User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1074 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    I really enjoy games that take risks in an effort to provide the player with a new and different experience. Mirror's Edge did just that. The game offered a first person prospective adventure with a focus on agility and speed.

    Far too many "run and gun" FPS games lead us through a parking garage or a warehouse, all the while throwing waves of repetitive enemies at us. You kill them all
    I really enjoy games that take risks in an effort to provide the player with a new and different experience. Mirror's Edge did just that. The game offered a first person prospective adventure with a focus on agility and speed.

    Far too many "run and gun" FPS games lead us through a parking garage or a warehouse, all the while throwing waves of repetitive enemies at us. You kill them all (maybe with the aid of a well placed explosive barrel or two), and move on to the next area. Stealth games have also flooded the market, rewarding the player for silent take downs. Mirror's Edge takes both gaming staples, combines them, adds some acrobatics, and puts the emphasis on speed instead of killing.

    In Mirror's Edge you play the role of a Runner; an urban courier who delivers packages by sprinting across city blocks and jumping from roof top to roof top. The game mechanics allow you to scale walls (by timing your jumps), fall great distances (as long as you are precise with your roll when you land), and use obstacles to help increase your momentum. You can stop to fight enemies along the way, but you're not a one man army, and can be killed with only a few shots. The game rewards you for finding safer and faster routes through an area rather than trying to take the enemy out head on.

