Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The NBA 2k Franchise is back with NBA 2K12.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    91
    This is one of the best sports games of all time, even better than the predecessor. Improvements like the new physics make the game even more authentic than before.
  2. Jan 16, 2012
    90
    NBA 2K12 is a true act of love for basketball: a fun game with great audio and graphic, and with several gameplay's improvements. Higly recommended.
  3. Oct 8, 2011
    85
    NBA 2K12 retains its crown as the best basketball franchise by offering a number of worthwhile improvements across the board.
  4. Jan 10, 2012
    84
    2K's NBA is still the best sports simulator out there.
  5. 80
    Its visuals are perfect, controls are friendly and historical matches are fun. [Nov 2011]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    The game's My Player and Creating A Legend is amazing, and the DLC is worth it. Best 2k game of all time. Everything is a plus and the new Home screen is great. A non-regrettable buy! Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    The best sports game ever. Period. The gameplay is even better than it was in 2K11. The only thing i found messed up with the game is the Blacktop mode. You can no longer play 1 on 1 or 2 on 2 and so on. The only feature of Blacktop now is playing 5 on 5. Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    Essentially the same game as on PS3/X360. Best sports game to date, sadly online stability and playability are not up to par with today's sport title standards. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    My rating would be higher if the game didn't have all those major functional freezes, which throw away all the experience. The game itself, the gameplay, is superb. A wonderful delicattessen for any true basketball fun. You can play tactically and slow, or just run and shoot. The physics, movements, and impacts are greatly done, it is the best basketball game ever by far.

    But the PC version was released with some major bugs that just ruined the potential perfection.
    Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    5
    NBA 2K12 is very good, in theory. It has great visuals, an amazing soundtrack, and a nice array of gameplay options. The MyPlayer mode in particular is really fun, and well designed. Unfortunately, I feel like this game is meant to be played on a console. The PC version controls are very obviously still meant to use two analog control sticks, and on a keyboard, things work terribly. Trying to re-map keys so that the game plays more smoothly did not help at all (or at least didn't for me). The menus are also awful. Not only is it hard to navigate around, but information gets displayed in the most annoying ways. I actually have had fun playing NBA 2K12, but I can't overlook how bad it is in certain aspects. Collapse
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    4
    Been playing My player at the moment. Way too scripted which takes away from realism. You having crap attributes yet you first round pick? Next you start as 7th choice in terms of playing time. After a few games you up to 6th. After 19 games where i've done little (averaging 4points, 4 rebounds, 3 assists) I'm the starting SF for the knicks ahead of Carmelo Anthony. Gimme a break! The post match interviews also make little sense when you a bit part player. your responses imply that you are key. Would prefer to have a more than 1 question but only every few games interview. Having crap guards also makes the game frustrating. Every other pg seems to be able to run rings around lin and score 30 or so points a game whereas he charges into traffic and takes bad shots (if you look at his tendencies will see why) I like the presentation re. the half time breaks where they show what is happening in other matches and the news you can get about other teams and your own in between games but this shouldn't be the main focus of the developers.

    Started playing on a harder level and the game gets even worse. On the easiest level your teammates are about right but opponents useless. If you change to hall of fame your teammates are useless and opponents about right. Lost 5 in a row with lakers against crap teams like suns and raptors. Blake shot 0/11 one game as starting pg. Next game Gasol decided to keep shooting 3s and hit none of them and 3/12 fgs overall. Next game opponents got 60% 3pts against and outrebounded 3 to 1 despite lakers having way better rebounders. My Player mode is basicly unplayable unless you just choose a scoring guard and do everything yourself.
    Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    0
    This game is garbage....if you want to play the career mode (My player), avoid it at all costs since you'll just get frustrated. Its scripted, game wins/loses are scripted and there's nothing you as a player can do about it, no matter how well you play. Blocks are scripted, meaning that once you block someone or get blocked, you cant do anything until the blocked player does a 180 around the blocker. Shots are absolutely horrid, there's no sense of control over the player (on average you'll be missing 4-5 out of 10 every time, no matter where you shoot from). Too bad there's no alternative basketball games out there. Guess it makes sense that this game is garbage, lack of competition. I'd give it a -10 if there was such a score. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews