User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 65
  2. Negative: 21 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    This (currently) 52 metascore is one of the greatest injustices I've ever witnessed. After a quarter century of solid gaming I've more or less seen it all, and consider my opinion as qualified as anyone's. Miner Wars 2081 is an entertaining game with a solid presentation. It plays very well, and is a worthy homage to the Descent series.

    I do have to apologize for my "10". The game
    admittedly has a few rough edges, and I probably would have only given it an 8 or 9 at most. However, when unprofessional clowns feel the need to bury an otherwise solid game with Zeroes based only on "third party DRM" (which they've long since disabled), I just want to do my part in trying to bring the average back up into reality. Expand
  2. May 27, 2013
    1
    Developer is a liar and money grabber.
    Game supposed to be an opened space sandbox. Turned out to be arcade shooter in 3d with poor/crappy usage of 6DOF.

    Graphic is nice but other than this- BIG DISSAPOINTMENT.
    I was one of the alpha funders for this game- sadly what could have been a great game (or at least was advertised as such) was divided into parts- you will get sandbox in MMO
    but not in MW2081...
    This is outrageous...
    Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    Do not buy this game. The owner/developer of this game censoring and banning people left and right if you get into his bad side. http://steamcommunity.com/app/223430/discussions/0/846947320717087055/

    Not only is he keen on lying and threatening his customers, he will ban you as well.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    For a long time I wasn't sure what to think about this. I spent first few hours in pre-alpha version and that was hell... I thought I finished with this game forever but last week I tried again. And I enjoy it! It made huge step for a last six months it's a different game I must say. Excellent graphic, cool gameplay, funny multiplayer (if you meet someone out there), but first of all and I know it sounds weird editor )which I haven't touch in pre-aplha). I'm building my own space areas more often then I'm playing official ones. it's like Lego, but much more fun. If you have friends to play with, you can kick their asses in your own map which is the best part. I don't like coop part of the game for it's not much motivating (you lost all inventory when you log off), but it's also only part of game which I rate negative. Giving 7,5/10 (rounded for 8 Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    I bought game recently, so I missed that buggy season everyone is complaining about. I must tell that game is great! Despite of corridor setting of missions, it gives me feeling of freedom maybe it's the monumental architecture or amazing graphic environment or just that meaningless traveling to new sectors (and there is A LOT of them!). Only thing I'm missing a little is more precise vendor system now I'm not motivated to mine asteroids and sell ore to merchants, because it's easier to fly to some sector, wait for solar wind and then just loot corpses And also (what isn't usual in space shooters), there is an amazing story it's even funny and serious! Sometimes a little bit cliché, but still fun to discover what's going to happen next. Listening to dialogues makes me feel I'm part it. Simple enough: GREAT WORK, 9/10! Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    I bough it few days ago, so I missed all negative content of previous versions. Now it's just awesome! Only part I'm missing is more intuitive controlls and better xbox controller support. Graphic, gameplay and story? Amazing? (graphic mostly). Really good job! Now I hope more people will join deathmatch games - it looks like most promissing part of content. Space battles in new NYC are just epic!
  7. Jan 17, 2013
    2
    Another desperate attempt to squeeze some money from canonical title. Game is not "Descent", its not even close to Descent. Poor design, ugly battle mechanic, weird multi-functional repair boxes, paranoid storyline with China, Russia and so one. Graphics can be better and loading times are shorter. Sound and music... yes, there are sound and music in the game, not worth mentioning anyway. Overall - waste of money. Expand
  8. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    I usually don't write reviews, but in this case I must. I've read about this game a lot, mostly negative, but despite, I bough it in sale, just to try. And from first second, I was amazed! Old-school space shooter is back, now in 3D. It's hard as hell sometimes, it crash to desktop once few hour, it's a little bit buggy, but still - must recommend this! Playing it second time right now and don't understand why everybody on Steam hates it so much. Expand
  9. Jan 3, 2013
    8
    I love Descent and that's it - new 6DOF open space action shooter. Amazing story, nice environment, fun with multiplayer (which nobody's actually playing). Game should be more balanced (it's frustrating sometimes) and without DRM, but over and over, I'm still enjoying it. Before you will follow all that "game sucks" critics, just try to play it first to make own opinion. I give it 8/10 and hope they will fix all bugs. Expand
  10. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    I don't get all the haters drowning this game down. It's pretty cool, fun and cheap. Of course it has some technical issues, but come on, which game doesn't? If everyone uses Steam and facebook, who really cares about DRM?
    Good job, keep going!
  11. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    Descent was a truly amazing game, especially at LAN parties. I'd be over the moon if someone managed a decent remake of it. Miner Wars was clearly an attempt, but only in the sense that one could claim a two year old child was attempting to recreate the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel by throwing jelly around the kitchen whilst soiling themselves. Amateurish rubbish of the highest order. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  12. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    It very poor on content. And the sandbox doesn't looks like a sandbox at all. You are simply flying in narrow tunnels all of the time. Plus you must be always online to play it. Why? I have no idea. Online doesn't give you anything.
  13. Dec 26, 2012
    3
    I recently purchased this game on steam as I have gained a lot of interest in the space sim genre and didn't care about the multiplayer nor single player but only the interesting sandbox mode where i could mine asteroids. On the first day I couldn't even play the game as it has always on DRM and couldn't connect to the servers.