    The controls give the player a sense that there isn't anywhere in the environment that is unreachable. The first time you build up enough speed to chain a roll into wall run and jump to hurdle over a railing, all without stopping, you'll really understand the strength of this game. The fluidity of movement is unmatched by anything else in the FPS market. Add to that a gorgeous environment, extremely well done sound, and a great story and you've got a game that is impossible to forget. At about five hours for the campaign Mirror's Edge doesn't drone on long enough for the parkour elements to wear thin, but it seem a little short. Price accordingly.
    Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    While learning the ropes may be frustrating, Mirror's Edge is a very satisfying experience when it's all said and done. It challenges your gamer mettle. The feeling of overcoming those challenges is very rewarding. The game even manages to go out on a heartwarming note despite its ho-hum cliched dystopian setting. The complaints of length are accurate but we all know that while the valueWhile learning the ropes may be frustrating, Mirror's Edge is a very satisfying experience when it's all said and done. It challenges your gamer mettle. The feeling of overcoming those challenges is very rewarding. The game even manages to go out on a heartwarming note despite its ho-hum cliched dystopian setting. The complaints of length are accurate but we all know that while the value of most games is measured in time and how many gameplay hours you squeeze out of them, few others transcend that and are instead measured by the quality of the experience. Mirror's Edge is one such game. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    This game... This game was the only game that's ever fully sucked me in. Ever.
    No other game made me emotionally invested into a game, thought about it past "This is a game."
    ... I think that this kind of city is what the current administration in the US wants... But not what the People want.
    Like Faith said. "Good doesn't always mean right."
  4. Nov 1, 2015
    8
    Probably one of the most unique FPS games out there. EA totally delivered a new style for FPS. Mirror's Edge is full of exciting gameplay moments. Even though the story is generally bad and nonsensical, the gaming experience is what makes Mirror's Edge stand-out.
  5. Ihmemies
    Jan 20, 2009
    9
    One of the most stylished and flawlessly working games I've ever seen on PC. Pity so many people nitpick about irrelevant issues like you're shown where you must go (you can DISABLE the hints from game settings!) or how ugly/emo/uncool/whatever Faith is... They don't know what they are missing, and it's a pity we won't see more greatness like Mirror's Edge, One of the most stylished and flawlessly working games I've ever seen on PC. Pity so many people nitpick about irrelevant issues like you're shown where you must go (you can DISABLE the hints from game settings!) or how ugly/emo/uncool/whatever Faith is... They don't know what they are missing, and it's a pity we won't see more greatness like Mirror's Edge, since the sales have been a disaster because people really seem to want more Maddens and NHL upgrades instead of inventive new games like Mirror's Edge and Dead Space. Expand
  6. JoeD
    Jan 15, 2009
    9
    A truly original game, Mirror's Edge isn't for everyone. It is not a run and gun, and in fact it is not a shooter at all. Rather, it's a first person platformer. I played it first on the XBox, and absolutely fell in love with the running, the puzzles, and the art style, but always felt the controls a bit sluggish. This PC version fixes that, and more, with better visuals, A truly original game, Mirror's Edge isn't for everyone. It is not a run and gun, and in fact it is not a shooter at all. Rather, it's a first person platformer. I played it first on the XBox, and absolutely fell in love with the running, the puzzles, and the art style, but always felt the controls a bit sluggish. This PC version fixes that, and more, with better visuals, accurate K&M controls, and the same elements that made the console version great. Despite what GameSpy said, this is not a shoddy port. Sure, the interface is unchanged from the console version, so that suffers a bit, and sure it's locked to the 16:9 aspect ratio, but it seems well optimized, and I haven't seen any of the tearing issues they talked about. Performance: 45-60fps V-sync normal, 30 when things get busy, 1920x1200, 2x AA, Highest graphics and textures, and PhysX enabled on Core2Due e8500, 4GB 800Mhz, SLI GeForce 9600GTs, Audigy 2, Windows 7 beta and Vista Some people, including me, have had problems with no sound on the cutscenes, especially in Windows 7. Install Creative Alchemy if you have a creative card, and add Mirror's Edge with sub folder "Binaries". Fixes that! Highly recommended! Expand
  7. ZacharyH
    Jan 17, 2009
    9
    A fantastic addition to EA's already amazing stock of stellar games. Mirror's Edge moves quickly, and as the blurb says, there is a real flow to the game. The free running main character Faith zips through the urban landscape in truly spectacular fashion. I have only one complaint: the time for a first complete play-through was between three and four hours. When I saw the end A fantastic addition to EA's already amazing stock of stellar games. Mirror's Edge moves quickly, and as the blurb says, there is a real flow to the game. The free running main character Faith zips through the urban landscape in truly spectacular fashion. I have only one complaint: the time for a first complete play-through was between three and four hours. When I saw the end credits I thought to myself, "This is it?!" The game ended before I could even really snag the interface completely. But other than the length, I had zero issues. I felt so into the character, and every move felt like it should in real life, right down to the way Faith swung over railings. The first-person aspect of the game worried me when I saw it at first, but EA really did a good job on making the visuals feel like you were viewing them right through your own eyes. And unlike many other first-person games, you can look down and see yourself. The fantastic story really completes the experience, and lets you immerse yourself in the game. If only it hadn't ended so soon. Expand
  8. r08in
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    My First game of 2009 is Mirror's Edge. First i started playing the story mode. Its a very new kind of game play. After playing for some time i tried the time challenge mode. Man really telling it sucks you in. You can challenge your self and also other who are online. If you are best then your score is displayed in Leader Board. But one thing that there is no replays. Yes if Replays My First game of 2009 is Mirror's Edge. First i started playing the story mode. Its a very new kind of game play. After playing for some time i tried the time challenge mode. Man really telling it sucks you in. You can challenge your self and also other who are online. If you are best then your score is displayed in Leader Board. But one thing that there is no replays. Yes if Replays are there then the player can see how he completed the race, may be with different camera angles like third person view or bird's view. Rest of the thing the game is very good if players need to try some thing new. AMAZING. Expand
  9. Daniel
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    A wonderful interface and compelling gameplay! I have to say, this one suprised me! Quit reading the reviews and GET IT!
  10. MOLTOX
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    It is a FPS like no other. Well maybe more like a fast paced first person action game since hand to hand or gun combat is rare. You are encouraged to find your path away from trouble by running through roof tops and the sensation is very intense as of course you try to avoid falling. No other game in memory has ever provided this type of experience in gaming. Heights are believable and It is a FPS like no other. Well maybe more like a fast paced first person action game since hand to hand or gun combat is rare. You are encouraged to find your path away from trouble by running through roof tops and the sensation is very intense as of course you try to avoid falling. No other game in memory has ever provided this type of experience in gaming. Heights are believable and add a lot of suspense. Running through roof tops while being chased gives you a feeling like no other game to this day has. Graphics are great and te game runs very well. Looking forward to a sequel! Expand
  11. JimC.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Fast, fresh, intense, action packed, impressive, made with lotsa love. Its not perfect, but I give it a 10 nonetheless because it gave me a real fresh gameplay. The idea, the design, the protagonists blend into something that has got a identity of its own. I can't help myself I just love faith and I DO wanna see part 2 and 3. Thanks DICE!
  12. KevinZ
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    I wasn't expecting much from this game, but it surprised to me to be sure. A very fun, exciting, and original 6-hour experience. Though short, at $20 (or less on sale) this game is well worth it. The game has breathtaking visuals and the feeling of stringing together a bunch of parkour moves is exhilarating. I actually enjoyed the combat, since I understood that it wasn't meant I wasn't expecting much from this game, but it surprised to me to be sure. A very fun, exciting, and original 6-hour experience. Though short, at $20 (or less on sale) this game is well worth it. The game has breathtaking visuals and the feeling of stringing together a bunch of parkour moves is exhilarating. I actually enjoyed the combat, since I understood that it wasn't meant to be like a regular FPS, though I actually did find the guns fun to use, though their use was limited. Disarming an enemy could be a bit finicky, but wasn't a game-breaker. Hopefully in the sequel they will provide even more breathtaking environments, as well as a greater variety of parkour and melee combat moves. Expand
  13. turreo
    Jan 31, 2009
    9
    Amazing game. It really makes you feel like living in it. Getting hit by the train just scares the shit out of you! Also the idea of the game is unique and very creative. And unlike GTA IV my computer could handle it perfectly with full graphics on, which absolutely amazed me, one of the greatest graphics on a game so far. It's also very addictive. Finally a superb game from EA. And Amazing game. It really makes you feel like living in it. Getting hit by the train just scares the shit out of you! Also the idea of the game is unique and very creative. And unlike GTA IV my computer could handle it perfectly with full graphics on, which absolutely amazed me, one of the greatest graphics on a game so far. It's also very addictive. Finally a superb game from EA. And the fact that you don't carry your gun all the time with you was also something new, and i loved it. But the areas are very limited and there's no blood, which made it feel like it was made for younger audience. Expand
  14. DaveN
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    I took the chance on a mere £12 on Steam and I have to say, this is one of THE best games I've played in at least a year. Exhilerating. I literally sweat (through my palms mostly!) when I play this game.. The graphics are breathtaking, the animations beautiful. The music is perfect. I haven't completed it yet, but I'm loving every minute. Well done developers.
  15. ChristopherS
    Feb 1, 2009
    9
    OMG, This game is the GREATEST! I really enjoy the visceral nature of running and jumping. Successfully making a jump at high speed then continuing without losing momentum is incredibly satisfying. The only things I don't really like are 1) some of the jumping puzzles are too hard and 2) console style, checkpoint-type saving. #2 is particularly annoying in light of number 1. I want OMG, This game is the GREATEST! I really enjoy the visceral nature of running and jumping. Successfully making a jump at high speed then continuing without losing momentum is incredibly satisfying. The only things I don't really like are 1) some of the jumping puzzles are too hard and 2) console style, checkpoint-type saving. #2 is particularly annoying in light of number 1. I want to be able to save anywhere, anytime. Stupid consoles . . . . . At any rate, this game is a lot of fun. The story isn't the greatest, but it's good enough that you'll feel like you have a reason to play the game -- not that wanting to play the game would require much -- the gameplay is mostly fantastic! Expand
  16. PatrickL.
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    Mirror's Edge, WOW. Amazed at the vivid colors with incredible Physx. The background music score kept up to the game along with the ambiant sounds of a busy city. Too bad it was not longer but maybe that is a good thing now that I am out of beer and cold pizza :P. One of my all time favorite games. Oh and FYI, I didn't even try to use the guns till 3/4 of the way through the Mirror's Edge, WOW. Amazed at the vivid colors with incredible Physx. The background music score kept up to the game along with the ambiant sounds of a busy city. Too bad it was not longer but maybe that is a good thing now that I am out of beer and cold pizza :P. One of my all time favorite games. Oh and FYI, I didn't even try to use the guns till 3/4 of the way through the game because the hand to hand combat was so perfect. And when I did, I think the audio echo of the guns in the city was stunning. After that it was all about getting the LMG. :) Reminded me of HEAT. Another fun game by the genius at DICE. Thanks again. Expand
  17. GabrielR
    Mar 12, 2009
    9
    Although being fairly short, this game delivers some intense fast pacing action. The scenario is very vivid with bright contrasting colors, which gives a great touch! I love how this game looks. The controls are easy to learn and when you get the hang of it you will be fullfilled to make some fast combos. The story is also quite nice, and the comic style of the cutscenes is also a plus. Although being fairly short, this game delivers some intense fast pacing action. The scenario is very vivid with bright contrasting colors, which gives a great touch! I love how this game looks. The controls are easy to learn and when you get the hang of it you will be fullfilled to make some fast combos. The story is also quite nice, and the comic style of the cutscenes is also a plus. The main character has some charisma. I hope to see more of Mirror's Edge in the future. Expand
  18. SidK
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Simply amazing gameplay. Its original, fun and extremely polished. After playing it, its evident that the levels are designed after a lot of thought and play testing. I love the visual style and the graphics fidelity. The first person perspective is done very well.
  19. ChrisN
    May 9, 2009
    9
    Very different from you normal games these days. I was impressed with the quality of the scenery. This is a good something different game.
  20. DavidB
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    Loved every minute of it, if anyone were to ask me a year ago if you could make a great game with NO UI i would have said bullshit. After playing this thou i have to say the only game better then this is portal.
  21. EmilianC.
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    This is a must have. Althought the game has a few problems, it is one of the best games I have played. I have the pc version of the game and with a preaty good computer so the graphics are amazing. The gameplay is near perfect and the FPS platform style realy got my atention. The controlls are easy to understand. The only reason a gave it a nine and not a ten is because it is too short, This is a must have. Althought the game has a few problems, it is one of the best games I have played. I have the pc version of the game and with a preaty good computer so the graphics are amazing. The gameplay is near perfect and the FPS platform style realy got my atention. The controlls are easy to understand. The only reason a gave it a nine and not a ten is because it is too short, and the story has room for inprovment. Even though it's short, the time trials will keep you playing for hours more. The bigest problem is that some players simply won't like the game style. I happen to love the way everything connects but some will find it to hard and will not have fun playing through the levels. If this game seems like something for you, get it. you won't regret it. But it seems like a game that will just get you frustrated, then rent it. Expand
  22. AxelDoyle
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    I loved this game for its originality and new way to look at graphics. The game focuses more on the gameplay of fast running and less on all out shooting. On the Xbox 360 you are even rewarded for not killing everything you see. Overall i love this game and its artstyle. Just wish they would have made the cutscenes......good looking...
  23. Benjamin
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game!
    I must say that i was a bit sceptic at first while i tried it at Xbox360 cause the controls really sucks, but playing on a computer the games becomes what its supposed to be, a fantastic game which gives you a rush and a good story that wants you to keep playing.
  24. Gotter
    Jan 19, 2009
    10
    An ultimate and epic game. Finally a triple A game you will want to play again and again. It's the first game I know where simple movement is the greatest joy of all features. Forget Assasins Creed with only limited ways to control your character. This time you can do whatever you want the way you like to play it. Sure the length of the game is not ideal but on the other hand it couldAn ultimate and epic game. Finally a triple A game you will want to play again and again. It's the first game I know where simple movement is the greatest joy of all features. Forget Assasins Creed with only limited ways to control your character. This time you can do whatever you want the way you like to play it. Sure the length of the game is not ideal but on the other hand it could easily fall to stereotype if it would have been any longer. It's a shame that such a wonderful game is beeing sold so lousily. I don't want to have any more copies of Call of Duty until the rest of my life. This is a kind of project that causes the evolution of gaming. DICE I salute you. Expand
  25. PhilT.
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    A great innovative title. The immersion was fantastic, the graphics are interesting and different and the style is great, and the gameplay was, for the most part, great. A big part of my initial frustration with this game, though, was that learning curve was pretty steep. It took me about three or four hours of play to really grasp the movement and combat. However, once I learned I began A great innovative title. The immersion was fantastic, the graphics are interesting and different and the style is great, and the gameplay was, for the most part, great. A big part of my initial frustration with this game, though, was that learning curve was pretty steep. It took me about three or four hours of play to really grasp the movement and combat. However, once I learned I began to have so much fun. It is incredibly satisfying to run through an entire level without pausing or to take down four SWAT officers easily and swiftly. I do have a few minor quibbles in addition to the learning curve: one, I agree that the flash-style cutscenes were a mistake. It breaks the immersion and I think the graphics engine could have handled cutscenes easily. Two, I had multiple problems with the game not registering my grabs onto ledges or pipes...I don't know what I am doing wrong, but when Faith is right next to a pipe and leans over towards it, jumps, literally clips through the pipe but STILL manages to miss it, and falls to her death I became extremely frustrated. All in all I say this game was a success. There are frustrations to be sure but I wish more developers put out interesting, immersive titles such as this one. I want to reiterate what others have said and state that this game is definitely not for everyone, but if you are willing to spend a bit of time learning then I think you will be very, very happy. I am very glad I bought it and I really hope they put out more. Expand
  26. HunterWolf
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    A very thrilling and well made game ( and excellent port if you are playing on PC ), it takes the traditional FPS formula and throws it out of the window then replaces it with innovative ideas and smart presentation.

    The Good things: -------------------- -Frantic acrobatic maneuvers and free running ( it feels so good when you overcome a number of obstacles in a row and doing it from
    A very thrilling and well made game ( and excellent port if you are playing on PC ), it takes the traditional FPS formula and throws it out of the window then replaces it with innovative ideas and smart presentation.

