Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NASCAR The Game 2013 lets players take to the tracks and redefine races using the new Gen 6 model cars. Supporting an updated and enhanced paint booth tool, players can customize their Gen 6 paint schemes and import them into the games multiple race modes to show the world their design skills. Supporting the new 2013 roster with all the team and driver changes, players can take their own shot at being crowned the Sprint Cup Series Champion by starting a competitive season as a rookie and racing against their favorite drivers in career mode, or race online with friends. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    Despite the shortcomings of multiplayer and, occasionally, AI, NASCAR the Game 2013 has the potential to thrill the old racers still in love with stock cars and asymmetrical setups.
  2. Jul 26, 2013
    79
    Driving physics are as intuitive as they are challenging. Opponents do a good job of advancing through thick traffic, although they do tend to cause unfortunate accidents.
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    70
    NASCAR The Game 2013 is a competent racer, with some good moments for all NASCAR fans.
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    66
    If you enjoy NASCAR sims, Eutechnyx's latest is worth your consideration.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    65
    If you are a casual racing fan or someone who has not played a racing simulation with any regularity, NASCAR 2013 is not the game for you. The lack of a comprehensive tutorial pretty much prevents you from gaining any sort of entertainment out of it past the first hour or two. But, if you are a fan of NASCAR and its simulations, or if you have plenty of experience with racing simulations, I think you will be able to look past the obstacles and find a relatively enjoyable game within.
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    40
    Despite a lot of content, Nascar: The Game 2013 is lacking in almost every gameplay aspect. Please let someone more talented do the Nascar series in the future.
  7. Oct 1, 2013
    30
    For some, it may be enough to simply have a new Nascar experience, but as a game, it’s not going to hold an appeal for anyone beyond those who simply want a straightforward replication of the sport.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 12 out of 20
  1. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    Game is really solid. All guys complaining about Ai at Texas, or Las Vegas, or hell, other tracks doesn't simply know how to race. I've finished a lot of races, and I still managed to win, not cause crash. Most people doesn't even know how nascar works, they don't know how to drive, and they whine about game because they can't play it. Most crashes are caused by inconsequence of player, of course Ai causes crashes too sometimes (but not every lap, like some users here pointed out, which is complete bullcrap). They do make mistakes, and that's why this game is good. On steam forums there were numorous threads about AI not making cautions or crashes. Okay, so devs fixed it, and now, they are complain that there is too many? What the hell people? Otherwise game is good, graphics are solid, Career mode lacks though, it's a abit flat, and you cannot use your own skin, but hey, you can still use your skins for quick races, multiplayer. Game has really nifty eye candy modelling, they are sure improved from console counterparts, and even if it's console port, this game is very nicely optimised, has variety of options to adjust, not like most console ports today. OH yeah, multiplayer. It's good, has some lag issues there and there, but it's playable, hell, it's freaking fun. I also want to point out that most reviews here are to bash Nascar because of left turns. Don't listen to them. Nascar is all about door-2-door racing, bumper-2-bumper, and this game catches the beauty of this sport. It has good stimulating physics engine which gives you feeling of the car, very good sound, nice in-car view which adds a lot of depth to races (some games lacks interior view like GRID 2 for stupid reasons), and crapload of other stuff. I am giving this one a solid 8, this game is fun, heed the mockers, heed the haters. This game is really good provides very nice racing experience, that every nascar fan (or even just racing fan) would love. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    I recommend this game with no doubt. Different from other categories of race, NASCAR has aggressive behavior if you remember like saw on tv, run about 190 MPH cars touch each other, big crashes occurs and is normal a runner that started above 10th place on the grid and get victory or a place into five first positions! This game put all this things togeter!!! I agree that changes and improves must be available and talking with developers, this will come soon! 8 to a game that will receive better changes is very good! Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2013
    7
    Ultimately, NASCAR games have been one of the greatest stepping stones in the budding career of a sim racing enthusiast. Many drivers can recall countless hours spent fine-tuning their setups on NASCAR ‘99 for the original PlayStation, signing their first multimillion dollar sponsor on the legendary NASCAR Thunder 2004, or turning their daydreams into reality by purchasing a Nextel Cup team in NASCAR 07. While the occasional challenger appeared, offering innovating new career modes and racing series, EA’s long-running NASCAR franchise experienced both immense highs and devastating lows, going from critically acclaimed to universally hated in less than a decade. Incredibly detailed career modes were steadily phased out, extra tracks and game modes suddenly went missing, and by the final game in the series, NASCAR 09, even the four makes involved in the 2008 NASCAR Sprint Cup season did not appear in-game, in favor of a generic set of brand markings for all cars.

    If, like me, you’re not well-versed in NASCAR, you’re probably thinking there’s not much track variety at all, however if you only look at the shape of the tracks, you’re right. They’re mostly oval shaped tracks, though there is one track in the game that looks like a ‘normal’ race-track. While the tracks are all the same general shape, the size, banks, corners and pit area are all different. Some tracks are large and wide, allowing you to pull far ahead, driving solo. Some tracks are small and narrow, forcing you to stick with the pack. Some tracks are a mixture. It isn’t until you get out there and drive or in this case play the game that you realize how different these tracks really are.

