Fps-graphics as much as anyone, but even though they may seem sloppy and effortless, it works well with the rest of the game. There's even an opportunity to change all of your textures, even though you shouldn't have to mod your game to enjoy it.

    The multiplayer; the heart and core of Minecraft. Even if you only decide to play some basic survival with a mate, or join a hardcore pvp-server, the multiplayer will be what really blows you away. You have ENDLESS possibilities, and that is exactly what makes this game what it is. It's what you and your multiplayer friends make it; amazing.
    Expand
  88. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is game witch is some what hard to try to compare to any other and that is one of its greatest strong points. There have been games in the past that were some what based around the idea that Minecraft is built on, but where they failed Minecraft has managed to do it brilliantly. The massive and open world is a blank canvas for the gamer to build or destroy what ever they feel.Minecraft is game witch is some what hard to try to compare to any other and that is one of its greatest strong points. There have been games in the past that were some what based around the idea that Minecraft is built on, but where they failed Minecraft has managed to do it brilliantly. The massive and open world is a blank canvas for the gamer to build or destroy what ever they feel. Which give a feeling of great feedback towards the player. And has a re-playability way beyond anything that has been released to this date. It is a gaming landmark and an eye opener for other gaming developers around the world. Expand
  89. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is a very good game where you can do a lot of things just with block... You can have a lot of fun... Notch is a pretty cool guy the game is really awesome.......................
  90. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    A wonderfully balanced game. With all of the different mods and texture packs, you can never get bored. Multiplayer is awesome and I've sunk hundreds of hours. Definitely a 10.
  91. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    why the hell is everyone complaining?whoever paid for it is still receiving updates all the time,i love the game,and everytime an update comes out i go try it,to me?a solid 10,an excellent idea growing each day more and more,wait for the final version,most games you buy,you end them in 8 hours and they fall into oblivion because there is no new content on them and the ones which have newwhy the hell is everyone complaining?whoever paid for it is still receiving updates all the time,i love the game,and everytime an update comes out i go try it,to me?a solid 10,an excellent idea growing each day more and more,wait for the final version,most games you buy,you end them in 8 hours and they fall into oblivion because there is no new content on them and the ones which have new content are PAYED after you already BOUGHT the freakin game. this one?payed for it and still looks like a new one Expand
  92. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    I've played a lot of different types of games, but in the end, Minecraft probably brings home the best game award. It's incredibly fun and addicting, and it's got the whole sandbox idea down. I can agree with people that it can get boring after awhile, but that's where the forums come in. The amazing community provides thousands of different mods and adventure maps to play with whenI've played a lot of different types of games, but in the end, Minecraft probably brings home the best game award. It's incredibly fun and addicting, and it's got the whole sandbox idea down. I can agree with people that it can get boring after awhile, but that's where the forums come in. The amazing community provides thousands of different mods and adventure maps to play with when vanilla survival just isn't enough. I've played Minecraft for about 1-2 years now, but I'm still as in love with it as I was when I started playing it. There's been a few times where I've gotten completely bored with it, but then I just wait about a month and I'm hooked again. The replay value is amazing, the lack of story line is excused because of the style of the game and surprisingly enough, the graphics are amazing. Before you jump to conclusions, I do realize that the graphics are all "blocky and square". But that's what makes it so amazing, it recreates the pixel feeling from old video games, looks great, and accept it or not, it's a big part of the game it self. It wouldn't really be Minecraft without the "blockness", would it? Expand
  93. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    If you have anything bad to say about this game you are stupid. This game is fun because f the building and digging and playing with your friends. Some of these reviews are complaining about money shut up about money why did u buy the game then. If you like creating things and enjoy games that you can play with friends this game is for you.
  94. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Pros:
    -Most fun you can have online with your friends
    -Innovative gameplay -Redstone circuit stuffs -Building gives you a sense of accomplishment because u had to find the materials -Mods if you want to (lots of em) -Texture packs galore -Systems and things (mob systems, etc. are fun to build) -Quirks (weird bugs that make certain devices possible, adds complexity) -Good Graphics (they
    Pros:
    -Most fun you can have online with your friends
    -Innovative gameplay
    -Redstone circuit stuffs
    -Building gives you a sense of accomplishment because u had to find the materials
    -Mods if you want to (lots of em)
    -Texture packs galore
    -Systems and things (mob systems, etc. are fun to build)
    -Quirks (weird bugs that make certain devices possible, adds complexity)
    -Good Graphics (they chose a style and did it well)
    -No tutorial (tutorials piss me off)

    Cons:
    -Glitchy (also a pro, see above)
    -Laggy
    -No tutorial (for me this wasn't a problem, minecraftwiki.net is an excellent resource)
    -Final Release is rushed (give them a break guys, people begged them to release the full game, and so they set up MineCon and then rushed to complete the game on time - since when does a game developer ever release a game on time????)
    -Unfinished features (this will be fixed though eventually)
    -Weak AI (this is not that bad, the AI actually allows you to do certain things like mob system, but new AI is coming soon and would be appreciated)
    Expand
  95. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This game is vastly entertaining with nearly endless possible activities and modding ability. Setting up a modded server with friends will no doubt be endlessly fun if you make full use of the mods. This is a HUGE step in the right direction for games. To hell with graphics, give me content!
  96. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is a creative and fun game. Unlimited world space. and you can build whatever you want in this game. Ive spend over 100 hours playing this game. Great job Notch!
  97. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    I think I know why Minecraft is getting so many negative ratings. A large portion of these people are Hardcore FPSers. Playing MW3, and such. I feel sorry for them. They have completly missed the great thing that Minecraft is built around. Minecraft has no goals for a reason. It has no "Go to the checkpoint.", "Kill X ememies.", or "Press the button.".

    *It Does Not Tell You To Do
    I think I know why Minecraft is getting so many negative ratings. A large portion of these people are Hardcore FPSers. Playing MW3, and such. I feel sorry for them. They have completly missed the great thing that Minecraft is built around. Minecraft has no goals for a reason. It has no "Go to the checkpoint.", "Kill X ememies.", or "Press the button.".

    *It Does Not Tell You To Do Anything! The Only Goals Are Those You Create!*

    This is the secret to why people love Minecraft. There is nothing you have to do, you can do whatever you want.
    Expand
  98. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Ok, are the people writing these reviews **** drunk. I have been playing since the first version of beta and can tell you that this is my favorite game of all time, it is the ultimate sandbox game. The idea of having a game where you can completely make whatever you want has been around for decades but was never properly achieved until Notches beautiful Minecraft. The random world makesOk, are the people writing these reviews **** drunk. I have been playing since the first version of beta and can tell you that this is my favorite game of all time, it is the ultimate sandbox game. The idea of having a game where you can completely make whatever you want has been around for decades but was never properly achieved until Notches beautiful Minecraft. The random world makes players amazed at what they can find, the creepers add suspense and insure that the player is never safe, the many materials used to build an ultimate palace, all of this adds up to create the ultimate gaming experience known to man kind. All of these **** giving it bad reviews have no idea what they are talking about. Buy the game and you won't be sorry. It offers hours of fun in return and rarely has any bugs, when it does they are patched in the next update. This game will always have you on your toes, you never know what to expect from the glorious Minecraft. Expand
  99. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    I am addicted to this game. This is by far the greatest game ever created in my opinion. It has so much you can do: explore caves. Fight endless hordes of undead creatures, giant spiders, and strange fiends that spawned in the imaginations of the creators. Explore down to the very bedrock of the world. Mine essential coal, valuable iron, amazing redstone, majestic lapis lazuli, brilliantI am addicted to this game. This is by far the greatest game ever created in my opinion. It has so much you can do: explore caves. Fight endless hordes of undead creatures, giant spiders, and strange fiends that spawned in the imaginations of the creators. Explore down to the very bedrock of the world. Mine essential coal, valuable iron, amazing redstone, majestic lapis lazuli, brilliant gold, heavy-duty diamonds, and of course the second-hardest material in the game, obsidian. Create impenetrable fortresses on the highest mountain, underwater, in a cliff face, or underground. Build complicated traps, locks, doorbells, gates, and more with redstone. Brew potions that can change the tide of battle. Enchant weapons, tools, and armor to give it a shiny bling and extra abilities. All this, and even more in multiplayer. Make a shop, start a city, dominate your enemies, found an alliance, rise to become a moderator, or even an admin, and more. And to think that the game started off with just one person.
    And the full version isn't the end. They still update it. They continue to add new wonders and horrors to the game. New mob AI's, including zombie "super-soldiers". Jungles. Ocelots. Spawner eggs. All of these things have been added or will be added to the game in the future, as well as many other updates. This is truly an amazing game and is a world of never-ending fun.
    Expand
  100. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    i dont see why people hate this game. they bash the graphics, they say it's boring, when the clearly know that it isn't. the graphics are bad? these guys are indie devs, i'd like to see you make better graphics by yourself by just using java. actually, the graphics are very beautiful in it's own sense. just look out at the sun setting behind the trees, and you will see it's real beautyi dont see why people hate this game. they bash the graphics, they say it's boring, when the clearly know that it isn't. the graphics are bad? these guys are indie devs, i'd like to see you make better graphics by yourself by just using java. actually, the graphics are very beautiful in it's own sense. just look out at the sun setting behind the trees, and you will see it's real beauty within. it's boring? how about challenge yourself in the survival and hardcore modes, or what about do whatever YOU WANT in creative mode. want to build houses your friends, or blow up your friends house? you can, thanks to minecraft's multiplayer. the game is incredible, and has nearly UNLIMITED replay value, thanks to the fact that each land is randomly generated in an infinite world. and lastly, this game is not overrated. CoD is the definition of overrated. minecraft most certainly isn't. it's hard to believe that this game started with one man, and that one man changed the world. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. games(TM)
    Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]