Mount & Blade: Warband - Napoleonic Wars Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Napoleonic Wars is a multiplayer DLC expansion pack for Mount & Blade: Warband featuring the final years of the French Empires struggle to remain the dominant power of Western Europe in the early 19th century.

    Experience the thrill of Napoleonic warfare first hand - Take part in the
    Napoleonic Wars is a multiplayer DLC expansion pack for Mount & Blade: Warband featuring the final years of the French Empires struggle to remain the dominant power of Western Europe in the early 19th century.

    Experience the thrill of Napoleonic warfare first hand - Take part in the invasion of Russia or fight the French at Waterloo from the front line! Side with one of the five supreme European powers from the era and choose from more than 220 unique units to play. Fight on battlefields across Europe in of one of the most accurate and detailed Napoleonic war games ever!

    Key features:

    - Accurate early 19th century weapons, uniforms and environments
    - Massive multiplayer battles with up to 200 players
    - Five nations with more than 220 unique units to choose from
    - A wide range of artillery pieces ranging from field cannons to mortars, capable of firing a variety of missiles such as canister, explosive shells and even rockets - all fully controllable by players
    - Finely crafted game balance ensuring player skill is the hero of the battlefield, not the gun or the sword
    - Construct barricades, dig trenches, and rig explosives with the multi-purpose Engineer class
    - Special musician units with drums, fifes, bagpipes or trumpets, able to play historically accurate tunes; all recorded and played by award winning musicians
    - Lead squads of soldiers against each other in the new commander battle mode
    - More than 40 classical background music tracks
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2012
    91
    Napoleonic Wars shows that future is the wrong way for shooters to go. Excellent Napoleon-era gameplay has totally new, totally fresh dynamics. [May 2012]
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    80
    An excellent mod commercially distributed for the Mount & Blade: Warband game is brutal and full of vivid wars of the Napoleonic era. All of you tacticians, strategists, artillerists and even sharpshooters, you must rejoice because it's a great gaming piece that's been obviously made by people, who love it, understand it and who know its players.
  3. Mount & Blade game system has been successfully adapted to Napoleon era. Guns, uniforms and other equipment from that era are nicely portrayed as well. The Game has a low price and that too is another plus.
  4. May 24, 2012
    75
    Don't trust the bad first impression. Napoleonic Wars is not a re-skinned version of Mount & Blade, but a self-contained game. Give it a chance, if you're interested in the 19th century history.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    This game is simply one of the greatest DLC's I've ever bought for any game in my history of pc and console gaming. This game has goodThis game is simply one of the greatest DLC's I've ever bought for any game in my history of pc and console gaming. This game has good graphics, great sound, great content, and a great organized community. The servers, like any Mount and Blade game can hold up to 200 something people. You probably have a lack of sleep within the first few days of your purchase. Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    This game is great, best decision of my life to buy it for such a cheap price off steam! Thanks to the devs of the game for making such a great game!
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Fantastic. I can't even begin to describe how much I love this game. My favorite reviewer can expand on why this game will rock your socks:Fantastic. I can't even begin to describe how much I love this game. My favorite reviewer can expand on why this game will rock your socks: http://www.gainsense.com/2012/06/mount-and-blade-warband-napoleonic-wars.html Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    I have played many,many games of many different genres but this is one of rare games that made me feel like part of something part of wellI have played many,many games of many different genres but this is one of rare games that made me feel like part of something part of well organised system..not just random rambo action. If you join a regiment (something like a clan) and attend regiment battles ..you will be amazed like battle recreations of 18th century. this is money best spent on a game in last 2 years and belive me i bought many games Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Great DLC. So much content and great mods. One of the best game communities there are. Hardly no trolls in contrast to other games. If you ownGreat DLC. So much content and great mods. One of the best game communities there are. Hardly no trolls in contrast to other games. If you own Warband you should get this and if you dont own Warband you should get it just to play this. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    I've been a fan of Mount & Blade for years and I have to admit that I was not a fan of Mount and Musket, the game felt too clunky, theI've been a fan of Mount & Blade for years and I have to admit that I was not a fan of Mount and Musket, the game felt too clunky, the player-base too elite and I found it more frustrating than fun.. These were also my initial impressions when I first loaded up NW, though after a few weeks of playing I have to say that I couldn't have been more wrong in my opinion. The game's main strengths are in it's organised play, whether it is playing a lowly private in an epic 200 person line battle or playing with a small group of friends together on a public server, it is really like no other game. Though some elements still need work on, moving around and melee can still feel like driving a shopping cart at times (though vastly improved on MM). The inclusion of such elements as Cannons, Buffs and Constructable defences adds many new layers to the game, I highly recommend this game for anyone interested in good multiplayer teamplay. Expand
  7. Sep 25, 2015
    0
    At first I found this game satisfying until I found out the AI is actually non existent. It's basically just a time waster of you slaughteringAt first I found this game satisfying until I found out the AI is actually non existent. It's basically just a time waster of you slaughtering 1000's of AI units with your handful of 100. So basically a 1 to 10 destruction machine once you get your guys leveled. There's a lot of fed-ex in it and some destruction missions. Lot of gathering, mostly going back and forth over the same map looking for food. The combat is over within seconds and there's no time to play out any strategy or tactics.

    The only reason it is well liked is because it has so many elements of other games but, once you see that the ai is going to be no challenge even on the highest difficulty you'll settle into just wasting time and not really getting anything out of it but a lot of reading material. No voice acting really makes this game suk.

    The leveling process is very slow. I'd wager you'll put in 2000 hours of grind time (if you play that long) just building up your characters. You don't really need them as the ai is so bad your own NPC army is built to crush them. I find myself just standing around a lot during battles or auto calc them and level up with a process known as "training". Just put a lot of points into your characters training (especially the highest leveled one and you'll train new troops and yourself faster than fighting silly battles that you'll most likely always win.

    It's really less than 8.2 after you play a few hours. You'll see that the grind is ridiculous as well as the ai. I'd give it a 70 something if I could.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews