Minecraft Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3807 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. games(TM)
    Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 20, 2014
    10
    This game is simply awesome and the most unique. I've been playing minecraft pc for 3 years and i bought the ps3 edition last year. ThisThis game is simply awesome and the most unique. I've been playing minecraft pc for 3 years and i bought the ps3 edition last year. This game requires a good brain. You have to dig your way to diamonds, fight the ender dragon...enchant ur diamond stuff then fight the wither. Even multiplayer server are awesome. I donated to 2 of them. It's simply awesome. All i want is to make minecraft reals for free. Enjoy the unique Minecraft Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    One of my favourite games. This game is really fun and will give you hours of entertainment. it is constantly updated as it is still inOne of my favourite games. This game is really fun and will give you hours of entertainment. it is constantly updated as it is still in development. the only bad thing about the game is that it is very addictive and you can waste a lot of time playing. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it featuresThe game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    This game gives to you total freedom: Play as you like, do the "job" finishing the game, or simply explore the world building big and strangeThis game gives to you total freedom: Play as you like, do the "job" finishing the game, or simply explore the world building big and strange houses! You'll love it, if you loved Lego years ago. It's an enormous and very fun sandbox game, that represents the top of Indie Games. VIRTUALINN.IT Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Pros:
    -If you love a good sandbox game, this is one of the better one's I've played. Open-ended play with the option to change difficulty if
    Pros:
    -If you love a good sandbox game, this is one of the better one's I've played. Open-ended play with the option to change difficulty if you get bored or run into a tight spot with mobs (though I am to understand those players steeped in the world of little pixels find switching to "peaceful" mode an abomination )
    -It's great for kids and adults alike, offering endless gameplay and nearly endless adventure.
    -Updates are usually always improving the game, or fixing bugs and providing new tidbits or items to find
    -Controls are simple on the PC and once you learn it's pretty hard to forget it.
    -You can alter how the game looks, the rendering distance, and most of the usual basic controls of a game.
    -Lots of help can be found on the Minecraftwiki site, among other places, if you find yourself confused about how to craft something or what you should be aiming for next.
    -You can leave this game for a month or for a day, and when you start up again, it's right where you left off and you can usually pick up where you left off.

    Cons:
    -There are so many things to do and see, people who are more action-oriented will be disappointed until you can get to the Nether, or face one of the two end bosses' that I'm aware of.
    -Diamond seems, at times, very very hard to find, as it should be; but players might get discouraged after days of spelunking only to come back with a chests' worth of cobblestone.
    -Unless you have a speedy computer, the game can get a little glitchy and slow. The good thing is that there are different rendering options.
    -This can be a time-sink, and at the end of a day's worth of play, you realize you have done nothing in the sometimes less interactive real world. Set a timer or a goal if you're a person who easily falls into hours of gameplay and you have other things to do!

    Overall: I love this game, and games like this that are open world. That said, a couple more milestones or achievements to point lost players in the right direction might be helpful to some of the younger players who want to "beat" the game.
    Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    6
    An amazing gem inside a hard rock of game breaking bugs, lazy developers, masked by a disgusting coding language that fails to handle the gameAn amazing gem inside a hard rock of game breaking bugs, lazy developers, masked by a disgusting coding language that fails to handle the game for what it is. All the community needs to wait for is the promised modding support so we can fix this mess ourselves. 2 Years of development, 6 months worth of features. Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2015
    0
    Before complaining i have to say, the original concept of this game is just phenomenal,
    it could have become one of the best games of all
    Before complaining i have to say, the original concept of this game is just phenomenal,
    it could have become one of the best games of all times but there are a few important
    problems, or should I say one big problem (because all the problems that are currently in this game come
    from this major issue), namely the develloper, Mojang, after having a great idea, and realizing it in a very good
    way with the possibilities that they had back then, has become very rich, and since then it seems that he didn't
    invest more in his game, just the strict minimum (if the minimum is at a very low level), it seems that he just
    counted on some free-to-employ modders to add some content and fix all the problems. Because there are plenty of problems. First the content. The only enjoyable gamemode is the survival (or the creative, it depends)
    , the singleplayer mode. But there after sometime it can become very boring because of the lack of content,
    besides the basic content ( that i don't have to explain to you, I guess), there have been a few contents that have been added to, in these years after the launch, but you have passed around them very quickly, I'll give you
    an example : one of the major additional contents that have been added are the villages, they've been made
    to bring a little bit life in the game, but they only consist of some sandstone blocks with glass windows and
    wooden doors, and the only life fulling it are the npc villagers whose only utillity is to exchange things with the player ( in a very simplistic way, I assure you), this and the other contentless content cannot keep on your
    interest for a very long time, and I want to add this, I find the world very small, not in it's lenght of course, but in
    it's maximum height (or in it 's depth if you see things from the sky) and in the structures generated.
    The other main problem is a technical one, a game with so basic programming and such a lack of content
    that is all generated randomly (procieding after one six numbered seed), and I have to add, VERY, VERY **** GRAPHICS, is destined to work perfectly, even on the **** computer or gameboy. But that's not
    the case (the opposite is the case), and if you want to have acceptable, basic graphics you need a very strong
    computer, for example, my computer can run any game with the highest settings perfectly (whitout minecraft).
    So I have to conclude, and say that I regrett that I bought this game rather than cracking it on the internet,
    because I find it very inacceptable that people won millions with a game, whith not so many work on it, and while earning more and more millions, spitting on people's face with successively adding some half-ready content to make a very poor beta version. I find this game should be given to proffesional developpers (people who know how to programm a game that runs properly) to make it a good game by making it bigger better and funnier (there are plenty of ways to do this). Then maybe I see some hope for this game, and it should be considered one of the (hundred) best games of all times.
    Expand

See all 1127 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.