    On the second day:today: I was able to connect to the
    servers but only to be able to play single player if I wanted to play multiplayer I would have to contact the games customer support. First thing in game I was dropped into a lame mission with zero orientation as to the mechanics (though I was able to figure them out with a bit of effort on my part) other than this is the history. The mission glitchy forcing me to roam around before it recognized I was on the objective marker, mining is tedious and not made up for by the destruction physics which aren't even used but exist more as a novelty or for multiplayer. When I finally finished the mission the travel mechanic was entirely unituitive forcing you to have to zoom in on a tiny square of the world map to which I didn't care as I believe I had finally gotten to the open world part before the game crashed. I honestly suspect this game is still in beta as its mechanics don't seem to work very well.

    In conclusion the game doesn't work correctly, has always on DRM that is not advertised, and is missing core mechanics from the steam store advertisement. Avoid this game there are way better space sims coming down the road.
    Expand
  14. Dec 8, 2012
    5
    Once you get things setup correctly you can almost play it. The Internet connection requirement when the game starts is the worst DRM one can have. There are lots of bugs (going from full armor to no armor in 1 hit for example). the game just isn't good.
  15. Dec 7, 2012
    0
    I really wanted to like this game and why not, it promised to be a mix of Descent with a expansive feel of a space sim all in a world that was fully destructible. Then the game came out and it wasn't just bad, but it was bad in the most unethical way possible. It promised more than it could deliver -- 360 degrees of missed opportunities.
    The only resemblance to Descent may just be the
    out dated and virtually pixelated textures that the game uses, just one part of Miner Wars overall poor art direction with 3D models that make Quake look advanced and colors schemes that came out of a box of Trix.
    Couple this with poor voice acting of a script that a 12 year old wrote along with controls that are inconsistent and just as non-responsive with a graphic engine that makes the most advance GPUs cry and you'll wonder what DRM that requires a constant internet connection is really protecting.

    Recommendation: Stay FAR FAR away from this forsaken game.
    Expand
  16. Dec 4, 2012
    3
    Always online DRM for singleplayer. That is all what is there to say. I can't understand how an Indie Developer thinks he can win the piracy war with measurements like this. It is not like I am never online or have an unstable connection - it is a matter of principle. I enjoy singleplayer and play online only with friends avoiding the abusive masses. Why do I need to log into a server on the other end of the world for playing offline and have my gaming experience maybe tainted with lags and connection issues? I don't expect it, but I don't take chances either, because we deal with an Indie here. I doubt that this developer is capable of having a worldwide network to ensure the maximum gaming performance for everyone.

    I give 3 points because the game itself seems to work, but any more would be praising the devil.
    Ubisoft learned its lesson - hopefully Keen Software House will learn it before it is too late.
    Expand
  17. Dec 3, 2012
    0
    I funded this game when it was waaay back in pre-alpha with promises of a persistent world, mining to develop your ship & character and now ages later, all they've managed to achieve is a deathmatch mode which no-one plays, a severely lacking and unbalanced storymode and the developers censoring people on Youtube who brings the game's DRM up. Yep, it's there. 100% online connection or GTFO. Avoid this game at all cost. Expand
  18. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I am really enjoying this game. Haven't played such title in a long time, perhaps never. 6DOF in an open space? Great. Action and controls? Feels perfect, everyone will become natural-born-6dof-er Sounds & music? Great... actually the music is fantastic. Story is intriguing, I want to see how it all ends. The game is mostly about story/campaign and little on sandbox, but why would be that a bad thing? This way the developers resurrected 6DOF gaming, made it available for everyone, even those who would be lost in sandbox. I have heard they are not done with Miner Wars, so who knows what will come next?
    Everyone still hesitating -> just get this game!
    Expand
  19. Dec 1, 2012
    5
    Do not buy this game for multiplayer. As of the time of this post, multiplayer is only working for a minority of people. Do not buy this expecting a sandbox-ish open world game.

    This game is still in a very beta stage. Graphics are on par with the 10 year old Freelancer.

    Still giving a 5 as it's current single-player is fun despite the always-on DRM.
  20. Nov 30, 2012
    2
    When I bought this game, I thought, "Oh, this looks like an interesting cross between freelancer and minecraft" and to an extent, it is. But what they neglect to tell you is that more than half of the stuff on the screen isn't actually destructible, combat is flatly unfun, and the scale of the game world is off-putting (You fly through claustrophobic little tunnels in your space ship.) The story was to me, uninteresting and difficult to grasp. If you're looking for something to purchase and be pleasantly surprised, look somewhere else - this game was $20 wasted for me. Expand
  21. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Really great game, one of the best I have played and the storyline is incredible.

    Only thing is you need to be patient to work out how to play and give it a chance, because the first hour I died a hell of a lot until I figured out what I was doing and really enjoy it :)

    Switch to easy if you are having trouble
  22. 20k
    Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This game is excellent. I'm impressed that LD9000 couldn't find the up and down button, because they are F and C. Inertial dampeners can be turned off as well, which turns the game into a Newtonian physics model, albeit with limited ship max speeds

    The game has its bugs. If you want to set the resolution, you have to set it manually in the config options. The story is a little odd, but
    fun. The gameplay is pretty fun though - if you want something challenging and not in this era of regenerating health and easy, pathetic fights, you are looking at the right game. Its pretty difficult on normal

    This is an excellent game and i would definitely recommend it
    Expand
  23. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    I want to like this game, and I do. I was following this studio for a two years, almost since they started and so I was able to watch how they grow and develop this game. And now, I am really happy it became true and released successfully. It is a great game with a lot of action, awesome story and well crafted graphics. And for those of you who are hating it for "not cool enough", I have a something for you - this is the first real game of this studio, they made it on their own, without the support of huge developer investing billions to the development. And still it is so huge and awesome! Which indie studio can do this? I think comparing to the price and their possibilities they did a wonderful job and they delivered a nice packet of fun. Collapse
  24. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    This is a first glance review, ok? Obviously it's indie, graphics aren't great and the story is a bit hard to follow. But good on them for coming up with a totally different story/setting, and completely free 3D environment. It feels like the old game, Descent, but more fun. There's not much of a tutorial explaining things (none, in fact) and during the first mission when you start looking at the key mapping, it doesn't pause and the baddies keep shooting you while you're trying to work it out. Loading times are also very long, but they provide an excuse. Sound is fairly tame, and there's no sense of real physics. When you stop your spaceship's throttle, your ship suddenly stops. Not at all realistic, but the alternative would make for trickier gameplay. Time will tell whether it's worth $20. I'm going to play it some more, for sure. It is different, at least. Expand
  25. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    I want to like this game, but I don't. I got both the pre-alpha, and this one. In essence, this is a space action game. What you see on the screen, like ship customization is fluff, you can put on some weapons, but it's not quite as good as games like Space Rangers, so don't be deceived. I found the 6 DOF combat to be lacking. Yes, the ship can rotate, but I have not seen the up/down button, the equivalent of jump and crouch in action games, that would make flying in this game much better. I'm not really enjoying the combat mechanics that much. There's no shield. Once the enemy hits your armor, you are SOL - there's no way to repair a ship, unless you find one of the repair boxes or buy a repair kit. There's no rechargeable shield, and I find myself replaying battles too many times, even on normal difficulty. I tried the mining part, and am not really impressed by it: the screen shakes and there's black dust covering half the screen. This gives me 5 credits, if sold, and my ship can hold about 16 units. A repair kit costs 6000 credits. I really don't see myself mining for hours in this game.

    I don't really understand why I have to run out of fuel so quickly.
    Expand
  26. Nov 29, 2012
    0
    I want to like this game, and I do. I was following this studio for a two years, almost since they started and so I was able to watch how they grow and develop this game. And now, I am really happy it became true and released successfully. It is a great game with a lot of action, awesome story and well crafted graphics. And for those of you who are hating it for "not cool enough", I have a something for you - this is the first real game of this studio, they made it on their own, without the support of huge developer investing billions to the development. And still it is so huge and awesome! Which indie studio can do this? I think comparing to the price and their possibilities they did a wonderful job and they delivered a nice packet of fun. Collapse
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    72
    Fans of the old Descent games will go mental, no doubt about it. Miner Wars 2081 will also be a blast for gamers that want a sci-fi space shooter with an interesting story, charming setting and solid gameplay. [March 2013]
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    50
    Developer Keen Software House has overextended its reach. [March 2013, p.90]
  3. Feb 20, 2013
    60
    Miner Wars is a game with great potential, perhaps wasted. Defects are many: poor IA, complex level design, technical sector not great increase the sense of frustration that might have been.