    In NASCAR 2013 there are plenty of customization options to choose from. You can paint your car and stick it with sponsors of your choice. There is a lot of freedom in the design as you can make your own sticker using simple-shaped decals and turn it into one layer. Doing this allows you room to create detailed images and decals for use in recreating real-life stock cars or even creating your very own design Not that you’re likely to run out with 1200 layers available. Visual customization isn’t the only customization available. During season mode you can unlock new sponsors for your car and also upgrade the parts using your race winnings.

    There are many different ways to get first place. One is Drafting. Drafting can be driving behind a car to reduce drag, then shooting out from behind it to overtake it this is the type most people are familiar with but it can also mean ‘docking’ your car with another to allow both of you to gain speed. ‘Docking’ is a bit riskier as it can raise engine temperatures, but can have a larger pay-off if you do it correctly. On the other side of ‘Docking’, there’s Blocking. Blocking is simple and just involves positioning your car in a way that stops you being overtaken, but trying to keep this up can easily cause a crash and a caution this could cause loss of position. Interestingly, while crashing brings up a caution flag, you can use this to your advantage and gain some positions by bringing the whole pack closer to first place and gaining positions on driver who decide to pit under a caution. Finding a balance between all of these techniques can be fun and cause for experimentation.

    In my experience of multiplayer, coming into this as a rookie, I was destroyed. In the races I participated in online, everyone was much faster than me from the starting line, almost as if their cars were more powerful. I think the reason for this is single-player upgrades carrying over to multi-player. In multi-player, the only race option is a normal race. This was a little bit disappointing. There is plenty of control over the parameters of the race, which somewhat makes up for the lack of other modes.

    NASCAR 2013 does enough to redeem itself from the negative pre-conceptions of the sport, but only if you give it the chance to. While there are a few minor bugs to be found, they don’t detract from the well-polished and fun core experience. NASCAR 2013 is full of little touches that neatly tie the package together. From the ambient garage in the menus to your character’s feet moving in first-person view, there are lots of little touches that just tie the game together well.
    Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2013
    3
    The AI in this game is absolutely awful. They constantly cause crashes (every 1-4 laps from what I've seen so far) that barely lets you get any race time in. I spent 1 hour restarting a 5-lap game over and over, trying to get 1 race without an AI-caused caution, and couldn't do it. I eventually had to turn cautions off to make the game playable, and even then they normally cause about 1 red-flag per race (doing 2-5% length races).

    In terms of gameplay I've seen many instances where I can secure the pole by a hefty margin, but when put into the actual race every single car will out-accelerate my car, even off the start. It makes it feel like the game has shifty biases to try and make it feel like it is more challenging, when really it's just frustrating.

    I rate at a 3 hoping that multiplayer without AIs will have some saving graces, but how terrible the AI is makes single-player unplayable for me.

    I would love a refund on this game if I could get one, and I don't think I've felt that way about a game ever before.
    Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2013
    2
    Absolutely terrible game! Don't get me wrong. I'm not one of crazy F1 fans who hates NASCAR. It's just the game... It's just a silly arcade game with good graphics. 10 years old game "NASCAR Racing 2003 season" is still better than this.
    First of all, AI is terrible and it crashes all the time.
    Secondly the physics are so unrealistic and forgiving Making a 180mph turn in Atlanta/Chartlotte with full throttle? Sure, why not... still without spinning the car. Of course I'm talking about "realistic" mode with all aids turned off.

    There are only two cool things about it when we compare "NASCAR: The Game 2013" to NASCAR Racing 2003 season Career mode and proper rules like: GWC finish, double-file restarts and so on.

    To sum up, don't buy it. Play NR2003 or iRacing if you like racing online.
    Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    2
    This game lacks both the realism to be a simulator and the intensity and fun to be a good game.

    The graphics don't look very good for 2013,
    they look like 2007 (give or take) graphics.
    The gameplay is just about getting a better car and hit the accelerator, if you choose any other difficulty than the hardest it won't be a hard game, but the hardest mode is just impossible to compete at the start of the career.
    The racing usually goes into a dull car train, no crashes, no cars trying maneuvers, just driving around a track at max speed, really boring.
    The crash physics are astonishing bad both realistically and graphically, I mean, if you cant make a good racing game, at least give us some eye candy. I chosen full damage options, even then I stop my car in the middle of the track, I get a car to slam into me at 300km/h and the damage on my car was a partially damaged frontal suspension... seriously? seriously?
    Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    I'm re-reviewing this game. It is so colossally crap it's almost beyond belief. My car actually stops turning whenever I'm leading the pack. It literally just starts going in a straight line through the turn. What a pathetic game. The dev team ought to be ashamed of themselves. The AI crashes EVERY chance they get. In fact, if you're trying to get away from a crash, the AI just drive directly into you with ZERO braking. And if cars crash, there's a 99% chance your car will get turned around and around while other cars drive into you without even trying to brake. 50% of the time it crashes after a race. It crashes EVERY time after Texas. It now crashes after EVERY race where I get first place, which means it never saves the position and I have to try and get any position other than first. What a s#$! game. Collapse

See all 20 User Reviews