    The Good things:
    --------------------
    -Frantic acrobatic maneuvers and free running ( it feels so good when you overcome a number of obstacles in a row and doing it from the first person perspective makes it even more exciting )

    -Game Mechanics ( Runner vision, slow-mo and Disarming moves all add to the game and integrate seamlessly into the experience enhancing it )
    -Graphics ( Top notch, it feels very unique specially with the smart use of bold basic colors, and being able to see your feet and body while running and jumping does make it feel more immersive, also the cut scenes while done in a different style are nice and stylish )
    The Bad:
    ------------
    -Weapons ( handling the guns is a little cranky but it is forgivable since you rarely have to use guns and of course Faith isn't trained on using them )
    -It's quite short .. damn it .. i want more XD

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    A must buy ^_^
    Expand
  27. AlexG
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    This is a really different FPS...very cool. The jumping gameplay is awesome, the graphics are amazing. I enjoyed it a lot.
  28. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Faith is a great character, a good relief from every male protagonist in just about every game. Beautiful game, and can play organically like flowing water or clunky like a brick wall. After you get used to it, running gets really rewarding when you take guesses as to where to go and make all the right moves. Minimal gun play makes it tense and more of a survival game. Mesmerizing.
  29. May 24, 2013
    8
    OVERVIEW: first-person platforming
    STORY: (5/10)
    GRAPHICS: (8/10) The bold colors against mostly white buildings is a good look, and, as with cel-shading, it makes the graphics hold up fairly well years later. The use of red to highlight pathways also works really well. CONTROL: (6/10) No problems, but I use a joystick for pc games, not a keyboard. GAMEPLAY: (8/10) Mirror's
    OVERVIEW: first-person platforming
    STORY: (5/10)
    GRAPHICS: (8/10) The bold colors against mostly white buildings is a good look, and, as with cel-shading, it makes the graphics hold up fairly well years later. The use of red to highlight pathways also works really well.
    CONTROL: (6/10) No problems, but I use a joystick for pc games, not a keyboard.
    GAMEPLAY: (8/10) Mirror's edge is one of my favorite platforming games, and by far the best of the more realistic parkour simulators (The Assasin's Creed games don't even COUNT as "platformers" since they don't have a true jump button, you just hold down the action button and run and the game jumps for you). It would have been rated higher except the game isn't varied enough. It would have been nice to have levels where you are actually chasing other parkour characters, or are being chased by characters you have to outrun, but instead every level is just a get-from-A-to-B deal with the only variations being in the placement of obstacles like armed police-guards and platforms. It was fun enough for me to replay the whole thing twice more already, but I hope the sequel takes some cues from the wilder mario games and adds some new platforming challenges (rather than turning it into a shooter).
    GAME PLAYTHROUGH LENGTH: 6-8 hours.
    Expand
  30. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    A very cool runner gameplay and really nice design of the world. Only downpoint for me was the story, they could have made more. But i got anticipation for Mirror's Edge 2.
  31. Jun 17, 2015
    8
    this game is uniquely fun. it makes you feel the adrenaline and gives the atmosphere of the dystopian future you play in. and whoever's idea it was to make this game 1st person, he/she deserves a medal.
  32. sft
    May 22, 2013
    8
    A mirror cracked

    Never has a game given me such conflicted feelings. In many ways MIRROR’S EDGE is a great game, but in a few, significant others, it sucks big time. Firstly, it’s yet another buggy, console port, which is becoming par for the course, sadly, for us PC gamers. Despite this, however, the visuals are good apart from the character models, which are below normal PC game
    A mirror cracked

    Never has a game given me such conflicted feelings. In many ways MIRROR’S EDGE is a great game, but in a few, significant others, it sucks big time. Firstly, it’s yet another buggy, console port, which is becoming par for the course, sadly, for us PC gamers. Despite this, however, the visuals are good apart from the character models, which are below normal PC game standards. But the most important aspect of the game is the gameplay. When you’re free-running through the city it’s a true joy to play. The recreation of parkour techniques is remarkable and DICE have created a truly immersive experience. But then you’re forced to fight, and that’s where the game fails miserably. The combat in this game is the worst I’ve ever encountered. It’s so bad at times that there isn’t room in a short review to detail the failings, suffice it to say it’s maddening, especially when you’re forced to replay a particularly tricky section because you have insufficient control of Faith when in combat, or because she transforms from a nimble athlete into a trudging hippo as soon as she picks up a gun. And yet, even though I wanted to throw my PC out the window many times while playing ME, I’m so glad I stuck with it because, at it’s best MIRROR’S EDGE is an inspired example of what computer gaming can offer.
    Expand
  33. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    Simply Awesome. Its fun to see new creative games. The story is "meh" but the parkour is really fun. Can get slightly repetetive and boring at some points tho.
  34. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    Mirror's Edge is one of the most unique games I have ever played. The music puts you in a trance and helps with your adrenaline rushes as you progress and while the feel of the controls take a little time to get used to, it's worth the buy. The only downside to this game is that the story is really short and you're left feeling like you just finished a game downloaded on a smart phone. SoMirror's Edge is one of the most unique games I have ever played. The music puts you in a trance and helps with your adrenaline rushes as you progress and while the feel of the controls take a little time to get used to, it's worth the buy. The only downside to this game is that the story is really short and you're left feeling like you just finished a game downloaded on a smart phone. So with that said, it's entertaining if you buy it for a smart phone application price. I look forward to seeing what Mirror's Edge 2 will bring. Expand
  35. Dec 12, 2016
    8
    This game is fantastic and have a great potential! The parkour feel great and rewarding. I love the look of the city, It's unique and It's clean. It's still look pretty, even in 2016! My biggest concern are the combat, which is pretty limited and the guns aren't good and doesn't fit the character. Also, beware that this short. You can the campaign in 5 hours! You can collect the hiddenThis game is fantastic and have a great potential! The parkour feel great and rewarding. I love the look of the city, It's unique and It's clean. It's still look pretty, even in 2016! My biggest concern are the combat, which is pretty limited and the guns aren't good and doesn't fit the character. Also, beware that this short. You can the campaign in 5 hours! You can collect the hidden bags and do speed run, but that pretty much it in terms of content. It's also linear. The story isn't interesting either. But for all his flaws, there only a handful of games that got parkour right like this, and for the price it is now, you should give it a shot, you won't regret it! Expand
  36. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    I re-visited my review after playing it again. It's actually better and less frustrating at times once you're more experienced with the gameplay (especially during fights). The other flaws are the same though: too simple story, too short play time, too linear and the game still feels too much like some kind of demo, have too wait for the real thing when and if Mirror's Edge 2 comes out.I re-visited my review after playing it again. It's actually better and less frustrating at times once you're more experienced with the gameplay (especially during fights). The other flaws are the same though: too simple story, too short play time, too linear and the game still feels too much like some kind of demo, have too wait for the real thing when and if Mirror's Edge 2 comes out. Other than that, graphics and graphic designs are still pleasant. It's also very original, unique and well achieved gameplay (watch the gameplay video for proof). I would especially recommend this game if you've always wanted an FPS version of Tomb Raider or Assassin's Creed. Expand
  37. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    (not my final review:) As a racing game, Mirror's Edge is incredible. Any second you gain, any shortcut you find, any improvement over past runs you make feel very rewarding. And Mirror's Edge is, indeed, a racing game!!! It is a game that you're supposed to play over and over, through speed runs, time trials or even new playthroughs, to become the fastest runner you can be. You don't play(not my final review:) As a racing game, Mirror's Edge is incredible. Any second you gain, any shortcut you find, any improvement over past runs you make feel very rewarding. And Mirror's Edge is, indeed, a racing game!!! It is a game that you're supposed to play over and over, through speed runs, time trials or even new playthroughs, to become the fastest runner you can be. You don't play it for the story, you don't play it for exploration, you don't play it as a casual game, you play it to beat it in less time than in your previous playthrough. Keeping momentum for as long as possible is difficult, and you won't be able to do it on your first play through (which will involve a lot of trial and error), but once you know where to go you can focus on it and then you're on for one amazing and unforgettable experience. Give it a shot!!! People complain that shooting and fighting is clunky - I agree with that, but this is not a game where you should stop to fight or shoot, you are a runner and you should keep running. Expand
  38. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    This is such a great game with superb production values! Got tons of action and excitement. keeps you wanting to push on until the end.. Not a very long game, which is how i like it...

    Music: great (trancey techno, ambient, space, etc).. loved it Controls: excellent... takes a short while to get used to it.. also got a good tutorial level world design: excellent .. looks like a
    This is such a great game with superb production values! Got tons of action and excitement. keeps you wanting to push on until the end.. Not a very long game, which is how i like it...

    Music: great (trancey techno, ambient, space, etc).. loved it
    Controls: excellent... takes a short while to get used to it.. also got a good tutorial level
    world design: excellent .. looks like a pretty massive world..
    combat: excellent.. not too difficult, not too easy
    graphics: excellent.. however some sections had excessive colour saturation... story: pretty good, although I didn't follow the plot very well (probably me.. i confuse easily)

    definite must-buy...
    Expand
  39. Tan
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    Tom G pretty much summed up everything i wanted to say about this game. It was very much a puzzle game and probably should have been advertised as one. Also complimenting the beautifully rendered realism still with an artistic flair, was the plot of the game which I thought was pretty good. This is an amazing game that I would recommended to anyone with a fairly good computer, as I have Tom G pretty much summed up everything i wanted to say about this game. It was very much a puzzle game and probably should have been advertised as one. Also complimenting the beautifully rendered realism still with an artistic flair, was the plot of the game which I thought was pretty good. This is an amazing game that I would recommended to anyone with a fairly good computer, as I have heard some complaints that that game stops to load to often, although this has never happened to me. The concept of the game is also so unique as most mainstream games are all fps's. Lastly, This game was most certainly a steal for $5.00 on steam, and like others would have paid more if I knew how great it was. Soo...BUY IT! Expand
  40. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    I race up five flights of stairs and break open the door to the roof with a single kick. Once my eyes adjust to the brightness, I hurdle a few solar power generators, dodging machine gun fire from the helicopter hovering nearby.

    I need to lose altitude fast, so I leap off the side of the building, my arms and legs pumping furiously as I gaze down at the tiny cars a dozen stories below.
    I race up five flights of stairs and break open the door to the roof with a single kick. Once my eyes adjust to the brightness, I hurdle a few solar power generators, dodging machine gun fire from the helicopter hovering nearby.

    I need to lose altitude fast, so I leap off the side of the building, my arms and legs pumping furiously as I gaze down at the tiny cars a dozen stories below. When I land on the roof of a nearby building, I tuck and roll to absorb the impact. The helicopter targets me again as I notice that thereâ
    Expand
  41. May 9, 2012
    9
    Picked this up for a steal during a Steam sale a little while ago, and I'm really impressed - much better than I'd imagined. The controls are great, the gameplay is innovative, and the aesthetic is the most distinctive I've seen in a first person game in a very long time. As others have mentioned, it's also an incredibly tense game, and the thrilling sense of being pursued as you runPicked this up for a steal during a Steam sale a little while ago, and I'm really impressed - much better than I'd imagined. The controls are great, the gameplay is innovative, and the aesthetic is the most distinctive I've seen in a first person game in a very long time. As others have mentioned, it's also an incredibly tense game, and the thrilling sense of being pursued as you run across rooftops, vault obstacles and climb pipes is superb. I'd happily have paid full retail for this game and if the rumoured sequel ever comes, I'll be jumping on it the second it's released. Expand
  42. May 5, 2012
    9
    Although this game was made for the consoles, the PC version is superior in every way. Higher FoV, better framerates, higher resolution, more detailed textures with minimal pop-in, more vivid colours (which are an a big part of this game's artistic style), PhysX, better lighting and shadows and of course, anti-aliasing which, certainly the console versions were lacking but really needed toAlthough this game was made for the consoles, the PC version is superior in every way. Higher FoV, better framerates, higher resolution, more detailed textures with minimal pop-in, more vivid colours (which are an a big part of this game's artistic style), PhysX, better lighting and shadows and of course, anti-aliasing which, certainly the console versions were lacking but really needed to smooth out those rough edges. The controls are also far superior and more fluent. Having played it on console, I couldn't imagine how it could be better on PC but the default button layout is absolutely perfect, and the precision of the mouse and sensitivity adjustments give you much greater control- very useful for trying to get good times in time trials. Great job DICE! Expand
  43. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    There's now no reason why future FPS games should not include this level of freedom of movement and physical abilities. The execution of parkour style movement and abilities is not gimmicky, but very well simulated. This game has the polish without forsaking the game play.

    Tip: Right click picks up a gun on the ground...didn't figure that out until way later. I realized that the game
    There's now no reason why future FPS games should not include this level of freedom of movement and physical abilities. The execution of parkour style movement and abilities is not gimmicky, but very well simulated. This game has the polish without forsaking the game play.

    Tip: Right click picks up a gun on the ground...didn't figure that out until way later. I realized that the game intended for you to know this.
    Expand
  44. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    This was a joy to play and I had to force myself to stop playing. Great animation and movement. The parkour is very well choreographed as is the fighting although some leaps are beyond human possibility. The storyline is very original and intriguing to add the extra heat to the game. Characterisation is good as well. What makes Mirror's Edge stand out is how it is an enjoyable game and itThis was a joy to play and I had to force myself to stop playing. Great animation and movement. The parkour is very well choreographed as is the fighting although some leaps are beyond human possibility. The storyline is very original and intriguing to add the extra heat to the game. Characterisation is good as well. What makes Mirror's Edge stand out is how it is an enjoyable game and it doesn't involve gore and heavy violence. The game's graphics are beautiful if not a little bit too shiny and perfect. Overall this a must play and all audiences will like it. Expand
  45. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Amazing graphics capabilities on the PC. I was amazed by how beautiful they managed to make the game look and feel. Being in a city landscape, you also don't really see many jagged edges on game objects, such as buildings with the proper hardware, in other words, the game engine runs very smoothly. In some instances I was caught at the edge of my seat trying to flee from the scene, or getAmazing graphics capabilities on the PC. I was amazed by how beautiful they managed to make the game look and feel. Being in a city landscape, you also don't really see many jagged edges on game objects, such as buildings with the proper hardware, in other words, the game engine runs very smoothly. In some instances I was caught at the edge of my seat trying to flee from the scene, or get out alive. The mechanics of the game are also very well balanced. The only down side to this game, is that the characters didn't have a huge amount of depth, nor did the main story's reasoning. The relationship between the main character and her sister was felt, but other characters didin't have the same kind of outward depth to them. The storyline was purposely setup so that the gamer jumps into the story what feels like half way into the main story line. I really hope we get an part two of this game to elaboate. Expand
  46. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    An amazing game.
    It was rather underrated in many places, but honestly, I belive this game is one of the most original and fun games I've yet to play.
    The story is very interesting, the world is beautiful and colourful, the soundtrack is wonderful and the gameplay is very fun and refreshing.
    Problem is it was too short for me :P
  47. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    Fluent keyboard/mouse control scheme and innovative gameplay are just a few among the many things that make it great! To those who blame the control, either you're not a PC gamer or you always use gamepad to play PC games. The pace is flawlessly done except for its short length. Sure it's got a very decent sense of motion but in the 1st playthrough, due to being unfamiliar with the path,Fluent keyboard/mouse control scheme and innovative gameplay are just a few among the many things that make it great! To those who blame the control, either you're not a PC gamer or you always use gamepad to play PC games. The pace is flawlessly done except for its short length. Sure it's got a very decent sense of motion but in the 1st playthrough, due to being unfamiliar with the path, you can't fully enjoy the fast-paced running; so a second playthrough would be the best. Expand
  48. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    All PC Hardware related issues aside. the game itself is very immersive, but the pacing is a bit sloppy. one moment you are running around avoiding obstacles,then that same moment you have no clue where to go and come to a complete stop..and the game's "runner vision" doesnt always help out there.
    but if your really clever,thats not going to be an issue.
    there are also some other bugs
    All PC Hardware related issues aside. the game itself is very immersive, but the pacing is a bit sloppy. one moment you are running around avoiding obstacles,then that same moment you have no clue where to go and come to a complete stop..and the game's "runner vision" doesnt always help out there.
    but if your really clever,thats not going to be an issue.
    there are also some other bugs like being locked into scope vision when using a sniper rifle and faith not always grabbing on ledges.
    although minor issues,can be really annoying and pulls you right out of the immersion.
    but thats really all the issues is have with this game.
    The Good things the game does,it does really well.
    like the graphics,never before i've seen realism and artistic graphics clash together like this.
    Music is very fitting most of the time too. and the running and jumping mechanics work well most of the time. the story is also integral to the events that unfold while you play, and is generally wel executed.
    all in all, its a enjoyable experience
    Expand
  49. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    My favourate game. if u r looking 4 a game with a gr8 story then i can't recommend a better rpg, very good and definiately 11/10 its so good i luv the music and ithere is so much variety
  50. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    As many have stated, a refreshing take on the FPS genre. I played through this game fairly quickly, but it's intensity is matched by its polished finish and graphical style. The detail of some of the levels is truly impressive. The story could have been fleshed out more, without a doubt, but even then it does not detract from the fun to be had. Upon finishing Mirror's edge, I had anAs many have stated, a refreshing take on the FPS genre. I played through this game fairly quickly, but it's intensity is matched by its polished finish and graphical style. The detail of some of the levels is truly impressive. The story could have been fleshed out more, without a doubt, but even then it does not detract from the fun to be had. Upon finishing Mirror's edge, I had an incredible sense of accomplishment and a desire for more. Whenever I have this sensation, I know I just finished a truly memorable game. If you are looking for something different and enjoy FPS games, give this title serious consideration. Expand
  51. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Incredible game, only problem is the length and longevity of the game... The campaign is what 5-6hrs? Then you can rerun the maps for better times/scores. I wish it was longer, but, since its been like three years since it came out, now I'm more hoping for a sequel.
  52. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    A very original game, the concept is never done before. Controls are mapped very well for PC. the story mode is somewhat short. Combat is surprisingly well designed. the adrenaline kicks in during the levels that you are being chased. the 9 score is because of the one level that required climbing a tall building that is under construction because it lacked any motivation. also some of theA very original game, the concept is never done before. Controls are mapped very well for PC. the story mode is somewhat short. Combat is surprisingly well designed. the adrenaline kicks in during the levels that you are being chased. the 9 score is because of the one level that required climbing a tall building that is under construction because it lacked any motivation. also some of the jumps are hard to figure out so i ended up looking them up on youtube Expand
  53. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Best graphics engine and physics effects, it beats the Cryengine.
    For 10 â
  54. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    I may be easily entertained, but I absolutely loved this game. It has beautiful graphics, it's easy to control, and the music makes it an even more enjoyable experience. I am definitely glad I bought it. The only thing that sucks is that the game is somewhat short, but I still found myself playing it over and over again. :)
  55. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    This game is awsome! some say its all the same and repedative which ya it is, but not many games change all the time throughout except those "RPG" types that have upgrades and whatnot which this isnt about. The story is ok but the gameplay is excellent for pc which some disagree (obviously not pc gamers who can adapt to certain controls) if you think the pc controls are difficult or oddlyThis game is awsome! some say its all the same and repedative which ya it is, but not many games change all the time throughout except those "RPG" types that have upgrades and whatnot which this isnt about. The story is ok but the gameplay is excellent for pc which some disagree (obviously not pc gamers who can adapt to certain controls) if you think the pc controls are difficult or oddly placed, no offence, but stick to your console system. The graphics are good, the music is good (not really music but more a theme of trying to get away). This game is just fun, especially for the price, its kinda like a first person prince of persia or assassins creed, but mainly focuses on the climbing and running aspect. The combat is minimal but there are times you have to take down a few soldiers which i found fun since its all about timing and trying to get them 1 on 1. Great game and i reccomend it to anyone who likes these kinda games, spend a minute and look at a youtube gameplay video to see if its for you. Expand
  56. Dec 2, 2011
    9
    Mirror's Edge is by far one of the most innovative, exciting, aesthetically outstanding games I have ever played in my 10+ years as a PC gamer. It effortlessly tears you away from reality and throws you into its world. The exciting, feminine story-line and gorgeous colour palette is something which I have not experienced before in a game on any platform, and is a refreshing escape from theMirror's Edge is by far one of the most innovative, exciting, aesthetically outstanding games I have ever played in my 10+ years as a PC gamer. It effortlessly tears you away from reality and throws you into its world. The exciting, feminine story-line and gorgeous colour palette is something which I have not experienced before in a game on any platform, and is a refreshing escape from the "kill anything that moves" shooters of today.

