Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NBA 2K13 was a monstrous release for the world's #1 NBA video game franchise, with more than 38 Sports Game of the Year and "Best Of" mentions. NBA 2K14 will raise the bar yet again, providing the best basketball gaming experience for legions of sports fans and gamers around the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    84
    NBA 2K14 is generally speaking excellent, but you get a feeling that major improvements are being saved over to NBA 2K15. [Nov 2013]
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    80
    But that aside, NBA 2K14 continues to do the main things right when it comes to a basketball game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 49
  2. Negative: 32 out of 49
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Better game than last year, But was hoping for a little more. For $30 it's a good buy. Would have glady paid $60 for a few more featuresBetter game than last year, But was hoping for a little more. For $30 it's a good buy. Would have glady paid $60 for a few more features though.
    8.5 I rated 10 because too many people gave this a 0 rating,
    Come on people let's be fair. It's the best basketball game on the market.
    I challenge anyone to name a better B-Ball game than 2K14.

    Can't wait for NBA 2K15.
    Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    This is the first basketball game I've played since probably NBA Shootout on the PS1, so I'm not gonna complain about the lack of updates fromThis is the first basketball game I've played since probably NBA Shootout on the PS1, so I'm not gonna complain about the lack of updates from last season. I really enjoyed 2K14, for the most part. The gameplay is pretty smooth once you get the hang of it, and MyCareer mode is a lot of fun. Here's the thing, though. I pretty much had to hack my stats using a cheat program to get any enjoyment out of this. If I didn't, my player would start off his rookie season unable to dunk and regularly missing wide open layups. I understand that they want to make this kinda RPG-like in that you level up your character as you play, but in the NBA, a guard who was regularly clanking layups and couldn't shoot from past 10 feet wouldn't even get past training camp. Once I rigged my stats, though, things were a lot beter. The other thing is that your coach's AI is absolute crap. You could be singlehandedly bringing your team back in the 4th quarter, and all of the sudden you'll get pulled from the game for the final four minutes. WTF is that? Well, those are all somewhat significant annoyances, but to me, they really don't outweigh what this game does right, which is making it feel a heck of a lot like you're leading an NBA team. I give it 8 out of 10. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    6
    I PLAY THIS WITH AN XBOX CONTROLLER:

    Get ready to learn some new controls because that's precisely what your first few hours into this game
    I PLAY THIS WITH AN XBOX CONTROLLER:

    Get ready to learn some new controls because that's precisely what your first few hours into this game is going to be, and they aren't even that good. Basically the first problem you will find in this title is the fact that the pro stick and the shooting stick are basically read at the same time, so in other words when you want to shoot you will do some kind of move, but when you want to spin or eurostep into the paint, the player will just stupidly shoot over the head of the defender. that's right, if you push the right stick to the right or left, it's still read as a shot, and the player will shoot regardless. You can't even remove or create the button layout from 2k13 (b,b spin, b,x hopstep, x,x eurostep, etc.) The game's not all bad, but you can tell right off the bat that the focus for 2K was for the games that will be releasing for the next gen consoles, as there really is nothing new here. MYPlayer has a glamorous new menu screen and the simming is quicker to help get you back on the court, so that's a plus for those MyPlayer gamers out there. Also when you are subbed in, you can now see a sit rep of the person you will be matched up against, his ratings in specific areas (inside scoring, outside scoring, post D, perimeter D, etc.) as well as stats he has on you currently in the game. This is a nice new sight so you aren't just walking in blind anymore. You can now block dunks and easily get rid of those pesky point guards who try to show boat in the paint, so enjoy. This goes to another problem though, the ball. The ball is the strangest thing in the game, it bounces weird, and can virtually be bounced around a defender on a pass. The ball just doesn't look right, especially on passes. AI is still pretty shotty, as they will at times lock down your guys and other times just let you disrespect them with little to no resistance. Word of warning, you plan on getting the next gen games, just wait for 2k14 on that. If you're not, I would say you have about a 60% chance of liking it.
    Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2013
    2
    The 2k team really screwed the pc fans again this year with another terrible port with last gen graphics. Pay the same price as everyone else,The 2k team really screwed the pc fans again this year with another terrible port with last gen graphics. Pay the same price as everyone else, yet we still got left behind. This company is easily becoming as bad as EA. Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2013
    1
    Broken online mode. 3 points is killing 1v1 matches. This game is Call of Duty in Sport Sims. All money spend on ADs. Game dont have anyBroken online mode. 3 points is killing 1v1 matches. This game is Call of Duty in Sport Sims. All money spend on ADs. Game dont have any changes in this year too.
    (Обзор gamerstv.ru)
    Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2014
    0
    They didn't release ONE update for PC on 2k13 and it was full of glitches, cheese, and bugs. 2K14 is still under the "current-gen" title on PCThey didn't release ONE update for PC on 2k13 and it was full of glitches, cheese, and bugs. 2K14 is still under the "current-gen" title on PC and nothing is different from the console counterparts. There has still been no patch for 2k14. Supporting developers that abandon the PC platform and that don't listen to their paying customers is not the way to go. 2K was constantly being told by fans to bring back crew. What did they do? They renamed the online NBA blacktop to Crew and made it 3 v 3 on the blacktop... The computer defense in this game is beyond stupid. Your CPU teammate will literally walk away from a great shooter to help double one of the worst centers in the NBA or the CPU will slide over magically and block your shot. Speaking of blocking shots, half the time you perform a layup your ball goes towards the rim and magically slides over mid-air to which looks like a block but it doesn't even record it. We still have the same generic player-create faces too. There are several more things wrong with this copy and paste game, but you can see all the people complaining through the comments.

    tl:dr

    This game is a buggy, unfinished, half-@rsed game meant for only the dedicated basketball player who doesn't have console. Do not purchase this game. Even on the Android platform, 2k14 STILL has the OLD rosters and plenty of bugs.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    Disgusting, previous gen console port. NO next gen features were included in the pc version. There are several features only available on theDisgusting, previous gen console port. NO next gen features were included in the pc version. There are several features only available on the ps4 and xbone version of the game. Don't waste your money, don't waste your time. Let 2k know that offering a lesser experience on the pc is not acceptable and not worth money. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews