Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3409 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    How could you call Mine craft not fun? When I first tried it out, I never knew that using your imagination and putting it into a game could beHow could you call Mine craft not fun? When I first tried it out, I never knew that using your imagination and putting it into a game could be so much fun. From there, I wanted to learn more: how red stone works, how to build a TNT cannon, etc. Basically what I'm trying to say is if you know what you're doing, Mine craft is extremely addicting. Also to add on to the fun are mods and server plugins. They make Mine craft just very addicting, like a chewy cookie. This game is underrated by so many people, don't listen to them: they don't know what a good game is like. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Even when haters gonna hate, gamers gonna play. Minecraft looks terrible, has no storyline (yet), but its one of the best sandboxEven when haters gonna hate, gamers gonna play. Minecraft looks terrible, has no storyline (yet), but its one of the best sandbox lego-simulator ever made. Good job Mojang. I still remember my beloved booster glitch (RIP). Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it featuresThe game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    I've been playing the game for years, and to this day still find enjoyment in this game. While it has continued to grow over the years, so hasI've been playing the game for years, and to this day still find enjoyment in this game. While it has continued to grow over the years, so has Mojang's popularity. The company has continued to hire more people to help out on the game, and to help make it better. Despite there being some slight graphical glitches, the game continues to play very well on my rig. The game play is extremely immersive, and the script is highly malleable, as shown by the thousands of mods created by the fans of the game. I have been playing the game since the Halloween update way back in the late Alpha's, and the game continues to feel like a strong part of my life. It has inspired me to build things with my hands, and be more creative in general with my projects. Despite lacking any real graphics, the game itself is fantastic, as it isn't the graphics that make the game, but more so the game play. It has been the one game that has kept me coming back for more, keeping me saying "just one more block" every time. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    should I write a review on a game that I mainly watch LPs of on YouTube? All I'll say is that this game is diverse and creative and there'sshould I write a review on a game that I mainly watch LPs of on YouTube? All I'll say is that this game is diverse and creative and there's almost limitless possibilities if you add mods. The mods really seal the deal here adding machines, modern weapons, new Monsters and Items.... the list goes on. Wanna enjoy Minecraft on the long run? get mods! Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    If I were reviewing this game based purely on its potential then it would get 11 out of 10; however, given that it has now been officiallyIf I were reviewing this game based purely on its potential then it would get 11 out of 10; however, given that it has now been officially released at full price, I have to say that this is one of the most incomplete, buggy, and patently rushed titles I've ever played. Yet despite this, the fact that I am still able to award it a score of 6/10 is testament to the fundamental fun factor of the voxel-based gameplay.

    Minecraft has predominantly two main gameplay styles: lego sandbox creativity and first person survival. Both of these elements complement each other nicely. Want to build a log cabin? Then first you must go out to gather wood, battling any monsters you might encounter along the way. Want to increase your chances of survival? Then you might want to dig out an underground fortress with easy access to ores and resources. Both aspects have an almost symbiotic relationship. This raw Minecraft gameplay is great, allowing you to build whatever your heart's desire, and thankfully hasn't really changed much since the game was in the alpha stage. However, there has been a gradual shoehorning in of a third gameplay style -- the RPG -- and with it has come a lot of the bugs and rushed features now plaguing the game.

    Firstly, let's get one of the main problems out of the way -- NPC villages. These are, to put it bluntly, terrible. The village buildings are passable, but the villagers themselves have absolutely awful character models, almost zero AI, they don't speak, they don't react in any way (even if you attack them), and don't seem to serve any purpose whatsoever.

    Secondly -- experience orbs. These are glowing orbs that drop after you kill a monster which can be used as a kind of enchantment currency. A very strange and seemingly rushed experience system. Rather than have a dedicated skill tree which might be spent on extra mining speed or other useful attributes, the points are used to apply a completely random enchantment on an item. Because of this randomness, the system adds a horrific level of slot-machine grinding as you waste a lot of time struggling to get a half decent enchantment. ** Spoilers in this paragraph ** Thirdly -- the End. This new other worldly dimension was added to give the game a final level and a proper ending. In theory it is not too bad an idea, but the implementation is poor. The End is really just a very dark and uninteresting boss arena populated by Endermen monsters, a few pillars, and a dragon boss. The dragon boss has minimal AI, no phases, doesn't breath fire, but does have a gargantuan energy bar which makes for a very tedious end boss fight. After successfully defeating the dragon you then get an incredibly long-winded pseudo-philosophical text narrative that seems to come out of nowhere, which is at its best hollow and at its worst cringe-worthy. You are also rewarded with a dragon egg that can't be picked up, but which teleports a few squares away from you when you hit it... ? **End of spoilers **

    I'll leave the criticisms of the new RPG mechanics there, but the overriding feeling you get is that it would have been better if instead of working on adding these rather slap-dash features, the developers should have been refining and polishing the existing gameplay. There are still a lot of things that could have been addressed before the final release. Stuff like: no water life, no wool regrowth, oppressive void fog, ugly swamp transitions, no mod API, no path-finding AI, game-breaking terrain generation bugs etc. To sum up, if the game was still in the alpha stage with the cheaper price tag, you could easily overlook the current bugs and missing features, but as a final release it is severely lacking the necessary polish required to give it a rating it could potentially deserve.
    Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2015
    0
    ****
    no storyline
    **** like graphics servers full of morons have no good sides realism is **** only good side is creative worthless
    ****
    no storyline
    **** like graphics
    servers full of morons
    have no good sides
    realism is ****
    only good side is creative
    worthless piece crap
    game boring out a hell
    ..
    Expand

See all 1046 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.