    I would like to think that, if EA's tyranny and hostile presence in the gaming industry was for anything, it was for the development of Mirror's Edge. I would give this absolute masterpiece a 10 if it weren't for the shooting parts which seemed forced onto the developers by out-of-touch executives. The odd handgun is fine but there really is no need for a SAW in a game like this. At least the player is handicapped when using the larger weapons.

    Things which should be taken into account if DICE were to improve upon a sequel or prequel - Less emphasis on guns than there already is, and an open city to go wherever you wanted would turn this from a stunning masterpiece to a ground breaking masterpiece.

    Well done DICE, this is a game amongst games.
    Expand
  57. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This game brings tears of joy to my eyes. The visuals. The music. The story, though a bit short and narrow, is very good. I want more. S The controls are somewhat difficult to master, but once you play the game for a little while you'll be bouncing all over everything like a real Parkour expert. I didn't expect it to be easy to master .. Anyone who complains about difficulty is aThis game brings tears of joy to my eyes. The visuals. The music. The story, though a bit short and narrow, is very good. I want more. S The controls are somewhat difficult to master, but once you play the game for a little while you'll be bouncing all over everything like a real Parkour expert. I didn't expect it to be easy to master .. Anyone who complains about difficulty is a little to used to having everything handed to them for mashing buttons. The only controls I can complain about are the reverse direction wall hike ledge grabs and the vertical pipe to vertical pipe leaps. This is one of my favorite games and always will be. adly, the evil that is EA will never allow a sequel, as they don't want to release games that won't sell less than 5 million copies. Expand
  58. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    It's Time to put those guns and swords away.and start thinking fast on your toes and learning to beat feet. Mirror's Edge , an awesome first-person adventure with crisp beautiful graphics. but the story is waaaay to short but for me that's the only flaw I have seen in this game.
  59. Apr 1, 2011
    8
    One of the best games I've played in the last decade. The visuals are absolutely stunning and the gameplay is incredibly fun. The escaping scenes are well choreographed and combined with the bobbing as you run and the leaning as you turn corners, it makes you feel like you're actually in trouble. I found myself leaning in my chair while trying to go around corners.

    The game was so much
    One of the best games I've played in the last decade. The visuals are absolutely stunning and the gameplay is incredibly fun. The escaping scenes are well choreographed and combined with the bobbing as you run and the leaning as you turn corners, it makes you feel like you're actually in trouble. I found myself leaning in my chair while trying to go around corners.

    The game was so much fun that it actually made me pick up running again (something I haven't done in years). On the negative side, the campaign is a bit short, and they haven't released any level editors so using custom maps is not that easy. Also, the game isn't very tough (on the PC at least). Even hard mode without a reticle or runner vision is fairly easy to finish without firing a single shot (except for the one part where you're forced to in order to progress).
    Expand
  60. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Surprisingly, this is probably my favorite FPS(If it can truly be called that. I prefer "Arcade Parkour") game. Beautiful graphics(For the most part), great parkour, and good controls. I might get some flack for that last praise, but on keyboard & mouse I adapted to the controls very quick and found them easy to use as time went on. The story is rather short, predictable, and notSurprisingly, this is probably my favorite FPS(If it can truly be called that. I prefer "Arcade Parkour") game. Beautiful graphics(For the most part), great parkour, and good controls. I might get some flack for that last praise, but on keyboard & mouse I adapted to the controls very quick and found them easy to use as time went on. The story is rather short, predictable, and not compelling. The numerous deaths caused by Faith deciding not to grab that pipe or ledge can be annoying, and the last level can be murder when you lack an easy way to get a weapon. Still, it's one of the best games I've played in a while, and I'm looking forward to a Mirror's Edge 2. Just imagine if they used BF 3's engine on ME 2... Expand
  61. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    This is the most innovative game I've played in quite some time. Unlike most most games in the First Person prespective, Mirror's Edge allows and encourages out of the box solutions to the challenges the game presents. My only complaint is that the main campaign is somewhat short (about 9 hours if you're a fast learner).

    That said I'm eagerly awaiting any news of a sequel, if EA doesn't
    This is the most innovative game I've played in quite some time. Unlike most most games in the First Person prespective, Mirror's Edge allows and encourages out of the box solutions to the challenges the game presents. My only complaint is that the main campaign is somewhat short (about 9 hours if you're a fast learner).

    That said I'm eagerly awaiting any news of a sequel, if EA doesn't saddle it with an Origin requirement I'd be a buyer on day one.
    Expand
  62. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    I truly enjoyed the game, one of the best I've played so far. A player needs to master controls but after that it goes smoothly. Thank you for this gem!
  63. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    MIRROR'S EDGE:
    A great game. I liked the premise of parkour and running through buildings in first person. Though, when you start, you have to get used to with the controls as it takes a while, but once you do, you'll ready for parkouring. The graphics are amazing even when they colored the buildings a little too simple. The sound works and the musics are great too. The overall gameplay is
    MIRROR'S EDGE:
    A great game. I liked the premise of parkour and running through buildings in first person. Though, when you start, you have to get used to with the controls as it takes a while, but once you do, you'll ready for parkouring. The graphics are amazing even when they colored the buildings a little too simple. The sound works and the musics are great too. The overall gameplay is good, but you'll get confused later on. The chase sequences are great and it's very intense, though you'll experience some trial-and-error if you can't find the right object to jump over. The bad thing is that the story isn't interesting, especially when they use a 2D animation in some cut scenes. The combat only used sometimes. And it ends short, but sweet :)
    Expand
  64. TomG
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    This game really exceeded my expectations. It was a crazy steal at $5. I would've paid $20 or more if I'd known it was so good. No console port problems. Outstanding graphics - very stylized, atmospheric, and with meticulous attention to detail. PhysX provides nice detail that helps breathe life into the city. The sound design was flawless. I encountered no glitches, except for This game really exceeded my expectations. It was a crazy steal at $5. I would've paid $20 or more if I'd known it was so good. No console port problems. Outstanding graphics - very stylized, atmospheric, and with meticulous attention to detail. PhysX provides nice detail that helps breathe life into the city. The sound design was flawless. I encountered no glitches, except for getting stuck in one place I wasn't supposed to jump through. The relatively short length was good for me, as I have a lot of games to get through these days. I was reminded of Portal at times. This is primarily a puzzle game, but the combat that's in there is pretty satisfying too. Some parts were a bit frustrating but once I learned to look sideways during a wallrun I was all set. The story wasn't anything epic but honestly it was better than stories from many other otherwise good games, and it was illustrated nicely and it fit with the rest of the game. I enjoyed this game a lot more than the Half-Life 2 episodes that took more time and money. Can't wait for Mirror's Edge 2 on the PC! Expand
  65. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game ,but i have window´s7 as PC system and i want play on my computer. I hope that the game is later updated for windows7. Sry for my English =( Expand
  66. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Oh God, am I actually writing a review for this game? I would never be able to do it justice, unfortunately. This is undoubtedly one of the coolest game of all time. Of. All. Time. One of the best qualities this game has it shares with Half-Life 2. That is, the fact that the entirety of the game is an adrenaline rush. From beginning to end (if you play on the hardest difficulty :D)Oh God, am I actually writing a review for this game? I would never be able to do it justice, unfortunately. This is undoubtedly one of the coolest game of all time. Of. All. Time. One of the best qualities this game has it shares with Half-Life 2. That is, the fact that the entirety of the game is an adrenaline rush. From beginning to end (if you play on the hardest difficulty :D) you are filled with either exhilaration or vertigo. I would never have conceived of doing a parkour platformer in first person, yet here we are. (Although everybody else was already here since, once again, I am years late in my review :) ) And EA Dice did an incredible job at it. The graphical style is clean, colorful, and easy to navigate visually. The control mechanics are fluid on PC (something that never seems to be true with a console port). And the story is good, while the voice acting is top notch. ( I also loved the cutscenes with their slight anime/graphic novel style). Every month or so I keep coming back to this game, remembering and reliving it with delight. Expand
  67. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    I picked this up for 5USD on a Steam special. This game is exhilarating. I actually feel exhausted after 2 hours of gameplay. I moved in my chair so much and tensed my muscles constantly. I have never felt so scared falling in a game before. The graphics are spectacular, the sound and music are spot on and the gameplay is so well choreographed. It is worth the full price and I am sorry II picked this up for 5USD on a Steam special. This game is exhilarating. I actually feel exhausted after 2 hours of gameplay. I moved in my chair so much and tensed my muscles constantly. I have never felt so scared falling in a game before. The graphics are spectacular, the sound and music are spot on and the gameplay is so well choreographed. It is worth the full price and I am sorry I never bought it earlier. I would love to see a v2 with fully textured environments. Go and get it! Expand
  68. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Mirror's Edge is that type of game you play a couple times, but still remember how good it was, the gameplay is absolutely unique, you will jump across building, climb walls, pipes, fight hand-to-hand with enemies, all that in a intense 1st person perspective, even as there are guns in the game, you won't use them a lot since you can't reload them and they make you run slow.

    The visuals
    Mirror's Edge is that type of game you play a couple times, but still remember how good it was, the gameplay is absolutely unique, you will jump across building, climb walls, pipes, fight hand-to-hand with enemies, all that in a intense 1st person perspective, even as there are guns in the game, you won't use them a lot since you can't reload them and they make you run slow.

    The visuals are amazing, set in a futuristic-dystopian city, everything looks so clean and shiny, the enemies concept looks great, all that alongside good graphics and excellent Physx use.

    This game is very good, it haves solid story, great visuals and innovating gameplay, recommend for all those who likes adrenaline run'n'punching.
    Expand
  69. ComradeSv
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    A perfect game! Awesome graphics (and FPS), cool setting with a design I never seen before in any other game, nice theme music and a average storyline. I was simply unable to stop playing this game till I seen last lane of titles. Sadly it took only one day, but still - game is awesome. Sadly no MP or user-friendly SDK to create own levels. As for online trials - there is alot of cheaters there.
  70. MarkO
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    Don't be misled by the bad controls and the frustration; it is true that it takes awhile to get use to the game. But really, I never found myself stuck in any one place for more than a few minutes; it really isn't hard to pull most of the stunts. It just takes practice and some patience, which is nothing wrong in my opinion. Other than that, this game is simply gorgeous and you Don't be misled by the bad controls and the frustration; it is true that it takes awhile to get use to the game. But really, I never found myself stuck in any one place for more than a few minutes; it really isn't hard to pull most of the stunts. It just takes practice and some patience, which is nothing wrong in my opinion. Other than that, this game is simply gorgeous and you really feel engaged(I have never felt so immersed in a videogame before). It feels as if you are really running on top of those rooftops and the runner's actions are smooth and graceful. Every movement feels totally credible and authentic, which engages the player even more. I also love how you don't have to rely on weapons to progress through the game (as a note, the weapon mechanics really aren't that bad as others say; I found aiming and disarming foes pretty simple. It just takes some normal practice. . .) This game reminds me alot of the old-school platform games but with an arcade feel to it. If you really miss those good-old Japanese/anime games, then you really need to give this one a try; you'll feel as if you're back on your original playstation. The story is also great; the cartoon cutscenes totally match the anime feel, and I found the plot to be pretty profound and complex even though the game is rather short. But, if you really pay attention to the story, it really has some sense and interest to it, and it evokes some human compassion (unlike most games today which concentrate on pure human bloodshed). My only criticism really comes with the end. I found it a bit too adrupt, even though it's very touching. Others would criticize that the game is too short. True, the game is "short", but it's really not a flaw. If you really want to explore every nook and cranny in the game, you can probably squeeze 20-30 hours. Most ppl will play it for 10 hours which I think is great, because at one point, you need to finish playing the game, so why not earlier than later? Most people have other things to do in their lives, and so, I would rather play a game that is short and profound than one that is long and empty (*cough* Oblivion) What matters is the quality, and this game is all about that. Mirror's Edge is really underrated and underappreciated. It has some potentially annoying flaws, but really, it's all forgiveable. Now, go make all your roof-jumping fantasies come true and try the game. Expand
  71. bztang
    Dec 17, 2009
    9
    Great game, especially for getting it for only $5 on Steam, much much better than I expected. Pros: -Beautiful atmosphere, artwork and graphics -unique gameplay makes you think using a fully three-dimensional perspective and using wall-runs as another element -pretty decent story and neat animated cutscenes -chases are great and well paced -I actually liked the music, it was different and Great game, especially for getting it for only $5 on Steam, much much better than I expected. Pros: -Beautiful atmosphere, artwork and graphics -unique gameplay makes you think using a fully three-dimensional perspective and using wall-runs as another element -pretty decent story and neat animated cutscenes -chases are great and well paced -I actually liked the music, it was different and somewhat memorable -Can't wait for the sequel! Cons: -Some parts are slightly frustrating -weapons are not quite the caliber of that of a standard FPS, and I only learned that you could pick up dropped weapons halfway through the game lol Expand
  72. brandonn
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    This is an incredible, original, and amazingly fun game to play. Played in the first person perspective but not an FPS it's really a platformer at heart. One of my favorite parts of the game are the chases and they are very expertly paced throughout the game enough so that your excitement is always pretty high but not frustratingly so it gives you time to enjoy the striking visuals. This is an incredible, original, and amazingly fun game to play. Played in the first person perspective but not an FPS it's really a platformer at heart. One of my favorite parts of the game are the chases and they are very expertly paced throughout the game enough so that your excitement is always pretty high but not frustratingly so it gives you time to enjoy the striking visuals. My least favorite part of the game is the story which says a lot about the game because even that was not strictly "bad". I loved how they spread flavor throughout the world that gave you more information about the space you were working in, it's just that at the end I was left wishing that there was something a little better. All in all this was a superb game and with it being priced around 20 dollars now there should be nothing stopping you from giving it a try. Expand
  73. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    Wow what a fun game to play! I loved having the feeling of running between buildings and being able to do things that only happen in our dreams. I loved the controls, I just modified the controls to fit my style of play and there was no problems. It is a very graphically beautiful. The action in the game is fun because you can disarm your enemies which is alot of fun to do. There is aWow what a fun game to play! I loved having the feeling of running between buildings and being able to do things that only happen in our dreams. I loved the controls, I just modified the controls to fit my style of play and there was no problems. It is a very graphically beautiful. The action in the game is fun because you can disarm your enemies which is alot of fun to do. There is a slow-mo part of the characters abilities were she can slow time down to be able to see movements of the enemies to be able to disarm them. The story was alot of fun to follow and the cut scenes looked like you were watching a good looking cartoon. This game is a thinking game and you have a couple of routes you can go to overcome particular parts of the game. When you fall off of a building you really do have that sensation that you are falling so it is pretty nerve racking to fall. If you time the jump wrong and barley miss the ledge to grab onto it then its a scary feeling. I really appreciated the "Hint" button that they incorporated into the game, it really helps you to stay on track and not get lost. The guns in the game are intense and fun to shoot after you steal them from an enemy. This game was a blast to play, just make sure when you play it that you aren't afraid of heights because you will get the vertigo feeling. This is a great game, well worth the money. If you love living on the edge this is the game for you! Expand
  74. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    Read the full review here: http://mattiesworld.gotdns.org/weblog/2010/06/20/game-review-mirrors-edge/
    summary: In an era in which FPS games rule, I believe DICE came with quite a innovative almost daring concept: a fine mix of first person melee combat and puzzles. Combined with a unique graphical style and chilly music, they certainly made a remarkable game. There is definitely room for
    Read the full review here: http://mattiesworld.gotdns.org/weblog/2010/06/20/game-review-mirrors-edge/
    summary: In an era in which FPS games rule, I believe DICE came with quite a innovative almost daring concept: a fine mix of first person melee combat and puzzles. Combined with a unique graphical style and chilly music, they certainly made a remarkable game. There is definitely room for improvement here and there, but the result may certainly be seen. In the meantime EA has already announced a sequel, so letâ
    Expand
  75. Dec 27, 2010
    8
    kdyz jsem videl prvni video, rekl jsem si wow tohle bude neco. A takyze je. Mirror´s Edge me nezklamala jak hratelnosti/grafikou tak desigenem levelu.
  76. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    One of the most unique and intriguing games I have played in my lifetime. I truly think that the critics have underscored with this one. I am so looking forward to the sequal!
  77. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Великолепнейшая игра. Я отдыхал глазами, играя в неё.Великолепнейшая игра. Я отдыхал глазами, играя в неё. Изумительная чёткость, чистота цвета, атмосферность. Игра просто наслаждение. Она однозначно в моей тройке комп. игр всех времён. Expand
  78. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    2/13/2012: I initially passed over Mirror's Edge, but I was always curious. I recently received it as a birthday present and was surprised by an actual innovative and unique game experience, something I would have thought EA and DICE incapable of. The game is exceedingly stylish and flows well, though I can see why some complained of disorientation and even nausea- it might well have been2/13/2012: I initially passed over Mirror's Edge, but I was always curious. I recently received it as a birthday present and was surprised by an actual innovative and unique game experience, something I would have thought EA and DICE incapable of. The game is exceedingly stylish and flows well, though I can see why some complained of disorientation and even nausea- it might well have been better off as a third-person game. I love the animated cutscenes and the use of stark color contrasts, and Faith herself I think is one of the more competent female protagonists I've seen- the game does not draw attention to her being female. She simply is. The game strikes a precise balance of style and believabillity. While I will be the last guy to emphasize the importance of realism in a ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ videogame, Mirror's Edge does feel "possible", given how awesome parkour actually is, which I think enhances the experience at some level. Expand
  79. MikeM
    Apr 2, 2009
    9
    Amazing and cutting Edge game.. and new with some new thinking.. I can only Recommend this game if you have a Good Graphic card and you like to die a few time in a row.. i think its Great because of its amazing Graphics and new way of thinking when it comes to gameplay. the story is Great too and i hope to see more of them (there will as EA have comfirmed a 2 and 3) i give 9 as the game Amazing and cutting Edge game.. and new with some new thinking.. I can only Recommend this game if you have a Good Graphic card and you like to die a few time in a row.. i think its Great because of its amazing Graphics and new way of thinking when it comes to gameplay. the story is Great too and i hope to see more of them (there will as EA have comfirmed a 2 and 3) i give 9 as the game is abit too short and the Fight system isn't the best. Expand
  80. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    By far one of the most amazing games I've played. Admittedly, it was quite a bit short, but perhaps that's just myself yearning for more time to play it. The graphics are drop-dead gorgeous and run ridiculously quickly even on the highest setting. Someone should pay those coders a ton of money, then have them teach those dudes down at Bethesda how to write efficient code. That's right, IBy far one of the most amazing games I've played. Admittedly, it was quite a bit short, but perhaps that's just myself yearning for more time to play it. The graphics are drop-dead gorgeous and run ridiculously quickly even on the highest setting. Someone should pay those coders a ton of money, then have them teach those dudes down at Bethesda how to write efficient code. That's right, I went there. Expand
  81. ThomasH
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    Amazing steal for 5 bucks off steam, I still would pay 20 for it. Was totally worth it, lots of action, the close action, the climbing, it was all amazing. The story was interesting aswell. I love the envirmoent the most, it was bright, sunny, very clean, if you're a Portal fan and a assassins creed fan, and you haven't played this, Then you are MISSING out! PhsyX is great for Amazing steal for 5 bucks off steam, I still would pay 20 for it. Was totally worth it, lots of action, the close action, the climbing, it was all amazing. The story was interesting aswell. I love the envirmoent the most, it was bright, sunny, very clean, if you're a Portal fan and a assassins creed fan, and you haven't played this, Then you are MISSING out! PhsyX is great for nvidia users, I had ATI tho... but still.. it was worth it. I wish i had a Nvidia card tho to take advanage of the PhsyX Expand
  82. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Sehr Geilers Run-Game ! :DDDDDD
  83. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    Mirror's edge is one of those games that help creating a new genre. You can call it the parkour genre because it's a bit more complicated then simple platforming. The game itself is short and it has many little issues but because it feels so fresh I'm capable of looking away in this case. A game that is a parkour platformer and is in first person is something truly unique. The gameplayMirror's edge is one of those games that help creating a new genre. You can call it the parkour genre because it's a bit more complicated then simple platforming. The game itself is short and it has many little issues but because it feels so fresh I'm capable of looking away in this case. A game that is a parkour platformer and is in first person is something truly unique. The gameplay consists of parkour running and occasional gunfights( which are the weakest parts of the game). The game throws at you obstacles that may take time to pass and at some points you'l find yourself impressed by the crazy stuff you'l pull off. The story and main character are rather boring. the story never really feels exciting and there is never a sense of progression like in ''Half life 2'' for example.The graphics are very atmoshperic and fit the game nicely. The game itself is really fun and it has a great importance and a huge potential that will have been used in future games. Still, you just know that the game could have been much better. If DICE would have invested a bit more I'm sure the game could have been fantastic. Right now the game is a unique hidden gem that many gamers missed out because of the bad reviews. Recommended. Expand
  84. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    I wish I would have found this one sooner. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The art style is very unique and beautiful. The gameplay is challenging and sometimes frustrating, but overall very fun.
  85. Apr 30, 2011
    8
    Fun, innovative game. Creative design. Campaign is short however and fairly easy. The occasional gun play is disappointing and unfortunately unavoidable.
  86. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    This is certainly a game you buy for the single player experience, the story isn't amazing, but it's good enough to keep you interested while you're in it, and the graphics are just ridiculous. I never thought I'd have a game that looked this good run so well. I really have to hand it to the graphics designers, they know what they are doing. One of the things I found odd was the detail inThis is certainly a game you buy for the single player experience, the story isn't amazing, but it's good enough to keep you interested while you're in it, and the graphics are just ridiculous. I never thought I'd have a game that looked this good run so well. I really have to hand it to the graphics designers, they know what they are doing. One of the things I found odd was the detail in the guns is exquisite, even though guns are a very minor part of this game. I was impressed by the little things, like firing a machine gun in a parkade, you hear an extremely realistic echo, the physX support is great too if you have it. The only downside to this game is general lack of replayability, still a fun experience, and well worth the 20$ to buy it on Steam. Overall, this game is a PUZZLE game and NOT a shooter, if you buy this expecting a FPS shooter, you will hate it. Expand
  87. Sep 22, 2011
    8
    Ya know, this game looked really cool after seeing some previews for it. Then I read giantbomb.com's review of it and they only gave it a 3 out of 5. So that meant ok, but not good or great. Sorta dimmed my enthusiasm a bit. It was like, yea this game might not be some perfect sphere of nirvana like Half-Life 2 or anything, but it's an innovative new game concept that really tried toYa know, this game looked really cool after seeing some previews for it. Then I read giantbomb.com's review of it and they only gave it a 3 out of 5. So that meant ok, but not good or great. Sorta dimmed my enthusiasm a bit. It was like, yea this game might not be some perfect sphere of nirvana like Half-Life 2 or anything, but it's an innovative new game concept that really tried to breathe new life into the FPS genre, so why not give it the benefit of the doubt? Who else would think to take EA's bags of money and make a first person parkour game that almost totally avoids combat? That is the creation of either some madness, or some genius.

    So it came out and I started playing it. And frankly, I dunno why giantbomb gave it a 3/5. This game is **** fun. The sense of speed and adenaline from running over rooftops while sliding under pipes and walljumping from scaffolding is just amazing. That's what this game excels at, making you feel like an amazing athlete, some sort of freak Olympian who gets their kicks from stealing stuff and running away. The parkour is easily accomplished with the controls and viewing it from first person makes it much more immersive then a traditional third person camera would have.

    The entire game has a nice sorta Ipod-ish aesthetic. It seems that in the city of the future, everything is clean and white, with some splashes of other colors. If you've ever watched the turd of a film called "Ultraviolet", then you'll recognize its look here. Very sterilized and cold... even the plants in the city are painted white for some reason heh. I suppose it's a new take on the futuristic city aesthetic though, compared to a lot of stuff in scifi games that're just ripped off from Blade Runner and Aliens.

    So while I'm enjoying the game a lot, there are a few caveats. First off, I started playing the game last night. At the end of the session, I had completed the first four levels. There are nine levels in all. Yes, this game is not built for longevity. It is short. And no multiplayer, so all that's left is doing speed runs in the completed levels to try to top your last time. Obviously a factor if you're gonna go and buy this game for 60 bucks or whatever.

    The combat's also lacking, since this isn't a game where you're meant to run and gun. You can use guns, but you have to first disarm a cop. Then, you'll only be able to shoot until the magazine runs out, you can't reload. So shooting it out isn't really encouraged. Also, your character Faith can only take a few shots, so you'll definitely need to run behind cover and wait for opportune moments to strike. If you do work at it, you can shoot it out with a SWAT team though. Just isolate one guy, disarm him, run to another guy, shoot him, grab his gun, and repeat, while trying not to catch too much lead. It's not ideal, and it's certainly much harder then just running for any exit, but it's doable. The hand to hand combat works for the weak police, they'll drop after 2 or 3 punches. But the SWAT guys in armor will just push you away, so hand to hand doesn't work on them. All in all, if you're looking for some sorta Matrix-style martial arts combat to match the game's parkour gameplay, you won't find it here.

