Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NBA 2K13 was a monstrous release for the world's #1 NBA video game franchise, with more than 38 Sports Game of the Year and "Best Of" mentions. NBA 2K14 will raise the bar yet again, providing the best basketball gaming experience for legions of sports fans and gamers around the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    84
    NBA 2K14 is generally speaking excellent, but you get a feeling that major improvements are being saved over to NBA 2K15. [Nov 2013]
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    80
    But that aside, NBA 2K14 continues to do the main things right when it comes to a basketball game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 47
  2. Negative: 31 out of 47
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Better game than last year, But was hoping for a little more. For $30 it's a good buy. Would have glady paid $60 for a few more features though.
    8.5 I rated 10 because too many people gave this a 0 rating,
    Come on people let's be fair. It's the best basketball game on the market.
    I challenge anyone to name a better B-Ball game than 2K14.

    Can't wait for NBA 2K15.
    Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    This is the first basketball game I've played since probably NBA Shootout on the PS1, so I'm not gonna complain about the lack of updates from last season. I really enjoyed 2K14, for the most part. The gameplay is pretty smooth once you get the hang of it, and MyCareer mode is a lot of fun. Here's the thing, though. I pretty much had to hack my stats using a cheat program to get any enjoyment out of this. If I didn't, my player would start off his rookie season unable to dunk and regularly missing wide open layups. I understand that they want to make this kinda RPG-like in that you level up your character as you play, but in the NBA, a guard who was regularly clanking layups and couldn't shoot from past 10 feet wouldn't even get past training camp. Once I rigged my stats, though, things were a lot beter. The other thing is that your coach's AI is absolute crap. You could be singlehandedly bringing your team back in the 4th quarter, and all of the sudden you'll get pulled from the game for the final four minutes. WTF is that? Well, those are all somewhat significant annoyances, but to me, they really don't outweigh what this game does right, which is making it feel a heck of a lot like you're leading an NBA team. I give it 8 out of 10. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    Overall, I'd say this game does not deserve the low score it is receiving. The game play is solid, and the game modes are fun. As long as you have a controller for your pc, you should enjoy yourself. However, the reason I'm giving a lower score, is because of the bad porting. The graphics are terrible (when compared to the console versions), and the controls for the keyboard are just unusable. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2013
    2
    The 2k team really screwed the pc fans again this year with another terrible port with last gen graphics. Pay the same price as everyone else, yet we still got left behind. This company is easily becoming as bad as EA. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2014
    1
    The only thing 2k improved is the gameplay. You can block layups/dunks now (that this even has to be a feature...that's basic stuff!) and the whole gameplay feels smoother than 2k13. But gameplay feels really random to me. There are this momentum swings again, where one team hits every shot, gets every loose ball and so in in one half, just to see the momentum swing to the opponent and get crushed in the 2nd half. EVERY. GAME! Also it seems like some ratings doesn't matter. A Ronnie Brewer with a 62 3pt rating is a better shooter than Steve Novak or Paul George (I have these 3 players in an online association, and brewer hits by far more 3s than the other two with mostly perfect release timings on open shots). It also seems like everyone can block every shot/layup now. Some Point Guards showcase chasedown blocks even against players like LeBron James.
    Besides that, 2k14 is just a roster update from 2k13. They even removed working things from the game. For example you cannot practice plays in Online Association mode anymore.
    Furthermore they didn't fix any bugs and just created more. The settings in Online Associations do not save any more and you have to change shot feedback and everything else you change from default settings all the time you log into the OA.

    Most annoying thing with this game: I only buy it to play in my 3 different online leagues, I play for several years now. It has never been hard to enjoy like this year before (okay maybe 2k12 was very hard, too). The servers are down nearly 1/3 of the time since release. They are up some days and down again over the weekend. And this happens nearly every week. Now over the holidays they have eben been down for 2 straight weeks, then up for 4 days and now down again since 3 days....

    All in all, I have fun playing this game. When I actually can play it, which is not that often due to server downtimes.
    Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2014
    0
    They didn't release ONE update for PC on 2k13 and it was full of glitches, cheese, and bugs. 2K14 is still under the "current-gen" title on PC and nothing is different from the console counterparts. There has still been no patch for 2k14. Supporting developers that abandon the PC platform and that don't listen to their paying customers is not the way to go. 2K was constantly being told by fans to bring back crew. What did they do? They renamed the online NBA blacktop to Crew and made it 3 v 3 on the blacktop... The computer defense in this game is beyond stupid. Your CPU teammate will literally walk away from a great shooter to help double one of the worst centers in the NBA or the CPU will slide over magically and block your shot. Speaking of blocking shots, half the time you perform a layup your ball goes towards the rim and magically slides over mid-air to which looks like a block but it doesn't even record it. We still have the same generic player-create faces too. There are several more things wrong with this copy and paste game, but you can see all the people complaining through the comments.

    tl:dr

    This game is a buggy, unfinished, half-@rsed game meant for only the dedicated basketball player who doesn't have console. Do not purchase this game. Even on the Android platform, 2k14 STILL has the OLD rosters and plenty of bugs.
    Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    This is just NBA2k13 with a roster update. PC systems are several times more powerful than the current consoles but why do devs keep holding back?
    NBA2k11 looks exactly like 2k14.

    Graphics are too old, controls have changed again and are ackward so prepare to spend some time learning them again.
    CPU still cheats like crazy (silly boundary defense, steals, rebound between 5 players and boxed out).

    Commentary is still good as usual, presentation is also nice with nice intros, music, facts/stats.
    But nothing really changed compared to previous years.

    Annoying Bugs:
    A loose ball can bounce around without even touching anyone from left to right.
    Player reaction towards a loose ball: there is none, they wait till the opponent grabs the ball first and then reacts. You can't move either cause you're in a locked animation.

    Force field defense and boundaries. You can't move past a defender on higher difficulties when you make your dribble move because the game has predetermined that you won't score.
    I crossed my opponent and he was 3m away from me but I still couldn't move forward.

    Dumb teammates AI, they seem to follow you around and are always in your way.

    Holding fouls during myplayer still aren't being called. You want to go to your position for a play and you cross the paint: the defense will hold you like crazy and you can't move anywhere.

    and many other annoying bugs that happened in previous games still happen in 2k14.

    Not worth the money.
    Expand

See all 47 User Reviews