    Oh, and yea... the game cutscenes do resemble the Esurance cartoon commercials. But honestly... I always liked those commercials. Erin Esurance was hot. So that's not really a complaint for me.
    Expand
  88. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    Beautifully designed game. It has some issues with grabbing edges or drain poles.. and it is incredibly hard to complete without dying at least 50 times. It's a very challenging game. I can relate to how people can give it a negative score, in fact if I were to have reviewed it after the first hour of game play I would give it a 2. This game does grow on you. Once you get used to it itBeautifully designed game. It has some issues with grabbing edges or drain poles.. and it is incredibly hard to complete without dying at least 50 times. It's a very challenging game. I can relate to how people can give it a negative score, in fact if I were to have reviewed it after the first hour of game play I would give it a 2. This game does grow on you. Once you get used to it it will be a very enjoyable game. Expand
  89. Oct 1, 2011
    8
    If your after a unique game play then Mirror's edge will offer you that experience.
    The game offers a wonderful concept of fast paced action as you run from enemies and leap from high buildings. Campaign is fairly short and doesn't have a strong story. Controls are very user friendly and graphics are decent.
    The game can use a polish as during game play you will find yourself wondering
    If your after a unique game play then Mirror's edge will offer you that experience.
    The game offers a wonderful concept of fast paced action as you run from enemies and leap from high buildings. Campaign is fairly short and doesn't have a strong story. Controls are very user friendly and graphics are decent.
    The game can use a polish as during game play you will find yourself wondering what to do next in some parts and sitting around from time to time as well as climbing obstacles will not always function as they are intended to.
    however the good outweighs the bad and is an enjoyable game over all.
    Expand
  90. Nov 12, 2011
    8
    A beautifully rendered game with innovative gameplay to accompany, Mirror's Edge is a fantastic display of what the old DirectX is still capable of doing without breaking the PC. The short length is an annoyance though, leaving a lot to be desired. While the story could have become a strong point in this dystopian futuristic game, the ends are pretty loose and not gripping. Anyway, I amA beautifully rendered game with innovative gameplay to accompany, Mirror's Edge is a fantastic display of what the old DirectX is still capable of doing without breaking the PC. The short length is an annoyance though, leaving a lot to be desired. While the story could have become a strong point in this dystopian futuristic game, the ends are pretty loose and not gripping. Anyway, I am waiting for the sequel to release. Expand
  91. May 25, 2012
    8
    The Good: (1) Artstyle is unique and interesting.
    (2) The Gameplay itself is also unique and fun, both of those are hard to pull off in this day and age.
    (3) The price! The Bad: (1) You can beat this game the day you get it... it's very short. (2) The combat is not all that great... fortunately you don't really need to fight. Overall I recommend this game for a unique experience and some
    The Good: (1) Artstyle is unique and interesting.
    (2) The Gameplay itself is also unique and fun, both of those are hard to pull off in this day and age.
    (3) The price!

    The Bad:
    (1) You can beat this game the day you get it... it's very short.
    (2) The combat is not all that great... fortunately you don't really need to fight.

    Overall I recommend this game for a unique experience and some nice fun. If a sequel came out, I would hope they make the game longer and remove the combat completely. Running around and making amazing leaps at high speed is fun and is what separates this game from others.
    Expand
  92. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Excerpt from gamingxlife.com (visit our website for a full review, with screenshots) Mirror's Edge faced unreasonably stiff competition in its release, but it has still managed to gain a strong following by its fans. Despite its flaws the game deserves far more attention than it received. Mirror's Edge can one of those games that you'll come across from time to time, getExcerpt from gamingxlife.com (visit our website for a full review, with screenshots) Mirror's Edge faced unreasonably stiff competition in its release, but it has still managed to gain a strong following by its fans. Despite its flaws the game deserves far more attention than it received. Mirror's Edge can one of those games that you'll come across from time to time, get tempted to play it again, and before you know it you've beaten it once more. Even if the game ends up not being your cup of tea for the price it carries these days you could have so much to gain and so little to lose. So the next time you're browsing through a game store keep an eye out for this hidden gem. You could be fascinated just as I have. Expand
  93. AnonymousMC
    Jan 20, 2009
    8
    The game was quite fun, my only complaint is that the game is incredibly short. I managed to tear through the game in about 7 hours.While for the most part the graphics were visual amazing. At times though there are certain areas where the area is completely whited out and looking super sterile.
  94. BobN
    Nov 7, 2009
    8
    I no longer pay full price for games (they never seem worth $60.) So I bought this for under $20. What drew me to this game was the music. If a game pays attention to music, then it will likely have good atmosphere. Half-Life blew me away for various reasons, but the thing that stuck was the timing and flow of the music at key points. This game has great music that adds to the experience. I no longer pay full price for games (they never seem worth $60.) So I bought this for under $20. What drew me to this game was the music. If a game pays attention to music, then it will likely have good atmosphere. Half-Life blew me away for various reasons, but the thing that stuck was the timing and flow of the music at key points. This game has great music that adds to the experience. The gameplay is fantastic. I had no regrets trying a jump over, and over again. I miss doing this from old-school games. A very unique game, with some exciting moments. PROPS TO THE DEVELOPERS!!!! and I hope you make something more. Awesome game especially since the price drop. Expand
  95. PrestonJ
    Jan 16, 2009
    8
    The gameplay is mostly solid with minor quircks to get over (especially the combat). Controlling on a keyboard and mouse is faaaaar prefered than any version of a gamepad. Looks great even on a old machine. Has some stability issues but could mostly have to do with the fact i'm playing on a machine that is half six years old, half new. Story is kind of hokey and the writing can be The gameplay is mostly solid with minor quircks to get over (especially the combat). Controlling on a keyboard and mouse is faaaaar prefered than any version of a gamepad. Looks great even on a old machine. Has some stability issues but could mostly have to do with the fact i'm playing on a machine that is half six years old, half new. Story is kind of hokey and the writing can be straight up radiculously bad sometimes but all in all its bearable. Bummed that there isn't any additional content or an improved save system for the PC version, but as the game stands its great. Expand
  96. [anonymous]
    Dec 19, 2009
    8
    This game is undeniably cool and really original. The graphics are also great. But it suffers from one thing; short amount of gameplay and really bad replay value. I think this should be played because it's something you want to have experienced and it's brought the platform genre to a whole new level.
  97. JohnM
    Jan 25, 2009
    8
    It's a great game, but it's extremely limited in many areas. Whatever graphics engine went into this title is superb. This is one of the games where I actually felt like I was living within the world, and few titles offer such immersion. Where the game suffers terribly, however, is the storyline and the cut-scenes. First off, the cut-scenes seem to have been animated entirely in It's a great game, but it's extremely limited in many areas. Whatever graphics engine went into this title is superb. This is one of the games where I actually felt like I was living within the world, and few titles offer such immersion. Where the game suffers terribly, however, is the storyline and the cut-scenes. First off, the cut-scenes seem to have been animated entirely in flash. This is highly commendable, yet extremely misplaced in my opinion. From such a visually rich game, I'm left wondering why the developers decided upon a visually dull cut-scene format. The cardboard-like characters and stiff animation really sucked the energy out of the title, and it was almost heartbreaking to be ripped from the lush, glowing environments, and thrust into a two-dimensional cut-scene. As far as the storyline goes, I ended up beating the game without ever realizing it. In fact, when the credits started rolling, I was left sitting at my computer thinking, "What?" Ironically enough, as the final scene was coming to a close and the "Mirror's Edge" logo faded onto the screen, I actually got excited, thinking what I had played through was only a prelude, and that the real game was just beginning. Boy, was I dissappointed... There is absolutely no closure, nor hint of continuation, and I personally feel like I just wasted a good 4 hours of my life. That's right, it took me 4 hours to play through start to finish, watching all the cut-scenes in their entirety and restarting instances multiple times. It's just WAY too short, and the story is just WAY too lacking... I'm rating this an 8, simply because the real potential of this title lies in its graphical engine and Time Trial mode. It's worth the purchase simply to experience those two things alone. I still can't get over how real everything looks in-game. The advances in graphic technology over the past year blow my mind... Also, if you do not own an Nvidia graphics card, make sure to flip off the PhysX Support in the Options mode. I have dual ATI cards, and my game lagged like hell until I realized the PhysX was on by default. I'm not too sure why it defaulted to being on, but now that it's off my game runs great on the highest settings with AA cranked to x4. Must have simply been a proprietary conflict... Expand
  98. BrianR
    Jan 15, 2009
    8
    The combination of beautiful visual effects, mesmerizing use of color, and exciting free-running platforming gameplay makes Mirror's Edge one of my favorite games of 2008. While a little shorter than I'd have hoped for, we're expecting some solid DLC so you may get more bang for your buck than you planned on. While not quite making it into my "must own" category, this is The combination of beautiful visual effects, mesmerizing use of color, and exciting free-running platforming gameplay makes Mirror's Edge one of my favorite games of 2008. While a little shorter than I'd have hoped for, we're expecting some solid DLC so you may get more bang for your buck than you planned on. While not quite making it into my "must own" category, this is definitely a title you should pick up if you're a fan of story-driven, visually stunning and creative gameplay. The game has good replay value, thanks to the hidden collectables scattered around each level. Thumbs up to Dice. Keep runnin', Faith! Expand
  99. JamesTaylor
    Jan 18, 2009
    8
    The game is a lot of fun. It is too short by far, the story line is terrible and the constant dying can get aggravating. However the game is really innovative and is great to see under this mesh of very similar first person games. Its also nice to see a fps using movement and hand to hand combat rather than just shooting to defeat foes.

    I really enjoyed it and hope there is another.
  100. Nov 18, 2015
    10
    Can't even run the game after installing on Steam!

    Why is it that I have no problem running The Witcher 3 but can't even get Mirror's Edge to start?!

    PC gaming at its worst!

    Steam, give me my refund!
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Mastering the game's in-body platforming is an urgent thrill, beaten down less violently here under the auspices of our old friends keyboard and mouse, and stands out from the homogenised interfaces of modern first-person and platform games.
  2. The beautiful visuals look even better on the PC and the controls are smart and responsive. There are some flaws, though, in particular the short play time, some stiff level design and the overall potential for frustration. But if you manage to go with the flow, you will find Mirror's Edge to be a thrilling and unique gaming experience.
  3. 85
    While its elegant controls, visuals and audio weave a dreamlike tapestry that its animated cut-scenes do their best to eat away at, the whole is an experience you'd be remiss to let fly by if you missed it on consoles.